LG 55EF9500 and 65EF9500 OLED Owners Thread - Page 188 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 36645Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5611 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 08:04 AM
 
vaktmestern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,078
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 826 Post(s)
Liked: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMF2000 View Post
No, this is not the case. The PS3 is set to bitstream output only.
Whats the tv sound settings only Get 2.0 out of the tv myself ? With optical changed to using arc of that
vaktmestern is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5612 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 08:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,069
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1078 Post(s)
Liked: 641
Hello everyone im returning my 55 eg9600 today and was wondering if the 55 ef9500 is worth purchasing. The black streaks was the nail in the coffin for me with the eg9600 but the picture was breathtaking so any thoughts? Thanks in advance
macmane is online now  
post #5613 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 08:31 AM
Member
 
cgsussman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I need some advice. I was watching TV from my cable box last night in a dark room, and I noticed that really dark scenes looked just awful. Basically, it looked like I was watching through cheesecloth, with a black ring around the outside of the picture, and grey in the middle, with very poor resolution. I assume this is a function of a crappy cable broadcast, and perhaps even source material optimized for TVs that don't produce sufficient black levels, but please correct me if I'm wrong.

Anyway, I played around with settings to try to fix it, and the only thing that really worked was significantly boosting my brightness levels. After trying different levels, I settled on a brightness of 55, which eliminated most of the effect, and was the brightest I could make it while still allowing blacks to look black. Any suggestions for tricks I may have missed, or other settings I may want to try?
cgsussman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5614 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 08:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: California
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Aloha! Returned my 508 build due to a pixel out in the upper left of the screen. I did it at my 15 day return policy and lost my free 49" TV promo!
Went to the Best Buy distribution center and made sure I picked up a 510 build.
As you can see right out of the box no yellow but my wife noticed three dead pixels all over the screen.
Now I'm caught in the rat trap of finding the perfect OLED!!
See attached picture.
Stay tuned!

Scott
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0615.jpg
Views:	429
Size:	78.0 KB
ID:	1018321  
superkala is offline  
post #5615 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 09:16 AM
Newbie
 
IMF2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by vaktmestern View Post
Whats the tv sound settings only Get 2.0 out of the tv myself ? With optical changed to using arc of that
Not sure but at this rate im going to do a flipping video.
IMF2000 is offline  
post #5616 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
satboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,403
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 799 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by superkala View Post
Aloha! Returned my 508 build due to a pixel out in the upper left of the screen. I did it at my 15 day return policy and lost my free 49" TV promo!
Went to the Best Buy distribution center and made sure I picked up a 510 build.
As you can see right out of the box no yellow but my wife noticed three dead pixels all over the screen.
Now I'm caught in the rat trap of finding the perfect OLED!!
See attached picture.
Stay tuned!

Scott
Bummer big time, if it makes you feel any better I can't see the dead pixels from the picture

I would just return it again and get another one.

Are the dead pixels black or stuck on a color?

Den - LG 65 OLEDE7P - Denon AVR-X4200W - Definitive Mythos STS - ProCenter 2000 - SR-8040BP - SVS Ultra-13 - DTV 4K - XBOX One S
Media - LG 65 OLEDC8 - AVR-X4400 - KFL28F - Vienna Acoustics Center - Def GEMS Rear - Def A60 Atmos - Monitor Silver SUB - DTV 4K - XBOX One X
My YouTube Tech Channel - https://www.youtube.com/c/TechFan
satboy is offline  
post #5617 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Blake2163's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10k View Post
if the receiver shows pcm then that is 2channel. Optical doesn't have enough bandwidth for 5.1 pcm. The only way to get surround via optical is through dd or dts, which use lossy compression.



It may be that you had 2ch pcm going to the receiver, and it was expanding it to 5.1 with some virtual surround function. These typically don't sound great.

Your right it won't do PCM uncompressed through optical didn't think about that. Either way I didn't notice a difference in sound with ps4. With cable it was substantial though

LG 65c6p
Denon avr590
(2) paradigm studio 10's
Velodyne 12 sub
PS4 pro, Apple TV (3rd gen), My Cloud 3tb nas
Blake2163 is offline  
post #5618 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 09:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: California
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by satboy View Post
Bummer big time, if it makes you feel any better I can't see the dead pixels from the picture

I would just return it again and get another one.

Are the dead pixels black or stuck on a color?
Black and yes I couldn't see them either when I fired it up and youtubed 10 hours of white.
My wife found them later as I had to leave and left the TV on football.

Here is a pic of one of them.

S
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7284.jpg
Views:	493
Size:	361.5 KB
ID:	1018601  
superkala is offline  
post #5619 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 10:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
satboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,403
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 799 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by superkala View Post
Black and yes I couldn't see them either when I fired it up and youtubed 10 hours of white.
My wife found them later as I had to leave and left the TV on football.

Here is a pic of one of them.

S
Yup I see it now, my GF would never have found them so your wife should on the forum as she is very observant of things

sorry, I know dead pixel's is a one of those things that a store can reject a return so you can just say it shuts off every few hours unexpectedly etc.
Wrath007 likes this.

Den - LG 65 OLEDE7P - Denon AVR-X4200W - Definitive Mythos STS - ProCenter 2000 - SR-8040BP - SVS Ultra-13 - DTV 4K - XBOX One S
Media - LG 65 OLEDC8 - AVR-X4400 - KFL28F - Vienna Acoustics Center - Def GEMS Rear - Def A60 Atmos - Monitor Silver SUB - DTV 4K - XBOX One X
My YouTube Tech Channel - https://www.youtube.com/c/TechFan
satboy is offline  
post #5620 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 10:03 AM
Senior Member
 
dolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by superkala View Post
Aloha! Returned my 508 build due to a pixel out in the upper left of the screen. I did it at my 15 day return policy and lost my free 49" TV promo!
Went to the Best Buy distribution center and made sure I picked up a 510 build.
As you can see right out of the box no yellow but my wife noticed three dead pixels all over the screen.
Now I'm caught in the rat trap of finding the perfect OLED!!
See attached picture.
Stay tuned!

Scott
Did you get a replacement or did you actually return it and get your money?

You shouldn't lose the free TV just because you made them replace a defective set.

Curious...

Dolf M
LG EF9500 65" | Denon AVR-S720W | Tivo Bolt | Samsung K8500 UHD Blu-ray | XBOX One
I love TV, Technology & Tennis
Greater Cincinnati Area
http://twitter.com/#!/dolfer
dolfer is offline  
post #5621 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 10:32 AM
Member
 
roberthneal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick Heintz View Post
Great post 10k!

Some older LG TVs had a way to enable the TV to pass DD 5.1 in the service menu. Has anyone checked to see if these new OLED's support it through the service menu?
OK, my 65EF9500 is connected to Direct TV genie box via HDMI and my old Yamaha is showing that the optical out from the TV is passing Pro Logic through. Checked all 5 speakers and the are working just fine.
roberthneal is offline  
post #5622 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 10:36 AM
Newbie
 
IMF2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMF2000 View Post
Not sure but at this rate im going to do a flipping video.
PS3 set to Bitstream output. PS3 connected to 65EF950V HDMI 2. TV Optical Out connected to Sony AMP.

IMF2000 is offline  
post #5623 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 10:37 AM
10k
AVS Forum Special Member
 
10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,414
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2143 Post(s)
Liked: 2378
Quote:
Originally Posted by roberthneal View Post
OK, my 65EF9500 is connected to Direct TV genie box via HDMI and my old Yamaha is showing that the optical out from the TV is passing Pro Logic through. Checked all 5 speakers and the are working just fine.
Good stuff, so its actually:

Smart TV applications and OTA content delivered from antenna plugged directly into TV:
* Optical out from TV: 2 channel PCM, 5.1 DD and 5.1 DTS
* HDMI out from TV (arc): 2 channel PCM, 5.1 DD, 5.1 DTS, DTS-HD, DTS-MA

Other devices attached to TV (bluray player, ps3, htpc, etc) via hdmi:
* Optical out from TV: 2 channel PCM, DD, DTS
* HDMI ARC: 2 channel PCM, DD (?), DTS (?)

I was only able to get 2channel from HDMI -> HDMI ARC, hadn't personally tested optical.
10k is offline  
post #5624 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 10:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,280
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5361 Post(s)
Liked: 3770
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10k View Post
Good stuff, so its actually:

Smart TV applications and OTA content delivered from antenna plugged directly into TV:
* Optical out from TV: 2 channel PCM, 5.1 DD and 5.1 DTS
* HDMI out from TV (arc): 2 channel PCM, 5.1 DD, 5.1 DTS, DTS-HD, DTS-MA

Other devices attached to TV (bluray player, ps3, htpc, etc) via hdmi:
* Optical out from TV: 2 channel PCM, DD, DTS
* HDMI ARC: 2 channel PCM, DD (?), DTS (?)

I was only able to get 2channel from HDMI -> HDMI ARC, hadn't personally tested optical.
Second 9500, and both have been unable to pass 5.1 with my OPPO or DirecTV when connected to tv, and optical from tv to Onkyo receiver. Apps pass 5.1 thru to my receiver with no problem. DirecTV box set to Dolby Digital and OPPO set to bitstream. When I connect audio from DirecTV box and OPPO to receiver via optical directly to receiver, I get 5.1. Perhaps it's because my OPPO and DirecTV box are not hdcp 2.2 compliant.
wxman is offline  
post #5625 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 10:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SledgeHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,291
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1135 Post(s)
Liked: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgsussman View Post
I need some advice. I was watching TV from my cable box last night in a dark room, and I noticed that really dark scenes looked just awful. Basically, it looked like I was watching through cheesecloth, with a black ring around the outside of the picture, and grey in the middle, with very poor resolution. I assume this is a function of a crappy cable broadcast, and perhaps even source material optimized for TVs that don't produce sufficient black levels, but please correct me if I'm wrong.

Anyway, I played around with settings to try to fix it, and the only thing that really worked was significantly boosting my brightness levels. After trying different levels, I settled on a brightness of 55, which eliminated most of the effect, and was the brightest I could make it while still allowing blacks to look black. Any suggestions for tricks I may have missed, or other settings I may want to try?
If your provider is anything like DirecTV you are SOL due to the overly compressed signal. I was watching a dark scene on CBS last week and it looked like crap. OTA looked slightly better, but not by much.

Are you using a 4K AVR? If so turn off scaling there and let the TV do it. Also try turn on both the noise reduction options. They clean up the DirecTV pic a bit, but at the end of the day this tv is going to make the garbage tv signals look worse since its 4K and likely a bigger screen then your last set. It's not the tv .
SledgeHammer is offline  
post #5626 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 10:56 AM
10k
AVS Forum Special Member
 
10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,414
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2143 Post(s)
Liked: 2378
Quote:
Originally Posted by SledgeHammer View Post
If your provider is anything like DirecTV you are SOL due to the overly compressed signal. I was watching a dark scene on CBS last week and it looked like crap. OTA looked slightly better, but not by much.

Are you using a 4K AVR? If so turn off scaling there and let the TV do it. Also try turn on both the noise reduction options. They clean up the DirecTV pic a bit, but at the end of the day this tv is going to make the garbage tv signals look worse since its 4K and likely a bigger screen then your last set. It's not the tv .
Quality upscaling can make a big difference, here is an example of 1080p -> 4k using various upscaling methods available in madVR
Seth Mamane likes this.
10k is offline  
post #5627 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 10:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 4,214
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 625 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Channel View Post
I know most people have had concerns about the 65" and the yellow streak, while people seem generally to be happy with the 55". I'm looking for feedback on what I'm seeing on my 55".
I've had it for about a week and have been putting plenty of hours on it. I noticed out of the gate (mostly in commercials with lot's of white), that there was a reddish/pinkish tone that gets stronger as your eye moves to the lower right hand corner of the screen.
Today I used the Disney WOW calibration disc and saw on some of the calibration screens that the lower right hand corner does have a reddish tint while the upper left hand corner has a bluish tint. The other two corners (lower left and upper right) look neutral in tone. Let me know what you think.

I would exchange it. Poor uniformity overall. Most of the 55 inch sets are far better.
RWetmore is offline  
post #5628 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 11:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
2Channel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
Hello everyone im returning my 55 eg9600 today and was wondering if the 55 ef9500 is worth purchasing. The black streaks was the nail in the coffin for me with the eg9600 but the picture was breathtaking so any thoughts? Thanks in advance
My wife and I love the 55EF9500, but I don't have experience with the 55EG9600 to compare. I would give it a try and judge for yourself. I would buy local, so you can return or exchange easily if you're not satisfied. I'll probably exchange my 55EF9500 in hopes of a better looking panel, but only because I'm picky. My wife thinks I'm being silly, but she humors me.
2Channel is offline  
post #5629 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 11:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
2Channel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by RWetmore View Post
I would exchange it. Poor uniformity overall. Most of the 55 inch sets are far better.
Thanks, that's what I've been leaning toward. Can anyone tell me how Best Buy will handle this? If I call today and they are out of stock, will they let me hold onto my current 55EF9500 until they have more units? Even if that means they end up picking it up after the end of the 15 day window? Or will I be without a TV as I wait for more inventory to show up?
2Channel is offline  
post #5630 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 11:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,069
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1078 Post(s)
Liked: 641
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Channel View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
Hello everyone im returning my 55 eg9600 today and was wondering if the 55 ef9500 is worth purchasing. The black streaks was the nail in the coffin for me with the eg9600 but the picture was breathtaking so any thoughts? Thanks in advance
My wife and I love the 55EF9500, but I don't have experience with the 55EG9600 to compare. I would give it a try and judge for yourself. I would buy local, so you can return or exchange easily if you're not satisfied. I'll probably exchange my 55EF9500 in hopes of a better looking panel, but only because I'm picky. My wife thinks I'm being silly, but she humors me.
may I ask why are u returning it?
Hows the vignetting on it? Any black streaks or the yellow stain I hear about? I know its mainly on the 65" but im getting a 55"
macmane is online now  
post #5631 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 11:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,280
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5361 Post(s)
Liked: 3770
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Channel View Post
Thanks, that's what I've been leaning toward. Can anyone tell me how Best Buy will handle this? If I call today and they are out of stock, will they let me hold onto my current 55EF9500 until they have more units? Even if that means they end up picking it up after the end of the 15 day window? Or will I be without a TV as I wait for more inventory to show up?
They let you keep your tv while you wait for exchange at least when it comes to delivery. I don't know how that works with in store pickups. Make sure you go to store as ask them to pick up and deliver new set. That way, you can keep your tv until new supply arrives.
wxman is offline  
post #5632 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 11:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SledgeHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,291
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1135 Post(s)
Liked: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10k View Post
Quality upscaling can make a big difference, here is an example of 1080p -> 4k using various upscaling methods available in madVR
Yes... in theory ...

Well, the Lanczos4 AR one looks like crap. Lots of jaggies introduced. Linear also has jaggies, but less. The last 2 look good.

Unfortunately, my $1500 Denon sucks as this task (as does the $2500 x7200AW). Here are some caps I made:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...l#post38321465

Look what Denon did to poor HRC! It actually looks much worse then that in person, but my iphone camera couldn't capture all the noise and "heat signatures" or whatever you want to call it LOL the AVR introduced.
SledgeHammer is offline  
post #5633 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 11:48 AM
10k
AVS Forum Special Member
 
10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,414
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2143 Post(s)
Liked: 2378
Wow that denon scaling pic of yours is pretty awful. Of the images I posted, I expect that in motion I would only potentially recognize the benefits of the NNEDI3 scaling. The others are so close to eachother that I doubt it would be possible to discern without still images, and maybe even only in side by side comparisons.

In any case I'm hoping that I'll have the time this weekend to mess around with madVR and see how much can be achieved with the integrated gpu in my i5 6500
10k is offline  
post #5634 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 12:06 PM
Member
 
dobbler44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by alienn View Post
can someone please answer me?
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post
Warning - it's extremely unlikely that any legitimate reputable USA retailer will sell a TV to someone outside of the USA. It's very possible that the USA "stores" that are agreeing to ship a TV to Israel could be fake online scam stores that will take your money and never send your TV. TVs are country-specific, or in some cases region-specific as in some parts of Europe and some parts of the Middle East. And most manufacturers won't warranty a TV that is used outside of the country that it was intended for, so there's that.

Another issue is that Israel's power grid is 240 volt / 50Hz but the USA TVs are 120 volt / 60Hz. And 240v-to-120v Power converters do not work on large TVs (i have a few military friends who moved from the USA to Europe and could not find converters to work with the TVs they brought with them.

If you insist on going forward with this USA-to-Israel purchase, first tell us exactly who these USA stores are so we can check them out for you.

___________________________________
Someone did a couple of pages back

LG 65EF9500 OLED (511)
HTPC- Titan Black Intel Core i7 3930
Denon AVR-X2300W Channel Full 4K Ultra HD AV Receiver
dobbler44 is offline  
post #5635 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SledgeHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,291
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1135 Post(s)
Liked: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10k View Post
In any case I'm hoping that I'll have the time this weekend to mess around with madVR and see how much can be achieved with the integrated gpu in my i5 6500
Sounds to me like you need a Skylake i7 & Titan X GPU combo . Or least a 980Ti!
SledgeHammer is offline  
post #5636 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 12:13 PM
10k
AVS Forum Special Member
 
10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,414
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2143 Post(s)
Liked: 2378
Quote:
Originally Posted by SledgeHammer View Post
Sounds to me like you need a Skylake i7 & Titan X GPU combo . Or least a 980Ti!
LOL, if you go to the HTPC forum you can see my most recent journey in building a fanless HTPC. I did end up going through a number of different parts but finally settled on a z170 motherboard with onboard HDMI 2.0 and a skylake i5 6500. I do now also have a spare gtx950, but I'd rather keep all fans out of the PC. Silence is golden after all
10k is offline  
post #5637 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 12:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Turrican4D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 750 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrindor View Post
Agreed. At the same time games look completely wrong with standard gamut, likely because PC monitors use wide gamuts and we are use to overstated colors in games.
Video games follow the same standards as the rest of the HD media. D65 Rec.709

Prof. Dr. Turrican M.D.
Turrican4D is offline  
post #5638 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 12:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
2Channel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
may I ask why are u returning it?
Hows the vignetting on it? Any black streaks or the yellow stain I hear about? I know its mainly on the 65" but im getting a 55"
I didn't notice any vignetting with the test patterns I looked at or content. What I do see is a bluish cast that is strongest in the upper left hand corner and a reddish cast along the bottom that is strongest in the lower right hand corner. Lower left and upper right corners look neutral.
2Channel is offline  
post #5639 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 12:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SledgeHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,291
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1135 Post(s)
Liked: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10k View Post
LOL, if you go to the HTPC forum you can see my most recent journey in building a fanless HTPC. I did end up going through a number of different parts but finally settled on a z170 motherboard with onboard HDMI 2.0 and a skylake i5 6500. I do now also have a spare gtx950, but I'd rather keep all fans out of the PC. Silence is golden after all
My Ivy Bridge i7 has very few fans. Fanless power supply, CPU fan and two case fans. All were purchased as the "quietest" on the market at the time. My CPU fan is a bit noisy nowadays . I'll have to do better then that one on my next build. My video card is a fanless GeForce thats a few generations old. Not a gamer, so thats "good enough". I might go for a Strix for my next build to get something a bit more modern and supposedly the quietest cards on the market. Just for reference, my SPL meter measures the minimum 40dB right at the case and its not sensitive enough to pick up anything at my seating position a few feet away. I can hear the CPU fan if everything is quiet under load. I think the bearings in it are shot.
SledgeHammer is offline  
post #5640 of 24629 Old 10-26-2015, 12:32 PM
Member
 
cgsussman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by SledgeHammer View Post
If your provider is anything like DirecTV you are SOL due to the overly compressed signal. I was watching a dark scene on CBS last week and it looked like crap. OTA looked slightly better, but not by much.

Are you using a 4K AVR? If so turn off scaling there and let the TV do it. Also try turn on both the noise reduction options. They clean up the DirecTV pic a bit, but at the end of the day this tv is going to make the garbage tv signals look worse since its 4K and likely a bigger screen then your last set. It's not the tv .
My provider is Time Warner, so it's probably worse.

Anybody know if Fios tends to be better? I could switch.
cgsussman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
robert macintyre 855-400-4640

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off