LG 55EF9500 and 65EF9500 OLED Owners Thread - Page 458 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 36664Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13711 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 08:53 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 25,441
Mentioned: 84 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7141 Post(s)
Liked: 7181
Quote:
Originally Posted by satboy View Post
The next model release date is still up in the air so my guess is the new 2016 sets will first hit the stores around the June / July timeframe with not all models being available at the same time. So with that said I suspect the EF9500 will be in high demand as the waiters will always wait and the buyers will always buy what's is out now regardless of whats next etc. I highly doubt the 2016 release of sets will be so far advanced over the current set that it will make one want to sell the 2015 model for a 2016 model etc. I have had the set for six months and when the new ones are released it will be close to a year so all in all I am very satisfied with the 2015 model. I
Question will be if the EF9500 / EG9600 will be discontinued and replaced with the new sets?
Could not have said it better myself. Yes the units mentioned will be replaced. I would guess the EF9500 will be replaced by the B6 or E6. The EG9600 will be replaced by the C6.
donaldm823 likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13712 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 09:12 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi

Just pulled the trigger and got the 55" delivered yesterday !

Got a 509 build (no more stock in Spain as today) so kind of disappointed... however quite impressed with the set so far!

What are the most frequent flaws of a 509 build that I should check while in refund time?

Don't like to run slides to get obsessed, just normal viewing

How can I also check it is not a replaced set? Do not have service remote to enter service menu

Thx all for this great forum
Jorgexx21 is offline  
post #13713 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 09:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,893
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1791 Post(s)
Liked: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jorgexx21 View Post
Hi

Just pulled the trigger and got the 55" delivered yesterday !

Got a 509 build (no more stock in Spain as today) so kind of disappointed... however quite impressed with the set so far!

What are the most frequent flaws of a 509 build that I should check while in refund time?

Don't like to run slides to get obsessed, just normal viewing

How can I also check it is not a replaced set? Do not have service remote to enter service menu

Thx all for this great forum
I have a 509 build and there's only 2 things to check for:
1) Discoloration/staining (obvious on a white slide)
2) Possibility of "sudden death" due to main board defect (new boards didn't show up until 511 builds)

I experienced "sudden death" (which can be repaired with a board replacement), and my only suggestion would be to check the number of hours on the set (in the General/About menu) as it may occur up to a few hundred hours (also tells you if the set was "used" before).
The 55" panels don't have as many defects as 65" panels do, so I wouldn't worry much beyond what I mentioned. Don't worry, be happy!
Jorgexx21 likes this.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.26.05]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13714 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,184
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Congrats and the issues to look out for are bad vignetting near black issues pink blue yellow stains. And go to the menu advanced scroll to general then scroll to about this TV and click on lg TV information or something like that and it will tell u the amount of hours the TV has which should be zero since its brand new I assume
Jorgexx21 likes this.
macmane is offline  
post #13715 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 09:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I see some flickering in score tables and such when watching football, tennis and so on. Have you seen this aswell? See video below

https://vid.me/REW5
Jaxione is offline  
post #13716 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 10:16 AM
10k
AVS Forum Special Member
 
10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,415
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2143 Post(s)
Liked: 2382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaxione View Post
I see some flickering in score tables and such when watching football, tennis and so on. Have you seen this aswell? See video below

https://vid.me/REW5
Looks like bad scaling. Make sure your cable box is set to pass through native resolution. Then in the TV check aspect ratio and set it to "just scan". If it's at "16:9" it might be introducing some overscan, which will scale the image.
10k is offline  
post #13717 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 10:35 AM
Member
 
jfall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by delt31 View Post
few questions:


I) Any way to turn off the cursor once you're done clicking through settings? Seems like I have to put the remote on the couch and not move at all


2) Anyway to go to advanced settings besides doing settings than advanced?
3) I prefer the standard video mode - anyone have good setting for standard?
1) click or scroll with the wheel to get the cursor to appear, click any of the direction buttons to clear the cursor
jfall1 is offline  
post #13718 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 10:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,428
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4949 Post(s)
Liked: 2966
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
M-GO is a "no go" for our LG TVs! I gave it my best shot...talked with customer support...but the M-GO app does not work on the 9500 series (and probably not the 9600). I moved on to Vudu and am very pleased (you can link your Ultraviolet library there as well). I'm hopeful that Vudu will update their LG app soon for UHD, but for now, Amazon is it for streaming UHD/HDR.
Just spoke with MGo customer support and they blamed it on my bandwidth. I told him I'm getting 60 mbps and he still said it didn't matter depending on the number of people and the time of day or day of week.

lujan
622 Ultra HD
724 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #13719 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 11:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,893
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1791 Post(s)
Liked: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Just spoke with MGo customer support and they blamed it on my bandwidth. I told him I'm getting 60 mbps and he still said it didn't matter depending on the number of people and the time of day or day of week.
They are nice guys...but they don't have a clue what's going on. Their answer to me for everything was "power cycle". You've got more bandwidth than I do, and I stream 1080p+ with no problem! I'm just waiting for Vudu to add UHD streaming to their app...

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.26.05]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is online now  
post #13720 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 11:21 AM
Member
 
ALCOMData's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Jersey, about 20 minutes from Center City Philadelphia
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Send a message via Yahoo to ALCOMData
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post
Calibration 101, how to start to adjust grayscale for luminance and RGB balance.

First use the settings I show from this post. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ole...l#post41046818
Also you may want to adjust Blue high +2 and set your Gamma at 2.4 in your EF9500.

Now look at the screen shot in this post (Below).
Look at the Y value (not small y), Target (Y) and what my meter read (Y) for each 5% increments.
Example. IRE 20, the actual meter reading is 2.9985 (actual is a little high so you may want to lower luminance) target is 2.7897. Also look at the chart you will see the RGB lines are above the base 0 line. So what you would want to do to get a better light output (luminance) for 20IRE is to lower Green by -1, Red and Blue by -2, IRE25 about the same, IRE30 Green -2, Blue and Red -2. And so on up to and including about IRE50.

When making any adjustments to RGB (H/L, 20pt, grayscale) use a corresponding color patch to make sure you don't see any other tint than gray. Ted's calibration disc or AVS709 disc for 20 point grayscale patches and a grayscale ramp.

When making adjustments it is probably a good idea not to make any large adjustments, use the KISS method.

ss
I have a question about the LG 65EF9500 service remote and service manual. I have both, but when I press IN START on the remote, I'm prompted for a password. I can't find anything in the manual about setting up a password. Do I need some sort of magic decoder ring?

Peter

The easiest (and usually cheapest) way to improve the sound of your system is to put on a better recording.
ALCOMData is offline  
post #13721 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 11:23 AM
Member
 
superman1213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Can't wait to get a look at this set.
superman1213 is offline  
post #13722 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 11:58 AM
10k
AVS Forum Special Member
 
10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,415
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2143 Post(s)
Liked: 2382
LG tech came out today to look at my TV. I showed him a 4% slide for about 10seconds and he said they knew about the issue, as well as the yellow stripe issue.

He took some pics and sent them in with my serial number, said that I will either get a new tv or a voucher. Given the 2016 are so close i would rather have the voucher but a replacement without discoloration and vignette would be great.
RDalton and Tomcup like this.
10k is offline  
post #13723 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,634
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5626 Post(s)
Liked: 4035
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10k View Post
LG tech came out today to look at my TV. I showed him a 4% slide for about 10seconds and he said they knew about the issue, as well as the yellow stripe issue.

He took some pics and sent them in with my serial number, said that I will either get a new tv or a voucher. Given the 2016 are so close i would rather have the voucher but a replacement without discoloration and vignette would be great.
That's good news. If you have vignetting at 4%, that's pretty bad.
wxman is online now  
post #13724 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 12:06 PM
10k
AVS Forum Special Member
 
10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,415
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2143 Post(s)
Liked: 2382
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
That's good news. If you have vignetting at 4%, that's pretty bad.
yeah I tried to live with it since I finally got one without a yellow stripe, but it was driving me crazy, and LG agreed it's defective.

I guess for anyone with yellow stripe or vignette issues either keep exchanging or call LG if you are outside of your return window.
10k is offline  
post #13725 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 12:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
delt31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfall1 View Post
1) click or scroll with the wheel to get the cursor to appear, click any of the direction buttons to clear the cursor
Thanks this was helpful. Left or right though will skip through the movie so I'm using up or down which both put things on the screen but go away. Too bad there isn't just a remove cursor button where you're just left with the movie but this is pretty small deal.overally the controls are much better this year.


Seems to still play subtitles by default. not sure if there is a way to turn that off by default.
delt31 is offline  
post #13726 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 12:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
delt31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweakerInWA View Post
Thanks for the help but I was referring to the download link that has just the slides so I can show my panel. Unless I'm missing it here.....
delt31 is offline  
post #13727 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 12:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,634
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5626 Post(s)
Liked: 4035
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10k View Post
yeah I tried to live with it since I finally got one without a yellow stripe, but it was driving me crazy, and LG agreed it's defective.

I guess for anyone with yellow stripe or vignette issues either keep exchanging or call LG if you are outside of your return window.
I have the vignetting on the 3%, but none of 4 or 5%. So it rarely occurs and is only a few inches. I wonder if it has to do with improper voltage on the edges? Who knows, perhaps someone will figure it out with a service remote how to adjust those voltages.

Last edited by wxman; 01-30-2016 at 12:19 PM.
wxman is online now  
post #13728 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 12:17 PM
10k
AVS Forum Special Member
 
10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,415
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2143 Post(s)
Liked: 2382
Quote:
Originally Posted by delt31 View Post
Thanks for the help but I was referring to the download link that has just the slides so I can show my panel. Unless I'm missing it here.....
download this https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9F...it?usp=sharing
10k is offline  
post #13729 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 12:17 PM
10k
AVS Forum Special Member
 
10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,415
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2143 Post(s)
Liked: 2382
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
I have the vignetting on the 3%, but none of 4 or 5%. So it rarely occurs and is only a few inches.
65. I'd say on mine it's great 90% of the time but when it's bad it looks worse than a $100 LCD from 1999. Trying to watch beasts of no nation was the last straw for me.
vaktmestern likes this.
10k is offline  
post #13730 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 12:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,634
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5626 Post(s)
Liked: 4035
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10k View Post
65. I'd say on mine it's great 90% of the time but when it's bad it looks worse than a $100 LCD from 1999. Trying to watch beasts of no nation was the last straw for me.
I don't blame you at all. A $5000 tv should be virtually flawless. Hopefully you wont replace one issue with another! IOW, worse near black banding! I probably don't notice vignetting as much since I prefer 2.2 gamma. Maybe that why all of the OOTB default settings are 2.2. Perhaps LG knew the issue was more obvious using 2.4. Heck, most consumers who use Standard setting, would not notice vignetting at all. Those default settings of OLED light at 80, contrast at 95 and gamma 2.2 would cover up that issue completely.

Last edited by wxman; 01-30-2016 at 12:43 PM.
wxman is online now  
post #13731 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 12:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
TweakerInWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 443 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by delt31 View Post
Thanks for the help but I was referring to the download link that has just the slides so I can show my panel. Unless I'm missing it here.....
The download links for the slides and instructions are in the post, I suggest you read the first 1/3 of the post and download the guide (PDF file) with the associated instructions for the slides. But that's just me....

Sent from my Nexus 6
TweakerInWA is offline  
post #13732 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 01:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
delt31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Is anyone else having problems with the tv reading and playing content?


EDIT - figured out that the tv can read files off he hard drive fine but the same file off the network connect does not work.

Last edited by delt31; 01-30-2016 at 01:26 PM.
delt31 is offline  
post #13733 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 01:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
delt31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweakerInWA View Post
The download links for the slides and instructions are in the post, I suggest you read the first 1/3 of the post and download the guide (PDF file) with the associated instructions for the slides. But that's just me....

Sent from my Nexus 6
thanks but not looking to read a block of text just to download PDFs, so I can get the instructions to then read, download more items then get what I need. Someone already posted the direct zip file which is what I was looking for.
delt31 is offline  
post #13734 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 01:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,428
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4949 Post(s)
Liked: 2966
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10k View Post
LG tech came out today to look at my TV. I showed him a 4% slide for about 10seconds and he said they knew about the issue, as well as the yellow stripe issue.

He took some pics and sent them in with my serial number, said that I will either get a new tv or a voucher. Given the 2016 are so close i would rather have the voucher but a replacement without discoloration and vignette would be great.
I'm not a good judge when it comes to things like this. What do you think of my 4% near black? I have an 510.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0039.jpg
Views:	249
Size:	80.8 KB
ID:	1220514  

lujan
622 Ultra HD
724 HD
4 SD

Last edited by lujan; 02-01-2016 at 06:53 AM.
lujan is online now  
post #13735 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 01:14 PM
10k
AVS Forum Special Member
 
10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,415
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2143 Post(s)
Liked: 2382
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I'm not a good judge when it comes to things like this. What do you think of my 4% near black? I have an 810.
Yours is much, much, better than mine
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	vignette.jpg
Views:	221
Size:	110.2 KB
ID:	1220522  
10k is offline  
post #13736 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 01:18 PM
Member
 
Unclejeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello,

I just set up my unit and I only got as far as the icon that wants me to tap the remote but it seems it won't communicate with the remote. The remote has power. Suggestions?
Unclejeff is offline  
post #13737 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 01:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,634
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5626 Post(s)
Liked: 4035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unclejeff View Post
Hello,

I just set up my unit and I only got as far as the icon that wants me to tap the remote but it seems it won't communicate with the remote. The remote has power. Suggestions?
Unplug the tv for a few minutes, and then retry setup.
wxman is online now  
post #13738 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 01:41 PM
Member
 
Unclejeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Correction: The remote will only power the unit on/off.
Unclejeff is offline  
post #13739 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 01:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,634
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5626 Post(s)
Liked: 4035
I noticed since .75 update, that using deblur with live sports, only makes it worse. Watching some golf today, and when I have deblur set to 2 or 3, I started noticing ghosting with the golf ball in the air. Push it up to 10, and at times will see 2 golf balls in the air when it's in flight. Reduce de-blur to 0 and the issue disappears. Reminds me of my 940C that I owned when trying to use a similar motion setting.
wxman is online now  
post #13740 of 24736 Old 01-30-2016, 01:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,634
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5626 Post(s)
Liked: 4035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unclejeff View Post
Correction: The remote will only power the unit on/off.
That's because it defaults back to IR if BT is not working.
Yappadappadu likes this.
wxman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
robert macintyre 855-400-4640

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off