LG 55EF9500 and 65EF9500 OLED Owners Thread - Page 734 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 36646Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21991 of 24645 Old 08-09-2016, 12:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Maverick0984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayX View Post
The 9600 appears in some compatibility lists that the 9500 doesn't. DirecTV for example has a 4K app that lets you use the TV without a mini box, but it's only in the 9600 app store and doesn't (and won't ever) have 9500 compatibility. Link (Getting the damned thing to work is another story, apparently!)

The problem with the 9500 is that it was released mid cycle, so rather than the full year of support you could expect, it got next to nothing. It's just a fact I live with, and in all honesty I didn't really expect to use any of the inbuilt apps as I have enough hardware hanging on, but these TVs are expensive as hell and there isn't a market to upgrade every year like in some other tech sectors, so throwing users a bone and including working apps isn't really a hard ask.

People talk about Apple and obsolescence, but if I pick up a 3 year old cell phone and hit Update I'm going to get the latest version of the OS and app compatibility, just not the latest features. You'd think a company selling an item that costs 10x the amount of that could do the same.
Am I missing something? I don't see any of the 2016 OLED's on there either.

Here's the fixed link btw: https://support.directv.com/app/answers/print/a_id/4385

Last edited by Maverick0984; 08-09-2016 at 12:26 PM.
Maverick0984 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21992 of 24645 Old 08-09-2016, 01:50 PM
Member
 
JayX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Thanks for fixing the link, I should've tested that the Google forwarder was working.

With regards to the new models, I can't report on whether the app is available for them (as the sheet might not have been updated) as I don't have one of them nor any interest in them. I know that the app isn't available for the 9500 however, and that DirecTV have advised it isn't compatible. There was also another list I've seen recently that included 9600 compatibility and not 9500 but my memory fails me right now.

As said, it effects me very little but others might not be fortunate. If they can (finally) get Netflix working to the degree other sets have, that would at least be a win for a lot of people though, I'm sure.
JayX is offline  
post #21993 of 24645 Old 08-09-2016, 03:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Maverick0984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayX View Post
Thanks for fixing the link, I should've tested that the Google forwarder was working.

With regards to the new models, I can't report on whether the app is available for them (as the sheet might not have been updated) as I don't have one of them nor any interest in them. I know that the app isn't available for the 9500 however, and that DirecTV have advised it isn't compatible. There was also another list I've seen recently that included 9600 compatibility and not 9500 but my memory fails me right now.

As said, it effects me very little but others might not be fortunate. If they can (finally) get Netflix working to the degree other sets have, that would at least be a win for a lot of people though, I'm sure.
Well, #1 , it not being compatible is a false statement from an uninformed rep probably thinking 9600 was newer than 9500 simply because it is a higher number.

And #2 , my point for bringing it up at all is that in order of time, it went 9600, 9500, and then the 2016's. This would actually mean that anything, 9500 or newer, isn't yet available. Which is far different than randomly singling out the 9500.

I don't know why I'm refusing to give this up as I don't even have DirecTV, but I don't like misinformation
Maverick0984 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21994 of 24645 Old 08-09-2016, 04:21 PM
Member
 
ghosthound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
The repairman came out today to look at the TV and confirm the line issue. Now they need to order the panel... which is on backorder.
ghosthound is offline  
post #21995 of 24645 Old 08-09-2016, 05:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghosthound View Post
The repairman came out today to look at the TV and confirm the line issue. Now they need to order the panel... which is on backorder.
I hope they get you sorted right. At this level of product, good service is required.
jackstar7 is offline  
post #21996 of 24645 Old 08-09-2016, 06:11 PM
Member
 
ghosthound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
^^

definitely agree here. The repairman told me before that if the wait was over 10 days, he would submit an RA.

He just texted me an update, 2 week + for the panel replacement at least. He submitted an RA and now he or LG will contact me in the next few days to discuss my options.... *crosses fingers*
ghosthound is offline  
post #21997 of 24645 Old 08-09-2016, 06:47 PM
Senior Member
 
FlyOnTheWall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghosthound View Post
^^

definitely agree here. The repairman told me before that if the wait was over 10 days, he would submit an RA.

He just texted me an update, 2 week + for the panel replacement at least. He submitted an RA and now he or LG will contact me in the next few days to discuss my options.... *crosses fingers*
keep up posted Ghost
ghosthound likes this.
FlyOnTheWall is offline  
post #21998 of 24645 Old 08-09-2016, 07:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Pretty sure the answer is probably 'no', but is there an app for NFL and NHL like the MLB app on os 2.0? I'd much rather watch on the smart tv than to have to buy an nvidia Shield or something like that.

Loving the MLB app on the smart tv and hoping they have something similar for other leagues.

Also very much looking forward to netflix HDR support. What's the best way to watch netflix in HDR if that doesn't get fixed on the smart tv?
dan_druff is offline  
post #21999 of 24645 Old 08-09-2016, 07:14 PM
Senior Member
 
FlyOnTheWall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan_druff View Post
Pretty sure the answer is probably 'no', but is there an app for NFL and NHL like the MLB app on os 2.0? I'd much rather watch on the smart tv than to have to buy an nvidia Shield or something like that.

Loving the MLB app on the smart tv and hoping they have something similar for other leagues.

Also very much looking forward to netflix HDR support. What's the best way to watch netflix in HDR if that doesn't get fixed on the smart tv?
nvidia shield
FlyOnTheWall is offline  
post #22000 of 24645 Old 08-09-2016, 07:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Maverick0984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghosthound View Post
^^

definitely agree here. The repairman told me before that if the wait was over 10 days, he would submit an RA.

He just texted me an update, 2 week + for the panel replacement at least. He submitted an RA and now he or LG will contact me in the next few days to discuss my options.... *crosses fingers*
Just make sure you keep on them. They have no real incentive to meet their own deadlines.
Maverick0984 is offline  
post #22001 of 24645 Old 08-09-2016, 07:21 PM
Member
 
ghosthound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverick0984 View Post
Just make sure you keep on them. They have no real incentive to meet their own deadlines.
definitely, this is partially why I prefer text messages from the repairman. It gives me written documentation regarding what he is doing.
ghosthound is offline  
post #22002 of 24645 Old 08-09-2016, 09:28 PM
Member
 
JayX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverick0984 View Post
Well, #1 , it not being compatible is a false statement from an uninformed rep probably thinking 9600 was newer than 9500 simply because it is a higher number.

And #2 , my point for bringing it up at all is that in order of time, it went 9600, 9500, and then the 2016's. This would actually mean that anything, 9500 or newer, isn't yet available. Which is far different than randomly singling out the 9500.

I don't know why I'm refusing to give this up as I don't even have DirecTV, but I don't like misinformation
I think there's some confusion. This has nothing to do with reps - the app is not available in the 9500 store. Take the 5 seconds and look yourself, it's not there. I know the order of the model numbers being released, there's no misinformation just the downside of a model released midway through a cycle and not being supported properly.

e: I now see what your saying, but it doesn't mean anything substantial. The app doesn't exist, and never will do and that's that.
JayX is offline  
post #22003 of 24645 Old 08-10-2016, 05:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Maverick0984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayX View Post
I think there's some confusion. This has nothing to do with reps - the app is not available in the 9500 store. Take the 5 seconds and look yourself, it's not there. I know the order of the model numbers being released, there's no misinformation just the downside of a model released midway through a cycle and not being supported properly.

e: I now see what your saying, but it doesn't mean anything substantial. The app doesn't exist, and never will do and that's that.
It doesn't exist for the 2016 OLED models either so my point was that the 9500 being released midyear is irrelevant and the real issue is that DirecTV stopped adding the app after the 9600.

As far as compatibility goes, we might be getting lost in semantics. I am calling the 9500 and E6/etc compatible because they have the capability to have the app, even if DirecTV hasn't taken the time to make it. There are no technical or hardware limitations that prevent it, just laziness. It might be that they saw a very low uptick in usage from the 9600 and they don't think it is worth the development time for the newer OLEDs. Either way, be mad at DirecTV, not LG or their release cycle.
Stanton likes this.
Maverick0984 is offline  
post #22004 of 24645 Old 08-10-2016, 06:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
ll Viper ll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 138
If anyone has a stand for the 55 inch version they're not using, I'll pay $50 plus the cost of shipping...
ll Viper ll is offline  
post #22005 of 24645 Old 08-10-2016, 06:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1081 Post(s)
Liked: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by ll Viper ll View Post
If anyone has a stand for the 55 inch version they're not using, I'll pay $50 plus the cost of shipping...
Do you need a wall mount? If so I have the exact one you need for the ef
macmane is offline  
post #22006 of 24645 Old 08-10-2016, 06:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
ll Viper ll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 138
No, sorry. Looking for the actual pedestal base because I don't like the look of the eg9100 one when my speaker bar is covering up the bottom inch or so of it
ll Viper ll is offline  
post #22007 of 24645 Old 08-10-2016, 07:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1081 Post(s)
Liked: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by ll Viper ll View Post
No, sorry. Looking for the actual pedestal base because I don't like the look of the eg9100 one when my speaker bar is covering up the bottom inch or so of it
O ok
macmane is offline  
post #22008 of 24645 Old 08-10-2016, 08:28 AM
Newbie
 
bcgough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I need some help with the Amazon internal app. I cannot get any show with HDR to work. For example, I'd like to watch Man in the High castle, but the only version I can get is HD 1080p, not UHD and not HDR. I am using the current version of the app, as of July 9. Is there a way to delete and re-load the app? Any other advice?
bcgough is offline  
post #22009 of 24645 Old 08-10-2016, 08:36 AM
Member
 
ghosthound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcgough View Post
I need some help with the Amazon internal app. I cannot get any show with HDR to work. For example, I'd like to watch Man in the High castle, but the only version I can get is HD 1080p, not UHD and not HDR. I am using the current version of the app, as of July 9. Is there a way to delete and re-load the app? Any other advice?
I'm not sure if amazon has two listings for the show... HD and UHD. If I recall correctly, scroll even further down and there should be a UHD Show category.
ghosthound is offline  
post #22010 of 24645 Old 08-10-2016, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
donaldm823's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghosthound View Post
I'm not sure if amazon has two listings for the show... HD and UHD. If I recall correctly, scroll even further down and there should be a UHD Show category.
yes there are two listings (one 1080p & one UHD). I myself prefer the 1080 version as the UHD is too dark

Don
SW Florida area
LG 65EF9500 OLED
LG LAS751M sound bar
donaldm823 is offline  
post #22011 of 24645 Old 08-10-2016, 08:47 AM
Member
 
JayX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Yes, get used to a looooot of scrolling in the Amazon app. Both Movies/TV have UltraHD sections rather than having the 1080p version auto choose the right feed/provide an option on that screen.
JayX is offline  
post #22012 of 24645 Old 08-10-2016, 10:29 AM
Member
 
cjfduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by ll Viper ll View Post
If anyone has a stand for the 55 inch version they're not using, I'll pay $50 plus the cost of shipping...
I have an 55" EF9500 stand I would be willing to part with (I'm using mount). I don't have enough posts to DM you, so if still interested DM me or let me know.
cjfduke is offline  
post #22013 of 24645 Old 08-10-2016, 10:44 AM
Newbie
 
bcgough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayX View Post
Yes, get used to a looooot of scrolling in the Amazon app. Both Movies/TV have UltraHD sections rather than having the 1080p version auto choose the right feed/provide an option on that screen.
Thanks for the feedback on the Amazon app. Is it possible to uninstall/re-install any internal apps?
bcgough is offline  
post #22014 of 24645 Old 08-10-2016, 11:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
ll Viper ll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjfduke View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ll Viper ll View Post
If anyone has a stand for the 55 inch version they're not using, I'll pay $50 plus the cost of shipping...
I have an 55" EF9500 stand I would be willing to part with (I'm using mount). I don't have enough posts to DM you, so if still interested DM me or let me know.
PMed
ll Viper ll is offline  
post #22015 of 24645 Old 08-10-2016, 11:26 AM
Member
 
cjfduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by ll Viper ll View Post
PMed
I did receive it, however I apparently still can't reply to it. If you want to send me your email address, we can communicate that way.
cjfduke is offline  
post #22016 of 24645 Old 08-10-2016, 11:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
ll Viper ll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjfduke View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ll Viper ll View Post
PMed
I did receive it, however I apparently still can't reply to it. If you want to send me your email address, we can communicate that way.
PMed
ll Viper ll is offline  
post #22017 of 24645 Old 08-10-2016, 12:26 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,575
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6680 Post(s)
Liked: 6676
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghosthound View Post
The repairman came out today to look at the TV and confirm the line issue. Now they need to order the panel... which is on backorder.
If they do not get one in a timely fashion they may offer you a new model.......
kyle454 likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #22018 of 24645 Old 08-10-2016, 01:07 PM
Member
 
ghosthound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
If they do not get one in a timely fashion they may offer you a new model.......
I'm entirely okay with this.
ghosthound is offline  
post #22019 of 24645 Old 08-11-2016, 12:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Now if they would just properly map the color gamut...

What ís wrong with the color gamut?


Br J
Jaxione is offline  
post #22020 of 24645 Old 08-11-2016, 01:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kucharsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, CO
Posts: 6,461
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1775 Post(s)
Liked: 1048
Quote:
Originally Posted by donaldm823 View Post
yes there are two listings (one 1080p & one UHD). I myself prefer the 1080 version as the UHD is too dark
I assume you mean the dark scenes; I didn't like the HDR as daylight scenes were eye-searingly bright.
kucharsk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
robert macintyre 855-400-4640

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off