LG 55EF9500 and 65EF9500 OLED Owners Thread - Page 822 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 36664Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #24631 of 24736 Old 07-25-2019, 05:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kucharsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, CO
Posts: 6,476
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1788 Post(s)
Liked: 1062
Quote:
Originally Posted by J8535 View Post
Warranty of television should be the same as refrigerators. They cost the same.
Really, you have a $12,000 TV?

Sub-Zero BI-48SID/S
kucharsk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24632 of 24736 Old 07-26-2019, 05:46 AM
Member
 
sambrightman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
My 65EF9500 is still going strong. Pretty crazy what we paid for these tv's. I could almost buy 2 65 inch models and 1 55 inch model today for the price I paid for that 9500.
What is the equivalent model now? E9? In Europe the 55E9 is more than half the price I paid for the 55EF9500, so a big difference but not as extreme as you say.
sambrightman is offline  
post #24633 of 24736 Old 07-26-2019, 05:53 AM
Member
 
sambrightman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by J8535 View Post
I have loved this television, but to have it fall apart after three years, having spent a lot of money, is very disappointing. LG has been so understanding. Anyone else have this problem?
Mine failed after two years. LG have been extremely uncooperative, in breach of local consumer rights laws in multiple ways. Their third party authorised repair took the back off and put it back on again, without testing anything, and claimed the panel needed replacing. They also tried to breach consumer law in multiple ways (they would sell me a panel for 2-3K but wouldn’t guarantee it would work and wouldn’t allow a refund if not - totally illegal where I am). It’s good to read stories on here when people get a better response, because it seems to me they are still making the best units. Hard to go elsewhere.
sambrightman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24634 of 24736 Old 08-05-2019, 11:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Anyone gotten 1080p 120hz over hdmi from any source(pc, android box ect)?
zdriver300 is offline  
post #24635 of 24736 Old 09-02-2019, 03:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Would anyone happen to know what could possibly cause the issue below? It's actually been occurring for a number of years, but I've only recently begun to set up my TV room. The problem is very interimittent, but basically sometimes the TV will boot up with the half dark gray / half light gray image shown below -- shortly after it starts up this way the TV will power off. Other times the TV will be perfectly fine and then shutoff completely. If I attempt to turn it back on after this shut off it will either turn back on with this half dark gray / half light gray shading, or it will just shut off again completely.

I've already replaced the power supply so it doesn't appear to be related to that. Any thoughts?

mosstastic_22 is offline  
post #24636 of 24736 Old 09-02-2019, 03:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
It appears that I can't post pictures or URLs until I hit five posts, so consider this to be the second post.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TV_Issue.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	50.1 KB
ID:	2610336  
mosstastic_22 is offline  
post #24637 of 24736 Old 09-03-2019, 08:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,894
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1792 Post(s)
Liked: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by mosstastic_22 View Post
It appears that I can't post pictures or URLs until I hit five posts, so consider this to be the second post.

It could be a Main Board issue...but I would have expected it to completely fail after several years. At this point, I guess you march on unless/until it completely fails.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.26.05]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
post #24638 of 24736 Old 09-03-2019, 06:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
It could be a Main Board issue...but I would have expected it to completely fail after several years. At this point, I guess you march on unless/until it completely fails.
So you don't believe that any of the parts are "replaceable" to fix this issue? Like I said, it happens intermittently, but it does happen enough that it deters me from using the set. Would love to fix it if possible.

When you say main board, do you mean TCON, or equivalent to TCON?
mosstastic_22 is offline  
post #24639 of 24736 Old 09-04-2019, 07:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,894
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1792 Post(s)
Liked: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by mosstastic_22 View Post
So you don't believe that any of the parts are "replaceable" to fix this issue? Like I said, it happens intermittently, but it does happen enough that it deters me from using the set. Would love to fix it if possible.

When you say main board, do you mean TCON, or equivalent to TCON?

All boards are replaceable; the Main Board is different than the TCON board.
The only way to know for sure is to engage a (certified) repair service...and even that could be a problem since intermittent is the toughest to diagnose.
Good luck.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.26.05]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
post #24640 of 24736 Old 09-04-2019, 06:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
All boards are replaceable; the Main Board is different than the TCON board.
The only way to know for sure is to engage a (certified) repair service...and even that could be a problem since intermittent is the toughest to diagnose.
Good luck.
Last question to bother you with. Is there a direct site I can go to look up certified repair technicians? Thanks
mosstastic_22 is offline  
post #24641 of 24736 Old 09-05-2019, 09:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,894
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1792 Post(s)
Liked: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by mosstastic_22 View Post
Last question to bother you with. Is there a direct site I can go to look up certified repair technicians? Thanks

Don't know: I would go to LGUS site and/or call customer support (I believe the 800# is in this thread).

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.26.05]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
post #24642 of 24736 Old 09-19-2019, 07:55 PM
Member
 
killerip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Talking

Just dropping in to let y'all know my 55ef9500 is still rocking strong. Ran the 26 update, see no effect. Might have updated some apps?

It playing supermarket sweep on prime perfect!

OTA with 2 handcrafted 4 bays | Whole home Wired GigE | 16TB UnRaid running on SC846 24 bay TAMS | Arris SB 6183 - 200/20 Charter (yuck) | Main Screen - LG 55EF9500 | RaspberryPI KODI on 27" monitor | 2 x Nexus 4 | 3 x Nexus 7 | LG G3 | Nexus 5x | iPod touch 6gen
killerip is offline  
post #24643 of 24736 Old 09-20-2019, 08:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,894
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1792 Post(s)
Liked: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by killerip View Post
Just dropping in to let y'all know my 55ef9500 is still rocking strong. Ran the 26 update, see no effect. Might have updated some apps?

I don't think the OS update affects apps, but I did notice an app update (I think it was YouTube) recently. Glad to see an update of any kind, but I wish Amazon would restore HDR to their app for this TV.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.26.05]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
post #24644 of 24736 Old 09-23-2019, 04:46 PM
Member
 
Jess Sayin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hawai'i
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
I don't think the OS update affects apps, but I did notice an app update (I think it was YouTube) recently. Glad to see an update of any kind, but I wish Amazon would restore HDR to their app for this TV.
Good point about Amazon app, an update would be nice. But given the overall performance and features, and the irreplaceable OLED 3D, I've gotten over being mad and am fine with this cost-effective workaround on the Amazon app: I've given up and don't use it.

Roku (top model around $80 when I bought it) streams Amazon HDR just fine for me. Until 3D returns to OLED models, or my 65EF9500 dies (it's doing just fine now), I don't see any new models coming to market as upgrades to this display as it is.
Jess Sayin is offline  
post #24645 of 24736 Old 09-23-2019, 05:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Maverick0984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jess Sayin View Post
Good point about Amazon app, an update would be nice. But given the overall performance and features, and the irreplaceable OLED 3D, I've gotten over being mad and am fine with this cost-effective workaround on the Amazon app: I've given up and don't use it.



Roku (top model around $80 when I bought it) streams Amazon HDR just fine for me. Until 3D returns to OLED models, or my 65EF9500 dies (it's doing just fine now), I don't see any new models coming to market as upgrades to this display as it is.
Yes, agreed. Updated or not, the app on the TV will always be slower than a device plugged into it. I stopped using the apps years ago.
Maverick0984 is offline  
post #24646 of 24736 Old 11-12-2019, 06:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
jterp7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Looks like no disney app either. Got a popup on our C8 but nothing for us apparently
jterp7 is offline  
post #24647 of 24736 Old 11-12-2019, 06:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
dave1216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by jterp7 View Post
Looks like no disney app either. Got a popup on our C8 but nothing for us apparently
This just gets my blood pressure up. Our TV is not that old to dump support like this. Figured I have to get Roku but we should not have to. I will probably call LG directly to complain but we all know where that will get us. If anyone gets more information please update us.
dave1216 is offline  
post #24648 of 24736 Old 11-12-2019, 06:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
jterp7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave1216 View Post
This just gets my blood pressure up. Our TV is not that old to dump support like this. Figured I have to get Roku but we should not have to. I will probably call LG directly to complain but we all know where that will get us. If anyone gets more information please update us.
Tbh i want to replace this with a 77” if they get cheap enough.

Yea so if we want amazon and disney plus on these looks like I’ll need a apple tv (im on IOS)
jterp7 is offline  
post #24649 of 24736 Old 11-13-2019, 09:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,894
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1792 Post(s)
Liked: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by jterp7 View Post
Looks like no disney app either. Got a popup on our C8 but nothing for us apparently

This isn't just our TV (or even LG): Disney deliberately decided to limit the platforms for their app...and promote their relationship with Apple. I use an iPhone/iPad for Disney+ (and a few others as well). My only issue right now is I'm not getting 5.1 sound via the app/TV, but I'm thinking that may be a phone/interface thing (the TV isn't even seeing 5.1).

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.26.05]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
post #24650 of 24736 Old 11-13-2019, 11:09 AM
Senior Member
 
boltonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 21
What is the ethernet port spec’d at?
boltonic is offline  
post #24651 of 24736 Old 11-14-2019, 06:39 AM
Senior Member
 
danlshane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Okolona, KY
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave1216 View Post
This just gets my blood pressure up. Our TV is not that old to dump support like this. Figured I have to get Roku but we should not have to. I will probably call LG directly to complain but we all know where that will get us. If anyone gets more information please update us.
It's to be expected since LG chose not to provide an upgrade to WebOS 3 on this model. That also denies us YouTubeTV.

--
Dan Shane
LG 65EF9500 & LG 65UH8500

God gave us two eyes for a reason.
danlshane is online now  
post #24652 of 24736 Old 11-14-2019, 08:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,894
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1792 Post(s)
Liked: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by boltonic View Post
What is the ethernet port spec’d at?

It's got to be a Gigabit Ethernet port since it supports speeds in excess of 100 Mbs

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.26.05]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
post #24653 of 24736 Old 11-14-2019, 08:24 AM
Senior Member
 
boltonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
It's got to be a Gigabit Ethernet port since it supports speeds in excess of 100 Mbs

How do you test out the speed?
boltonic is offline  
post #24654 of 24736 Old 11-15-2019, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,894
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1792 Post(s)
Liked: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by boltonic View Post
How do you test out the speed?

You could infer/observe speed by running a "speed test" app on the TV (I think there is one in the LG library): if it returns >100Mbs, it's probably a Gigabit port.
Or, you could take a direct measurement...but for that you would need to obtain a piece of Ethernet test equipment.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.26.05]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
post #24655 of 24736 Old 11-15-2019, 12:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
jterp7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 22
since we don't have a native app, deciding between a 4k apple tv or chromecast.

For those of you with chromecast any issues with disneyplus using your ios devices?
jterp7 is offline  
post #24656 of 24736 Old 11-16-2019, 04:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy

Started having some trouble with my 65EF9500 this week.

It would make what sounds like a crinkle noise, and then vertical lines would appear (attached pic).
Would then (after about 20 seconds) turn itself off and I would need to unplug and plug it back in to make the TV power on again.

Happens every 2 hours or so... thinking we may be on our last leg with this one.
Has any one else seen this set of symptoms before?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	75552950_722138341600632_1135773924986978304_n.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	331.3 KB
ID:	2641966  
Onouris is offline  
post #24657 of 24736 Old 11-16-2019, 05:22 PM
Senior Member
 
boltonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jterp7 View Post
since we don't have a native app, deciding between a 4k apple tv or chromecast.



For those of you with chromecast any issues with disneyplus using your ios devices?


I use apply tv and I like it. I have notice audio issues when you switch to another movie or show, sometimes you hear audio from both things. I’m sure it’s bug that they will put out a firmware fix for.
boltonic is offline  
post #24658 of 24736 Old 11-16-2019, 06:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dianabol5mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 1,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onouris View Post
Started having some trouble with my 65EF9500 this week.

It would make what sounds like a crinkle noise, and then vertical lines would appear (attached pic).
Would then (after about 20 seconds) turn itself off and I would need to unplug and plug it back in to make the TV power on again.

Happens every 2 hours or so... thinking we may be on our last leg with this one.
Has any one else seen this set of symptoms before?
Sounds and looks like it could be one of 3 things...... hdmi issue, power supply, or main video board. All solvable.

Sony 65A1E
LG 65EF9500
LG 55EG9100
Samsung 60F8500
LG UP870 Multi-Region
Dianabol5mg is offline  
post #24659 of 24736 Old 11-16-2019, 10:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kucharsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, CO
Posts: 6,476
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1788 Post(s)
Liked: 1062
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave1216 View Post
This just gets my blood pressure up. Our TV is not that old to dump support like this.
Actually, it kind of is. All EF-series TVs are long since out of warranty, and even most purchased with Best Buy warranties are nearing the end of those.

The streaming portion of the TV uses a proprietary development platform and OS it costs LG money to maintain.
kucharsk is offline  
post #24660 of 24736 Old 11-18-2019, 07:15 AM
Senior Member
 
danlshane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Okolona, KY
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by kucharsk View Post
Actually, it kind of is. All EF-series TVs are long since out of warranty, and even most purchased with Best Buy warranties are nearing the end of those.

The streaming portion of the TV uses a proprietary development platform and OS it costs LG money to maintain.
I pretty much agree with this. I bought my 65EF9500 as an open-box unit because it could provide OLED 3-D -- any Internet apps built into the device were just gravy since I knew that technology would eventually exceed the capabilities of the hardware and OS version. That is simply the nature of the beast. Very few of us are using the same smart phones or computers we had 5 years ago.

I make my tech purchases based on what they are able to do at the time of purchase, not what they might be able to do in the uncertain future. My LG OLED still provides the best possible passive 3-D experience, and I have plenty of other ways to feed 4K streams to the unit. The "smartest" 8K TVs available cannot be used to enjoy my vast 3-D Blu-ray collection, so I wouldn't care if the Ethernet or WiFi ports on my set go bye-bye. If the TV screen itself ever develops problems that will be when I will have reason to cry.

--
Dan Shane
LG 65EF9500 & LG 65UH8500

God gave us two eyes for a reason.
danlshane is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
robert macintyre 855-400-4640

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off