Amazon HDR content for LG OLEDs has been fixed in latest update - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 43 Old 10-24-2015, 05:21 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
fafrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 13,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4719
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post
Exodus and Life of Pi look great in HDR.
For daytime viewing, Red Oaks looked great but Bosch was unwatchable (too dark).

I'll check both show again thos evening.

Itis totally bogus that 'HDR mode' locks you out of any settings changes but this is certain to be fixed with new updates as the technology matures...

HDR for bright room viewing is a plus if properly mastered. Not sure yet whether I prefer properly calibrated SDR or HDR for dark-room viewing (at least when there is only one HDA option and everything is locked).

Still early days...
fafrd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 43 Old 10-24-2015, 06:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
darinp2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 23,188
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1135 Post(s)
Liked: 1767
Anybody know if "The Man in the High Castle" will be in HDR (at least the new episodes)?

I'm also hoping Netflix's Daredevil gets released in HDR.

So far I've haven't seen news of any HDR that would get me to hurry up and get a 55EF9500, but one good series that I don't have to buy directly (not counting subscriptions I already have) might do it.

--Darin

This is the AV Science Forum. Please don't be gullible and please do remember the saying, "Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me."
darinp2 is offline  
post #33 of 43 Old 10-30-2015, 04:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
So I seem to be having problems getting the 4k amazon or HDR to work on my LG 65EF9500

I checked for updates on my tv and it says everything is up to date. TV software version 04.20.07 and it says the amazon app was last updated 10/15/2015 version 1.0.30 but all the press releases announcing HDR etc say 10/20 so I am wondering if I am somehow stuck with an old version?

I haven't gotten anything to show up in amazon as 4k. Whenever I pause it it says 1080p in the bottom left. Never shows as HDR. I have tried multiple episodes of season 1 Mozart in the Jungle and Alpha House, Red Oaks, and Transparent. I cannot find any settings in the amazon app.

I am able to watch 4k netflix just fine. I doubt it is a bandwidth issue as I have 150mbit cable and don't have any problems with netflix or youtube or any buffering in the amazon apps.

Any suggestions as to how to get this to work? What software versions are you successfully using?

Thank you!
litany is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 43 Old 11-02-2015, 10:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 5,306
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1786 Post(s)
Liked: 1225
I have a sony 940c and have watched Mozart in the Jungle and Red Oaks and HDR works fine. It looks basically the same as non-hdr except for outdoor scenes. The outdoors looks more realistic in terms of brightness. If it doesn't look right, the problem is with your TV, not Amazon.
KidHorn is offline  
post #35 of 43 Old 11-02-2015, 10:42 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by KidHorn View Post
I have a sony 940c and have watched Mozart in the Jungle and Red Oaks and HDR works fine. It looks basically the same as non-hdr except for outdoor scenes. The outdoors looks more realistic in terms of brightness. If it doesn't look right, the problem is with your TV, not Amazon.
Its not the TV, Its the amazon app, as hdr works fine with other sources.
yamvmax1 is offline  
post #36 of 43 Old 11-04-2015, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 47
To the guy with 65EF9500: I just watched Red Oaks pilot .. HDR went on, and was listed as Ultra 4K on bottom.. looked pretty good to me .. using the built in amazon app on TV also 65EF9500

There is a whole section of Ultra HD movies and Ultra HD shows if you keep scrolling down the list of topics/types of shows

Not sure what version I am running for the Amazon app, but I am on the same firmware and it asked to update the app before launching the first time I ran it.

Maybe try resetting your TV to all default and doing the setup again if it still doesn't work?
life_is_good is offline  
post #37 of 43 Old 10-31-2016, 03:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everyone,


Just got a 65B6P recently. Anyone else have problem with the Amazon App not remembering the fine adjustments made to the HDR picture mode when it's engaged? I was playing the Man in the High Castle and Transparent, both HDR capable, and it kept defaulting back to the original factory settings for HDR picture mode every time I exit/resume each episode. I don't want to have to keep reducing the OLED light from the default 100 / Contrast 100 setting every time a new episode is played or resumed. The standard settings are way too bright. In the Netflix app, I can fine adjust the HDR picture settings to whatever I like and it will stay that way.


thanks!
LG65B6P is offline  
post #38 of 43 Old 10-31-2016, 03:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,271
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5352 Post(s)
Liked: 3763
Quote:
Originally Posted by LG65B6P View Post
Hi everyone,


Just got a 65B6P recently. Anyone else have problem with the Amazon App not remembering the fine adjustments made to the HDR picture mode when it's engaged? I was playing the Man in the High Castle and Transparent, both HDR capable, and it kept defaulting back to the original factory settings for HDR picture mode every time I exit/resume each episode. I don't want to have to keep reducing the OLED light from the default 100 / Contrast 100 setting every time a new episode is played or resumed. The standard settings are way too bright. In the Netflix app, I can fine adjust the HDR picture settings to whatever I like and it will stay that way.


thanks!
The has been an issue since day 1 on all the 2016 OLED's.

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D
wxman is online now  
post #39 of 43 Old 10-31-2016, 04:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
The has been an issue since day 1 on all the 2016 OLED's.

Is there a fix for this or anyone working on a fix?
LG65B6P is offline  
post #40 of 43 Old 10-31-2016, 07:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,586
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4280 Post(s)
Liked: 3704
1) No. 2) Only LG/Amazon knows.
video_analysis is offline  
post #41 of 43 Old 11-01-2016, 06:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
zAndy12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Scunthorpe, Nth Lincs, UK
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Should the colour gamut be set to wide when watching hdr content on Amazon in hdr standard mode?

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
zAndy12 is offline  
post #42 of 43 Old 11-01-2016, 12:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathanddrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,998
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 607 Post(s)
Liked: 613
Exciting! Amazon's The Grand Tour ("New Top Gear") is all being done in 4K HDR, so I can not wait now!!!
zAndy12 likes this.
nathanddrews is offline  
post #43 of 43 Old 11-01-2016, 12:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kucharsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, CO
Posts: 6,413
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1743 Post(s)
Liked: 1021
Quote:
Originally Posted by darinp2 View Post
Anybody know if "The Man in the High Castle" will be in HDR (at least the new episodes)?
The entire first season was in 4K/HDR so, I'm sure the second season will be as well.

To me, the HDR episodes were too bright to watch comfortably and I actually preferred the regular HD ones.
kucharsk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off