2016 LG OLEDs - G6, E6, C6, and B6 - Page 244 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 41389Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7291 of 12473 Old 09-28-2016, 09:38 PM
Newbie
 
spadae2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Albany
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by tngiloy View Post
Do you have a 103 or 103D??
The only thing that I know that draws a line down the middle of the screen is the Darbee demo setting in the 103D.
Is it possible that you have the Darbee demo turned on?

I have a 103D and it works fine with Darbee enabled at @30-40. I also do the upscaling in the Oppo.

Of course if you don't have the 103D, then this is N/A, and I've wasted both our time.

Tom
New to the LG OLED65B6, coming from Marantz 11s1 projector this TV 2% black really sucks for Blu-Ray as well as other sources. So, 103D, Darbee - 35, Auto-Scale from 103D, dark movies are terrible, watch Collateral, Dark Night, etc, at low black levels it's snowing. I messing around the all of the noise setttings, etc.

I did calabarte and it did help, but it really bad. So if I run the 103D- Source Direct - Darbee off, it's much better, but my 11S1 blows this away. Please help as it seems the upscaler in the TV hides this better. I will add the better the source (newer movies - Cars, etc) BETTER aslo.

4K from Netflix is the best so far at 4K, Breaking Bad looks great. I cannot believe how bad the low level picture is.

Please help if someone has solved this.
spadae2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7292 of 12473 Old 09-28-2016, 09:41 PM
Newbie
 
spadae2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Albany
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by MEGATRON 631 View Post
Hello all, anyone else noticed banding in dark scenes on their sets? I have a c6 65", and it doesn't perform as well as my panny vt60 or pioneer elitelite for dark scenes, such as grey smoke against a night sky. Only about 100 hrs on my c6,so I'm hoping it gets better, but I'm thinking about returning and waiting till next yearwhen the tech had improved. Anyone have any thoughts? Thanks in advance!
Agreed, my Marantz 11S1, I have 200+ hours on OLED65B6, mine is snowing also in the dark!
spadae2 is offline  
post #7293 of 12473 Old 09-28-2016, 09:45 PM
Newbie
 
spadae2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Albany
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plasmoidial View Post
How much content do you watch that has a lot of dark scenes in it? I am somewhat overemphasizing my viewing habits right now towards that kind of content, just to compare the differences of black levels from my previously pretty damn good plasma. What I've noticed is that:

1. On essentially any well lit scene, 1080p looks outstanding on my B6. I was actually surprised at how very not smeared or blurred the details were, especially in faces or clothing. I expected it to look about as bad as a typical 480p broadcast signal on a 1080p screen. Definitely not the case.

2. On scenes that have a lot of blacks, or shadows, it's a mixed bag. It might just depend on how well of a transfer the Blu-ray received however. Batman Begins for example, has a lot of artifacts in most near black scenes. To the point in where it almost looks like snow. You can "fix" this by turning down the brightness 2-3 clicks, but you'll just end up crushing a lot of the other scenes. The Dark Knight looks way better for whatever reason, and I also haven't noticed any anomalies with Casino Royale, Stark Trek or Sin City. Going to watch Inception next I think.
Right on the mark, my B6 same issues.
spadae2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7294 of 12473 Old 09-28-2016, 09:58 PM
Newbie
 
spadae2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Albany
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post
I wonder if Amazon+prime would allow a single dead pixel return.
Yes they will, any reason, they are great for issues like this.
spadae2 is offline  
post #7295 of 12473 Old 09-29-2016, 12:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,626
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4298 Post(s)
Liked: 3723
Amazon would probably blacklist some of us given the imperfect nature of manufacturing. Let's say you get a pixel-perfect TV but have a vertical grayscale band that randomly irks you, but your next TV has one dead sub/pixel. You could rack up a ton of exchanges looking for nirvana. Of course with the higher price, expectations are correspondingly higher, but the sad reality is the prices need to be even higher if your expectation is no detectable flaws.
video_analysis is offline  
post #7296 of 12473 Old 09-29-2016, 02:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you for the answer! I've also ordered some KabelDirekt of various lenghts and will report back later.
Icaaruz is offline  
post #7297 of 12473 Old 09-29-2016, 06:23 AM
Member
 
chifanpoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Edwardsville IL
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by spadae2 View Post
Right on the mark, my B6 same issues.
Have you looked into or have you already done this on your B6?
chifanpoe is offline  
post #7298 of 12473 Old 09-29-2016, 07:32 AM
Member
 
TechGreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 20
So, what should the settings be on an Xbox One S for the C65P?

I've got it set to 12 bit color and full RGB right now, but I'm thinking it's only a 10 bit TV (I felt like I've read it somewhere but can't find it again). Am I hurting anything by leaving it on this mode if it doesn't truly support it?
TechGreek is offline  
post #7299 of 12473 Old 09-29-2016, 08:06 AM
Newbie
 
Nicholas Herron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by viruzzx View Post
you are fine, im in the same boat, using msi 980ti, all 980ti have hdmi 2.0, im doing 4k, full rgb in 60hz
i pre-ordered 1080 for more power and hdr support, but if you dont need hdr, you are fine with 980ti

just enable uhd deep color mode
does that mean i have to change my grafik card also i have the
gtx 970
Nicholas Herron is offline  
post #7300 of 12473 Old 09-29-2016, 10:53 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,563
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6675 Post(s)
Liked: 6670
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChicagoChris View Post
LG would do itself a favor by getting some decent source material and some level of calibration in store. Joe Public is not going to pay $1000 premium over a Samsung LCD the way they show in store.
You are right, there are some stores that do a poor job. Most do a pretty good job though.....
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #7301 of 12473 Old 09-29-2016, 03:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Does anyone know if it is possible to use the E6's soundbar in conjunction with an external surround sound system?
UHDfanInPeoria is offline  
post #7302 of 12473 Old 09-29-2016, 07:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wjboshart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1355 Post(s)
Liked: 1323
Quote:
Originally Posted by UHDfanInPeoria View Post
Does anyone know if it is possible to use the E6's soundbar in conjunction with an external surround sound system?
No it doesn't work like that
Wjboshart is offline  
post #7303 of 12473 Old 09-29-2016, 07:48 PM
Newbie
 
spadae2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Albany
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by chifanpoe View Post
Have you looked into or have you already done this on your B6?

No, I have not, looks like the key I have been looking for, thank you. I will report back.
spadae2 is offline  
post #7304 of 12473 Old 09-30-2016, 03:46 AM
Newbie
 
tarao's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spadae2 View Post
No, I have not, looks like the key I have been looking for, thank you. I will report back.
I'm about to get a B6 so I´m eager to see if this works for you.

Also, I'm worried about the artifacts in near black shadows. I understand they should be caused but poor compression or bad upscaling so it should not be an issue from bluray discs where should be no compression problems and the upscaling should be pretty straighforward (just copy every pixel 4 times). Can sombody confirm if they got artifacts from Bluray discs?
tarao is offline  
post #7305 of 12473 Old 09-30-2016, 05:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Good day to you all!

Yesterday I received my LG 55B6V, which I'm very happy with, but I think I have something weird with calibrating.

All my devices (media player, ps4, tv decoder, blu-ray player) are connect to my receiver (Denon AVR-X2000) and from there and HDMI cable goes into the HDMI2 (ARC) port on the tv.
Yesterday I ran the calibration software from my media player and everything looks stunning when playing content from there. The thing is when i switch to TV everything looks washed out.

I don't understand how as i only use one source on the tv, which is my receiver. I couldn't find any picture settings in my tv decoder, at least nothing related to brightness, contrast etc...

Does anyone have an idea what the issue can be?

Thanks for your help!!
Martijn85 is offline  
post #7306 of 12473 Old 09-30-2016, 05:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,500
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 527 Post(s)
Liked: 522
I don't know what your "Media Player" is, but if it's a PC there are a ton of settings that can alter what is sent to the amp and TV. If you calibrate the TV with those set incorrectly it will really mess with other sources!

One thing, off the top of my head, that used to cause problems (honestly don't know with this set), is if the PC outputs "RGB Enhanced" and you calibrate for that, then luminance 16 that should be "video black" would instead be 16 stops above black, so very washed out.

The default ISF picture modes are very good on these sets. Try those with your TV and Media Player. If the TV looks good but the Media Player, not so much, look into the Media Player's video output settings.
jong1 is offline  
post #7307 of 12473 Old 09-30-2016, 06:01 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post
I don't know what your "Media Player" is, but if it's a PC there are a ton of settings that can alter what is sent to the amp and TV. If you calibrate the TV with those set incorrectly it will really mess with other sources!

One thing, off the top of my head, that used to cause problems (honestly don't know with this set), is if the PC outputs "RGB Enhanced" and you calibrate for that, then luminance 16 that should be "video black" would instead be 16 stops above black, so very washed out.

The default ISF picture modes are very good on these sets. Try those with your TV and Media Player. If the TV looks good but the Media Player, not so much, look into the Media Player's video output settings.
The media player is a QNAP NAS with Kodi installed. I indeed setup Kodi for RGB Enhanced before i started the configuration, i think all my other devices support RGB enhanced as well.
I'll play around a bit with the settings. I indeed noticed that selecting the ISF modes improved the picture while watching tv. Maybe i'll select the ISF mode for watching tv and keep the calibrated one for the other devices.

Luckily the weekend is coming up so i have all the time to play around Thank you for the information, now i know what to look for.
Martijn85 is offline  
post #7308 of 12473 Old 09-30-2016, 07:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,500
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 527 Post(s)
Liked: 522
Remember all your video sources, even UHD Blu-ray, use Standard Levels. Expanding them to Enhanced (stretching 235 actual levels to 255) will do nothing for the quality and may introduce banding. I realise the reverse is true for photos, but for most Media Players I'd suggest sticking to Standard. That is what you get if you use YCbCr anyway.
jong1 is offline  
post #7309 of 12473 Old 09-30-2016, 07:21 AM
Member
 
Iorek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello all, I may be in the market for an OLED in the immediate future. I'm looking at getting either the 65" C6 or E6. If I don't mind the curve and I don't need the speaker, is the C6 the way to go? Is there any advantage to getting the E6 instead? I've heard conflicting reports on the differences in motion between the C6 and E6. Some places say the motion is better on the E6, and others say the C6. Are there any definitive reviews out there that can clear this up? How about input lag? Same between the two models?

Thanks!
Iorek is offline  
post #7310 of 12473 Old 09-30-2016, 07:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,500
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 527 Post(s)
Liked: 522
The differences, if they exist, in picture processing seem minor to non-existent. You are right there are conflicting reviews. LG have said they are essentially the same and that is probably true.

The one thing we simply do not know about is the update strategy. It is just possible that LG might in the future choose to upgrade the premium models, the G6 and E6, but not the lower models. One thing specifically is support for HLG HDR, which LG recently demonstrated. Of course all models might be updated, but then, they might not!

Sorry to not be more definitive.
jong1 is offline  
post #7311 of 12473 Old 09-30-2016, 07:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post
Remember all your video sources, even UHD Blu-ray, use Standard Levels. Expanding them to Enhanced (stretching 235 actual levels to 255) will do nothing for the quality and may introduce banding. I realise the reverse is true for photos, but for most Media Players I'd suggest sticking to Standard. That is what you get if you use YCbCr anyway.
I'll do another calibration tonight with Standard levels. If there's no clear difference, maybe i'll just leave it to that. At least i know what's causing it
Martijn85 is offline  
post #7312 of 12473 Old 09-30-2016, 07:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,500
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 527 Post(s)
Liked: 522
IMHO there is absolutely no benefit to going so-called "Enhanced" for video content. And, as I said above, it can actually make banding worse.
jong1 is offline  
post #7313 of 12473 Old 09-30-2016, 08:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,563
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6675 Post(s)
Liked: 6670
Quote:
Originally Posted by UHDfanInPeoria View Post
Does anyone know if it is possible to use the E6's soundbar in conjunction with an external surround sound system?
You could, but that will not sound to good.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #7314 of 12473 Old 09-30-2016, 10:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dougri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
You could, but that will not sound to good.
Quote:
Originally Posted by UHDfanInPeoria View Post
Does anyone know if it is possible to use the E6's soundbar in conjunction with an external surround sound system?
What Chris said... You could do this but it most likely will not sound very good. I've had two capable receivers for integrating various arrangements of speakers in a room (a Sherwood AVR with Trinnov room correction and currently an Anthem AVR with their ARC room correction). I have a pretty standard living room surround setup (7.1 with nice in-ceiling speakers and an SB13). When I went this route, I toyed with the idea of using room correction to integrate a sound-bar I had with this system, using the sound-bar to center dialogue with the picture better than in-ceiling speakers (even really good ones) are capable of doing. With the Trinnov system (which maps speakers in a 3D model, IIRC), I was able to pull the dialogue from above the picture to be more centered. However, the mismatching timbre of the sound-bar with the rest of the speakers, at least to me, was more annoying than the dialogue appearing to emanate from just above the TV. I tried it with my TV's internal speakers as well without success (although I can't remember if it failed for the same reason or if it would not accept analog audio input separate from HDMI). Bottom line is, even if you can do it in an IDEAL manner (using the TV speakers as the center channel or to supplement the center channel), it will most likely sound very off.
dougri is offline  
post #7315 of 12473 Old 09-30-2016, 01:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wjboshart View Post
No it doesn't work like that
Apparently it does.

I checked.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	internal and external audio simultaneously.jpg
Views:	282
Size:	204.5 KB
ID:	1693641  
tperraut likes this.
UHDfanInPeoria is offline  
post #7316 of 12473 Old 09-30-2016, 02:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Thanks Cleveland and dougri.
UHDfanInPeoria is offline  
post #7317 of 12473 Old 09-30-2016, 03:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dougri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by UHDfanInPeoria View Post
Apparently it does.

I checked.
And that way will additionally muck up the spatial cues in your surround setup (mixing a 2.2 presentation through the TV soundbar with the surround setup through your AVR... if you are lucky enough that the TV will actually pass surround in this config vs. just stereo as some previous LGs did). Additionally, with all the audio is routed through the TV as this setup depicts, the AVR is fed by the TV's optical out, you will not get some lossless surround formats that your AVR may support (e.g., DTS HD-MA, Dolby TrueHD, etc.). Just because you can do it doesn't mean that will sound better than your alternatives (e.g., using only your surround system). Ideally, you have a decent surround system that supports HDMI-ARC, or if you have an older AVR, you could buy a BD-UHD player like the upcoming Oppo 203 that has an HDMI input and 2 outputs (one for display, one for legacy AVRs not supporting HDCP 2.2). Bottom line, if you have a surround system you like, the TV's speakers are likely to make it sound worse if you try to use them together... there are better options.

edit: BTW, You're welcome!
dougri is offline  
post #7318 of 12473 Old 09-30-2016, 06:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
korsjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 466
i just wanted to give a thank you to @Cleveland Plasma @cleveland -Plasma for their outstanding customer service on a Friday evening. Look forward to subscribing to this thread!

Family Room
LG OLED65C6P, Denon AVRX2400H, Oppo 203, XBOX One S

Bedroom
TCL 55R615, Samsung UBD-K8500
korsjs is offline  
post #7319 of 12473 Old 10-02-2016, 12:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post
Remember all your video sources, even UHD Blu-ray, use Standard Levels. Expanding them to Enhanced (stretching 235 actual levels to 255) will do nothing for the quality and may introduce banding. I realise the reverse is true for photos, but for most Media Players I'd suggest sticking to Standard. That is what you get if you use YCbCr anyway.
What do you mean by this? How do you switch between Enhanced and Standard?
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post
Remember all your video sources, even UHD Blu-ray, use Standard Levels. Expanding them to Enhanced (stretching 235 actual levels to 255) will do nothing for the quality and may introduce banding. I realise the reverse is true for photos, but for most Media Players I'd suggest sticking to Standard. That is what you get if you use YCbCr anyway.

Sent from my MI 5 using Tapatalk
Tom Cooper is offline  
post #7320 of 12473 Old 10-02-2016, 01:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,500
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 527 Post(s)
Liked: 522
All commercial video, for historical reasons, defines luminance level 16 as black and 235 as white. These are "standard" video levels. When converting to RGB, PCs and some media players allow you to choose to output 0 as black and 255 as white, which is better for photos, as that is how they are stored, but not ideal for video because, in the conversion, you inevitably end up with uneven steps between levels. Also, if you calibrate your display for these levels, video level sources will be "washed out" - black will be grey and white will dull.

As to how you would do it, you would find a setting on your source or AVR. If you do not set RGB Enhanced any proper player will use standard or "video" levels, but with PCs you need to be more careful as they will use Enhanced by default if they don't realise they have a TV/projector connected and sometimes even then.

Last edited by jong1; 10-02-2016 at 03:06 AM.
jong1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
ez-adj , lg oled , lgoled , reset , white balance

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off