Have 9-year old Panasonic Plasma: Will I Be Disappointed if I go LED? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
  • 4 Post By video_analysis
  • 1 Post By NintendoManiac64
  • 1 Post By videobruce

post #1 of 15 Old 02-07-2016, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Smile Have 9-year old Panasonic Plasma: Will I Be Disappointed if I go LED?

I have a TH-42PE77U that is going strong after almost a decade. I have been contemplating buying an LED tv for a few years, but I have been apprehensive since I am worried that if I don't spend enough on the new tv, I will be disappointed. Obviously, my tv is thicker is all dimensions and perhaps the sound is way better than what would come out of a tiny frame modern tv. Because I am cheap and cautious, I have not bought anything.

The tv has a big scratch on the screen where my son scraped it with a sword, but realistically you can't see the scratch when the tv is on - only when it is turned off. It is a major power hog: eats 387 watts according to the label, and that is irksome. It is only 1080i, and I don't know how much 1080p would change my experience. I don't have cable and watch mostly netflix off a Roku 3 box. I do watch sports via an antenna, and I don't ever see motion trails. My picture is pretty solid: I do see major posterization in very dark areas of netflix picture, and I don't know whether a newer tv would less posterization. I have 180 Mbps download speed internet, so I have great internet speed if I wanted to pay for the ultra high netflix delivery option.

Everything that I read talks about refresh rate and warns against anything less than 120z actual; it seems that the plasma tv's don't have this issue of motion trails. If I were to pick a tv to buy now, I would be tempted to get a Visio M series. Even though Samsung has "the name" it seems that some of their models are pretty mediocre yet sell for a pretty penny.