2016 LG OLED 65G6P and 65E6P Owners Thread - Page 26 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 87635Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #751 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
BESLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Is the G6 DirecTV ready?

For those with the G6, is the set DirecTV ready? I just upgraded my old DirecTV receiver to a Genie in anticipation of the G and E series OLED's. DirecTV indicated if the G or E OLED's were DirecTV ready you can connect to the Genie DVR for 4K content, if not I need to use a 4K Genie 4K mini for the 4K content, any answer on this issue?

Thank you in advance.
BESLC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 01:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
x43x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Moon Base 2
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 380 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Part of the reason Comcast/satellite might not look too good upscaled to 4K is because of all the processing before it even gets to the set. The major networks are broadcasting in either 1080i or 720p. Comcast, DirecTV, etc get the signals either by a fiber line from the broadcast facility or OTA. Then they compress those signals and feed it to the consumer. The consumer sets the max output of the cable box to say 1080p, then the set upconverts that to 4K.

Take FOX for example. They broadcast in 720p.

Cable:
FOX Station (720p) - Comcast facility (who knows what they do) - Cable box (1080p) - TV (4K)

Antenna:
FOX Station (720p) - TV(4K)

That's several steps less processing. But maybe Comcast looks beautiful anyway? A lot depends on your local facility and what they do to the signal before it gets to you.

LG OLED65E6P - Sony 85X900F - Marantz SR7013 - Rotel 1075 - Oppo UDP-203 - Panasonic UB820 - Roku Ultra - B&W 704, HTM7, CWM663, RSL C34E, GE SuperSub X - Vincent PHO-700 - VPI Traveler
My Theater
x43x.com
x43x is offline  
post #753 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jnelson2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 562 Post(s)
Liked: 549
Quote:
Originally Posted by BESLC View Post
For those with the G6, is the set DirecTV ready? I just upgraded my old DirecTV receiver to a Genie in anticipation of the G and E series OLED's. DirecTV indicated if the G or E OLED's were DirecTV ready you can connect to the Genie DVR for 4K content, if not I need to use a 4K Genie 4K mini for the 4K content, any answer on this issue?



Thank you in advance.


No it's not Directv ready. You will need a C61K mini to view content in 4K
fhschellenberg likes this.

Sony XBR-65A1E, XBR-55A1E, Marantz AV8805, AV7704
Naim SN3, Hi-Cap DR, NDX2, Naim Unity Core, Emotiva XPA-9, A-5175
Dynaudio Contour 30, Focus 210C, IC17, S4-W80, Evoke 10, 2X REL S/812, SVS SB-2000
Panasonic UBD-820, Bluesound Node 2i, Ansuz Mainz D2 Power Distribution,A2 and X Power and speaker cables
jnelson2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #754 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 01:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Hobbun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 93
I already called my local store and asked if they will have the G6 hooked up to a tuner and they indicated they will. And they have Comcast. So I will be able to test it out and see how it looks.
Hobbun is offline  
post #755 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 03:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Yappadappadu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 468 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Sharma View Post
I don't watch channels over the tuner but I do use it to look at my security cameras on channel; 125.
The G series has a cool split screen app - you can select for example a news channel on comcast and the tuner channel for the security cameras at the same time...
Very useful if you are waiting on someone to show up while watching TV etc...
So PiP?
Interesting. Does that also work with the HDMI inputs? For example, coud I watch some stuff with the TV tuner, while having a small window with my PC desktop in the corner? And vice versa?
koffeegy likes this.

LG C7D
Yappadappadu is offline  
post #756 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 04:42 PM
Member
 
jingrande@cox.ne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 110
It's wall mounted! I will post some pics. The wall mount is not the LG specific to the G6. It will be released soon. I could not wait.


First impressions? Wow! OMG! Now the work begins. I could describe myself as excited, elated, and anxious. There is so much to learn. How did we ever come this far with technology. I guess one could say I am lost. Ok, there is work to do.


The pics do not give the TV justice. It is a camera phone. The pics are within 1-2 hours of installation. I have not run any cycles or whatever I am supposed to do. If some of you more experienced users care to advise. I am all ears. Of course, I will re-read this thread again. Oh, BTW, issues? Yes.


Roku and Denon with handshakes. Damn! Enjoy the pics! I am having trouble getting the pics right side up. Sorry.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0054.JPG
Views:	1121
Size:	67.9 KB
ID:	1349146   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0053.JPG
Views:	755
Size:	64.6 KB
ID:	1349154   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0049.JPG
Views:	978
Size:	62.9 KB
ID:	1349162   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0028.jpg
Views:	1082
Size:	134.3 KB
ID:	1349170   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0044.JPG
Views:	785
Size:	49.5 KB
ID:	1349178  


Last edited by [email protected]; 03-30-2016 at 06:51 PM.
[email protected] is offline  
post #757 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 04:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
wensteph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Try just waiting a bit on the handshakes and see if it sorts itself out in 15-20 seconds.
wensteph is offline  
post #758 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 05:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Nyc
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What wall bracket and what's the vesa pattern with the soundbar flipped on its back ?M6 screws ?
Vic2186 is offline  
post #759 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 05:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dkwong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 1,548
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
It's wall mounted! I will post some pics.
My neck hurts.
shyguy3763 and GunmetalR56 like this.
dkwong is offline  
post #760 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 06:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wjboshart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1355 Post(s)
Liked: 1323
Well my set is currently sitting 1.5 hours away, expecting a Friday delivery. Tried everything I could for tomorrow but they said they don't have a truck in my area tomorrow
Wjboshart is offline  
post #761 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 06:43 PM
Member
 
jingrande@cox.ne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by wensteph View Post
Try just waiting a bit on the handshakes and see if it sorts itself out in 15-20 seconds.
I will, thank you.


It has been a long day. I am sure it will take me a few days to get used to the TV and everything. I did watch Marco Polo and got the message for HDR. Therefore, that was encouraging. Hopefully, I will master pic sharing better. Not sure why they upload cockeyed. I am attaching right side up. Any way, thanks for the tip and encouragement.
[email protected] is offline  
post #762 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 06:46 PM
Member
 
jingrande@cox.ne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vic2186 View Post
What wall bracket and what's the vesa pattern with the soundbar flipped on its back ?M6 screws ?
Mr. Technical I am not. If the subject is football or ladies, I can talk all day (LOL). What the installers used was a flat statice wall mount. The bottom portion had to be sawed off to keep it from protruding beneath the screen. This was recommended by Robert from VE. It worked and it looks great.


To someone planning on purchasing, I would coincide with the release of the LG mount specific for this TV (just because).
[email protected] is offline  
post #763 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 07:06 PM
Member
 
Trojanlaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 71
You do not need the 4K minis if you have the new Genie however you will have to have the new LRNB installed on your dish for it to work properly. Plus the new Genie has to be reprogrammed by a tech.
Trojanlaw is offline  
post #764 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 07:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jnelson2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 562 Post(s)
Liked: 549
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojanlaw View Post
You do not need the 4K minis if you have the new Genie however you will have to have the new LRNB installed on your dish for it to work properly. Plus the new Genie has to be reprogrammed by a tech.


Not to get off topic, but the genie cannot and will never output 4K. Only the 4K mini. Reverse LNB has nothing to do with the genie other than the ability to get linear programming in 4K when DTV decides to release it. Current channel in 4K is off the D14 satellite which does not require reverse band.

Ok, back to regular programming.
fhschellenberg likes this.

Sony XBR-65A1E, XBR-55A1E, Marantz AV8805, AV7704
Naim SN3, Hi-Cap DR, NDX2, Naim Unity Core, Emotiva XPA-9, A-5175
Dynaudio Contour 30, Focus 210C, IC17, S4-W80, Evoke 10, 2X REL S/812, SVS SB-2000
Panasonic UBD-820, Bluesound Node 2i, Ansuz Mainz D2 Power Distribution,A2 and X Power and speaker cables
jnelson2000 is offline  
post #765 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 08:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Ash Sharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TX
Posts: 2,150
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1056 Post(s)
Liked: 732
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
I will, thank you.


It has been a long day. I am sure it will take me a few days to get used to the TV and everything. I did watch Marco Polo and got the message for HDR. Therefore, that was encouraging. Hopefully, I will master pic sharing better. Not sure why they upload cockeyed. I am attaching right side up. Any way, thanks for the tip and encouragement.
Congrats - enjoy the best TV in the world ...
I hope your got a Dolby Vision message and not HDR...
Marco Polo in DV on LG OLED G Series makes me a believer in Streaming long term (coming from a disc delivery guy with a 2000 Blu Tay library) - the quality of DV streaming is in a different league..
Ash Sharma is online now  
post #766 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 09:10 PM
Member
 
Flash676's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I'm having a very difficult time getting this TV to play nicely with my Pioneer Elite SC-99 receiver.

I have an NVidia Shield TV and a PC and have tried using them both as 4K/60Hz/4:4:4 sources.

On occasion the signal will successfully reach the TV, but more often than not the TV will complain about no signal while the light on the receiver that indicates it's sending an HDMI signal cuts in and out repeatedly. Sometimes I'll eventually get a signal on the TV from the NVidia Shield after 30 seconds or so but it's almost always only 1080p; I suspect it's starting with the 4K signal then backing the resolution down until it works successfully at 1080p.

Turning off Deep Color on the TV lets me get 4K signals, as does using HDMI ports 3 or 4 (since they don't support Deep Color). If I turn Deep Color back on after successfully passing a 4K signal everything works, but eventually stops working when I later change inputs.

This is particularly frustrating since my older EF9500 worked without any HDMI issues. Otherwise, I'm very satisfied with my purchase as it fixes all my complaints about my EF9500.
Flash676 is offline  
post #767 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 09:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Trackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sacramento,Ca., usa
Posts: 1,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flash676 View Post
I'm having a very difficult time getting this TV to play nicely with my Pioneer Elite SC-99 receiver.

I have an NVidia Shield TV and a PC and have tried using them both as 4K/60Hz/4:4:4 sources.

On occasion the signal will successfully reach the TV, but more often than not the TV will complain about no signal while the light on the receiver that indicates it's sending an HDMI signal cuts in and out repeatedly. Sometimes I'll eventually get a signal on the TV from the NVidia Shield after 30 seconds or so but it's almost always only 1080p; I suspect it's starting with the 4K signal then backing the resolution down until it works successfully at 1080p.

Turning off Deep Color on the TV lets me get 4K signals, as does using HDMI ports 3 or 4 (since they don't support Deep Color). If I turn Deep Color back on after successfully passing a 4K signal everything works, but eventually stops working when I later change inputs.

This is particularly frustrating since my older EF9500 worked without any HDMI issues. Otherwise, I'm very satisfied with my purchase as it fixes all my complaints about my EF9500.

Do yourself a favor and leave Deep Color off - almost no Blu-rays use it, nor do you need it for HDR. The extended color range (DCI) used by 4k blu-ray and HDR has no connection to Deep Color.

Go Duke !
Trackman is offline  
post #768 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 09:22 PM
Member
 
Trojanlaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 71
The new 54 will do 4K although requires programming.
Trojanlaw is offline  
post #769 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 09:46 PM
Member
 
Flash676's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trackman View Post
Do yourself a favor and leave Deep Color off - almost no Blu-rays use it, nor do you need it for HDR. The extended color range (DCI) used by 4k blu-ray and HDR has no connection to Deep Color.
This may be true, but my understanding is that it has to be on for 4:4:4 support, which I need when using it as a monitor with my PC.
Flash676 is offline  
post #770 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 09:57 PM
Member
 
jingrande@cox.ne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Sharma View Post
Congrats - enjoy the best TV in the world ...
I hope your got a Dolby Vision message and not HDR...
Marco Polo in DV on LG OLED G Series makes me a believer in Streaming long term (coming from a disc delivery guy with a 2000 Blu Tay library) - the quality of DV streaming is in a different league..
Thanks Ash. that was very kind. Yes, it is Dolby Vision. To my surprise, streaming directly from the IOS aps is better than my Roku 4. The 4K 10 Bit has not yet been successful and I had trouble with one of the 4K services. Can't think of the name. Movie appeared to freeze as if buffering.


I will continue to play as it is quite the adventure at the moment.


Let me share a few thoughts and observations to those wondering about the set.


I have seen comments about how ugly the sound bar is. Folks, when the set is mounted on the wall, you don't notice the sound bar. It is more decorative than anything else. In fact, the screen, including the sound bar could be described as beautiful, captivating and mesmerizing. In fact, I would call it a piece of art.


Fanboy? Hardly. Someone who is happy with their purchase. Not everyone will like it. That is the nature of who we are. Therefore, I say to those interested, let your eyes be the judge.


Have I said wow yet? Wow! To think, it is only going to get better. Nice!
[email protected] is offline  
post #771 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 10:13 PM
Senior Member
 
BLeClair12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Would anyone care to share how they handled the mounting process?

I assume the soundbar needs to be folded back in order to install any type of mount? If so, does that mean you must either lay the set face down or put it back in the base of the box? I only mention the latter because Ash's original picture seemed to show that the base came folded back in the box.
BLeClair12 is offline  
post #772 of 22220 Old 03-30-2016, 11:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Trackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sacramento,Ca., usa
Posts: 1,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flash676 View Post
This may be true, but my understanding is that it has to be on for 4:4:4 support, which I need when using it as a monitor with my PC.
That I don't know - having no interest in using my tv as a PC monitor. Hopefully, you can find a workaround or there will be a firmware update.

Go Duke !
Trackman is offline  
post #773 of 22220 Old 03-31-2016, 04:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wizziwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 3,584
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2276 Post(s)
Liked: 1545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Sharma View Post
I concur - this is the best TV out there ...
When I watch Blu Ray on my 12 foot wide 2:35 screen with Sim2 Lumis projector at 21 FTL in my theater the picture quality of the Theater compared to the OLED (and that is Blu Ray content 2K) - is like how I felt the picture difference is between DVD and Blu Ray the first time I saw Blu Ray...
On 4K - HDR etc ... I just cant wait to get half as good picture in projection some day...
I'm also a front projector owner with dedicated bat-cave home theater setup. I've always wondered if I got an OLED whether that would affect my continued usage of the projector. No projector can match OLED contrast so are you going to end up watching movies on the OLED or your projector? If only OLEDs were bigger, then we wouldn't need to make compromises. Still trying to decide if I should spend the money on a small OLED or upgrading my 106" projector setup to a 4K model.
Wizziwig is offline  
post #774 of 22220 Old 03-31-2016, 05:06 AM
Senior Member
 
fatallerror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 156
You are talking about how the blacks/near blacks looks like while watching movies/TV shows. If you really want to test this then why don't you watch night time concerts? There are many high quality concert Blu-rays out there
fatallerror is offline  
post #775 of 22220 Old 03-31-2016, 05:19 AM
Senior Member
 
mporter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojanlaw View Post
The new 54 will do 4K although requires programming.
I assume you are talking about the Directv HR54 Genie.

Can you provide a little more details about the programming needed? Can my local Directv installer do it? Can I do it? Is there a link that you can provide to where you found this information?
mporter is offline  
post #776 of 22220 Old 03-31-2016, 05:34 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,407
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1709 Post(s)
Liked: 738
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizziwig View Post
I'm also a front projector owner with dedicated bat-cave home theater setup. I've always wondered if I got an OLED whether that would affect my continued usage of the projector. No projector can match OLED contrast so are you going to end up watching movies on the OLED or your projector? If only OLEDs were bigger, then we wouldn't need to make compromises. Still trying to decide if I should spend the money on a small OLED or upgrading my 106" projector setup to a 4K model.
Then you have to factor in the immersiveness of a 106" screen.

You know what's going to happen. You'll do both and when watching the the projector setup you'll be thinking of the OLED and wishing the screen had that kind of contrast and when you watch the OLED, you'll be wishing that it was larger. Either way, you won't be paying attention to the movie/show.
mattg3, shyguy3763 and Magnesus like this.
JimP is offline  
post #777 of 22220 Old 03-31-2016, 09:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 5,915
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1668 Post(s)
Liked: 2459
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizziwig View Post
I'm also a front projector owner with dedicated bat-cave home theater setup. I've always wondered if I got an OLED whether that would affect my continued usage of the projector. No projector can match OLED contrast so are you going to end up watching movies on the OLED or your projector? If only OLEDs were bigger, then we wouldn't need to make compromises. Still trying to decide if I should spend the money on a small OLED or upgrading my 106" projector setup to a 4K model.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
Then you have to factor in the immersiveness of a 106" screen.

You know what's going to happen. You'll do both and when watching the the projector setup you'll be thinking of the OLED and wishing the screen had that kind of contrast and when you watch the OLED, you'll be wishing that it was larger. Either way, you won't be paying attention to the movie/show.

My theater is 138" diagonal 16:9m. The PJ is a Sony 600ES 4K. Despite the abysmal contrast ratio relative to OLED, movies are watched in the theater. That, along with 7.2 all JTR speakers with 8000 watts RMS sub woofer power seals the deal. Before too long I'll be upgrading the PJ, probably to a JVC 4K.

Size matters.
Wizziwig likes this.

Buzz
THX Certified Level II Video Calibrator



 
buzzard767 is offline  
post #778 of 22220 Old 03-31-2016, 09:17 AM
Newbie
 
mscotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Greenwich, CT
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
LG OLED 65G6P Missing Part

I unboxed my LG and it is beauty. Couldn't wait to mount it. First things first. I inventoried the parts and found that I was missing one of the two brackets that keep the (very thin) screen from falling forward once it is mounted. The mounting on this unit is from the bottom of the sound bar which folds up behind the unit. The wall mount sits very low on the wall as opposed to a more vertical centered attachment. I don't want to try mounting this with only one bracket even though the second may just be redundant. Can you imagine the damage done if the screen ever swung out and down...

I contacted LG and told them about the missing part. They told me that they would send me one, however the best they could do was to ship it out in 7 to 10 days and they can not overnight it. So now I'm siting here with an $8K TV that I can't mount for at least two weeks. Can you spell BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE?

I contacted the dealer I bought this from in the hopes that since they do custom installs maybe some previous customer installed this using the base and they had some of the parts from that installation. They also informed that this is not the first time they have heard of this. In fact they have reached out to LG and informed them of the problem and LG was shipping them a few of these parts in case their customers have this same issue. They did not know when they would arrive.

So I'm shocked that I have an $8K appliance that I can't do anything with, and the best that LG can offer is a two week turn around time.

Does any of the new owners have this same issue? Is there an owner out there that isn't currently using these brackets and would be willing to lend me one till mine arrive? (I would pay all shipping and handling and send back a new bracket as soon as I get mine from LG)

Hope you all had a better initial experience with your new TV...

Mike
shyguy3763, Phil1975m and NJT1000 like this.
mscotti is offline  
post #779 of 22220 Old 03-31-2016, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
JaguarCRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by mscotti View Post
I unboxed my LG and it is beauty. Couldn't wait to mount it. First things first. I inventoried the parts and found that I was missing one of the two brackets that keep the (very thin) screen from falling forward once it is mounted. The mounting on this unit is from the bottom of the sound bar which folds up behind the unit. The wall mount sits very low on the wall as opposed to a more vertical centered attachment. I don't want to try mounting this with only one bracket even though the second may just be redundant. Can you imagine the damage done if the screen ever swung out and down...

I contacted LG and told them about the missing part. They told me that they would send me one, however the best they could do was to ship it out in 7 to 10 days and they can not overnight it. So now I'm siting here with an $8K TV that I can't mount for at least two weeks. Can you spell BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE?

...

Does any of the new owners have this same issue? Is there an owner out there that isn't currently using these brackets and would be willing to lend me one till mine arrive? (I would pay all shipping and handling and send back a new bracket as soon as I get mine from LG)

Hope you all had a better initial experience with your new TV...

Mike
I can probably help you. I have a G6 which I am not wall mounting. Can you post a picture of the bracket(s) you are looking for?
Spizz, JimP, shyguy3763 and 2 others like this.
JaguarCRO is offline  
post #780 of 22220 Old 03-31-2016, 09:43 AM
Senior Member
 
mporter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by mscotti View Post

Does any of the new owners have this same issue? Is there an owner out there that isn't currently using these brackets and would be willing to lend me one till mine arrive? (I would pay all shipping and handling and send back a new bracket as soon as I get mine from LG)

Hope you all had a better initial experience with your new TV...

Mike
I can send you mine priority mail today. Go to my website and call the number there to give me your address.

www.birdwatching.com

BTW, my package only contained one bracket too although the instructions said "x2". And you don't need to return it. I'll never wall mount mine.
Spizz, shyguy3763, djoberg and 3 others like this.

Last edited by mporter; 03-31-2016 at 09:58 AM.
mporter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
65e6p , 65G6P , dolby vision , OLED55C6P , OLED65E6P , vesa mount. shelving

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off