2016 LG OLED 65G6P and 65E6P Owners Thread - Page 279 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 87583Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8341 of 22043 Old 07-10-2016, 08:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
videofx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago, IL The windy city
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apple-Man View Post
Hi, Bill thanks for the quick reply, It seems to be working but the sound keeps dropping out, it does not come back, maybe it is my cable I will have to check my purchase history, On Amazon to see if my cable Is capable.
I am using my Old HDMI cable non 4K UHD certified and I dont have any problems yet. We will see when I hook up my Panasonic 4K bluray player.

Comcast Xfinity with 150MB/s download speed
LG OLED65E6P 65" OLED 4K 3D DISPLAY
Panasonic DMP-UB900 4K UHD Bluray player / Pioneer HLD-X9 Laserdisc
Marantz SR-6011 AVR
Playstation 4/Blu-Ray 3D/Playstation 3/Playstation 2/Playstation
Xbox One/Xbox 360 with HD-DVD/Xbox
videofx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8342 of 22043 Old 07-10-2016, 08:50 PM
Member
 
Apple-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by videofx View Post
I am using my Old HDMI cable non 4K UHD certified and I dont have any problems yet. We will see when I hook up my Panasonic 4K bluray player.
I checked my previous purchase from 2010, on Amazon it says, HDMI version 1.3 which I am not sure if it has audio return channel or not. When I clicked on the link it actually takes me to the new cables that I just ordered not old specifications. I will try and do a little more investigation to see if Version 1.3 cables back from 2010, have audio return channel. thanks for all your help.

LG OLED65B6P TV, OPPO BD 93 Blu-Ray, 1 DRICTV HR 54 , APPLE TV third-gen, Mcintosh MC207 7 channel AMP, Mcintosh MX-160 Surround processor, FOCAL Sopra N°3, B&W 802 Diamond's D2 & HTM4 D2, JL audio fathom F212 V2 Sub, Straightwire OCTAVE II Speaker Cable
Apple-Man is offline  
post #8343 of 22043 Old 07-10-2016, 08:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDalton View Post
The crosstalk is bad enough on mine that I'm getting an exchange. I love 3D on this set and have around thirty-five 3D Blu-Rays, so if it's not right, it's going back
I'm getting a new panel on the 13th due to cross talk. I'll report back on how that goes. Odd thing is BB is doing it. I've never had that happen as usually a third party working for the manufacturer handles it. They sent someone to take a look at it on Saturday. I'll be happy if this goes well but know it's possible to get another lemon. The E6 is the best TV I've ever had and knowing how good 3D can be on it, I'm understandably a little antsy .
jbug is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8344 of 22043 Old 07-10-2016, 10:09 PM
Senior Member
 
SlickVik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I'm having issues with HDMI handshake in Deep Color mode - if it is turned on for that HDMI port the Samsung K8500 fails to sync. I can turn deep color off and then it will display the UHD Bluray just fine - the disc in question is Hancock. They're both on the latest firmware.
SlickVik is offline  
post #8345 of 22043 Old 07-10-2016, 10:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,440
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3051 Post(s)
Liked: 3737
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlickVik View Post
I'm having issues with HDMI handshake in Deep Color mode - if it is turned on for that HDMI port the Samsung K8500 fails to sync. I can turn deep color off and then it will display the UHD Bluray just fine - the disc in question is Hancock. They're both on the latest firmware.
Did you turn off the deep color setting on the k8500?
Cam1977 is offline  
post #8346 of 22043 Old 07-10-2016, 10:44 PM
Senior Member
 
SlickVik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
Did you turn off the deep color setting on the k8500?
Interesting - thanks for this hint. For anyone else that runs into this either of these combos will work:

K8500 - deep color 'auto'
OLED - On

OR

K8500 - deep color 'off'
OLED - Off

If you have OLED On, and K8500 to off it will fail to sync. I thought it would just fallback but its picky. Setting deep color to 'auto' on the player fixed my issue. I had just reset the player and forgotten that setting was off by default on the K8500.
SlickVik is offline  
post #8347 of 22043 Old 07-10-2016, 11:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,440
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3051 Post(s)
Liked: 3737
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlickVik View Post
Interesting - thanks for this hint. For anyone else that runs into this either of these combos will work:

K8500 - deep color 'auto'
OLED - On

OR

K8500 - deep color 'off'
OLED - Off

If you have OLED On, and K8500 to off it will fail to sync. I thought it would just fallback but its picky. Setting deep color to 'auto' on the player fixed my issue. I had just reset the player and forgotten that setting was off by default on the K8500.
Oh wow, I have my deep color off on the sammy and turned on with the e6 and works just fine. I should have mentioned that earlier. Maybe it's a handshake issue with your cables...you can also go to the k8500 forums here and find out as well...hope this helps☺

Last edited by Cam1977; 07-10-2016 at 11:33 PM.
Cam1977 is offline  
post #8348 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 12:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Video Auteur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdreif View Post
I purchased my 65E6 through VE and have been loving it since late May. The service was excellent from Robert/Wendy at VE and I received it via private freight 2 days earlier than promised when I first ordered. I went with the Samsung UHD player and QC/Calibration and very happy as I don't have any significant banding, 3D is excellent, and no noticeable green shift. The TV had >150 hours on it when I received it but was expertly repacked as it looked like it hadn't even been opened! The only open question for me is the settings as calibrated for ISF bright and dark room.

I didn't receive any kind of calibration "report", is this normal or should I have received something from the calibrator (David McKenzie) showing the settings needed to attain correct color space, black levels, etc. This is my first professional calibration so I am unsure what is typically expected.

I've been following this thread for months and I see that almost everyone says that you can't go above 53 brightness without introducing elevated blacks. However, my settings are much higher and I want to know if I should be concerned and if the calibration was accurate. I will take pictures this evening in a dark room but for now my settings are as follows. I have tried the test patterns from avsforum and in ISF dark in a dark room I only see bar 18 flashing.
The VE service calibrates ISF Bright, ISF Dark, and 3D. (It's great they do 3D, because that can be a challenge without special gear.) Just take a photo of the settings with your phone and you'll have a record should you need to re-enter the settings later. They have expert staff, and every set is different, so I wouldn't worry if the settings they suggest are different from what others have reported. The proof should be onscreen, and it sounds as if you're happy with the image.

My E6 arrives from VE on the 18th! I can't wait!
shyguy3763 and Cam1977 like this.
Video Auteur is offline  
post #8349 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 12:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,440
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3051 Post(s)
Liked: 3737
Quote:
Originally Posted by Video Auteur View Post
The VE service calibrates ISF Bright, ISF Dark, and 3D. (It's great they do 3D, because that can be a challenge without special gear.) Just take a photo of the settings with your phone and you'll have a record should you need to re-enter the settings later. They have expert staff, and every set is different, so I wouldn't worry if the settings they suggest are different from what others have reported. The proof should be onscreen, and it sounds as if you're happy with the image.

My E6 arrives from VE on the 18th! I can't wait!
You will not be disappointed...this set amazes me everyday☺
Cam1977 is offline  
post #8350 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 12:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Franchot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Signal Hill, CA, USA
Posts: 1,862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 168
My 65E just updated to the latest firmware version: 03.15.25 so I guess it wasn't pulled.
Franchot is offline  
post #8351 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 12:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,440
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3051 Post(s)
Liked: 3737
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franchot View Post
My 65E just updated to the latest firmware version: 03.15.25 so I guess it wasn't pulled.
Same here.
Cam1977 is offline  
post #8352 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 05:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Adamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,970
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1110 Post(s)
Liked: 649
Mine updated this morning as well. I just put in the avs calibration disk. I noticed I had to bump my brightness up to 56 or 57 to add shadow detail. Is that the norm for these panels. They crush a lot of detail from factory setting.
Adamd is offline  
post #8353 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 06:17 AM
Senior Member
 
BigHat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Arlington, VA 22204
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by bokes View Post
Thinking of moving from a pioneer pro 150fd plasma to this years current Oled.
I'm worried I might regret it, I would prefer to wait one more year, but we are moving into a new home in a month.
for some reason it makes sense to make the switch now and install a fresh new tv vs lugging the old model along with us.
Plus the wife wants a wall mounted tv vs the stand I have for the Kuro.

Anyone move from a Kuro to Oled?
Thoughts?
Yes I went from a 60" Kuro to the 65G6. Huge improvement. So glad I finally upgraded. I have been fixated on insuring I got a solid improvement in picture and thus have been frozen in place for years. In addition to the picture being much better, the smart TV attributes revealed to me what I have been missing while waiting.

Surprise discovery though (and it probably shouldn't have been) is that using AirPlay to send my laptop content to the TV via an Apple TV results in an amazing picture too. Viewing videos, etc is remarkable. You won't be disappointed.

I went the other way on the mount. Kuro was wall mounted and I had planned to do the same with the 65G6. Unfortunately, where the Kuro hardware mounting points were in the center of the set, the LG points are at the bottom. To mount it at roughly the same height I would have had to move an outlet and cable ports. Just be sure to take a look at the mount and attachment points ahead of time. I gave my Kuro to my building janitor. Have to say I'm glad to be done with that heavy weight. Can't blame you for not wanting to haul it around it.

I got a lot of great years out of mine, but it has truly been surpassed by these high-end OLED sets.
BigHat is offline  
post #8354 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 07:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IAM4UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 6,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 98
ARC stopped working between E6 and Marantz SR7010. I haven't figured out why, but it worked until yesterday with no change in connections. I may just run an optical cable and turn off the CEC features. The content I get via the TV apps doesn't have lossless audio yet, anyway, and ARC may not even support lossless audio for all I know.

A.L.a.E.o.t.U.S., as proven 3/21 - never forget.
Defend liberty.
Knowledge isn't Truth; it's just mindless agreement.
IAM4UK is offline  
post #8355 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 07:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,429
Mentioned: 193 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4473 Post(s)
Liked: 5485
Does anyone know what this update changed?
Thrillhouse17 likes this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #8356 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 07:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IAM4UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 6,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 98
It seems most who have calibrated their sets use Warm 1 or Warm 2 color temps. I prefer Medium; it's the only way the white looks white instead of yellowish to me.
My own initial calibration (done yesterday after about 100 hours of E6-On time) was via Joe Kane's HD Basics blu ray, and via Netflix's UHD Test Pattern (a very handy stream). Since I am not a pro, and lack other gear for accurate calibration, these were eyeball-calibrations, from a baseline ISF Dark Room for the inputs connected to my HTPC and my K8500 UHD blu ray. I also adjusted the Game Mode settings for the input on which I have an Xbox One, but I know that's not very accurate at all.

A.L.a.E.o.t.U.S., as proven 3/21 - never forget.
Defend liberty.
Knowledge isn't Truth; it's just mindless agreement.
IAM4UK is offline  
post #8357 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 07:41 AM
Senior Member
 
TheSynergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Just got update 03.15.25. Anyone know what this update is for?
TheSynergy is offline  
post #8358 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 08:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gillietalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,172
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1526 Post(s)
Liked: 1509
Marco Polo

I know everyone is done talking about the Marco Polo issue, but here is how mines looks.

I just wanted an excuse to post pics of my TV . I just love this thing. One with lights out and one with lights on. Both with crappy iPhone camera....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9992.jpg
Views:	253
Size:	196.4 KB
ID:	1540233   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9993.jpg
Views:	263
Size:	202.4 KB
ID:	1540241  
Gillietalls is online now  
post #8359 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 08:20 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,535
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6664 Post(s)
Liked: 6648
Quote:
Originally Posted by videofx View Post
I am using my Old HDMI cable non 4K UHD certified and I dont have any problems yet. We will see when I hook up my Panasonic 4K bluray player.
The HDMI cables from way back when can support just about anything we have today......
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #8360 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 08:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
videofx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago, IL The windy city
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSynergy View Post
Just got update 03.15.25. Anyone know what this update is for?
Yup I got the update too.

Now the $1000000 question is what did they fix or change?

Comcast Xfinity with 150MB/s download speed
LG OLED65E6P 65" OLED 4K 3D DISPLAY
Panasonic DMP-UB900 4K UHD Bluray player / Pioneer HLD-X9 Laserdisc
Marantz SR-6011 AVR
Playstation 4/Blu-Ray 3D/Playstation 3/Playstation 2/Playstation
Xbox One/Xbox 360 with HD-DVD/Xbox
videofx is offline  
post #8361 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 08:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
videofx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago, IL The windy city
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
The HDMI cables from way back when can support just about anything we have today......
I second that. I am still using the same cables I bought 6 years ago and they work fine with all my gear. Now just waiting for my Panny 4K bluray player to test the cable on that.

Comcast Xfinity with 150MB/s download speed
LG OLED65E6P 65" OLED 4K 3D DISPLAY
Panasonic DMP-UB900 4K UHD Bluray player / Pioneer HLD-X9 Laserdisc
Marantz SR-6011 AVR
Playstation 4/Blu-Ray 3D/Playstation 3/Playstation 2/Playstation
Xbox One/Xbox 360 with HD-DVD/Xbox
videofx is offline  
post #8362 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 08:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gerryex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Land O Lakes, FL, USA
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamd View Post
Mine updated this morning as well. I just put in the avs calibration disk. I noticed I had to bump my brightness up to 56 or 57 to add shadow detail. Is that the norm for these panels. They crush a lot of detail from factory setting.


I'm considering getting the E6. How do you get the AVS Calibration Disk?

Gerry
Gerryex is offline  
post #8363 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 09:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerryex View Post
I'm considering getting the E6. How do you get the AVS Calibration Disk?

Gerry
Search
ukas is offline  
post #8364 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 09:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gerryex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Land O Lakes, FL, USA
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by ukas View Post
Search

WOW thanks! That really helped!!

Gerry
chaos215bar2 likes this.
Gerryex is offline  
post #8365 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 09:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 5,915
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1668 Post(s)
Liked: 2459
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerryex View Post
I'm considering getting the E6. How do you get the AVS Calibration Disk?

Gerry
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-di...libration.html
jackstar7 likes this.

Buzz
THX Certified Level II Video Calibrator



 
buzzard767 is offline  
post #8366 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 09:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gerryex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Land O Lakes, FL, USA
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

THANKS!!!

That is exactly what I wanted and was very helpful!!!

Gerry
Gerryex is offline  
post #8367 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 09:43 AM
Member
 
glabrecque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by HomeTheaterNova View Post
How is gaming on the E6? Will the Screen Shift feature move in game static HUD images to the left? In addition, will the comp cycle every 4 hours disrupt a game if playing a game on the E6? How is the input lag of 34ms to 36ms affect just single player games not fast placed multiplayer games?
I have gamed on my 65e6p on PS4 and love it. Comp cycles do nothing while the TV is on. Lag in Game mode is very good on all games.

Epson 5040ub
LG 65E6P OLED
Yamaha RX-A3070
BIC Acoustech 7.2 Speakers
Panasonic DP-UB820

Last edited by glabrecque; 07-11-2016 at 09:54 AM.
glabrecque is offline  
post #8368 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 10:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,429
Mentioned: 193 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4473 Post(s)
Liked: 5485
I saw a Netflix update with the new update. Picture may look a touch brighter. Other than that, I can't see anything different.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #8369 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2101 Post(s)
Liked: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gillietalls View Post
I know everyone is done talking about the Marco Polo issue, but here is how mines looks.

I just wanted an excuse to post pics of my TV . I just love this thing. One with lights out and one with lights on. Both with crappy iPhone camera....
What's the big issue with this scene? Is it a test for something?
guitarguy316 is offline  
post #8370 of 22043 Old 07-11-2016, 10:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 13
For those who updated to new firmware; please let me know in forum/PM whether u see any of the white flash problem. Many many thanks!
wisdompaths is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
65e6p , 65G6P , dolby vision , OLED55C6P , OLED65E6P , vesa mount. shelving

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off