2016 LG OLED 65G6P and 65E6P Owners Thread - Page 46 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 87598Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1351 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 04:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattg3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 4,753
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 890 Post(s)
Liked: 311
My 433 cmx Pioneer plasma is still going strong after 13 years with no repairs.
joys_R_us likes this.

Matt
mattg3 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1352 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 05:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Steve609's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: 08226
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Sharma View Post
The 1000 dollars went to get a Geek Squad Warranty and the Samsung Blu Ray UHD Player :-)

I will get it calibrated by Jeff Mier of AccuCalHD after I burn it 200 hours or so...
Jeff calibrated our Kuro and did a fantastic job, he will be doing our E6!

Highly recommended,
Steve609
sda likes this.
Steve609 is offline  
post #1353 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 05:46 AM
Senior Member
 
thecutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Build quality? I still have a Sony XBR4 from 2004 and a Pioneer Elite from 2006. Both are perfect. No repairs. No dead pixels.
Can I and do I expect the same from LG? I am skeptical .
thecutter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1354 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 06:00 AM
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Maybe ⅓ of the way from here to there.
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2589 Post(s)
Liked: 2312
Ok, I'm putting this into the owners thread, mostly because the two highest end OLEDs concern me.

Here's what I know so far (in cut&paste form):

MODEL|_____SHAPE_____3D_____HDMI_____SPEAKER_____WATTAGE/SOUND
-----+---------------------------------------------------------
__B6_|_____flat_____none______3________back________40W__4.0
__C6_|____curved___passive____3________back________40W__4.0
__E6_|_____flat____passive____3______soundbar______40W__2.2
__G6_|_____flat____passive____4______soundbar______60W__4.2

Can someone please explain to me precisely what the differences are in PQ between the models, in particular the E & G?

(And if you happen to know if the B&C are back or down firing speakers, I'd appreciate it.)

Thanks!

Last edited by tgm1024; 04-11-2016 at 06:06 AM.
tgm1024 is offline  
post #1355 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 06:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
MrJames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post
Ok, I'm putting this into the owners thread, mostly because the two highest end OLEDs concern me.

Here's what I know so far (in cut&paste form):

MODEL|_____SHAPE_____3D_____HDMI_____SPEAKER_____WATTAGE/SOUND
-----+---------------------------------------------------------
__B6_|_____flat_____none______3________back________40W__4.0
__C6_|____curved___passive____3________back________40W__4.0
__E6_|_____flat____passive____3______soundbar______40W__2.2
__G6_|_____flat____passive____4______soundbar______60W__4.2

Can someone please explain to me precisely what the differences are in PQ between the models, in particular the E & G?

(And if you happen to know if the B&C are back or down firing speakers, I'd appreciate it.)

Thanks!
There is a 55" E6 owner in the other thread that confirmed with pics that it has 4 HDMI inputs.
tgm1024 likes this.
MrJames is offline  
post #1356 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 06:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PRO-630HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,606
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by billeickmann View Post
Well mine is to be delivered tomorrow. It is to replace my Pioneer Elite rear projection HDTV. The Elite had one repair in about 15 years of use. Hope the L G does as well.
My friend, you are in for a treat!
PRO-630HD is offline  
post #1357 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 06:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by B6er View Post
never mind, the same is true for Austria and Spain, I have asked for delivery dates and was told they would not know before May
Dealer offered me 2015 models, if i don't wanna wait - but the prices are not good, comparing the new ones... 20% OFF on a last year model... OLED is still a luxury product...

My Equipment:
AVR Pioneer SC-LX79, TV 65 OLED E6V, BD Panasonic DMP-BDT500, & Pioneer BD180, Speaker JAMO Concert 10 Series (C109, C10 Center, C10 Surr.)
HTPC (Selfmade i7 Ivy 3.5 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, Nvidia GTX960/4GB) Windows 10 with Kodi 16.1 & Central SQL DB (Maria DB)
Storage
Synology DS1812+ / DX-510 (40+TB)
ASWISS is offline  
post #1358 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 06:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by cris80dr View Post
Do you mean a Private Message?
I didn't get anything.


I've seen toppreise, but it is still not really updated. You have to insert the precise name of the model to find something, and you can't find it with a parametric search.
Highdefinition.ch - prices on Toppreise have been put mistakenly without verify - they deleted them over the weekend. thats the main reason I was contacting the dealer...

My Equipment:
AVR Pioneer SC-LX79, TV 65 OLED E6V, BD Panasonic DMP-BDT500, & Pioneer BD180, Speaker JAMO Concert 10 Series (C109, C10 Center, C10 Surr.)
HTPC (Selfmade i7 Ivy 3.5 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, Nvidia GTX960/4GB) Windows 10 with Kodi 16.1 & Central SQL DB (Maria DB)
Storage
Synology DS1812+ / DX-510 (40+TB)
ASWISS is offline  
post #1359 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 06:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Not sure If Dolby atmos matters to most people but found it interesting that these TV's do not appear to be able to process atmos through an ARC connection on their current SOC. Wonder if the B SOC could do this although i would think not since its supposedly a worse chip. Does anyone know of any devices capable to stream Atmos over HDMI currently from sources like VUDU?

There's a good thread on AVS about which TV's and receivers can do the compressed Atmos over arc at the moment but i'm unable to post at the moment
T bagger is offline  
post #1360 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 06:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Hobbun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Sharma View Post
The 1000 dollars went to get a Geek Squad Warranty and the Samsung Blu Ray UHD Player :-)

I will get it calibrated by Jeff Mier of AccuCalHD after I burn it 200 hours or so...
I’ve heard this more than once, that you should wait ‘x’ amount of hours before you have it calibrated. Why is this the case?

I mean if you purchase a TV, why can’t you have it calibrated right away? Not that I am disagreeing, just trying to understand why.
Hobbun is online now  
post #1361 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 06:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 4
T bagger is offline  
post #1362 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 07:39 AM
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Maybe ⅓ of the way from here to there.
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2589 Post(s)
Liked: 2312
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrJames View Post
There is a 55" E6 owner in the other thread that confirmed with pics that it has 4 HDMI inputs.
Thanks!!!! Hard to keep track of all of this. Here's the chart.

MODEL|_____SHAPE_____3D_____HDMI_____SPEAKER_____WATTAGE/SOUND
-----+---------------------------------------------------------
__B6_|_____flat_____none______3________back________40W__4.0
__C6_|____curved___passive____3________back________40W__4.0
__E6_|_____flat____passive____4______soundbar______40W__2.2
__G6_|_____flat____passive____4______soundbar______60W__4.2
tgm1024 is offline  
post #1363 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 07:44 AM
Senior Member
 
minime9us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 40
How many of you G6 owners are having crosstalk with 3D? How bad is it? And are there any solutions to it or is an exchange the only way to get it fixed?

Thanks
minime9us is offline  
post #1364 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 07:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Y2JDMBFAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lemont, IL
Posts: 1,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 853 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by minime9us View Post
How many of you G6 owners are having crosstalk with 3D? How bad is it? And are there any solutions to it or is an exchange the only way to get it fixed?

Thanks
I haven't seen a post in here describing that problem. Are you experiencing an issue?
Y2JDMBFAN is offline  
post #1365 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 07:57 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post
Thanks!!!! Hard to keep track of all of this. Here's the chart.

MODEL|_____SHAPE_____3D_____HDMI_____SPEAKER_____WATTAGE/SOUND
-----+---------------------------------------------------------
__B6_|_____flat_____none______3________back________40W__4.0
__C6_|____curved___passive____3________back________40W__4.0
__E6_|_____flat____passive____4______soundbar______40W__2.2
__G6_|_____flat____passive____4______soundbar______60W__4.2
WRONG

The B6 has 4 HDMI. Confirmed by LG last week
gypsymoth is offline  
post #1366 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 08:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,628
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4299 Post(s)
Liked: 3724
Reference?
video_analysis is online now  
post #1367 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 08:20 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by video_analysis View Post
Reference?
over on the UK avforum.

https://www.avforums.com/threads/rep...2022034/page-3

read the steve withers reply

now lets put this to bed
gypsymoth is offline  
post #1368 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 08:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,628
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4299 Post(s)
Liked: 3724
Bloody hell, LG. Get it together. Given the Atlantic divide, I'm still not believing it until the first customer brings one home, though the E6 "unexpectedly" appearing with 4 inputs does lend credence to the fact that the correct information might have finally surfaced. US people are using outdated info.
tgm1024 likes this.
video_analysis is online now  
post #1369 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 08:36 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by video_analysis View Post
Bloody hell, LG. Get it together. Given the Atlantic divide, I'm still not believing it until the first customer brings one home, though the E6 "unexpectedly" appearing with 4 inputs does lend credence to the fact that the correct information might have finally surfaced. US people are using outdated info.
exactly

pre production sets
badly updated website
clueless PRs
Yappadappadu likes this.
gypsymoth is offline  
post #1370 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 08:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
wensteph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by T bagger View Post
Not sure If Dolby atmos matters to most people but found it interesting that these TV's do not appear to be able to process atmos through an ARC connection on their current SOC. Wonder if the B SOC could do this although i would think not since its supposedly a worse chip. Does anyone know of any devices capable to stream Atmos over HDMI currently from sources like VUDU?

There's a good thread on AVS about which TV's and receivers can do the compressed Atmos over arc at the moment but i'm unable to post at the moment


G6 will do DD+ out ARC HDMI to ARC HDMI on Denon 6200. It does DD only out the optical connection.

Roku 4 will stream Atmos with Vudu app. Not sure of other apps.

Last edited by wensteph; 04-11-2016 at 08:46 AM.
wensteph is offline  
post #1371 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
minime9us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Look at post 1,342. The reason I asked is because my current 65 inch EF9500 has it and im upgrading to the G6 and was hoping it wasn't present in the G6's. It's takes away from the overall greatness of the 3D in my case the lower 1/4 of the 3D movies are in double so I'm constantly trying not to look at the bottom of the movies and focus on the beautiful 3/4's if the screen that isn't in double.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Y2JDMBFAN View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by minime9us View Post
How many of you G6 owners are having crosstalk with 3D? How bad is it? And are there any solutions to it or is an exchange the only way to get it fixed?

Thanks
I haven't seen a post in here describing that problem. Are you experiencing an issue?
minime9us is offline  
post #1372 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 08:52 AM
Member
 
LorHan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASWISS View Post
Hi anyone
I'm new here, and I'm from Switzerland. Following this Thread for a while.

Just ordered my 6EV. Has someone got Infos about Wallmounts, that fit for this TV?
According LG, its has VESA 400x200 but the wholes are in the lower area of the TV.
If someone could give me a recommendation for a Wall-Mount to have it fit as close as possible on the Wall.
thanks
Can I ask where and for how much?

LorHan is offline  
post #1373 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 09:13 AM
Member
 
jfall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hobbun View Post
I’ve heard this more than once, that you should wait ‘x’ amount of hours before you have it calibrated. Why is this the case?

I mean if you purchase a TV, why can’t you have it calibrated right away? Not that I am disagreeing, just trying to understand why.
The electronics/panel settle in over time

The changes are greatest when the set is new, so it is prudent to wait before calibrating
jfall1 is offline  
post #1374 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 10:02 AM
Member
 
jingrande@cox.ne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by minime9us View Post
How many of you G6 owners are having crosstalk with 3D? How bad is it? And are there any solutions to it or is an exchange the only way to get it fixed?

Thanks
I have read with interest the discussion on 3D. I have not experienced any issues or problems with 3D on my G6.


On the contrary, the picture is superb. Heck, why stop there. Magnificent, breathtaking, unbelievable and fill in your own adjective.


The family watched and marveled at Avatar and Guardians of the Galaxy. Granted, not to be mistaken with Gone With the Wind or The Godfather, the 3D picture quality brought a newfound element of pleasure and video experience.


The colors were bright, vivid and life like. The actual 3D effects were astounding. You felt like you were having a real theater experience.


Therefore, my hope is what we have seen and heard are anomalies and not the norm.


Only time will tell. So far, I am absolutely loving this set.
shyguy3763 and tigertim like this.
[email protected] is offline  
post #1375 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 10:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wjboshart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1355 Post(s)
Liked: 1323
Quote:
Originally Posted by minime9us View Post
How many of you G6 owners are having crosstalk with 3D? How bad is it? And are there any solutions to it or is an exchange the only way to get it fixed?

Thanks
I see very minor crosstalk or could be motion judder but not significant as I only ever notice it in the upper right corner.otherwise 3d looks amazing
Wjboshart is offline  
post #1376 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 10:33 AM
Senior Member
 
minime9us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Great to hear. I think my EF9500 is jaw dropping in all those aspects as well. Just when I put a 3D movie in the bottom of the screen is double vision but the rest of the screen is phenomenal. I'm curios to see just how much better the G6 is going to be once I do the exchange. From the sounds of it it sounds like it is better than the EF9500 which I don't know how that's possible. The EF without the crosstalk occasional banding and low-light vertical lines is awesome to see the 95% or so of the time they don't show up. Looking forward to get mine soon.
minime9us is offline  
post #1377 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 12:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dkwong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 1,548
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by minime9us View Post
Great to hear. I think my EF9500 is jaw dropping in all those aspects as well. Just when I put a 3D movie in the bottom of the screen is double vision but the rest of the screen is phenomenal. I'm curios to see just how much better the G6 is going to be once I do the exchange. From the sounds of it it sounds like it is better than the EF9500 which I don't know how that's possible. The EF without the crosstalk occasional banding and low-light vertical lines is awesome to see the 95% or so of the time they don't show up. Looking forward to get mine soon.


Did LG offer you an exchange to a G/E series too?
dkwong is offline  
post #1378 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,588
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6689 Post(s)
Liked: 6685
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattg3 View Post
My 433 cmx Pioneer plasma is still going strong after 13 years with no repairs.
An oldie but goodie. Hell of a TV.
mattg3 likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #1379 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 01:19 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
An oldie but goodie. Hell of a TV.
Agreed. Fantastic for adult movies in particular
gypsymoth is offline  
post #1380 of 22061 Old 04-11-2016, 01:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by wensteph View Post
G6 will do DD+ out ARC HDMI to ARC HDMI on Denon 6200. It does DD only out the optical connection.

Roku 4 will stream Atmos with Vudu app. Not sure of other apps.
I cannot get DD+ via ARC HDMI from my G6 with my Denon X5200W. In your Denon display do you see 2 plus signs in the display window or 1?

The reason I'm asking is when I stream from my K-8500 4k players Netflix app via HDMI, my Denon display shows "DD+ + Dolby Surround" (2 plus signs). However, when streaming from my G6 app my Denon display just shows "DD + Dolby Surround" and I'm just getting regular Dolby Digital.

LG OLED 65 G6P
K-8500 Samsung UHD Player
7.1.4 Atmos In-Ceiling
Denon X5200W (Denon AVR990 for TR)
All DefTechs: 2 BP-8060ST, 1 CS-8080HD, 4 SR-8040BP, 4 DI6.5LCR, 1 SuperCube8000
RAllenChristenson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
65e6p , 65G6P , dolby vision , OLED55C6P , OLED65E6P , vesa mount. shelving

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off