2016 LG C6-B6 owners thread - Page 230 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 264203Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6871 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 11:53 AM
Senior Member
 
256k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Okay answer this how can a panel exceed it's max luminance level ? You are claiming 1600 nits that is impossible.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
I dont mean it can exceed its luminance level (dont know if it does it, since i dont have a Calman), i mean that you will NOT clip that NIT detail (while displaying it at max tv luminance), going home right now, give me 20/30min please
256k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6872 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 11:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kevinmscs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Socal
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 208
I heard this model esp on the 65 - most have some bad pixels - is that true? Thanks
kevinmscs is offline  
post #6873 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 12:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
jtrosky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Guess what cable is 60 fps , I know what he is asking.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
Ok, then let me ask what I thought he was asking... :-) Since some have noted that they get a lot of judder only on some cable content - and if the earlier posted was correct in that it's caused by 24fps content, if I enable TruMotion to "deal" with this judder (which is definitely does - especially when set to "Smooth"), is the TruMotion going to "affect" any of the other content that doesn't have judder?

If cable is 60fps, then I disagree with the statement that TruMotion isn't needed for 60fps content. Maybe you don't feel the need for it, but I definitely want to address the judder I get with some cable content - and if cable is all 60fps, then I will want to use TruMotion because it definitely does address it - but seems to cause other issues.

When I had TruMotion set to "Smooth" the other day, it did totally eliminate the judder I saw on some content - and didn't seem to affect things like live football - but like I said, it caused other issues. Maybe I just have to decide which issues bother me less, the judder or the side-effects TruMotion cause.

But when you said that cable is 60fps and TruMotion isn't needed for 60fps, I'm not quite sure I understand....

Sent from my HP SlateBook 10 x2 PC using Tapatalk
dancolt likes this.
jtrosky is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6874 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrosky View Post
Ok, then let me ask what I thought he was asking... :-) Since some have noted that they get a lot of judder only on some cable content - and if the earlier posted was correct in that it's caused by 24fps content, if I enable TruMotion to "deal" with this judder (which is definitely does - especially when set to "Smooth"), is the TruMotion going to "affect" any of the other content that doesn't have judder?

If cable is 60fps, then I disagree with the statement that TruMotion isn't needed for 60fps content. Maybe you don't feel the need for it, but I definitely want to address the judder I get with some cable content - and if cable is all 60fps, then I will want to use TruMotion because it definitely does address it - but seems to cause other issues.

When I had TruMotion set to "Smooth" the other day, it did totally eliminate the judder I saw on some content - and didn't seem to affect things like live football - but like I said, it caused other issues. Maybe I just have to decide which issues bother me less, the judder or the side-effects TruMotion cause.

But when you said that cable is 60fps and TruMotion isn't needed for 60fps, I'm not quite sure I understand....

Sent from my HP SlateBook 10 x2 PC using Tapatalk
The way I understand it, TruMotion will not affect anything except 24fps content. 30 and 60 fps content are already being displayed in perfect refresh sync; i.e., there is no frame interpolation for it to do (if that makes sense). Regardless of whether cable is being broadcast at 30 or 60 fps, the content itself (except for live video content such as sports) was shot at 24fps. So TruMotion will help you with that content, but it won't mess around with live 30/60 fps material.
jtrosky likes this.

LG OLED55B6P | Sony STR-DN1070 | Samsung UBD K8500 | Xbox One S
dwarfnebula is offline  
post #6875 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 12:16 PM
Member
 
Rsmith115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
4K HDMI Cables

I picked up a new 65B6 today and will be hooking it up tonight. Is there a big difference between 4k HDMI cables and a regular HDMI cables? I run one main cable from the TV to a Denon X2300. The cables are run through the wall, not sure if I should worry about trying to pull a 4K HDMI cable from the receiver to the TV or just try it as is for now. I also have a Samsung 4k blu ray player that I plan on running a 4K HDMI cable from it to the receiver. Any input would be appreciated.
Rsmith115 is offline  
post #6876 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 12:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
turts85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,117
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1028 Post(s)
Liked: 297
I think after much debate I'm waiting until next Black Friday to purchase an OLED. The B6 and C6 is too stressful to choose from. What you gain at one area you lose in another area (curve vs flat, hdr fluctuating lag va high stable hdr lag, etc). We shall see...these prices are noice tho
turts85 is offline  
post #6877 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
256k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 68
@chunon

As promised, here's the video i just recorded proving what i've said before

EDIT: Deleted, do whatever you want, i know what i can see now and thats all, keep loosing all those higher nits details, i will not

Last edited by 256k; 11-23-2016 at 01:43 PM.
256k is offline  
post #6878 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 12:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 5,915
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1668 Post(s)
Liked: 2459
Quote:
Originally Posted by 256k View Post
@Chunon

As promised, here's the video i just recorded proving what i've said before

You've done a lot of work. But: Black level is set relative to the content source. Video is 16-235 so set to Low, PC is 0-255 so set to High.

It will clip wherever it clips. Done.

Buzz
THX Certified Level II Video Calibrator



 
buzzard767 is offline  
post #6879 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 12:50 PM
Member
 
djkms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post
You've done a lot of work. But: Black level is set relative to the content source. Video is 16-235 so set to Low, PC is 0-255 so set to High.

It will clip wherever it clips. Done.
I have my Xbox One S Color Space set to PC, is this accurate for the C6 or should I set it back to standard? I assume from the quoted post if I'm using PC on the Xbox I should then set my Black level to high, correct?

Thanks

Kris S
djkms is offline  
post #6880 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
256k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post
You've done a lot of work. But: Black level is set relative to the content source. Video is 16-235 so set to Low, PC is 0-255 so set to High.

It will clip wherever it clips. Done.
And again you'll lose detail, i'm not putting a gun on your neck, just showing proofs, simple as hell, if you want to see it on movies tell me an scene that you know for sure that it clips and i'll record it if i have that movie

@djkms Black level on Xbox One S is broken, does not matter what you set, it always send limited
256k is offline  
post #6881 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Gabatta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by turts85 View Post
I think after much debate I'm waiting until next Black Friday to purchase an OLED. The B6 and C6 is too stressful to choose from.
There's always going to be a Sophie's choice with these things, as well as shiny new features on the horizon. If you want an OLED, these sets and prices are incredible. Just pull the trigger and enjoy it for the next year and beyond.
chunon likes this.
Gabatta is offline  
post #6882 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 01:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Gabatta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by 256k View Post
As promised, here's the video i just recorded proving what i've said before
yawn
dwarfnebula likes this.
Gabatta is offline  
post #6883 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 01:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rsmith115 View Post
I picked up a new 65B6 today and will be hooking it up tonight. Is there a big difference between 4k HDMI cables and a regular HDMI cables? I run one main cable from the TV to a Denon X2300. The cables are run through the wall, not sure if I should worry about trying to pull a 4K HDMI cable from the receiver to the TV or just try it as is for now. I also have a Samsung 4k blu ray player that I plan on running a 4K HDMI cable from it to the receiver. Any input would be appreciated.
Some older HDMI cables don't pass HDR (which is where the TV really shines...4K is just more pixels). I just swapped everything out when I got the new TV so I didn't have to worry about it. Sounds like you should just try it and see if it works. If not, you're not really out anything for trying.
chunon likes this.

LG OLED55B6P | Sony STR-DN1070 | Samsung UBD K8500 | Xbox One S
dwarfnebula is offline  
post #6884 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 01:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,415
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3837 Post(s)
Liked: 3775
Quote:
Originally Posted by 256k View Post
@chunon

As promised, here's the video i just recorded proving what i've said before

EDIT: Deleted, do whatever you want, i know what i can see now and thats all, keep loosing all those higher nits details, i will not
I admire your enthusiasm but you need to learn some calibration and video fidelity fundamentals before making earth shattering proclamations imo. All you are doing with the black level toggle is changing the video level, of course it will look different .


Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #6885 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 01:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by 256k View Post
@chunon

As promised, here's the video i just recorded proving what i've said before

EDIT: Deleted, do whatever you want, i know what i can see now and thats all, keep loosing all those higher nits details, i will not
You have obviously done some reading and some research, but that has led you down a rabbit hole. Set your black levels correctly, then calibrate from there. Easy. If you want something further, consult a professional calibrator. I'm not really sure what else you are asking. Your question about gamma settings have been answered. Anything else?
prongs44 likes this.

LG OLED55B6P | Sony STR-DN1070 | Samsung UBD K8500 | Xbox One S
dwarfnebula is offline  
post #6886 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 02:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
jtrosky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwarfnebula View Post
The way I understand it, TruMotion will not affect anything except 24fps content. 30 and 60 fps content are already being displayed in perfect refresh sync; i.e., there is no frame interpolation for it to do (if that makes sense). Regardless of whether cable is being broadcast at 30 or 60 fps, the content itself (except for live video content such as sports) was shot at 24fps. So TruMotion will help you with that content, but it won't mess around with live 30/60 fps material.
Thank you - that makes sense and clears it up. I appreciate the input - it was very helpful! And what you are saying does match the results I saw with my limited testing the other night (football looked completely "normal" even with TruMotion set to "Smooth").

I kinda wish you could adjust the "Smooth" setting - but I guess setting TruMotion to User and manually setting the Judder value probably accomplishes the same thing. I'll just have to find a happy medium between too much judder and too much "processing" I guess.

Anyway, again, thank you very much! I'm learning... Obviously, I still have a lot to learn about this stuff though. :-)

Sent from my HP SlateBook 10 x2 PC using Tapatalk
jtrosky is online now  
post #6887 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrosky View Post
Thank you - that makes sense and clears it up. I appreciate the input - it was very helpful! And what you are saying does match the results I saw with my limited testing the other night (football looked completely "normal" even with TruMotion set to "Smooth").

I kinda wish you could adjust the "Smooth" setting - but I guess setting TruMotion to User and manually setting the Judder value probably accomplishes the same thing. I'll just have to find a happy medium between too much judder and too much "processing" I guess.

Anyway, again, thank you very much! I'm learning... Obviously, I still have a lot to learn about this stuff though. :-)

Sent from my HP SlateBook 10 x2 PC using Tapatalk
Anytime. I'm learning too! Try deblur at 10 and anti-judder at 2 or 3 and see what you think. I found that I could notice soap opera (and I hate that!) at 2, but your results might vary.
chunon likes this.

LG OLED55B6P | Sony STR-DN1070 | Samsung UBD K8500 | Xbox One S
dwarfnebula is offline  
post #6888 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 02:37 PM
Senior Member
 
256k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwarfnebula View Post
You have obviously done some reading and some research, but that has led you down a rabbit hole. Set your black levels correctly, then calibrate from there. Easy. If you want something further, consult a professional calibrator. I'm not really sure what else you are asking. Your question about gamma settings have been answered. Anything else?
There's a way to have that grayscale back, is just use Brightness 49, Contrast 65 and Black level high

The black level is not the problem here, the problem is that with Black level low the colours clips at 700nits on the test pattern, with high clips at 1500, it was on the video i deleted already
256k is offline  
post #6889 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 02:38 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,415
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3837 Post(s)
Liked: 3775
Quote:
Originally Posted by 256k View Post
There's a way to have that grayscale back, is just use Brightness 49, Contrast 65 and Black level high

The black level is not the problem here, the problem is that with Black level low the colours clips at 700nits on the test pattern, with high clips at 1500, it was on the video i deleted already
It can't possibly clip at 1500 that exceeds the max luminance of the panel.

I don't think you understand video levels.

Here are the peak brightness levels for the B6 from the rtings review:
Peak 2% Window 745 cd/m2
Peak 10% Window 787 cd/m2
Peak 25% Window 504 cd/m2
Peak 50% Window 268 cd/m2
Peak 100% Window 151 cd/m2
Sustained 2% Window 745 cd/m2
Sustained 10% Window 787 cd/m2
Sustained 25% Window 504 cd/m2
Sustained 50% Window 268 cd/m2
Sustained 100% Window 151 cd/m2

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2

Last edited by chunon; 11-23-2016 at 02:57 PM.
chunon is online now  
post #6890 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 03:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sevenfeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 363 Post(s)
Liked: 382
Three weeks ago I picked out a Vizio M55 for our bedroom. And I was happy. Then the price came down on the Vizio P55 and I was about to make an exchange at Costco.....and then...

And then the B6 dropped below two grand. And I couldn't resist. So the B6 is in a box in my basement. The M55 will get returned to Costco on Friday. And I'm trying to figure an excuse to tell my wife why I spent twice as much as I intended for a bedroom set. Because right now, I am SO DEAD.
ma1746 and lightandsound like this.
Sevenfeet is offline  
post #6891 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 03:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
jtrosky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sevenfeet View Post
Three weeks ago I picked out a Vizio M55 for our bedroom. And I was happy. Then the price came down on the Vizio P55 and I was about to make an exchange at Costco.....and then...

And then the B6 dropped below two grand. And I couldn't resist. So the B6 is in a box in my basement. The M55 will get returned to Costco on Friday. And I'm trying to figure an excuse to tell my wife why I spent twice as much as I intended for a bedroom set. Because right now, I am SO DEAD.
Nice! I like how you "hid" the B6 in your basement for now until you tell the wife! ;-) Too funny...

Oh well, you only live once, right? She'll get over it....

Maybe tell her that research has shown the light from OLED's is less harmful to the eyes than light from an LED set - and that you were just concerned about her health and well-being! :-)

Sent from my HP SlateBook 10 x2 PC using Tapatalk
dancolt and ma1746 like this.

Last edited by jtrosky; 11-23-2016 at 03:23 PM.
jtrosky is online now  
post #6892 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sevenfeet View Post
Three weeks ago I picked out a Vizio M55 for our bedroom. And I was happy. Then the price came down on the Vizio P55 and I was about to make an exchange at Costco.....and then...

And then the B6 dropped below two grand. And I couldn't resist. So the B6 is in a box in my basement. The M55 will get returned to Costco on Friday. And I'm trying to figure an excuse to tell my wife why I spent twice as much as I intended for a bedroom set. Because right now, I am SO DEAD.
You could try "It costs money because it saves money..." Don't know if that will work, though; I think that only works when comparing copper pipe to galvanized steel. Enjoy the B6...it's the best TV I've ever owned, for what that's worth.

LG OLED55B6P | Sony STR-DN1070 | Samsung UBD K8500 | Xbox One S

Last edited by dwarfnebula; 11-23-2016 at 03:28 PM.
dwarfnebula is offline  
post #6893 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 03:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sevenfeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 363 Post(s)
Liked: 382
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrosky View Post
Nice! I like how you "hid" the B6 in your basement for now until you tell the wife! ;-) Too funny...

Oh well, you only live once, right? She'll get over it....

Maybe tell her that research has shown the light from OLED's is less harmful to the eyes than light from an LED set - and that you were just concerned about her health and well-being! :-)

Sent from my HP SlateBook 10 x2 PC using Tapatalk
The new set will go on the wall while she's out doing Black Friday shopping. She was warned that I might replace the set with a better one so that isn't a big surprise. The price tag will be. And again, I'm very dead right now.
Sevenfeet is offline  
post #6894 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 03:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Canadia
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 4
^ Steven, I'm guilty of doing the switcheroo every now and then. I totally understand your situation, LOL!
sexpot is offline  
post #6895 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 03:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I have to confess that I am a new e6 owner but this forum is so much more informative than the e6 forum so I am posting this here.

I downloaded the HDR clips found at the following site and was blown away, especially by “Chess”.
https://mega.nz/#F!aBAGBJBb!vGOiLiLo9HT7fBA1qww3-Q

Note I found the above link from this excellent forum
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/465-hi...ted-often.html

But I have yet to find any other material as impressive as these downloaded clips. (Note I do not yet have a 4K Blu-Ray player or access to other streaming services like Netflix)

Question 1
On YouTube I have searched for “HDR” content and found some things (e.g., “The World in HDR”) but it looks washed out compared to “Chess”. When I run “Chess” I see the “HDR” label pop up in the right hand corner but nothing when I view “The World..” on YouTube; should I expect to see the HDR label for YouTube material?

Today I saw there was an update for the YouTube app so I installed it hoping it might improve things but it does not seem to have made any difference.

Question 2
I think I have read that most people find Dolby Vision HDR superior to HDR10 material. But when I look at the two DV clips on the above website they did not seem to have the WOW effect that “Chess” did and I believe it is HDR10. Am I missing something here?

Last edited by BC Eddie; 11-23-2016 at 04:03 PM. Reason: Correction of web site
BC Eddie is offline  
post #6896 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 04:00 PM
Senior Member
 
256k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
It can't possibly clip at 1500 that exceeds the max luminance of the panel.

I don't think you understand video levels.

Here are the peak brightness levels for the B6 from the rtings review:
Peak 2% Window 745 cd/m2
Peak 10% Window 787 cd/m2
Peak 25% Window 504 cd/m2
Peak 50% Window 268 cd/m2
Peak 100% Window 151 cd/m2
Sustained 2% Window 745 cd/m2
Sustained 10% Window 787 cd/m2
Sustained 25% Window 504 cd/m2
Sustained 50% Window 268 cd/m2
Sustained 100% Window 151 cd/m2

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
In no moment i've said that the TV exceeds it's own peak brightness, ive said that instead of clipping those higher nit details, it shows them at the max peak brightness allowed by the TV but without clipping those details, that's what i'm saying, i'm not saying that if the TV can deliver 600/700nits with my config it delivers 1600, no, what i'm saying is that with those 700nits, instead of lose the details from higher nits, i can see them, but only up to 1500/1600, that's less than 83% coverture (of 10000nits)
256k is offline  
post #6897 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 06:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 845 Post(s)
Liked: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by BC Eddie View Post
I have to confess that I am a new e6 owner but this forum is so much more informative than the e6 forum so I am posting this here.

I downloaded the HDR clips found at the following site and was blown away, especially by “Chess”.
https://mega.nz/#F!aBAGBJBb!vGOiLiLo9HT7fBA1qww3-Q

Note I found the above link from this excellent forum
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/465-hi...ted-often.html

But I have yet to find any other material as impressive as these downloaded clips. (Note I do not yet have a 4K Blu-Ray player or access to other streaming services like Netflix)

Question 1
On YouTube I have searched for “HDR” content and found some things (e.g., “The World in HDR”) but it looks washed out compared to “Chess”. When I run “Chess” I see the “HDR” label pop up in the right hand corner but nothing when I view “The World..” on YouTube; should I expect to see the HDR label for YouTube material?

Today I saw there was an update for the YouTube app so I installed it hoping it might improve things but it does not seem to have made any difference.

Question 2
I think I have read that most people find Dolby Vision HDR superior to HDR10 material. But when I look at the two DV clips on the above website they did not seem to have the WOW effect that “Chess” did and I believe it is HDR10. Am I missing something here?
Check out Grand Tour on Amazon. Best HDR video to date. Also, you can't watch HDR videos with the YouTube app regardless of what the video says. Only 2016 Samsung TVs and Google Chromecast Ultra can display YouTube HDR videos.

FYI, I also find that DV looks better than HDR10.

65JS8500, P50-C1, 55C6P, K8500, PS4 Pro, XB1S, Nvidia Shield
buju22 is offline  
post #6898 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 06:27 PM
Member
 
djkms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 28
If you want a real treat with HDR on these sets than I highly suggest Pacific Rim. Best use of HDR I have seen yet.

Kris S
djkms is offline  
post #6899 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 06:45 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,415
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3837 Post(s)
Liked: 3775
Quote:
Originally Posted by 256k View Post
In no moment i've said that the TV exceeds it's own peak brightness, ive said that instead of clipping those higher nit details, it shows them at the max peak brightness allowed by the TV but without clipping those details, that's what i'm saying, i'm not saying that if the TV can deliver 600/700nits with my config it delivers 1600, no, what i'm saying is that with those 700nits, instead of lose the details from higher nits, i can see them, but only up to 1500/1600, that's less than 83% coverture (of 10000nits)
The max the set can show is 750 nits that includes spectral highlights , not sure how you are deriving your numbers but they are wrong !

You are still confused about video levels .

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #6900 of 28186 Old 11-23-2016, 06:47 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 33,192
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7370 Post(s)
Liked: 8247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sevenfeet View Post
Three weeks ago I picked out a Vizio M55 for our bedroom. And I was happy. Then the price came down on the Vizio P55 and I was about to make an exchange at Costco.....and then...

And then the B6 dropped below two grand. And I couldn't resist. So the B6 is in a box in my basement. The M55 will get returned to Costco on Friday. And I'm trying to figure an excuse to tell my wife why I spent twice as much as I intended for a bedroom set. Because right now, I am SO DEAD.
Just tell her, 'I needed it'.
Ken Ross is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
arc , C6-B6 , calibration , computer , desktop , firmware update , lg c6 pc sdr hdr , lg oled , monitor , oled , oled b6 , oled lg , screen damage , screen uniformity , settings , soundbar , there is sig

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off