2016 LG C6-B6 owners thread - Page 350 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 264145Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10471 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 01:06 PM
Senior Member
 
bberns22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Philadelphia Suburbs
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Getting Gamma Right / IRE

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockycandy View Post
By the way, with the correct luminance adjustments you do get a gamma curve that settles to about 2.35

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J320A using Tapatalk
Setting set to BT.1886, brightness to 53 and getting ire errors (dE2000) less than 2 gave me a near perfect gamma of 2.4

Last edited by bberns22; 01-01-2017 at 01:38 PM.
bberns22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10472 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
 
bberns22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Philadelphia Suburbs
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Gamma

Quote:
Originally Posted by shield1280 View Post
I would not touch green in the 2 point without a meter because green in 2 points will affect gamma.
Making changes to any of the colors in the white balance section impacts gamma. RGB by IRE is critical to gamma optimization.
shield1280 likes this.
bberns22 is offline  
post #10473 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 01:23 PM
Senior Member
 
bberns22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Philadelphia Suburbs
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Red Push

Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
It's less than the default.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by shield1280 View Post
so you have color lower then 47 then.
In the old days, before modern white balance and color menu controls, turning color down was the primary method, for the consumer, to alleviate red push
bberns22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10474 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 01:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
shield1280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by bberns22 View Post
In the old days, before modern white balance and color menu controls, turning color down was the primary method, for the consumer, to alleviate red push
That I know, but CMS don't work on these oled so then you need to turn down the color alleviate red push if you have red push.

LG 55B7-Panasonic TX-P55VT60Y-Panasonic UB700-Sony BDP-S6500-Pioneer BDP-120 Region Free.Philips Fidelio x2.
shield1280 is offline  
post #10475 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 01:36 PM
Member
 
john fusco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Off topic. I've noticed today while watching The Grand Tour Ep 7 on Amazon through my Roku Ultra that the picture was much brighter then when I was watching it through the B6 built-in tv app.. Wondering why that would be?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
john fusco is offline  
post #10476 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 01:42 PM
Member
 
cerchiarax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooloregon View Post
Micro cloth w/plain old water. Please do not use any cleaner.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quebecker View Post
Can you see those scratches on normal viewing condition?
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockycandy View Post
Why would you have scratches on the screen in the first place?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J320A using Tapatalk
Nope cant see them in normal viewing distances, I only see them if I really look close at an angle with the TV off. I can live with it and well would have to anyway as I bought the TV back in October. I did purchase the TV as a scratch & dent from Crutchfield, only reason why its possible there were scratches on the TV but there wasnt any hours on it and everything seemed new. Ill try to take a picture as maybe Im just being OCD about it and hopefully what im looking at isnt actual scratches.

When you guys clean the TV do you do it up and down or in circular motions?

.
cerchiarax is offline  
post #10477 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 01:50 PM
Member
 
funkahdafi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 25
So... I am using an nVidia Shield as source (with Plex on top), which I feed via HDMI into a B6. The B6 in turn is connected via optical out to a Denon AVR. The nVidia Shield as well as Plex are both set to audio passthrough. No matter what kind of audio I play on the source (5.1, 7.1, DTS, AC3, you name it), all my receiver gets is a stereo signal.

Any ideas?
funkahdafi is offline  
post #10478 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 01:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by funkahdafi View Post
So... I am using an nVidia Shield as source (with Plex on top), which I feed via HDMI into a B6. The B6 in turn is connected via optical out to a Denon AVR. The nVidia Shield as well as Plex are both set to audio passthrough. No matter what kind of audio I play on the source (5.1, 7.1, DTS, AC3, you name it), all my receiver gets is a stereo signal.

Any ideas?
Do you have Pass-through set to yes in Plex settings? Do other apps on Shield pass through audio as-is?
Man_Hands is offline  
post #10479 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 01:56 PM
Senior Member
 
bberns22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Philadelphia Suburbs
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Green

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanboyz View Post
hey anybody got a good white balance recipe to tone down the yellow/green?
My pre-calibration measurements showed green was highly elevated between 10-60 ire. Every set is different but you can definitely try reducing green in low white balance. You may want to reduce red a little bit at 90 and 100 ire (say -2 or -3). seems common for slight red elevation at top of ire range, again every set differs. The only way to nail it is to calibrate the set with a good meter.
bberns22 is offline  
post #10480 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 02:29 PM
Member
 
funkahdafi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Man_Hands View Post
Do you have Pass-through set to yes in Plex settings? Do other apps on Shield pass through audio as-is?
Yes, passthrough is enabled across the board. I haven't really tested any other apps, wouldn't even know what to use (I use the Shield for Plex exclusively).
funkahdafi is offline  
post #10481 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 02:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by funkahdafi View Post
Yes, passthrough is enabled across the board. I haven't really tested any other apps, wouldn't even know what to use (I use the Shield for Plex exclusively).
I'm assuming you're going from Shield to TV for a reason. But, what if you connect Shield to AVR directly? Same issue?
funkahdafi likes this.
Man_Hands is offline  
post #10482 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 02:51 PM
Member
 
funkahdafi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Man_Hands View Post
I'm assuming you're going from Shield to TV for a reason. But, what if you connect Shield to AVR directly? Same issue?
The AVR is way too old. It's an AVR4306 that still has HDMI 1.1 ports. I basically just use it as an amp to drive my speakers. Sound is routed to it via Toslink.

When I use LG apps on WebOS, the sound is fine. So something is not working with passthrough from the TV to the receiver, I assume.
funkahdafi is offline  
post #10483 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 03:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by funkahdafi View Post
The AVR is way too old. It's an AVR4306 that still has HDMI 1.1 ports. I basically just use it as an amp to drive my speakers. Sound is routed to it via Toslink.

When I use LG apps on WebOS, the sound is fine. So something is not working with passthrough from the TV to the receiver, I assume.
If LG apps pass through fine, it may not be the AVR but rather a setting on the Shield or Plex app. Figure out any other apps to test on Shield... Netflix?

I have a newer Denon AVR, and don't have any issues with the Shield or Plex passing through audio correctly. Either hooked up to AVR directly, or to TV with optical to AVR.
Man_Hands is offline  
post #10484 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 03:01 PM
 
rockycandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by bberns22 View Post
My pre-calibration measurements showed green was highly elevated between 10-60 ire. Every set is different but you can definitely try reducing green in low white balance. You may want to reduce red a little bit at 90 and 100 ire (say -2 or -3). seems common for slight red elevation at top of ire range, again every set differs. The only way to nail it is to calibrate the set with a good meter.
Why only reducing green in Low? Without calibration tools it makes sense to reduce both low and high evenly

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J320A using Tapatalk
rockycandy is offline  
post #10485 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 03:04 PM
Member
 
funkahdafi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Man_Hands View Post
If LG apps pass through fine, it may not be the AVR but rather a setting on the Shield or Plex app. Figure out any other apps to test on Shield... Netflix?

I have a newer Denon AVR, and don't have any issues with the Shield or Plex passing through audio correctly. Either hooked up to AVR directly, or to TV with optical to AVR.
I really don't know what other settings on the Shield and in Plex I could try. Both have passthrough enabled. I will try with a few other apps, but I am pretty positive it's the TV (or, rather its settings).
funkahdafi is offline  
post #10486 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 03:12 PM
Member
 
ntalwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockycandy View Post
Why only reducing green in Low? Without calibration tools it makes sense to reduce both low and high evenly
Green was way too high on my lower IREs too (using i1d3). I reduced low green by 14 on low, no green change was needed on high.
ntalwar is offline  
post #10487 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 03:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
shield1280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockycandy View Post
Why only reducing green in Low? Without calibration tools it makes sense to reduce both low and high evenly

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J320A using Tapatalk
What makes sense is not always true hehe especially without a meter.what looks good is not always right if you go by standard,but you don't go that anyway so your good.

LG 55B7-Panasonic TX-P55VT60Y-Panasonic UB700-Sony BDP-S6500-Pioneer BDP-120 Region Free.Philips Fidelio x2.
shield1280 is offline  
post #10488 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 03:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
shield1280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockycandy View Post
Why only reducing green in Low? Without calibration tools it makes sense to reduce both low and high evenly

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J320A using Tapatalk
When you do changes to 2-pt high and low then maybe red needs changing or blue who knows without a meter,you are better of default.

My green high -5 needed no change on low green when I got my calibrated, but need changing in red and blue high and low.

High and low 2-pt affects each other,if i turn down red in 2-pt low then I need to check red etc on high,so when you did -8 on both of them then red blue high and low needs to be set correct.

LG 55B7-Panasonic TX-P55VT60Y-Panasonic UB700-Sony BDP-S6500-Pioneer BDP-120 Region Free.Philips Fidelio x2.

Last edited by shield1280; 01-01-2017 at 03:22 PM.
shield1280 is offline  
post #10489 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 03:20 PM
 
rockycandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by shield1280 View Post
When you do changes to 2-pt high and low then maybe red needs changing or blue who knows without a meter,you are better of default.

My green high -5 needed no change on low green when I got my calibrated, but need changing in red and blue high and low.
When I lower green both low and high warm 2 looks more natural

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J320A using Tapatalk
rockycandy is offline  
post #10490 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 03:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
shield1280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockycandy View Post
When I lower green both low and high warm 2 looks more natural

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J320A using Tapatalk
what looks good for you is not the same as its right and will affect the rest of your 2-pt when you did that.

LG 55B7-Panasonic TX-P55VT60Y-Panasonic UB700-Sony BDP-S6500-Pioneer BDP-120 Region Free.Philips Fidelio x2.

Last edited by shield1280; 01-01-2017 at 03:42 PM.
shield1280 is offline  
post #10491 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 03:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
shield1280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockycandy View Post
When I lower green both low and high warm 2 looks more natural

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J320A using Tapatalk
Then i must say have you ever seen a calibrated warm 2?do you know how a calibrate warm2 should look like?

LG 55B7-Panasonic TX-P55VT60Y-Panasonic UB700-Sony BDP-S6500-Pioneer BDP-120 Region Free.Philips Fidelio x2.
shield1280 is offline  
post #10492 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
bberns22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Philadelphia Suburbs
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntalwar View Post
Green was way too high on my lower IREs too (using i1d3). I reduced low green by 14 on low, no green change was needed on high.
Using 2 point - green high only had to be reduced by 2. But again each set is different
bberns22 is offline  
post #10493 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
bberns22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Philadelphia Suburbs
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by shield1280 View Post
When you do changes to 2-pt high and low then maybe red needs changing or blue who knows without a meter,you are better of default.

My green high -5 needed no change on low green when I got my calibrated, but need changing in red and blue high and low.

High and low 2-pt affects each other,if i turn down red in 2-pt low then I need to check red etc on high,so when you did -8 on both of them then red blue high and low needs to be set correct.
Need to use the the 21 point if you really want to fine tune it. Green was high from -10-60 then sloped down to almost flat (at 100) on my sert Because green was elevated across such a large range 2 point got me in the ballpark - then went on to adust 5-100.
bberns22 is offline  
post #10494 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 05:47 PM
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by bberns22 View Post
Gamma represents how quickly the set comes out of black, the brightness control also impacts slope (as well as adjusting black level). Using both controls offers a range of gamma options. Viewing 1% (or finer) IRE ramps are very helpful in making the adjustment if you don't have calibration equipment.
Yep. I found the 1% window very helpful for really dialing in these settings. I learned I can bump brightness up to 51 without any ill effects. Using bt.1886 gamma, I could not see the 1% window from my seating position (in a dark room). Switching to 2.2 made the window just barely visible from my seat on the couch. Content looks good, too, so I'm happy
milehighou is offline  
post #10495 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 06:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Fanboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 548 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Hey I've had my b6 momentarily "forget" my white balance settings yesterday when I first turned it on, and today when I first turned it on.

Mind you I've been playing with the settings very heavily.

Today I "saved" my settings via copy all inputs- was that the problem?

LG OLED65B6P. Klipsch: RF82, RC62, RS52, RB61, RP-140SA. SVS PB-U13. Denon 6300H. Oppo 103D. Oppo UPD 203.
Fanboyz is offline  
post #10496 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
jerryyyyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stanford, California
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Guys, is it worth trying to control a cablebox, BlueRay and Denon with their controller or should I just stick with Harmony? Looks pretty hopeless on first shot.
jerryyyyy is offline  
post #10497 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 07:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryyyyy View Post
Guys, is it worth trying to control a cablebox, BlueRay and Denon with their controller or should I just stick with Harmony? Looks pretty hopeless on first shot.
Harmony FTW.
shield1280 likes this.
Man_Hands is offline  
post #10498 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 08:50 PM
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Holy crap....looks like prices went up. Just saw that the 65" B6 is $4k Glad I bought it when I did!
Jond0 and Man_Hands like this.
milehighou is offline  
post #10499 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 08:59 PM
Member
 
addict gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Any update on hdr input lag situation for b6, be nice to see the hdr and input lag as whole come down. My return window is in a few days, right after ces .
addict gamer is offline  
post #10500 of 28095 Old 01-01-2017, 09:18 PM
Member
 
rondelmatryuda@shaw.ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: White Rock Canada
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Cool Oled77g6p

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryyyyy View Post
Guys, is it worth trying to control a cablebox, BlueRay and Denon with their controller or should I just stick with Harmony? Looks pretty hopeless on first shot.
Harmony is the way
[email protected] is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
arc , C6-B6 , calibration , computer , desktop , firmware update , lg c6 pc sdr hdr , lg oled , monitor , oled , oled b6 , oled lg , screen damage , screen uniformity , settings , soundbar , there is sig

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off