2016 LG C6-B6 owners thread - Page 456 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 264138Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13651 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 02:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,313
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3778 Post(s)
Liked: 3606
Quote:
Originally Posted by PRO-630HD View Post
I keep hearing this contrast generally above 80 causes white clipping comments for months now while no one can provide any evidence to prove it. My set will go to 98 without clipping any whites whatsoever. 0-254. At 99-100 it will start to clip but never below 235. Everyone realizes that 236-254 is not even in the Rec. 709 spec right? A 254 white level is something you will never ever see on any HD content.

If anyone has any actual evidence besides pure conjecture please let me know. I asked this months ago and no one has been able to provide any evidence to back up these claims.
My set is at 85 set by my calibrator. I have checked it with a contrast pattern a contrast of 98 clips at 235. At least for my set 85 is the correct setting. What is so hard to understand ?If your set doesn't clip at 98 then you have nothing to worry about. No drama required.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13652 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 02:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dick Emery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by fahrbot View Post
New B6 firmware is up:

http://www.lg.com/us/support-product...ftwareFirmware

Version_04.31.10

Downloading/installing now.
Meanwhile in the rest of the world. Nothing. Now I am upset.
Dick Emery is offline  
post #13653 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 03:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PRO-630HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,606
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
My set is at 85 set by my calibrator. I have checked it with a contrast pattern a contrast of 98 clips at 235. At least for my set 85 is the correct setting. What is so hard to understand ?If your set doesn't clip at 98 then you have nothing to worry about. No drama required.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
Where are you getting the contrast pattern? There shouldn't be that much variation panel to panel where one sets clips above white at 99 and the next panel clips whites below 235 at a contrast setting of 85. I myself am using the clipping pattern from the Disney Wow disc.
PRO-630HD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13654 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 03:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,313
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3778 Post(s)
Liked: 3606
Quote:
Originally Posted by PRO-630HD View Post
Where are you getting the contrast pattern? There shouldn't be that much variation panel to panel where one sets clips above white at 99 and the next panel clips whites below 235 at a contrast setting of 85. I myself am using the clipping pattern from the Disney Wow disc.
AVS709 , Disney Wow is known for a higher contrast setting been that way for years. Anyway my set is "professionally" calibrated not changing the setting because you think it is wrong.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2

Last edited by chunon; 03-04-2017 at 05:29 AM.
chunon is online now  
post #13655 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 04:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2,404
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 70
[04.31.10]
1. Add the HDR Game mode to improve the input lag
2. Improve the video tearing issue in HDR 4K input and Game mode setting
Bleeding Edge likes this.
Brian-HD is offline  
post #13656 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 05:22 AM
Senior Member
 
roque13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by PRO-630HD View Post
Where are you getting the contrast pattern? There shouldn't be that much variation panel to panel where one sets clips above white at 99 and the next panel clips whites below 235 at a contrast setting of 85. I myself am using the clipping pattern from the Disney Wow disc.


I can also say that at 95-98 my set clips 235. My set is also professionally calibrated and my contrast is set at 85. I've used AVS 709, Teds disc, Spears and Munsil, and DVE, and they all clip at same contrast level.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ConnecTEDDD likes this.
roque13 is offline  
post #13657 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 05:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,313
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3778 Post(s)
Liked: 3606
Quote:
Originally Posted by roque13 View Post
I can also say that at 95-98 my set clips 235. My set is also professionally calibrated and my contrast is set at 85. I've used AVS 709, Teds disc, Spears and Munsil, and DVE, and they all clip at same contrast level.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Pretty strong "evidence"

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
roque13 likes this.

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #13658 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 05:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dick Emery View Post
Meanwhile in the rest of the world. Nothing. Now I am upset.
Yep this is getting BEYOND ridiculous now.

How can we get in contact with LG at a higher level for a proper answer.. Calling and live chat is basically useless. Really wish I went and bought a c6. This is a joke

Last edited by Traxtech; 03-04-2017 at 06:02 AM.
Traxtech is offline  
post #13659 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 06:12 AM
Member
 
timstephens24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 44
When did people lose all patience? Just be patient, it'll be there.
john fusco likes this.
timstephens24 is offline  
post #13660 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 06:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by timstephens24 View Post
When did people lose all patience? Just be patient, it'll be there.
It's been 2 months
TiSA88 is offline  
post #13661 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 07:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Threefiddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 1,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by timstephens24 View Post
When did people lose all patience? Just be patient, it'll be there.
since the dawn of the internet....duh
timstephens24 likes this.
Threefiddie is offline  
post #13662 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 07:39 AM
Oppo Beta Group
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 11,023
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1836 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
As I recall, I see some colors clipping before others on patterns with each primary.

I have not seen banding with lower <80 contract settings that preserve WTW (whiter than white > 235), but I will check that next week.

- Rich

Oppo UPD-205 x 2 | UPD-203 | Sonica DAC | Emotiva XMC-1 (v3) | Revel Salon2s, Voice2, Studio2s | Benchmark AHB2 x 4 | ATI AT522NC | Velodyne HGS-15 | LG 77C9 | Lumagen 2020 | HDFury Vertex x 2
RichB is offline  
post #13663 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 07:54 AM
 
Quebecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 1,490
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1073 Post(s)
Liked: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by PRO-630HD View Post
I keep hearing this contrast generally above 80 causes white clipping comments for months now while no one can provide any evidence to prove it. My set will go to 98 without clipping any whites whatsoever. 0-254. At 99-100 it will start to clip but never below 235. Everyone realizes that 236-254 is not even in the Rec. 709 spec right? A 254 white level is something you will never ever see on any HD content.

If anyone has any actual evidence besides pure conjecture please let me know. I asked this months ago and no one has been able to provide any evidence to back up these claims.
What device are you using to check contrast value needed.

PC? Nvidia shield?
Quebecker is offline  
post #13664 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 08:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,244
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4286 Post(s)
Liked: 5238
Quote:
Originally Posted by PRO-630HD View Post
I keep hearing this contrast generally above 80 causes white clipping comments for months now while no one can provide any evidence to prove it. My set will go to 98 without clipping any whites whatsoever. 0-254. At 99-100 it will start to clip but never below 235. Everyone realizes that 236-254 is not even in the Rec. 709 spec right? A 254 white level is something you will never ever see on any HD content.

If anyone has any actual evidence besides pure conjecture please let me know. I asked this months ago and no one has been able to provide any evidence to back up these claims.
If you use Calman, there is a workflow to see clipping and contrast over 85 will clip.
This is as "hard" as you can get.
chunon likes this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #13665 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 08:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
jtrosky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dick Emery View Post
Meanwhile in the rest of the world. Nothing. Now I am upset.
I wouldn't get too upset - looks like a very minor update to the Game mode that was added in the last update, so unless you use the Game mode, I doubt that it even matters.

Sent from my OBOOK 11 PLUS DUALOS using Tapatalk
jtrosky is offline  
post #13666 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 08:35 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,028
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6407 Post(s)
Liked: 6403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse Jhaj View Post
I'm in the market for a B6, however I'm trying to time my purchase just right. I don't want to pay $3500... anyone know when would be a good time to buy so I can pay somewhere in the range of $2500?
Stock is limited, no real replacement for this model, I think you will see the prices be stable for a little while then head up and then they will be gone......
matticus008 likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #13667 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 08:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Stock is limited, no real replacement for this model, I think you will see the prices be stable for a little while then head up and then they will be gone......
Seems like a very rational expectation... I got the B6 at Super Bowl sale price and after reading the W7 reviews, I'm happy with the price, happy with the amazing video performance and happy with the savings over the 2017. Happy, happy, happy. Hard to beat.

Better prices on the x7 series by Black Friday? Maybe -- or maybe Sony raises the bar even more.

Let's see -- next probable major video improvements -- probably not until HDCP 2.2. We can each take a guess, but I'd say 2020 at best for a fairly stable offering. I can wait -- or at least, NOW I can wait. Happy, happy, happy...

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS
richlife is offline  
post #13668 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 09:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
mdanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Garland,Tx.
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post
I am only going to say this once so........... listen up.


If you haven't seen the 4k HDR demos from YouTube you have no idea what your display is capable of.
I purchased a Chromecast Ultra and installed it yesterday.
Oh for the Love of whoever you worship!!!!
It will be the best $65.00 you will spend.
I just got my chromecast ultra and hdr looks great on Youtube. Trying to decide between hdr standard or hdr bright on my 65C6. I did a search on this thread to see what others are using but I didnt get much of a consensus. I guess it is a matter of preference.

Also, with a uhd bluray player what are most owners using on their lg oleds as far as hdr standard or bright goes. Thanks.

Paradigm Studio 20v5-fronts
Paradigm Studio CC-490v5-center
Paradigm Studio 10v5- side surrounds,Monitor surround 3v7-bck surr
Oppo UDP-205/LG 65C6 OLED
Outlaw 976 prepro/ Emotiva BasX A-700amp/PSA 15S sub
mdanderson is offline  
post #13669 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 10:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hamburg Township, Michigan
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 934 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian-HD View Post
[04.31.10]
1. Add the HDR Game mode to improve the input lag
2. Improve the video tearing issue in HDR 4K input and Game mode setting
Is this update for the US too? And can we do this one over the air this time instead of using the USB stick?
Superman23 is offline  
post #13670 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
CRAZZZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Westminster, CA.
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman23 View Post
Is this update for the US too? And can we do this one over the air this time instead of using the USB stick?
Yes for the U.S and yes update manually via USB flash drive. Easy to do, follow instructions below.

Download from Lg Support website
Unzip file you just downloaded
Make a folder labeled LG_DTV
Put unzipped file into LG_DTV folder
Put folder onto a USB drive formatted in fat32
Connect to Oled B6 and prompt will guide you on screen
Follow on screen prompt to restart tv and enjoy
CRAZZZY is offline  
post #13671 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 10:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hamburg Township, Michigan
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 934 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRAZZZY View Post
Yes for the U.S and yes update manually via USB flash drive. Easy to do, follow instructions below.

Download from Lg Support website
Unzip file you just downloaded
Make a folder labeled LG_DTV
Put unzipped file into LG_DTV folder
Put folder onto a USB drive formatted in fat32
Connect to Oled B6 and prompt will guide you on screen
Follow on screen prompt to restart tv and enjoy
Cool Beans! I did that for the .77 update too so I'll do it right now! I can't believe they won't do these updates for everyone via the air though. Oh well could be worst things I guess. Loving uncharted 4 on my B6! Breath of the Wild on my new Nintendo Switch looks sweet too!
Superman23 is offline  
post #13672 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 11:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
I WANT MORE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 'Middle of Nowhere
Posts: 2,706
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdanderson View Post
I just got my chromecast ultra and hdr looks great on Youtube. Trying to decide between hdr standard or hdr bright on my 65C6. I did a search on this thread to see what others are using but I didnt get much of a consensus. I guess it is a matter of preference.

Also, with a uhd bluray player what are most owners using on their lg oleds as far as hdr standard or bright goes. Thanks.
I've settled on bright for now.
mdanderson likes this.

Perhaps I misremembered.

I WANT MORE is online now  
post #13673 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 12:22 PM
Member
 
Snorfle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kematt View Post
"No Updates Found"

Is this another manual update?
My question is-- how are we supposed to know about these updates? Is there some kind of RSS feed or other way to subscribe to set alerts when they post them? I don't mind going through the USB process to load it onto the TV but I wouldn't have even been aware w/o happening to read the forum this weekend.
Snorfle is offline  
post #13674 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 01:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrosky View Post
I wouldn't get too upset - looks like a very minor update to the Game mode that was added in the last update, so unless you use the Game mode, I doubt that it even matters.

Sent from my OBOOK 11 PLUS DUALOS using Tapatalk
Rest of the world doesn't have the last 2 firmwares, aka the one that drops input lag across the whole range and introduces hdr game mode.

It's not about being impatient, it's the fact that lg has said that it may not come becsuss their customer service sucks lol
Traxtech is offline  
post #13675 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 01:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
mdanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Garland,Tx.
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post
I've settled on bright for now.
Thanks for the input.

Paradigm Studio 20v5-fronts
Paradigm Studio CC-490v5-center
Paradigm Studio 10v5- side surrounds,Monitor surround 3v7-bck surr
Oppo UDP-205/LG 65C6 OLED
Outlaw 976 prepro/ Emotiva BasX A-700amp/PSA 15S sub
mdanderson is offline  
post #13676 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 02:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 3
04.31.10 Firmware Update

"Please check the Model List in the Reference section, paying special attention to the end (i.e. xxx-UA)"

Applicable model list lists "OLED65B6P-U" as the model. My OLED65B6P is wall mounted, so I can't see if a "-U" is appended to the model #. Anyone know what models the "-U" applies to? Just want to confirm before I end up loading firmware to an incompatible model.
Man_Hands is offline  
post #13677 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 02:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hamburg Township, Michigan
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 934 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Man_Hands View Post
"Please check the Model List in the Reference section, paying special attention to the end (i.e. xxx-UA)"

Applicable model list lists "OLED65B6P-U" as the model. My OLED65B6P is wall mounted, so I can't see if a "-U" is appended to the model #. Anyone know what models the "-U" applies to? Just want to confirm before I end up loading firmware to an incompatible model.
Just stick your phone back behind the bottom right hand side of the back of the tv and take a picture. The sticker has all of that info back there. I think U is US models.
Superman23 is offline  
post #13678 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 02:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman23 View Post
Cool Beans! I did that for the .77 update too so I'll do it right now! I can't believe they won't do these updates for everyone via the air though. Oh well could be worst things I guess. Loving uncharted 4 on my B6! Breath of the Wild on my new Nintendo Switch looks sweet too!
Believe me, unless you have a very fast and very reliable internet connection, you don't want to do a near 1G firmware update by internet. One glitch and you could have an unknown, uncontrollable condition. Safer to download to a separate repository (USB) and copy. My wireless connection is normally very reliable, but this download to USB took over an hour. I would never have attempted it directly to the tv via our slow and unreliable DSL service even if LG had it available.

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS
richlife is offline  
post #13679 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 02:59 PM
Member
 
kematt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post
I am only going to say this once so........... listen up.


If you haven't seen the 4k HDR demos from YouTube you have no idea what your display is capable of.
I purchased a Chromecast Ultra and installed it yesterday.
Oh for the Love of whoever you worship!!!!
It will be the best $65.00 you will spend.
Been thinking about getting the CCU. Mainly for YouTube UHD HDR videos. Without the Chromecast Ultra, I'm getting resolution of 2560 X 1440. What is max resolution you get with your CCU? Anyone?
kematt is offline  
post #13680 of 28037 Old 03-04-2017, 06:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SledgeHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,291
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1135 Post(s)
Liked: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlife View Post
Believe me, unless you have a very fast and very reliable internet connection, you don't want to do a near 1G firmware update by internet. One glitch and you could have an unknown, uncontrollable condition. Safer to download to a separate repository (USB) and copy. My wireless connection is normally very reliable, but this download to USB took over an hour. I would never have attempted it directly to the tv via our slow and unreliable DSL service even if LG had it available.
Say whaattt? That's not how any firmware update since the dawn of firmware updates has ever worked.

The firmware is downloaded ENTIRELY, then it is decrypted and checked for integrity. It's also impossible to download a "corrupted" firmware... if there are errors, it will either re-send the packet or error out the entire download.

Not quite sure what you're doing, but the 839MB download took me all of 30 seconds (or even less). For you to take an hour would mean your internet speed is like 1.3Mbps. Are you using a carrier pigeon to connect to the internet or something?
SledgeHammer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
arc , C6-B6 , calibration , computer , desktop , firmware update , lg c6 pc sdr hdr , lg oled , monitor , oled , oled b6 , oled lg , screen damage , screen uniformity , settings , soundbar , there is sig

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off