2016 LG C6-B6 owners thread - Page 531 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 264203Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15901 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 08:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elton Noway View Post
There has been a few previous discussions on this. For some reason it seems LG rolls out firmware updates to the US ahead of other countries. Some non US members have tried to fool the LG site by changing their country to US so they can download the update but then report they get a message that the file is corrupted when they try to install it. A suggested work around was to have a US member download the current update and send it to whoever needed it in an email.

Some members believe this is a really bad idea not knowing what, if any, hardware difference may exist between the same model (e.g. B6) sold in different parts of the world (e.g 50hz vs 60 hz). Earlier this month I had PM exchange with TiSA88 in in reference to applying the US update to his Brazilian set but I don't know if he ever got brave enough to try it. My concern would be bricking your beautiful new TV. If he doesn't see / reply to this thread I imagine you could PM him and see if he had any luck.
Thank you. I will Stay put with my Firmware. Dont want any troubles

Gesendet von meinem F5121 mit Tapatalk
richlife and Superman23 like this.
david.ganzenbach is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15902 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 08:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Thank you. Will Stay put with my Firmware. Dont want any difficulties

Gesendet von meinem F5121 mit Tapatalk
david.ganzenbach is offline  
post #15903 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 08:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hamburg Township, Michigan
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 940 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by david.ganzenbach View Post
Thank you. I will Stay put with my Firmware. Dont want any troubles

Gesendet von meinem F5121 mit Tapatalk
I would probably do the same too. But I'd stil like TiSA88 to tell us if it worked?

LG OLED 65B6P
Panasonic VIERA TC-P65VT30
OPPO UDP-203 4K Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player
Sony PlayStation 4 Pro
Nintendo Switch
Sony PlayStation 3
Superman23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15904 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman23 View Post
I would probably do the same too. But I'd stil like TiSA88 to tell us if it worked?
If you want to attract @TiSA88 attention, put MENTION tags around his userid (it's the speaker icon on the upper right). He'll then get an email notice of the post. Just doing a bold will only work if he stumbles on that post. (Notice the @ that MENTION adds to the name -- but it also has tags.)

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS
richlife is offline  
post #15905 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 09:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Elton Noway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman23 View Post
I would probably do the same too. But I'd still like TiSA88 to tell us if it worked?
In my last exchange with @TiSA88 he said he was tired of waiting for LG ( I "assume" that meant he was going to try it)... he added "his friend" went ahead and tried it and it worked but again... I have to "assume" his friend was also in Brazil. Guess we'll have to wait to see if any other non US members were brave enough to try it.

When it comes to installing firmware updates I have no fear. I'm always updating firmware and never hesitate to stay current on my computers, TV's, plotter, cameras, router, Blu-ray player, Roku, AVR, etc.. I know some people feel if the latest firmware update doesn't fix or address a problem you are having then you shouldn't, or don't need to install it.... but... I do it anyway. I like the challenge. I've been doing it since the mid 90's and can report I've never had a single problem. That said... I'd be way too chicken to try installing a firmware update from another country on my beautiful B6 or any other electronic device. In this case I don't know which would be worse, the stress of bricking my new TV... the money I was putting at risk... or the wrath of my wife when I told her the TV was ruined and going in the garbage.
richlife likes this.
Elton Noway is offline  
post #15906 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 09:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Elton Noway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlife View Post
If you want to attract TiSA88 attention, put MENTION tags around his userid (it's the speaker icon on the upper right). He'll then get an email notice of the post. Just doing a bold will only work if he stumbles on that post. (Notice the @ that MENTION adds to the name -- but it also has tags.)
Cool tip... THANKS! (Seems I'm never too old to learn a new trick)
richlife and Superman23 like this.

Last edited by Elton Noway; 04-26-2017 at 09:16 AM.
Elton Noway is offline  
post #15907 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 09:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hamburg Township, Michigan
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 940 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlife View Post
If you want to attract @TiSA88 attention, put MENTION tags around his userid (it's the speaker icon on the upper right). He'll then get an email notice of the post. Just doing a bold will only work if he stumbles on that post. (Notice the @ that MENTION adds to the name -- but it also has tags.)
Thanks Richlife! I'll have to try it. I assume you just did it though so I won't do it now. Don't want to bug the guy too much. Lol!
richlife likes this.

LG OLED 65B6P
Panasonic VIERA TC-P65VT30
OPPO UDP-203 4K Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player
Sony PlayStation 4 Pro
Nintendo Switch
Sony PlayStation 3
Superman23 is offline  
post #15908 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 09:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elton Noway View Post
In my last exchange with @TiSA88 he said he was tired of waiting for LG ( I "assume" that meant he was going to try it)... he added "his friend" went ahead and tried it and it worked but again... I have to "assume" his friend was also in Brazil. Guess we'll have to wait to see if any other non US members were brave enough to try it.

When it comes to installing firmware updates I have no fear. I'm always updating firmware and never hesitate to stay current on my computers, TV's, plotter, cameras, router, Blu-ray player, Roku, AVR, etc.. I know some people feel if the latest firmware update doesn't fix or address a problem you are having then you shouldn't, or don't need to install it.... but... I do it anyway. I like the challenge. I've been doing it since the mid 90's and can report I've never had a single problem. That said... I'd be way too chicken to try installing a firmware update from another country on my beautiful B6 or any other electronic device. In this case I don't know which would be worse, the stress of bricking my new TV... the money I was putting at risk... or the wrath of my wife when I told her the TV was ruined and going in the garbage.
I think the problem with those outside a geographic area "trying" the firmware, is that every firmware will carry a new risk that IT may cause issues with the tv even though previous updates did not. There is just no way to be sure unless LG is specific.
Superman23 likes this.

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS
richlife is offline  
post #15909 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 09:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hamburg Township, Michigan
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 940 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlife View Post
I think the problem with those outside a geographic area "trying" the firmware, is that every firmware will carry a new risk that IT may cause issues with the tv even though previous updates did not. There is just no way to be sure unless LG is specific.
Yeah for me I wouldn't take the chance but it's exciting to watch the brave people try it outside the U.S. LOL!
richlife likes this.

LG OLED 65B6P
Panasonic VIERA TC-P65VT30
OPPO UDP-203 4K Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player
Sony PlayStation 4 Pro
Nintendo Switch
Sony PlayStation 3
Superman23 is offline  
post #15910 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 09:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quebecker View Post
Yeah.

When I had my Sony 4k TV, I had that function (1080p at 120hz).

I tried it 1 time for 10 minutes and returned to 4k gaming immediately.

4k at 120 hz is what we really need.
I agree that 4k @ 120 hz would be awesome but 1st you would need a TV with HDMI 2.1 support (no TV exists yet like that) and a very expensive PC to play games on max at 4K @ 120 fps, which even the Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti struggles to reach.

Choosing 4K for gaming and 1080p @ 120fps is not like choosing a egg to cook - I wouldn't choose in terms of preference - if you want to play single-player games, 4K is awesome and a great choice, if you want a multiplayer FPS you would switch to 120 fps @ 1080p because it offers the best multiplayer experience.

Is anyone aware of any technical limitation which prevents LG from updating B6 with 1080p @ 120Hz like C7 has?
marco_silva85 is offline  
post #15911 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 09:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,566
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6677 Post(s)
Liked: 6672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cantab1008 View Post
I hope it is moderate image retention and I will try to contact LG and see if they can fix it under warranty. The TV is only nine month old and still under warranty.
No need to tell them it is image retention or burn in, just say you have a problem and describe it.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #15912 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 09:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
g.costanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 18
annoying HDMI input activity pop up box

Anyone know of a way to turn off the HDMI input activity box that pop's up from the bottom of the screen when the TV senses activity on an HDMI input? I have an HDMI splitter that sends my sources to this tV and a projector. Whenever I watch the LG's tuner or built-in apps, the HDMI input activity notification randomly pops up. Super annoying. Only way to stop it is to unplug the splitter box. Not very convenient, as I will often switch between the TV's tuner and my apple TV, which is how I watch my DirectvNow app.
iamluvinlife likes this.
g.costanza is offline  
post #15913 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Elton Noway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by g.costanza View Post
Anyone know of a way to turn off the HDMI input activity box that pop's up from the bottom of the screen when the TV senses activity on an HDMI input? I have an HDMI splitter that sends my sources to this tV and a projector. Whenever I watch the LG's tuner or built-in apps, the HDMI input activity notification randomly pops up. Super annoying. Only way to stop it is to unplug the splitter box. Not very convenient, as I will often switch between the TV's tuner and my apple TV, which is how I watch my DirectvNow app.
Great question... I'd like to know the answer as well. Using my Harmony remote, whenever I change from PC back to TV or another HDMI input... that annoying activity box pops up. My wife always ask... What do I do now? Which answer do I select? etc. Would be great if we could disable it.
Elton Noway is offline  
post #15914 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Clement Afficial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 252
After a crazy day, I just got my LG C6!!!!! I am loving the TV I will post pics after, now I am too busy enjoying the tv!!!!!
I dont regret buying the TV at all!!!
It was hard to set it up, because its very big and my wife had problems carrying it, but at the end everything is fine! no damage!
Clement Afficial is offline  
post #15915 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 10:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hamburg Township, Michigan
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 940 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clement Afficial View Post
After a crazy day, I just got my LG C6!!!!! I am loving the TV I will post pics after, now I am too busy enjoying the tv!!!!!
I dont regret buying the TV at all!!!
It was hard to set it up, because its very big and my wife had problems carrying it, but at the end everything is fine! no damage!
Sweet! Congrats buddy! Welcome to the B6/C6 Club! LOL!

LG OLED 65B6P
Panasonic VIERA TC-P65VT30
OPPO UDP-203 4K Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player
Sony PlayStation 4 Pro
Nintendo Switch
Sony PlayStation 3
Superman23 is offline  
post #15916 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 10:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
Clement Afficial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman23 View Post
Sweet! Congrats buddy! Welcome to the B6/C6 Club! LOL!
Thanks haha!!
The difference between my JU7100 and this OLED LG C6 IS NIGHT AND DAY!!!!
And I didnt even play with the settings yet
Daryl L likes this.
Clement Afficial is offline  
post #15917 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hamburg Township, Michigan
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 940 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clement Afficial View Post
Thanks haha!!
The difference between my JU7100 and this OLED LG C6 IS NIGHT AND DAY!!!!
And I didnt even play with the settings yet
For sure! That's how I felt about my B6 when I upgraded from the ZT60. Youre gonna love it!

LG OLED 65B6P
Panasonic VIERA TC-P65VT30
OPPO UDP-203 4K Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player
Sony PlayStation 4 Pro
Nintendo Switch
Sony PlayStation 3
Superman23 is offline  
post #15918 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 11:04 AM
 
Quebecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 1,490
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1073 Post(s)
Liked: 678
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco_silva85 View Post
I agree that 4k @ 120 hz would be awesome but 1st you would need a TV with HDMI 2.1 support (no TV exists yet like that) and a very expensive PC to play games on max at 4K @ 120 fps, which even the Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti struggles to reach.

Choosing 4K for gaming and 1080p @ 120fps is not like choosing a egg to cook - I wouldn't choose in terms of preference - if you want to play single-player games, 4K is awesome and a great choice, if you want a multiplayer FPS you would switch to 120 fps @ 1080p because it offers the best multiplayer experience.

Is anyone aware of any technical limitation which prevents LG from updating B6 with 1080p @ 120Hz like C7 has?
4k 120hz does not need HDMI 2.1. It's technically possible with HDMI 2.0 if you're using 4:2:2 or 4:2:0.

Anyway, I understand why people might want to have 120hz.
Quebecker is offline  
post #15919 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 11:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hamburg Township, Michigan
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 940 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clement Afficial View Post
Thanks haha!!
The difference between my JU7100 and this OLED LG C6 IS NIGHT AND DAY!!!!
And I didnt even play with the settings yet
First things first though......make sure you log onto LG's website and double check to see if your C6 came with the most up to date firmware. If not you'll probably have to update via USB stick. But you already know this because you've been researching the B6/C6 thread for some time now.

LG OLED 65B6P
Panasonic VIERA TC-P65VT30
OPPO UDP-203 4K Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player
Sony PlayStation 4 Pro
Nintendo Switch
Sony PlayStation 3
Superman23 is offline  
post #15920 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 11:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Clement Afficial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman23 View Post
First things first though......make sure you log onto LG's website and double check to see if your C6 came with the most up to date firmware. If not you'll probably have to update via USB stick. But you already know this because you've been researching the B6/C6 thread for some time now.
Yup thats the first thing I did, now I just updated it , next thing now is I am using Rtings settings
richlife likes this.
Clement Afficial is offline  
post #15921 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 11:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hamburg Township, Michigan
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 940 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clement Afficial View Post
Yup thats the first thing I did, now I just updated it , next thing now is I am using Rtings settings
Cool! I am using the Rtings settings too until I can get it professionally calibrated. Rtings settings is pretty good.

LG OLED 65B6P
Panasonic VIERA TC-P65VT30
OPPO UDP-203 4K Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player
Sony PlayStation 4 Pro
Nintendo Switch
Sony PlayStation 3
Superman23 is offline  
post #15922 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 12:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cantab1008 View Post
I watch CNN for few hours every day, however there are commercials between the news which are usually 5 minutes long. I was under impression that burn in can happen if you left the static image for an hour or so. I thought that commersial break between news should have remove the image retention and therefore taken care of any image burn in form static image. However, it look like that the image burn in window is very small.
That's certainly the impression LG and certain review sites have given... That it's only under extreme circumstances/long periods that this could be an issue. Clearly that is not the case for all sets.

There's a separate thread going about this issue (I have it on mine as well), and I believe that certain colors make this happen more readily. Namely, anything that uses a lot of red (i.e. the CNN logo). Mine happened as a result of bright yellow, which obviously requires the red channel. The fact that the BI is easiest to see on red(ish) backgrounds seems to support this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quebecker View Post
This is from LG.

Guess it's time people start saying otherwise.
Exactly. My biggest gripe is that LG themselves are saying that this won't be a problem under normal usage, which is seemingly false.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PRO-630HD View Post
How many of the preset picture modes from the factory have the contrast and oled light maxed out. Vivid, Sports, Game, Photo, HDR effect, HDR Bright, HDR Vivid, HDR standard. A wide color gamut and medium or cool color temp will increase brightness as well which is standard in well over half of the factory presets.
I didn't mention in the other thread, but my OLED light setting has never been over 60 and I haven't viewed much HDR content. Still got BI.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cantab1008 View Post
I have stopped watching CNN for a month and the problem is still there. I hope it is image retention issue and not image burn in as suggested by one member.
Well, the typical definitions of IR / BI differentiate on permanence. As this isn't going away for you (or me and others), I'd call it BI. The fact that it's only visible in certain colors just means it's only BI on those channels (red)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
No need to tell them it is image retention or burn in, just say you have a problem and describe it.
I think this is good advice. As most TV manufacturers have explicit clauses for IR/BI in their warranties I'd recommend just stating that your set has a picture anomaly/defect and give them the chance to handle it.
sys00ps is offline  
post #15923 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 12:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Clement Afficial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 252
I just watched some 3D and just WOW!!!!!
Screw what anyone is saying, THAT 3D, it is better than anything I ever seen!!! Even better than cinema 3D for me!!!
I never liked 3D, but that alone make it worth it that I bought the 2016 model!!!!!! it is just NUTS
Daryl L, Aetherhole and Superman23 like this.
Clement Afficial is offline  
post #15924 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 12:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
PTV Programmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clement Afficial View Post
Thanks haha!!
The difference between my JU7100 and this OLED LG C6 IS NIGHT AND DAY!!!!
And I didnt even play with the settings yet
I came from a Samsung KS8500 and have been totally blown away. So far I'm using ISF Bright with the OLED at 85 and the picture is pure amazing.
PTV Programmer is offline  
post #15925 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
PTV Programmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman23 View Post
Cool! I am using the Rtings settings too until I can get it professionally calibrated. Rtings settings is pretty good.
I tried the Rtings settings and it seemed to me that having the OLED Light at 39 was too low. Maybe I don't understand how OLEd Light works?
PTV Programmer is offline  
post #15926 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 12:44 PM
Member
 
Bdub25's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Well here is an update from my IR or burnin adventure. I have an LG tech out today and they are going to replace my panel and drives that run comp cycles.
Bdub25 is offline  
post #15927 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 12:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hamburg Township, Michigan
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 940 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by PTV Programmer View Post
I tried the Rtings settings and it seemed to me that having the OLED Light at 39 was too low. Maybe I don't understand how OLEd Light works?
Yeah I agree.....I moved my oled light up to 44 and it seems perfect now. Rtings is a good starting point but I feel like you still need to tweak a few settings to your particular panel.

LG OLED 65B6P
Panasonic VIERA TC-P65VT30
OPPO UDP-203 4K Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player
Sony PlayStation 4 Pro
Nintendo Switch
Sony PlayStation 3
Superman23 is offline  
post #15928 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 12:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Guys, i was thinking about getting an SSD to move video files arround and also play them on my B6. But i tried with a couple of mechanical HDDs and the B6 was unable to read any of them, so now im considering a flash drive.

So, bottom line, has anyone used any particular SSD or Flash Drive model of at least 64gbs for this that you could recommend?

LG B6, LG SJ8, H7, H4s & GTX 1060
posadajulian is offline  
post #15929 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 12:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clement Afficial View Post
I just watched some 3D and just WOW!!!!!
Screw what anyone is saying, THAT 3D, it is better than anything I ever seen!!! Even better than cinema 3D for me!!!
I never liked 3D, but that alone make it worth it that I bought the 2016 model!!!!!! it is just NUTS
I Agree. 3D was not truly ready to be viewed until 2016 OLED finally provided the brightness w/o dimming or flickering. I'm crossing my fingers for HDR 3D when HDMI 2.69 comes out ;]
ziocomposite is offline  
post #15930 of 28186 Old 04-26-2017, 12:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 3
When you guys recommend using Rtings settings, do you mean the whole thing including White balance configs, or just the basic parameters?

Also, is there a reason to set the black levels to high or auto? i kinda dont like the results, but was wondering if there are any benefits.

LG B6, LG SJ8, H7, H4s & GTX 1060
posadajulian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
arc , C6-B6 , calibration , computer , desktop , firmware update , lg c6 pc sdr hdr , lg oled , monitor , oled , oled b6 , oled lg , screen damage , screen uniformity , settings , soundbar , there is sig

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off