2016 LG C6-B6 owners thread - Page 655 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 264333Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19621 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 07:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
jtrosky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonwalker1982 View Post
Well i received a mail reply from the store and they told me to contact OLED Care. So i did. I explained what the issues are and they will call me back tomorrow and make an appointment for maybe friday otherwise next week. It definitely seems to be a software related issue and not hardware. It however IS weird that it can turn my TV off into standby by itself or not turn on anymore at all until i remove power cable and put it back.

This morning i had my Netflix crash of the day as soon as i started it up and also the search option on the remote was acting weird as hell. It would switch to the search bar and go back and basically didn't work at all. Really hope LG can fix this for me.
Yeah, that is definitely not normal. I've not had to pull the power cord on my B6 *ever* - not even once in over 3000 hours of use... Something is definitely wrong.

Sent from my Hi10 pro using Tapatalk
Quebecker likes this.
jtrosky is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19622 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 25,682
Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7274 Post(s)
Liked: 7306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman23 View Post
Yeah that would be nice and then maybe you could get an upgrade like a B7/C7 if the B6's aren't available.
That certainly does happen.........
Superman23 and sechev00 like this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #19623 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 10:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mo949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4,956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1193
They'd have to cash me out instead of a downgrade to a C7.
bboysvlad likes this.
mo949 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19624 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 10:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Aetherhole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 482
about 5-ish hours fellas... 5 or so hours until my appointment with Dave Abrams to have my set calibrated!

Looking forward to the pre/post calibration results!
Tom C and Superman23 like this.

LG OLED65C6P ISF Calibrated by David Abrams @ Avical
Marantz AV8801 / D-Sonic M2500 / Oppo UDP-203
GR Research LS-9 / GR Research X-Voce / GR Research AV-1RS / Oppo PM-1
Aetherhole is offline  
post #19625 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 11:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aetherhole View Post
about 5-ish hours fellas... 5 or so hours until my appointment with Dave Abrams to have my set calibrated!

Looking forward to the pre/post calibration results!
I am very jealous, I live in a remote location in Canada. Although Best Buy offer a service for an extortionate fee, but based on the level of expertise they have in store, I think I will take a rain check on that!

I might look into a way to do it myself, there must be a simple solution right?.......probably not though
Ricker62 likes this.
jonclarkccnp is offline  
post #19626 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Moonwalker1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Holland/The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 55
OK guys,


Anyone with a OLED with optical input that doesn't have a great home cinema set but DOES want to use the internal TV speakers and wants some extra punch when watching movies or playing games with gunshots and explosions, get the LG SWH1. It only set me back 40 euros and it makes watching movies and playing games lovely. Much fuller sound, much more power behind things that should have a bit of bass.
Moonwalker1982 is offline  
post #19627 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 11:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hamburg Township, Michigan
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 940 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aetherhole View Post
about 5-ish hours fellas... 5 or so hours until my appointment with Dave Abrams to have my set calibrated!

Looking forward to the pre/post calibration results!
Can't wait to see your results and graphs! Excited for you!
Aetherhole likes this.

LG OLED 65B6P
Panasonic VIERA TC-P65VT30
OPPO UDP-203 4K Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player
Sony PlayStation 4 Pro
Nintendo Switch
Sony PlayStation 3
Superman23 is offline  
post #19628 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 12:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Aetherhole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonclarkccnp View Post
I am very jealous, I live in a remote location in Canada. Although Best Buy offer a service for an extortionate fee, but based on the level of expertise they have in store, I think I will take a rain check on that!

I might look into a way to do it myself, there must be a simple solution right?.......probably not though
You're right, Best Buy might have some of the tools capable to do the job, but the vast majority of their calibrators probably don't have the calibrator's "eye." It takes more than just running numbers to do a good calibration. The numbers might show "accuracy" or something close but visually things still maybe way off. That's where good calibrator comes in. They know what primary colors and secondary colors and everything in between should look like, so if something looks off, they can adjust accordingly, despite and/or in conjunction with what the numbers read.

I considered buying some cheap (relatively) calibration tools to do it myself. I think have a pretty discerning eye, but I certainly don't have the experience, especially that the professional calibrators like, ChadB, D-Nice, Dave Abrams, Kevin Miller, Chuck Williams, or any other well-respected calibrator have. Plus, the actual tools they use are just that much better usually. So in order to get the best accuracy out of my TV I'd rather leave it to pros that have worked on hundreds or even thousands of sets!
jonclarkccnp likes this.

LG OLED65C6P ISF Calibrated by David Abrams @ Avical
Marantz AV8801 / D-Sonic M2500 / Oppo UDP-203
GR Research LS-9 / GR Research X-Voce / GR Research AV-1RS / Oppo PM-1
Aetherhole is offline  
post #19629 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 12:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhl2k View Post
Another small issue I'm having is that I have the LG network connected wired to a switch, and occasionally while watching TV it decides to say that the wired network is connected. I never see any messages about it being disconnected and haven't had any issues streaming, so I don't know if that's normal or maybe my "green" switch is doing something or what.
Did you ever figure out what was causing this? I see this too every so often on my 3-month old B6 (a couple of times in a longer evening), but so far LG's support has been very unhelpful. I don't appear to have any actual network connectivity problems -- nothing is ever interrupted. I have a suspicion it has something to do with DHCP lease times, but I've only just made a change regarding that and it'll take some time to thoroughly test.
dyinman is offline  
post #19630 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 12:55 PM
Member
 
nhl2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyinman View Post
Did you ever figure out what was causing this? I see this too every so often on my 3-month old B6 (a couple of times in a longer evening), but so far LG's support has been very unhelpful. I don't appear to have any actual network connectivity problems -- nothing is ever interrupted. I have a suspicion it has something to do with DHCP lease times, but I've only just made a change regarding that and it'll take some time to thoroughly test.
I also figured it had to do with the DHCP renewal so I set my TV to a static IP and haven't seen the message since.
nhl2k is offline  
post #19631 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
 
TrueDis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Now that Netflix has announced Atmos support for Xbox One and (coming soon) 2017 LG OLEDs, the lack of support on 2016 models is again getting some coverage! Time to start calling LG with complaints again - here's the direct line to their VIP OLED support (855) 400-4640

LG OLED65B6P
Marantz SR7010 driving 5.1.4
Klipsch RP-280FA Atmos Towers (Front) | RP-250C (Center) | R-115SW (Sub)
Pioneer SP-EFS73 Atmos Towers (Rear)
TrueDis is online now  
post #19632 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 01:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhl2k View Post
I also figured it had to do with the DHCP renewal so I set my TV to a static IP and haven't seen the message since.
Interesting, thanks for confirming my suspicions! Can I ask what router you have? I'm running pfSense which has a default lease time of 3 hours. I'm guessing normal consumer routers have a much longer lease time and that's why LG's support didn't seem to hear of this before, or why it's so rare to find others with this issue.
dyinman is offline  
post #19633 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 01:44 PM
Member
 
nhl2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyinman View Post
Interesting, thanks for confirming my suspicions! Can I ask what router you have? I'm running pfSense which has a default lease time of 3 hours. I'm guessing normal consumer routers have a much longer lease time and that's why LG's support didn't seem to hear of this before, or why it's so rare to find others with this issue.
I'm also running pfSense. Mine shows a default lease of 2 hours. I don't remember seeing the message that often but I never checked to see how long the lease was in the DHCP status (I believe a client can request an expiration time but I'm sure if the B6 does.)
nhl2k is offline  
post #19634 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
astateofmind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 50
2hrs? I think that regular DHCP servers have lease times of 7-8 days ...
astateofmind is offline  
post #19635 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 05:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wtfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,655
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperCoolDude View Post
Hey all. I just bought a used LG 55B6P. I didn't realize when I bought it but it seems to have pretty horrible burn in. I was told when buying it that it was a floor model at best buy. I know this should have been a red flag but I paid $850 for it and was hoping for the best.

When there is a solid red or solid grey background there is tons of burn in including a round LG logo in the middle of the screen and a pretty thick bar at the bottom.

I ran a youtube "burn in" fix video for 10 hours overnight and have done clear noise 3 times so far.

Is there any hope or is this screen done for good?

Can you still return it? Best Buy didn't tell you it was defective when they sold you the floor model.
wtfer is offline  
post #19636 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 05:36 PM
Member
 
mentsmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Wonder if anyone has any thoughts on this. My partner is watching a DirecTV DVR recording of a CBS network show ("NCIS"), a "local channel" for DirecTV purposes. The compression is rather stunningly bad--to the point that the entire image looks like it's being run through some sort of artistic filter.

Thoughts on why this is happening or any way to try and alleviate the issue? Anyone experience this?

*edited to add*

Actually, not just this recording, or just the local channels. Noticing serious compression banding on every channel and DirecTV menus. Not sure if this is some error that DirecTV might experience. Trying a full restart.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6614.JPG
Views:	96
Size:	131.1 KB
ID:	2208321   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8117.JPG
Views:	83
Size:	119.2 KB
ID:	2208329   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6904.JPG
Views:	68
Size:	74.4 KB
ID:	2208433  

Last edited by mentsmin; 06-28-2017 at 05:52 PM.
mentsmin is offline  
post #19637 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 05:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NashGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 1,602
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1043 Post(s)
Liked: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by mentsmin View Post
Wonder if anyone has any thoughts on this. My partner is watching a DirecTV DVR recording of a CBS network show ("NCIS"), a "local channel" for DirecTV purposes. The compression is rather stunningly bad--to the point that the entire image looks like it's being run through some sort of artistic filter.

Thoughts on why this is happening or any way to try and alleviate the issue? Anyone experience this?
If you're only seeing this on that specific channel/show, then it must be a problem with the signal itself, either originating from the local CBS station or in DirecTV's handling of their signal.

If you're seeing this on everything coming out of the DirecTV DVR, then there's likely a problem with that box. I guess it's possible that the TV's picture settings for that HDMI input could be contributing to the problem (e.g. Dynamic Contrast on high) but I doubt the problem would be primarily in the TV itself.
NashGuy is offline  
post #19638 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 05:55 PM
Member
 
tmnterminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 2
So this happened the other day when turned TV to watch cable. Turned everything off and been fine since. Something to be worried about?

Sent from my SM-G928V using Tapatalk
tmnterminator is offline  
post #19639 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 07:24 PM
Member
 
mentsmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by NashGuy View Post
If you're seeing this on everything coming out of the DirecTV DVR, then there's likely a problem with that box. I guess it's possible that the TV's picture settings for that HDMI input could be contributing to the problem (e.g. Dynamic Contrast on high) but I doubt the problem would be primarily in the TV itself.
I noticed the issue 'fixed' (at least back to the usual level of obvious compression) by opening the quick settings menu and switching picture mode from Expert-Dark to another setting and then back. No idea what individual setting might have been displaying incorrectly.
mentsmin is offline  
post #19640 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 08:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Have any of you watched 'OKJA' on Netflix yet?

Definitely reference-worthy Dolby Vision as far as streaming encodes go.
TetraVaal is offline  
post #19641 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 08:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by TetraVaal View Post
Have any of you watched 'OKJA' on Netflix yet?

Definitely reference-worthy Dolby Vision as far as streaming encodes go.
Not yet, how's the actual movie? Lol

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
ziocomposite is offline  
post #19642 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 09:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 137
I liked it.

Bizarre. And it's either a social commentary on how the world currently treats animals--like a PETA ad gone full movie--or a mockery of people that continue to be activists for even the smallest of world issues. The humor and creative writing, make it a bit hard to decipher.

Social commentary aside, it is certainly entertaining.
ziocomposite likes this.
TetraVaal is offline  
post #19643 of 28558 Old 06-28-2017, 10:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wtfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,655
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonwalker1982 View Post
OK guys,


Anyone with a OLED with optical input that doesn't have a great home cinema set but DOES want to use the internal TV speakers and wants some extra punch when watching movies or playing games with gunshots and explosions, get the LG SWH1. It only set me back 40 euros and it makes watching movies and playing games lovely. Much fuller sound, much more power behind things that should have a bit of bass.
That seems to be the European model. Anyone know the North American equivalent?
wtfer is offline  
post #19644 of 28558 Old 06-29-2017, 03:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,400
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1065 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by TetraVaal View Post
Have any of you watched 'OKJA' on Netflix yet?



Definitely reference-worthy Dolby Vision as far as streaming encodes go.


Yes curious about that presentation in Dolby Vision too on my b6.

2017 OLED owners received an update for Dolby Atmos on Netflix. Will we get that update too?? See the article below for more information:

https://www.google.nl/amp/s/www.forb...ot-better/amp/

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED C9
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #19645 of 28558 Old 06-29-2017, 04:40 AM
Senior Member
 
tomhorsley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by mentsmin View Post
Wonder if anyone has any thoughts on this. My partner is watching a DirecTV DVR recording of a CBS network show ("NCIS"), a "local channel" for DirecTV purposes. The compression is rather stunningly bad--to the point that the entire image looks like it's being run through some sort of artistic filter.
I've been noticing this lately on some channels. Last night I was channel surfing and saw the same sort of thing on "Inception" on the syfy channel. I haven't tried fooling with any settings because other channels look fine. I just figured it might be comcast doing their transcoding to save bandwidth. Other channels (ESPNHD for instance) look perfectly fine.
tomhorsley is offline  
post #19646 of 28558 Old 06-29-2017, 05:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
I WANT MORE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 'Middle of Nowhere
Posts: 2,764
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 733 Post(s)
Liked: 517
Quote:
Originally Posted by mentsmin View Post
Wonder if anyone has any thoughts on this. My partner is watching a DirecTV DVR recording of a CBS network show ("NCIS"), a "local channel" for DirecTV purposes. The compression is rather stunningly bad--to the point that the entire image looks like it's being run through some sort of artistic filter.

Thoughts on why this is happening or any way to try and alleviate the issue? Anyone experience this?

*edited to add*

Actually, not just this recording, or just the local channels. Noticing serious compression banding on every channel and DirecTV menus. Not sure if this is some error that DirecTV might experience. Trying a full restart.
First, I would never use NCIS to judge anything relative to PQ in any form.
Second, I have experienced the exact same issues on my B6. No idea what causes it as it is random. It was mentioned and screen-capped either earlier in this thread of another LG thread.

Perhaps I misremembered.

I WANT MORE is offline  
post #19647 of 28558 Old 06-29-2017, 05:50 AM
Senior Member
 
williamwallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
2017 OLED owners received an update for Dolby Atmos on Netflix. Will we get that update too?? See the article below for more information:

https://www.google.nl/amp/s/www.forb...ot-better/amp/
I'd love to get that update but I doubt it. Our TV's don't support Atmos through ARC, so that would have to change too, if its even possible.
morphinapg likes this.
williamwallace is offline  
post #19648 of 28558 Old 06-29-2017, 05:51 AM
 
Quebecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 1,490
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1073 Post(s)
Liked: 679
Quote:
Originally Posted by TetraVaal View Post
Have any of you watched 'OKJA' on Netflix yet?

Definitely reference-worthy Dolby Vision as far as streaming encodes go.
Watched a couple of minutes, it look really really great.

That picture, free of any kind of grain is super.

Netflix are really getting better with their DV handling.
Quebecker is offline  
post #19649 of 28558 Old 06-29-2017, 05:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,400
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1065 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by williamwallace View Post
I'd love to get that update but I doubt it. Our TV's don't support Atmos through ARC, so that would have to change too, if its even possible.


I think a passthrough option like Microsoft did with the Xbox is not difficult to implement.

We've spent a fortune on these OLED sets. They should not leave 2016 owners out. Atmos is available for years so it's not a new technology.

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED C9
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #19650 of 28558 Old 06-29-2017, 07:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
raistline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: MidWest
Posts: 992
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Greeting fellow denizens of this forum. I recently picked up the OLED55C6P that was on a hell of a sale. I have been wanting an OLED TV for a very long time and things just fell into place to allow me to get it.

A further note, I opted for the C6 instead of the B7 primarily because it is really the last OLED TV that has 3D capabilities and I have a very large 3D movie Library. I love @home 3D and so far with my brief testing it looks like 3D on this TV is almost as good as with my old one. For picture quality I like Active 3D vs. Passive 3D since the edges are sharper and the 3D effect is more pronounced. With that said, however, the quality of overall image gained on this TV outweighs the benefits Active over passive.

This TV was an upgrade from a Samsung 2011 model, UND46D7000S. My old Sammy, post calibration, still amazed me at how stunning the PQ was on a really good Blu-Ray film. That was until I got this bad boy in my house. Even before calibration, holy ****! I never really knew how much I was missing; I knew knew the technical reasons that made OLED better than LCD but found that I really had no idea the crazy level of difference it makes. 3 days in and I am overjoyed with this purchase.

Since having the TV I have gone through and applied the Calibration settings from http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/lg/c6/settings and am still tweaking. So far these settings have been a noticeable and welcome improvement on my panel. I still have some tweaking to do and a bit of research to on how each of the IRE settings effect the white-balance though. I have so far tested a few Blu-Ray films, watched some Dolby Vision shows on Netflix and some of parts of their 4K sourced films on. HDR via Dolby Vision is very impressive, I am so happy that this is one of the few panels that is DV certified. Well, that is my mini-review and introduction into this forum.

Oh, and one last thing. So far I have only found one nagging issue. While watching DareDevil in Dolby Vision from the built-in Netflix app there is a single pixel on the bottom-rightmost corner that that flashes super bright white during any dark scene that has motion. I have checked other DV shows, 4K shows, HD Shows, even SD shows and movies and this is the only occurrence of this flashing white pixel. Even though I am certain it is just DareDevil in Dolby Vision I would like to know if anyone else has experienced anything similar?
Aetherhole likes this.
raistline is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
arc , C6-B6 , calibration , computer , desktop , firmware update , lg c6 pc sdr hdr , lg oled , monitor , oled , oled b6 , oled lg , screen damage , screen uniformity , settings , soundbar , there is sig

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off