2016 LG C6-B6 owners thread - Page 759 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 264095Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #22741 of 27934 Old 09-24-2017, 05:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hamburg Township, Michigan
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 934 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
You guys who are showing glowing blacks after the firmware update, by chance did you previously make adjustments to sub brightness?
Yep @viking 29 tested earlier in the week. He put sub b all the way down and the screen still glowed.

LG OLED 65B6P
Panasonic VIERA TC-P65VT30
OPPO UDP-203 4K Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player
Sony PlayStation 4 Pro
Nintendo Switch
Sony PlayStation 3
Superman23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22742 of 27934 Old 09-24-2017, 05:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Question on faulty firmware 05.30.03: AMA

I have fortunately not updated to the new firmware on my B6 but it seems no
Woodthrush is offline  
post #22743 of 27934 Old 09-24-2017, 05:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Question on faulty firmware 05.30.03: Amazon HDR change

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woodthrush View Post
I have fortunately not updated to the new firmware on my B6 but it seems no
Sorry, I'm new here and accidentally sent before finishing. Anyway, I note that no one has discussed the "change to Amazon HDR" cited in the 05.30.03 firmware changelog. Does anyone know if this means there is HDR10+ support added?
Incidentally, my B6 stopped prompting me to install the new firmware after I cancelled several times. Did LG pull it from OTA, or is there a limit on the reminder popup? Thanks for info.
Woodthrush is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22744 of 27934 Old 09-24-2017, 05:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
jasonvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I do not know if this will help anyone here, but I thought I would point to a set of posts I made in the Chromecast Ultra owners thread.

Here's the TLDR version:
  • Chromecast Ultra plugged into B6 65" OLED
  • Only got stereo audio over ARC and optical due to Chromecast wanting to send everything as DD+ which B6 can't handle
  • Found a reasonably priced box that splits out the audio and video such that I can receive HDR content on the TV (HDR10 and DV tested) and DD+ to my Denon receiver

No, it doesn't help at all with built in apps unfortunately, but I figured it might help some others with similar issues on external boxes/streamers. BTW, interesting note, the B6 displays the fact that it is receiving a DD+ stream (so it is aware of the format), but couldn't pass anything to optical and only passed DD over ARC

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-net...l#post54844434
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-net...l#post54851522

LG B6 65" OLED, Phillips UHD BluRay, Denon AVR-X4000, Chromecast Ultra, Roku Ultra, eD speakers and sub
jasonvr is offline  
post #22745 of 27934 Old 09-24-2017, 06:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman23 View Post
Yep @viking 29 tested earlier in the week. He put sub b all the way down and the screen still glowed.
I think he was asking if the people that have glowing black with the new FW, if they adjusted sub-brightness BEFORE updating to the new FW. Maybe only those that messed with the sub-brightness before and then updated are the ones having the glowing black. Some have said they don't have glowing black with new FW.
john fusco likes this.

LG OLED65B6P
no1special is offline  
post #22746 of 27934 Old 09-24-2017, 06:14 PM
Member
 
Mr.Inzane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Back down to 4.31.20 and all is good. Major props for the easy to follow guide Iggy Poop and to all the others that made this process stupid proof.

Got a happy grin when I saw that majestic golden retriever with that huge stupid smile once again.
RIppolito likes this.
Mr.Inzane is offline  
post #22747 of 27934 Old 09-24-2017, 06:59 PM
Senior Member
 
bmrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Rollback complete. Super simple! Thanks a ton to everyone who helped get the instructions posted. It is amazing how dramatic the difference is.
bmrowe is offline  
post #22748 of 27934 Old 09-24-2017, 07:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Viking 29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alamogordo NM
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman23 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
You guys who are showing glowing blacks after the firmware update, by chance did you previously make adjustments to sub brightness?
Yep @viking 29 tested earlier in the week. He put sub b all the way down and the screen still glowed.
That is correct! Others online have said the same thing.
Viking 29 is online now  
post #22749 of 27934 Old 09-24-2017, 07:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Viking 29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alamogordo NM
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by no1special View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman23 View Post
Yep @viking 29 tested earlier in the week. He put sub b all the way down and the screen still glowed.
I think he was asking if the people that have glowing black with the new FW, if they adjusted sub-brightness BEFORE updating to the new FW. Maybe only those that messed with the sub-brightness before and then updated are the ones having the glowing black. Some have said they don't have glowing black with new FW.
I never touched sub brightness till after the update
Viking 29 is online now  
post #22750 of 27934 Old 09-24-2017, 07:17 PM
Senior Member
 
RIppolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Feature request - firmware rollback

Given all the posts regarding rolling back firmware to a previous release...

Should we ask LG for a rollback capability in a future release?

What do you think?
Ron
RIppolito is offline  
post #22751 of 27934 Old 09-24-2017, 07:27 PM
Senior Member
 
williamwallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
I just installed windows 10 in parallels desktop on my Mac and tried to following the downgrading steps provided in this thread. My tv doesn’t connect with my Mac. I’ve checked the settings using the ipconfig command and followed the steps securely, but no luck.

I think I have to wait for LG to roll out a new firmware update. That means waiting for months or not at all since they seem solely to focus on their 2017 models now. Bummer.
I also have used parallels on a mac for some low level cisco router backup/management. When I do that, I have to do the following for it to work right:

  • Set the network adapter to "Bridged Mode" for "Default Adapter" in parallels configuration
  • Turn off the Windows 10 firewall
  • Turn off the macOS firewall

Try that and see if you have any more luck. (Obviously, turn back on your firewalls after )
williamwallace is offline  
post #22752 of 27934 Old 09-24-2017, 09:00 PM
Member
 
Alamei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
You guys who are showing glowing blacks after the firmware update, by chance did you previously make adjustments to sub brightness?
I've never touched the service menu (before or after the the firmware update), and I have glowing blacks on my 65 B6 with this firmware. For the users experiencing the issue, it has absolutely nothing to do with any settings (whether in the standard user or service menus). No matter what you change/adjust/reset, the glow is always present.
Alamei is offline  
post #22753 of 27934 Old 09-24-2017, 10:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,639
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2210 Post(s)
Liked: 1742
I think what a lot of people in here don't seem to realize is that the glow is not something you'll notice on most normal content, even viewing in a dark environment. In many cases, people don't see it unless the screen is completely black.

I'm hoping the issue gets corrected before the next C6 firmware.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Base PS4, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Philips BDP7502, AV.io 4K
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is offline  
post #22754 of 27934 Old 09-24-2017, 10:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 7,041
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2987 Post(s)
Liked: 2826
Dolby vision beats HDR10 on Oleds. after all our oled do great with the best hdr format (Dolby vision).

losservatore is offline  
post #22755 of 27934 Old 09-24-2017, 10:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,233
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 891 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by williamwallace View Post
I also have used parallels on a mac for some low level cisco router backup/management. When I do that, I have to do the following for it to work right:

  • Set the network adapter to "Bridged Mode" for "Default Adapter" in parallels configuration
  • Turn off the Windows 10 firewall
  • Turn off the macOS firewall

Try that and see if you have any more luck. (Obviously, turn back on your firewalls after )
Thanks, I succefully connected the tv my MacBook Pro, but the firmware wasn’t found on the tv.
IMWhizzle is online now  
post #22756 of 27934 Old 09-25-2017, 12:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,639
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2210 Post(s)
Liked: 1742
Quote:
Originally Posted by losservatore View Post
Dolby vision beats HDR10 on Oleds. after all our oled do great with the best hdr format (Dolby vision).

https://youtu.be/voePq29-U6M
I think one important detail that he's sort of getting wrong is that neither HDR10 or DV actually specify a tone curve, per se. HDR10 specifies the maximum nits of the disc, and the correct nits for each pixel are determined based on that. How the TV handles nits outside their range is entirely dependent on the TV itself, as you can see when he changes the dynamic contrast settings.

Dolby Vision is similar with its metadata, but slightly different. For one, it specifies the maximum nits on a per scene or per frame instance. If that was the only difference, then with dynamic contrast set to low, those two TVs should have looked basically identical aside from very subtle banding differences. The reason Dolby Vision looks so different is because it includes metadata about the physical capabilities of the display used to master the disc. The TV itself also has this information built in about what it is capable of as well. The Dolby Vision software in the TV dynamically determines a tone curve which is intended to display the details visible on the mastering display, but adapt those details to fit within the capabilities of the TV you're using, on both the low and high end of the spectrum. Nobody but dolby really knows how that process works exactly, but I would imagine the shadows, midtones, and brightest highlights are curved steeper to retain contrast in the most important areas, while the medium highlights may be flattened somewhat to compensate. For scenes that fit within the nit range of the TV, it would be a flat curve that would likely match the HDR10 presentation, as long as both modes were calibrated properly. That's just a guess, but that's at least one way you would retain detail in shadows, highlights and midtones without the ugly ringing/halo effects you get in some HDR tonemapping solutions.

So I don't think Dolby Vision really has a steeper overall "gamma" curve like he kept suggesting. He calibrated both modes to display the same nit ranges at the same levels, which means the "gamma" should technically be the same, as long as the image fits within the TV's capabilities. I think the reason it looks like that is sort of the compressing of relative nit ranges in the shadows, highlights, and midtones. Because the curve becomes steeper in those ranges to retain that detail, the image looks more like it would if the TV had a steeper gamma setting. The closer you get to the scene max nits being the same as the TV's, the less pronounced this effect should be, as tonemapping becomes less aggressive the less it's needed. Although even within max nits, there may still be some difference in the curve to account for the difference between the mastering display and the TV.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Base PS4, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Philips BDP7502, AV.io 4K
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is offline  
post #22757 of 27934 Old 09-25-2017, 01:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 7,041
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2987 Post(s)
Liked: 2826
There are plenty of side by side comparisons on youtube including vincent videos and Dolby ends winning.


HDR10 is a mess. The format has been forcing people to upgrade each year. But I understand that some people that own displays that only support hdr10 are going to disagree.

Last edited by losservatore; 09-25-2017 at 03:19 AM.
losservatore is offline  
post #22758 of 27934 Old 09-25-2017, 01:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,639
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2210 Post(s)
Liked: 1742
Quote:
Originally Posted by losservatore View Post
There are plenty of side by side comparisons on youtube including his videos and Dolby ends winning.


HDR10 is a mess. The format has been forcing people to upgrade each year.
There's nothing inherently wrong with the format of HDR10, it's how the TVs handle that format.

You could very much simulate what's happening with Dolby Vision using HDR10 content. You simply would need to design better tone mapping technology that takes into account the very specific TV capabilities, compared to some ideal theoretical mastering display capabilities (imagine some theoretical 10,000 nit OLED with no ABL, and perfect calibration). If you create a tonemapping technology that mirrors what Dolby is doing, the only differences would likely be slightly less banding in DV. Both formats ultimately describe the same exact picture information, aside from bit depth. On a bright enough TV, there would be no difference anyway, as neither would require tonemapping at all. That's why with scenes with peak nits near or below the TV's peak nits, HDR10 and DV should look practically identical.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Base PS4, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Philips BDP7502, AV.io 4K
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is offline  
post #22759 of 27934 Old 09-25-2017, 04:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
MarkyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by losservatore View Post
Dolby vision beats HDR10 on Oleds. after all our oled do great with the best hdr format (Dolby vision).

https://youtu.be/voePq29-U6M
Those are 2017 B7's in that video.

Unfortunately, the Dolby Vision in the 2016 6's can't be professionally calibrated.

LG OLED55C6P, Panasonic UB-820, Sony UBP-X800, Zidoo X9S, Denon AVR-X3400H, vintage Carver M1.0T amp, Axiom M60v3 Mains & VP100 Center, Original SVS 20-39pci Cylinder sub, Phase Tech Surrounds & 2 Polk RC60i Atmos. Desktop system: Fully restored (by me) vintage Marantz 2275 stereo receiver from 1976 driving a pair of Axiom M2v3's, BIC 10" Sub.
MarkyM is offline  
post #22760 of 27934 Old 09-25-2017, 06:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphinapg View Post
I think what a lot of people in here don't seem to realize is that the glow is not something you'll notice on most normal content, even viewing in a dark environment. In many cases, people don't see it unless the screen is completely black.

I'm hoping the issue gets corrected before the next C6 firmware.
Yes, i don't notice glow at all...i even watched completely black screen video from YouTube to test it dark room but i saw no glow. Either im blind or it just didn't happen in my unit. Actually...i wonder could there be difference between unit versions...mine is b6v. In theory firmware should be same for all but...other thing is i didn't install it over air, i did it from usb stick.
john fusco likes this.

Last edited by OwnerOfLg; 09-25-2017 at 06:37 AM.
OwnerOfLg is online now  
post #22761 of 27934 Old 09-25-2017, 06:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
skipfreely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Is the newest firmware causing black issues on the C6 models?
skipfreely is offline  
post #22762 of 27934 Old 09-25-2017, 07:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
MarkyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by skipfreely View Post
Is the newest firmware causing black issues on the C6 models?
No. Only B6. B6 uses a different chipset/firmware than C/E/G.

LG OLED55C6P, Panasonic UB-820, Sony UBP-X800, Zidoo X9S, Denon AVR-X3400H, vintage Carver M1.0T amp, Axiom M60v3 Mains & VP100 Center, Original SVS 20-39pci Cylinder sub, Phase Tech Surrounds & 2 Polk RC60i Atmos. Desktop system: Fully restored (by me) vintage Marantz 2275 stereo receiver from 1976 driving a pair of Axiom M2v3's, BIC 10" Sub.
MarkyM is offline  
post #22763 of 27934 Old 09-25-2017, 07:31 AM
Senior Member
 
jasjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Guys can you help.

I've done all the steps and the bat files connect to my TV. I renamed the htdocs file with the name the dump file reports back and when I search for an update it finds it (04.30.95) and asks if I want to install. I click install but it then says update failed due to decrypting error.

Any ideas?

Sony AF8 65” OLED
Onkyo HT-R390
Dune Solo 4K
SKY Q
Xbox One
jasjw is offline  
post #22764 of 27934 Old 09-25-2017, 07:35 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 23,804
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6302 Post(s)
Liked: 6306
Quote:
Originally Posted by RIppolito View Post
Given all the posts regarding rolling back firmware to a previous release...

Should we ask LG for a rollback capability in a future release?

What do you think?
Ron
That should always be an option.......Who's to say what glitch another update may have.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #22765 of 27934 Old 09-25-2017, 07:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasjw View Post
Guys can you help.

I've done all the steps and the bat files connect to my TV. I renamed the htdocs file with the name the dump file reports back and when I search for an update it finds it (04.30.95) and asks if I want to install. I click install but it then says update failed due to decrypting error.

Any ideas?
Try redownload of the file. Make sure all files are on the c drive or whatever drive your o/s is on


Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk

Living Room: LG 65C8, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedroom: LG 55C6P, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
Link to LG C8PUA Firmware https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
Link to LG UH8500 & C6 Firmware http://www.lg.com/us/support-product...D55C6P#manuals
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #22766 of 27934 Old 09-25-2017, 07:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
That should always be an option.......Who's to say what glitch another update may have.
Wouldn't really be a good idea. One you would segragate various customers. Also, if other things on the TV like apps and so forth need updating, some TV apps or services may not update because of the older firmware.

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk

Living Room: LG 65C8, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedroom: LG 55C6P, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
Link to LG C8PUA Firmware https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
Link to LG UH8500 & C6 Firmware http://www.lg.com/us/support-product...D55C6P#manuals
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #22767 of 27934 Old 09-25-2017, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
roque13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by OwnerOfLg View Post
Yes, i don't notice glow at all...i even watched completely black screen video from YouTube to test it dark room but i saw no glow. Either im blind or it just didn't happen in my unit. Actually...i wonder could there be difference between unit versions...mine is b6v. In theory firmware should be same for all but...other thing is i didn't install it over air, i did it from usb stick.


Before downgrading on my 65B6, I could see a glow from 13 feet away on my set in a completely dark room. It didn't matter what I did the glow was there. I also could see a difference on content.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
roque13 is offline  
post #22768 of 27934 Old 09-25-2017, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
jasjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
Try redownload of the file. Make sure all files are on the c drive or whatever drive your o/s is on


Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
Still no joy.

Mine is the C model and the updater package I've got is for the E but as far as I know the C and E share the same firmware so it should work.

Sony AF8 65” OLED
Onkyo HT-R390
Dune Solo 4K
SKY Q
Xbox One
jasjw is offline  
post #22769 of 27934 Old 09-25-2017, 08:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasjw View Post
Still no joy.

Mine is the C model and the updater package I've got is for the E but as far as I know the C and E share the same firmware so it should work.
They do share that firmware so it's most likely another issue. Make sure you don't have the files saved to desktop.

Also the c6 does not have the black and glow issue that the b6 has if that's why you want downgrade.

If it's for the dim HDR issue, I don't think they are gonna fix that. My last 2 emails from them have said that as of now that's intentional.

Though my last PS4 and Xbox one s updates have made the hdr brighter which im assuming is due to the fact that they may have updated their software.

My PS4 even says in the settings that it's using a different format for hdr some yu something. Not home now so I can't remember exactly.

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk

Living Room: LG 65C8, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedroom: LG 55C6P, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
Link to LG C8PUA Firmware https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
Link to LG UH8500 & C6 Firmware http://www.lg.com/us/support-product...D55C6P#manuals
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #22770 of 27934 Old 09-25-2017, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
jasjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
They do share that firmware so it's most likely another issue. Make sure you don't have the files saved to desktop.

Also the c6 does not have the black and glow issue that the b6 has if that's why you want downgrade.

If it's for the dim HDR issue, I don't think they are gonna fix that. My last 2 emails from them have said that as of now that's intentional.

Though my last PS4 and Xbox one s updates have made the hdr brighter which im assuming is due to the fact that they may have updated their software.

My PS4 even says in the settings that it's using a different format for hdr some yu something. Not home now so I can't remember exactly.

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
Yes its installed directly on the root of the C drive, If you dont it says syntex error.

I want it for the HDR dimming issue in game mode. I can make it bright enough but I need to put dynamic contrast on high which causes clipping and doesnt look to great.

Sony AF8 65” OLED
Onkyo HT-R390
Dune Solo 4K
SKY Q
Xbox One
jasjw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
arc , C6-B6 , calibration , computer , desktop , firmware update , lg c6 pc sdr hdr , lg oled , monitor , oled , oled b6 , oled lg , screen damage , screen uniformity , settings , soundbar , there is sig

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off