2016 LG C6-B6 owners thread - Page 815 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 264200Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #24421 of 28171 Old 01-08-2018, 04:21 PM
tld
Senior Member
 
tld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomhorsley View Post
Until LG figures out people did this and puts their own name resolver in the TV :-).
Well...they can't possibly do that once updates are blocked, as the 4.x firmware simply has no other way to do so. I can tell you for sure after the fiasco with 5.30.03, I'll be treating my TV as a permanent 4.31.20 appliance for as long as I own the TV unless something really compelling comes up.

I'm a little surprised that nobody's replied to my posts about the newest Vudu app. Several people have had UHD issues with that. I had endless network problems with it that have completely vanished after the 4.x downgrade. That upgrade was a total lemon for sure, and not just around the black level mess.
tld is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24422 of 28171 Old 01-08-2018, 05:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
LG B6 older firmware versions

Hi,

I am purchasing a B6 later this week and planning to install s FW upgrade once thr TV is on, however looking for older versions due to issues with the latest one. Can anybody tell me where I can find older FW versions, like [04.31.20] or [04.30.77] to download and install from a USB drive? Can't find the install files anywhere.
Elchin Karimov is offline  
post #24423 of 28171 Old 01-08-2018, 05:34 PM
Member
 
cbatc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkward83 View Post
Rich B , turning off panel noise did not fix the white line problem on the edge of the tv, thanks for the advice. Does anyone have direct tv and notice a white white line on the right edge of th tv with 4K content , or does anyone have a solution for this?
Is there some sort of screen adjustment located in the direct tv receiver? Kind of like the screen adjustment in certain video games where you have to extend the game to the edge or the screen?
cbatc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24424 of 28171 Old 01-08-2018, 05:52 PM
Oppo Beta Group
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 11,185
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1964 Post(s)
Liked: 1431
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbatc View Post
Is there some sort of screen adjustment located in the direct tv receiver? Kind of like the screen adjustment in certain video games where you have to extend the game to the edge or the screen?
I don't know what it is called in the 2016's but the pixel shift or screen shift is what you need to turn off.


- Rich

Oppo UPD-205 x 2 | UPD-203 | Sonica DAC | Emotiva XMC-1 (v3) | Revel Salon2s, Voice2, Studio2s | Benchmark AHB2 x 4 | ATI AT522NC | Velodyne HGS-15 | LG 77C9 | Lumagen 2020 | HDFury Vertex x 2
RichB is offline  
post #24425 of 28171 Old 01-08-2018, 06:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
chef jer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Larkspur, CO
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elchin Karimov View Post
Hi,

I am purchasing a B6 later this week and planning to install s FW upgrade once thr TV is on, however looking for older versions due to issues with the latest one. Can anybody tell me where I can find older FW versions, like [04.31.20] or [04.30.77] to download and install from a USB drive? Can't find the install files anywhere.
04.31.20 can be found here https://mega.nz/#!b0g3HaCK!1SAhfYg5n...FNQ_ps97mTFZqs

LG 65B6P - Marantz 7011
Sierra 2 (L/C/R/SR) - HSU VTF-15H MK2
chef jer is offline  
post #24426 of 28171 Old 01-08-2018, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
chef jer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Larkspur, CO
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkward83 View Post
Rich B , turning off panel noise did not fix the white line problem on the edge of the tv, thanks for the advice. Does anyone have direct tv and notice a white white line on the right edge of th tv with 4K content , or does anyone have a solution for this?
Change your aspect ratio under your picture settings. I would leave panel noise setting on to prevent image retention.

LG 65B6P - Marantz 7011
Sierra 2 (L/C/R/SR) - HSU VTF-15H MK2
chef jer is offline  
post #24427 of 28171 Old 01-08-2018, 06:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by chef jer View Post
04.31.20 can be found here
Thanks a lot!)
Elchin Karimov is offline  
post #24428 of 28171 Old 01-09-2018, 06:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I have a follow up question now!

Is 04.31.20 the most optimal update solving issues for: gaming in HDR, input lag and menu lags? Or is there a better older version?
Elchin Karimov is offline  
post #24429 of 28171 Old 01-09-2018, 08:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 1532
Well I’ve been watching the FW discussions on the sideline, I’ve got a 55” B6.
So it’s known LG won’t “fix” the known issues with their latest FW ?
I was kinda hoping they’d do so, as I’m lazy to downgrade.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mtbdudex is offline  
post #24430 of 28171 Old 01-09-2018, 01:59 PM
Member
 
AbsolutelyFree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkward83 View Post
Rich B , turning off panel noise did not fix the white line problem on the edge of the tv, thanks for the advice. Does anyone have direct tv and notice a white white line on the right edge of th tv with 4K content , or does anyone have a solution for this?
Try this: On the TV, go to Settings/Picture/Aspect Ratio and uncheck the box that says "Just Scan."

LG OLED65B6P | Denon - AVRX4300H | Panasonic - DMPUB900 | Xbox One S
AbsolutelyFree is offline  
post #24431 of 28171 Old 01-10-2018, 05:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
mttpalmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by chef jer View Post
Change your aspect ratio under your picture settings. I would leave panel noise setting on to prevent image retention.
Just a heads up to avoid confusion, I think you meant "screen shift" here instead of "panel noise".

OLED55E6P (609 build)
Denon X2400H
KEF Q100 L/R/C, SVS SB12-NSD
XB1S, Roku Ultra
mttpalmer is offline  
post #24432 of 28171 Old 01-10-2018, 09:46 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,537
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6668 Post(s)
Liked: 6656
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkward83 View Post
Rich B , turning off panel noise did not fix the white line problem on the edge of the tv, thanks for the advice. Does anyone have direct tv and notice a white white line on the right edge of th tv with 4K content , or does anyone have a solution for this?
That is odd, since you say it only happen with Directv 4K, has to be a Directv issue....call them
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #24433 of 28171 Old 01-10-2018, 11:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
That is odd, since you say it only happen with Directv 4K, has to be a Directv issue....call them
Edit: MENTION correction made
I concur. Especially since @wkward83 appears to have the new Guide format. Very likely that is the source.

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS
richlife is offline  
post #24434 of 28171 Old 01-10-2018, 12:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbsolutelyFree View Post
Try this: On the TV, go to Settings/Picture/Aspect Ratio and uncheck the box that says "Just Scan."
That setting is called "Original" on these LG TVs. Yes, turning it back to "16:9" should take care of the broadcasts that have these artifacts at the edges. I also think, that pixel shift only runs in 16:9 setting and that it's disabled in "Original" (Samsung's Just Scan) mode. I always use the original aspect ratio setting and have never noticed pixel shifts, even when it's on.
sechev00 likes this.
NomanA is offline  
post #24435 of 28171 Old 01-10-2018, 12:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 327
2016 LG C6-B6 owners thread

Guys,

What is the correct chroma setting on the Apple TV 4K with the LG B6? I can’t find much on this on the internet. Users are contradicting each other.

Maybe someone here in this thread knows the answer? I am aiming for the best picture quality. I have the match settings on the ATV enabled. Also is it best to keep the match settings or force all content to Dolby Vison? I use the ATV with UHD ISO files with the Infuse app.

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED B6
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #24436 of 28171 Old 01-10-2018, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
slapshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Approaching one year since I bought my 65 B6, and just got an email from LG to extend the warranty.
I was thinking of extending and doing the one year at 93 bucks, as the 3 year for 780 is ridiculous.
Any better options out there? I obviously did not purchase one originally, and have had no problems yet, knock on wood.
slapshot is offline  
post #24437 of 28171 Old 01-10-2018, 01:23 PM
Senior Member
 
nodixe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by NomanA View Post
That setting is called "Original" on these LG TVs. Yes, turning it back to "16:9" should take care of the broadcasts that have these artifacts at the edges. I also think, that pixel shift only runs in 16:9 setting and that it's disabled in "Original" (Samsung's Just Scan) mode. I always use the original aspect ratio setting and have never noticed pixel shifts, even when it's on.
Original sets the pamel to display the original source aspect ratio. If its 4:3 it has bars on side if its 21:9 it has bars on top/bottom. If you set to 16:9 it will fill the screen whether its 4:3 or 21:9 so no bars. In both modes 16:9 content is displayed with overscan. If you tick "just scan" you get 1:1 pixel mapping for 16:9 content which affects both modes. I could be mistaken since I'm going by memory but that's how I understood them. I have heard that some people using "pixel shift" (which is an active feature that shifts the frame side to side by a few pixels) and "just scan" have reported a strip of white on the extreme edge but it could have been broadcast noise (like in some HD satelite programs).

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
nodixe is offline  
post #24438 of 28171 Old 01-10-2018, 01:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Daryl L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 3,473
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 654 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by nodixe View Post
Original sets the pamel to display the original source aspect ratio. If its 4:3 it has bars on side if its 21:9 it has bars on top/bottom. If you set to 16:9 it will fill the screen whether its 4:3 or 21:9 so no bars. In both modes 16:9 content is displayed with overscan. If you tick "just scan" you get 1:1 pixel mapping for 16:9 content which affects both modes.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
That is correct. If you tick "just scan" you'll get 1:1 pixel mapping (no overscan) whether you choose aspect ratio 4:3, 16:9 or Original.

Sony XBR-55A9F OLED
Samsung SMT-H3272 HDC DVR Cable Box / Panasonic DP-UB820 4K BD Player
Roku Premium+ 4k / AppleTV 4K 4th Gen
Denon AVR-X4500H AV Receiver / Klipsch 5.1.2 Speakers
Daryl L is offline  
post #24439 of 28171 Old 01-10-2018, 02:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by nodixe View Post
Original sets the pamel to display the original source aspect ratio. If its 4:3 it has bars on side if its 21:9 it has bars on top/bottom. If you set to 16:9 it will fill the screen whether its 4:3 or 21:9 so no bars. In both modes 16:9 content is displayed with overscan. If you tick "just scan" you get 1:1 pixel mapping for 16:9 content which affects both modes. I could be mistaken since I'm going by memory but that's how I understood them. I have heard that some people using "pixel shift" (which is an active feature that shifts the frame side to side by a few pixels) and "just scan" have reported a strip of white on the extreme edge but it could have been broadcast noise (like in some HD satelite programs).
I wasn't aware of a "Just Scan" setting in these LG TVs. I always see difference between 16:9 and Original on 16:9 broadcasts, where the "Original" actually shows the exact 1:1 pixel-mapped image. Maybe the just scan toggle only works for "Original" setting, and I might have set it in the beginning and forgot about it.

Thanks for the correction. I'll check the just-scan toggle and report back.
NomanA is offline  
post #24440 of 28171 Old 01-10-2018, 04:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
sechev00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 249
I’m confused... so “Just Scan” should be enabled or disabled?

LG OLED55B6P ~ PS4 Pro ~ Xbox One X ~ Apple TV 4K ~ PSN/XBL: firesamu
sechev00 is offline  
post #24441 of 28171 Old 01-10-2018, 04:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,817
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2312 Post(s)
Liked: 1872
Quote:
Originally Posted by sechev00 View Post
I’m confused... so “Just Scan” should be enabled or disabled?
Enabled. Just scan turns off overscan, so you get the full picture, instead of being slightly zoomed in (which hasn't been necessary since the start of HD)

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk
sechev00 and Fiction like this.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Base PS4, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Atomos Ninja Inferno
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
post #24442 of 28171 Old 01-10-2018, 04:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
sechev00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphinapg View Post
Enabled. Just scan turns off overscan, so you get the full picture, instead of being slightly zoomed in (which hasn't been necessary since the start of HD)

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk


Thanks! Should Original be used for everything? If content is originally 16:9, wouldn’t it display in 16:9 anyway if Original is used?

LG OLED55B6P ~ PS4 Pro ~ Xbox One X ~ Apple TV 4K ~ PSN/XBL: firesamu
sechev00 is offline  
post #24443 of 28171 Old 01-10-2018, 06:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,817
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2312 Post(s)
Liked: 1872
Quote:
Originally Posted by sechev00 View Post
Thanks! Should Original be used for everything? If content is originally 16:9, wouldn’t it display in 16:9 anyway if Original is used?
Yes, always use original. The only reason you might want to force 16:9 or 4:3 is if the content either has been stretched incorrectly on the source, or is an older signal like composite that doesn't have a widescreen flag in it. But for, like, 99% of content, Original will make sure the aspect is always correct.
sechev00 likes this.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Base PS4, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Atomos Ninja Inferno
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
post #24444 of 28171 Old 01-10-2018, 06:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
sechev00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphinapg View Post
Yes, always use original. The only reason you might want to force 16:9 or 4:3 is if the content either has been stretched incorrectly on the source, or is an older signal like composite that doesn't have a widescreen flag in it. But for, like, 99% of content, Original will make sure the aspect is always correct.


Thanks boss! Huge help you are on this forum
morphinapg and Fiction like this.

LG OLED55B6P ~ PS4 Pro ~ Xbox One X ~ Apple TV 4K ~ PSN/XBL: firesamu
sechev00 is offline  
post #24445 of 28171 Old 01-10-2018, 09:59 PM
Member
 
AaronTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Apparently Dolby has a fix for the elevated blacks issue when Dolby Vision content is fed to a display from external devices.

They've supplied display manufacturers with the fix, which will need to be implemented via firmware updates.

Assuming LG issues this fix for the b6/c6 it will present a conundrum for those of us that have refused firmware updates for the various issues spanning both models.

I really disliked hdr game mode after LG changed it on my c6, so I recently downgraded my firmware.

So, we're presumably going to have to choose between proper hdr game mode OR proper Dolby Vision at some point. Ugh.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/johnarc.../#51763c172906

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

LG OLED65C, Sony 940e, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Oppo 203, Denon AVR-X4200, SVS SB-2000 (x2), SVS Prime Tower (x2), SVS Prime Satellite (x2), SVS Prime Center
AaronTV is offline  
post #24446 of 28171 Old 01-10-2018, 10:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,817
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2312 Post(s)
Liked: 1872
Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronTV View Post
Apparently Dolby has a fix for the elevated blacks issue when Dolby Vision content is fed to a display from external devices.

They've supplied display manufacturers with the fix, which will need to be implemented via firmware updates.

Assuming LG issues this fix for the b6/c6 it will present a conundrum for those of us that have refused firmware updates for the various issues spanning both models.

I really disliked hdr game mode after LG changed it on my c6, so I recently downgraded my firmware.

So, we're presumably going to have to choose between proper hdr game mode OR proper Dolby Vision at some point. Ugh.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/johnarc.../#51763c172906

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
HDR game mode isn't bad at all, even if you don't like the darker (with greater dynamic range) image, because just about every game has brightness controls that solve any possible negative effects you might encounter. But really if you watch in the dark your eyes adapt to any brightness, so you can't even tell if the average image is darker once your eyes adapt (it might not be darker because of the in game calibration anyway) but you WILL be able to tell that the dynamic range is greater.

The biggest issue for me for game mode is grayscale won't be great until I can get into the service menu, but the default grayscale at W50 isn't too far off.

Heck any movie that has a MaxCLL of >500 and MaxFALL of >250 I'm using HDR game mode for the improved highlights.

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk
nodixe likes this.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Base PS4, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Atomos Ninja Inferno
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
post #24447 of 28171 Old 01-10-2018, 10:49 PM
Member
 
AaronTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphinapg View Post
HDR game mode isn't bad at all, even if you don't like the darker (with greater dynamic range) image, because just about every game has brightness controls that solve any possible negative effects you might encounter. But really if you watch in the dark your eyes adapt to any brightness, so you can't even tell if the average image is darker once your eyes adapt (it might not be darker because of the in game calibration anyway) but you WILL be able to tell that the dynamic range is greater.

The biggest issue for me for game mode is grayscale won't be great until I can get into the service menu, but the default grayscale at W50 isn't too far off.

Heck any movie that has a MaxCLL of >500 and MaxFALL of >250 I'm using HDR game mode for the improved highlights.

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk
I respect the work you've done and your comments along the way but I simply do not agree. I tried to find a way to accept the changes over the course of 3 months. No matter what I did, I couldn't get any games to look as good in game mode as they do in hdr standard. No amount of brightness tweaks in game or use of dynamic contrast were able to remove the fact that the image was not pleasing to my eye.

I don't play in total darkness. Regardless, I can't imagine ever getting used to how dark the image looked. Alternatively, applying brightness tweaks or dynamic contrast just made it feel washed out to me or removed the cool sense of contrast that makes hdr fun.

As soon as I reverted my firmware, I was immediately pleased with hdr game mode again. I wanted to experience the same reaction that you have. But I couldn't.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
tanis38 likes this.

LG OLED65C, Sony 940e, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Oppo 203, Denon AVR-X4200, SVS SB-2000 (x2), SVS Prime Tower (x2), SVS Prime Satellite (x2), SVS Prime Center
AaronTV is offline  
post #24448 of 28171 Old 01-10-2018, 11:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,817
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2312 Post(s)
Liked: 1872
Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronTV View Post
I respect the work you've done and your comments along the way but I simply do not agree. I tried to find a way to accept the changes over the course of 3 months. No matter what I did, I couldn't get any games to look as good in game mode as they do in hdr standard. No amount of brightness tweaks in game or use of dynamic contrast were able to remove the fact that the image was not pleasing to my eye.

I don't play in total darkness. Regardless, I can't imagine ever getting used to how dark the image looked. Alternatively, applying brightness tweaks or dynamic contrast just made it feel washed out to me or removed the cool sense of contrast that makes hdr fun.

As soon as I reverted my firmware, I was immediately pleased with hdr game mode again. I wanted to experience the same reaction that you have. But I couldn't.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
That's really strange, because typically (with a few exceptions), the brightness settings in HDR games affect exposure, not gamma like it does in SDR mode (gamma definitely does wash things out when it's too bright). The main difference between the two modes is that HDR Game is about 1/3 the exposure of HDR Standard, which means all you'd have to do to correct it is increase the exposure by 3x.

AC Origins (paper white) and GT Sport (Exposure) have the best direct controls I've seen for this, but most games should allow you to still do the same using the standard brightness controls. I don't recommend dynamic contrast though, that definitely hurts the image.

Personally, I wish HDR TVs would include exposure controls so we could have more control over the clip/rolloff points in the tonemapping of our sets. It could easily be implemented into the contrast control (which right now is pretty pointless in HDR modes), as long as they allowed values >100. If they did that, nobody would have to complain about the way their sets tonemap/clip, or how bright or dark the image is, as they'd have more control over that.

Ultimately I'd say it just depends on what you think is more important to you, a bright HDR Game mode, or a more accurate Dolby Vision picture. I still haven't got the DV update for my Blu-ray player yet. How common is the raised blacks issue? Is it for entire movies, or just parts of some movies? I've noticed that 3D Blu-rays do sometimes have flashes of raised blacks, which I assumed was a similar issue since both technologies use adjustment layers to convert from one format to another. (2D to 3D and HDR10 to DV) but the flashes in 3D were not too frequent, so they didn't ruin the experience. If the way it looks now doesn't ruin the experience for you, then don't worry about updating. But if it does, and you care about movies more than games, we'll at least you'll be able to either use HDR Standard or use in game controls to reduce the darkened HDR Game mode. From what I recall, the input lag isn't hugely increased in HDR standard, so maybe that's a decent compromise, and you could use HDR Game or SDR Game only for the games that require absolutely precise control.

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk
AaronTV likes this.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Base PS4, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Atomos Ninja Inferno
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
post #24449 of 28171 Old 01-11-2018, 01:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 137
I just hope LG follows through on providing an update for the Dolby Vision fix on the B6.

If I’m not mistaken, LG is no longer doing updates for the E6.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
TetraVaal is offline  
post #24450 of 28171 Old 01-11-2018, 01:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,817
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2312 Post(s)
Liked: 1872
Quote:
Originally Posted by TetraVaal View Post
I just hope LG follows through on providing an update for the Dolby Vision fix on the B6.

If I’m not mistaken, LG is no longer doing updates for the E6.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Where did you hear that? Didn't somebody else say LG claimed they were going to keep supporting the 2016 sets until 2020 or something?

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Base PS4, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Atomos Ninja Inferno
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
arc , C6-B6 , calibration , computer , desktop , firmware update , lg c6 pc sdr hdr , lg oled , monitor , oled , oled b6 , oled lg , screen damage , screen uniformity , settings , soundbar , there is sig

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off