2016 LG C6-B6 owners thread - Page 846 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 264136Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #25351 of 28037 Old 04-03-2018, 07:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 819 Post(s)
Liked: 802
For whatever reason, on EU models you can only see the total hours in the service menu.
jk82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #25352 of 28037 Old 04-03-2018, 07:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,903
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1101 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
Im not home right now or I would. I think the actual section is called "about this tv"

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
^^^yep. general settings....scroll way down below "reset tv"...click "about this tv"...then I think you click on the model...but not sure, one of them. Not at home either.



Ok, then click TV INFO


Voted most desirable mate by the ladies every year! Klan leader! Mob boss! Love advice expert! Credit cards accepted.

Last edited by Kenbar; 04-03-2018 at 07:49 AM.
Kenbar is offline  
post #25353 of 28037 Old 04-03-2018, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,013
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6402 Post(s)
Liked: 6397
Quote:
Originally Posted by gr88 View Post
Unfortunately i no longer have any form of warrante on it. I've already removed all the boards and didn't find any burn marks. Not sure if its the T-con or the main board. Anybody have a method of testing them?
Any cheap parts on e-bay ?
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #25354 of 28037 Old 04-03-2018, 01:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Any cheap parts on e-bay ?
I found the parts online but I'm hesitant to buy them. I would like to determine if its a board or the lcd itself. I am hoping someone can chime in an give a strong opinion on weather this could be a bad lcd or not.

Thanks
gr88 is offline  
post #25355 of 28037 Old 04-03-2018, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 963
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by gr88 View Post
I found the parts online but I'm hesitant to buy them. I would like to determine if its a board or the lcd itself. I am hoping someone can chime in an give a strong opinion on weather this could be a bad lcd or not.

Thanks
Try and see if their is a local TV repair that can come and check to see what may be the problem then just buy the parts and replace yourself.

That way you know what the issue is for sure

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Living Room: LG 65C8, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedroom: LG 55C6P, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
Link to LG C8PUA Firmware https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
Link to LG UH8500 & C6 Firmware http://www.lg.com/us/support-product...D55C6P#manuals
Jrocker23 is offline  
post #25356 of 28037 Old 04-03-2018, 03:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 908 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenbar View Post
^^^yep. general settings....scroll way down below "reset tv"...click "about this tv"...then I think you click on the model...but not sure, one of them. Not at home either.







Ok, then click TV INFO





Thanks, but I still can’t see it. I own an EU model.
Kenbar likes this.

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED B6
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #25357 of 28037 Old 04-03-2018, 05:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: venice ca
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Thumbs up Possessed tv

C655 keeps turning on and off by itself every few days same times, 7pm is on 10 pm is off, no idea what to do to stop it? Call ghost busters?
Jeff Morrissette is offline  
post #25358 of 28037 Old 04-03-2018, 06:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 519 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
Thanks, but I still can’t see it. I own an EU model.
After clicking “about this tv”, click "tv information" as in the photo. Scroll down and you'll be able to see hours spent or used.

Sony A9F, LG E9, LG B6 (retired)
New_to_4K is online now  
post #25359 of 28037 Old 04-03-2018, 06:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 963
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by New_to_4K View Post
After clicking “about this tv”, click "tv information" as in the photo. Scroll down and you'll be able to see hours spent or used.
As mentioned a few posts above, European models can only see the lamp hours in the service menu.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Living Room: LG 65C8, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedroom: LG 55C6P, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
Link to LG C8PUA Firmware https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
Link to LG UH8500 & C6 Firmware http://www.lg.com/us/support-product...D55C6P#manuals
Jrocker23 is offline  
post #25360 of 28037 Old 04-03-2018, 09:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chris Hansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 85
If not ghosts at work you might try going to All Settings > General > Timers

and check to see if you have accidentally set the Timer "On" and "Off" for the TV.
Chris Hansen is offline  
post #25361 of 28037 Old 04-03-2018, 09:59 PM
Senior Member
 
strawberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 366
I dunno, but if you wind up having to call out the Ghost Hunters crew to investigate, I think LG needs to foot the bill.
strawberry is offline  
post #25362 of 28037 Old 04-03-2018, 10:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
acras13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles , CA
Posts: 1,056
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Need an old priest and a young priest...

Alternately , you could drive a wooden spike through its PSU , but I'd still unplug it first

Turn that $*!# UP!! --Beethoven
acras13 is offline  
post #25363 of 28037 Old 04-04-2018, 01:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 368
Did you try splashing some holy water on it while repeating "the power of Christ compels you!"?

LG OLED65B6P
no1special is offline  
post #25364 of 28037 Old 04-04-2018, 05:04 AM
 
rene2kx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: asia
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 956 Post(s)
Liked: 373
i'm guessing this is what the tv is seeing at 7pm

rene2kx is offline  
post #25365 of 28037 Old 04-04-2018, 08:41 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,013
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6402 Post(s)
Liked: 6397
Quote:
Originally Posted by gr88 View Post
I found the parts online but I'm hesitant to buy them. I would like to determine if its a board or the lcd itself. I am hoping someone can chime in an give a strong opinion on weather this could be a bad lcd or not.

Thanks
The screen going bad is usually one dead row of pixels, not a big bar, big bar is usually a board.......
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #25366 of 28037 Old 04-04-2018, 11:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Does anyone know if the 2016 C6 model will receive an update regarding the Dolby Vision audio-sync issue through HDMI sources?
I thought I read somewhere that LG confirmed they were going to issue an update, but that was a while ago and I haven't heard/read anything as of late.
talldrink67 is offline  
post #25367 of 28037 Old 04-04-2018, 11:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Daryl L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 3,473
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 654 Post(s)
Liked: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by talldrink67 View Post
Does anyone know if the 2016 C6 model will receive an update regarding the Dolby Vision audio-sync issue through HDMI sources?
I thought I read somewhere that LG confirmed they were going to issue an update, but that was a while ago and I haven't heard/read anything as of late.
The 2017's got a DV profile update but there was still a slight problem so they are due a second profile update. Sometime after that they will probably roll out the firmware update for the DV profile for the 2016's. But the firmware fix I'm referring to is not for any audio sync issues. The only one I'm aware of is to fix elevator blacks from external DV sources through HDMI to the TV

Sony XBR-55A9F OLED
Samsung SMT-H3272 HDC DVR Cable Box / Panasonic DP-UB820 4K BD Player
Roku Premium+ 4k / AppleTV 4K 4th Gen
Denon AVR-X4500H AV Receiver / Klipsch 5.1.2 Speakers

Last edited by Daryl L; 04-04-2018 at 11:47 AM.
Daryl L is offline  
post #25368 of 28037 Old 04-04-2018, 11:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
raistline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: MidWest
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by talldrink67 View Post
Does anyone know if the 2016 C6 model will receive an update regarding the Dolby Vision audio-sync issue through HDMI sources?
I thought I read somewhere that LG confirmed they were going to issue an update, but that was a while ago and I haven't heard/read anything as of late.
I am on the latest firmware and both the current one and the one prior have no audio sync issues for me.
However, when I first setup my new Denon 2300x receiver I did have audio sync issues but it was resolved by turning Lip Sync off on the receiver. Just in case, double check whether or not Lip Sync is enabled on your receiver.
mttpalmer likes this.
raistline is offline  
post #25369 of 28037 Old 04-04-2018, 12:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by raistline View Post
I am on the latest firmware and both the current one and the one prior have no audio sync issues for me.
However, when I first setup my new Denon 2300x receiver I did have audio sync issues but it was resolved by turning Lip Sync off on the receiver. Just in case, double check whether or not Lip Sync is enabled on your receiver.
I've been hesitant to upgrade the firmware due to people reporting the HDR game mode having reduced blacks. Not sure if you game or not. If you do, have you encountered that in the latest firmware?
talldrink67 is offline  
post #25370 of 28037 Old 04-04-2018, 12:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
raistline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: MidWest
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by talldrink67 View Post
I've been hesitant to upgrade the firmware due to people reporting the HDR game mode having reduced blacks. Not sure if you game or not. If you do, have you encountered that in the latest firmware?
I do game, on my PS4 and use HDR game mode all the time. HDR and black levels have not been an issue for me, granted I got this TV only 5 or so months ago so right away I had the Firmware that people claim has bad HDR game mode on it. If I remember correctly the game mode issue is not reduced blacks, but the entire image is at a lower color temp so it is not as bright to reduce burn-in, which causes dark scenes to seem darker and colors not as vibrant. I think everyone says this started with V5.x firmware.

As for reduced blacks (or rather non-pure black) issue, this is a B6 issue and never occured on the C6.
raistline is offline  
post #25371 of 28037 Old 04-04-2018, 12:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by raistline View Post
I do game, on my PS4 and use HDR game mode all the time. HDR and black levels have not been an issue for me, granted I got this TV only 5 or so months ago so right away I had the Firmware that people claim has bad HDR game mode on it. If I remember correctly the game mode issue is not reduced blacks, but the entire image is at a lower color temp so it is not as bright to reduce burn-in, which causes dark scenes to seem darker and colors not as vibrant. I think everyone says this started with V5.x firmware.

As for reduced blacks (or rather non-pure black) issue, this is a B6 issue and never occured on the C6.
Right is was the lower color temp, my mistake. Are you experiencing that in HDR game mode with the current firmware?
talldrink67 is offline  
post #25372 of 28037 Old 04-04-2018, 01:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
raistline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: MidWest
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by talldrink67 View Post
Right is was the lower color temp, my mistake. Are you experiencing that in HDR game mode with the current firmware?
I cannot answer that. I have only had the V5.x firmware versions on my C6 so I never got to see what it was like in any of the V4.x firmwares. If I am affected, than I would not know. I can tell you that the game mode HDR does look amazing, especially in Horizon: Zero Dawn. That games looks spectacular with HDR. So yeah, sorry, I cannot tell you whether or not the C6 is affected by the issue.
raistline is offline  
post #25373 of 28037 Old 04-04-2018, 04:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 963
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by talldrink67 View Post
Right is was the lower color temp, my mistake. Are you experiencing that in HDR game mode with the current firmware?
The darker game HDR is on the C6. It happened a few updates back. It was darkened to make it more accurate but it did get darker.

I do have an Xbox one x and ps4 pro and after some adjustments to in game HDR settings and console settings, it doesn't seem that dark any more. Also Xbox has made some adjustments themselves to Xbox in terms of black level in games (Forza horizon 3 is an example) and color adjustments for bluray so things are better then before.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Living Room: LG 65C8, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedroom: LG 55C6P, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
Link to LG C8PUA Firmware https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
Link to LG UH8500 & C6 Firmware http://www.lg.com/us/support-product...D55C6P#manuals
Jrocker23 is offline  
post #25374 of 28037 Old 04-04-2018, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
BAMABLUHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 163
LG Masters App Gone! Why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wilbur_the_goose View Post
Glad you asked!

The Masters app on the LG store will allow you to get beautiful 4K Masters coverage from Amen Corner from Thursday thru Sunday.

I installed it today, and it looks like it'll be great. It's exactly the same 4K feed that DirecTV has on their 4K channel.
So, I don't understand this, but when I tried to fire up The Masters Amen Corner App for this year, I get a message that says the app is no longer supported and then it removes it to "free up space".

WTF? Anyone else upset by this? I would like to have DirecTV, but have too many trees, so I have Uverse with ATT Fiber. Not fair that ATT doesn't even give me any other 4K option for The Masters. I'm pissed....

LG 65B6 OLED 4K HDR| Pioneer ELITE VSX-52 | Samsung K8500 4K Blu Ray | Polk Audio RTi and CS2 5.1 | Video cables by Monoprice! Audio cables by Audioquest
PS4 Pro| Apple TV | Sonos | Amazon Echo
BAMABLUHD is offline  
post #25375 of 28037 Old 04-04-2018, 05:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 1482
2016 LG C6-B6 owners thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenbar View Post
^^^yep. general settings....scroll way down below "reset tv"...click "about this tv"...then I think you click on the model...but not sure, one of them. Not at home either.







Ok, then click TV INFO





Thx for info, I’m at 1,890 hours with 17 months of usage, 111 hours per month, 3.7 hours per day on average.

What’s the hours rating for these?
At least 10,000 hours I hope, that’s almost 8 years based on my family usage.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mtbdudex is offline  
post #25376 of 28037 Old 04-04-2018, 08:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NashGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 931 Post(s)
Liked: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by BAMABLUHD View Post
So, I don't understand this, but when I tried to fire up The Masters Amen Corner App for this year, I get a message that says the app is no longer supported and then it removes it to "free up space".

WTF? Anyone else upset by this? I would like to have DirecTV, but have too many trees, so I have Uverse with ATT Fiber. Not fair that ATT doesn't even give me any other 4K option for The Masters. I'm pissed....
Well that sucks. There's a 2018 Masters app for Apple TV but I don't know if it supports 4K.

By this time next year, AT&T will have rolled out a new streaming TV service that will effectively replace Uverse TV and the new service will support 4K HDR. So you should be OK next year, although I realize that doesn't help you any right now...
NashGuy is offline  
post #25377 of 28037 Old 04-05-2018, 05:24 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
The screen going bad is usually one dead row of pixels, not a big bar, big bar is usually a board.......
Thanks, that's the validation I was looking for. I am going to order the main board today.Once its installed I'll post an update to help out anyone who may have this issue in the future.
gr88 is offline  
post #25378 of 28037 Old 04-05-2018, 08:54 AM
Senior Member
 
knobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: london ontario
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post
Thx for info, I’m at 1,890 hours with 17 months of usage, 111 hours per month, 3.7 hours per day on average.

What’s the hours rating for these?
At least 10,000 hours I hope, that’s almost 8 years based on my family usage.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
they say the oled should get up to 40,000 hrs some 100,000 hrs the latter i don't believe.i have an old samsung dlp which is still working after 23,000 hrs.
mtbdudex likes this.
knobby is online now  
post #25379 of 28037 Old 04-05-2018, 10:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by knobby View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post
Thx for info, I’m at 1,890 hours with 17 months of usage, 111 hours per month, 3.7 hours per day on average.

What’s the hours rating for these?
At least 10,000 hours I hope, that’s almost 8 years based on my family usage.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
they say the oled should get up to 40,000 hrs some 100,000 hrs the latter i don't believe.i have an old samsung dlp which is still working after 23,000 hrs.
Im around 6600 hrs after about 16 months. If that keeps up over 7 years, thats about 35,000 hrs. I guess I'm good, as long as I don't put this thing in torch mode. My OLED light is @ 40 for SDR and a bunch of those hours are the default screensaver.

(My 67 inch Samsung DLP (backlit with LED) lasted 7 years before the white dot epidemic hit it 3 years ago.)
Skunkbeard is offline  
post #25380 of 28037 Old 04-05-2018, 10:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
SteveCaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by knobby View Post
they say the oled should get up to 40,000 hrs some 100,000 hrs the latter i don't believe.i have an old samsung dlp which is still working after 23,000 hrs.
2016's were rated at 100,000. Even if I wanted to be a doubter and cut that 100,000 in half even with 8 hours a day usage 7 days a week even in 10 years I wouldn't have even hit 50,000 hours as a matter of fact it would just be above half that.
SteveCaron is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
arc , C6-B6 , calibration , computer , desktop , firmware update , lg c6 pc sdr hdr , lg oled , monitor , oled , oled b6 , oled lg , screen damage , screen uniformity , settings , soundbar , there is sig

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off