2016 LG C6-B6 owners thread - Page 850 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 264138Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #25471 of 28037 Old 04-14-2018, 12:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Daryl L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 3,473
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 654 Post(s)
Liked: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikepeak23 View Post
Just discovered that my c6 will power on when pressing any of the number keys on the magic remote. Does anyone elses do this?
I just tested that and it certainly does on my E6. And I'm not even using the magic remote. I'm using my URC MX-450 with the codes that were built into its code base

Sony XBR-55A9F OLED
Samsung SMT-H3272 HDC DVR Cable Box / Panasonic DP-UB820 4K BD Player
Roku Premium+ 4k / AppleTV 4K 4th Gen
Denon AVR-X4500H AV Receiver / Klipsch 5.1.2 Speakers

Last edited by Daryl L; 04-14-2018 at 12:35 PM.
Daryl L is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #25472 of 28037 Old 04-14-2018, 01:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Interesting, good to know its not just mine. I spoke with LG customer support and they said there must be something wrong with my remote so they want to send out a new one. It sounds like this might be an unknown thing with all of them though...
Mikepeak23 is offline  
post #25473 of 28037 Old 04-14-2018, 01:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Daryl L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 3,473
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 654 Post(s)
Liked: 448
@Mikepeak23

If it was a problem with the magic remote then it should not do the same with my universal remote. I think it's probably a feature and the CSR is unaware of it. A lot of times CSR's are not fully knowledgeable about their own products. If it does it with your magic remote and my universal remote and it is a bug then it must be in the firmware and not the actual remote.

Sony XBR-55A9F OLED
Samsung SMT-H3272 HDC DVR Cable Box / Panasonic DP-UB820 4K BD Player
Roku Premium+ 4k / AppleTV 4K 4th Gen
Denon AVR-X4500H AV Receiver / Klipsch 5.1.2 Speakers
Daryl L is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #25474 of 28037 Old 04-14-2018, 04:23 PM
Member
 
unclejosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I not not like the new Hulu GUI at all. Much prefer the old one. Is there any way to tell the resolution of the video in the Hulu app?
unclejosh is online now  
post #25475 of 28037 Old 04-14-2018, 06:09 PM
Senior Member
 
RobertCEO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmnterminator View Post
Do we know if it did indeed bring 4K? That's the main reason I watch through my Xbox... I'd prefer direct but want 4k

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
It does not have 4k, just a different interface.
RobertCEO is offline  
post #25476 of 28037 Old 04-14-2018, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
RobertCEO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I also just noticed there's an app for Starz and Showtime now. I hope they get HBO Go soon.
mttpalmer likes this.
RobertCEO is offline  
post #25477 of 28037 Old 04-15-2018, 09:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,032
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6411 Post(s)
Liked: 6405
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikepeak23 View Post
Just discovered that my c6 will power on when pressing any of the number keys on the magic remote. Does anyone elses do this?
Many devises do this, when the power is not on.....
richlife likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #25478 of 28037 Old 04-15-2018, 10:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 3
@Cleveland Plasma
Ok...not to sound snarky here but if thats a normal feature with a lot of devices than why have a dedicated power button? I've never had another device that does this.
Mikepeak23 is offline  
post #25479 of 28037 Old 04-15-2018, 11:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
As far as I can remember, all TVs I ever had powered on when I pressed any of the number keys on the remote. This happens on LG, Samsung and Sony at least. I, for one, expect this to happen with all TVs. And in regards to why it has a dedicated power button, if the numbers also do the power on, the power button also powers off the TV.
I'm starting to think this is ur 1st TV
keanustar is offline  
post #25480 of 28037 Old 04-15-2018, 12:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 3
@keanustar

You're right, silly of me for not knowing of an unlisted "feature" that is unknown to even LGs own tech support. I should be ashamed of my apparent lack of tech expertise, thank you for humbling me lol And I guess you missed that the power button comment was rhetorical but thanks for the condescension. And no, I havent owned a lot of tvs, I don't go through them every 2 years like some do, or maybe your'e just older than me? Anyways, I was simply asking if others experienced this on their LGs so I guess I have the answer 🙂

Last edited by Mikepeak23; 04-15-2018 at 03:16 PM.
Mikepeak23 is offline  
post #25481 of 28037 Old 04-15-2018, 12:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmxbaddy View Post
Everytime I turn off my C6 it says "Clear panel noise will start" and every time I turn it on it says "clear panel noise incomplete". I left it off for over 24 hours and it still says "incomplete". I doesn't appear to running the clear panel noise function. I've tried unplugging and plugging it back in but the problem persists. I also tried turning the function off from menu setting but no go.

Anyone else run into this issue? My next step is to reset to defaults but I rather not have to re-set all picture settings.
Having this same problem every time I turn the TV off it says starting and then when I turn it on it says "clear panel noise incomplete" and I don't see a solution itt (he never finished this discussion). Can someone help?
AaronY is offline  
post #25482 of 28037 Old 04-16-2018, 05:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 113
I for one am interested to know how these new tvs, samsung q9f and sony x94 compare to oled tvs.

I seen really good reviews about them, black levels are almost like oled and brightness better. Probably viewing angles are still problem. But seems like there are options now even for people who like good black levels. Opinions?
OwnerOfLg is offline  
post #25483 of 28037 Old 04-16-2018, 09:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
raistline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: MidWest
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by OwnerOfLg View Post
I for one am interested to know how these new tvs, samsung q9f and sony x94 compare to oled tvs.

I seen really good reviews about them, black levels are almost like oled and brightness better. Probably viewing angles are still problem. But seems like there are options now even for people who like good black levels. Opinions?
From what I have seen, based on floor models at Best Buy, they still have a very long way to go for Black levels. They are improving but you can easily see that in dark scenes they are struggling. They still have the blockiness that comes up with motion in dark scenes. After 1800 hours on my OLED the black level issues with LED and QLED is now very apparent.
raistline is offline  
post #25484 of 28037 Old 04-16-2018, 10:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
fafrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 13,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4770
Quote:
Originally Posted by OwnerOfLg View Post
I for one am interested to know how these new tvs, samsung q9f and sony x94 compare to oled tvs.

I seen really good reviews about them, black levels are almost like oled and brightness better. Probably viewing angles are still problem. But seems like there are options now even for people who like good black levels. Opinions?
Wrong thread for this question / discussion.

This one would probably be more appropriate: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ole...msung-q9s.html
fafrd is offline  
post #25485 of 28037 Old 04-16-2018, 10:57 PM
Senior Member
 
RobertCEO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronY View Post
Having this same problem every time I turn the TV off it says starting and then when I turn it on it says "clear panel noise incomplete" and I don't see a solution itt (he never finished this discussion). Can someone help?
This was happening to me a couple weeks ago after I manually tried to do the clear panel noise thing to get rid of line I had going down from the top. For whatever reason it didn't complete and whenever I turned on the tv I got that "incomplete" message. I waited until my off day to do another clear panel thing so I could monitor and see if the tv turned back on or whatever, and after about an hour it did complete and the message went away, so I would suggest you try and do it again. It also did clear up that thin line of darkened pixels!
tanis38 likes this.
RobertCEO is offline  
post #25486 of 28037 Old 04-17-2018, 07:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gonzalc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 1,582
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Has anyone calibrated the grayscale for hdr standard mode by using calman?
If so, what flow do you use to calibrate?

Thanks,




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Chris. My DVD UHD Blu Ray and Blu Ray collection jvc dla-rs2000, ST 130 (144") cinemascope screen, Carada Masquerade CIH masking system, B&W 803D2s mains, B&W HTM2D2 center channel, B&W 805D2 surrounds, B&W CCMM682s in-ceiling speakers (4), B&W DB1 subwoofer, Anthem AVM 60 processor, Parasound Halo A51+(2xA21)+(2xA23) amps, Panasonic UB820 player, Roku Ultra, vertex, and Harmony Elite remote.
gonzalc3 is offline  
post #25487 of 28037 Old 04-18-2018, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
brahby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I am hoping someone can help me out here. I am trying to accomplish an "eyeball calibration" on my OLED65C6P with the Spears and Munsil Ver 2 Blu Ray disc with my Sony UBP-X800 player.

On my player I currently have resolution set to 4k with upscaling disabled, deep color on or auto (I forget I am at work right now) and CURRENTLY have color space or whatever the setting is called set to "RGB" because in the spears and munsil video calibration, it was the only setting the made the red box inside the rec 601 box disappear as it is supposed. I do not see this being a problem unless I suppose I wanted to watch Billy Lynns Halftime Walk since I believe then I would not get HDR and 60fps with the RGB colorspace. If I don't care to ever watch HDR in 60FPS on my blu ray player is this setting ok to use (RGB)?

Second, I know that setting color is a no no without equipment on an OLED but how about brightness and contrast. I keep seeing people say that brightness should never be above 52 but at 52 on my S&M disc I cannot even see the 2% bar much less anything below that. For me, the checkerboard pattern doesn't even show until 58 on my set so one below that would be 57. I feel like most people would say this is incredibly high and would say that I am not getting perfect black at that point. Even using the AVSHD I am at 54 before 17 flashes. I am sure if I did the same thing where I wait until 16 flashes then back off one it would be at 57 or 56. I guess what I am not understanding is that if 16 is reference or perfect black and I cannot see the flashing bar at lets say 56 wouldn't that mean I am NOT losing perfect black but I am gaining some lost detail? At 50 or 52 even, I am not seeing anything lower than like 19 or 20 so wouldn't that indicate details I am potentially losing? I definitely feel like I am missing a ton of detail when watching films in comparison to how I view them on my LED in my room. This is also with Gamma set to 2.2 but I have noticed if I drop it to 1886 then brightness at like 51 or 52 will show the bars in a similar way to 57 at 2.2. This is just for setting HD video btw since all my 4k content is HDR or DV where I really only turn off any enhancements in the default picture modes (HDR standard or DV Dark).

Also if anyone has a C6 or any other of the 16 models that do 3d, what is your OLED at for 3d playback?

I am open to all suggestions and information regarding how to eyeball "calibrate" this set. Again, I know there is recommended ways of setting it where you view through a paper towel roll and wait until you see a glow but I question why this is a method and not the one where I can literally visibly see test patterns that aren't apparent if I use the "glow" method.

Thanking you all in advance
brahby is offline  
post #25488 of 28037 Old 04-18-2018, 08:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,904
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1101 Post(s)
Liked: 623
I posted this on a different forum...try it and toss in Tangled 3D...or Beauty and the Beast 3D 2017 (live action) as examples...stunning image quality. Your tv will retain the 3D settings separate from non 3D.

"Color and such are somewhat personal preferences. I run mine with burn in in mind, as these are irreplaceable TV's. And I place a higher value on longevity than I do on having the absolute best picture possible. But I do run 3D...at what I consider to be somewhat punishing levels. My settings are perhaps not ideal...but a compromise if you will, between pretty and lifespan. Still, looks very realistic to my eyes. Grain, if present, will show up as you would expect. But a grain free disc will look...superb. A worthy trade off to see a clean grain free 3D disc be all it can be.

Good for 3D only...

Picture mode - standard

Olight 45

contrast 78

brightness 52

Sharpness 50

color 44

tint 0

color temp 0

dynamic contrast off

dynamic color off

preferred color 0 0 0

color gamut normal

Super resolution high

gamma medium

noise reduction off

mpeg NR off

black level low

real cinema (blacked out)

motion eye care off

trumotion: user--- de jutter 0--- de blur 10

Voted most desirable mate by the ladies every year! Klan leader! Mob boss! Love advice expert! Credit cards accepted.

Last edited by Kenbar; 04-18-2018 at 08:30 AM.
Kenbar is offline  
post #25489 of 28037 Old 04-18-2018, 09:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
My B6 panel crapped out after 20 months and 3000 hours. Fortunately I purchased an extended warranty. Local dealer gave me an E8 as a replacement.
Way better tv. I have no banding in dark scenes and no “ halo” effect around fast moving objects. 4k discs seem much brighter and vivid. Also love Dolby Atmos on Netflix and HLG HDR on YouTube.
Daryl L, fafrd and Kenbar like this.
Yycbob is offline  
post #25490 of 28037 Old 04-18-2018, 11:13 AM
Senior Member
 
brahby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenbar View Post
I posted this on a different forum...try it and toss in Tangled 3D...or Beauty and the Beast 3D 2017 (live action) as examples...stunning image quality. Your tv will retain the 3D settings separate from non 3D.

"Color and such are somewhat personal preferences. I run mine with burn in in mind, as these are irreplaceable TV's. And I place a higher value on longevity than I do on having the absolute best picture possible. But I do run 3D...at what I consider to be somewhat punishing levels. My settings are perhaps not ideal...but a compromise if you will, between pretty and lifespan. Still, looks very realistic to my eyes. Grain, if present, will show up as you would expect. But a grain free disc will look...superb. A worthy trade off to see a clean grain free 3D disc be all it can be.

Good for 3D only...

Picture mode - standard

Olight 45

contrast 78

brightness 52

Sharpness 50

color 44

tint 0

color temp 0

dynamic contrast off

dynamic color off

preferred color 0 0 0

color gamut normal

Super resolution high

gamma medium

noise reduction off

mpeg NR off

black level low

real cinema (blacked out)

motion eye care off

trumotion: user--- de jutter 0--- de blur 10
I've seen your post before, possibly here or maybe even blu-ray forum(?). I will give these a try however I am more surprised at your OLED setting than anything else. I only have one setting regardless if its with lights on in pitch dark and my OLED is at 60. I cant imagine my OLED setting being less for 3d than for 2d. I will try this out though but seeing as OLED default is 100 for bright room 3d, I would imagine 3d OLED value should be higher than 2d (whatever that default value is, I cant recall now).

I will try this out tonight though. How did you come to brightness 52 just out of curiosity.
brahby is offline  
post #25491 of 28037 Old 04-18-2018, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,280
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5361 Post(s)
Liked: 3770
For those with elevated blacks on your B6 after the 05.30.03 update, the latest from John Archer stated that LG is unaware of this. In the article, which mostly relates to the DV bug, John Archer said he would relay your reports to LG if you send the info to him via his twitter account.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/johnarc.../#587a64ad3637
hobbs47 likes this.

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D

Last edited by wxman; 04-19-2018 at 10:37 AM.
wxman is offline  
post #25492 of 28037 Old 04-18-2018, 12:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,904
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1101 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by brahby View Post
I've seen your post before, possibly here or maybe even blu-ray forum(?). I will give these a try however I am more surprised at your OLED setting than anything else. I only have one setting regardless if its with lights on in pitch dark and my OLED is at 60. I cant imagine my OLED setting being less for 3d than for 2d. I will try this out though but seeing as OLED default is 100 for bright room 3d, I would imagine 3d OLED value should be higher than 2d (whatever that default value is, I cant recall now).

I will try this out tonight though. How did you come to brightness 52 just out of curiosity.
It's pretty much the accepted setting. Any lower and backs start to be crushed, with shadow details lost. Any higher and blacks start to turn grey...the black bars on wide screen movie have a slight glow for example.

What 3D movies do you currently own/able to test with?

Voted most desirable mate by the ladies every year! Klan leader! Mob boss! Love advice expert! Credit cards accepted.
Kenbar is offline  
post #25493 of 28037 Old 04-18-2018, 12:33 PM
Senior Member
 
brahby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenbar View Post
It's pretty much the accepted setting. Any lower and backs start to be crushed, with shadow details lost. Any higher and blacks start to turn grey...the black bars on wide screen movie have a slight glow for example.

What 3D movies do you currently own/able to test with?
It would be a little too many to list but mostly live action content with the occasional animated film. Animated I believe I have finding nemo, cars, megamind, cloudy with a chance of meatballs, wreck it ralph, probably some others I cannot think of off the top of my head.
brahby is offline  
post #25494 of 28037 Old 04-18-2018, 12:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,904
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1101 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by brahby View Post
It would be a little too many to list but mostly live action content with the occasional animated film. Animated I believe I have finding nemo, cars, megamind, cloudy with a chance of meatballs, wreck it ralph, probably some others I cannot think of off the top of my head.
Good, you have a lot to play with. Cars 1 has very good 3D and a clean grain free image. Passengers 3D or The Martian 3D are clean live action discs.

Start by going to standard mode...and set it up while running one of you clean 3D movies. You can always slide the olight level up later, if you feel you absolutely must. If you have already been running 3D movies...is the image crosstalk free? You might have to tilt the TV one way or another to clean it up. And sadly, some have misaligned filters (stretched during manufacturing) and are hopeless...keeping my fingers crossed that is not the case with yours.

I'm sure you know to avoid CNN and other troublesome stations with stationary pieces of imagery.

How is it you managed to acquire a 3D Oled this late in time? Generally they are rare...and very expensive when found.

Voted most desirable mate by the ladies every year! Klan leader! Mob boss! Love advice expert! Credit cards accepted.
Kenbar is offline  
post #25495 of 28037 Old 04-18-2018, 01:03 PM
Senior Member
 
brahby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenbar View Post
Good, you have a lot to play with. Cars 1 has very good 3D and a clean grain free image. Passengers 3D or The Martian 3D are clean live action discs.

Start by going to standard mode...and set it up while running one of you clean 3D movies. You can always slide the olight level up later, if you feel you absolutely must. If you have already been running 3D movies...is the image crosstalk free? You might have to tilt the TV one way or another to clean it up. And sadly, some have misaligned filters (stretched during manufacturing) and are hopeless...keeping my fingers crossed that is not the case with yours.

I'm sure you know to avoid CNN and other troublesome stations with stationary pieces of imagery.

How is it you managed to acquire a 3D Oled this late in time? Generally they are rare...and very expensive when found.
I've had it since May of last year, I just never really know how to adjust the settings probably. Like I said 52 on brightness seems to be the general consensus but for me I cant see anything lower than the 4% bar on my s&m disc. I feel like if the brightness was set too high I would see the glow in the bars or the checkerboard pattern that shows when you go too high. I only use this set for viewing movies and occasionally as a pc where I will view twitch or some hockey games online. If I am viewing a stream on twitch with over lays I will usually switch between theater and full screen so nothing is ever on screen in the same location for too long. I wouldnt be against bringing my oled setting down in 3d but I generally stay close to what default settings are.
brahby is offline  
post #25496 of 28037 Old 04-18-2018, 01:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,904
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1101 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by brahby View Post
I've had it since May of last year, I just never really know how to adjust the settings probably. Like I said 52 on brightness seems to be the general consensus but for me I cant see anything lower than the 4% bar on my s&m disc. I feel like if the brightness was set too high I would see the glow in the bars or the checkerboard pattern that shows when you go too high. I only use this set for viewing movies and occasionally as a pc where I will view twitch or some hockey games online. If I am viewing a stream on twitch with over lays I will usually switch between theater and full screen so nothing is ever on screen in the same location for too long. I wouldnt be against bringing my oled setting down in 3d but I generally stay close to what default settings are.
Well, let's just see how it goes when you get a chance to fiddle with it tonight. I have the same tv...C6P...and the same player...Sony X800. But I'm not at home till Sunday night...and my memory of the settings on the X800 is poor. I do know I have it set to just send the signal raw...and let the TV do any upscaling/processing needed.

Voted most desirable mate by the ladies every year! Klan leader! Mob boss! Love advice expert! Credit cards accepted.
Kenbar is offline  
post #25497 of 28037 Old 04-18-2018, 05:39 PM
Member
 
Tapioca Cold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
PS4 Pro HDR B6 question:

what settings do you guys use?

ps4 -

2160p - YUV420 or 2160p RGB?

full or limited?

B6 - Black level high or low?

and other settings if you wish to add any.


i was under the assumption that when set to full RGB the tv needs to be in black level high.

trying to get a grasp on my hdr settings for when god of war releases.

sincerely,

Cold
Tapioca Cold is offline  
post #25498 of 28037 Old 04-18-2018, 06:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
ILOVEMYHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CLEVELAND, OH
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 53
hi all. soo come home from a long work week. And ARC was working fine... now can not control volume with either uverse remote or tv remote.. AVR is fine as it should be. Checked everything and everthing as it should.. but did notice a couple times that the tv (C6) reverted back to internal... wait what ? why? reset tv with ARC control; but now can not control volume.

PS3+4---> CHiNGOBLiNG ; XB1X -->cata1= RUBEN...YOU NEED TO OPEN YOUR EYES TO SEE THE PICTURE!!... "SHOE MAKER HOME THEATER".7/22/16....just a KLIPSCH NUT..>7/22/16...2new videos show..https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jWO0YtCWQxI.....https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yIen05Wcg9w. u can even look from when I started about to present day.... i stutter sometimes....
ILOVEMYHDTV is offline  
post #25499 of 28037 Old 04-18-2018, 06:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tapioca Cold View Post
PS4 Pro HDR B6 question:

what settings do you guys use?

ps4 -

2160p - YUV420 or 2160p RGB?

full or limited?

B6 - Black level high or low?

and other settings if you wish to add any.


i was under the assumption that when set to full RGB the tv needs to be in black level high.

trying to get a grasp on my hdr settings for when god of war releases.

sincerely,

Cold
Game consoles should be set to RGB limited and tv to black level low. PS4 & Xbox One.

To give you the full explanation why, you might be better searching this forum post to get the technical reason why but in short, its just the way it should be. Sorry I couldn't be more technical but it's been explained to me and others why and that's what is seen as the proper setting.

In general for anything though rgb full goes with black level high & RGB limited goes with black level low.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Living Room: LG 65C8, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedroom: LG 55C6P, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
Link to LG C8PUA Firmware https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
Link to LG UH8500 & C6 Firmware http://www.lg.com/us/support-product...D55C6P#manuals
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #25500 of 28037 Old 04-18-2018, 08:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tapioca Cold View Post
PS4 Pro HDR B6 question:

what settings do you guys use?

ps4 -

2160p - YUV420 or 2160p RGB?

full or limited?

B6 - Black level high or low?

and other settings if you wish to add any.


i was under the assumption that when set to full RGB the tv needs to be in black level high.

trying to get a grasp on my hdr settings for when god of war releases.

sincerely,

Cold
Im forced to use 2160p - YUV420 since my soundbar does not support 2160p RGB, if cable directly to tv i would use 2160p RGB.
OwnerOfLg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
arc , C6-B6 , calibration , computer , desktop , firmware update , lg c6 pc sdr hdr , lg oled , monitor , oled , oled b6 , oled lg , screen damage , screen uniformity , settings , soundbar , there is sig

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off