2016 LG C6-B6 owners thread - Page 877 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 264378Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #26281 of 28698 Old 06-28-2018, 07:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
B6 in New York USA still on 04.31.20 firmware. Last night, for 2nd time, I was prompted to download 05.30.03 rather than the new 05.30.25. Is this happening for many others? I fail to understand why LG has retained superseded and defective firmware on the OTA servers. Or is this just a notification error? If anyone has gone ahead and done the install, is the resulting firmware really 05.30.03 and not the latest? In any case, it is frustrating that the new firmware is apparently not available OTA, and the faulty 05.30.03 has not been withdrawn.
Woodthrush is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #26282 of 28698 Old 06-28-2018, 07:34 AM
Senior Member
 
tommyy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Houston, TX USA
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilnim View Post
Are there any limitations on the stick? I used a 128GB USB3 stick in the rear port and USB3 side port, the TV ‘failed to recognise USB’. I though it might be because I use a Mac to download and put the .epk file into the folder (I can’t seem to unzip an epk file in a Mac). Will try again in windows on boot camp later.

I'd guess most likely it didn't like the format used on the stick, I used a 32 GB stick formatted to fat 32, I'm not sure you can use fat 32 on a 128GB or if you got to go with a smaller/cheaper stick to use fat32.


Let us know how you make out.
tommyy2 is offline  
post #26283 of 28698 Old 06-28-2018, 07:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
umenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,501
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 987 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woodthrush View Post
B6 in New York USA still on 04.31.20 firmware. Last night, for 2nd time, I was prompted to download 05.30.03 rather than the new 05.30.25. Is this happening for many others? I fail to understand why LG has retained superseded and defective firmware on the OTA servers. Or is this just a notification error? If anyone has gone ahead and done the install, is the resulting firmware really 05.30.03 and not the latest? In any case, it is frustrating that the new firmware is apparently not available OTA, and the faulty 05.30.03 has not been withdrawn.
Download manually and install via USB. I woudn’t worry much about why it does not show up on your TV itself. Of all the battles we fight in the AV world, this is one that is not worth fighting.
SinGA likes this.
umenon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #26284 of 28698 Old 06-28-2018, 07:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
umenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,501
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 987 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommyy2 View Post
I'd guess most likely it didn't like the format used on the stick, I used a 32 GB stick formatted to fat 32, I'm not sure you can use fat 32 on a 128GB or if you got to go with a smaller/cheaper stick to use fat32.


Let us know how you make out.
LG says format as FAT16. So get a smaller USB drive if that is what is needed.
umenon is offline  
post #26285 of 28698 Old 06-28-2018, 07:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
umenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,501
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 987 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Tickled to be able to play HLG HDR YouTube videos from my Chromecast Ultra.
SinGA likes this.
umenon is offline  
post #26286 of 28698 Old 06-28-2018, 09:22 AM
Senior Member
 
tommyy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Houston, TX USA
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by umenon View Post
LG says format as FAT16. So get a smaller USB drive if that is what is needed.

Fat16, that's pretty old and hardly used anymore, do you know when (what year) it was that LG specified Fat16. From what I did and from what I've also read Fat32 works fine, but there is a size limitation that excludes the larger drives (Windows will only format a volume up to 32GB with fat32, and up to 4GB? for fat16).
tommyy2 is offline  
post #26287 of 28698 Old 06-28-2018, 09:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,526
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 972 Post(s)
Liked: 970
The c6 firmware has had hlg HDR for a while..
Quote:
Originally Posted by umenon View Post
Tickled to be able to play HLG HDR YouTube videos from my Chromecast Ultra.
TV - LG 55C6P, LG 55UH8500, AVR - Pioneer Elite SC-LX502 Dolby Atmos 5.1.2, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Switch

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is offline  
post #26288 of 28698 Old 06-28-2018, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,279
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2619 Post(s)
Liked: 2333
Also can't the chromecast output in HDR10 for youtube?

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HT-Z9F, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Chromecast Ultra
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
post #26289 of 28698 Old 06-28-2018, 10:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 1595
Quote:
Originally Posted by umenon View Post
Download manually and install via USB. I woudn’t worry much about why it does not show up on your TV itself. Of all the battles we fight in the AV world, this is one that is not worth fighting.


Yep, I’m a USA Michigan based B6 owner waiting for 5.30.25 to be pushed to me...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mtbdudex is offline  
post #26290 of 28698 Old 06-28-2018, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
umenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,501
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 987 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post
Yep, I’m a USA Michigan based B6 owner waiting for 5.30.25 to be pushed to me...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I am in the US too and the weblink is for US owners.
umenon is offline  
post #26291 of 28698 Old 06-28-2018, 10:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
umenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,501
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 987 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphinapg View Post
Also can't the chromecast output in HDR10 for youtube?

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk
Yes ... my CCU outputs HLG and HDR10 without issues.
SinGA likes this.
umenon is offline  
post #26292 of 28698 Old 06-28-2018, 11:31 AM
Member
 
timstephens24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilnim View Post
Are there any limitations on the stick? I used a 128GB USB3 stick in the rear port and USB3 side port, the TV ‘failed to recognise USB’. I though it might be because I use a Mac to download and put the .epk file into the folder (I can’t seem to unzip an epk file in a Mac). Will try again in windows on boot camp later.
I had an issue with my stick and Mac, even though it was formatted for FAT32. I used my Windows VM to format to FAT32 and that worked first time (though Windows isn't going to let you format the 128GB thumb drive to FAT32 using the GUI).

Denon X6500H 7.1.4 -> LG OLED65C6P
Apple TV 4K // NVIDIA Shield Pro // Xbox One X // HDHomeRun Quatro
timstephens24 is offline  
post #26293 of 28698 Old 06-28-2018, 01:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 26,377
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7616 Post(s)
Liked: 7683
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexend View Post
Hi all,

Here's my comments on the new firmware (.25). I still see the minor blackish glow when every lights are off in my room. Though that didn't bother me much before so it's no big deal for me.

That said, I noticed two improvements that I'm really happy about.

First, the tone mapping has been tuned for HDR Standard and is a lot better with really bright highlights. The worst offender for me what John Wick 2 on UHD, where there is many bright "white" all around and before they looked solid white and where popping out of the scene. Now I see more details in the lights (in the metro scene for exemple, or the one where he's in the "gun shop") and they blend well in the scene.

Second, we seem to have got the same update that 2017 model got last year, about native motion handling (not interpolation). I'm not 100% about this one though and time will tell but I think I didn't see has much "micro stutter" has before.
Glad we have improvements
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #26294 of 28698 Old 06-28-2018, 01:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by timstephens24 View Post
I had an issue with my stick and Mac, even though it was formatted for FAT32. I used my Windows VM to format to FAT32 and that worked first time (though Windows isn't going to let you format the 128GB thumb drive to FAT32 using the GUI).
For info for anyone else who wants to install firmware via USB:

1) Don't use a Mac as per the above quote. The update failed at 70% every time when I used my Mac to format and save the file
2) Use a virtual machine (Bootcamp) to run Windows (Windows 10 is a free install now). Format the USB stick as FAT32 in Windows.
3) The downloaded file from LG is a .zip file - it is automatically unpacked by Safari on a Mac into the .epk file. In Windows or with another browser, you must unpack the file and save the resulting .epk file into the LG_DTV folder on the USB stick.

I successfully updated the firmware on my 55B6V to 05.30.25 with USB after the above.

LG OLED55B6, Marantz NR1607 with 5.1.2, ATV 4K, Virgo TiVo, PS4 Pro, Sony UBPX700
evilnim is offline  
post #26295 of 28698 Old 06-28-2018, 01:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hobbs47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,790
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 474 Post(s)
Liked: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
I have always downloaded to a folder on my PC then transfer to the thumb drive. It always downloads as a direct epk file

TV - LG 55C6P, LG 55UH8500, AVR - Pioneer Elite SC-LX502 Dolby Atmos 5.1.2, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Switch
I've always done this as well, but one of the direct links to the Korean site/file floating around downloaded as a zip file that needed to be unzipped to get the epk file. This "may" be where some of the confusion has been coming from.
I eventually got the US version downloaded just as you say and ended up using that to upgrade.
Jrocker23 likes this.

Benq HT3550/LG OLED65B6P /Panny UB820 4k Bluray/Apple TV 4k
Nvidia Shield/HDFury AVRkey/Samsung HW-K950 Soundbar
hobbs47 is offline  
post #26296 of 28698 Old 06-28-2018, 02:48 PM
Member
 
AaronTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by talldrink67 View Post
Can someone provide an update regarding this new firmware on the C6 model?
Does it fix or change the HDR game mode where the previous versions darkened the image?
In 05.30.30, it's back to being similar to the HDR Standard picture mode on my c6. I'm happy with it and was previously annoyed about the dark HDR Game mode.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

LG OLED65C, Sony 940e, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Oppo 203, Denon AVR-X4200, SVS SB-2000 (x2), SVS Prime Tower (x2), SVS Prime Satellite (x2), SVS Prime Center
AaronTV is offline  
post #26297 of 28698 Old 06-28-2018, 03:00 PM
Newbie
 
super2510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone checking or recalibrating after the new update
super2510 is offline  
post #26298 of 28698 Old 06-28-2018, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,279
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2619 Post(s)
Liked: 2333
Quote:
Originally Posted by super2510 View Post
Anyone checking or recalibrating after the new update
For my C6, I'm hoping my calibration works fine with the new firmware. HDR calibration only really affects the first 400 nits anyway, but it all depends on if the new tonemapping affects that range as well. If they've darkened it at all to make it more accurate (HDR Standard is overly bright as is, about 30% brighter compared to spec) which would give them more room to tonemap, then it's a possibility. I don't expect SDR to need recalibrating.

For those who got a calibration of a B6 while they had raised blacks, they would probably want to recalibrate if they have better black levels.

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HT-Z9F, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Chromecast Ultra
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
post #26299 of 28698 Old 06-29-2018, 04:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,279
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2619 Post(s)
Liked: 2333
@IMWhizzle it appears you were correct. I found good HDR saturation patterns to test with, and did came up with my own spreadsheet to help me calculate the distance from each target each measurement was, measured each color in 10% steps (66 patterns total), and redid all of these measurements for several different Color settings. Here are my results:

(error refers to the sum total xy distance between all measurements and their targets)

Tested on HDR Game


So it appears 55 is indeed correct, as it has the lowest error. The estimated saturation is calculated as (measurement distance from D65) / (target distance from D65) - 1, and the number you see there is the median of all the measurements, excluding values that were clipped (target was beyond display capabilities). It's a rough estimate of how saturated or desaturated the image will be with that setting. It's not a perfect measure, but it surprisingly graphs pretty nicely, as does the error measurement.
sechev00 likes this.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HT-Z9F, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Chromecast Ultra
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
post #26300 of 28698 Old 06-29-2018, 06:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
sechev00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphinapg View Post
@IMWhizzle it appears you were correct. I found good HDR saturation patterns to test with, and did came up with my own spreadsheet to help me calculate the distance from each target each measurement was, measured each color in 10% steps (66 patterns total), and redid all of these measurements for several different Color settings. Here are my results:

(error refers to the sum total xy distance between all measurements and their targets)

Tested on HDR Game


So it appears 55 is indeed correct, as it has the lowest error. The estimated saturation is calculated as (measurement distance from D65) / (target distance from D65) - 1, and the number you see there is the median of all the measurements, excluding values that were clipped (target was beyond display capabilities). It's a rough estimate of how saturated or desaturated the image will be with that setting. It's not a perfect measure, but it surprisingly graphs pretty nicely, as does the error measurement.
Good to know. I recall Digital Foundry setting their color setting for HDR Game to 55 on the B6 settings video. I feel like the B6 on the latest firmware did not see the brighter HDR Game that many with C6 on latest firmware are noticing it seems. Would changing DC to High still be a fix if you're not in a completely black room? If so, just from looking at the TV and the difference between DC High/Off, High provides a more washed out look with colors so would increasing the color setting balance that out? I'm just eyeing it out and comparing quickly between switching with HDR Standard and HDR Game to see if the colors look similar.

LG OLED65C9 ~ LG OLED55B6P ~ PS4 Pro ~ Xbox One X ~ Apple TV 4K ~ PSN/XBL: firesamu
sechev00 is offline  
post #26301 of 28698 Old 06-29-2018, 07:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SteveCaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,036
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 216
I thought someone around here said there was a US Beta for the C6... can't seem to find that.
SteveCaron is offline  
post #26302 of 28698 Old 06-29-2018, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
hauz20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central IL
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveCaron View Post
I thought someone around here said there was a US Beta for the C6... can't seem to find that.
Links are on this page.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-oled-technology-flat-panels-general/2947164-status-dolby-vision-raised-blacks-issue-oleds-27.html#post56382230
hauz20 is offline  
post #26303 of 28698 Old 06-29-2018, 08:03 AM
Member
 
iwb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by sechev00 View Post
Good to know. I recall Digital Foundry setting their color setting for HDR Game to 55 on the B6 settings video. I feel like the B6 on the latest firmware did not see the brighter HDR Game that many with C6 on latest firmware are noticing it seems. Would changing DC to High still be a fix if you're not in a completely black room? If so, just from looking at the TV and the difference between DC High/Off, High provides a more washed out look with colors so would increasing the color setting balance that out? I'm just eyeing it out and comparing quickly between switching with HDR Standard and HDR Game to see if the colors look similar.
If you have to turn DC on then you do need to turn colour up IMHO.

I find colour gamut wide, and colour 65 with DC high on old dim C6 firmware works well for me in HDR game....
iwb100 is offline  
post #26304 of 28698 Old 06-29-2018, 08:03 AM
Member
 
iwb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by sechev00 View Post
Good to know. I recall Digital Foundry setting their color setting for HDR Game to 55 on the B6 settings video. I feel like the B6 on the latest firmware did not see the brighter HDR Game that many with C6 on latest firmware are noticing it seems. Would changing DC to High still be a fix if you're not in a completely black room? If so, just from looking at the TV and the difference between DC High/Off, High provides a more washed out look with colors so would increasing the color setting balance that out? I'm just eyeing it out and comparing quickly between switching with HDR Standard and HDR Game to see if the colors look similar.
If you have to turn DC on then you do need to turn colour up IMHO.

I find colour gamut wide, and colour 65 with DC high on old dim C6 firmware works well for me in HDR game....
sechev00 likes this.
iwb100 is offline  
post #26305 of 28698 Old 06-29-2018, 08:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SteveCaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,036
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by hauz20 View Post
Thanks! Now I can play a game of Firmware Roulette!
SteveCaron is offline  
post #26306 of 28698 Old 06-29-2018, 11:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NashGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 1,634
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 697
Well, I upgraded to the new firmware on my B6 a couple days ago. Unlike some folks, I didn't have significantly elevated blacks on the previous firmware, although I did notice elevated blacks on some DV/HDR stuff from my Apple TV 4K. I've yet to really do any dark room testing on either SDR or HDR content to see how the latest firmware compares on black levels.

That said, I haven't seen any new problems introduced by it, which is a good thing (especially considering that it's reportedly a non-reversible update).
NashGuy is offline  
post #26307 of 28698 Old 06-29-2018, 11:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1123 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphinapg View Post
@IMWhizzle it appears you were correct. I found good HDR saturation patterns to test with, and did came up with my own spreadsheet to help me calculate the distance from each target each measurement was, measured each color in 10% steps (66 patterns total), and redid all of these measurements for several different Color settings. Here are my results:



(error refers to the sum total xy distance between all measurements and their targets)



Tested on HDR Game





So it appears 55 is indeed correct, as it has the lowest error. The estimated saturation is calculated as (measurement distance from D65) / (target distance from D65) - 1, and the number you see there is the median of all the measurements, excluding values that were clipped (target was beyond display capabilities). It's a rough estimate of how saturated or desaturated the image will be with that setting. It's not a perfect measure, but it surprisingly graphs pretty nicely, as does the error measurement.


Nice, thanks for the confirmation and your time to test it.
morphinapg likes this.

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C, 4x RP-500SA’s and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED C9 65 inch
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is online now  
post #26308 of 28698 Old 06-29-2018, 11:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SteveCaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,036
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 216
My 2014 3D 4k LED 65UB9500 just received an update so say want you want about LG they do support their panels pretty far out from their model year.
SteveCaron is offline  
post #26309 of 28698 Old 06-29-2018, 11:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NashGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 1,634
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1066 Post(s)
Liked: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveCaron View Post
My 2014 3D 4k LED 65UB9500 just received an update so say want you want about LG they do support their panels pretty far out from their model year.
Wow, that's nice to hear. I figured that this new firmware update for the B6 and C6 would be the last they'd ever see. Maybe I'm wrong.
morphinapg likes this.
NashGuy is offline  
post #26310 of 28698 Old 06-29-2018, 11:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SteveCaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,036
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by NashGuy View Post
Wow, that's nice to hear. I figured that this new firmware update for the B6 and C6 would be the last they'd ever see. Maybe I'm wrong.
They do become more infrequent but based on my experience with my 2012 Panel (that one unfortunately was destroyed by a flood) the 2014 model I have no doubt we'll see future releases for our OLEDs, if needed.
morphinapg likes this.
SteveCaron is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
arc , C6-B6 , calibration , computer , desktop , firmware update , lg c6 pc sdr hdr , lg oled , monitor , oled , oled b6 , oled lg , screen damage , screen uniformity , settings , soundbar , there is sig

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off