2016 LG C6-B6 owners thread - Page 882 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 264346Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #26431 of 28648 Old 07-03-2018, 11:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Viking 29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alamogordo NM
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Looks like I'll just be happy with the old firmware. I can't believe that LG is screwing with only this tv on this matter. I want to eventually get the c8 but I'm not sure if I want to reward their stupidity.
Viking 29 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #26432 of 28648 Old 07-03-2018, 11:29 PM
Senior Member
 
edo101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by NomanA View Post
May be I am missing something but why don't you use HDMI port to connect to what I assume is an OLED TV ? Don't you have an HDMI 2.0 AMD card, like Polaris (Rx480/580, 470/570) or Vega ? I have an AMD Rx 470, and I can't be happier how well it's driving this TV both in SDR and HDR applications. All settings are straightforward. Games run great. With the latest AMD drivers, Netflix HDR is also supported.

If you are using display-port because of HDMI 1.4 limitations and are using an HDMI adapter to have 4K at 60Hz full RGB (8 bit), your graphic driver is sending full range video to the display. Simply use black level of "high" in the TV settings when playing games.But for videos, you can try two options - either expand the color space in video player (uncheck limited for instance in something like Kodi), or keep the color space limited in video player and set your TV to black level low as well. You can have two different black level settings for instance in game mode and video (iSF Dark, Bright etc) mode.

In any case I'd recommend upgrading to an HDMI 2.0 card, like AMD Rx 580/570, so you can enable HDR properly.
Yeah I am using DP cause HDMI is 1.4. Can't upgrade my gfx till for a couple of months. I'll check that out. And I am using DP to HDMI 2.0 converter to get 4k60. How can I be sure that my TV is getting a full RGB signal. There is no option for it in the driver
edo101 is offline  
post #26433 of 28648 Old 07-04-2018, 12:37 AM
Senior Member
 
edo101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Attached below is the difference between high and low black level. Setting black level to auto gives same pq as high level. Is there anything to be lost at setting black level to auto so that it automatically knows what to pick?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
edo101 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #26434 of 28648 Old 07-04-2018, 05:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SteveCaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 216
So far all seems good with the C6 update. I can confirm HDR game has been tweaked only requiring me to change some of my in game settings (brightness / nit settings). Though I didn't have an issue with the HDR game in the old FW seeing this version of it I can now see why people were complaining. I feel there is less black crush and I can see more detail in the shadows.
Jrocker23 likes this.
SteveCaron is offline  
post #26435 of 28648 Old 07-04-2018, 06:24 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all. New here.

After the new update .30, HDR looks good, but for some odd reason my sdr game mode black levels went darker. So I used avs HD 709 to recalibrate and my settings went from a previous 89 contrast and 50 brightness to 79 contrast and 60 brightness. Is this normal? I'm still on medium gamma as well. Low black level on TV and limited on PS4.
Lami Z is offline  
post #26436 of 28648 Old 07-04-2018, 06:26 AM
Senior Member
 
hauz20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central IL
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 60
.30 on C6 looking good with HDR game.

Hoped against hope that Dolby Vision Vudu lipsync would be fixed on my x700 player, but no dice. Poop
hauz20 is offline  
post #26437 of 28648 Old 07-04-2018, 07:31 AM
Member
 
iwb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveCaron View Post
So far all seems good with the C6 update. I can confirm HDR game has been tweaked only requiring me to change some of my in game settings (brightness / nit settings). Though I didn't have an issue with the HDR game in the old FW seeing this version of it I can now see why people were complaining. I feel there is less black crush and I can see more detail in the shadows.
Did you use Dynamic contrast in the old HDR Game mode at all?
iwb100 is offline  
post #26438 of 28648 Old 07-04-2018, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 26,122
Mentioned: 90 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7517 Post(s)
Liked: 7548
Quote:
Originally Posted by super2510 View Post
Is there a "best" settings for dolby vision? I have the b6 with latest firmware. The default settings look way too dark compared to hdr10 or sdr. Any help is greatly appreciated.
That can be a disadvantage with firmware updates, got to find those new sweet settings....
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #26439 of 28648 Old 07-04-2018, 09:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NashGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 1,602
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1043 Post(s)
Liked: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by super2510 View Post
Is there a "best" settings for dolby vision? I have the b6 with latest firmware. The default settings look way too dark compared to hdr10 or sdr. Any help is greatly appreciated.
I've always found the standard DV picture mode to look a bit too dark so instead I use the DV Movie Bright mode, which has a slightly brighter gamma curve. Try that and see how it looks to you.

Next, you'll need to adjust your brightness level yourself. No one can tell you for sure what it should be on your specific panel. Start playing a Netflix film or show in DV with black letterbox bars with your room as dark as possible.

Adjust the brightness level down to 48. Then take an empty toilet paper roll and gently press it against a black letterbox bar and examine it with the other eye shut. While peering through the roll at the black pixels on the screen (which hopefully are totally black, emitting no light), use the TV remote to click up the brightness level to 49, then 50, then 51, then 52. Do it slowly so that your eye can notice if there's any change in the light level emitted from the black pixels. As soon as you notice a change and the black pixels begin to glow (or glow more brightly than they were when you started at 48), then click brightness back down to the previous level. That's as bright as you can get the screen without hurting your black level. Leave your brightness at that setting.

As far as other settings, they should be pretty close at their defaults. Adjust the OLED Light to whatever is comfortable for your eyes. You might try turning Dynamic Contrast on low but I prefer it off.
Bleeding Edge likes this.
NashGuy is offline  
post #26440 of 28648 Old 07-04-2018, 09:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by edo101 View Post
Attached below is the difference between high and low black level. Setting black level to auto gives same pq as high level. Is there anything to be lost at setting black level to auto so that it automatically knows what to pick?
I am pretty sure that DisplayPort on Radeon outputs full range RGB, which means you set TV to black level of "High" for normal PC content (games, desktop applications etc). Auto setting probably looks at the color space of the input signal and adjusts accordingly. However, I doubt it switches dynamically from content to content. That is, the auto setting probably picks the right setting at the time HDMI handshake happens. So I'd recommend setting it to High or Low depending on the content - games or videos respectively.
NomanA is offline  
post #26441 of 28648 Old 07-04-2018, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,243
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2593 Post(s)
Liked: 2303
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveCaron View Post
So far all seems good with the C6 update. I can confirm HDR game has been tweaked only requiring me to change some of my in game settings (brightness / nit settings). Though I didn't have an issue with the HDR game in the old FW seeing this version of it I can now see why people were complaining. I feel there is less black crush and I can see more detail in the shadows.
There was never any black crush. I confirmed this by pausing a movie at a very dark scene and taking pictures of both modes, with the HDR Game picture having 3x the exposure to offset the darker image. The shadow detail was the same. So as long as you viewed in a dark room, you didn't lose anything, and gained a lot in the highlights and color.

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk
nodixe likes this.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HT-Z9F, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Chromecast Ultra
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
post #26442 of 28648 Old 07-04-2018, 10:14 AM
Member
 
bmxbaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by edo101 View Post
No negative effects on input lag for game mode or in general?
admittedly, I'm ultra sensitive to input lag but I noticed more lag right away after updating. Not much more than the old hdr game mode but definitely more than non hdr game mode. I don't have a tester or anything, just my opinion.

LG 65C6P
Sony STR-DN1070
Xbox One X
Mac Mini
Plex
bmxbaddy is offline  
post #26443 of 28648 Old 07-04-2018, 10:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
6athome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,555
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 176
First off I didn't download the update for my C-6.Netflix is going to raise the price for HDR 4K streaming,with that how does one tell what a movie is streaming at on the C-6?
I think all my streaming content looks like crap and I do have a 100 mbps speed. So it looks like streaming services want to keep playback a secret ?
6athome is offline  
post #26444 of 28648 Old 07-04-2018, 03:08 PM
Member
 
Bleeding Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcanuck View Post
Just updated to 5.30.25, 65B6 US model and the glow is still there the same as before on HDR & DV, in completely dark room, seems worse on HDR. No improvements
Thanks for the report. Looks like I’ll be sticking with 4.31.20 for my B6 until the next firmware upgrade. I don’t have any major problems with 4.31.20...no elevated blacks with DV, no darker HDR, no elevated SDR blacks. Since the new firmware offers no new features and there’s nothing close to consensus on performance, I don’t see a reason to upgrade—especially if there’s no way to downgrade if I don’t like it.
Dave_6 likes this.

LG OLED65B6P-U, Vizio M658-G1, Revel B15a (2), SVS Ultra Towers, Anthem MRX 720, TiVo Roamio OTA, Apple TV 4K, Tivo Stream 4K, Sony PS3, LG UP870, Panamax MAX 5500
Bleeding Edge is offline  
post #26445 of 28648 Old 07-04-2018, 03:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SnellTHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,227
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 671 Post(s)
Liked: 574
Quote:
Originally Posted by grolo View Post
I'm having an issue with Netflix HDR content on my B6. If streamed either using my Shield or the native app, HDR content looks awful – very blurry and the colours are off. Non-HDR 4K looks amazing (as does Amazon Prime).



I've read posts from LG OLED owners complaining about how Dolby Vision is implemented by Netflix but while that seems in line with what I'm experiencing, the severity was not. I'm not a videophile nitpicking, the content looks worse than 480p. This was not always the case but I'm not precisely sure when this started happening as our net connection was under remediation for a few months.



The 05.30.30 update hasn't reached my machine yet (I'm in Australia), I have vague hope this will address the issue but the FW notes don't mention Netflix video issues.



Can anyone offer advice?


Thanks!
That is really weird. For me Dolby Vision looks better than ANYTHING else. However the blacks are completely ruined and look bad even by LED-LCD standards! Which means the bright scenes are top tier reference quality but anything involving dark scenes look so bad I don't feel like watching.
SnellTHX is offline  
post #26446 of 28648 Old 07-04-2018, 04:06 PM
Member
 
charles dodgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronTV View Post
Did you guys factory reset after installing the update? I recall reading somewhere that some folks reported seeing the raised blacks on their b6 improved after doing so.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
Yes, still no change. It's a pain doing a reset when you have multiple calibrations, but at least I don't have to wonder now. Considering LG doesn't acknowledge the issue, I'm not too hopeful for a fix. Are they really not aware? Maybe it was done intentionally to try to improve some other issue. It would be nice to know.

Oh well, the black level is still below what my meter can read at its brightest, and for the most part is still close to perfect, perceptually.
charles dodgen is offline  
post #26447 of 28648 Old 07-04-2018, 04:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 32
New firmware 5.30.30 is now available for C6 at LG US website. https://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-OLED65C6P
Jrocker23 likes this.
NomanA is offline  
post #26448 of 28648 Old 07-04-2018, 08:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
robsis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 652
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by NomanA View Post
New firmware 5.30.30 is now available for C6 at LG US website. https://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-OLED65C6P
And, such a large file for the one line of 'improvements':

1. Improvement
1) Improvement to change to Volume 0 while watching TV

Who would've known.......

Ptree:

Sometimes, it's only afterwards, I find that I'm not there.
robsis is offline  
post #26449 of 28648 Old 07-04-2018, 09:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,243
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2593 Post(s)
Liked: 2303
Quote:
Originally Posted by robsis View Post
And, such a large file for the one line of 'improvements':

1. Improvement
1) Improvement to change to Volume 0 while watching TV

Who would've known.......
Other regions have a better list of changes. I don't know why so many companies seem to be terrible at providing decent change logs.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HT-Z9F, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Chromecast Ultra
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
post #26450 of 28648 Old 07-04-2018, 10:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Alamei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphinapg View Post
Other regions have a better list of changes. I don't know why so many companies seem to be terrible at providing decent change logs.
At this point, there's no possible way they're unaware of the major changes going into these builds, especially since the changelogs in other regions are at least somewhat detailed. It looks more like a legal/PR decision to try to hide significant modifications behind tiny bugfixes in patch notes. Maybe they're more worried about lawsuits or other repercussions for their firmware issues in the US than they are elsewhere and just don't want to admit to any missteps in this region as a result?
Alamei is offline  
post #26451 of 28648 Old 07-05-2018, 12:18 AM
Newbie
 
darkcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by charles dodgen View Post
Yes, still no change. It's a pain doing a reset when you have multiple calibrations, but at least I don't have to wonder now. Considering LG doesn't acknowledge the issue, I'm not too hopeful for a fix. Are they really not aware? Maybe it was done intentionally to try to improve some other issue. It would be nice to know.

Oh well, the black level is still below what my meter can read at its brightest, and for the most part is still close to perfect, perceptually.
Have you ever tried changing the sub brightness in the service menu? I've read some unconfirmed things that dropping the sub brightness by 1 can fix the issue.

I'm especially curious because I'm still on the version before this started happening (downgraded almost immediately after installing the first update that caused it). If this is a legit fix I'd consider upgrading, but if not, not sure I ever will...

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
darkcube is offline  
post #26452 of 28648 Old 07-05-2018, 12:41 AM
Member
 
TpFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Came back from out of town and C6 still not getting the new update OTA... Running out of patience, might just install tomorrow on usb if there really is no difference.
TpFox is offline  
post #26453 of 28648 Old 07-05-2018, 05:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roland Sárközi View Post
I have a LG B6 TV and when I switch between HDR modes via HDMI (STB), then it does not chage the HDR mode it keeps the first HDR mode always till I quit from HDR mode.
The problem is in both direction: HLG channel to HDR10-PQ and HDR10-PQ to HLG as well. (This change works with C8, and other TVs)


Can you confirm how it works for you, is it a fw bug? There must be a direct change, without changing back to non-HDR mode.
LG Support confirmed, it is not possible to switch between HDR mode without new HDMI handshake


"
When in March 2016 the first 4K Ultra HD was released, our 2016 OLED model B6(released 3 Months later) where fully prepared to process and display HDR10-PQ and Dolby Vision via HDMI sources.
At this time HLG was only a theoretical approach for Broadcast.


The HLG support was available after a software update in September 2017.

Due to limitations, of the Chipset from this time, we were not able to recognizedifferent HDR signaling(PQ/HLG) without a new HDMI handshake.
So it is no bug, but more a hardware limitation.


"
Roland Sárközi is offline  
post #26454 of 28648 Old 07-05-2018, 06:03 AM
Newbie
 
Venomis55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
New update 05.30.30 for C6 is on lg's site for download now.
Venomis55 is offline  
post #26455 of 28648 Old 07-05-2018, 06:25 AM
Senior Member
 
hauz20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central IL
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by TpFox View Post
Came back from out of town and C6 still not getting the new update OTA... Running out of patience, might just install tomorrow on usb if there really is no difference.
Odd. I'm in Illinois, and mine was updated a couple days ago. I'm nucking futs and leave mine on auto update.
hauz20 is offline  
post #26456 of 28648 Old 07-05-2018, 06:37 AM
Member
 
Chris-Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by hauz20 View Post
Odd. I'm in Illinois, and mine was updated a couple days ago. I'm nucking futs and leave mine on auto update.
Every time I look at that option I consider turning it on, just can’t get myself to do it. Still have old school PC bios mentality of “unless it’s broke, don’t update.”
Chris-Paul is offline  
post #26457 of 28648 Old 07-05-2018, 06:45 AM
Senior Member
 
hauz20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central IL
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris-Paul View Post
Every time I look at that option I consider turning it on, just can’t get myself to do it. Still have old school PC bios mentality of “unless it’s broke, don’t update.”
Yeah, I should probably do the same, but aside from dim game mode ... nothing has really bugged me on these updates over the past couple years, so I just keep rolling with it.

I actually rolled the dice on a returned C6 at Best Buy a couple years ago, so I feel like I'm maintaining a theme. I lucked out. TV only had like 500 hours, no burn in, everything is good. So, yeah, lol.
Chris-Paul likes this.
hauz20 is offline  
post #26458 of 28648 Old 07-05-2018, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Elton Noway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris-Paul View Post
Every time I look at that option I consider turning it on, just can’t get myself to do it. Still have old school PC bios mentality of “unless it’s broke, don’t update.”
Funny... I always considered myself of the old school PC bios mentality but my approach has been the opposite. Every PC I ever built i.e. dozens over the decades... I've always updated the BIOS as soon as an update was available... even if the manufacturer didn't advertise the BIOS fix and something I needed. However... I'll admit I've been bit once or twice doing firmware updates to electronic devices other than my PC's. For that reason, in regards to my B6, I made the decision to wait on each LG firmware update until I got a warm and fuzzy feeling after reading through this forum. I'm still on the fence over 05.30.25 ... it seems to be a mixed bag as to if the elevated black issue has actually been fixed. Until the jury is in... I'm going to sit tight on 04.31.20
Chris-Paul likes this.

LG OLED65B6P - Yamaha RX-A2080 - Roku Ultra - Chromecast Ultra - PC Gaming Console - Panasonic DP-UB820
Elton Noway is offline  
post #26459 of 28648 Old 07-05-2018, 11:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venomis55 View Post
New update 05.30.30 for C6 is on lg's site for download now.
What does this update do?

Edit:

[05.30.30]
1. Improvement to change to Volume 0 while watching TV

I thought there was an update to how dark HDR game mode is, or is that just a hidden change?

Last edited by Makasuro; 07-05-2018 at 11:41 AM.
Makasuro is offline  
post #26460 of 28648 Old 07-05-2018, 12:21 PM
Member
 
xlc210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elton Noway View Post
Funny... I always considered myself of the old school PC bios mentality but my approach has been the opposite. Every PC I ever built i.e. dozens over the decades... I've always updated the BIOS as soon as an update was available... even if the manufacturer didn't advertise the BIOS fix and something I needed. However... I'll admit I've been bit once or twice doing firmware updates to electronic devices other than my PC's. For that reason, in regards to my B6, I made the decision to wait on each LG firmware update until I got a warm and fuzzy feeling after reading through this forum. I'm still on the fence over 05.30.25 ... it seems to be a mixed bag as to if the elevated black issue has actually been fixed. Until the jury is in... I'm going to sit tight on 04.31.20


I am in the same boat. I updated to 5.30.03 but rolled back because the blacks were visibly affected. I just can’t figure out how to get the update message to stop popping up. I am afraid the wife will accidentally update.
Chris-Paul and edo101 like this.
xlc210 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
arc , C6-B6 , calibration , computer , desktop , firmware update , lg c6 pc sdr hdr , lg oled , monitor , oled , oled b6 , oled lg , screen damage , screen uniformity , settings , soundbar , there is sig

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off