2016 LG C6-B6 owners thread - Page 935 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 264307Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #28021 of 28460 Old 07-16-2019, 11:26 AM
Member
 
Gagorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by g.costanza View Post
Interesting. Anyone know the cause of this weird behavior? This is the first issue I’ve had with the tv but it really doesn’t get used much.
After I went thru the whole reset/setup of the tv I couldn’t get audio from my roku thru the hdmi input it had been connected to for the last year. I had to switch hdmi inputs to get audio. Weird. Must be buggy software.
I have had this same issue a few times. What helps for me is changing gamma to another setting and changing it back, it seems to reset the posterization problem.
Gagorian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #28022 of 28460 Old 07-16-2019, 12:24 PM
Newbie
 
rick h101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Upscaling

I have a 55C6P and and OPPO 203. Which should I have doing the upscaling. The OPPO or the C6. Thanks.
rick h101 is offline  
post #28023 of 28460 Old 07-16-2019, 12:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by rick h101 View Post
I have a 55C6P and and OPPO 203. Which should I have doing the upscaling. The OPPO or the C6. Thanks.


This is something I would like to know too. If the Oppo is better, which settings are best for the B6?

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED C9
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #28024 of 28460 Old 07-16-2019, 10:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Guys I havent been able to figure out if i can get Dolby Vision on my B6 from sources different to the UHD discs.

I mean, if i get a Sony UBPX700 or an LG UBK90, should i be able to stream Netflix DV content to the TV?

I read there are some issues getting dolby vision from Xbox One or Amazon Fire Stick 4k because somehow the B6 implemented DV in a different way so it wasn able to get it from certain external sources so i wanted to make sure i should be able to stream DV, before buying the UHD player.

Anyone can confirm i should be able to do this with any of the players i mentioned?

LG B6, LG SJ8, H7, H4s & GTX 1060

Last edited by posadajulian; 07-16-2019 at 10:33 PM.
posadajulian is offline  
post #28025 of 28460 Old 07-17-2019, 04:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
This is something I would like to know too. If the Oppo is better, which settings are best for the B6?
Having owned the 203 and a B6 for about 2 years now and trying different settings, I have settled on Auto settings, which is the default, I'm not quite sure which does the upscaling with auto settings though.

In video settings something like this:

Custom
UHD Auto
Auto
Auto
gunner842 is offline  
post #28026 of 28460 Old 07-17-2019, 04:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunner842 View Post
Having owned the 203 and a B6 for about 2 years now and trying different settings, I have settled on Auto settings, which is the default, I'm not quite sure which does the upscaling with auto settings though.



In video settings something like this:



Custom

UHD Auto

Auto

Auto


Tried it, but the colors look rather dull on auto (which means 4:4:4), compared to 4:4:2. With your settings the player is doing the upscaling.

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED C9
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #28027 of 28460 Old 07-18-2019, 03:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
Tried it, but the colors look rather dull on auto (which means 4:4:4), compared to 4:4:2. With your settings the player is doing the upscaling.
Yep thats correct, if you switch to source direct your B6 will do the upscaling, I've noticed no difference between the upscaling duties, apart from when watch a DVD which is rare, with source direct DVD looks awful, I have found the Oppo does a better job at upscaling in this instance.

As for the other settings I haven't seen any difference in colours, so Auto is ok for me, which is 4:4:4 @ 12bit.

You might be better off posting in the Oppo203 thread on here.

*Just had a browse of the thread and it seems for LG Oleds 4:2:2 seems the recommended, but I don't think it should make a difference, apart from the fact 4:2:2 will carry less bandwidth over your hdmi cables, 4:4:4 I guess could cause issues if your hdmi cables are not up to spec.

I might try 4:2:2 now, lol.

Last edited by gunner842; 07-18-2019 at 03:58 AM.
gunner842 is offline  
post #28028 of 28460 Old 07-18-2019, 04:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me if HDR game mode is brighter in the latest 5.30.65 firmware, I'm on 4.31.25 (UK).

I never tested it properly when I was briefly on an earlier 5* firmware before I downgraded again, I know that its at the cost of possible elevated blacks, but Im just curious if HDR game is brighter?
gunner842 is offline  
post #28029 of 28460 Old 07-22-2019, 07:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 21
OLED picture brightness

I noticed when I use the menu on my 65 C6P OLED, the picture gets brighter and looks real nice. Once I exit, goes darker again. Anyone know why? I already have Energy Saving off.

When menu is on, pic is brighter and it looks amazing but not washed out like when increase brightness only. How can I keep it bright like such?

I’ve played with settings again but can’t get that same quality.

Thank you!

Last edited by tigerljj1; 07-22-2019 at 07:34 PM.
tigerljj1 is offline  
post #28030 of 28460 Old 07-24-2019, 04:08 AM
Member
 
Cineoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Sweden
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerljj1 View Post
I noticed when I use the menu on my 65 C6P OLED, the picture gets brighter and looks real nice. Once I exit, goes darker again. Anyone know why? I already have Energy Saving off.

When menu is on, pic is brighter and it looks amazing but not washed out like when increase brightness only. How can I keep it bright like such?

I’ve played with settings again but can’t get that same quality.

Thank you!
This sounds like the ABL(Automatic Brightness Limiter) is kicking in, and sadly this is nothing you can do about as it's a "non-user" setting.
On my Sony AF8 there is a setting for Peak luminance(high, medium, low of off) which does impact the light output greatly thus it doesn't affect the ABL, but as you allow for higher peak brightness of the overall picture it at least widens the range the ABL works within.
I don't know if LG has something similar in their brightness settings?

With that said thou, I recall seeing a review from "HDTVTest"(pretty sure it was a LG C8 comparision) where they did a test with ABL disabled which could be turned off/on through the Service Menu.
However I'm positive that you would void your warranty, if any, by turning this off and last but not least, ABL is there for a reason.
AFAIK it's controlling maximum power consumption as well a protecting your panel(subpixels) from producing to much light hence avoiding premature degradation and possibly other unwanted picture problems like permanent burn-in.

So I would strongly advice not to fiddle with this even if you find a way to do it.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TV: Sony Bravia KD-65AF8
Projector: Panasonic PT-AX100E
AVR: Harman/Kardon AVR-230
Speakers: KEF KHT 2005 (The Egg)
Cineoholic is offline  
post #28031 of 28460 Old 07-24-2019, 09:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerljj1 View Post
I noticed when I use the menu on my 65 C6P OLED, the picture gets brighter and looks real nice. Once I exit, goes darker again. Anyone know why? I already have Energy Saving off.

When menu is on, pic is brighter and it looks amazing but not washed out like when increase brightness only. How can I keep it bright like such?

I’ve played with settings again but can’t get that same quality.

Thank you!
It happens to me too. Probably it will go way when OLED don't burn in anymore.
_djs_ is offline  
post #28032 of 28460 Old 07-26-2019, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
annisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Does anybody have tips on Dolby Vision settings with the B6 ? When Chad B was here back in 2016 it wasn't possible for him to calibrate or change any settings in that mode.

LG B6 (Chad B. calibrated)
Yamaha 681 AVR
Polk Audio 3.1.2 Atmos
Panasonic UB820
Custom HTPC/Emby WMC/MPC-BE/MadVR
annisman is offline  
post #28033 of 28460 Old 07-26-2019, 02:23 PM
Senior Member
 
evoll88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by annisman View Post
Does anybody have tips on Dolby Vision settings with the B6 ? When Chad B was here back in 2016 it wasn't possible for him to calibrate or change any settings in that mode.
Honestly the stock settings are the best since you can't calibrate it but i would turn off edge enhancer etc. My E6 was calibrated for sdr/hdr but no Dv either. I use it for 3d movies now and my C8 for hdr/Dv since it is calibrated for both.
evoll88 is offline  
post #28034 of 28460 Old 07-26-2019, 02:38 PM
Senior Member
 
annisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by evoll88 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by annisman View Post
Does anybody have tips on Dolby Vision settings with the B6 ? When Chad B was here back in 2016 it wasn't possible for him to calibrate or change any settings in that mode.
Honestly the stock settings are the best since you can't calibrate it but i would turn off edge enhancer etc. My E6 was calibrated for sdr/hdr but no Dv either. I use it for 3d movies now and my C8 for hdr/Dv since it is calibrated for both.
What about tru motion ? Chad set mine the same in HDR and SDR at '2' and '9' respectively, can't remember what the two settings are called though. Copy it over to DV ?

LG B6 (Chad B. calibrated)
Yamaha 681 AVR
Polk Audio 3.1.2 Atmos
Panasonic UB820
Custom HTPC/Emby WMC/MPC-BE/MadVR
annisman is offline  
post #28035 of 28460 Old 07-26-2019, 06:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,052
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2463 Post(s)
Liked: 2091
Has anybody else noticed that sometimes when an HDMI device switches resolutions, the TV freaks out and starts displaying static on screen on and off, until you switch inputs?

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Chromecast Ultra
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is offline  
post #28036 of 28460 Old 07-26-2019, 06:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Fackamato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphinapg View Post
Has anybody else noticed that sometimes when an HDMI device switches resolutions, the TV freaks out and starts displaying static on screen on and off, until you switch inputs?
Are you sure it's not the AVR? I get that sometimes on my Denon, but perhaps only on the Chromecast input (which isn't the AVR's fault then).

LG OLED55C6P calibrated
Denon X4400H 5.2.4
Denovo HTM-10
HSU Research surrounds
2x18" Dayton Ultimax sealed < Pro-LITE 7.5 amp < MiniDSP 2x4 HD
Fackamato is online now  
post #28037 of 28460 Old 07-26-2019, 06:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,052
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2463 Post(s)
Liked: 2091
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fackamato View Post
Are you sure it's not the AVR? I get that sometimes on my Denon, but perhaps only on the Chromecast input (which isn't the AVR's fault then).
Oh interesting, yeah it could be.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Chromecast Ultra
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is offline  
post #28038 of 28460 Old 07-29-2019, 12:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
mttpalmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 459 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by evoll88 View Post
Honestly the stock settings are the best since you can't calibrate it but i would turn off edge enhancer etc. My E6 was calibrated for sdr/hdr but no Dv either. I use it for 3d movies now and my C8 for hdr/Dv since it is calibrated for both.
I think I read somewhere that you can calibrate DV through the service menu, but that's a bit risky since it would be rather easy to misstep and mess something up. Anyone know if this is a legit method to calibrate DV? The way I understand, you're basically calibrating the whole set this way with the base SM settings.

OLED55E6P (609 build)
Denon X2400H
KEF Q100 L/R/C, SVS SB12-NSD
XB1S, Roku Ultra
mttpalmer is offline  
post #28039 of 28460 Old 07-29-2019, 03:50 PM
Newbie
 
edelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
B6 Issue with 4k and Xbox One S

After many years of owning my 65 B6 i purchased my 1st UHD Blueray and cannot get my Xbox to connect at 4k. It keeps reporting that the TV does not support 4k. It'a definitely the B6 since i connected the Xbox directly the the TV using HDMI 2 and bypassed my receiver. I took the same cable and connected it to my E7 i have in another room and it shows full 4k support immediately.

I saw some threads where you needed to disable deep color, reboot and then re-enable and reboot again... did not fix anything. Xbox is patched with the latest updates but is not the issue.

Any suggestions? I apologize if this has been asked and answered before... my forum search only showed the toggling of deep color.

Thank you, -Shane
edelman is offline  
post #28040 of 28460 Old 07-29-2019, 10:22 PM
Senior Member
 
HD KOOL-AID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by edelman View Post
B6 Issue with 4k and Xbox One S

After many years of owning my 65 B6 i purchased my 1st UHD Blueray and cannot get my Xbox to connect at 4k. It keeps reporting that the TV does not support 4k. It'a definitely the B6 since i connected the Xbox directly the the TV using HDMI 2 and bypassed my receiver. I took the same cable and connected it to my E7 i have in another room and it shows full 4k support immediately.

I saw some threads where you needed to disable deep color, reboot and then re-enable and reboot again... did not fix anything. Xbox is patched with the latest updates but is not the issue.

Any suggestions? I apologize if this has been asked and answered before... my forum search only showed the toggling of deep color.

Thank you, -Shane
I would unplug the B6 for about minute. Plug back in. And or do a hard reset on the xbox. You can Google the steps. Something like hold power button for 10 seconds until it beeps or restarts.
HD KOOL-AID is online now  
post #28041 of 28460 Old 07-30-2019, 12:26 AM
Member
 
northrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by annisman View Post
Does anybody have tips on Dolby Vision settings with the B6?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mttpalmer View Post
I think I read somewhere that you can calibrate DV through the service menu, but that's a bit risky since it would be rather easy to misstep and mess something up. Anyone know if this is a legit method to calibrate DV? The way I understand, you're basically calibrating the whole set this way with the base SM settings.

It is possible to calibrate the white balance of DV in the Service Menu. To get into the SM you need either a service remote, Logitech Harmony, smartphone with IR blaster or nerd solution (=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9qtQLrjpO4c&t=1s). Press EZ-ADJUST option and enter 0413 for the password. Choose 12. White Balance to get into 2-pt white balance menu and choose a different color temp than what you are using with SDR ( in my case COOL) and choose that color temp for DV in User Menu White Balance too. To get to normal mode press EZ-ADJUST again. The 20 Point WB does not affect DV.



For calibration you need a DV patterns, a meter and a metering software. When calibrating you meter the WB in normal DV mode and then go into SM to adjust the values and meter again until you are satisfied with the result. In my case with stock settings there were too much green. The end result is not perfect but much better than stock.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	B6_DV_SM.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	43.8 KB
ID:	2596218   Click image for larger version

Name:	B6_DV_WB.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	141.9 KB
ID:	2596220  
mttpalmer likes this.

LG OLED 55B6V, Finnsat FST03PVR, Toshiba 1T HDD, Genelec 6010B, BK XLS200-DF MK2
JVC DLA-X35BE, PS3, Apple TV3, Yamaha RX-V383, Tannoy Mercury F2, Tannoy Mercury F1, BK Monolith

Last edited by northrob; 07-30-2019 at 12:47 AM.
northrob is offline  
post #28042 of 28460 Old 07-30-2019, 06:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
mttpalmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 459 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by northrob View Post
It is possible to calibrate the white balance of DV in the Service Menu. To get into the SM you need either a service remote, Logitech Harmony, smartphone with IR blaster or nerd solution (=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9qtQLrjpO4c&t=1s). Press EZ-ADJUST option and enter 0413 for the password. Choose 12. White Balance to get into 2-pt white balance menu and choose a different color temp than what you are using with SDR ( in my case COOL) and choose that color temp for DV in User Menu White Balance too. To get to normal mode press EZ-ADJUST again. The 20 Point WB does not affect DV.

For calibration you need a DV patterns, a meter and a metering software. When calibrating you meter the WB in normal DV mode and then go into SM to adjust the values and meter again until you are satisfied with the result. In my case with stock settings there were too much green. The end result is not perfect but much better than stock.
I have the Harmony, meter, and software, but still need the DV (and HDR) patterns. any recommendations? Will the 2 pt calibration of DV in the SM affect my SDR calibration? Is that the purpose of choosing a different color temp, to avoid messing with a different color temp's calibration? I wasn't aware that color temp calibrations were independent, but I'm pretty sure picture modes are (e.g. ISF Dark, Cinema, Game, etc.).

I am also looking to calibrate out the green tint in DV.

BTW, thank you for one of the most generous and helpful posts I've ever seen in any forum!

OLED55E6P (609 build)
Denon X2400H
KEF Q100 L/R/C, SVS SB12-NSD
XB1S, Roku Ultra
mttpalmer is offline  
post #28043 of 28460 Old 07-30-2019, 07:11 AM
Member
 
northrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by mttpalmer View Post
I have the Harmony, meter, and software, but still need the DV (and HDR) patterns. any recommendations?
The patterns can be purchased here.


Quote:
Originally Posted by mttpalmer View Post
Will the 2 pt calibration of DV in the SM affect my SDR calibration? Is that the purpose of choosing a different color temp, to avoid messing with a different color temp's calibration?
SM 2-pt and 20-pt White Balance affect SDR so to avoid that a different color temp must be chosen. You can calibrate SDR (and HDR) in SM though. SM color temp COOL has an effect on User Menu COOL, SM MID on UM MID and WARM 1 and SM WARM on UM WARM 2 and 3.


Quote:
Originally Posted by mttpalmer View Post
I am also looking to calibrate out the green tint in DV.
I had the same problem. Good luck with your calibration.
mttpalmer likes this.

LG OLED 55B6V, Finnsat FST03PVR, Toshiba 1T HDD, Genelec 6010B, BK XLS200-DF MK2
JVC DLA-X35BE, PS3, Apple TV3, Yamaha RX-V383, Tannoy Mercury F2, Tannoy Mercury F1, BK Monolith
northrob is offline  
post #28044 of 28460 Old 07-30-2019, 06:10 PM
Newbie
 
edelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD KOOL-AID View Post
I would unplug the B6 for about minute. Plug back in. And or do a hard reset on the xbox. You can Google the steps. Something like hold power button for 10 seconds until it beeps or restarts.
Thank you so much for the reply, I appreciate it Mr. Kool-Aid. I performed the hard reset while keeping the TV unplugged for a few minutes and have the same "Your TV does not support 4K" issue. I also toggled all of the Deep Color settings to off and on again and also tried another cable... nothing worked... except for moving the Xbox to a different LG OLED which again worked immediately. I will have to stick to standard 1080P discs on the B6.

Thanks again!
edelman is offline  
post #28045 of 28460 Old 07-30-2019, 07:40 PM
Senior Member
 
HD KOOL-AID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by edelman View Post
Thank you so much for the reply, I appreciate it Mr. Kool-Aid. I performed the hard reset while keeping the TV unplugged for a few minutes and have the same "Your TV does not support 4K" issue. I also toggled all of the Deep Color settings to off and on again and also tried another cable... nothing worked... except for moving the Xbox to a different LG OLED which again worked immediately. I will have to stick to standard 1080P discs on the B6.

Thanks again!
One more thing I would try is unplug HDMI and clear or turn off HDMI in setting and reboot tv. Then plug HDMI again and set up the HDMI for HDR. And or try a new high speed HDMI cable. Or if you're tv is not calibrated. I would do a factory reset.

Last edited by HD KOOL-AID; 07-30-2019 at 08:09 PM.
HD KOOL-AID is online now  
post #28046 of 28460 Old 07-31-2019, 05:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JonW747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by NahsiK View Post
I've been wondering the same thing.
My 2016 C6 is great! I love pushing it with my Oppo player and tossing in a 3D movie every now and then.
I was excited to advance purchase ALITA in 4k that also comes with a 3D disc. I wish more movies were sold this way.
I'm secretly hoping 3D makes a comeback.
The newer sets are way more advanced as far as processing, brightness, etc. but I still don't know if it's enough for me to buy a new tv. The new 8k tv's don't even have players/cables/receivers, etc that can utilize it. Maybe in 2021?

Definitely a nice bonus, and it looks very sharp and bright, albeit from a quick peek it looked like they applied blur to the background artificially and it's a little distracting in that it didn't seem to vary with distance from the camera.
JonW747 is online now  
post #28047 of 28460 Old 08-05-2019, 09:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,421
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 908 Post(s)
Liked: 881
Deleted

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS

Last edited by Jrocker23; 08-05-2019 at 10:47 AM.
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #28048 of 28460 Old 08-05-2019, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
Good morning all

Just bought a C9

Looking to sell a C6 ... Great condition. message me if interested

I will reply back with details when I get home from work. Hours used, etc.

Staten island, NYC local area only please

TV - LG C8 & LG C6, AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch


How different is the picture quality compared to your C6

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED C9
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #28049 of 28460 Old 08-05-2019, 09:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,421
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 908 Post(s)
Liked: 881
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
How different is the picture quality compared to your C6
Slightly brighter and seems to show slightly more detail.

TV - LG C8 & LG C6, AVR - Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Switch

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #28050 of 28460 Old 08-12-2019, 01:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Well this sucks.
Just as a finally got a 4K bluray player and started enjoying 4K movies my OLED65B6 decided to break down. Flickering lines all over the panel
Tried resetting it, powering it off (for a long time) and all other type of things I could find online.

Nice little video of the issue (oldtime lurker but new user so can't post urls...but its youtube and watch?v=6i0H6cTVn7E

Could it be a the t-con board is broken? (after reading through this scribd.com and doc/25276757/E40951307-TCON-Troubleshooting-10-22-09-OPT , while not for LG Oled's it certainly sounds like the t-con board)

No warranty (its 2+ years), LG only referred me to 3rd party serviceshop 200 miles from here, and after a phone call to them.
Anyone who has experienced something like this? Some confirmation it's likely the t-con board would be nice before I start hunting for one, something that seems like an adventure since most that are sold are from broken TV's and doesn't seem very likely to work well if one check other threads here where t-con board has been an issue.

/TBG
TheBossGamer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
arc , C6-B6 , calibration , computer , desktop , firmware update , lg c6 pc sdr hdr , lg oled , monitor , oled , oled b6 , oled lg , screen damage , screen uniformity , settings , soundbar , there is sig

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off