2016 LG C6-B6 owners thread - Page 946 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 264310Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #28351 of 28468 Old 12-16-2019, 01:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
iserum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jbran23 View Post
So you are a C6 and a 900F owner? I've been toying with the idea of buying an 85" 900F since the pricing has been super attractive for that monster of a TV for the last month or so but I'm concerned with the drop in quality from the C6. Not sure if I could live with it. My C6 is 65" and would move it to the bedroom and put the 85" 900F in the living room for a more immersive experience. Just not sure if the tradeoffs are worth it. Can u comment on what you see between the two tvs?
If you need big tv then 900f is ok, for money this the best you could get with some compromise, you can’t compare it with c6 as black will never be like oled. You will enjoy sd which very good and bright PQ, for some reason hdr and dv is not bright on 900F, in dark room 900F hdr is acceptable to some people, if you want bright tv this will be not for you. Sony tv processing is very good.
johnfusco likes this.

SONY XBR75X900F: Oppo UDP-203: DirecTv 4K: ATV4K
Marantz SR6013: Aircom T8: Dolby Atmos 5.2.4
Definitive Tech. BP9060, CS 9060 HD: Mythos GEM: SM 55
Subwoofer Paradigm X12: Panamax MR4300
Harmony Elite Remote:Philips Hue Ambient Lights
iserum is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #28352 of 28468 Old 12-16-2019, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by bull3964 View Post
Yeah, the main reason why 60hz DV would be nice is not for 60hz content, it's for better compatibility with streaming devices that don't handle switching to 24hz well or at all.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Exactly. You can't use the Fire TV 4K stick with the 2016 LG because you will be forced to choose between 4K with no DV or 1080p/DV. Apple TV 4K works fine though.
SinGA likes this.

Sony 55A9F
LG 55B6
Micolash is offline  
post #28353 of 28468 Old 12-17-2019, 06:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Belgium
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post
Xbox only supports DV low-latency mode which is the Sony implementation. Older 2016 LGs can do it because it didn't exist when they were made.
DV low-latency mode = DV 60 Hz. Still there is no reason why they choose to support only 60 Hz DV when it's only used for Netflix, besides the fact that they were to lazy to implement frame rate switching for apps other than the built-in Blu-ray app.
G4n0nD0rf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #28354 of 28468 Old 12-17-2019, 08:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by iserum View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jbran23 View Post
So you are a C6 and a 900F owner? I've been toying with the idea of buying an 85" 900F since the pricing has been super attractive for that monster of a TV for the last month or so but I'm concerned with the drop in quality from the C6. Not sure if I could live with it. My C6 is 65" and would move it to the bedroom and put the 85" 900F in the living room for a more immersive experience. Just not sure if the tradeoffs are worth it. Can u comment on what you see between the two tvs?
If you need big tv then 900f is ok, for money this the best you could get with some compromise, you can’️t compare it with c6 as black will never be like oled. You will enjoy sd which very good and bright PQ, for some reason hdr and dv is not bright on 900F, in dark room 900F hdr is acceptable to some people, if you want bright tv this will be not for you. Sony tv processing is very good.
Yes that seems to be the consensus with the DV and HDR implementation on the 900F. I think that's a deal breaker for me as I own and watch a lot of UHD movies and stream a lot of DV content. To have a nice 85" monster tv in the living would be very cool though if I wasnt so geared towards UHD movies.

I'm afraid that after watching my C6 for over 3 years now that i have been ruined and no non-OLED TV would be acceptable. Lol. I have seen the newer Samsung Q90 though and it does have very inky blacks but this was in a fairly well lit room. Would love to see what it looks like in a dark room.
Jbran23 is offline  
post #28355 of 28468 Old 12-17-2019, 11:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Alamei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Has anyone with a B6 on 4.31.20 found a way to watch Disney+ in HDR without the disastrous color banding issues? Since the internal app isn't available on the older firmware, I tried loading the app on both a Roku Ultra and an NVIDIA Shield TV (2015), but both of their outputs suffer from the banding issues known in the 4.x firmware revisions. Is there any streaming device currently available that outputs in 4:2:0 10-bit format at 23.976Hz for compatibility with the 4.x firmware revisions?


EDIT: It looks like the Roku has a forced 4:2:0 10-bit mode in the advanced settings that works alright. For whatever peculiar reason, though, that mode isn't compatible with my Marantz NR1606 receiver (still get the banding), so I have to run the Roku straight into the TV and feed the audio back through to the ARC to the AVR.

Last edited by Alamei; 12-19-2019 at 12:35 AM.
Alamei is offline  
post #28356 of 28468 Old 12-18-2019, 12:38 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Please, please help me

A vertical line suddenly appeared on my panel across every input. I'm quite worried. It sometimes appears very faint (with colorful, vivid, and overall lighter images) but when it's a darker screen it's very noticeable.

Attached a screenshot. Any ideas?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191218_142601.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	1.11 MB
ID:	2655648  
reliable_merman is offline  
post #28357 of 28468 Old 12-19-2019, 12:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Alamei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alamei View Post
It looks like the Roku has a forced 4:2:0 10-bit mode in the advanced settings that works alright. For whatever peculiar reason, though, that mode isn't compatible with my Marantz NR1606 receiver (still get the banding), so I have to run the Roku straight into the TV and feed the audio back through to the ARC to the AVR.

New question arising from this setup: Is there any way to make the B6 pass DD 5.1 sound from an external HDMI source through ARC? I get DD 5.1 through the internal apps (Netflix/Amazon), but when I plug the Roku or Shield into the TV and have it pass the sound through, I only get PCM stereo, even though it detects as supporting DD/DTS.
Alamei is offline  
post #28358 of 28468 Old 12-19-2019, 10:21 AM
Member
 
tanis38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by reliable_merman View Post
Please, please help me

A vertical line suddenly appeared on my panel across every input. I'm quite worried. It sometimes appears very faint (with colorful, vivid, and overall lighter images) but when it's a darker screen it's very noticeable.

Attached a screenshot. Any ideas?
Have you tried to unplug the tv for a bit and then plugging it back in? If that doesn't work, try a factory reset?
tanis38 is offline  
post #28359 of 28468 Old 12-19-2019, 09:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bull3964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,579
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 538
The Disney+ app on the C6 does 5.1 audio now. Must have been a server side switch because there was no app update.

So, I can do DV with 5.1 on the TV or do HDR10 with Atmos with the Roku. I think Dolby Vision wins.
morphinapg likes this.
bull3964 is offline  
post #28360 of 28468 Old 12-19-2019, 09:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Alamei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by bull3964 View Post
The Disney+ app on the C6 does 5.1 audio now.
It's incredibly annoying that the Disney+ app isn't supported on the older firmware revisions for the B6. If I had to venture a guess as to why, I'd say that LG just added some additional DRM-related features in the 5.x firmwares that Disney wanted to utilize in the app, which makes it all the more frustrating that users have to choose between getting proper black levels and having access to the latest content.
Alamei is offline  
post #28361 of 28468 Old 12-20-2019, 12:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,063
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2468 Post(s)
Liked: 2099
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alamei View Post
It's incredibly annoying that the Disney+ app isn't supported on the older firmware revisions for the B6. If I had to venture a guess as to why, I'd say that LG just added some additional DRM-related features in the 5.x firmwares that Disney wanted to utilize in the app, which makes it all the more frustrating that users have to choose between getting proper black levels and having access to the latest content.
I would be more surprised if any new apps worked on older firmware. I don't think it's them intentionally blocking anything, it's just a new app so it's targeting a new API.

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk
mttpalmer, Alamei and Jrocker23 like this.

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Chromecast Ultra
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is offline  
post #28362 of 28468 Old 12-20-2019, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Alamei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 110
You make a very fair point; I suppose I'm just still bothered by LG's unwillingness to acknowledge the issues they created in the 5.x firmwares and am prescribing malice to actions where none exists.
Alamei is offline  
post #28363 of 28468 Old 12-20-2019, 07:25 PM
Senior Member
 
LG8600User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by bull3964 View Post
The Disney+ app on the C6 does 5.1 audio now. Must have been a server side switch because there was no app update.

So, I can do DV with 5.1 on the TV or do HDR10 with Atmos with the Roku. I think Dolby Vision wins.

It did in fact (finally) update to 1.1.5

The internal version now matches the external version (1.1.5) as displayed in the LG content store - the 1.1.5 "update" (that wasn't) from a month ago (11/18).

Since this is a mostly externally hosted app with a stub/re-director (you can tell by the size), it was clearly an issue with the downloadable package from the external server (ahem, Disney), which is why the app actually-updated to 1.1.5 without a notification from the LG store. Perhaps Disney now understands they manage their own app hosting server...

Also, this is not the "Magic Remote" enabling update as promised - in fact, this effectively disables the Magic Remote in-app. So there should be another update "coming soon" (soon being mid-Q2 '20 apparently) that actually enables the Magic Remote.

But I'll take 5.1/Atmos audio over optimized use of the Magic Remote, though it'd be better to have that too.

Make sure to test/verify the 5.1/Atmos is working.
LG8600User is offline  
post #28364 of 28468 Old 12-21-2019, 10:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Where does everyone have OLED LIGHT set at for Dolby Vision content?
Jbran23 is offline  
post #28365 of 28468 Old 12-21-2019, 11:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bull3964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,579
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by LG8600User View Post
It did in fact (finally) update to 1.1.5

The internal version now matches the external version (1.1.5) as displayed in the LG content store - the 1.1.5 "update" (that wasn't) from a month ago (11/18).

Since this is a mostly externally hosted app with a stub/re-director (you can tell by the size), it was clearly an issue with the downloadable package from the external server (ahem, Disney), which is why the app actually-updated to 1.1.5 without a notification from the LG store. Perhaps Disney now understands they manage their own app hosting server...

Also, this is not the "Magic Remote" enabling update as promised - in fact, this effectively disables the Magic Remote in-app. So there should be another update "coming soon" (soon being mid-Q2 '20 apparently) that actually enables the Magic Remote.

But I'll take 5.1/Atmos audio over optimized use of the Magic Remote, though it'd be better to have that too.

Make sure to test/verify the 5.1/Atmos is working.
Well, I mean, there isn't going to be Atmos from the internal app since the C6 doesn't support Atmos over ARC. What I was saying is I can get Atmos with an external device (Roku) but it's HDR 10. If I use the internal app I forgo Atmos, but I get Dolby Vision. For me, I think the Dolby Vision wins over having Atmos.
bull3964 is offline  
post #28366 of 28468 Old 12-21-2019, 12:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,430
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 916 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jbran23 View Post
Where does everyone have OLED LIGHT set at for Dolby Vision content?
It should be at 50.

You really shouldn't need to change anything in DV or HDR.



LG C9, C8, C6 w/Pioneer SC-LX502 AVR, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Nintendo Switch

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #28367 of 28468 Old 12-21-2019, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jbran23 View Post
Where does everyone have OLED LIGHT set at for Dolby Vision content?
It should be at 50.

You really shouldn't need to change anything in DV or HDR.



LG C9, C8, C6 w/Pioneer SC-LX502 AVR, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Nintendo Switch
It defaults at 100 in DV. I have heard some people say 50 is correct but wasnt sure.
Jbran23 is offline  
post #28368 of 28468 Old 12-21-2019, 12:58 PM
Senior Member
 
LG8600User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by bull3964 View Post
Well, I mean, there isn't going to be Atmos from the internal app since the C6 doesn't support Atmos over ARC. What I was saying is I can get Atmos with an external device (Roku) but it's HDR 10. If I use the internal app I forgo Atmos, but I get Dolby Vision. For me, I think the Dolby Vision wins over having Atmos.
Simply pointing out that in fact the app did update (details/background provided) which is what allowed the 5.1/Atmos.

And the C6 does support 5.1 over ARC, so the 5.1 of "5.1/Atmos" applies (5.1 is an upgrade over 2.0, which is all anyone had prior to 1.1.5).

Understandable that you'd choose DV+5.1 rather than HDR10+Atmos, I'd probably make the same choice most of the time.
LG8600User is offline  
post #28369 of 28468 Old 12-21-2019, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
evoll88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jbran23 View Post
It defaults at 100 in DV. I have heard some people say 50 is correct but wasnt sure.
DV should default at 50 and HDR-10 should default at 100.
morphinapg likes this.
evoll88 is offline  
post #28370 of 28468 Old 12-21-2019, 02:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,583
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5586 Post(s)
Liked: 3993
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jbran23 View Post
It defaults at 100 in DV. I have heard some people say 50 is correct but wasnt sure.
On the 2019 OLED's it defaults to 100, which is equivalent to 50 on older tv's. Raising OLED light lowers the gamma, so if you prefer a lower gamma, increase the OLED light. Not the end of the world, especially on the 2016 models where DV can not be calibrated. I highly doubt DV is accurate out of the box on our older OLEDS.
wxman is offline  
post #28371 of 28468 Old 12-21-2019, 03:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,063
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2468 Post(s)
Liked: 2099
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jbran23 View Post
Where does everyone have OLED LIGHT set at for Dolby Vision content?
50 is the correct number

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Chromecast Ultra
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is offline  
post #28372 of 28468 Old 12-22-2019, 08:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Elton Noway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Is my B6 putting a choke hold on my entertainment?

Still plugging along with my trusty B6... even though it has failed to keep up with HDTV technology changes.

As of today all of the components in my entertainment center are of a "newer generation" than my aging B6. All are 4K compatible devices. My most recent addition is a Yamaha RX-A2080 AVR which supports 4K/60p is HDCP2.2 compliant, Dolby Vision, Atmos, dtsX, 4K UHD pass-through etc etc. I'm aware the B6 may now the limiting factor in my setup but was wondering ... for this current setup... Are there any settings in the B6 that I should turn on/off etc, that would yield the best overall viewing results? (e.g. let the AVR handle the video processing) My B6 is currently connected as follows:

korsjs likes this.

LG OLED65B6P - Yamaha RX-A2080 - Roku Ultra - Chromecast Ultra - PC Gaming Console - Panasonic DP-UB820
Elton Noway is offline  
post #28373 of 28468 Old 12-22-2019, 10:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
iserum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elton Noway View Post
Still plugging along with my trusty B6... even though it has failed to keep up with HDTV technology changes.

As of today all of the components in my entertainment center are of a "newer generation" than my aging B6. All are 4K compatible devices. My most recent addition is a Yamaha RX-A2080 AVR which supports 4K/60p is HDCP2.2 compliant, Dolby Vision, Atmos, dtsX, 4K UHD pass-through etc etc. I'm aware the B6 may now the limiting factor in my setup but was wondering ... for this current setup... Are there any settings in the B6 that I should turn on/off etc, that would yield the best overall viewing results? (e.g. let the AVR handle the video processing) My B6 is currently connected as follows:

it looks correct. you will not get dolby atmos on ARC though.

SONY XBR75X900F: Oppo UDP-203: DirecTv 4K: ATV4K
Marantz SR6013: Aircom T8: Dolby Atmos 5.2.4
Definitive Tech. BP9060, CS 9060 HD: Mythos GEM: SM 55
Subwoofer Paradigm X12: Panamax MR4300
Harmony Elite Remote:Philips Hue Ambient Lights
iserum is offline  
post #28374 of 28468 Old 12-22-2019, 04:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Elton Noway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by iserum View Post
it looks correct. you will not get dolby atmos on ARC though.
Thanks for the quick response. However... could you please elaborate? My plan and main source for ATMOS (hopefully) will be 4K/UHD Bluray discs. I'm aware if I were to stream Netflix via my OLED I won't get Atmos or if I used an optical cable from the OLED I'd get a simpler format like 5.1. That said.. I certainly don't want to loose ATMOS considering the money I have invested in the AVR and Atmos speakers. I'm assuming the issue is with the configuration the way I'd plan to wire it (For 4K receiver to 4K TV ARC was suggested in the UB820 owners manual. What do you suggest? I assume I should be able to wire the system and not loose ATMOS ... unless the ATMOS audio signal gets passed through the TV first.

LG OLED65B6P - Yamaha RX-A2080 - Roku Ultra - Chromecast Ultra - PC Gaming Console - Panasonic DP-UB820

Last edited by Elton Noway; 12-22-2019 at 04:24 PM.
Elton Noway is offline  
post #28375 of 28468 Old 12-22-2019, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,430
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 916 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elton Noway View Post
Thanks for the quick response. However... could you please elaborate? My plan and main source for ATMOS (hopefully) will be 4K/UHD Bluray discs. I'm aware if I were to stream Netflix via my OLED I won't get Atmos or if I used an optical cable from the OLED I'd get a simpler format like 5.1. That said.. I certainly don't want to loose ATMOS considering the money I have invested. I'm assuming the issue is with the configuration the way I'd plan to wire it. What do you suggest?
Arc is fine for atmos. You can't get Atmos on optical.

As long as you use HDMI, you will be fine

LG C9, C8, C6 w/Pioneer SC-LX502 AVR, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Nintendo Switch

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #28376 of 28468 Old 12-22-2019, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,063
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2468 Post(s)
Liked: 2099
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elton Noway View Post
Thanks for the quick response. However... could you please elaborate? My plan and main source for ATMOS (hopefully) will be 4K/UHD Bluray discs. I'm aware if I were to stream Netflix via my OLED I won't get Atmos or if I used an optical cable from the OLED I'd get a simpler format like 5.1. That said.. I certainly don't want to loose ATMOS considering the money I have invested. I'm assuming the issue is with the configuration the way I'd plan to wire it. What do you suggest?
You'll get atmos from the player with that configuration. And you won't need optical from the TV. ARC sends audio back to the receiver. Just not Atmos with this model.

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W (5.1.2), PS4 Pro, Sony UBP-X700, Chromecast Ultra
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is offline  
post #28377 of 28468 Old 12-22-2019, 04:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Elton Noway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphinapg View Post
You'll get atmos from the player with that configuration. And you won't need optical from the TV. ARC sends audio back to the receiver. Just not Atmos with this model.

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk
Hi morphinapg! Always a pleasure to see your replies in this forum. Just to make sure I understand... would I be better off... changing the config and using a non-ARC HDMI port? I have my entertainment center pulled out from the wall and want to get it wired right the first time. New UB820 Bluray, ATMOS speakers, RX-A2080 AVR etc... would suck after the money I spent to hear the B6 will prevent me from getting ATMOS no matter how I wire it up.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
Arc is fine for atmos. You can't get Atmos on optical.

As long as you use HDMI, you will be fine

LG C9, C8, C6 w/Pioneer SC-LX502 AVR, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Nintendo Switch

Wow... Jrocker23... good to see a bunch of the old OLED gang still perusing this forum. As you can tell... I'm struggling to interpret the response from iserum saying: "you will not get dolby atmos on ARC though."

LG OLED65B6P - Yamaha RX-A2080 - Roku Ultra - Chromecast Ultra - PC Gaming Console - Panasonic DP-UB820

Last edited by Elton Noway; 12-22-2019 at 04:42 PM.
Elton Noway is offline  
post #28378 of 28468 Old 12-22-2019, 04:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,430
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 916 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elton Noway View Post
Hi morphinapg! Always a pleasure to see your replies in this forum. Just to make sure I understand... would I be better off... changing the config and using a non-ARC HDMI port? I have my entertainment center pulled out from the wall and want to get it wired right the first time. New UB820 Bluray, ATMOS speakers, RX-A2080 AVR etc... would suck after the money I spent to hear the B6 will prevent me from getting ATMOS no matter how I wire it up.



Wow... Jrocker23... good to see a bunch of the old OLED gang still perusing this forum. As you can tell... I'm struggling to interpret the response from iserum saying: "you will not get dolby atmos on ARC though."
Hey, I still have my C6. Atmos will play fine with your configuration from your Blu-ray player. Assuming your AVR is Atmos compatible. The C6 can't do atmos itself as you know.

LG C9, C8, C6 w/Pioneer SC-LX502 AVR, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Nintendo Switch

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #28379 of 28468 Old 12-22-2019, 04:50 PM
Member
 
Bleeding Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Upgrading and downgrading B6 firmware

I upgraded my B6 firmware to the next one up from 04.31.20 years ago, then downgraded right back. There have been several firmware upgrades since then, and I'd like to try upgrading again with the option of downgrading.

I know that it's still possible to upgrade to 05.40.01 and go back if desired, using the LgDTVUpdater at the Russian website. But I have two questions:

1). The upgrade to 05.40.01 appears to be for all 2016 OLED models. Is that possible? Can the B6 use firmware designed for the G6, etc.?

2.) If I wish to downgrade, I don't see a 04.31.20 firmware. I only see 04.30.xx, and no U.S. versions. Am I not able to downgrade to 04.31.20? If so, which country's firmware folder/file do I choose?

Thanks in advance to the community!

LG OLED65B6P-U, Revel B15a (2), SVS Ultra Towers, Anthem MRX 720, TiVo Roamio OTA, Apple TV 4K, Sony PS3, LG UP870, Panamax MAX 5500
Bleeding Edge is offline  
post #28380 of 28468 Old 12-22-2019, 04:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Elton Noway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrocker23 View Post
Hey, I still have my C6. Atmos will play fine with your configuration from your Blu-ray player. Assuming your AVR is Atmos compatible. The C6 can't do atmos itself as you know.

LG C9, C8, C6 w/Pioneer SC-LX502 AVR, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro & Nintendo Switch
Thanks... Good to hear! Yep... my AVR and Bluray are both ATMOS compatible. If my earlier planned wiring config gets me ATMOS thats all I care about.

Sigh... still kicking myself for the day I went back to BestBuy during their return window and returned a perfectly good C6 and swapped it for a B6 (all because I read a review disparaging curved displays... sheesh)

LG OLED65B6P - Yamaha RX-A2080 - Roku Ultra - Chromecast Ultra - PC Gaming Console - Panasonic DP-UB820
Elton Noway is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
arc , C6-B6 , calibration , computer , desktop , firmware update , lg c6 pc sdr hdr , lg oled , monitor , oled , oled b6 , oled lg , screen damage , screen uniformity , settings , soundbar , there is sig

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off