How to: Turn off ASBL on LG OLED TV - Page 12 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 77Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 346 Old 02-05-2020, 06:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 622 Post(s)
Liked: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duc Vu View Post
Did you buy the one in the picture I posted?
The power button on mine is a little darker.

Bought it off Amazon.

Do not press IN STOP to exit the service menu.
avernar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 346 Old 02-05-2020, 12:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,756
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5743 Post(s)
Liked: 4112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irrequieto View Post
Anyone can explain me the procedure to enter in service menu whit this remote? I need to turn off ASBL! I have to sync the remote with the tv first?

Thanks
Hit the In Start button on remote.

Enter 0413

Arrow down on remote to OLED

Hit right arrow on remote

TPC Enable is ASBL. Turn it off. Use right arrow button to turn off.

Hit Exit button on remote.


You have now turned off ASBL successfully.
DaverJ and srijan like this.
wxman is offline  
post #333 of 346 Old 02-06-2020, 09:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
Hit the In Start button on remote.

Enter 0413

Arrow down on remote to OLED

Hit right arrow on remote

TPC Enable is ASBL. Turn it off. Use right arrow button to turn off.

Hit Exit button on remote.


You have now turned off ASBL successfully.
Thank you so much!!!
Irrequieto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #334 of 346 Old 02-07-2020, 11:13 AM
Member
 
beardmoen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by TotesBreakfast View Post
I own an E8 and a B9. A few months ago I bought the following remote and it was a breeze to enter the service menu and turn off ASBL on both TVs:


https://www.ebay.com/itm/US-New-MKJ3...kAAOSwP4FaTeku


I use the E8 primarily for movies/shows and my B9 primarily as a PC monitor and I've had no issues since disabling. I'm a lot happier with it off.
Can I ask what your picture setting are for the B9?
beardmoen is offline  
post #335 of 346 Old 02-08-2020, 06:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene9p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 1,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 122
I just ordered one..thanks....
gene9p is offline  
post #336 of 346 Old 02-09-2020, 05:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dick Emery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 138
I have not seen dimming that often but saw it clearly on Gemini Man and it peeved me so. Thankfully I found out by checking with My Harmony with my Logitech remote someone added the service menu and in_start/out_start options. Synced up. Hit in_start and banged in the code. Thanks to this guide I now have it disabled. THANK YOU!!!
Dick Emery is offline  
post #337 of 346 Old 02-09-2020, 11:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardmoen View Post
Can I ask what your picture setting are for the B9?

I'm probably not the person to ask. I have a 65E8 that I use as my primary TV for movie watching. I use my B9 almost exclusively for gaming so I just use the HDR/SDR Game modes at their default settings. As with all of my TVs I just make sure to turn off pretty much all of the processing stuff with the exception of dynamic tone mapping for HDR10.
TotesBreakfast is offline  
post #338 of 346 Old 02-12-2020, 02:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
thanks for the link to the ebay listing for the remote.



when using these screens as PC monitors for normal usage, the dimming is pretty extreme. i've had somethings go so dark they it's hard to read text, etc. i barely notice it watching tv/movies/gaming, though.
guy_fieri_fan420 is offline  
post #339 of 346 Old 02-16-2020, 07:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gene9p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 1,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
Hit the In Start button on remote.

Enter 0413

Arrow down on remote to OLED

Hit right arrow on remote

TPC Enable is ASBL. Turn it off. Use right arrow button to turn off.

Hit Exit button on remote.


You have now turned off ASBL successfully.



done...very EZ thanks!
gene9p is offline  
post #340 of 346 Old 02-20-2020, 09:53 AM
Senior Member
 
thegam3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by vatten View Post
Here is another test after set TPC to OFF.

This time the test pattern is not a white static background, but real web surfing usage, with a small window of white on corner cameraed, and I constantly scroll in web browser reading different contents, mixed image and video etc

Now the dimming kicks in much quicker, in just 150 seconds it start to dim down, shutter speed went from 1/320 to 1/250, and then in another minute it dim down again, shutter speed reached 1/200. However it just stopped there until some time later it will randomly brighten up, shutter speed back to 1/320

So it seems there are two different dimming algorithm running, one is for TPC, and works for any static contents, and another one is for normal display with varying contents , this one kicks in much quicker but only cut the illuminance less than half, so it is still tolerable, but the triggering mechanism is not understandable
i guess no one has found a way to get rid of this second dimming
thegam3 is offline  
post #341 of 346 Old 02-24-2020, 01:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just installed my 55C9 and the first thing I noticed, after disabling all of the eco-settings, is the ABL (Auto Brightness Limiting) kicking in when a certain percentage of the screen is bright. ABL is different from ASBL, Auto Static Brightness Limiting, a.k.a. TPC, Temporal Peak Luminance Control, which you can disable in the service menu.

Is there a way to disable ABL?
jelbo is offline  
post #342 of 346 Old 02-24-2020, 02:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ok, so ABL can't be turned off. What an absolute shame...
jelbo is offline  
post #343 of 346 Old 03-13-2020, 09:55 AM
Senior Member
 
thepiecesfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by jelbo View Post
Ok, so ABL can't be turned off. What an absolute shame...
Look on the bright side you got the best TV on the market. During most movie watching this is not even noticable
jelbo likes this.

HT: LG C8 65" | Denon X4440H | Left/Right: Polk LSiM 705 (2) | Center: Polk LSiM 706c | Rears: Polk FXi A4 (2) | Sub: Rhytmik E15HP | Amp: Outlaw 2200 (3)
thepiecesfit is offline  
post #344 of 346 Old 03-16-2020, 08:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepiecesfit View Post
Look on the bright side you got the best TV on the market. During most movie watching this is not even noticable
Yes, that's true. The ABL kicking in got a little less somehow after a firmware update. In a Switch game I played I could reproduce it in a menu (switching between modes on the title screen of Captain Toad Treasure Tracker dimmed the screen every time) until after that update. Now it's good, even with very bright OLED light and Contrast settings.

I also did actually watch things on my TV the past few weeks and I'm very content with it
jelbo is offline  
post #345 of 346 Old 03-20-2020, 07:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
teiresias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 36
This seems to have worked to resolve the issues I was having on my 65C9, so thanks for all the info everyone!! One question, I assume TPC can be left disabled without worry when upgrading the firmware?
teiresias is offline  
post #346 of 346 Old 03-20-2020, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,756
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5743 Post(s)
Liked: 4112
Quote:
Originally Posted by teiresias View Post
This seems to have worked to resolve the issues I was having on my 65C9, so thanks for all the info everyone!! One question, I assume TPC can be left disabled without worry when upgrading the firmware?
Yes, you can leave it disabled. FW updates will not change the setting.
wxman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
asbl , dim , dimming , oled , service menu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off