LG OLED 55/65E6 info, issues, and settings - Page 55 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 562Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1621 of 2520 Old 03-22-2017, 01:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,660
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4313 Post(s)
Liked: 3747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike98 View Post
My E6 was delivered to me this past friday and the ks 9800 was taken away. Wow wow is all I can say. The difference is that the E6 has such a warmer and unprocessed picture without making my eyes bleed. I'm very happy. And of course the blacks are perfect. 3D which I never liked now with thus tv I'm amazed. Buying a stockpile of 3d blurays! As far as calibration I didn't touch anything yet. I have a 701 build if it matters. Love this tv.
I formally apologize for inferring you were a Samsung employee before.
video_analysis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1622 of 2520 Old 03-22-2017, 01:16 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,635
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4687 Post(s)
Liked: 4562
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaddicus View Post
So I just received my 65E last weekend and I am having an issue with my audio out. For some reason the television reverts back to the built in speakers after powering down and I have to change the audio back to the HDMI/Optical for my receiver. Has this been addressed before? Or am I just special?
Are you using HDMI-CEC in your setup? I found it would do that.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #1623 of 2520 Old 03-22-2017, 01:22 PM
Newbie
 
chaddicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Are you using HDMI-CEC in your setup? I found it would do that.

-Bill


Currently at work, but I'm guessing I am, not sure. If I turn that off what all am I losing out on in terms of capabilities exactly?
chaddicus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1624 of 2520 Old 03-22-2017, 01:25 PM
Newbie
 
chaddicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Disregard that CEC question, google is my friend. I'll try that out and see if that alleviates my issues. Thanks
chaddicus is offline  
post #1625 of 2520 Old 03-22-2017, 01:26 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,635
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4687 Post(s)
Liked: 4562
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaddicus View Post
Currently at work, but I'm guessing I am, not sure. If I turn that off what all am I losing out on in terms of capabilities exactly?
Some people like it, but I've always found CEC to be irritating. One device can turn another on and off, maybe switch inputs when I don't want them too. It's better to use a programmable remote for that if you need it, where you can also determine order of power on with delays as needed.

That CEC switches your TV speaker back on sounds like a bug to me, but I didn't want to fight it or investigate further.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #1626 of 2520 Old 03-23-2017, 07:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
mttpalmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldsteve View Post
I would say you have an under-performing cable issue. Get yourself a Premium Certified one and make your life hassle free!
I tried four different 3D movies last night with the new Monoprice cable and no problems at all with the TV recognizing the 3D signal from the XB1S and switching over to 3D mode. Problem seems to be solved!
Daryl L likes this.

OLED55E6P (609 build)
Denon X2400H
KEF Q100 L/R/C, SVS SB12-NSD
XB1S, Roku Ultra
mttpalmer is offline  
post #1627 of 2520 Old 03-23-2017, 08:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mttpalmer View Post
I tried four different 3D movies last night with the new Monoprice cable and no problems at all with the TV recognizing the 3D signal from the XB1S and switching over to 3D mode. Problem seems to be solved!
I've had problems with 3D and HDR movies showing up. Did you have the stock Xbox HDMI cable prior?
BerserkDoomguy is offline  
post #1628 of 2520 Old 03-24-2017, 01:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Hey all,

Sorry to be a pain (I should have considered this possibility and taken pictures), but could anyone possibly provide me with all the default values for "isf Expert (Dark Room)" on a 65E6P with firmware 04.30.04 or firmware 04.30.19. I'd need everything under the Picture Mode section, including everything under Expert Controls and Picture Options as well. A few people with PS4 Pro related issues mentioned doing a complete reset on the TV and installing the latest firmware (04.30.95), so I decided to try it, and to my surprise the "isf Expert (Dark Room)" looks quite a bit different than it did with the "old" default settings, and I'd like to compare values to figure out what changed. (I know this is quite a bit of info to send, so if you want to PM me, I'd be willing to consider a small amount of compensation for the trouble). Thanks!
sgupta is offline  
post #1629 of 2520 Old 03-24-2017, 06:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
mttpalmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 456 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerserkDoomguy View Post
I've had problems with 3D and HDR movies showing up. Did you have the stock Xbox HDMI cable prior?
Yes, the issue seems to be the HDMI cable that came with the XB1S.

If HDR never shows up, have you enabled HDMI Deep Color?

OLED55E6P (609 build)
Denon X2400H
KEF Q100 L/R/C, SVS SB12-NSD
XB1S, Roku Ultra
mttpalmer is offline  
post #1630 of 2520 Old 03-24-2017, 07:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,097
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgupta View Post
Hey all,

Sorry to be a pain (I should have considered this possibility and taken pictures), but could anyone possibly provide me with all the default values for "isf Expert (Dark Room)" on a 65E6P with firmware 04.30.04 or firmware 04.30.19. I'd need everything under the Picture Mode section, including everything under Expert Controls and Picture Options as well. A few people with PS4 Pro related issues mentioned doing a complete reset on the TV and installing the latest firmware (04.30.95), so I decided to try it, and to my surprise the "isf Expert (Dark Room)" looks quite a bit different than it did with the "old" default settings, and I'd like to compare values to figure out what changed. (I know this is quite a bit of info to send, so if you want to PM me, I'd be willing to consider a small amount of compensation for the trouble). Thanks!
I used this:

Do you like these settings? Has anyone found better settings?

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Display: LG OLED 65e6p, Player: OPPO UDP-203, AVR:Yamaha TSR 7810, Streaming: Comcast 60Mbps RG6 to Cat6a, Speakers: Mains Vandersteen IIC, Center, Surrounds, Rears Klipsch
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #1631 of 2520 Old 03-24-2017, 08:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,097
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Is the only way to send 65e6p audio out from the optical port or can one of the HDMI ports send audio out to an AVR?

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Display: LG OLED 65e6p, Player: OPPO UDP-203, AVR:Yamaha TSR 7810, Streaming: Comcast 60Mbps RG6 to Cat6a, Speakers: Mains Vandersteen IIC, Center, Surrounds, Rears Klipsch
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #1632 of 2520 Old 03-24-2017, 08:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,097
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Is there a way to check the hours a 65e6p has been used?

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Display: LG OLED 65e6p, Player: OPPO UDP-203, AVR:Yamaha TSR 7810, Streaming: Comcast 60Mbps RG6 to Cat6a, Speakers: Mains Vandersteen IIC, Center, Surrounds, Rears Klipsch
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #1633 of 2520 Old 03-24-2017, 08:50 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,288
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5839 Post(s)
Liked: 8335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
Is there a way to check the hours a 65e6p has been used?
Settings > General > About This TV > the line with the model number of your TV.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1634 of 2520 Old 03-24-2017, 08:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stuntman_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,850
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 810 Post(s)
Liked: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
Is the only way to send 65e6p audio out from the optical port or can one of the HDMI ports send audio out to an AVR?
HDMI 2 is the ARC port. It can send audio to an ARC supported AVR via the HDMI return channel.

Stuntman_Mike is offline  
post #1635 of 2520 Old 03-24-2017, 09:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mttpalmer View Post
Yes, the issue seems to be the HDMI cable that came with the XB1S.

If HDR never shows up, have you enabled HDMI Deep Color?
Thanks! I have deep color enabled. HDR shows up but it is intermittent. Sometimes there is an issue and others it just works. Guess I'll try replacing the cable. Crazy that the cable included wouldn't be certified.
BerserkDoomguy is offline  
post #1636 of 2520 Old 03-24-2017, 09:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,097
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Settings > General > About This TV > the line with the model number of your TV.
--Bob
Thanks for the spot on instructions.

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Display: LG OLED 65e6p, Player: OPPO UDP-203, AVR:Yamaha TSR 7810, Streaming: Comcast 60Mbps RG6 to Cat6a, Speakers: Mains Vandersteen IIC, Center, Surrounds, Rears Klipsch
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #1637 of 2520 Old 03-24-2017, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,097
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuntman_Mike View Post
HDMI 2 is the ARC port. It can send audio to an ARC supported AVR via the HDMI return channel.
Thanks for the reply. I will run an HDMI cable from port 2 on the 65e6p to my Yamaha TSR-7810 and see which hdmi port will work.

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Display: LG OLED 65e6p, Player: OPPO UDP-203, AVR:Yamaha TSR 7810, Streaming: Comcast 60Mbps RG6 to Cat6a, Speakers: Mains Vandersteen IIC, Center, Surrounds, Rears Klipsch
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #1638 of 2520 Old 03-24-2017, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 938
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
I used this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qFf4...ature=youtu.be

Do you like these settings? Has anyone found better settings?
What is the difference between 16:9 aspect ration and "Original" aspect ratio?
Mine is set at 16:9, should I change it to "Original"?
sharok is offline  
post #1639 of 2520 Old 03-24-2017, 09:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stuntman_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,850
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 810 Post(s)
Liked: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharok View Post
What is the difference between 16:9 aspect ration and "Original" aspect ratio?
Mine is set at 16:9, should I change it to "Original"?
If you hover over the options, it gives you a little more info. I think 16:9 will display 16:9 content in 16:9 aspect, as well as stretch 4:3 content to 16:9 aspect. 16:9 Original will play 4:3 content in it's proper aspect with black bars on the side.
Postmoderndesign likes this.

Stuntman_Mike is offline  
post #1640 of 2520 Old 03-24-2017, 09:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
I used this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qFf4...ature=youtu.be

Do you like these settings? Has anyone found better settings?
Thanks for the video. I tried the settings posted in the video but would have to get used to them - the picture is much dimmer than I'm used to and at first glance I'm liking the default isf Expert mode better. They just appear quite a bit different than the "previous" firmware defaults, which is what confuses me. I'm semi-familiar with the settings that used to be there and these look similar, so I don't think a whole lot changed; I'm wondering if the difference is either color temperature or gamma.

Anyways, again, if anyone's still running a 65E6P (or probably 55, etc.) with firmware 04.30.04 or 04.30.19 and wouldn't mind posting (like I said, PM and I'll make it worth the trouble as I know it's an ask) the default settings for "isf Expert (Dark Room)" (including all submenus like Expert Controls, Picture Options, & White Balance), it would still be very much appreciated so I can at least note the changes and figure out what's different. I feel like I liked the picture slightly more before, but as I'm getting used to it, I'm not quite as sure, and I'd really like to pinpoint what exactly changed to compare.

From now on, I'll definitely take a quick picture with my phone before playing with firmware. Sadly, the idea occurred to me, but I assumed nothing drastic would change about picture modes default in a firmware flash (since I'm mostly using defaults and knew all the settings I tweaked manually).

I do think this firmware helps a bit with the PS4 Pro issue, but I still did have it happen once, so it's not 100%

Thank you!

Last edited by sgupta; 03-24-2017 at 09:19 PM.
sgupta is offline  
post #1641 of 2520 Old 03-24-2017, 10:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgupta View Post
Thanks for the video. I tried the settings posted in the video but would have to get used to them - the picture is much dimmer than I'm used to and at first glance I'm liking the default isf Expert mode better. They just appear quite a bit different than the "previous" firmware defaults, which is what confuses me. I'm semi-familiar with the settings that used to be there and these look similar, so I don't think a whole lot changed; I'm wondering if the difference is either color temperature or gamma.

Anyways, again, if anyone's still running a 65E6P (or probably 55, etc.) with firmware 04.30.04 or 04.30.19 and wouldn't mind posting (like I said, PM and I'll make it worth the trouble as I know it's an ask) the default settings for "isf Expert (Dark Room)" (including all submenus like Expert Controls, Picture Options, & White Balance), it would still be very much appreciated so I can at least note the changes and figure out what's different. I feel like I liked the picture slightly more before, but as I'm getting used to it, I'm not quite as sure, and I'd really like to pinpoint what exactly changed to compare.

From now on, I'll definitely take a quick picture with my phone before playing with firmware. Sadly, the idea occurred to me, but I assumed nothing drastic would change about picture modes default in a firmware flash (since I'm mostly using defaults and knew all the settings I tweaked manually).

I do think this firmware helps a bit with the PS4 Pro issue, but I still did have it happen once, so it's not 100%

Thank you!
I'd still be interested in confirmation, but I THINK I figured it out. Can anyone confirm that in prior firmware default gamma for ISF Dark was 2.2? (Or maybe it was from the firmware it shipped with, as I swear the ISF modes were a little differently originally.)

The new default is BT.1886, and I think that was the "problem". BT.1886 and 2.4 are nice and contrasty in my fairly dark room with a little ambient light, but I just feel like I'm losing too much shadow detail. I know technically, given my environment, I *should* like BT.1886/2.4, but it just...looks off to me, and I lose some very dark details. I still lose a LITTLE with 2.2 over 1.9, but I feel like it's more of a "well it's dark so that's normal" thing than with 2.4 or BT.1886, where it just feels, especially for certain sources, like there's just a bit too much black crush.

Last edited by sgupta; 03-25-2017 at 03:09 AM.
sgupta is offline  
post #1642 of 2520 Old 03-25-2017, 10:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,097
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 300
From reading you post I will admit you are more knowledgeable of ISF than I am. So, please post the settings you find to be best.

I simply felt the monitor as shipped was set too bright and made off whites blindingly white and other colors garishly vivid and had serious black crush issues. I liked the picture much better using the settings from the video. I am concentrating on skin tone realism, which is much more realistic on all races and blond Caucasians but a little too butterscotch on most brunettes. With the original shipped settings every skin tone was shinny/oily.

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Display: LG OLED 65e6p, Player: OPPO UDP-203, AVR:Yamaha TSR 7810, Streaming: Comcast 60Mbps RG6 to Cat6a, Speakers: Mains Vandersteen IIC, Center, Surrounds, Rears Klipsch
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #1643 of 2520 Old 03-25-2017, 03:12 PM
Member
 
RS1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone watched Iron Fist on Netflix on this yet (on the TV app so it's 4K and goes into DV)? Some scenes look great and others look grainy...is it just shot that way? For example, right in the beginning of episode 1 when Danny makes it up to the office with Ward and Joy...I feel like much of that scene is grainy. Many of the skin tones are grainy as well.

Thoughts?

Here is a screenshot of it, tough to see in a still pick though. This is from Joy's apartment, the couch and walls show this really badly.

-RS

Last edited by RS1990; 03-25-2017 at 03:51 PM.
RS1990 is offline  
post #1644 of 2520 Old 03-25-2017, 04:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,660
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4313 Post(s)
Liked: 3747
This must be your first Marvel. This extra veneer of digital grain seems to be an artistic choice on all the Marvel serials on Netflix.
Bleeding Edge and RS1990 like this.
video_analysis is offline  
post #1645 of 2520 Old 03-25-2017, 07:00 PM
Newbie
 
tsters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just setup my 65E6P purchased through Amazon couple days ago and noticed it's a 608 build (August, 2016), had a whopping 149 updates. Are there any known issues with this build, concerns etc?
tsters is offline  
post #1646 of 2520 Old 03-25-2017, 07:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
From reading you post I will admit you are more knowledgeable of ISF than I am. So, please post the settings you find to be best.

I simply felt the monitor as shipped was set too bright and made off whites blindingly white and other colors garishly vivid and had serious black crush issues. I liked the picture much better using the settings from the video. I am concentrating on skin tone realism, which is much more realistic on all races and blond Caucasians but a little too butterscotch on most brunettes. With the original shipped settings every skin tone was shinny/oily.
I'm really not THAT knowledgeable of ISF - I've just read up quite a bit. For right now, I'm keeping it default but upped the gamma to 2.2 (which gets rid of the black crush issue for me). I sort of like the vividness myself, but I can understand not, and the settings recommended in that video certainly aren't bad. I should probably consider a professional calibration as I did have that done for my old Plasma and was very pleased. Still, I quite liked the ISF Dark setting out of the box with this TV, so I don't feel quite as rushed. I think raising the gamma got me close to where I was before; something still feels different to me (as you said, with skin tones, but only with certain people), though it might just be in my head, as other things look the same as before. No way to know unless I can see original settings unfortunately, but that's probably a tall ask at this point (though still grateful if anyone does have 'em!).

Anyways, thanks so much for your feedback/help!
sgupta is offline  
post #1647 of 2520 Old 03-25-2017, 08:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hughh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Arlington TX
Posts: 2,438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsters View Post
I just setup my 65E6P purchased through Amazon couple days ago and noticed it's a 608 build (August, 2016), had a whopping 149 updates. Are there any known issues with this build, concerns etc?
That's the same as mine which It has an assembly date of around one month later. Only issue I had was one dead red pixel and for some reason that disappeared.

Great tv, btw. Best we have ever owned! Mine was purchased at BestBuys. Enjoy!!!
hughh is offline  
post #1648 of 2520 Old 03-25-2017, 09:54 PM
Member
 
RS1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by video_analysis View Post
This must be your first Marvel. This extra veneer of digital grain seems to be an artistic choice on all the Marvel serials on Netflix.
Odd to put a grainy, kind of crap picture in the 4k section. Save some bandwidth...
Dabois09 likes this.

-RS
RS1990 is offline  
post #1649 of 2520 Old 03-25-2017, 11:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,660
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4313 Post(s)
Liked: 3747
Guess they feel it makes it appear "comicy" even though it does seem to diminish the value of 4K at the same time.
Dabois09 likes this.
video_analysis is offline  
post #1650 of 2520 Old 03-25-2017, 11:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dabois09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by video_analysis View Post
Guess they feel it makes it appear "comicy" even though it does seem to diminish the value of 4K at the same time.
I can't stand it - thus I don't watch their content. Never understood film grain in video games either.
Dabois09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
55/65E6

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off