LG OLED 55/65E6 info, issues, and settings - Page 62 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 564Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1831 of 2529 Old 04-29-2017, 07:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,539
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3907 Post(s)
Liked: 3918
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Thanks, that's what I was looking for -- that it wouldn't break a pro calibration already set up.

--bob

no prob



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1832 of 2529 Old 04-29-2017, 07:33 PM
Senior Member
 
SeriousHorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharok View Post
I just updated my 65E6 to the Korean firmware with no issues:
So the Korean firmware can be used to update US sets but not European or other models? Is that right?
SeriousHorse is offline  
post #1833 of 2529 Old 04-29-2017, 08:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeriousHorse View Post
So the Korean firmware can be used to update US sets but not European or other models? Is that right?
I live in the US. Why and how would I know about European or any other country's model?
I don't know how to answer your question.
sharok is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1834 of 2529 Old 04-29-2017, 08:41 PM
Member
 
samuel.c.casilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeriousHorse View Post
So the Korean firmware can be used to update US sets but not European or other models? Is that right?
Hey Serious, so far reported good to go for US sets, no one has chimed in from other countries yet, that I am aware of.

OLED55C6P PS4 PRO Comcast Xfinity 200+ MB Internet
SeriousHorse likes this.
samuel.c.casilla is offline  
post #1835 of 2529 Old 04-29-2017, 09:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,184
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Yea it just won't show up on my USB I tried two different USB drives tried 3 different web Explorer sites no change. I'll just wait til it gets released in the US

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk
macmane is offline  
post #1836 of 2529 Old 04-29-2017, 09:03 PM
Senior Member
 
SeriousHorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharok View Post
I live in the US. Why and how would I know about European or any other country's model?
I don't know how to answer your question.
Guess I'm just curious as to why the Korean firmware works on US models (or other models). I always thought the firmwares were region specific.
But I'm glad it's working for you and others.
SeriousHorse is offline  
post #1837 of 2529 Old 04-29-2017, 09:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
airborn007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
Yea it just won't show up on my USB I tried two different USB drives tried 3 different web Explorer sites no change. I'll just wait til it gets released in the US

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk
I had to try a different USB as my main one didn't work but had success on the 2nd one. I did try to reinsert a few times to make sure it read the new firmware.

Must be a placebo effect cause something about HDR now just looks better or different lol.

UPDATE: Motion handling looks improved if you saw the movie Sicario the freeway entrance into Mexico 0026:30 mark it use to be so horrible but now it's so much better.

FYI, I'm currently using truemotion off or user 0,10

LG C9 & UB9000
LG C8 & UB820
Denon AVR, SVS Prime Elevation & Ultra Series, HSU Subwoofer, Emotiva

Last edited by airborn007; 04-29-2017 at 10:17 PM.
airborn007 is offline  
post #1838 of 2529 Old 04-29-2017, 10:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeriousHorse View Post
Guess I'm just curious as to why the Korean firmware works on US models (or other models). I always thought the firmwares were region specific.
But I'm glad it's working for you and others.
Serious, It is not working for some US users either. They have problem with either USB drive or their downloads. Were you able to get it to your TV and was it recognized by the TV and it did not work for you?
I mean, why do you think it doesn't work in your country?
sharok is offline  
post #1839 of 2529 Old 04-29-2017, 10:35 PM
Senior Member
 
SeriousHorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharok View Post
Serious, It is not working for some US users either. They have problem with either USB drive or their downloads. Were you able to get it to your TV and was it recognized by the TV and it did not work for you?
I mean, why do you think it doesn't work in your country?
Saw that some US users were having issues, too.
I'm in Australia, with a 55C6T, and the TV has failed to pick up the update on two separate USB sticks, including one that I've used to update the set before without any issue.
Not really surprised it's not working for me. I'm more surprised that it IS working for people outside of Korea. Like I said, I always thought these updates were region specific, and out here in the colonies we usually get left behind…
SeriousHorse is offline  
post #1840 of 2529 Old 04-29-2017, 10:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,184
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 694
I Finally got it to download

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk
macmane is offline  
post #1841 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 03:23 AM
Newbie
 
Reda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by airborn007 View Post
I had to try a different USB as my main one didn't work but had success on the 2nd one. I did try to reinsert a few times to make sure it read the new firmware.

Must be a placebo effect cause something about HDR now just looks better or different lol.

UPDATE: Motion handling looks improved if you saw the movie Sicario the freeway entrance into Mexico 0026:30 mark it use to be so horrible but now it's so much better.

FYI, I'm currently using truemotion off or user 0,10
Does it play Youtube HDR videos now?
Reda is offline  
post #1842 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 08:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
airborn007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reda View Post
Does it play Youtube HDR videos now?
Doesn't look like it is since when using YouTube HDR icon doesn't show up. Unless you need an external Cromecast Ultra device which I don't own. From reading I thought only LG G models are capable only but could be wrong. Maybe others who took the risk of installing the firmware can chime in. Unless the YouTube app itself hasn't updated to include HDR yet IDK.

LG C9 & UB9000
LG C8 & UB820
Denon AVR, SVS Prime Elevation & Ultra Series, HSU Subwoofer, Emotiva

Last edited by airborn007; 04-30-2017 at 08:15 AM.
airborn007 is offline  
post #1843 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 10:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ "Fixed video related bug" was done three times. So presumably it is REALLY fixed now.

The Secondary and 4th video related bugs were also fixed. Which presumably means, alas, that the 3rd video related bug is still with us.
--Bob
Good Morning Bob,
What video issues do you think they fixed with this update?
sharok is offline  
post #1844 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 11:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
airborn007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharok View Post
Good Morning Bob,
What video issues do you think they fixed with this update?
Notes are on the previous page.

LG C9 & UB9000
LG C8 & UB820
Denon AVR, SVS Prime Elevation & Ultra Series, HSU Subwoofer, Emotiva
airborn007 is offline  
post #1845 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 11:26 AM
Newbie
 
Reda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by airborn007 View Post
Doesn't look like it is since when using YouTube HDR icon doesn't show up. Unless you need an external Cromecast Ultra device which I don't own. From reading I thought only LG G models are capable only but could be wrong. Maybe others who took the risk of installing the firmware can chime in. Unless the YouTube app itself hasn't updated to include HDR yet IDK.
Thanks for the reply.
Youtube app doesn't need to be updated. The latest version is the same on G6.
It is likely that VP9 Profile 2 support can be added with a firmware update. It has been added to G6 despite it has an older chip. Not sure LG is planning to do so thought. It would be great we an official statement on the matter.
Reda is offline  
post #1846 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 11:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,184
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Ps4 pro still has issues as well with the new e6 update smh unbelievable

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk
macmane is offline  
post #1847 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 11:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
airborn007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
Ps4 pro still has issues as well with the new e6 update smh unbelievable

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk
So far I haven't encountered it yet but will report if still exist. That's probably why they used the term improved and not fixed.

LG C9 & UB9000
LG C8 & UB820
Denon AVR, SVS Prime Elevation & Ultra Series, HSU Subwoofer, Emotiva
airborn007 is offline  
post #1848 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 11:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Crystal Lake
Posts: 2,184
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by airborn007 View Post
So far I haven't encountered it yet but will report if still exist. That's probably why they used the term improved and not fixed.
Yea I still get no signal if I turn the ps4 pro on with the controller and if I switch resolution on the ps4 pro to 2160p yuv420 the screen turns black and loses signal and flickers smh that's what was wrong with it before the patch! 😠

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk
macmane is offline  
post #1849 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 11:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by airborn007 View Post
Notes are on the previous page.
Hi airborn,
This was what I found on the previous page:
3. Changes
ⓐ Fixed video related bug
ⓑ Fixed LG contents store problem
ⓒ Netflix authentication
ⓓ Fixed secondary bug related to video
ⓔ Improved
performance ⓕ Fixed video related bug
ⓖ Fixed video related 4th bug
ⓗ Fixed voice related bug
But I cannot figure out what was really fixed?
ⓐ Fixed video related bug (what was the bug????)
ⓒ Netflix Authentication (what was fixed regarding Netflix Authentication????)
ⓕ Fixed video related bug (What was the bug???)
ⓖ Fixed video related 4th bug (What was the bug????)
sharok is offline  
post #1850 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 11:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
airborn007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
Yea I still get no signal if I turn the ps4 pro on with the controller and if I switch resolution on the ps4 pro to 2160p yuv420 the screen turns black and loses signal and flickers smh that's what was wrong with it before the patch! 😠

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk
Well with turning on PS4 that's always a hit or miss. My issue is more w/ during a game the screen would go blank and you need to go back to the inputs click on a different input then back........so the screen will reappear. So far I haven't ran into that but will use it more often to see.

I'm running everything auto on PS4 PRO video output settings.

LG C9 & UB9000
LG C8 & UB820
Denon AVR, SVS Prime Elevation & Ultra Series, HSU Subwoofer, Emotiva

Last edited by airborn007; 04-30-2017 at 12:06 PM.
airborn007 is offline  
post #1851 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 12:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
airborn007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharok View Post
Hi airborn,
This was what I found on the previous page:
3. Changes
ⓐ Fixed video related bug
ⓑ Fixed LG contents store problem
ⓒ Netflix authentication
ⓓ Fixed secondary bug related to video
ⓔ Improved
performance ⓕ Fixed video related bug
ⓖ Fixed video related 4th bug
ⓗ Fixed voice related bug
But I cannot figure out what was really fixed?
ⓐ Fixed video related bug (what was the bug????)
ⓒ Netflix Authentication (what was fixed regarding Netflix Authentication????)
ⓕ Fixed video related bug (What was the bug???)
ⓖ Fixed video related 4th bug (What was the bug????)
All I noticed so far is improved HDR effect, judder, and possibly better details in dark scenes almost as they bumped up brightness. The rest who knows but maybe you should wait until more users test it out and see what they have to say.

Update: LG still needs work on HDMI handshake as my OPPO just going back to home menu would lose signal and you get flashing snow screen only. This hasn't happen since the latest Korea firmware but I say similar to PS4 screen just goes black & blank suddenly.

LG C9 & UB9000
LG C8 & UB820
Denon AVR, SVS Prime Elevation & Ultra Series, HSU Subwoofer, Emotiva

Last edited by airborn007; 04-30-2017 at 01:23 PM.
airborn007 is offline  
post #1852 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 03:10 PM
Senior Member
 
SeriousHorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by airborn007 View Post
Update: LG still needs work on HDMI handshake as my OPPO just going back to home menu would lose signal and you get flashing snow screen only. This hasn't happen since the latest Korea firmware but I say similar to PS4 screen just goes black & blank suddenly.
I get the same thing happening on my OPPO BDP-93 from time to time, but it does come good after a second or so. Yours doesn't stay "in snow", does it? I thought it might be my HDMI cable but I guess if the issue is more widespread it's not.
SeriousHorse is offline  
post #1853 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 03:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 4
installed 4.31.00 on US tv today , works fine and does not reset the calibrated settings.
avtester is offline  
post #1854 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 03:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
airborn007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeriousHorse View Post
I get the same thing happening on my OPPO BDP-93 from time to time, but it does come good after a second or so. Yours doesn't stay "in snow", does it? I thought it might be my HDMI cable but I guess if the issue is more widespread it's not.
I wonder if it's due to 04.31.00 Korea firmware. It's random too w/ snow screen and what I do is just replay the disc and the movie would come back on.

I say use new firmware at your own risk and I wonder if issues occurs we can still rollback firmware later on.

LG C9 & UB9000
LG C8 & UB820
Denon AVR, SVS Prime Elevation & Ultra Series, HSU Subwoofer, Emotiva
airborn007 is offline  
post #1855 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 04:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
airborn007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by avtester View Post
installed 4.31.00 on US tv today , works fine and does not reset the calibrated settings.
I never new there was so many hardcore people willing to risk bricking ones tv by using a different region firmware......including myself LMAO.
Talon884 likes this.

LG C9 & UB9000
LG C8 & UB820
Denon AVR, SVS Prime Elevation & Ultra Series, HSU Subwoofer, Emotiva
airborn007 is offline  
post #1856 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 04:29 PM
Senior Member
 
SeriousHorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by airborn007 View Post
I wonder if it's due to 04.31.00 Korea firmware. It's random too w/ snow screen and what I do is just replay the disc and the movie would come back on.

I say use new firmware at your own risk and I wonder if issues occurs we can still rollback firmware later on.
Just an FYI: I'm not running the 04.31.00 firmware. But the "snow" handshake issue on the OPPO 93 has happened through the three firmware upgrades I've had since I got the set.
SeriousHorse is offline  
post #1857 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 04:57 PM
Member
 
samuel.c.casilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by airborn007 View Post
I never new there was so many hardcore people willing to risk bricking ones tv by using a different region firmware......including myself LMAO.
The thing that made me go ahead and upgrade to Korea firmware, is curiosity and lack of patience haha & the firmware file names . I noticed the name of the US version had US ATSC tuner classification, and so did the Korean one. If you check file names for other countries, I bet you'll see their respective broadcast classification. I checked all other US file names as well. All matched the Korea file name. Seems LG releases these things, and has to wait for region rollout and certification of the respective country (I think)

OLED55C6P PS4 PRO Comcast Xfinity 200+ MB Internet
samuel.c.casilla is offline  
post #1858 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 05:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dabois09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 763
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 400 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Upgraded my 55E6 US today with no issues. Had to do it as the snow issue and blue and red signal flash issue (followed by complete drop) was becoming too much to handle.
Dabois09 is offline  
post #1859 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 05:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
airborn007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeriousHorse View Post
Just an FYI: I'm not running the 04.31.00 firmware. But the "snow" handshake issue on the OPPO 93 has happened through the three firmware upgrades I've had since I got the set.
I guess I don't encounter it as much since running OPPOs latest official firmware but technology these days and glitches never surprise me anymore.

Quote:
Originally Posted by samuel.c.casilla View Post
The thing that made me go ahead and upgrade to Korea firmware, is curiosity and lack of patience haha & the firmware file names . I noticed the name of the US version had US ATSC tuner classification, and so did the Korean one. If you check file names for other countries, I bet you'll see their respective broadcast classification. I checked all other US file names as well. All matched the Korea file name. Seems LG releases these things, and has to wait for region rollout and certification of the respective country (I think)

OLED55C6P PS4 PRO Comcast Xfinity 200+ MB Internet
Same here especially when LG can't even get their current their firmware out via internet on time is shocking and we have to resort to using USB method. I have no doubt it's similar when it comes to different regions. Usually it's about 1 more after for USA once Korea releases their firmware.

LG C9 & UB9000
LG C8 & UB820
Denon AVR, SVS Prime Elevation & Ultra Series, HSU Subwoofer, Emotiva

Last edited by airborn007; 04-30-2017 at 06:12 PM.
airborn007 is offline  
post #1860 of 2529 Old 04-30-2017, 06:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,416
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by samuel.c.casilla View Post
The thing that made me go ahead and upgrade to Korea firmware, is curiosity and lack of patience haha & the firmware file names . I noticed the name of the US version had US ATSC tuner classification, and so did the Korean one. If you check file names for other countries, I bet you'll see their respective broadcast classification. I checked all other US file names as well. All matched the Korea file name. Seems LG releases these things, and has to wait for region rollout and certification of the respective country (I think)

OLED55C6P PS4 PRO Comcast Xfinity 200+ MB Internet
Yes, it probably works because the ROK uses the same TV standards and technology as North America. It's why that firmware won't work for other regions of the world.

JazzGuyy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
55/65E6

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off