Sony A1E 4K HDR OLED TV Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 193 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 14441Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5761 of 8172 Old 08-02-2017, 09:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlanzy View Post
Let's hope Sony brings their CLEDIS display to the residential market, with it being made up of 18"x16" borderless panels we can customize the size to whatever room we have for the biggest panel display our pocketbooks will allow. I would think a borderless OLED would be very possible and the smaller panels wouldn't be nearly as expensive to produce than the 50 inch and above ones. May we all live long enough with our vision intact to see that someday in our homes.
Well at 320x360 pixels per panel, you apparently need 110" minimum for 1920x1080, and 220" for 3840x2160. Got room for 220"?

I imagine they might manage to make the resolution per panel better over the next few years.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5762 of 8172 Old 08-02-2017, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,942
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6854 Post(s)
Liked: 6858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Leong View Post
A full speaker Atmos system, I've experienced, the sound being way bigger than the lone TV siting in the middle of towers..
No question, a good sound system is nice in the right rooms. PSB is making some excellent in wall speakers now that I will be using in my new home theater going with a 110" screen and JVC DLA-RS520U.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #5763 of 8172 Old 08-03-2017, 07:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,611
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4614 Post(s)
Liked: 5606
Just in case some of you are interested in this:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ole...l#post54575806

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5764 of 8172 Old 08-03-2017, 08:42 AM
Member
 
Mrbonus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I need help bought a klipsch subwoofer to use with my A1E and used a rca cable plugged the 3.5mm side into the headphone jack and went into the sound settings and chose the subwoofer option for output and it still doesn't work. Any ideas?

[Sony 65" A1E][oppo 203][klipsch 112sw]
Mrbonus is offline  
post #5765 of 8172 Old 08-03-2017, 09:11 AM
Senior Member
 
jwstegbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrbonus View Post
I need help bought a klipsch subwoofer to use with my A1E and used a rca cable plugged the 3.5mm side into the headphone jack and went into the sound settings and chose the subwoofer option for output and it still doesn't work. Any ideas?
From the Manual:  AUDIO OUT Supports 3-pole stereo mini jack only. To listen to the TV's sound through the connected equipment, press HOME. Select [Settings]  [Sound]  [Headphone/Audio out] and then select the desired item.

Sony XBR-65A1E OLED | Harman Kardon PA-2200 Amp | Panamax MR4300 | Apple Tv 4K
Sony Receiver STR-ZA3100ES | Sony UBP-X700 | Oppo UDP -203 4K UHD Blu-ray Player
4 - Klipsch RP-250F Floorstanding Speaker | Klipsch RP-240S Surround Speaker (Pair) | Klipsch RP-440C Center Channel Speaker
Klipsch R-112SW Sub | Klipsch RP-140SA Dolby Atmos Speaker (Pair) | Playstation 4 Pro
jwstegbauer is offline  
post #5766 of 8172 Old 08-03-2017, 09:47 AM
Member
 
Mrbonus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwstegbauer View Post
From the Manual:  AUDIO OUT Supports 3-pole stereo mini jack only. To listen to the TV's sound through the connected equipment, press HOME. Select [Settings]  [Sound]  [Headphone/Audio out] and then select the desired item.
I bought this

http://imgur.com/a/JRLm3


there still might be something I'm missing

[Sony 65" A1E][oppo 203][klipsch 112sw]
Mrbonus is offline  
post #5767 of 8172 Old 08-03-2017, 10:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrbonus View Post
I need help bought a klipsch subwoofer to use with my A1E and used a rca cable plugged the 3.5mm side into the headphone jack and went into the sound settings and chose the subwoofer option for output and it still doesn't work. Any ideas?
What kind of cable are you using exactly?

The manual states it MUST be a stereo 3.5mm, which would mean it has to have two RCA jacks on the other end. A mono 3.5mm to single RCA is not allowed and would short the left and right outputs together.

I haven't tried it, but maybe I will give it a try tonight if I remember (my sub has dual RCA inputs for left and right, so it should have no issue with that setup, although I just use one from my AVR).

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #5768 of 8172 Old 08-03-2017, 10:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrbonus View Post
I bought this

http://imgur.com/a/JRLm3


there still might be something I'm missing
Well that does look correct.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #5769 of 8172 Old 08-03-2017, 02:33 PM
Senior Member
 
jwstegbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrbonus View Post
I bought this

http://imgur.com/a/JRLm3


there still might be something I'm missing

Have you tried this set [Settings] — [Sound] — [Digital audio out] to [PCM].

Sony XBR-65A1E OLED | Harman Kardon PA-2200 Amp | Panamax MR4300 | Apple Tv 4K
Sony Receiver STR-ZA3100ES | Sony UBP-X700 | Oppo UDP -203 4K UHD Blu-ray Player
4 - Klipsch RP-250F Floorstanding Speaker | Klipsch RP-240S Surround Speaker (Pair) | Klipsch RP-440C Center Channel Speaker
Klipsch R-112SW Sub | Klipsch RP-140SA Dolby Atmos Speaker (Pair) | Playstation 4 Pro
jwstegbauer is offline  
post #5770 of 8172 Old 08-03-2017, 02:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwstegbauer View Post
Have you tried this set [Settings] — [Sound] — [Digital audio out] to [PCM].
I don't see why the digital audio out setting should affect the analog headphone/sub output. I guess it could, it just seems unlikely.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #5771 of 8172 Old 08-03-2017, 03:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yay - Sony shipped my replacement a1e for the stuck red pixel and it arrived yesterday. All setup, and everything looks great again.

Top tip though for people going through the same thing. Sony ship the replacement TV, and expect to collect the broken one. Which sounds fine - but with a couple of 'Delivery Logistic' people instead of "TV installers" it's quite hard work. The userguide is clear the TV should be left in the box and the a-frame assembled, then placed on the table top. The first thing the deliveres wanted to do, was take out the box and lay face down on the floor - I was really unhappy and stopped them doing that and asked them just to leave it in the small bottom piece of the box, and I'd put it back on the table. They then abused my old TV getting it into the remainder of the box - I signed to say when it left me it was in working condition - but I don't think it's going to survive the return trip

The "White Glove Service" really didn't live up to expectations, and setting up the TV after they'd left was much easier. They need to ship the TV with a spare box to take back the old TV, as the box is integral to the TV stability without the a-frame, and disassembling and reassembling the a-frame is longer than they were prepared to stay for.

Anyway, all sorted - and a happy tv owner again
dancolt, jrref, sickkent and 1 others like this.
ma4jpb is offline  
post #5772 of 8172 Old 08-03-2017, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
jwstegbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by ma4jpb View Post

Anyway, all sorted - and a happy tv owner again
Glad to hear you got it.....

Sony XBR-65A1E OLED | Harman Kardon PA-2200 Amp | Panamax MR4300 | Apple Tv 4K
Sony Receiver STR-ZA3100ES | Sony UBP-X700 | Oppo UDP -203 4K UHD Blu-ray Player
4 - Klipsch RP-250F Floorstanding Speaker | Klipsch RP-240S Surround Speaker (Pair) | Klipsch RP-440C Center Channel Speaker
Klipsch R-112SW Sub | Klipsch RP-140SA Dolby Atmos Speaker (Pair) | Playstation 4 Pro
jwstegbauer is offline  
post #5773 of 8172 Old 08-03-2017, 06:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
What kind of cable are you using exactly?

The manual states it MUST be a stereo 3.5mm, which would mean it has to have two RCA jacks on the other end. A mono 3.5mm to single RCA is not allowed and would short the left and right outputs together.

I haven't tried it, but maybe I will give it a try tonight if I remember (my sub has dual RCA inputs for left and right, so it should have no issue with that setup, although I just use one from my AVR).
So I just tried it. Stereo 3.5mm to dual rca red/white jacks to my PSB sub plugged into the headphone output on the back of the TV. Set headphone jack to subwoofer output in the settings. Works great. Certainly enhances the low end.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #5774 of 8172 Old 08-03-2017, 09:36 PM
Senior Member
 
jwstegbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
Works great. Certainly enhances the low end.
Glad to see you got it going.......

Sony XBR-65A1E OLED | Harman Kardon PA-2200 Amp | Panamax MR4300 | Apple Tv 4K
Sony Receiver STR-ZA3100ES | Sony UBP-X700 | Oppo UDP -203 4K UHD Blu-ray Player
4 - Klipsch RP-250F Floorstanding Speaker | Klipsch RP-240S Surround Speaker (Pair) | Klipsch RP-440C Center Channel Speaker
Klipsch R-112SW Sub | Klipsch RP-140SA Dolby Atmos Speaker (Pair) | Playstation 4 Pro
jwstegbauer is offline  
post #5775 of 8172 Old 08-03-2017, 10:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Le Europe
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Screw, I'll just look stupid and ask it, how much does it affect the experience by the fact that the screen is tilted when you are down in the couch? For the people who actually got the TV.
Colonel Mustard is offline  
post #5776 of 8172 Old 08-04-2017, 04:08 AM
Member
 
Mrbonus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
So I just tried it. Stereo 3.5mm to dual rca red/white jacks to my PSB sub plugged into the headphone output on the back of the TV. Set headphone jack to subwoofer output in the settings. Works great. Certainly enhances the low end.
Good to know it works! I will try again when I get home today.

[Sony 65" A1E][oppo 203][klipsch 112sw]
Mrbonus is offline  
post #5777 of 8172 Old 08-04-2017, 05:59 AM
Senior Member
 
jwstegbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonel Mustard View Post
Screw, I'll just look stupid and ask it, how much does it affect the experience by the fact that the screen is tilted when you are down in the couch? For the people who actually got the TV.
Don't even notice it........

Sony XBR-65A1E OLED | Harman Kardon PA-2200 Amp | Panamax MR4300 | Apple Tv 4K
Sony Receiver STR-ZA3100ES | Sony UBP-X700 | Oppo UDP -203 4K UHD Blu-ray Player
4 - Klipsch RP-250F Floorstanding Speaker | Klipsch RP-240S Surround Speaker (Pair) | Klipsch RP-440C Center Channel Speaker
Klipsch R-112SW Sub | Klipsch RP-140SA Dolby Atmos Speaker (Pair) | Playstation 4 Pro
jwstegbauer is offline  
post #5778 of 8172 Old 08-04-2017, 05:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonel Mustard View Post
Screw, I'll just look stupid and ask it, how much does it affect the experience by the fact that the screen is tilted when you are down in the couch? For the people who actually got the TV.
I assume you are talking about the TV using the kickstand, not when wall-mounted. If the former, you'll find many opinions both ways earlier in this thread -- some owners have zero issue with the 5-degree tilt, others don't like it. Some that don't like the slight tilt have found mounts that keep it vertical and seem to be happy (or at least have not complained here since.)

I personally have my A1E wall mounted. No issues for me as I tilt my panel slightly down for a better viewing angle and less reflections in my relatively bright family room.
BertL is offline  
post #5779 of 8172 Old 08-04-2017, 08:01 AM
Member
 
Mark350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Can anyone answer what the reason is for only 2 of the 4 hdmi ports being able to do 4k @ 60 Hz? Why not just make them all capable
Mark350 is offline  
post #5780 of 8172 Old 08-04-2017, 09:06 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Sebring5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark350 View Post
Can anyone answer what the reason is for only 2 of the 4 hdmi ports being able to do 4k @ 60 Hz? Why not just make them all capable
Look at the specs in the first post. All support 4k @ 60hz. Ports 2 and 3 have support added for HDR.

Meridian Audio G65 Sound Processor/UHD 722 HDMI Audio Processor/M6 Active Speakers, Sony A1E 65" OLED 4k UHD, Apple TV, Sony UBP-X1100ES
Sebring5 is offline  
post #5781 of 8172 Old 08-04-2017, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark350 View Post
Can anyone answer what the reason is for only 2 of the 4 hdmi ports being able to do 4k @ 60 Hz? Why not just make them all capable
IMHO, electronics companies are extremely cost sensitive in nearly every decision they make, and through their marketing analysis, the present design meets the balance between "average" consumer requirements vs cost to mfgr and therefore price to sell. (I admit most AVSForum posters are not your "average Joe" consumer, but then again when it comes to this sort of market analysis: Since I use an AVR, I'm an A1E owner that only cares about having ONE fully-capable HDMI port and ZERO internal speakers, so for me, I paid a lot more for capabilities I'll never use in my A1E. My usage case I'm sure balances out someone else in the bigger scheme of things. )
mikey94025 likes this.
BertL is offline  
post #5782 of 8172 Old 08-04-2017, 11:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I did some testing today to see exactly what did and did not work with the various HDMI inputs and the Enhanced HDMI setting enabled and disabled for ports 2 and 3. For the test I used my Xbox One S Under display settings it it will break down what features are supported on a given connection. With the Enhanced HDMI setting enabled I get [email protected], 4k[email protected], and [email protected] with 10 bit color depth and HDR on ports 2 and 3. With the setting Disabled, it reports no HDR support, and only 8 bit color depth. For ports 1 and 4, the same results were seen with ports 2 and 3 with the enhanced HDMI setting disabled See the attached Screen shots.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Standard HDMI.png
Views:	92
Size:	307.3 KB
ID:	2263250   Click image for larger version

Name:	Enhanced HDMI.png
Views:	76
Size:	149.6 KB
ID:	2263252  
mikey94025 and Geronimo.USMC like this.

Sony XBR-65A1E - Xbox One X
jstewart0131 is offline  
post #5783 of 8172 Old 08-04-2017, 12:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark350 View Post
Can anyone answer what the reason is for only 2 of the 4 hdmi ports being able to do 4k @ 60 Hz? Why not just make them all capable
Making the chip handling the inputs capable of handling 18Gbps on all four ports would be more complex than making it able to handle two ports at 18Gbps and two ports at 9Gbps. Those are some seriously high speed signals to handle. Had it been trivial, I am sure they would have made all the ports the same. The Z9D with the same X1E chip has the same things with two ports at 18 and two and 9Gbps. Same with the X930E and X940E as far as I can tell, also using the same chip. So simply a limitation of the X1E chip as designed.
Geronimo.USMC likes this.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #5784 of 8172 Old 08-04-2017, 12:31 PM
Member
 
Mrbonus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
So I just tried it. Stereo 3.5mm to dual rca red/white jacks to my PSB sub plugged into the headphone output on the back of the TV. Set headphone jack to subwoofer output in the settings. Works great. Certainly enhances the low end.
It's not working for me still don't understand why so frustrating

[Sony 65" A1E][oppo 203][klipsch 112sw]
Mrbonus is offline  
post #5785 of 8172 Old 08-04-2017, 12:32 PM
Member
 
Mrbonus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwstegbauer View Post
Have you tried this set [Settings] — [Sound] — [Digital audio out] to [PCM].
This is the only option it gives me.

[Sony 65" A1E][oppo 203][klipsch 112sw]
Mrbonus is offline  
post #5786 of 8172 Old 08-04-2017, 12:41 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Sebring5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
Making the chip handling the inputs capable of handling 18Gbps on all four ports would be more complex than making it able to handle two ports at 18Gbps and two ports at 9Gbps. Those are some seriously high speed signals to handle. Had it been trivial, I am sure they would have made all the ports the same. The Z9D with the same X1E chip has the same things with two ports at 18 and two and 9Gbps. Same with the X930E and X940E as far as I can tell, also using the same chip. So simply a limitation of the X1E chip as designed.
Read the specs on the first post. All 4 handle18Gbs. The only difference is HDR support when deep color is enabled.

Meridian Audio G65 Sound Processor/UHD 722 HDMI Audio Processor/M6 Active Speakers, Sony A1E 65" OLED 4k UHD, Apple TV, Sony UBP-X1100ES
Sebring5 is offline  
post #5787 of 8172 Old 08-04-2017, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebring5 View Post
Read the specs on the first post. All 4 handle18Gbs. The only difference is HDR support when deep color is enabled.
Reading the manual that came with the TV:

HDMI IN 1/2/3/4 (Support 4K resolution,
HDCP 2.2-compatible)
Video:
4096 × 2160p (60 Hz)*1*2,
4096 × 2160p (24 Hz)*1,
3840 × 2160p (60 Hz)*2 ,
3840 × 2160p (24, 30 Hz),
1080p (30, 60 Hz),
1080/24p,
1080i (60 Hz),
720p (30, 60 Hz),
720/24p,
480p,
480i,
PC
Formats
*1 3840 × 2160p is displayed when
4096 × 2160p is input.
*2 HDMI IN 2 / 3 only.

So the manual says only port 2 and 3 can do 2160p at 60Hz. Port 1 and 4 are 30Hz only in that case, which exactly matches with the difference between having 9 and 18Gbps bandwidth.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #5788 of 8172 Old 08-04-2017, 01:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by ma4jpb View Post
Yay - Sony shipped my replacement a1e for the stuck red pixel and it arrived yesterday. All setup, and everything looks great again.

Top tip though for people going through the same thing. Sony ship the replacement TV, and expect to collect the broken one. Which sounds fine - but with a couple of 'Delivery Logistic' people instead of "TV installers" it's quite hard work. The userguide is clear the TV should be left in the box and the a-frame assembled, then placed on the table top. The first thing the deliveres wanted to do, was take out the box and lay face down on the floor - I was really unhappy and stopped them doing that and asked them just to leave it in the small bottom piece of the box, and I'd put it back on the table. They then abused my old TV getting it into the remainder of the box - I signed to say when it left me it was in working condition - but I don't think it's going to survive the return trip

The "White Glove Service" really didn't live up to expectations, and setting up the TV after they'd left was much easier. They need to ship the TV with a spare box to take back the old TV, as the box is integral to the TV stability without the a-frame, and disassembling and reassembling the a-frame is longer than they were prepared to stay for.

Anyway, all sorted - and a happy tv owner again
I put my box away in storage. If I ever move I will want the TV to survive the move, and I don't think anything other than the original box will be a safe solution.

So I think a good tip is: Keep the box. You will need it if you ever move, or sell the TV, or apparently if you need it replaced under warranty.
Geronimo.USMC and sickkent like this.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #5789 of 8172 Old 08-04-2017, 01:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrbonus View Post
It's not working for me still don't understand why so frustrating
Well as long as you plugged it into the right jack (I believe there is more than one 3.5mm jack on the back), and the TV is set to internal speakers, and the headphone jack config is set to subwoofer, and the subwoofer is on with volume turned up, then I think you are doing what I did when it worked. Hopefully you didn't get a TV with a broken headphone jack.

Did you try if you can use headphones with it?

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #5790 of 8172 Old 08-04-2017, 03:25 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Sebring5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
Reading the manual that came with the TV:

HDMI IN 1/2/3/4 (Support 4K resolution,
HDCP 2.2-compatible)
Video:
4096 × 2160p (60 Hz)*1*2,
4096 × 2160p (24 Hz)*1,
3840 × 2160p (60 Hz)*2 ,
3840 × 2160p (24, 30 Hz),
1080p (30, 60 Hz),
1080/24p,
1080i (60 Hz),
720p (30, 60 Hz),
720/24p,
480p,
480i,
PC
Formats
*1 3840 × 2160p is displayed when
4096 × 2160p is input.
*2 HDMI IN 2 / 3 only.

So the manual says only port 2 and 3 can do 2160p at 60Hz. Port 1 and 4 are 30Hz only in that case, which exactly matches with the difference between having 9 and 18Gbps bandwidth.
That's not what the spec sheet on the first post says. Please look at it and confirm I'm reading it correctly. Maybe I'm reading it wrong.

Meridian Audio G65 Sound Processor/UHD 722 HDMI Audio Processor/M6 Active Speakers, Sony A1E 65" OLED 4k UHD, Apple TV, Sony UBP-X1100ES
Sebring5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
settings

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off