Sony A1E 4K HDR OLED TV Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 267 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 14428Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7981 of 8142 Old 08-16-2018, 05:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by LKeene View Post
Hello all.

I was watching the 4k UHD Blu-ray version of "Blade Runner" last night (the original, not 2049) on my 65 inch A1 and near the beginning, during Leon's questioning there is a spinning overhead fan in one of the shots. On my A1 I could distinctly see trails left by the fan like a visual echo. If I paused the disc at that moment the visual artifacts went away. I tried altering the motion settings but it didn't seem to make any difference, I couldn't get rid of them.

I'm wondering if there is anyone else out there with an A1 who also has a copy of this movie and, if so, do you see the same thing?
that is a pretty common artifact with motionflow. it's very common if you set the smoothness to maximum.

A1E, a9f soon
Interpolation is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7982 of 8142 Old 08-16-2018, 06:00 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,233
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6052
I use Custom, 3, Low and Low and it does well.

My LG's, if I used Trumotion, fans and helicopter blades did wild things. I remember in rogue one during the battle on the planet, fighters were phasing in and out on the LG, like they had cloaking devices...
dancolt likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #7983 of 8142 Old 08-20-2018, 08:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1426 Post(s)
Liked: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by circumstances View Post
Has there been any chatter about the successor to the 77A1E?

I'd like to buy a 77" Sony OLED with the X1 Ultimate processor (or whatever comes after it).

Since the recent announcements only involve upcoming 55" and 65" models, what's on the horizon for the larger size(s)?

Nothing has been mentioned so far. The A1E came in 55, 65 and 77. The Z9D came in 65 and 75 initially, and then quite a while later they came out with a 100 (although good luck getting one and the price is mind boggling).


So far the A8F is 55 and 65 only, and the A9F is 55 and 65 only, and the Z9F is 65 and 75 only so far (no mention of repeating that 100 Z9D size so far).


It could come later. But so far there doesn't appear to be anything announced or planner, although I imagine Sony is always planning. Maybe the rumors of LG switching to 75" instead of 77" are true and Sony may be waiting for 75" so they can stick with that rather than be dependent on a 77" size that LG might stop producing part way through the expected life of the A9F. After all LG changes models every year, Sony seems to be aiming for 2 years with their flagship models. Maybe LG is planning to go to 75" for 2019 and Sony has a heads up about it. If that happens, nothing prevents Sony from adding a 75" A9F in the spring.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7984 of 8142 Old 08-20-2018, 08:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Has there been any progress on the dimming issue with the A1E? Is it going to be fixed? It is annoying.
Thanks,

65A1E
gilfeath is offline  
post #7985 of 8142 Old 08-20-2018, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sgbroimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CT Shore
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 40
These new machines are obviously exciting but as I consider possible purchase later this year or early next, but one question really knaws at me: Given the compressed signal my Comcast cable puts out (old legacy, non-rebuild, low mhz system) am I really going to see much of a difference vs. what was a good TV in its day, My 2014 XBR850????

Assassin HTPC + Echo, Sony 49XBR850, McIntosh MX151, MC202, MC7104, MS300, B+W 803D2, CWM's, Janus 1W Sub
sgbroimp is offline  
post #7986 of 8142 Old 08-20-2018, 09:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
BlueChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 516 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgbroimp View Post
These new machines are obviously exciting but as I consider possible purchase later this year or early next, but one question really knaws at me: Given the compressed signal my Comcast cable puts out (old legacy, non-rebuild, low mhz system) am I really going to see much of a difference vs. what was a good TV in its day, My 2014 XBR850????
Not much improvement if your main watching is this but if you want to proceed to the world of hdr by streaming or by physical media then yes its worth it.
BlueChris is online now  
post #7987 of 8142 Old 08-20-2018, 10:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sgbroimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CT Shore
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueChris View Post
Not much improvement if your main watching is this but if you want to proceed to the world of hdr by streaming or by physical media then yes its worth it.
That makes sense, but right now I stream Netflix as guest and Amazon videos as pay per view (not Prime member) and I am not even seeing 4K, so I guess something has to change there as well to benefit from this OLED technology, right?

Assassin HTPC + Echo, Sony 49XBR850, McIntosh MX151, MC202, MC7104, MS300, B+W 803D2, CWM's, Janus 1W Sub
sgbroimp is offline  
post #7988 of 8142 Old 08-20-2018, 11:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
BlueChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 516 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgbroimp View Post
That makes sense, but right now I stream Netflix as guest and Amazon videos as pay per view (not Prime member) and I am not even seeing 4K, so I guess something has to change there as well to benefit from this OLED technology, right?
It's a whole new world if you have access to hdr or dv with this tv.
You can wait though some days till the new sony's are out which will bring i believe reduced price in A1E.
BlueChris is online now  
post #7989 of 8142 Old 08-20-2018, 12:00 PM
Member
 
cminer72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Any known reason the tv would say that specific wifi networks were disabled? The only solution was to restart the tv from with a hard reset. Works fine now, but still concerning.
cminer72 is offline  
post #7990 of 8142 Old 08-20-2018, 12:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
circumstances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
Nothing has been mentioned so far. The A1E came in 55, 65 and 77. The Z9D came in 65 and 75 initially, and then quite a while later they came out with a 100 (although good luck getting one and the price is mind boggling).


So far the A8F is 55 and 65 only, and the A9F is 55 and 65 only, and the Z9F is 65 and 75 only so far (no mention of repeating that 100 Z9D size so far).


It could come later. But so far there doesn't appear to be anything announced or planner, although I imagine Sony is always planning. Maybe the rumors of LG switching to 75" instead of 77" are true and Sony may be waiting for 75" so they can stick with that rather than be dependent on a 77" size that LG might stop producing part way through the expected life of the A9F. After all LG changes models every year, Sony seems to be aiming for 2 years with their flagship models. Maybe LG is planning to go to 75" for 2019 and Sony has a heads up about it. If that happens, nothing prevents Sony from adding a 75" A9F in the spring.
Thanks.

I'd really like OLED, but I am also realizing I really want 85 inches.

I'd like to hear that there will be a successor to the 85X900F, with the X1 Ultimate processor.

If not, and the Z9F is 65 and 75, I will just get a 75 or 77 inch OLED, or the 85X900F.
circumstances is offline  
post #7991 of 8142 Old 08-20-2018, 01:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1426 Post(s)
Liked: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by circumstances View Post
Thanks.

I'd really like OLED, but I am also realizing I really want 85 inches.

I'd like to hear that there will be a successor to the 85X900F, with the X1 Ultimate processor.

If not, and the Z9F is 65 and 75, I will just get a 75 or 77 inch OLED, or the 85X900F.

Well the 900F got the X1 Extreme this year while last years 900E did not have it. It seems this year with the X1 Ultimate arriving in September, they started moving the X1 Extreme down the line a bit. After all the X900F is not considered their top model (but certainly not low end either), and neither is the A8F for that matter which also has the X1 Extreme. I would be surprised if the follow up to the 900F next year would get the X1 Ultimate (assuming there is a 900G next year), but maybe the year after that, which would seem around the time for the next generation of processor to come out. Sony seems to have about a 2 year cycle on their processor design.


But only Sony knows what Sony is planning. We can only guess.


Past behavior would have the next 900 model be announced at CES in January for a spring release.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #7992 of 8142 Old 08-20-2018, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
circumstances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
Well the 900F got the X1 Extreme this year while last years 900E did not have it. It seems this year with the X1 Ultimate arriving in September, they started moving the X1 Extreme down the line a bit. After all the X900F is not considered their top model (but certainly not low end either), and neither is the A8F for that matter which also has the X1 Extreme. I would be surprised if the follow up to the 900F next year would get the X1 Ultimate (assuming there is a 900G next year), but maybe the year after that, which would seem around the time for the next generation of processor to come out. Sony seems to have about a 2 year cycle on their processor design.


But only Sony knows what Sony is planning. We can only guess.


Past behavior would have the next 900 model be announced at CES in January for a spring release.
But the 900F is the highest model available in 85 inches, correct?

I am hoping CEDIA and CES shed some light in this area.
circumstances is offline  
post #7993 of 8142 Old 08-21-2018, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1426 Post(s)
Liked: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by circumstances View Post
But the 900F is the highest model available in 85 inches, correct?

I am hoping CEDIA and CES shed some light in this area.

Yes I think it is the highest 85" model they make. 75" you can get higher level models, and of course there is the 100" option...
thomasphoenix likes this.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #7994 of 8142 Old 08-21-2018, 05:49 PM
Senior Member
 
srinivas1015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Is there a calibration guide for beginners? Or at least a few tips or what to aim for? Coming from JVC’s autocal, calibrating the Sony is like dicing into the deep end of the pool.

I have a Spyder 5. Recommended software? Does something simpler than HCFR exist?

JVC DLA-x550 Projector | 140 Inch Matte White Screen | Polk 7.1 System: TSi 300, CS20, DSW500 | Marantz sr6011 receiver
OPPO UDP-203 | Sennheiser RS 175 Wireless Headphones
LG 55inch Passive 3D TV | Sony HTiB 5.1 | Apple TV 3 |
Philips Hue mood lighting
srinivas1015 is offline  
post #7995 of 8142 Old 08-22-2018, 12:57 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,549
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6669 Post(s)
Liked: 6666
Quote:
Originally Posted by circumstances View Post
But the 900F is the highest model available in 85 inches, correct?

I am hoping CEDIA and CES shed some light in this area.
That is correct unless Samsung Releases the 85Q9FN.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #7996 of 8142 Old 08-22-2018, 01:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
circumstances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by circumstances View Post
But the 900F is the highest model available in 85 inches, correct?

I am hoping CEDIA and CES shed some light in this area.
That is correct unless Samsung Releases the 85Q9FN.
Thanks. The Samsung isn't under consideration.
circumstances is offline  
post #7997 of 8142 Old 08-22-2018, 06:33 PM
Member
 
DanielDisney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hi everyone,

I have had the 65A1 for several months now, I previously had the Sony 65X9005B and thought it was time to upgrade for HDR, Dolby Vision and of course OLED.

I wanted to put some hours on the set before calibrating to let it settle in a little, so its pretty much been on the out of the box settings. Ive recently spent a lot of time calibrating the set, but still don't feel its quite where I'd like it to be. I'm not a TV expert by any means, but have enough knowledge to do a basic calibration.

Ive switched to Cinema Pro mode for all sources. Motionflow True Cinema and Film Mode Low for all sources. Switched off all enhancements/processing. Brightness Max and Peak Luminance High for all sources except normal TV broadcasts (Brightness 20, Peak Luminance Medium). Contrast 90 for all sources.

The main problem I seem to be having is with motion on the set. When it was in Standard Picture mode, the motion was always perfect. Once in Cinema Pro picture mode, the motion seems to be choppy. I tried increasing Film Mode which seems to help but even on high the motion still seems slightly off. I'd rather leave Film Mode on low to avoid soap opera effect. Streaming 4K Netflix seems particularly juddery, but even on 4K blu rays the motion isn't perfect. Is there a reason that judder seems to be increased in Cinema Pro mode? Are there any recommended settings that might help with the motion on my set?

I'm also trying to get the best I can out of HDR10/Dolby Vision content. I recently watched Ready Player One in Dolby Vision and all I can say is WOW! Are my settings above likely to get the best out of HDR10/Dolby Vision content? I've noticed that Dolby Vision content can be quite dark, is this just the nature of Dolby Vision?

Finally, today I stuck the Rampage UHD Dolby Vision disc in the player (Sony UBP-X700) and set it away. I noticed quite visible grain on most of the scenes I saw. It appears mostly on backgrounds mainly when a white background is present. Is this simply the disc content? Are there any settings that may help with this?

OLED, HDR10 and Dolby Vision are all new technologies to me, and it may just be that I don't quite understand them enough yet. Once I have the basics right I'll stick in the Disney WOW disc to get everything right. Right now just feel I need a little guidance.

Sorry for the long post and thank you!

Last edited by DanielDisney; 08-22-2018 at 08:22 PM.
DanielDisney is offline  
post #7998 of 8142 Old 08-23-2018, 03:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Loughborough, LEICS. UK
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 5
As regarding 4K blu ray discs with grain, they vary from disc to another. There are reviews on disc quality on You Tube and one of the best one for video / audio quality which keeps cropping up is Blade Runner 2049.

TV Sony KD 55A1. Oppo205, oppo105, Denon 3800BD, M & K MX350 Subs, Naim AV2,DVD5 NAP175, HI FI NAIM/LINN ISOBARIK SPEAKERS.
supermariojj is offline  
post #7999 of 8142 Old 08-23-2018, 05:14 PM
Member
 
DanielDisney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by supermariojj View Post
As regarding 4K blu ray discs with grain, they vary from disc to another. There are reviews on disc quality on You Tube and one of the best one for video / audio quality which keeps cropping up is Blade Runner 2049.
I don't have the Blade Runner 2049 4K disc but I will certainly look to pick it up. Ready Player One had one particular scene which had visible grain, the part where they go into The Shining. I didn't see any grain in any other parts of the movie. I guess its added for effect or possibly to help blend when CGI is used.
DanielDisney is offline  
post #8000 of 8142 Old 08-23-2018, 05:17 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,233
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6052
I thought BR2049 and RPO looked fantastic on 4K blu.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
DP-UB420 / ATV4K (3) / PS Vue
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #8001 of 8142 Old 08-24-2018, 12:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
scott_bernstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Upper West Side, Manhattan, NYC, US
Posts: 1,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgbroimp View Post
That makes sense, but right now I stream Netflix as guest and Amazon videos as pay per view (not Prime member) and I am not even seeing 4K, so I guess something has to change there as well to benefit from this OLED technology, right?
Amazon Prime and Netflix both have a TON of 4k/HDR content. For Netflix, I believe that you need to subscribe to a special tier to see 4k. For Amazon Prime, the 4k/HDR videos are in their own categories. You have to dig a bit through their menu systems but you have to specifically find the 4k/HDR labeled content and play those versions of the shows you want to see...

Owner: Sony XBR-55A1E, Oppo BDP-103, Kenwood VR5900, Meadowlark Audio Heron-i
scott_bernstein is offline  
post #8002 of 8142 Old 08-24-2018, 07:00 PM
Member
 
DanielDisney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I thought BR2049 and RPO looked fantastic on 4K blu.
Ready Player One did indeed look amazing on the A1. The grain in that particular scene surprised me, but I suppose it shows how amazing the clarity on this set is. If the director intended to have the grain there, I'd rather see it. I was just worried my settings where somehow causing the grain or exaggerating it.
jnelson2000 likes this.
DanielDisney is offline  
post #8003 of 8142 Old 08-28-2018, 11:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ddingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Mahtomedi,Minnesota
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Panel Refresh issues

I have a client with a 65" A1E and everytime he turns it off he gets a "refresh the panel" warning. Unfortunately after selecting "refresh now" the picture goes away and even after overnight there doesn't seem to be any change in the tv. Then when our clients turn it off again the warning comes back. We then utilized the manual refresh screen with the same result. Sony suggested doing a factory reset and make sure we were signed into Google. Even after a factory reset the problem persists. As I understand it at some point there should be a "refresh complete" indication on screen. We or our client have never seen this. The firmware is up to date so we are at a loss as to how to resolve.
I did surf around on this thread and found some older manual refresh not working posts,but not sure how that worked out. Any help would be appreciated.
PS: we have seen "refresh not complete" upon turning the set back on as well.

Last edited by ddingle; 08-29-2018 at 04:01 AM.
ddingle is offline  
post #8004 of 8142 Old 08-28-2018, 02:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Anyone have any info if we will be seeing an upgraded Android OS for the A1E?

TV: Sony XBR65A1E
Audio: Sony STR-DH790
Blu-Ray: Sony UBP-X700
Confuzzeled23 is offline  
post #8005 of 8142 Old 08-29-2018, 09:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thezaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Laveen, AZ
Posts: 1,607
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 623 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielDisney View Post
The main problem I seem to be having is with motion on the set. When it was in Standard Picture mode, the motion was always perfect. Once in Cinema Pro picture mode, the motion seems to be choppy. I tried increasing Film Mode which seems to help but even on high the motion still seems slightly off. I'd rather leave Film Mode on low to avoid soap opera effect. Streaming 4K Netflix seems particularly juddery, but even on 4K blu rays the motion isn't perfect. Is there a reason that judder seems to be increased in Cinema Pro mode? Are there any recommended settings that might help with the motion on my set?

I've also seen some motion issues in Cinema Pro - I have not tried the Standard Picture mode. Anyone else seeing this? As mentioned, any recommended settings?


Dave
thezaks is offline  
post #8006 of 8142 Old 08-29-2018, 05:16 PM
Member
 
DanielDisney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by thezaks View Post
I've also seen some motion issues in Cinema Pro - I have not tried the Standard Picture mode. Anyone else seeing this? As mentioned, any recommended settings?


Dave
If I switch to Standard Picture Mode, the motion is perfect, but obviously the colours are not as natural as Cinema Pro Picture Mode. In general, the motion handling on the Sony A1 seems to be highly regarded, so surely there must be a way to remedy this with settings? As much as I've tried I can't seem to get it right.
DanielDisney is offline  
post #8007 of 8142 Old 08-30-2018, 08:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lobosrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1154 Post(s)
Liked: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielDisney View Post
If I switch to Standard Picture Mode, the motion is perfect, but obviously the colours are not as natural as Cinema Pro Picture Mode. In general, the motion handling on the Sony A1 seems to be highly regarded, so surely there must be a way to remedy this with settings? As much as I've tried I can't seem to get it right.
You can just tweak the color settings in the standard pic mode to your taste.
lobosrul is offline  
post #8008 of 8142 Old 08-30-2018, 02:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ddingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Mahtomedi,Minnesota
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddingle View Post
I have a client with a 65" A1E and everytime he turns it off he gets a "refresh the panel" warning. Unfortunately after selecting "refresh now" the picture goes away and even after overnight there doesn't seem to be any change in the tv. Then when our clients turn it off again the warning comes back. We then utilized the manual refresh screen with the same result. Sony suggested doing a factory reset and make sure we were signed into Google. Even after a factory reset the problem persists. As I understand it at some point there should be a "refresh complete" indication on screen. We or our client have never seen this. The firmware is up to date so we are at a loss as to how to resolve.
I did surf around on this thread and found some older manual refresh not working posts,but not sure how that worked out. Any help would be appreciated.
PS: we have seen "refresh not complete" upon turning the set back on as well.
FYI: We are scheduling a service call to replace the main board in this A1E. Doesn't seem to be any other solution. Will update once repaired.
ddingle is offline  
post #8009 of 8142 Old 09-01-2018, 06:03 AM
Senior Member
 
thomasphoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddingle View Post
I have a client with a 65" A1E and everytime he turns it off he gets a "refresh the panel" warning. Unfortunately after selecting "refresh now" the picture goes away and even after overnight there doesn't seem to be any change in the tv. Then when our clients turn it off again the warning comes back. We then utilized the manual refresh screen with the same result. Sony suggested doing a factory reset and make sure we were signed into Google. Even after a factory reset the problem persists. As I understand it at some point there should be a "refresh complete" indication on screen. We or our client have never seen this. The firmware is up to date so we are at a loss as to how to resolve.

I did surf around on this thread and found some older manual refresh not working posts,but not sure how that worked out. Any help would be appreciated.

PS: we have seen "refresh not complete" upon turning the set back on as well.


My KD-65A1 had the same issue for months. Finally this is what worked .

1.Pull out all hdmi cables connected to the tv

2. Turn it off, now you get the” pop up ”, choose refresh now.
3. The power turns off, wait till you see a white horizontal line appear and scan downward. This means the refresh has started, may take up to an hour for this to happen.
4. An hour after that the tv turned on with the refresh completed pop up, have had the pop up after that .

Total process was a little over two hours.

TV-Sony Bravia KD-65"A1, Pioneer SC-LX901 7.2.4 ATMOS/DTS-X, Polk DSW 660*2, Polk RTi A7*2, Pol Csi A6, Polk RtiA5*2, Polk Tsi300*2, Polk TSX 220B *2, Polk OWM 3*2, Zappiti-4kHDROne, Oppo UDP-203, XboxOneX, PS4, Oppo BDP-83, Darbee DVP-500s, ZidooX10, Sony Bravia HX925 55"
thomasphoenix is online now  
post #8010 of 8142 Old 09-01-2018, 07:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ddingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Mahtomedi,Minnesota
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasphoenix View Post
My KD-65A1 had the same issue for months. Finally this is what worked .

1.Pull out all hdmi cables connected to the tv

2. Turn it off, now you get the” pop up ”, choose refresh now.
3. The power turns off, wait till you see a white horizontal line appear and scan downward. This means the refresh has started, may take up to an hour for this to happen.
4. An hour after that the tv turned on with the refresh completed pop up, have had the pop up after that .

Total process was a little over two hours.
Thanks! So was it the disconnecting of the HDMI cables that solved the problem? That is about the only thing we haven't tried.
ddingle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
settings

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off