2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 1012 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980311Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #30331 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 10:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18,993
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6327 Post(s)
Liked: 6001
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoInSTL View Post
Found WebOS version, serial number, etc but no DV version number. 65B7A.





I looked several times and nothing.


It’s the last listing in the “about”, you need to scroll all the way down.
Ph8te is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #30332 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,556
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1392 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mohamed Farhat View Post
Thanks. I was hoping for an easy way via the remote( like pressing the power key for 5 seconds or some combination of keys).

Sony uses the hold power button for a while to do it, but I have not seen any method for LG other than unplug power. Weird.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #30333 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 10:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MoInSTL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Edmundson, MO (STL)
Posts: 1,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
It’s the last listing in the “about”, you need to scroll all the way down.
Thanks. I did find it. Didn't go down far enough.
Ph8te likes this.
MoInSTL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #30334 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 11:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TitusTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 9,248
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4344 Post(s)
Liked: 3947
most people seem to be happy with the new 04.71.00 firmware yet there are still a few people who claim it doesn't fix the DV black issue that the Korean firmware fixed...placebo?...or is it just that you can't please everyone sort of thing?
TitusTroy is offline  
post #30335 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 11:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Anyone notice a set that has very light bands that run vertically across nearly the entire screen?

My new 65B7A is SIGNIFICANTLY better than the unit I sent back. It's not visible during most content with the exception of the torture tests *Marco Polo / Mindhunter* but I'm wondering if the bands can get darker over time. Right now they are barely noticeable but cover the entire screen like narrow jailbars.

Uniformity is excellent with this set as well, no blobs, no darker or lighter areas..

Posted this in the other thread as well but figured someone may chime in here.

If I can assume the bands won't get stronger over time I'm 100% happy with this set.

PS: Already ran the 4hr comp cycle and ran a manual pixel refresh and the quality has already improved.

Also, I wonder if executives at Netflix are wondering, why the hell are thousands of people streaming the exact same three minutes of this craptastic Marco Polo show
Bumrush is online now  
post #30336 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 11:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TitusTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 9,248
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4344 Post(s)
Liked: 3947
which scenes are the torture tests in Marco Polo and Mindhunter?
TitusTroy is offline  
post #30337 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 11:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Bacon_67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitusTroy View Post
which scenes are the torture tests in Marco Polo and Mindhunter?

Just look at the opening credits of Mute on Netflix. You'll see lots of grey screens that should be black.
TitusTroy likes this.
Bacon_67 is offline  
post #30338 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 11:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TitusTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 9,248
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4344 Post(s)
Liked: 3947
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacon_67 View Post
Just look at the opening credits of Mute on Netflix. You'll see lots of grey screens that should be black.
thanks...but which scenes are the torture test for Mindhunter and Marco Polo...I've heard about those 2 shows in regards to testing out OLED's...I would like to view them on my C7...
TitusTroy is offline  
post #30339 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 11:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitusTroy View Post
thanks...but which scenes are the torture test for Mindhunter and Marco Polo...I've heard about those 2 shows in regards to testing out OLED's...I would like to view them on my C7...
Marco Polo - Netflix - 14-16 minutes (S1E3)
Mindhunter Episode 8 : 47:15
TitusTroy and Culpepper like this.
Bumrush is online now  
post #30340 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 11:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
zinfella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-smith View Post
What input on the LG are you selecting when trying to watch Apps? I’m not sure it matters but I have cable connected directly to TV so I always select Live TV on LG and TV Audio on Marantz and I get audio through ARC from whatever channel I’m watching and then select whatever app I want to watch on LG.

The biggest problem I’ve had with ARC is getting everything to sync at startup so I always try to start with LG on HDMI2 and Marantz on one of other inputs then I select Live TV on LG and TV Audio on Marantz. I tried starting LG on HDMI3 when I had Fire Stick connected there for a bit and Marantz on TV Audio but never got audio and had to switch around to get everything to sync then go back which was too much of a hassle.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Nope, I haven't shined you on, or forgotten about this issue. OTOH, it has been resolved in a not terribly dramatic way.

I grabbed a brand new Premium Certified BJC 6' HMDI cable and used it to replace the Monoprice cable of the same quality that was doing ARC duty between the Denon S730H and LG 65C7P. I thought that was possibly the best place to start getting to the bottom on my problem. Waste of time, there was nothing wrong with the Monoprice cable, a fact I was finally able to determine after much marching around the settings on the TV and receiver, and climbing in nd out from behind my setup. What solved the problem appears to have been a cable that was not well seated.

I was all over these devices, like white on rice, and not enjoying it. But, now all is well, and I get audio from the TV through the AVR by hitting the TV Audio button like it's supposed to work. In conclusion, thanks to all that responded trying to help, ans YES, I will have a martini tonight, SHEESH!
Culpepper and move4ward like this.
zinfella is offline  
post #30341 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,080
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4234 Post(s)
Liked: 4526
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitusTroy View Post
most people seem to be happy with the new 04.71.00 firmware yet there are still a few people who claim it doesn't fix the DV black issue that the Korean firmware fixed...placebo?...or is it just that you can't please everyone sort of thing?


I don’t know to be honest. I’m just going with my gut that I’m ok on the Korean firmware now so why change? Lol

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is online now  
post #30342 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 12:20 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitusTroy View Post
most people seem to be happy with the new 04.71.00 firmware yet there are still a few people who claim it doesn't fix the DV black issue that the Korean firmware fixed...placebo?...or is it just that you can't please everyone sort of thing?
I had elevated blacks with 4.71 with DV, until I realized that for some reason the active profile changed to Cinema Home. As soon as I reverted back to Cinema (User), black looked great again.
giomania and chunon like this.

Last edited by sdjaime; 06-27-2018 at 12:23 PM. Reason: spelling is hard
sdjaime is offline  
post #30343 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 12:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TitusTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 9,248
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4344 Post(s)
Liked: 3947
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
I don’t know to be honest. I’m just going with my gut that I’m ok on the Korean firmware now so why change? Lol
have you heard from other people (or other forums) that the DV issue was not fixed with 04.71.00?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdjaime View Post
I had elevated blacks with 4.71 with DV, until I realized that for some reason the active profile changed to Cinema Home. As soon as I reverted back to Cinema (User), black looked great again.
firmware updates on my C7 never changed any of my custom settings...
TitusTroy is offline  
post #30344 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 12:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bumrush View Post
Marco Polo - Netflix - 14-16 minutes (S1E3)
Mindhunter Episode 8 : 47:15
thanks. will check it out.
Mohamed Farhat is offline  
post #30345 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18,993
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6327 Post(s)
Liked: 6001
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitusTroy View Post
have you heard from other people (or other forums) that the DV issue was not fixed with 04.71.00?







firmware updates on my C7 never changed any of my custom settings...


The only one I can confirm is the intro titles to Mute (they flash grey to black). Outside of that I haven’t seen any reports of repeatable issues. I think some might confuse the elevated blacks that are on purpose (like with Nolan movies) and the DV error which caused the entire screen including the bars to go grey.
Ph8te is online now  
post #30346 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 01:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quick question to other B7a owners, since it's been bugging me recently, does your unit make an audible click on power on/off? I'm assuming this a power protection circuit like an amplifier employs, but sometimes the click on power-off isn't immediate.

LG OLED55B7A | Apple TV 4K | Sony UBP-X700
Pioneer Sx-750 | TEC TC-7220 | Kenwood VR 507 | ADS 500 Acoustic Suspension Speakers
Denon DL-110 | Technics SL-1700
zombie.modernist is offline  
post #30347 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 01:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
paku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,687
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
No, the 7 series OLED sets have no active hdr during game mode.
I stand corrected, never realized it didn't work in Game mode. Good to know for when I eventually get into HDR gaming.
paku is offline  
post #30348 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 02:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie.modernist View Post
Quick question to other B7a owners, since it's been bugging me recently, does your unit make an audible click on power on/off? I'm assuming this a power protection circuit like an amplifier employs, but sometimes the click on power-off isn't immediate.


Yes. Perfectly normal.
zombie.modernist likes this.
theathlete is offline  
post #30349 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
JerryIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Does doing the ota update make anyone lose their settings?

LG 65C7p | Sony PS3 | Sony PS4 | Apple Ariport Express | Emotiva UMC-200 | Parasound HCA2003a | Parasound HCA1000a x 2 | Monster HTS3500 | AC Infinity Aircom T8 x 2 | NHT 1.5 | NHT VS2 | NHT Super Ones | SVS SB16 Ultra | Harmony Elite | Salamander Venice 237 | Sound Anchors Cone Coasters | Vibrapods
JerryIII is offline  
post #30350 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Culpepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie.modernist View Post
Quick question to other B7a owners, since it's been bugging me recently, does your unit make an audible click on power on/off? I'm assuming this a power protection circuit like an amplifier employs, but sometimes the click on power-off isn't immediate.
Mine clicks, so let's agree it's normal. :-) When the set is running its automatic pixel refresh after every 4 hours of accumulated on-time you won't hear the click for about 10 minutes.
Culpepper is offline  
post #30351 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 02:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Culpepper View Post
Mine clicks, so let's agree it's normal. :-) When the set is running its automatic pixel refresh after every 4 hours of accumulated on-time you won't hear the click for about 10 minutes.
Ah thanks for the clarity on that. That's what was throwing me, I'm mostly an audio person, so I'm used to the click delay being up-front on power-on vs on power-off.

LG OLED55B7A | Apple TV 4K | Sony UBP-X700
Pioneer Sx-750 | TEC TC-7220 | Kenwood VR 507 | ADS 500 Acoustic Suspension Speakers
Denon DL-110 | Technics SL-1700
zombie.modernist is offline  
post #30352 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 02:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie.modernist View Post
Quick question to other B7a owners, since it's been bugging me recently, does your unit make an audible click on power on/off? I'm assuming this a power protection circuit like an amplifier employs, but sometimes the click on power-off isn't immediate.
My 65C7P makes a faint ping or chime sound when going to standby.
robnalex is offline  
post #30353 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 03:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TitusTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 9,248
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4344 Post(s)
Liked: 3947
I read this earlier today and thought it was interesting...

Will HDR kill your OLED TV?

HDR requires greater brightness, so will that shorten the lifespan of OLEDs?

https://www.techhive.com/article/323...r-oled-tv.html
TitusTroy is offline  
post #30354 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
RedBaronF2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Portland, ME
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 63
My 65 C7 updated to 4.71.00 just now and I noticed that the "Technicolor" mode is no more. It defaulted to "Cinema User" mode.


Can anyone confirm this?

Chris Kimmelshue
kimmelshue.com
@chriskimmelshue
RedBaronF2001 is offline  
post #30355 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 03:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
brianmlamb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBaronF2001 View Post
My 65 C7 updated to 4.71.00 just now and I noticed that the "Technicolor" mode is no more. It defaulted to "Cinema User" mode.


Can anyone confirm this?
You're watching a dolby vision source most likely for which there was never a technicolor mode. Technicolor is still there for SDR and HDR
Greg TB, bigzee3 and move4ward like this.

My setup: Sonus Faber Venere 2.5 and center, Ascend HTM200SE surround, NHT atmos minis, dual Rythmik L12's, Pioneer SC-95, Minidsp DDRC-88BM, Rotel RMB1077, LG OLED B7P
brianmlamb is offline  
post #30356 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 03:29 PM
Senior Member
 
RedBaronF2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Portland, ME
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianmlamb View Post
You're watching a dolby vision source most likely for which there was never a technicolor mode. Technicolor is still there for SDR and HDR

Thank you. Yes, I'm watching Apple TV 4K in DV mode. I had the set calibrated and I was worried I had lost my settings. Whew!

Chris Kimmelshue
kimmelshue.com
@chriskimmelshue
RedBaronF2001 is offline  
post #30357 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 03:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Omni009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitusTroy View Post
thanks...but which scenes are the torture test for Mindhunter and Marco Polo...I've heard about those 2 shows in regards to testing out OLED's...I would like to view them on my C7...
I can watch the Marco Polo scenes just fine on my set, but the first time I've noticed my black bars in content was near the end of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire during some of the panning shots in the maze at the end. I can see the lines.

Omni009 is offline  
post #30358 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,382
Mentioned: 229 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2706 Post(s)
Liked: 2468
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
Pretty sure HDR10 Pro is just an LG marketing invention meaning HDR10 with dynamic metadata generated by the TV. Of course since the TV can do that, HDR10+ servers no purpose over HDR10. Pretty sure the C7 has that too even if the marketing people didn't give it a name. As for HDR10+ there is no content really so far, and it might die out. Who knows. I think Amazon is the only place that has anything.



Technicolor Advanced HDR was a feature of the C7 when released promised in a future firmware update, so if it hasn't arrived yet then LG better deliver it at some point.
Advanced HDR is already installed and ready to go. Just waiting for content / a signal that will trigger the badge. DirecTV will be the first to implement. Coming soon . . . real soon!

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is online now  
post #30359 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 04:18 PM
Senior Member
 
JerryIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerryIII View Post
Does doing the ota update make anyone lose their settings?
Just an FYI. I copied all of my settings down and then did the update. The settings are all still there.

LG 65C7p | Sony PS3 | Sony PS4 | Apple Ariport Express | Emotiva UMC-200 | Parasound HCA2003a | Parasound HCA1000a x 2 | Monster HTS3500 | AC Infinity Aircom T8 x 2 | NHT 1.5 | NHT VS2 | NHT Super Ones | SVS SB16 Ultra | Harmony Elite | Salamander Venice 237 | Sound Anchors Cone Coasters | Vibrapods
JerryIII is offline  
post #30360 of 36116 Old 06-27-2018, 04:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
robertw11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omni009 View Post
Switch does have RGB settings you can access for TV output. I put it and my PS3 at full too so I don't have to mess with the black level all the time.

Also, posters are correct about active HDR not being the same thing in game mode.
Found it thanks
Omni009 likes this.

Pioneer 111FD, Pioneer 4280HD
75" Sony 850D
65" LG B7, LG UBK90
robertw11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off