2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 1013 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980425Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #30361 of 36406 Old 06-27-2018, 04:47 PM
Member
 
richlux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mohamed Farhat View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
You can try a hard restart, unplug the set for a minute then plug it back in....
Thanks. I was hoping for an easy way via the remote( like pressing the power key for 5 seconds or some combination of keys).
I believe you can hold down the power button on the TV (in the center, under the TV) for 10 seconds.

Rich
richlux is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #30362 of 36406 Old 06-27-2018, 05:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm not sure if I'm the only one who can't deal with OLED above 50. My usual OLED setting on the Technicolor profile is 30. I only use 50 for DV. I could probably go lower. Anyone else feels the same?
Tomiie is offline  
post #30363 of 36406 Old 06-27-2018, 05:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,389
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 2476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomiie View Post
I'm not sure if I'm the only one who can't deal with OLED above 50. My usual OLED setting on the Technicolor profile is 30. I only use 50 for DV. I could probably go lower. Anyone else feels the same?
You must be able to get your viewing room super dark!

I turn down my OLED LIGHT from 100 to 70-80 with HDR technicolor Expert, but I turn up my DV Cinema (User) from 50 to 70. Different approaches to tone mapping will make you do things like that. My viewing room is med bright most of the time except at night - when we can shut off all the lights - it we want. I still leave it at the same adjustments.
Cam1977 likes this.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #30364 of 36406 Old 06-27-2018, 05:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TitusTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 9,860
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4721 Post(s)
Liked: 4242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomiie View Post
I'm not sure if I'm the only one who can't deal with OLED above 50. My usual OLED setting on the Technicolor profile is 30. I only use 50 for DV. I could probably go lower. Anyone else feels the same?
for critical night time viewing I have it set to 37 (Technicolor Picture Mode)...but I have full light control so it can get pitch black...for HDR/Dolby Vision I leave it at the defaults
TitusTroy is online now  
post #30365 of 36406 Old 06-27-2018, 06:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I play Madden 18 on my C7 and I don't think the HDR is implemented well because other games such as GOW, COD, Detroit Becomes Human, The Last Of Us all look great. I have noticed that Madden if set brightness to Very High and Contrast to Very High it looks the way it should.. BUT as soon as you finish 1 play.. it changes and brightness looks overexposed. Please test this guys. Believe it's a bug.. Also, HDR only looks correct when you have it on a certain camera angle. Mess with the camera angles and you Will see how it changes from dim to bright. It fluctuates too much on cutscenes as well. It depends on the stadium too.. Redskins Stadium looks pretty good. Hoping Madden 19 is better in this regard..
Reyes Rodriguez is offline  
post #30366 of 36406 Old 06-27-2018, 06:13 PM
Newbie
 
Dr_Asik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LG C7 severe trailing issue

So I just got my refurbished LG C7 and I'm trying it out to see if there aren't any issues. Well right off the bat, this is a problem:
*this should be a link but I don't have enough posts for it*imgur.com/a/e6IeIII
This is what this video *can't posts links but it's youtube dot com slash watch?v=TVtoxUohG5* looks like when played in MPC-HC at exactly 24hz when setting the resolution to [email protected] Recorded at 120fps with my phone camera and this is exactly what it looks like to the eye; actually it is sharper to the eye.

There is a very clear and distinct trailing image.

TruMotion does NOT fix this. It smoothes out the result of the two superimposed images, which means you see the duplicated image also smoothed out.
I know it's not supposed to look like this because I've had a plain old full HD LG TV for years and never had this kind of issue at all.
This is very obvious in movies and makes pretty much any moving content looks blurry and weird.



The TV is connected to a GTX 760 via a high-speed HDMI cable.
I enabled Wi-Fi on it to look for updates and it's running the latest. I haven't tried factory reset yet.
Can this be a defect with the TV? Any support appreciated.
Dr_Asik is offline  
post #30367 of 36406 Old 06-27-2018, 06:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,323
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6526 Post(s)
Liked: 6238
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitusTroy View Post
I read this earlier today and thought it was interesting...



Will HDR kill your OLED TV?



HDR requires greater brightness, so will that shorten the lifespan of OLEDs?



https://www.techhive.com/article/323...r-oled-tv.html


The article does a lot of guessing and even then it would be ~85000 vs 100000 hours to the half life of the tv. So instead of ~11 years it would be ~9 years IF you watched tv 24 hours a Day year round. It sounds significant until you actually break down the numbers and then realize that you could still use the TV well past the half life. You’re more likely to have a component failure than really be affected by this.
smurraybhm and sonoftumble like this.
Ph8te is online now  
post #30368 of 36406 Old 06-27-2018, 06:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reyes Rodriguez View Post
I play Madden 18 on my C7 and I don't think the HDR is implemented well because other games such as GOW, COD, Detroit Becomes Human, The Last Of Us all look great. I have noticed that Madden if set brightness to Very High and Contrast to Very High it looks the way it should.. BUT as soon as you finish 1 play.. it changes and brightness looks overexposed. Please test this guys. Believe it's a bug.. Also, HDR only looks correct when you have it on a certain camera angle. Mess with the camera angles and you Will see how it changes from dim to bright. It fluctuates too much on cutscenes as well. It depends on the stadium too.. Redskins Stadium looks pretty good. Hoping Madden 19 is better in this regard..
It is not better as I have been playing the madden 19 beta and it is the same.....But I agree that their HDR is not done well
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #30369 of 36406 Old 06-27-2018, 06:39 PM
Member
 
thaiusmle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any one have LG SK10Y soundbar with 65B7A? Can soundbar be placed right in front of the screen on top of the stand without obstructing the screen? I did some measurements, but not so sure. I have a very limited space. Thanks.
thaiusmle is offline  
post #30370 of 36406 Old 06-27-2018, 07:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,389
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 2476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reyes Rodriguez View Post
I play Madden 18 on my C7 and I don't think the HDR is implemented well because other games such as GOW, COD, Detroit Becomes Human, The Last Of Us all look great. I have noticed that Madden if set brightness to Very High and Contrast to Very High it looks the way it should.. BUT as soon as you finish 1 play.. it changes and brightness looks overexposed. Please test this guys. Believe it's a bug.. Also, HDR only looks correct when you have it on a certain camera angle. Mess with the camera angles and you Will see how it changes from dim to bright. It fluctuates too much on cutscenes as well. It depends on the stadium too.. Redskins Stadium looks pretty good. Hoping Madden 19 is better in this regard..
That's called tone mapping. So many of the games are mastered at 10,000 nits which is ridiculous. There are NO TV's on the market that can get that bright, and I have some serious doubts whether that will ever happen. So the higher the nits, the darker the picture because the LG OLED's max nits is 700. You just can't map that and expect a decent picture.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #30371 of 36406 Old 06-27-2018, 07:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
That's called tone mapping. So many of the games are mastered at 10,000 nits which is ridiculous. There are NO TV's on the market that can get that bright, and I have some serious doubts whether that will ever happen. So the higher the nits, the darker the picture because the LG OLED's max nits is 700. You just can't map that and expect a decent picture.
so you are saying OLED HDR is superior to Samsung QLED or Sony high end LED tvs with superior NITS of brightness?
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #30372 of 36406 Old 06-27-2018, 08:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,389
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 2476
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post
so you are saying OLED HDR is superior to Samsung QLED or Sony high end LED tvs with superior NITS of brightness?
No, I'm saying that mastering anything at 10,000 nits is ridiculous. It completely destroys picture quality. The best that the Samsung, or Sony Z9, and soon, the Vizio Quantum P can do is 2,000 nits - before calibration. That's 20% of 10,000, so there will still be serious tone mapping going on with those options as well.

I saw a 10,000 nit prototype from Sony at CES this year, but that's the only one in existence, and I believe they were using laser backlighting to pull it off. How much coin do you want to drop to play games on that panel?

We need to go back to traditional gamma curves and stop this tone mapping insanity. If you've had the opportunity to take in an HLG HDR signal, you will love how it smooths everything out and doesn't care about nits. If your TV gets brighter, it gets brighter. That's it.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #30373 of 36406 Old 06-27-2018, 10:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Omni009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Ok, my first time trying Dolby Vision, what am I doing wrong...

I bought Mission Impossible Ghost Protocol. It's a DV title, I set my Sony x700 to output DV, and all I get on the B7 is regular HDR?

Omni009 is offline  
post #30374 of 36406 Old 06-27-2018, 10:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 679 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omni009 View Post
Ok, my first time trying Dolby Vision, what am I doing wrong...

I bought Mission Impossible Ghost Protocol. It's a DV title, I set my Sony x700 to output DV, and all I get on the B7 is regular HDR?


You need to enable enhanced mode on the hdmi input. It’s off by default.
rsonnens is online now  
post #30375 of 36406 Old 06-27-2018, 10:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Omni009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonnens View Post
You need to enable enhanced mode on the hdmi input. It’s off by default.
That's not the "HDMI Deep Color", is it? Because that's already on.

Omni009 is offline  
post #30376 of 36406 Old 06-28-2018, 12:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,337
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonnens View Post
You need to enable enhanced mode on the hdmi input. It’s off by default.
Where do I find Enhanced Mode ?

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is offline  
post #30377 of 36406 Old 06-28-2018, 01:11 AM
Member
 
mrtripleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexbarbel View Post
Where do I find Enhanced Mode ?


What are you playing it from? A disc or the built in apps?
mrtripleone is online now  
post #30378 of 36406 Old 06-28-2018, 01:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Omni009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtripleone View Post
What are you playing it from? A disc or the built in apps?
I'm playing MI Ghost Protocol from the UHD disk itself. But I also noticed that VUDU for example through the Sony X700 won't list anything as being in DV, even titles that have it. I also tried my UHD copy of IT...same result.

I noticed that after I set DV output to ON, I got a light back screen in between loading screens, rather like what you see if you switch the picture mode from black level low to high. It happens doing load up and then again just after. It does not happen if I turn DV output off in the menu. I wonder if the player is either sending a DV signal which is somehow rejected by the TV, or if the player is trying to do DV but encountering some kind of error so it aborts and goes back to HDR10? Without anything else that sends a DV signal I can't narrow it down to the TV or the player.

Just another issue in a long line of issues with these sets. Lip sync is still driving me mad too. I now have different lip sync settings to remember for my AVR for SDR, game mode, and HDR modes. Have to manually set it each time. And that still doesn't fix the internal speakers being off.

Omni009 is offline  
post #30379 of 36406 Old 06-28-2018, 02:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Guys since there is no active HDR in game mode, do you think it is a good idea to use a Cinema profile to be able to enjoy active HDR and have good input lag by turning everything off (like motion interpolation etc)?

Also another question. Is it bad for the display's longevity to have the OLED light at 100 while gaming (in game mode)? I see rtings.com suggest as well to have the OLED light at 100, as well as many users. Is it ok?
Valkyre is offline  
post #30380 of 36406 Old 06-28-2018, 02:11 AM
Member
 
mrtripleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omni009 View Post
I'm playing MI Ghost Protocol from the UHD disk itself. But I also noticed that VUDU for example through the Sony X700 won't list anything as being in DV, even titles that have it. I also tried my UHD copy of IT...same result.

I noticed that after I set DV output to ON, I got a light back screen in between loading screens, rather like what you see if you switch the picture mode from black level low to high. It happens doing load up and then again just after. It does not happen if I turn DV output off in the menu. I wonder if the player is either sending a DV signal which is somehow rejected by the TV, or if the player is trying to do DV but encountering some kind of error so it aborts and goes back to HDR10? Without anything else that sends a DV signal I can't narrow it down to the TV or the player.

Just another issue in a long line of issues with these sets. Lip sync is still driving me mad too. I now have different lip sync settings to remember for my AVR for SDR, game mode, and HDR modes. Have to manually set it each time. And that still doesn't fix the internal speakers being off.


Does your UHD player and AVR support Dolby Vision? Download the Dolby app from the lg App Store and see if the demos play in Dolby Vision.
alexbarbel likes this.
mrtripleone is online now  
post #30381 of 36406 Old 06-28-2018, 02:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by thaiusmle View Post
Any one have LG SK10Y soundbar with 65B7A? Can soundbar be placed right in front of the screen on top of the stand without obstructing the screen? I did some measurements, but not so sure. I have a very limited space. Thanks.


I don't have this combo but here's a picture of the backside of the SK10Y:

There's no empty space in the middle so it is impossible to place the soundbar on top of the B7A stand and make it sit flush.

Is there no way to place it just in front of the TV? Wall mount both?

If the soundbar is a tad taller than the space between TV's bottom bezel and the TV cabinet it's not an issue because you look at the TV from above. If you your eyes were at the level of the soundbar you'd see it is blocking a small part of the screen.
theathlete is offline  
post #30382 of 36406 Old 06-28-2018, 03:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie.modernist View Post
Ah thanks for the clarity on that. That's what was throwing me, I'm mostly an audio person, so I'm used to the click delay being up-front on power-on vs on power-off.
The on/off sound is located in settings - accessibility - TV Power Sound - on/off

LG OLED 77G7P - Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 – OPPO UDP-203/103D - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A – Harmony ONE
Marantz SR7011 - Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 55 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is offline  
post #30383 of 36406 Old 06-28-2018, 03:49 AM
Senior Member
 
smoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Has anyone in Canada gotten the new firmware OTA?
william06 likes this.
smoore is offline  
post #30384 of 36406 Old 06-28-2018, 05:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
You must be able to get your viewing room super dark! [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/smile.gif[/IMG]

I turn down my OLED LIGHT from 100 to 70-80 with HDR technicolor Expert, but I turn up my DV Cinema (User) from 50 to 70. Different approaches to tone mapping will make you do things like that. My viewing room is med bright most of the time except at night - when we can shut off all the lights - it we want. I still leave it at the same adjustments.
Not pitch dark though. I use the adjacent dining room lights while watching TV. I could clearly see the contrast even at OLED 20 but it is kinda blend. 30-40 seemed like a sweet spot for me.
Tomiie is offline  
post #30385 of 36406 Old 06-28-2018, 05:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lax01 View Post
No, I did not change the DV calibration file...I've read that requires actual calibration and you don't want to use those settings without actual calibration

Specifically mentioned here:
I did it myself. It does require calibration, the file is output from calibration. The whole point is, if you're relying on tumble's settings, you're using his calibration. It won't be as perfect as having someone come and calibrate your set personally, but it's better than a crap shoot.
wrathek is offline  
post #30386 of 36406 Old 06-28-2018, 05:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omni009 View Post
I'm playing MI Ghost Protocol from the UHD disk itself. But I also noticed that VUDU for example through the Sony X700 won't list anything as being in DV, even titles that have it. I also tried my UHD copy of IT...same result.

I noticed that after I set DV output to ON, I got a light back screen in between loading screens, rather like what you see if you switch the picture mode from black level low to high. It happens doing load up and then again just after. It does not happen if I turn DV output off in the menu. I wonder if the player is either sending a DV signal which is somehow rejected by the TV, or if the player is trying to do DV but encountering some kind of error so it aborts and goes back to HDR10? Without anything else that sends a DV signal I can't narrow it down to the TV or the player.

Just another issue in a long line of issues with these sets. Lip sync is still driving me mad too. I now have different lip sync settings to remember for my AVR for SDR, game mode, and HDR modes. Have to manually set it each time. And that still doesn't fix the internal speakers being off.
you haven't mentioned if your AVR passes through Dolby Vision HDR ? i would try C7 built in Vudu app , Dolby Access app or even Youtube HDR 4k 60fps demos first see if that plays DV HDR.

LG OLED65C7P
SAMSUNG 4K
ATV4K
Vince2008 is offline  
post #30387 of 36406 Old 06-28-2018, 05:43 AM
Senior Member
 
PlasmaHiDef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 341 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omni009 View Post
I'm playing MI Ghost Protocol from the UHD disk itself. But I also noticed that VUDU for example through the Sony X700 won't list anything as being in DV, even titles that have it. I also tried my UHD copy of IT...same result.

I noticed that after I set DV output to ON, I got a light back screen in between loading screens, rather like what you see if you switch the picture mode from black level low to high. It happens doing load up and then again just after. It does not happen if I turn DV output off in the menu. I wonder if the player is either sending a DV signal which is somehow rejected by the TV, or if the player is trying to do DV but encountering some kind of error so it aborts and goes back to HDR10? Without anything else that sends a DV signal I can't narrow it down to the TV or the player.

Just another issue in a long line of issues with these sets. Lip sync is still driving me mad too. I now have different lip sync settings to remember for my AVR for SDR, game mode, and HDR modes. Have to manually set it each time. And that still doesn't fix the internal speakers being off.
This is not an issue with the TV. It's seems like an issue with the UHD player you are using. That Sony requires you to turn on DV when you want to watch a DV movie and turn if back off if you decide to watch a movie in HDR. That in itself makes no sense. They made it unnecessarily complicated.

LG OLED55B8PUA
LG OLED65C7P
LG UBK90
ATV 4K
Samsung HW-N950

Last edited by PlasmaHiDef; 06-28-2018 at 05:50 AM.
PlasmaHiDef is offline  
post #30388 of 36406 Old 06-28-2018, 06:15 AM
Member
 
thaiusmle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by theathlete View Post
I don't have this combo but here's a picture of the backside of the SK10Y:

There's no empty space in the middle so it is impossible to place the soundbar on top of the B7A stand and make it sit flush.

Is there no way to place it just in front of the TV? Wall mount both?

If the soundbar is a tad taller than the space between TV's bottom bezel and the TV cabinet it's not an issue because you look at the TV from above. If you your eyes were at the level of the soundbar you'd see it is blocking a small part of the screen.
Thanks for the reply. The space is very limited.
thaiusmle is offline  
post #30389 of 36406 Old 06-28-2018, 06:36 AM
Senior Member
 
skip61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoore View Post
Has anyone in Canada gotten the new firmware OTA?
Not me! Still on.36

LG Oled 65B7P
Anthem MRX 510 receiver , Furman elite
Paradigm Millenia 300 fronts
Paradigm Millenia 30 Center,Mordaunt-Short ADP
PSA XS15se sub, Oppo udp 203, PS4, Bell PVR Fibe tv, ATV 4K
skip61 is offline  
post #30390 of 36406 Old 06-28-2018, 07:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
C*Tedesco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Well, I didn't want to see it. I tried to trick my mind into looking past it, but it's there. I have had the B7 OLED for about 2.5 weeks now, and in some scenes in movies/shows....I see the static vertical bands. They are faint, but they are there. Blade Runner 2049 flying through the foggy city...i see them. I was watching preacher on FIOS last night, in a dark scene, they were there. There have been a number of topics on this, but still not sure if there is any cure for this. Most of the time, the screen is terrific, but there are scenes...dark or gray, were it does rear it's ugly head.
C*Tedesco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off