2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 1042 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980239Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31231 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 10:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tornado Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 588 Post(s)
Liked: 1162
I've been looking at 4K demos on YouTube since I got my B7P several months ago, and stick the ones I like in a folder. There's 11 here, I'm sure some you have seen before, some maybe not, but thought I'd share with anyone who has an interest. Most are in HDR but one thing they all have in common is they all look great on our OLED panels

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...ycR7l0CIRNal-u
cmdrdredd and Fiberboy like this.
Tornado Red is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #31232 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 11:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,340
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 819 Post(s)
Liked: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkat007 View Post
Anyone been able to get wireless bluetooth headphones to work with the C7?



If so, can you use them without shutting off TV or AVR speakers for someone else in room? And lag with video?


Thanks
I run bt headphones (Sony MDR-XB950B1) on my B7 with no issues. Never tried using them along with my sound bar (don’t use the tv speakers) so have no idea if it would work.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #31233 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 11:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, I'm having a problem with my TV, the LG B7A, 2 days ago it started to display a vertical line, like 1 pixel thick, at first it was black, then I used the pixel refresher and it turned white, you could even see it in a black screen, after it stopped being a line but segments, sometimes at the top of the screens, others at the bottom, I continue using the pixel refresher and suddenly it was gone, a perfect image. It lasted a whole day, I turned off the TV but I forgot to set something in the ps4 so I turned it on and there it was again, not a minute had passed since I turned it off and on again. The line is present in all inputs even apps, but I'm worried it could be something not fixable, I don't know what the problem is, it appears and disappears, stuck pixels? Dead pixel? Why would they behave like that and why sometimes a complete line and other time just segments of the same line? If anyone could help me, please
Joshua_95 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #31234 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 11:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
paku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,687
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by geodon005 View Post
I have been following the comments about burn-in and have a general question about my usage: I am using the Technicolor Expert settings for SDR and am quite pleased with the picture. I have tried sonoftumble's settings and find the picture too dim for my liking. I play NO games, mostly TV shows and Blu-ray movies, never leave a picture paused for more than just a few minutes, and rarely watch CNN or any other channel with a continuous banner (of course, come NFL season, I will have Red Zone on with its banner, but that is just once a week.)

Just how concerned about burn-in should I be?
Not at all, that's pretty much the perfect OLED usage. You only need to be worried if you're the kind of person who needs to have CNN constantly running in a loop in the background or you play the same game for hours every day.
paku is offline  
post #31235 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 11:58 AM
Member
 
gambler52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Chatham, Illinois
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by paku View Post
Not at all, that's pretty much the perfect OLED usage. You only need to be worried if you're the kind of person who needs to have CNN constantly running in a loop in the background or you play the same game for hours every day.
Ditto here. I use my 55C7 about the same way and with a little over 900 hours still looks great. Try these settings if you like they are pretty close to sonoftumbles plus it gives a little more detail about each one.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...#gid=854865656

LG OLED 55C7
Denon AVR-X2300
Apple TV 4K
Channel Master OTA DVR
DirectTv Now Streaming Box (Beta), Phillips Blu-Ray 7502
gambler52 is online now  
post #31236 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 12:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
paku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,687
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkat007 View Post
Anyone been able to get wireless bluetooth headphones to work with the C7?



If so, can you use them without shutting off TV or AVR speakers for someone else in room? And lag with video?


Thanks
Enabling bluetooth headphones disables the other audio outputs so assume you get nothing else if your audio is routed through (or coming from) the TV. I get very noticeable lag on mine, but the delay could be in the headphones, they're pretty cheap. The audio delay option is also disabled when using bluetooth for some reason. I only use it when half-watching stuff while cleaning or similar.
paku is offline  
post #31237 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 12:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
zinfella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by paku View Post
Enabling bluetooth headphones disables the other audio outputs so assume you get nothing else if your audio is routed through (or coming from) the TV. I get very noticeable lag on mine, but the delay could be in the headphones, they're pretty cheap. The audio delay option is also disabled when using bluetooth for some reason. I only use it when half-watching stuff while cleaning or similar.
I recall that a friend of mine found a way to use his headphones while also using his speakers, all through his Denon IIRC. I think that his cans are wired, which presents a different can of worms altogether, but, I'll ask him about anyway, and perhaps he has some useful info for the BT variety.
zinfella is offline  
post #31238 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Culpepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
Sounds like the Amazon Canada app works differently than the one I have.

People in the US have been asking for what you describe for forever.

Sorry to hear it’s not what you want.
I expect that if I use my HTPC with either a browser or the Amazon PC app, I'll get the SD version. No 4k or HDR capability there.

LG OLED65B7P
Denon AVR-X4400
GoldenEar Triton 2+ and SuperCenterX
SVS SB12 sub, Monster THX side surrounds, Infinity RS-II rear surrounds
ATV 4k, Tivo Roamio
Culpepper is offline  
post #31239 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 02:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,039
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6420 Post(s)
Liked: 6407
Quote:
Originally Posted by icic2018 View Post
Hi everyone I'm thinking to buy the new model of LG Oled 55C8 2018, is it worth it instead of old model C7? Or not, and what is the main differents between C7 and C8?

Thanks in advance.
New processor, new screen, and about $250 price difference on the street, absolutely........
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #31240 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 02:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
bootymonger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Culpepper View Post
Thanks for your post! I checked and can confirm it works as you describe on 4.70.90, and I think I remember that the 2x and 4x were quite poor when I last checked -- probably on a previous firmware version. These functions perform well even on an M2TS file.
If you don't want to access these functions with the on-screen buttons, part of this functionality is available with remote hard buttons. A Harmony remote adds more direct access.
Magic remote or Harmony: during playback, press R or L arrow keys to skip 15 sec fwd or back.
Harmony (and probably other universal remotes):
Press FF or REW to cycle through 2x, 4x 8x, 16x search.
Press pause then FF or REW to cycle through 1/2 spd slo mo (fwd only), 2x, 4x 8x, 16x search.
These advanced playback controls are becoming less common...in the olden days, many DVD players and VCRs (!) had all of the above functions plus reverse slo-mo and frame-by-frame advance and reverse. I wonder why these features are no longer common. They are possible on a PC using VLC video player, so it shouldn't be a tech issue. Perhaps is perceived to be an answer to a question nobody asked. I'm asking. It would be nice if these features were available for streaming, although I guess that depends on the app. Obviously, FF is not really a streaming thing, although NF does a pretty good job considering.
Is it pitch corrected audio at 2x? Or is it chipmunks? If yes, a 1.5x option would be nice. I love the fast playback feature on PC using VLC, YouTube, and anything else that works (bsplayer Android app, and I used to use enounce myspeed before YouTube added the feature). Handy for news/talk I don't care too much about and want to blast through. My old Panny E85H introduced me to the concept years ago with its 1.3x option. I think TiVo now has a similar feature.
bootymonger is offline  
post #31241 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 02:56 PM
Senior Member
 
audiomanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Hi all,

Just to confirm. The net weight of the B&W 702 S2's are 65 lbs each correct? Reason I'm asking cause I am going to be getting GAIA speaker feet and need to know if I get GAIA 2 or 3. Thanks in advance.

audiomanz
audiomanz is offline  
post #31242 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 03:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,073
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4227 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiomanz View Post
Hi all,

Just to confirm. The net weight of the B&W 702 S2's are 65 lbs each correct? Reason I'm asking cause I am going to be getting GAIA speaker feet and need to know if I get GAIA 2 or 3. Thanks in advance.

audiomanz
Wrong thread?
Ricker62 likes this.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #31243 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
audiomanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Wrong thread?
Oh my..lol..sorry forum...a shout out to the administrator if they can delete this post and I will rewrite it in the proper forum..thanks cmdrdredd..lol..its been a day...lol
Ricker62 likes this.
audiomanz is offline  
post #31244 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 03:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
zinfella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiomanz View Post
Oh my..lol..sorry forum...a shout out to the administrator if they can delete this post and I will rewrite it in the proper forum..thanks cmdrdredd..lol..its been a day...lol

If? You doubt their powers?
Ricker62 likes this.
zinfella is offline  
post #31245 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 05:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,366
Mentioned: 228 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2692 Post(s)
Liked: 2451
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin803 View Post
This may be more of question for the Xbox forum but has anyone had any luck with being able to split an Xbox S (or X) HDMI signal to two different 4K displays (not for concurrent use though) and still retain all of the 4K/HDR capabilities?

I have an Xbox1 X and a HDMI splitter that is *supposed* to fully pass the 4K signal (to my B7 when I want to watch a 4K movie or play a game on it and then to a 4K monitor when I want to use that while still watching TV).

The signal does pass to both displays, however when I check the XB 4K details when using the splitter, many 4K/HDR features are missing. If I remove the splitter from the equation, all features are available.
I have one of these. Works exactly as expected.

https://www.avproedge.com/ac-da12-au...ler-audio.html

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #31246 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 05:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
zinfella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by zinfella View Post
I recall that a friend of mine found a way to use his headphones while also using his speakers, all through his Denon IIRC. I think that his cans are wired, which presents a different can of worms altogether, but, I'll ask him about anyway, and perhaps he has some useful info for the BT variety.
So here we go. My friend has since upgraded his old Denon receiver to a Sony STR-DH590, and it's hooked to a TCL 4K TV. But he runs down how he made it work in his post to me which I copied below. And I did not recall correctly the path he had gone before, as you will see. You should keep in mind that while your desire to use the headphones and speakers at the same time is doable, it's sorta non-trivial. Post follows.

"I no longer have (OK: "use" - it's in the closet) my Denon so I'll have to pull this from memory. And it was done with the help of the TV - there's no way to do it with the amp itself.

AIR, I hooked up the optical audio out of the TV to optical splitter. Ran one of those back into the amp, and set the amp to get all its audio thru that optical in.** DenonThe other branch I ran to a optical-analog converter. The analog out of that ran into a little powered chair-side amp, into which I plugged my head phones.

You could plug in a blue-tooth transmitter to that amp instead, and then use bluetooth headphones, provided you pay for the fast-response pair, or you'll suffer from audio lag.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000KIPT30
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01A0EAYDI
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N5KKUR0
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B076PJR57S
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005K2TXMO

All this needed because of limitations of the Denon and TV.

** the problem with that setup is that the optical was linked to only one selection on the Denon, and besides the TIVO, I also have a DVD player, a CD player, Apple TV and an XBox (which I never use).

To get around -THAT- issue, I stopped running the equipment thru the Denon, and instead ran it all to an HDMI switchbox. The out from THAT went to to a HDMI splitter. One of those to the TV, and the other to HDMI to optical converter. That went into the optical-analog converter, mentioned above. FINALLY, we could choose any device, and have the audio go the the amp and/or the headphones.

Not exactly a simple setup!

The new amp and new TV are much more simple: The TV has a headphone out, so I just go from that directly to the headphone amp, which I continue to use because of multiple outputs with individual volume controls.

I'm also no longer using the bluetooth headphones since they didn't block out the sound from the "real" speakers, when my wife was also watching. Now I'm using Bose noise-cancelling headphones instead. All is finally good.

hth"

Last edited by zinfella; 07-14-2018 at 05:26 PM.
zinfella is offline  
post #31247 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 06:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Merlin803's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
I have one of these. Works exactly as expected.

https://www.avproedge.com/ac-da12-au...ler-audio.html
Thanks. I may have to save up for that if I can't find something at a lower price.

LG OLED B7
Denon X1200W AVR
KLIPSCH RF82 II mains, RP-140SA, RC62 II CENTER, RB-10 surrounds
SVS PB-2000
Roku Ultra
Merlin803 is offline  
post #31248 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 06:25 PM
Member
 
Fiberboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone having a problem with their C7 shutting off intermittently?
Fiberboy is offline  
post #31249 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 06:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sask HT View Post
I want the Dolby Atmos stuff on Netflix which doesn't come across on Optical from what I understand. But I guess that would work for others apps.
I couldn't even get DD+ with my previous receiver from my apple tv or the LG apps so I just bought a new receiver.
audit13 is offline  
post #31250 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 07:37 PM
Senior Member
 
JerryIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 108
I acdintally hit the stereo button while watching Netflix on my harmony elite. Now I can't get the TV to put out DD 5.1. Only DD 2.0. How do I get it back to 5.1 back? Ther as to be a setting. I cannot find it anywhere. Please help.

LG 65C7p | Sony PS3 | Sony PS4 | Apple Ariport Express | Emotiva UMC-200 | Parasound HCA2003a | Parasound HCA1000a x 2 | Monster HTS3500 | AC Infinity Aircom T8 x 2 | NHT 1.5 | NHT VS2 | NHT Super Ones | SVS SB16 Ultra | Harmony Elite | Salamander Venice 237 | Sound Anchors Cone Coasters | Vibrapods

Last edited by JerryIII; 07-15-2018 at 07:28 AM.
JerryIII is online now  
post #31251 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Somebody Feed Phil on Netflix is labeled Dolby Vision in the internal app but I'm not getting Dolby Vision, just 4k. Anybody else? Can someone check ATV4K?
barth2 is offline  
post #31252 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 09:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 395 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by barth2 View Post
Somebody Feed Phil on Netflix is labeled Dolby Vision in the internal app but I'm not getting Dolby Vision, just 4k.
Don't know the show, but are there multiple seasons? Netflix will list the whole show as DV even if only the later seasons use it.
barth2 likes this.
tppytel is online now  
post #31253 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 11:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,366
Mentioned: 228 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2692 Post(s)
Liked: 2451
Quote:
Originally Posted by barth2 View Post
Somebody Feed Phil on Netflix is labeled Dolby Vision in the internal app but I'm not getting Dolby Vision, just 4k. Anybody else? Can someone check ATV4K?
Season 1 ( Part 1 ) is SDR
Season 2 ( Part 2 ) is DV

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #31254 of 35928 Old 07-14-2018, 11:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,073
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4227 Post(s)
Liked: 4521
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
Season 1 ( Part 1 ) is SDR

Season 2 ( Part 2 ) is DV


Same for stranger things as well I believe

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #31255 of 35928 Old 07-15-2018, 06:40 AM
Member
 
Greg TB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 52
I fixed my ARC issues by running a Certified cable from ARC out on my C7 to the ARC input on my Denon, with no video signal used on that HDMI port. So the connection is audio only, and this stopped every issue I had with ARC.
audit13 likes this.

OLED65C7P - Denon AVR S920W - Oppo 205 - Apple TV 4K - Bowers & Wilkins 804, HTM2, 805 - SVS PB2000
Greg TB is offline  
post #31256 of 35928 Old 07-15-2018, 09:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2220 Post(s)
Liked: 2074
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg TB View Post
I fixed my ARC issues by running a Certified cable from ARC out on my C7 to the ARC input on my Denon, with no video signal used on that HDMI port. So the connection is audio only, and this stopped every issue I had with ARC.
The Denons are good in that they have 2 full time HDMI outputs; 1 ARC and one not. Many AVR models do not, or the second output is for Zone 2 only. I have my B7A connected the same way with the Denon ARC HDMI connector to the B7A HDMI-2 ARC connector. All external sources are sent to the Denon's non-ARC HDMI output to the LG HDMI-1 input. TV App audio up to DD+ Atmos is passed over the dedicated ARC HDMI path to the Denon.

My primary reason for configuring a dedicated ARC path is because I use an HDfury Vertex device placed between my AVR and LG. ARC audio can only function between two devices, not three as in my case. But yes, a dedicated ARC audio connection does resolve many source switching audio issues.

I am using an old HDMI cable for the dedicated ARC audio connection. No need to purchase a Premium Certified cable for DD+ audio that is not going to exceed 6 Mbps.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral

Last edited by claw; 07-15-2018 at 09:22 AM.
claw is online now  
post #31257 of 35928 Old 07-15-2018, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Vaan Janne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 18
i don´t get the pricing of LG oled.
I bought an philips 55pos9002/12 model... it´s lg´s panel and awsome manyways. but there is some software trouble. viaplay and netflix have
random frame skips on sd/hd material, 4k uhd material works noproblems and bluray 24p. so i was thinking of exchanging it into an lg as i love the webOS
the pricing here in finland is strange.
B7 = 1299 euros
C7 = 1390 euros
B8 = 2450 euros
C8 = 1590 euros.... WTF ? isn´t the C versio the "better"
55SK8500 = 1290 euros
65 = 1390 euros

But i don´t know now after thinking about the oled´s weakneses im starting to think should i go with the sk8500 Is it 9000 in us ? the full area local dimming lcd of 2018,
or the other choise is B7. The C8 isn´t that pricy but it 300 more and it´s just my living room tv for series and some movies so i don´t know do i really care the perfect black that
much. i have a theater with projectors for movies anyways. Has anyone seen the C8 or other current panels side by side with the 2018 LCD models with local dimming ? how much worse the
black is.
Vaan Janne is offline  
post #31258 of 35928 Old 07-15-2018, 01:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Culpepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by bootymonger View Post
Is it pitch corrected audio at 2x? Or is it chipmunks?
I think it (the 2x playback speed in the WebOS media player) is pitch corrected, but it's pretty garbled. Not useable audio, IMO.

LG OLED65B7P
Denon AVR-X4400
GoldenEar Triton 2+ and SuperCenterX
SVS SB12 sub, Monster THX side surrounds, Infinity RS-II rear surrounds
ATV 4k, Tivo Roamio

Last edited by Culpepper; 07-15-2018 at 01:58 PM.
Culpepper is offline  
post #31259 of 35928 Old 07-15-2018, 04:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshua_95 View Post
Hi, I'm having a problem with my TV, the LG B7A, 2 days ago it started to display a vertical line, like 1 pixel thick, at first it was black, then I used the pixel refresher and it turned white, you could even see it in a black screen, after it stopped being a line but segments, sometimes at the top of the screens, others at the bottom, I continue using the pixel refresher and suddenly it was gone, a perfect image. It lasted a whole day, I turned off the TV but I forgot to set something in the ps4 so I turned it on and there it was again, not a minute had passed since I turned it off and on again. The line is present in all inputs even apps, but I'm worried it could be something not fixable, I don't know what the problem is, it appears and disappears, stuck pixels? Dead pixel? Why would they behave like that and why sometimes a complete line and other time just segments of the same line? If anyone could help me, please
I'd call LG tech support. Happened here too https://www.reddit.com/r/OLED/commen...a_screen_pics/
cathodeRay is offline  
post #31260 of 35928 Old 07-15-2018, 04:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 395 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaan Janne View Post
Has anyone seen the C8 or other current panels side by side with the 2018 LCD models with local dimming ? how much worse the
black is.
LCD technology can't compare with the blacks of OLED. There's just no contest. Whether that's worth it in a bedroom TV is up to you. But if you go that way, I'd be buying the newer C8 over the C7. The differences aren't huge, but there's some better picture processing and more reliable panel manufacturing in the newer models.
tppytel is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off