2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 1054 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980490Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31591 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 02:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jkcheng122's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,784
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by BPlayer View Post
Your plan usea Harmony remote is reasonale if you cannot get the LG remote to control everything (loosing magic pointer and voice control). Do the following with the Harmony:
- turn on CEC in the TV and souundbar
- turn off CEC in all other devices
- setup all your activities normally, and test out the operation of starting activities, switching activities, and turning off activities
- add any necessary commands to activities as required

It is quite workable with a litte effort.
There is another CEC setting that is enabled to be turned on and off once the main CEC option is on to make HDMI-ARC work. I forget its name, but its description does talk about being able to control other devices via CEC, make sure you turn that off if you are going the Harmony way.
jkcheng122 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #31592 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 02:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
My doubts are because I have read several reports about the C8 being brighter.
It is, but only by a little. The difference between 2017 and 2018 is smaller than that between 2016 and 2017. I've never felt my C7 is too dim (apart from the occasional tone-mapping issues in HDR Game Mode, but that's different). For TV and movies it's fine. If your TV is going to be bathing in direct sunlight during viewing hours that's not ideal. But for typical overhead lights and reflected light, the C7's brightness is plenty.
tppytel is offline  
post #31593 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 02:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Omni009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
How does DV look when the apple is connected directly to the tv.

I have an apple tv 4k and DV looks fantastic.
Mine is hooked up directly to the TV, with audio going out through the LG optical out to my AVR.

Omni009 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #31594 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 03:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Hubert.J.Farnsworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Hello,

I’ve spent hours searching the wild wild world of web for a lipsync fix, no luck...

I have an ATV4K and a Vizio 3651 plugged in via arc, while the sync problem isn’t always super noticeable, when watching the Shining (during the tricycle scene when he’s riding around the hotel going from carpets to floors) it was very obvious.

Sync seems better when using the built in Vudu app but picture quality doesn’t come close to the ATV4K which I’m guessing uses a much better upscaling method.

Has anyone found a way to fix the lip sync issues once and for all?

Best


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hubert.J.Farnsworth is offline  
post #31595 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 03:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omni009 View Post
Mine is hooked up directly to the TV, with audio going out through the LG optical out to my AVR.
Tried different HDMI inputs? Maybe try the cable from the UHD player? TV is running the latest firmware?

Tried setting apple to 4k SDR with match frame rate and range enabled? Apple TV is running the latest os 11?
audit13 is offline  
post #31596 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 03:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubert.J.Farnsworth View Post
Hello,

I’ve spent hours searching the wild wild world of web for a lipsync fix, no luck...

I have an ATV4K and a Vizio 3651 plugged in via arc, while the sync problem isn’t always super noticeable, when watching the Shining (during the tricycle scene when he’s riding around the hotel going from carpets to floors) it was very obvious.

Sync seems better when using the built in Vudu app but picture quality doesn’t come close to the ATV4K which I’m guessing uses a much better upscaling method.

Has anyone found a way to fix the lip sync issues once and for all?

Best


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sync problem exists when connecting the apple tv directly to the tv and using the tv speakers?
audit13 is offline  
post #31597 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
r-gordon-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
I have never heard anyone complain that the tv they bought was too big...
Yeah, but what about their spouse??? ;-)
mjwagner and npsacobra like this.
r-gordon-7 is offline  
post #31598 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Hubert.J.Farnsworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
Sync problem exists when connecting the apple tv directly to the tv and using the tv speakers?


I just checked, it’s a bit better but the sound is still behind the video


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hubert.J.Farnsworth is offline  
post #31599 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 03:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubert.J.Farnsworth View Post
I just checked, it’s a bit better but the sound is still behind the video


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
This is really strange because I have never had sync issues with my Apple TV 3rd gen or 4k.

Tried setting the Apple TV to Dolby Digital instead of best available?
audit13 is offline  
post #31600 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 03:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Hubert.J.Farnsworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
This is really strange because I have never had sync issues with my Apple TV 3rd gen or 4k.



Tried setting the Apple TV to Dolby Digital instead of best available?


Let me try, do you set digital sound out to auto or pcm on the tv?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hubert.J.Farnsworth is offline  
post #31601 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 03:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubert.J.Farnsworth View Post
Let me try, do you set digital sound out to auto or pcm on the tv?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dolby Digital out from Apple TV and auto on the TV.
audit13 is offline  
post #31602 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 04:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Hubert.J.Farnsworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
Dolby Digital out from Apple TV and auto on the TV.


It improves it a bit but it’s still noticeably behind. The strange part is that the Vudu built in app (on the tv) has no delay at all so it doesn’t seem to be from the movie itself, it’s driving me nuts ahah
Thanks for the tips though, it’s a bit better


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hubert.J.Farnsworth is offline  
post #31603 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 04:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubert.J.Farnsworth View Post
It improves it a bit but it’s still noticeably behind. The strange part is that the Vudu built in app (on the tv) has no delay at all so it doesn’t seem to be from the movie itself, it’s driving me nuts ahah
Thanks for the tips though, it’s a bit better


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
If you set best available on the Apple TV and the Apple is connected directly to the TV, the Apple should send a DD signal to the TV.

If you select best available and the Apple is connected to a DD+ compatible device, the Apple will internally decode the DD+ signal and send it out as multichannel PCM.

I have tried both settings and don't have the sync issue. Everything is set to zero in my receiver and TV.

Does the sync issue happen with other external sources? Maybe disable ARC?
audit13 is offline  
post #31604 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 04:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Omni009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
Tried different HDMI inputs? Maybe try the cable from the UHD player? TV is running the latest firmware?

Tried setting apple to 4k SDR with match frame rate and range enabled? Apple TV is running the latest os 11?
I haven't tried swapping the cable yet, but the settings are as you describe. 4K SDR for the menus, match frame rate and match dynamic range both enabled, as per most people's recommendations. Logan for example plays in regular HDR and looks just fine.So does Jurrasic World. But Harry Potter POA, Star Trek 2009, Intersteller, all use DV and all look like awful upscaled SD copies. I can't imagine this is the picture people are looking at and giving so much praise.

Omni009 is offline  
post #31605 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 04:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omni009 View Post
I haven't tried swapping the cable yet, but the settings are as you describe. 4K SDR for the menus, match frame rate and match dynamic range both enabled, as per most people's recommendations. Logan for example plays in regular HDR and looks just fine.So does Jurrasic World. But Harry Potter POA, Star Trek 2009, Intersteller, all use DV and all look like awful upscaled SD copies. I can't imagine this is the picture people are looking at and giving so much praise.
Something is definitely not right. I have excellent results with the Apple TV connected to the TV either through a receiver or directly to the TV.
audit13 is offline  
post #31606 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 04:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 5
I have an E7 …. just threw a strong red vertical line at me not 30 minutes ago (TAB error?). Even shows with the tv Off... have to unplug it. Got about 300 hours on the set … thoughts?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	red_line.JPG
Views:	75
Size:	1,011.0 KB
ID:	2433054  

Last edited by Mothra3; 07-25-2018 at 07:07 PM.
Mothra3 is offline  
post #31607 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 04:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mothra3 View Post
I have an E7 …. just threw a strong red vertical line at me not 30 minutes ago (TAB error?). Even shows with the tv Off... have to unplug it. Got about 300 hours on the set … thoughts?
I'd contact lg for service assuming the TV is under warranty.
audit13 is offline  
post #31608 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 04:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
I'd contact lg for service assuming the TV is under warranty.

Yes... I was just hoping to get any background/advice on this particular problem as well as a heads up on the likely outcome...
Mothra3 is offline  
post #31609 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 04:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Omni009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mothra3 View Post
I have an E7 …. just threw a strong red vertical line at me not 30 minutes ago (TAB error?). Even shows with the tv Off... have to unplug it. Got about 300 hours on the set … thoughts?
Not sure if this is the same thing on your set..."TAB error : It refers to the bonding of the ribbon cable to the panel. Basically the ribbon cables are glued and the glue has come off (very simplified)"

Omni009 is offline  
post #31610 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 05:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
petmic10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,592
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mothra3 View Post
I have an E7 …. just threw a strong red vertical line at me not 30 minutes ago (TAB error?). Even shows with the tv Off... have to unplug it. Got about 300 hours on the set … thoughts?
I also have an E7. About a month ago I started getting a thin black horizontal line across the middle of the screen. Only shows when the tv is on. Long story short, panel is being replaced under warranty.



Sounds like you need to call LG. Demand an LG technician come out and not a local service company.

Display: LG 65E7P 65" OLED
Blu-ray player: OPPO UDP-203, OPPO BDP-93
Receiver: Denon AVR-X4300H
Game Console: Xbox One X, PS4
Speakers: Mythos ST(Fronts), Mythos Ten(Center), Mythos One(Rears)
petmic10 is offline  
post #31611 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 05:04 PM
Senior Member
 
aztony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Maricopa, AZ
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Question

Has anyone with an OLED TV used bias lighting on the back? Wondering how you placed it on the backside since the top half is flat and the bottom half sticks out. I have the LG 55" B7. If anyone has a photo of how it looks from the back, it would be appreciated. TIA
aztony is offline  
post #31612 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 05:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by petmic10 View Post
I also have an E7. About a month ago I started getting a thin black horizontal line across the middle of the screen. Only shows when the tv is on. Long story short, panel is being replaced under warranty.



Sounds like you need to call LG. Demand an LG technician come out and not a local service company.

Interesting (and bummer)...thanks (PM sent)

Last edited by Mothra3; 07-25-2018 at 05:31 PM.
Mothra3 is offline  
post #31613 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 05:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,333
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2733 Post(s)
Liked: 1961
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
Thank you guys for your fast responses. I am not satisfied with the brightness level of my current B6 for watching HDR content. For SDR it’s perfect don’t get me wrong. For HDR I am looking for a brighter HDR image overall.
7 versus 8 series won't make much difference in overall brightness. The highlights will be slightly brighter.

Adjusting the HDR gamma may be necessary/helpful to achieve what you want.
nathan_h is offline  
post #31614 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 08:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,785
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6789 Post(s)
Liked: 6792
Quote:
Originally Posted by zinfella View Post
We went from a 52" LCD to a 65C7P and I can tell you that we'd never go below 65" again.
Once you go to 75", you will be saying the same
alexbarbel likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #31615 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 10:52 PM
Member
 
sexconker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A couple of days ago I noticed the YouTube app on my 55C7P had an update available.
Like a fool, I updated it. The LG Content Store lists it as last updated April 2018.


Now I can't watch anything on YouTube for more than a couple of minutes. I get the "This app will now restart to free up more memory" message.
I've tried opening multiple other apps to truly close YouTube and kick it out of the cache. I've also held the Home button to get to "Recents", and then closed everything. I've also turned the TV off and on multiple times.


Is there anything I can do? Do others have this issue?
sexconker is offline  
post #31616 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 10:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 987 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
7 versus 8 series won't make much difference in overall brightness. The highlights will be slightly brighter.



Adjusting the HDR gamma may be necessary/helpful to achieve what you want.


How can one adjust the HDR gamma?

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED B6
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #31617 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 10:57 PM
Senior Member
 
PeeJHooK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Hey everyone, it's been nearly four days now and movies on my VUDU app still are not playing. The app itself loads fine, and I can scroll through the menus, but when it comes to selecting the movies and playing them, after watching the loading/buffering icon for awhile, I get an error message that it cannot play it in UHD quality. So I try to play it in HDX quality, and the same thing repeats.

Is this an LG or VUDU issue? I would appreciate any suggestions.

LG OLED55C7P | Vizio M65‑E0 | Sony UBP-X700 | Apple TV 4K | Pioneer VSX-1121
PeeJHooK is offline  
post #31618 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 11:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,333
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2733 Post(s)
Liked: 1961
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
How can one adjust the HDR gamma?
I’ve just watched the experts do it: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...-settings.html
nathan_h is offline  
post #31619 of 36585 Old 07-25-2018, 11:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeeJHooK View Post
Hey everyone, it's been nearly four days now and movies on my VUDU app still are not playing.
I rarely use Vudu myself - I just have some movies I've redeemed there from UHD digital codes. But I tried it out both on my Shield and on the built-in LG app and both play just fine. Both play in 4K - the Shield only in HDR (no DV on the Shield) and the LG app in DV. This was with It (2017). Not sure what your problem is or what to suggest as a solution, but it seems specific to your setup or account.
PeeJHooK likes this.
tppytel is offline  
post #31620 of 36585 Old 07-26-2018, 05:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omni009 View Post
I haven't tried swapping the cable yet, but the settings are as you describe. 4K SDR for the menus, match frame rate and match dynamic range both enabled, as per most people's recommendations. Logan for example plays in regular HDR and looks just fine.So does Jurrasic World. But Harry Potter POA, Star Trek 2009, Intersteller, all use DV and all look like awful upscaled SD copies. I can't imagine this is the picture people are looking at and giving so much praise.
It was the bandwidth difference between HDR10 and DV (more) that required me to buy a new cable for my Oppo. I upgraded to Premium Certified, which does not cost more from reputable vendors like Monoprice (Amazon) and the problem was solved. Not a guarantee this is your issue, but for $8 it will remove a variable.
Omni009 likes this.
cathodeRay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off