2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 1099 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980364Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #32941 of 36284 Old 10-03-2018, 09:11 AM
Member
 
amdfanTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
Where did you find this FW? The Korean site? Please post a link!
It's a beta firmware that can only be downloaded by accessing the in-start service menu, and setting the nsu update server to engineer mode instead of consumer mode.
amdfanTO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32942 of 36284 Old 10-03-2018, 09:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
Yes. Change that back to Auto". That's the culprit, and It doesn't serve any purpose other than to embellish the color output based on LG's interpretation of what wide colors should be. The TV is basically guessing to colors outside of REC709. When I first got my C7, I also turned it on thinking that it was needed for UHD/HDR ultra color content. As it turns out "Auto" is the correct setting and will give you the true colors coming from the source in all their 1.2 billion color glory and the same when watching SDR content with its 16 million colors.
Ok that's very good to know and many thanks again it was driving me crazy.....

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk
tybo1504 is offline  
post #32943 of 36284 Old 10-03-2018, 09:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by tybo1504 View Post
Ok that's very good to know and many thanks again it was driving me crazy.....

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk
On what the heck is the trick if I'm in technicolor expert user mode I can't switch it to auto it's grayed out.....

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk
tybo1504 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32944 of 36284 Old 10-03-2018, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,178
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6442 Post(s)
Liked: 6114
Quote:
Originally Posted by amdfanTO View Post
It's a beta firmware that can only be downloaded by accessing the in-start service menu, and setting the nsu update server to engineer mode instead of consumer mode.


Don’t think many here have done that.....
Ph8te is offline  
post #32945 of 36284 Old 10-03-2018, 12:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,462
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2264 Post(s)
Liked: 1610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Don’t think many here have done that.....
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post56853470

I believe that it also does not apply to North American models.
Ph8te likes this.
bobknavs is offline  
post #32946 of 36284 Old 10-03-2018, 02:15 PM
Member
 
amdfanTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It applies to the model you have set in the firmware. I have the north American model and the firmware is selectable for me. I just don't want to take the risk of not being able to downgrade or receive the final consumer firmware, due to the version number differences. The display will only accept a higher version number.
amdfanTO is offline  
post #32947 of 36284 Old 10-03-2018, 04:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RemoWilliams84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 2,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Using the basic settings above, i get a lot of black crush with brightness at 50. I notice it a lot on clothing like in the beginning of the kingsman 2 in the office scene. Couldnt see the pinstripes and creases in the suit. Ive found that i have to turn brightness up to about 55 for the detail to come back and actually prefer closer to 60.anyone else experience this? Is it normal? I havent messed with the more detailed settings.

Xbox Gamertag/PSN ID: RemoWilliams84

"I started out with nothing, and I still got most of it." -Seasick Steve

RemoWilliams84 is offline  
post #32948 of 36284 Old 10-03-2018, 04:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,100
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4251 Post(s)
Liked: 4545
Quote:
Originally Posted by RemoWilliams84 View Post
Using the basic settings above, i get a lot of black crush with brightness at 50. I notice it a lot on clothing like in the beginning of the kingsman 2 in the office scene. Couldnt see the pinstripes and creases in the suit. Ive found that i have to turn brightness up to about 55 for the detail to come back and actually prefer closer to 60.anyone else experience this? Is it normal? I havent messed with the more detailed settings.


Not for me but your room playa a role in black and near black detail

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #32949 of 36284 Old 10-03-2018, 05:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RemoWilliams84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 2,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by RemoWilliams84 View Post
Using the basic settings above, i get a lot of black crush with brightness at 50. I notice it a lot on clothing like in the beginning of the kingsman 2 in the office scene. Couldnt see the pinstripes and creases in the suit. Ive found that i have to turn brightness up to about 55 for the detail to come back and actually prefer closer to 60.anyone else experience this? Is it normal? I havent messed with the more detailed settings.


Not for me but your room playa a role in black and near black detail
Maybe. Seems to be the same whether the room is bright or very dark though. Even if i turn off my bias lighting.

Xbox Gamertag/PSN ID: RemoWilliams84

"I started out with nothing, and I still got most of it." -Seasick Steve

RemoWilliams84 is offline  
post #32950 of 36284 Old 10-03-2018, 05:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,462
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2264 Post(s)
Liked: 1610
Quote:
Originally Posted by amdfanTO View Post
It applies to the model you have set in the firmware. I have the north American model and the firmware is selectable for me. I just don't want to take the risk of not being able to downgrade or receive the final consumer firmware, due to the version number differences. The display will only accept a higher version number.
Thanks for the clarification.
bobknavs is offline  
post #32951 of 36284 Old 10-03-2018, 05:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,100
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4251 Post(s)
Liked: 4545
2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RemoWilliams84 View Post
Maybe. Seems to be the same whether the room is bright or very dark though. Even if i turn off my bias lighting.


Well every panel is different. 60 though on brightness is really pushing blacks to gray. I have that movie on UHD disc and it doesn’t crush as you describe it to. At least not for me

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #32952 of 36284 Old 10-03-2018, 06:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RemoWilliams84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 2,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Well every panel is different. 60 though on brightness is really pushing blacks to gray. I have that movie on UHD disc and it doesn’t crush as you describe it to. At least not for me
So I used one of the flashing brightness test patterns. On my panel, 50 definitely crushes the 17 and 18 bars. Adjusting to 53 seems about right. 60 was definitely too high. I think when I adjusted to that I was watching some crappy content on driectv, because my cinema home settings were still around 55.

Xbox Gamertag/PSN ID: RemoWilliams84

"I started out with nothing, and I still got most of it." -Seasick Steve

RemoWilliams84 is offline  
post #32953 of 36284 Old 10-04-2018, 04:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by amdfanTO View Post
It's a beta firmware that can only be downloaded by accessing the in-start service menu, and setting the nsu update server to engineer mode instead of consumer mode.
where can i find the nsu update option in the service menu?
Jeremy Tang is offline  
post #32954 of 36284 Old 10-04-2018, 05:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,100
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4251 Post(s)
Liked: 4545
Quote:
Originally Posted by RemoWilliams84 View Post
So I used one of the flashing brightness test patterns. On my panel, 50 definitely crushes the 17 and 18 bars. Adjusting to 53 seems about right. 60 was definitely too high. I think when I adjusted to that I was watching some crappy content on driectv, because my cinema home settings were still around 55.


Some rooms due to lighting conditions may require around 53 I read on this thread. OLED panels have brightness limiters which makes using test patterns for black level calibration a little tougher than LCD panels.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #32955 of 36284 Old 10-04-2018, 05:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 4,649
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2304 Post(s)
Liked: 3155
^ which is one reason those flashing white boxes (they are on the S&M disk that Oppo provided with the purchase of their blu-ray player years ago) are not recommended to use for setting the brightness level.
I used them when I first bought my C7 as part of trying to dial things in and they did more harm then good. I would experiment with some of the settings posted on this thread.

There is no perfect display, quit looking for faults and enjoy

LG OLED 65” B7 and 55” C8
Ascend's with RAAL, Love my PSA v1800 and a 7.2.4 speaker config, Oppo 203 and other stuff
smurraybhm is offline  
post #32956 of 36284 Old 10-04-2018, 06:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RemoWilliams84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 2,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurraybhm View Post
^ which is one reason those flashing white boxes (they are on the S&M disk that Oppo provided with the purchase of their blu-ray player years ago) are not recommended to use for setting the brightness level.
I used them when I first bought my C7 as part of trying to dial things in and they did more harm then good. I would experiment with some of the settings posted on this thread.
I've been experimenting with the settings posted on this thread and that is what left me with the very noticeable black crush in regular viewing. I would think using a test pattern would be better than just blindly following someone's settings when I can see that they don't work for my panel. Is there a better test pattern for brightness level than the flashing lights that I should be using? The standard black to grey bars thing showed about the same results.

Oh, and I'm not sure we're talking about the same flashing boxes. The one I used is here: "https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8b3CUm8j4DE&t=23s"

Xbox Gamertag/PSN ID: RemoWilliams84

"I started out with nothing, and I still got most of it." -Seasick Steve

RemoWilliams84 is offline  
post #32957 of 36284 Old 10-04-2018, 08:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,100
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4251 Post(s)
Liked: 4545
Quote:
Originally Posted by RemoWilliams84 View Post
I've been experimenting with the settings posted on this thread and that is what left me with the very noticeable black crush in regular viewing. I would think using a test pattern would be better than just blindly following someone's settings when I can see that they don't work for my panel. Is there a better test pattern for brightness level than the flashing lights that I should be using? The standard black to grey bars thing showed about the same results.



Oh, and I'm not sure we're talking about the same flashing boxes. The one I used is here: "https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8b3CUm8j4DE&t=23s"


I used a static test pattern with the varying levels of gray to black represented by squares. I forget where I found it.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #32958 of 36284 Old 10-04-2018, 10:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Hi, had my 65C7 for coming up on 2 weeks now. I decided to use D-Nice's break in slides so I put them on a USB stick and used the TV's slideshow feature. I watched them cycle through and to my horror there are big horizontal bars all across the screen. After I had a mini heart attack, I played the same slides from my HTPC, with not even a tiny hint of these bars. Anyone seen any issues like this playing something from USB?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20181004_132007_1_resized_20181004_024246770.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	199.1 KB
ID:	2463760  

Last edited by iSeries; 10-04-2018 at 10:26 AM.
iSeries is offline  
post #32959 of 36284 Old 10-05-2018, 01:27 PM
Member
 
sbrentn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 55
having issue with my 65" B7A

So, I've been having an issue for almost the past year with my B7A.

Issue: When watching various content, screen will flicker black then show white video noise, black again, and then the tv displays the message "No device connected". turning the device on and off resolves it. or unplugging the HDMI cable and replugging to the TV. I could go a week without it happening or it could happen 5 times a day for 3 days in a row. Happens on multiple inputs, sources, SDR and HDR. To my knowledge does not happen using built in apps, but I never use those.

Thought it was my cables. switched out multiple times (even paying installer each time to fish them and install in the wall) and thought I'd finally find a set of "Premium HMDI" branded cables that worked. Been using those for 3 months, no issues at all...then all of a sudden, two weeks ago, the issue reared it's ugly head again and it was happening more frequently than before. Switched cables between inputs didn't fix it, swapping the cables between the sources didn't fix it. I can make it happen if I wiggle one of the cables while inserted in HDMI 2 (but the issue randomly happens on all inputs, all sources).

SO, I called LG, they set me up with a tech who never showed. Called and found out that they scheduled an appointment and that repair shop was over 100 miles away and rejected the appointment. Not off to a good start. However, there was one other shop that would come out, about 150 miles away or so. They diagnosed the issue as being a main board issue and ordered the part.

Found out yesterday that the main board is on back order and has been for some time. Monday they are submitting a claim to LG saying it's an item they can't repair due to unavailable parts. Guess we'll see what happens from there.

Anyone else have any experience with parts being on backorder? Replacement? What happened in your case?
sbrentn is offline  
post #32960 of 36284 Old 10-05-2018, 03:09 PM
Member
 
bboysvlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrentn View Post
So, I've been having an issue for almost the past year with my B7A.

Issue: When watching various content, screen will flicker black then show white video noise, black again, and then the tv displays the message "No device connected". turning the device on and off resolves it. or unplugging the HDMI cable and replugging to the TV. I could go a week without it happening or it could happen 5 times a day for 3 days in a row. Happens on multiple inputs, sources, SDR and HDR. To my knowledge does not happen using built in apps, but I never use those.

Thought it was my cables. switched out multiple times (even paying installer each time to fish them and install in the wall) and thought I'd finally find a set of "Premium HMDI" branded cables that worked. Been using those for 3 months, no issues at all...then all of a sudden, two weeks ago, the issue reared it's ugly head again and it was happening more frequently than before. Switched cables between inputs didn't fix it, swapping the cables between the sources didn't fix it. I can make it happen if I wiggle one of the cables while inserted in HDMI 2 (but the issue randomly happens on all inputs, all sources).

SO, I called LG, they set me up with a tech who never showed. Called and found out that they scheduled an appointment and that repair shop was over 100 miles away and rejected the appointment. Not off to a good start. However, there was one other shop that would come out, about 150 miles away or so. They diagnosed the issue as being a main board issue and ordered the part.

Found out yesterday that the main board is on back order and has been for some time. Monday they are submitting a claim to LG saying it's an item they can't repair due to unavailable parts. Guess we'll see what happens from there.

Anyone else have any experience with parts being on backorder? Replacement? What happened in your case?

I had the exact same thing happen when I needed my LG C6 repaired. I was told by my authorized LG tech that if they could not fix or have the parts in 14 days, they would issue me an RMA for the TV. They could not get me a new panel by the 14 days, so they authorized me an RMA. I went to Best Buy (Purchased the TV there) with LG's RMA # and I received my full purchase price refund of the TV. This was returned via store credit, I think this was done as I purchased it wit a BB credit card. I then upgraded to an LG C7.
bboysvlad is offline  
post #32961 of 36284 Old 10-05-2018, 04:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 68
So I'm having a strange issues with Dolby Vision content. I've noticed this watching Netflix, 4k, full stream speed (15MPS)

I'm using Son of Tumble's DV file and settings.

The color accuracy is great, however when looking at the sky, particularly a blue sky, I've noticed posterization, pixelation and fuzzyness (i think the correct term is artifacts) On several repeatable scenes the entire screen gets very pixelated. I initially thought it was the stream. Both my TV's, calibrated identically, a 65B7A and 55b7a exhibit this issue. I tested this on Maniac and Chappaquiddick, the Ted Kennedy biography.

Now here is the kicker - If I go from Cinema (User) to Cinema Home or Standard, the problem goes completely away. Noise reduction, edge enhancement and the other settings are identical regardless of the preset.

I'm not sure if it has to do with color, as Sons DV file shows far bluer skies than the other presets which look more white.

Any clue what's happening here?

Last edited by Bumrush; 10-05-2018 at 05:16 PM.
Bumrush is offline  
post #32962 of 36284 Old 10-05-2018, 06:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Skytrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Baden, Pa.
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked: 387
^
Maybe just experiment with settings and adjust to your liking.

TV - LG 65B7P OLED / Receiver - Yamaha RX-A1040 7.2 / Blu Ray - Oppo BDP-83 / Turntable - Technics SL-3300 / Cable Box - Comcast X1 V4 4K /L & R Paradigm Studio 20 V3
Center - Paradigm CC-470 V3 / 4 Surrounds - Paradigm SA-15 V3 In Walls
Subwoofer 1 - Sunfire HRS-12 / Subwoofer 2 - Paradigm PW-2100
Skytrooper is offline  
post #32963 of 36284 Old 10-05-2018, 06:32 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,386
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6583 Post(s)
Liked: 6579
Quote:
Originally Posted by cathodeRay View Post
You had a free TV for xx months. The 2019's are coming out early next year so the sales price you got on the 7 will soon be the sales price on an 8.
Probably true. Seems like the 55 and 65 prices have settled in to where if they go any lower they would not be worth producing......

Last edited by Cleveland Plasma; 10-06-2018 at 06:15 PM.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #32964 of 36284 Old 10-05-2018, 06:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skytrooper View Post
^
Maybe just experiment with settings and adjust to your liking.
I have... And can't figure out how to mitigate it.
Bumrush is offline  
post #32965 of 36284 Old 10-06-2018, 12:21 AM
Member
 
FCBarca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: La Côte
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Mitchell View Post
Don't get me wrong, getting a full sale price refund is fine (no depreciation, etc). However, I bought a 4K OLED because I wanted a 4K OLED. The net result of this warranty is that I will no longer have one, because I can no longer get one for the sum of the refund. So yes, I'm happy to have my money back, but I no longer have a TV.

If I were to go buy a TV, it a) wouldn't be an LG, and b) wouldn't be as good. That seems like a really strange goal/result for a manufacturers warranty, does it not? As a consumer, my expectation was that the product I wanted and purchased would either be fixed or replaced if it malfunctioned, because like most TV purchasers, I bought it with the intention of keeping it for a long time. Unfortunately, LG was willing to do neither for me.

In a similar situation. Profited from a black Friday deal on a B6 last year and 11 months in it developed what I first thought was a single dead pixel (Although I understand it is more likely a stuck pixel due to it still being lit). Swiss warranty coverage is quite good (2 years) and they took it in for repair (Plus gave me a loaner TV, LG but not OLED or 65"). They now are refunding me the original black friday price which would permit me a B7/C7 today - thinking I might hold out for an 8 series like the C8 instead.


Still, I am currently without a TV as I vacillate between TVs/prices and I wonder as much as I loved the LG OLED for 11 months am I better off going with a different manufacturer or is all TVs more or less experiencing similar lack of reliability?

Physical media is on the way out
FCBarca is offline  
post #32966 of 36284 Old 10-06-2018, 03:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Wireless earbuds or headphones compatible with oled lg 55b7V

Can Anybody confirm which wireless earbuds or wireless headphones are compatible with lg 55b7V oled tv?
Paul O Connor is offline  
post #32967 of 36284 Old 10-06-2018, 05:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
Hi, had my 65C7 for coming up on 2 weeks now. I decided to use D-Nice's break in slides so I put them on a USB stick and used the TV's slideshow feature. I watched them cycle through and to my horror there are big horizontal bars all across the screen. After I had a mini heart attack, I played the same slides from my HTPC, with not even a tiny hint of these bars. Anyone seen any issues like this playing something from USB?

My mistake, these horizontal bars are present no matter the source. I've heard of vertical bars being an 'accepted' flaw, but not horizontal bars. Also there's a two inch vertical band at the very left of the screen that is noticeably brighter and bluer than the rest of the screen - would that even out over time? What about the horizontal bars? I have around 100 hours on the screen now.
iSeries is offline  
post #32968 of 36284 Old 10-06-2018, 06:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
My mistake, these horizontal bars are present no matter the source. I've heard of vertical bars being an 'accepted' flaw, but not horizontal bars. Also there's a two inch vertical band at the very left of the screen that is noticeably brighter and bluer than the rest of the screen - would that even out over time? What about the horizontal bars? I have around 100 hours on the screen now.
3 issues = use that warranty.
The horizontal bars are evenly spaced and sized so that appears to be an electrical issue (could be internal or external interference too), regardless, I'd use that warranty right now.
cathodeRay is offline  
post #32969 of 36284 Old 10-06-2018, 07:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Hello, I'm having some issues with my sound.... I have the nakamichi 7.2 system, my father has rhe exact same system with an older Samsung LCD and his sound is 100x better than mine.... He has his volume at 50 and really can't go louder without his neighbor's going crazy, I mean couch shaking from subs ect... I have to put mine on 65 and I don't get nearly the sound that he does...

My question is what are the audio output settings supposed to be on the b7? I'm assuming this is where my issue is, it almost seems as my speakers are set to "quiet mode" or something.... Can anyone please post up the audio settings on the oled for when using an external setup? Thank u!

Also, any advice on how to fix the lip sync issue? Some cable channels are not even close it's almost unwatchable.. It seems to vary from channel to channel... Happy with the TV thus far just not the audio. Thanks
Robertczek is offline  
post #32970 of 36284 Old 10-06-2018, 08:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by cathodeRay View Post
3 issues = use that warranty.
The horizontal bars are evenly spaced and sized so that appears to be an electrical issue (could be internal or external interference too), regardless, I'd use that warranty right now.

Yeah I showed the pic above to guy at BestBuy and he agreed it needs to be swapped. Thanks.
iSeries is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off