2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 1136 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980312Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #34051 of 36131 Old 12-16-2018, 12:33 PM
Senior Member
 
P40L0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 111
LG 2017 OLEDs - HDR Game Mode - DEFINITIVE CALIBRATION:

  • NEW V5.3 / (non-PC) HDR Game Mode is now the recommended option for X1X/PS4 Pro HDR Calibration
  • HDR Game Color Temperature is back to W45 in order to get as close as possible to calibrated HDR Technicolor Expert colors and pure white (SDR Game remains at W50)
  • SDR (All Modes) recommended Gamma is back to 2.2 / MEDIUM
  • Recommended HDR Luminance in games' slider (if available) is now 4.000 nits

+

  • Stealth HDR Game mode minor update up V5.3.2
  • Also updated all non-Game profiles enabling TruMotion with De-Judder: 0 + De-Blur: 0 to fix introduced motion stuttering on 60hz contents after firmware 5.80.xx (both SDR/HDR Game modes are not affected)
^^

More info and all calibrated presets available -> here


That's it folks.
As per "Definitive" tag, I really finished my ammo on LG 2017 OLED Series this time and I won't make any further tests after these results.

The only way to add improvement on top of this would be by LG to add real Dynamic Tonemapping also for 7 series (but probably this will never happen).

Until then, thanks everyone for all the feedback, it was an epic ride.

Make your HDR games scream! >:]
Raymon89 likes this.

Last edited by P40L0; 12-18-2018 at 11:09 AM.
P40L0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34052 of 36131 Old 12-16-2018, 11:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by P40L0 View Post
LG 2017 OLEDs - HDR Game Mode - DEFINITIVE CALIBRATION:

  • NEW V5.3 / (non-PC) HDR Game Mode is now the recommended option for X1X/PS4 Pro HDR Calibration
  • HDR Game Color Temperature is back to W45 in order to get as close as possible to calibrated HDR Technicolor Expert colors and pure white (SDR Game remains at W50)
  • SDR (All Modes) recommended Gamma is back to 2.2 / MEDIUM
  • Recommended HDR Luminance in games' slider (if available) is now 4.000 nits

More info and all calibrated presets available -> here


That's it folks.
As per "Definitive" tag, I really finished my ammo on LG 2017 OLED Series this time and I won't make any further tests after these results.

The only way to add improvement on top of this would be by LG to add real Dynamic Tonemapping also for 7 series (but probably this will never happen).

Until then, thanks everyone for all the feedback, it was an epic ride.

Make your HDR games scream! >:]

Thank you for your hard work, really appreciate it!
Any settings I should check on the PS4 Pro-side? Still force YUV420 (and why not automatic)?
Raymon89 is offline  
post #34053 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 12:09 AM
Senior Member
 
P40L0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymon89 View Post
Thank you for your hard work, really appreciate it!
Any settings I should check on the PS4 Pro-side? Still force YUV420 (and why not automatic)?
As reviewed with different PS4 Pro users, you should leave all its video settings to "Automatic".
Raymon89 likes this.
P40L0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34054 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 12:55 AM
Senior Member
 
t1337Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 139
I've been having brutal issues with this TV and any NVIDIA drivers in the last few months. I simply get the worst mouse lag now. I was okay with it for awhile but now my drivers are several months old and it would be nice to update them. I've tried Display Driver Uninstaller for a clean install of the new drivers and in the end my mouse has 70+ms of input lag. Any ideas guys?

EDIT: I pinpointed that 411.63, the beginning of the 4xx.xx series, is when the issues start. I'm not special, so I'm going to assume that anyone with an LG C7 is currently experiencing issues with recent NVIDIA drivers.

Last edited by t1337Dude; 12-17-2018 at 02:56 AM.
t1337Dude is offline  
post #34055 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 03:27 AM
Senior Member
 
patoberli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Send a message via Skype™ to patoberli
Quote:
Originally Posted by t1337Dude View Post
I've been having brutal issues with this TV and any NVIDIA drivers in the last few months. I simply get the worst mouse lag now. I was okay with it for awhile but now my drivers are several months old and it would be nice to update them. I've tried Display Driver Uninstaller for a clean install of the new drivers and in the end my mouse has 70+ms of input lag. Any ideas guys?

EDIT: I pinpointed that 411.63, the beginning of the 4xx.xx series, is when the issues start. I'm not special, so I'm going to assume that anyone with an LG C7 is currently experiencing issues with recent NVIDIA drivers.
Using it daily with my PC and Nvidia GTX 970 and the LG E7 and latest drivers (play BF5, looks really nice in HDR). No mouse lag issues at all. Make sure you're in the Game picture profile on the LG.
I have HDR enabled on the PC (that means again another Game image profile).
patoberli is online now  
post #34056 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 03:38 AM
Senior Member
 
t1337Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by patoberli View Post
Using it daily with my PC and Nvidia GTX 970 and the LG E7 and latest drivers (play BF5, looks really nice in HDR). No mouse lag issues at all. Make sure you're in the Game picture profile on the LG.
I have HDR enabled on the PC (that means again another Game image profile).
Thank you for the input, I appreciate it. I'm in Game Mode and with PC mode as the input. It's not specifically the mouse but affects all the input. It's not just delayed, but it's also very inconsistent (sometimes missing motions and clicks).

This makes me think that there's another factor causing the issue. Perhaps it's an issue specific to the 1080Ti or 10xx series? I'm convinced the issue is somewhere in the combination of my card and the TV. Considering the issue begins with support for the 20xx series cards and RTX, the issue probably is closer to the foundation than something I can fix on the service. It just sucks because this issue doesn't seem like it will get fixed considering nobody else appears to be experiencing it. Usually running DDU fixes driver issues as a last resort but it's just not cutting it here.
t1337Dude is offline  
post #34057 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 05:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by P40L0 View Post
As reviewed with different PS4 Pro users, you should leave all its video settings to "Automatic".
Thanks!
When switching PS4 Pro RGB range to automatic, it chooses Full. So what would you recommend: PS4 automatic & TV black level high, or force PS4 to limited & TV black level low? Would it matter?

Last edited by Raymon89; 12-17-2018 at 05:54 AM.
Raymon89 is offline  
post #34058 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 05:35 AM
Senior Member
 
P40L0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymon89 View Post
Thanks!
When switching PS4 Pro RGB range to automatic, if chooses Full. So what would you recommend: PS4 automatic & TV black level high, or force PS4 to limited & TV black level low? Would it matter?
Strange, PS4 Pro on Auto should be 4:2:0 + 8-bit + Limited Color Space for SDR and 4:2:2 + 10-bit + Limited for HDR, as it should be.
Never use RGB Full or Black Level High with these TVs.
P40L0 is offline  
post #34059 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 06:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by P40L0 View Post
Strange, PS4 Pro on Auto should be 4:2:0 + 8-bit + Limited Color Space for SDR and 4:2:2 + 10-bit + Limited for HDR, as it should be.
Never use RGB Full or Black Level High with these TVs.
When I set everything to Auto and check Video Output Information, it says RGB. By switching black levels I can determine that it chooses Full range (this is all in the UI, not in-game, but that shouldn't matter, right?).
So should I force YUV420 and Limited range?


EDIT: FYI when forcing YUV420, it also automatically switches to Limited range when that setting is left at Auto.
Raymon89 is offline  
post #34060 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 06:07 AM
Senior Member
 
P40L0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymon89 View Post
When I set everything to Auto and check Video Output Information, it says RGB. By switching black levels I can determine that it chooses Full range (this is all in the UI, not in-game, but that shouldn't matter, right?).
So should I force YUV420 and Limited range?


EDIT: FYI when forcing YUV420, it also automatically switches to Limited range when that setting is left at Auto.
Yes, Console should be Limited and TV Black Space should be Low, always (both for SDR and HDR).
Therefore, even if I don't have one to properly test, people suggest to put PS4 Pro all on Automatic and let it adapt to how the TV is setup.

The goal is to achieve RGB Limited or YUV420 at 8-bit for SDR, and YUV422 at 10-bit for HDR. (X1X does this automatically when setting the console to 8-bit + Standard Color Space).
Both to match TV Black Level: Low both for SDR and HDR Game Modes.

Last edited by P40L0; 12-17-2018 at 06:37 AM.
P40L0 is offline  
post #34061 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 06:17 AM
Member
 
CT-Rebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by barth2 View Post
Honestly, on Netflix at least, DV makes things so dark I'd rather watch in just 4K SDR. I'm thinking about getting a shield tv or apple tv just so I can disable DV/HDR on Netflix and Amazon. My question is, if I do that, does the player properly get the 4K SDR version from the server or does it do some kind of messed up HDR to SDR conversion?
I re-watched the first episode of Altered Carbon yesterday and did not notice that it was noticeably darker than the first time I watched it in regular HD on my plasma.

In fact, I haven't watched anything on my E8 that I thought was darker than before. Our living room is not bright but it does have 2 windows on the wall perpendicular to the TV wall. No direct sun and most of the time we have at least 2 lamps on. I put the set on ISF bright and had to turn the OLED light down to 56. There were some large areas of white on the home page that seemed eye-searingly bright to me.

We virtually never watch in a completely dark room. I tried technicolor but had to move the OLED light to about 36.
CT-Rebel is offline  
post #34062 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 07:32 AM
Member
 
Injector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by P40L0 View Post
Yes, Console should be Limited and TV Black Space should be Low, always (both for SDR and HDR).
Therefore, even if I don't have one to properly test, people suggest to put PS4 Pro all on Automatic and let it adapt to how the TV is setup.
That's not what the PS4 does on automatic. Automatic means RGB full on SDR content, and YUV (limited) on HDR. My previous TV would adapt with the RGB vs. YUV input signal, but this one doesn't.


So the PS4 should be set to Limited, not Automatic to get it to match this TV.
Injector is offline  
post #34063 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
P40L0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Injector View Post
That's not what the PS4 does on automatic. Automatic means RGB full on SDR content, and YUV (limited) on HDR. My previous TV would adapt with the RGB vs. YUV input signal, but this one doesn't.


So the PS4 should be set to Limited, not Automatic to get it to match this TV.
Sorry, as I stated I don't have a PS4 Pro and I based my tests only with X1X, so the Automatic suggestion is just what I'm generally reading for these OLEDs.

What I'm sure about is to reach the same X1X console output for best picture quality, therefore:
  • SDR: RGB Limited or YUV 4:2:0 @ 8-Bit, Standard Color Space
  • HDR: YUV 4:2:2 @ 10-bit, Standard Color Space
  • Dolby Vision: YUV 4:2:2 @ 12-bit, Standard Color Space

X1X does all those switch automatically once setup as suggested.
PS4 Pro should be set the same way.
P40L0 is offline  
post #34064 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,193
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6499 Post(s)
Liked: 6480
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT-Rebel View Post
I re-watched the first episode of Altered Carbon yesterday and did not notice that it was noticeably darker than the first time I watched it in regular HD on my plasma.

In fact, I haven't watched anything on my E8 that I thought was darker than before. Our living room is not bright but it does have 2 windows on the wall perpendicular to the TV wall. No direct sun and most of the time we have at least 2 lamps on. I put the set on ISF bright and had to turn the OLED light down to 56. There were some large areas of white on the home page that seemed eye-searingly bright to me.

We virtually never watch in a completely dark room. I tried technicolor but had to move the OLED light to about 36.
Plasma TV's did have a nice picture, but you should notice a pretty big jump in over all picture quality, run any 4K yet?
ataneruo likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #34065 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 10:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 4,643
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2300 Post(s)
Liked: 3147
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisPNW View Post
Good to go. Found the joystick and I have the app working as well. Both will do fine until the new remote shows up. Thanks again!

One other thing to check is there is a setting you can enable in the menu on the 8 series that will let you power on the display using "remote" services - via wifi. Haven't had time to look and see if my B7 has the same feature, but you might find that helpful and eliminate the need to use the back button on the display.

There is no perfect display, quit looking for faults and enjoy

LG OLED 65” B7 and 55” C8
Ascend's with RAAL, Love my PSA v1800 and a 7.2.4 speaker config, Oppo 203 and other stuff
smurraybhm is online now  
post #34066 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 12:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 200
SW Version 05.80.15 is now available via online (Wi-Fi) update
skip61, aypues, Ricker62 and 1 others like this.

LG OLED55B7A
Samsung HT-BD2ST (7.2 Channels)
Xbox One X 1TB
DirecTV Genie HR54 & Genie Client C61K
PiratesCove is offline  
post #34067 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 12:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,185
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 849 Post(s)
Liked: 456
Got it first thing this morning
aypues and Ricker62 like this.

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba X1 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is offline  
post #34068 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 01:21 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,867
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildgator25 View Post
I fixed the dimming issue on my C7 by buying a Harmony 650 and accessing the service menu to disable ASBL. I had all of the aforementioned issues with Ozark, Haunted Hill, etc. but do not anymore.
Is there a way to get into the service menu without a Harmony 650?

Thanks.

Mark
giomania is online now  
post #34069 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 03:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by IowaDad View Post
Hello all!

I'm relatively new to the forum. I have a 2017 B7 and absolutely love the set! My old Denon didn't support any 4K so I am looking at either replacing that unit with something newer that supports 4k (Denon, Sony, or Onkyo), or replacing my soundbar (Atlantic Technology FS 7.1) with a Sonos playbar. I currently only use a BluRay player, AppleTV, and HTPC. I could plug everything into the TV and just use optic into the Sonos. I think this would allow for the easiest setup and still use the LG Smart Remote to drive everything.

If I go with a AVR, i'm concerned with OTA programming, leveraging multiple remotes (or purchasing a harmony).

I'm looking for suggestions/recommendations on options. I have a somewhat limited budget for the AVR (500ish) but from what I've seen, that should get me either a Sony DN1080, Denon AVR-S940 (or X2400H), or Onkyo TX-NR676.

Thanks in advance!
Don't pass on the Yamaha's. The V385 has been rock solid on ARC where I was getting popping noises with the Onkyo 373 when changing channels.
Michael Colucci is offline  
post #34070 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 04:04 PM
Senior Member
 
JerryIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Has anyone found any bugs with this latest update? Does it break anything?

LG 65C7p | Sony PS3 | Sony PS4 | Apple Ariport Express | Emotiva UMC-200 | Parasound HCA2003a | Parasound HCA1000a x 2 | Monster HTS3500 | AC Infinity Aircom T8 x 2 | NHT 1.5 | NHT VS2 | NHT Super Ones | SVS SB16 Ultra | Harmony Elite | Salamander Venice 237 | Sound Anchors Cone Coasters | Vibrapods
JerryIII is offline  
post #34071 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 04:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wildgator25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Graniteville, South Carolina
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 691 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
Is there a way to get into the service menu without a Harmony 650?

Thanks.

Mark
I believe there are apps that work with certain phones but I can't help with that, sorry.
wildgator25 is offline  
post #34072 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 04:40 PM
Member
 
sooner54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Men I have a question. I had my panel replaced months back. It developed a line down the middle after the 2,000 hour forced Pixel refresh. My new panel is great but now at about 1300 hours showing since the Tech accidentally reset my motherboard during the install.

I'm scared that at 2000 hours this one will be ruined as well. I'm on 2nd OLED, originally had a 2016 that did the same thing. Now I have 17 and am on 2nd panel. My question is...... Is there a way to disable the forced comp cycle at 2000 hours? Service menu? I have no idea how to get in there. I've been reading but haven't seen anything definite on this.

Also got the prompt for the new update, is it safe? Thanks for your help guys. I really want to turn off that refresh at 2000 hours. I was so upset when tech reset the timer. Does it happen every 2000 hours or just the first? Thanks again!
sooner54 is offline  
post #34073 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 06:40 PM
Senior Member
 
ChicagoChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Got it first thing this morning
Me as well...
ChicagoChris is offline  
post #34074 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 11:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 7
I just updated to the newest firmware on my 65c7p (5.80.15) this evening, and already I'm experiencing some issues.

Was watching a movie on Vudu, and the screen froze for about 30 seconds, and then the TV shut off. I started it back up, and an hour later it did the same thing, only this time the entire TV froze, and I couldn't even access the menus.

Anyone else experienced this?
Nsknuds is offline  
post #34075 of 36131 Old 12-17-2018, 11:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,286
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2959 Post(s)
Liked: 3561
^couple things you can try, unplug the set and press power button for about 20 seconds...which is a soft reboot, or do a full factory data reset.
Cam1977 is offline  
post #34076 of 36131 Old 12-18-2018, 01:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
akadennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,573
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nsknuds View Post
I just updated to the newest firmware on my 65c7p (5.80.15) this evening, and already I'm experiencing some issues.

Was watching a movie on Vudu, and the screen froze for about 30 seconds, and then the TV shut off. I started it back up, and an hour later it did the same thing, only this time the entire TV froze, and I couldn't even access the menus.

Anyone else experienced this?
VUDU on the internal TV app or some other platform? i noticed this happened on mine as well once or twice and it turned out to be the auto power sync setting under SIMPLINK HDMI-CEC. I turned that off and my TV has not turned off since.

i just realized that what I experienced may be different from you. My TV would just turn off, not freeze.

LG OLED65C9P / LG SL10YGLG+SPK8-S / OLED65C7P / LG UP970 / Oppo UDP-203 / Sony HT-Z9F+SA-Z9R / Apple TV 4K / Fire TV Stick 4K / TCL 55P605

Last edited by akadennis; 12-18-2018 at 02:36 AM.
akadennis is offline  
post #34077 of 36131 Old 12-18-2018, 02:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurraybhm View Post
None that I’ve noticed and I don’t know of anyone that does a good job with detailing what their updates bring, “various improvements” or “bug fixes” being a few of my favorites. I’ve sat on updates before, but usually cave after too many notifications it’s out there.

As for old updates, LG is quick to pull them since there is no going back once you update and remember most owners aren’t like us, so the value/hassle of letting one choose is greater then what might be best for the few that might know the how, what, why.
Okay but I was under the impression that you can revert back to an older firmware by installing an firmware update file manually through a USB memory, I'm sure I've seen it explained online on more than one website.

Yes I get that annoying notification to update the firmware every time I turn on the TV, even though I have automatic updates set to no. Is there some way to make it so these firmware update notifications doesn't come up every time the TV is turned on?

I just want to be sure that the firmware update does not cause any problems, I know it has happened before that firmware updates causes problems instead of doing good things. But I haven't heard too much about the 05.80.10 update online?
I will gladly update if I know everything will be fine.
TheGadget is offline  
post #34078 of 36131 Old 12-18-2018, 03:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGadget View Post
Okay but I was under the impression that you can revert back to an older firmware by installing an firmware update file manually through a USB memory, I'm sure I've seen it explained online on more than one website.

Yes I get that annoying notification to update the firmware every time I turn on the TV, even though I have automatic updates set to no. Is there some way to make it so these firmware update notifications doesn't come up every time the TV is turned on?

I just want to be sure that the firmware update does not cause any problems, I know it has happened before that firmware updates causes problems instead of doing good things. But I haven't heard too much about the 05.80.10 update online?
I will gladly update if I know everything will be fine.
100,000 people download a firmware update - 5 people "say" they have a problem - some people will then never update their firmware. A friend of mine wants to upgrade his B&W tube TV but has read that their are problems with these new flat things that show the picture in color!

PS: Can't revert back to older firmware.

LG OLED 77G7P - Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 – OPPO UDP-203/103D - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A – Harmony ONE
Marantz SR7011 - Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 55 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is offline  
post #34079 of 36131 Old 12-18-2018, 03:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post
100,000 people download a firmware update - 5 people "say" they have a problem - some people will then never update their firmware. A friend of mine wants to upgrade his B&W tube TV but has read that their are problems with these new flat things that show the picture in color!

PS: Can't revert back to older firmware.
If its only 5 out of 100000 people that have problems with the firmware I will definitely update my TV.

Apparently rollback of firmware can be done with something called LGDTVupdater, but seems to involve changing IP-adresses and all other kinds of steps, but at least it seems to be possible.

EDIT: Or actually it is maybe only possible for the 2016 LG OLED TV´s, and not for the 2017 models, i´m not sure? The ones I've seen online seems to be 2016 TV´s?

Last edited by TheGadget; 12-18-2018 at 03:53 AM.
TheGadget is offline  
post #34080 of 36131 Old 12-18-2018, 03:46 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 33,088
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7297 Post(s)
Liked: 8101
My 77G7 got the update yesterday and I see no issues at all. I’m actually not sure what this update does.

Current displays- LG 65C9, LG 77G7, LG 65B6
Ken Ross is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off