2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 1171 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980232Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #35101 of 35901 Old 03-03-2019, 05:13 AM
Member
 
jsloan55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by whereisfifty View Post
My XM3's pair just fine

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk
I amended my original post. They paired for me also
jsloan55 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35102 of 35901 Old 03-03-2019, 09:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,028
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6409 Post(s)
Liked: 6404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper2449 View Post
After reading so much about uniformity issues and image retention, I have found myself constantly looking for it while watching TV instead of just enjoying it.

So... I have decided to run the 5% grey test on my 55 B7 which has 1700h on it and the following is what I got.

Is it OK or should I worry about something ?
Looks great, why worry about something that you have never seen? Life is to short
william06 and T-smith like this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #35103 of 35901 Old 03-03-2019, 10:40 AM
Newbie
 
Grizly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
LG B7 Upscaling

I hope this is the right thread for this question - I have an LG B7A - 65" and just connected a Sony x700 Blu-Ray player.
Should the upscaling be set to off on the Sony x700 and just let the B7 do the upscaling or does it matter?
Grizly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35104 of 35901 Old 03-03-2019, 11:03 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18,919
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6281 Post(s)
Liked: 5920
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grizly View Post
I hope this is the right thread for this question - I have an LG B7A - 65" and just connected a Sony x700 Blu-Ray player.
Should the upscaling be set to off on the Sony x700 and just let the B7 do the upscaling or does it matter?


Just pick the one that looks best for you. Sometimes it’s the player sometimes it’s the TV.
chad43 likes this.
Ph8te is online now  
post #35105 of 35901 Old 03-03-2019, 02:28 PM
Newbie
 
Grizly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the quick answer - will the upscaler on the Sony x700 blu ray player conflict with the LG B7's upscaler if both are left on?
Grizly is offline  
post #35106 of 35901 Old 03-03-2019, 05:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,198
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2131 Post(s)
Liked: 1507
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grizly View Post
Thanks for the quick answer - will the upscaler on the Sony x700 blu ray player conflict with the LG B7's upscaler if both are left on?
The B7 won't upscale upscaled data.
bobknavs is online now  
post #35107 of 35901 Old 03-03-2019, 07:22 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18,919
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6281 Post(s)
Liked: 5920
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grizly View Post
Thanks for the quick answer - will the upscaler on the Sony x700 blu ray player conflict with the LG B7's upscaler if both are left on?


There is no conflict Since there wouldn’t be anything to upscale
Ph8te is online now  
post #35108 of 35901 Old 03-03-2019, 07:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cal1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,776
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 663 Post(s)
Liked: 1023
OK, so here's the story. I got my 65" C7 from Value Electronics in early June of 2017. Out of the box it had minimal banding and John did an excellent calibration job. I do have some very mild yellowish tinge on the bottom left corner but it has faded somewhat and it's no big deal. Over the past few months, I've begun to see banding show up on content with certain light background colors. Gray screen tests show a band border in the center of the screen. The band itself is to the left and less obvious but screen to the right of the band line is slightly brighter than it is on the left of the line. It's primarily the line itself that shows up on content with the rest of the band being a bit vague. I've run the pixel refresher several times with some improvement but then it reverts back. I'm also seeing some increased vignetting on the side edges but they have yet to be evident on content. Do I have to live with the banding and decreased uniformity or is there something else I can do? I do have an extended warranty through Square Trade but I'm not sure that they would consider the banding to be severe enough to justify action on their part.
Cal1981 is offline  
post #35109 of 35901 Old 03-04-2019, 08:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grizly View Post
Thanks for the quick answer - will the upscaler on the Sony x700 blu ray player conflict with the LG B7's upscaler if both are left on?
I agree to just do what looks better, but I wouldn’t expect much change. I left my on TV upscaling, but it was very hard to tell a difference. If you let the TV do it, the x700 will scale all 480p content to 1080p which the TV will then upscale to 4K. This might make more of a difference but I really don’t have any DVDs I watch regularly enough to mind.

LG OLED55B7A | Apple TV 4K | Sony UBP-X700
Pioneer Sx-750 | TEC TC-7220 | Kenwood VR 507 | ADS 500 Acoustic Suspension Speakers
Denon DL-110 | Technics SL-1700
zombie.modernist is offline  
post #35110 of 35901 Old 03-05-2019, 06:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Reflex-Arc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 201
So, have I been living under a rock? I just discovered that the on-board Youtube app on my C7 sends DD 5.1 via ARC to my AVR for those videos that support it. My ATV doesn't do that. I was under the impression Youtube didn't support 5.1 at all.
Reflex-Arc is offline  
post #35111 of 35901 Old 03-05-2019, 09:11 AM
Member
 
LG8600User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflex-Arc View Post
So, have I been living under a rock? I just discovered that the on-board Youtube app on my C7 sends DD 5.1 via ARC to my AVR for those videos that support it. My ATV doesn't do that. I was under the impression Youtube didn't support 5.1 at all.
There was an LG YouTube app update a couple weeks ago, that, among other things, enabled 5.1 output for content encoded as such.

Like many other lagging-audio streaming services as of late, YT is quietly rolling out DD/5.1 support in stages.

You can test DD+/Atmos here:



P.S. I should also point out that (as otherwise with apps on recent years LG TVs - or some other devices) the YT app/LG TV will re-encode/convert any 2.0 or 5.1 source encoding to DD/DDP 2.0/5.1 depending on what is connected downstream (E-EDID detected) on the ARC channel. You get the "realtime" DD/DDP re-encoding/conversion capability of LG TVs+enabled apps.

For example:
PCM/AAC 2.0 becomes DD/P 2.0 if you have a DD or DDP capable ARC-device detected
or
DDP 5.1 or PCM 5.1 or AAC 5.1 (however its encoded) becomes DD 5.1 if you have just a DD ARC-device connected
etc

So you will find that "PCM 5.1" or "DTS 5.1" encoded videos will playback as DD/DDP 5.1 (depending on ARC device connected)

Keep in mind that while the original source may be 5.1, it may not be DDP or DD encoded even though the LG TV+app ARC output is DDP5.1 or DD5.1 (depending on what you have ARC connected).

This is one of the increasingly tricky aspects of streaming audio: original content codec/channel encoding vs actual output codec/channel encoding - it becomes very difficult to know at times whether you are getting a touched/untouched bitstream output or even whether the original source encoding is accurate/correct as per the label.
Reflex-Arc and wildgator25 like this.

Last edited by LG8600User; 03-05-2019 at 10:24 AM.
LG8600User is offline  
post #35112 of 35901 Old 03-06-2019, 03:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Help with B7 lookup table

Hey looking for some help here! I've had my B7 for 16 months now and I ran the Pixel Refresher (manual) cuz the recommendation was to run it once a year. Now I have a 25% box that is pretty much the same problem as the RTings 10 week burn in test video so I contacted customer support. A few days later they sent a repair guy over who said this was burn in and nothing could be done as my warranty expired 4 months ago. I told him they fixed this issue regardless of warranty so he contacted his seniors they said this was burn in - user error and all that shiz even though I showed them the rtings video and said they weren't gonna do anything like sending it to the factory. So I need help and was wondering if someone knew who to contact so that I could upload the LUT myself via the service port and the proc. needed to do so.

TL;DR Customer support isn't helping me even though TV has a box burned in all due to a SOFTWARE bug from the factory and now I need a lookup table and the steps to fix my B7. I'm located in Pakistan sadly.
Ricker62 likes this.
50 Hexx is offline  
post #35113 of 35901 Old 03-06-2019, 10:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
Datagg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonscan View Post
Well guys,

My 1st 65B7A panel got replace because of burn in about a week ago. The new panel has very bad 5%,10% vertical banding as you can see in the pictures. Now they are coming back out to replace panel again. I will keep you guys posted.
Wow that is absolutely horrendous. LG should be flogged over that. Good luck bro in the lottery.

LG C7 65"|Xbox One X|PS4 Pro|Nvidia Shield
Datagg is offline  
post #35114 of 35901 Old 03-06-2019, 02:04 PM
Member
 
dpstrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up a 65C7 on ebay about 6 months ago. All has been good until just recently I noticed a very thin vertical stripe going all the way from bottom to top at about 1/3 of the way from the left edge. Is there any info on what may be causing this? I found some posts about a T-Con board but they seemed LCD related. Is there any chance LG would warranty this considering I am not the original owner and the manufacture date on the back is over 1 year?
dpstrand is offline  
post #35115 of 35901 Old 03-06-2019, 09:51 PM
Member
 
MrQuade's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpstrand View Post
I picked up a 65C7 on ebay about 6 months ago. All has been good until just recently I noticed a very thin vertical stripe going all the way from bottom to top at about 1/3 of the way from the left edge. Is there any info on what may be causing this? I found some posts about a T-Con board but they seemed LCD related. Is there any chance LG would warranty this considering I am not the original owner and the manufacture date on the back is over 1 year?
I had what sounds like exactly the same failure a month or so ago. My TV was 15 months old at the time, but it was covered as warranty under the conditions set out my Australian Consumer Law (basically mandates that warranty applies for manufacturing defects that appear within the reasonable lifetime of the product despite the manufacturer's claimed warranty period).

Your case is further complicated since you are not the original owner, and presumably don't have the original receipts as proof of purchase date etc.

My line appeared almost as if it were a line of dim pixels that you could see part of the picture behind.
I ran a pixel refresh to see if that had *any* effect, but after that, the line of pixels became a very distinct broken white line , still only 1 pixel wide, that changed length and broke into segments depending on what image was showing on the TV at the time.

The repair involved a full panel replacement, keeping the electronics bump, all performed at my home.. The technician cleared the panel run-hours, which also involved a reset to factory default settings.
MrQuade is offline  
post #35116 of 35901 Old 03-07-2019, 09:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by 50 Hexx View Post
Hey looking for some help here! I've had my B7 for 16 months now and I ran the Pixel Refresher (manual) cuz the recommendation was to run it once a year. Now I have a 25% box that is pretty much the same problem as the RTings 10 week burn in test video so I contacted customer support. A few days later they sent a repair guy over who said this was burn in and nothing could be done as my warranty expired 4 months ago. I told him they fixed this issue regardless of warranty so he contacted his seniors they said this was burn in - user error and all that shiz even though I showed them the rtings video and said they weren't gonna do anything like sending it to the factory. So I need help and was wondering if someone knew who to contact so that I could upload the LUT myself via the service port and the proc. needed to do so.

TL;DR Customer support isn't helping me even though TV has a box burned in all due to a SOFTWARE bug from the factory and now I need a lookup table and the steps to fix my B7. I'm located in Pakistan sadly.
I had the same problem after 15 months of ownership and they agreed to replace my panel without too much fuss. Be persistent and insist upon escalating the problem to higher levels and keep referring to their pledge in the video to rectifying the problem. Don't take no for an answer.
shankman1 is offline  
post #35117 of 35901 Old 03-08-2019, 05:44 AM
Member
 
baryburton's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Earth ?
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have a strange problem on my 55c7v ( European model) that I never heard before. It exists since first day I bought. Problem is my oled doesn't have ABL!

Full screen whites not get dimmer contrary getting more brighter! I used 55C6 oled before around 1 year and then I sold it and bought c7.In my c6 I was seeing how ABL works. After bought c7 First hours I thought its difference of C7 and it has more peak luminance but few hours later I noticed it's abl not working.

At beginning I didn't care much about it and even I liked this more ( who wouldn't full screen whites like Leds? 🙂 but lately Im aware of panel homogenity got worse. not burn in but I see horizontal bands and some other things like bandings especially on magenta. I don't have a good camera so I couldn't take a good picture as I see them.
I never heard about this problem before and I wonder about your opinions and also wonder is there anyone who has same problem?

Also sometimes I see brightness differences in white fones like web pages. I think it's connected to same problem.

I added picture and video but due to poor camera they not like how I see In real.


Video ;
https://streamable.com/bzb6g
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190308_161123_1552052384994.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	3.18 MB
ID:	2535912  
baryburton is offline  
post #35118 of 35901 Old 03-08-2019, 05:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 819 Post(s)
Liked: 802
The TV can't not have ABL. Thats physically impossible as that would require more power than the psu can ouput at peak brightness.

But ABL works differently on the 2017 series compared to 2016. It gets less aggressive the lower your oled-light is set, to a point where it wouldn't dim a full white screen at all if it's set low enough. Try setting your oled-light to 100 to test if you still don't notice ABL...
jk82 is offline  
post #35119 of 35901 Old 03-08-2019, 06:39 AM
Member
 
baryburton's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Earth ?
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk82 View Post
The TV can't not have ABL. Thats physically impossible as that would require more power than the psu can ouput at peak brightness.

But ABL works differently on the 2017 series compared to 2016. It gets less aggressive the lower your oled-light is set, to a point where it wouldn't dim a full white screen at all if it's set low enough. Try setting your oled-light to 100 to test if you still don't notice ABL...
I know it's makes no sense but I tried already and same. Full screen whites not different then small areas. I don't have equipment to check luminance. There are anomalies about variable screen brightness and also when I change oled light settings. I can't find any explanation.
blackjackmark likes this.
baryburton is offline  
post #35120 of 35901 Old 03-09-2019, 01:52 PM
Member
 
roigen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 65B7 setup looks like this. My wife's aunt made the TV-stand for the cost of materials. The bottom half swivels, so it is easy to hoover under.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190306_160423_1552168344221.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	3.38 MB
ID:	2536676  
roigen is offline  
post #35121 of 35901 Old 03-09-2019, 05:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
5x10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,506
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 913 Post(s)
Liked: 600
Just hit 4K hours, tv still looks fantastic, no issues

Lg 65 C7
Lg 9800 1080 Oled
Epson LS10500
Panasonic UB820 uhd player
5x10 is offline  
post #35122 of 35901 Old 03-09-2019, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Bacon_67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 53
About to hit 3000 hours and have zero technical issues as well.


My biggest gripe remains LG's terrible approach to tone mapping 4000nit content. I really hope they update the TV to the 8 series approach to tone mapping, but I'm starting to doubt that will ever happen. I would buy the 9 series, but I really can't justify it since the jump probably won't be huge and I'm better off just waiting for the next big OLED breakthrough.



Hopefully more devices allow you to set max nit level and/or allow you to send out your own metadata to the TV. I'm considering buying an HDFury Linker, but it kind of seems like a hassle.
Bacon_67 is online now  
post #35123 of 35901 Old 03-10-2019, 05:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,327
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2724 Post(s)
Liked: 1956
I hadn’t heard about that. I put dynamic contrast on low and the tone mapping of HDR10 content looks great. Pretty much indistinguishable from DV.

What artifacts are you seeing?
smurraybhm likes this.
nathan_h is offline  
post #35124 of 35901 Old 03-10-2019, 09:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Bacon_67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
I hadn’t heard about that. I put dynamic contrast on low and the tone mapping of HDR10 content looks great. Pretty much indistinguishable from DV.

What artifacts are you seeing?
That works ok most of the time, but it isn’t available in game mode, and since game consoles don’t send metadata LG tone maps as if it’s a 4000 nit signal which darkens the image even if the content doesn’t get close to hitting 4000 nits. They made the 2016 sets do the same thing and then rolled it back to a different tone mapping curve.

It’s fixed on the 8 series too, where tracking is close on the low end before rolling off. On the 2017 sets it’s depressed even at 100 nits which is why the image looks dim without DC on low.
chmentid=2444566&d=1534896374
RichB likes this.
Bacon_67 is online now  
post #35125 of 35901 Old 03-10-2019, 12:35 PM
Senior Member
 
astateofmind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I guess this was asked before: how do i get in the service menu of a C7?

just want to diable SABL (although is not as aggressive as on C6 it's still a bit annoying.
astateofmind is offline  
post #35126 of 35901 Old 03-10-2019, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BPlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by astateofmind View Post
I guess this was asked before: how do i get in the service menu of a C7?

just want to diable SABL (although is not as aggressive as on C6 it's still a bit annoying.
A Harmony remote has the IR codes in its database. Either borrow or buy the cheapest model available off eBay.
BPlayer is offline  
post #35127 of 35901 Old 03-10-2019, 07:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,327
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2724 Post(s)
Liked: 1956
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacon_67 View Post
That works ok most of the time, but it isn’t available in game mode, and since game consoles don’t send metadata LG tone maps as if it’s a 4000 nit signal which darkens the image even if the content doesn’t get close to hitting 4000 nits. They made the 2016 sets do the same thing and then rolled it back to a different tone mapping curve.

It’s fixed on the 8 series too, where tracking is close on the low end before rolling off. On the 2017 sets it’s depressed even at 100 nits which is why the image looks dim without DC on low.
chmentid=2444566&d=1534896374
Thanks. That would explain why I haven't seen it. If I used game mode, that might drive me batty.
nathan_h is offline  
post #35128 of 35901 Old 03-11-2019, 08:16 AM
Oppo Beta Group
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 11,023
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1836 Post(s)
Liked: 1320
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
Thanks. That would explain why I haven't seen it. If I used game mode, that might drive me batty.
The 7 series also falls back to significantly dimming mid-tones, lowering average picture level, in the presence of spectral highlights.
I use and HDFury to override the static metadata to values like 600 nits for Max luminance and MaxCLL.
This technique would also fix game mode.

- Rich

Oppo UPD-205 x 2 | UPD-203 | Sonica DAC | Emotiva XMC-1 (v3) | Revel Salon2s, Voice2, Studio2s | Benchmark AHB2 x 4 | ATI AT522NC | Velodyne HGS-15 | LG 77C9 | Lumagen 2020 | HDFury Vertex x 2
RichB is offline  
post #35129 of 35901 Old 03-11-2019, 08:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,366
Mentioned: 228 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2692 Post(s)
Liked: 2451
Quote:
Originally Posted by astateofmind View Post
I guess this was asked before: how do i get in the service menu of a C7?

just want to diable SABL (although is not as aggressive as on C6 it's still a bit annoying.
Once you get into the service menu, you won't see an "ABL On/Off" option. This is a very scary place if you don't know what to look for, or where to look.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #35130 of 35901 Old 03-11-2019, 09:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Bacon_67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post
The 7 series also falls back to significantly dimming mid-tones, lowering average picture level, in the presence of spectral highlights.
I use and HDFury to override the static metadata to values like 600 nits for Max luminance and MaxCLL.
This technique would also fix game mode.

- Rich

How big of a pain is it to use the Linker? Don't you need to manually toggle it every time, and then make sure it's off for SDR stuff?


I really wish there was more pressure on LG to update the tone curve to how it is on the 6 and 8 series...
Bacon_67 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off