2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 1176 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980427Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #35251 of 36412 Old 03-24-2019, 03:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiivile View Post
is there a way to disable the automatic update reminders every time i turn the tv on? i'll update it when i want to (i.e., after reading this thread and determining if the update is worthwhile)


i have a service remote if needed
Don't need services remote - go into settings-general- about this TV - turn off allow automatic updates.

LG OLED 77G7P - Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 – OPPO UDP-203/103D - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A – Harmony ONE
Marantz SR7011 - Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 55 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35252 of 36412 Old 03-24-2019, 04:13 AM
Senior Member
 
smoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Led Zappa View Post
I am unable to get sound to project to TV after changing to laptop internal speaker. When I switched back there was no sound and I can't get it back. I've reinstalled audio drivers and tried to remove pairing to TV, but maybe I am not doing that right as I never get asked to "allow" new device. I simple get asked to decline connection and if I don't answer it connects automatically.



Anyone know how to get the sound back or completely remove device from the LG's history?
I assume you are trying to use Miracast to connect the computer to the TV. The decline screen is normal. I have run into this problem in the past. I am using Windows 10. Once the TV is connected to the computer and your screen is being mirrored on the TV go into the search bar and search for "sound". This is a control panel item. Go to the "playback" tab (it usually opens on this tab) and make sure there is a green check mark beside the "digital output". If the green check mark is on another audio device click on the digital output device and click the default tab at the bottom of the page. Hopefully, that does the trick. I find that sometimes I may have to do this on several successive connections and then it does it automatically. Miracast is a bit flakey.
smoore is offline  
post #35253 of 36412 Old 03-24-2019, 04:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BPlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,307
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Led Zappa View Post
I am unable to get sound to project to TV after changing to laptop internal speaker. When I switched back there was no sound and I can't get it back. I've reinstalled audio drivers and tried to remove pairing to TV, but maybe I am not doing that right as I never get asked to "allow" new device. I simple get asked to decline connection and if I don't answer it connects automatically.


Anyone know how to get the sound back or completely remove device from the LG's history?
This could either be some setting in TV or the PC. You could try a factory reset of the TV and reconfigure it from scratch with a note of all your previous settings. If this does not work then you know it is some setting in your PC. A reinstall of the OS is a lot more dramatic here.
BPlayer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35254 of 36412 Old 03-24-2019, 08:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,103
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4254 Post(s)
Liked: 4545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey Palmice View Post
Oh wow, I didn't even know you can burn in these sets. Good to know. I'm not really sure what I'm going to do yet, but I think I'm going to keep the PC upstairs with it's own monitor for full time use and send one of the outputs to the HDTV in the living room so I can use it down there as well. So more of a part time option, but I'm glad to know it's possible. I'm pretty sure modern day gaming video cards can output two audio/video signals at once, right?


Yes you can mirror or have it set as a second monitor. Whatever you need

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #35255 of 36412 Old 03-24-2019, 09:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zeus33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,126
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1827 Post(s)
Liked: 1878
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post
Don't need services remote - go into settings-general- about this TV - turn off allow automatic updates.

He said update REMINDERS (the pop up), not updates.
zeus33 is online now  
post #35256 of 36412 Old 03-24-2019, 10:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,578
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6682 Post(s)
Liked: 6679
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey Palmice View Post
I have been out of the PC gaming arena for quite some time and love using my B7 with my Xbox One X. Looks beautiful. Was starting to get the itch to build a PC gaming machine and wanted to know if anybody uses this set as a monitor for PC gaming and how it handles? I'm not very schooled on input lag and refresh rates so I honestly don't know. Do people use modern HDTV's as PC monitors these days? Thanks
Everyday......
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #35257 of 36412 Old 03-24-2019, 10:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus33 View Post
He said update REMINDERS (the pop up), not updates.
AH!!! I got it - the thing that tells you there is an update available? For that you would have to go into the service menu?

LG OLED 77G7P - Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 – OPPO UDP-203/103D - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A – Harmony ONE
Marantz SR7011 - Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 55 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is offline  
post #35258 of 36412 Old 03-24-2019, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
bxbigpipi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Does anyone know where I can find the 4k demo clip of space they used in the stores to demo this tv? I think it was produced by NASA. That demo is why I fell in love with the oled!

Bxbigpipi
bxbigpipi is offline  
post #35259 of 36412 Old 03-24-2019, 12:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,247
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 881 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by bxbigpipi View Post
Does anyone know where I can find the 4k demo clip of space they used in the stores to demo this tv? I think it was produced by NASA. That demo is why I fell in love with the oled!
You tube

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer lx500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #35260 of 36412 Old 03-24-2019, 01:17 PM
Senior Member
 
bxbigpipi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bxbigpipi View Post
Does anyone know where I can find the 4k demo clip of space they used in the stores to demo this tv? I think it was produced by NASA. That demo is why I fell in love with the oled!
You tube
🤓

Bxbigpipi
bxbigpipi is offline  
post #35261 of 36412 Old 03-24-2019, 02:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
ppasteur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, Co
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
You tube

Not real helpful. As I am curious too, would you have a title perchance?
After all, there are millions of vide clips on You Tube.
ppasteur is offline  
post #35262 of 36412 Old 03-24-2019, 02:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,331
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6526 Post(s)
Liked: 6245
Quote:
Originally Posted by bxbigpipi View Post
Does anyone know where I can find the 4k demo clip of space they used in the stores to demo this tv? I think it was produced by NASA. That demo is why I fell in love with the oled!


This has a bunch of demos you can download and play.

https://4kmedia.org/
Ph8te is online now  
post #35263 of 36412 Old 03-24-2019, 02:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post
AH!!! I got it - the thing that tells you there is an update available? For that you would have to go into the service menu?

yeah. i know you can disable automatic updates in the regular menu, but i'm wondering if there's a setting in the service menu or otherwise to disable automatic checking for updates and associated reminders, short of disconnecting the tv from the internet entirely
wiivile is offline  
post #35264 of 36412 Old 03-24-2019, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
bxbigpipi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppasteur View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
You tube

Not real helpful. As I am curious too, would you have a title perchance?
After all, there are millions of vide clips on You Tube.
https://youtu.be/jFsg4-YhhrI

Bxbigpipi
bxbigpipi is offline  
post #35265 of 36412 Old 03-24-2019, 02:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,247
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 881 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppasteur View Post
Not real helpful. As I am curious too, would you have a title perchance?
After all, there are millions of vide clips on You Tube.
Just look up lg nasa demos quite a few to select from very easy some actually hdr. Pick your poison Ll I did was a search based on his info.

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer lx500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #35266 of 36412 Old 03-24-2019, 02:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
ppasteur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, Co
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
This has a bunch of demos you can download and play.

https://4kmedia.org/

There are a bunch of good ones there. I put them on in a folder and play with the Oppo 203. It will just run through them one after another . I have 26 of them. Great demo stuff for the OLED. There is one called "LG NASA HDR Demo" that may be the one that the OP was asking about.
ppasteur is offline  
post #35267 of 36412 Old 03-24-2019, 04:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Led Zappa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoore View Post
I assume you are trying to use Miracast to connect the computer to the TV. The decline screen is normal. I have run into this problem in the past. I am using Windows 10. Once the TV is connected to the computer and your screen is being mirrored on the TV go into the search bar and search for "sound". This is a control panel item. Go to the "playback" tab (it usually opens on this tab) and make sure there is a green check mark beside the "digital output". If the green check mark is on another audio device click on the digital output device and click the default tab at the bottom of the page. Hopefully, that does the trick. I find that sometimes I may have to do this on several successive connections and then it does it automatically. Miracast is a bit flakey.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BPlayer View Post
This could either be some setting in TV or the PC. You could try a factory reset of the TV and reconfigure it from scratch with a note of all your previous settings. If this does not work then you know it is some setting in your PC. A reinstall of the OS is a lot more dramatic here.





I tried that the default device a couple times. I even tried a system restore. I'm going to test on another TV at work on Monday to see if it's my laptop or the TV.


If I have to rebuild / setup this relatively new laptop I'm gonna be PO'd.

LG 55C7P - Denon X3400H - JBL CS6100BG 5.0 - Klipsch Sub-12HG Synergy - Sony BDP-S5100-3D - Sony DVPCX995V 400-Disc DVD Player
Led Zappa is offline  
post #35268 of 36412 Old 03-25-2019, 06:41 AM
Member
 
Staple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Southwest, OH
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Opinion Needed - LG or Geek Squad?

Took ownership of a 55B7A around Black Friday 2017. Greatest set I’ve ever owned. However, recent events have put that title into jeopardy.

Background: While playing a 4K HDR game on my XB1X, I saw a darker picture on the right half of the screen during a sunset cut scene. I immediately loaded up a majenta clip on YouTube and found the dark rectangle in the center and then found my set had reached over the 2,000 hour mark. It appears I have the dreaded look up table issue.

Question: I bought 2 years of Geek Squad due to a set price drop and uncertainty of OLED tech (my first). I’ve read that LG knows about the look up table issue and will fix it for free even out of warranty. Should I start a case with them or just go straight to Geek Squad?

Thanks!

-Staple
Staple is offline  
post #35269 of 36412 Old 03-25-2019, 07:33 AM
Member
 
jamisonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Anyone concerned that these TVs will never see HDR+ updates, with Alien 4K BD being released with HDR+ and not DolbyVision?
jamisonia is offline  
post #35270 of 36412 Old 03-25-2019, 07:46 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,331
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6526 Post(s)
Liked: 6245
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamisonia View Post
Anyone concerned that these TVs will never see HDR+ updates, with Alien 4K BD being released with HDR+ and not DolbyVision?


No..much like like with DV discs and TVs that don’t support DV we will get HDR10 base layer. You can’t expect companies to add everything under the sun for years to come.
Ph8te is online now  
post #35271 of 36412 Old 03-25-2019, 11:07 AM
Senior Member
 
smoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
No..much like like with DV discs and TVs that don’t support DV we will get HDR10 base layer. You can’t expect companies to add everything under the sun for years to come.
If you set dynamic contrast to low the TV will add metadata to the HDR10 picture. Whether this is as good as HDR10+ I have no idea. However, because of this capability I cannot see LG adding HDR10+ to this set.
smoore is offline  
post #35272 of 36412 Old 03-25-2019, 11:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 4,657
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2308 Post(s)
Liked: 3165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Staple View Post
Took ownership of a 55B7A around Black Friday 2017. Greatest set I’ve ever owned. However, recent events have put that title into jeopardy.

Background: While playing a 4K HDR game on my XB1X, I saw a darker picture on the right half of the screen during a sunset cut scene. I immediately loaded up a majenta clip on YouTube and found the dark rectangle in the center and then found my set had reached over the 2,000 hour mark. It appears I have the dreaded look up table issue.

Question: I bought 2 years of Geek Squad due to a set price drop and uncertainty of OLED tech (my first). I’ve read that LG knows about the look up table issue and will fix it for free even out of warranty. Should I start a case with them or just go straight to Geek Squad?

Thanks!

-Staple

I believe if you use your Geek Squad warranty then its coverage is over. Check the fine print before doing one or the other. Geek Squad should definitely be the easier of the two.

There is no perfect display, quit looking for faults and enjoy

LG OLED 65” B7 and 55” C8
Ascend's with RAAL, Love my PSA v1800 and a 7.2.4 speaker config, Oppo 203 and other stuff
smurraybhm is offline  
post #35273 of 36412 Old 03-25-2019, 01:38 PM
Member
 
rwinston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 28
So Apple announced today that their TV app will be rolling out to smart TVs later this year, including LGs. Anyone hear anything about whether it will be available on the B7/C7, or just limited to newer models? Not that care all that much, since I have an Apple TV 4K, but I am curious as to how well such a thing would work as a native LG app.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
aypues likes this.
rwinston is offline  
post #35274 of 36412 Old 03-25-2019, 02:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,331
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6526 Post(s)
Liked: 6245
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwinston View Post
So Apple announced today that their TV app will be rolling out to smart TVs later this year, including LGs. Anyone hear anything about whether it will be available on the B7/C7, or just limited to newer models? Not that care all that much, since I have an Apple TV 4K, but I am curious as to how well such a thing would work as a native LG app.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


I have a feeling it will be 2019 TVs only.
Ph8te is online now  
post #35275 of 36412 Old 03-25-2019, 02:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Staple View Post
Took ownership of a 55B7A around Black Friday 2017. Greatest set I’ve ever owned. However, recent events have put that title into jeopardy.

Background: While playing a 4K HDR game on my XB1X, I saw a darker picture on the right half of the screen during a sunset cut scene. I immediately loaded up a majenta clip on YouTube and found the dark rectangle in the center and then found my set had reached over the 2,000 hour mark. It appears I have the dreaded look up table issue.

Question: I bought 2 years of Geek Squad due to a set price drop and uncertainty of OLED tech (my first). I’ve read that LG knows about the look up table issue and will fix it for free even out of warranty. Should I start a case with them or just go straight to Geek Squad?

Thanks!

-Staple
I had the same tv problem and a similar situation. I bought from Costco so had the 2nd year warranty from them and had bought an additional 3 year warranty from them as well. My set was 16 months old but after talking to Costco I decided to try contacting LG directly before I pursued a solution with Costco. I contacted LG and opened a file with them. I called them back after a week as they suggested and they informed me that they would provide me with a replacement panel but no labour. I referred the CSA to the Rtings video and Lg stating that they would fix the problem etc etc and asked to speak to a supervisor because I wanted them to cover not only the panel but the labour to fix it as well. I was put on hold and instead of being passed to the supervisor as requested was informed by the CSA after a few minutes that Lg would cover the total cost of fixing the problem which eventually amounted to $1400 CAD. The repair process was put into place and I received a new panel about 2 weeks later. So based on my experience I would suggest you approach Lg first and be steadfast in your request for them to fix the problem at their cost.I wouldn't take no for an answer if I was you. The replacement panel has been excellent and I think the picture is even better then ever. My only fear is what may happen at the 4000 hour pixel refresh because I had 3600 hours at the time of replacement. So a bit anxious in that regard but hopeful it will be a non event. All in all Lg was pretty positively responsive when all was said and done. Less of a fight then I expected.
shankman1 is offline  
post #35276 of 36412 Old 03-25-2019, 04:19 PM
Member
 
Nation66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by shankman1 View Post
I had the same tv problem and a similar situation. I bought from Costco so had the 2nd year warranty from them and had bought an additional 3 year warranty from them as well. My set was 16 months old but after talking to Costco I decided to try contacting LG directly before I pursued a solution with Costco. I contacted LG and opened a file with them. I called them back after a week as they suggested and they informed me that they would provide me with a replacement panel but no labour. I referred the CSA to the Rtings video and Lg stating that they would fix the problem etc etc and asked to speak to a supervisor because I wanted them to cover not only the panel but the labour to fix it as well. I was put on hold and instead of being passed to the supervisor as requested was informed by the CSA after a few minutes that Lg would cover the total cost of fixing the problem which eventually amounted to $1400 CAD. The repair process was put into place and I received a new panel about 2 weeks later. So based on my experience I would suggest you approach Lg first and be steadfast in your request for them to fix the problem at their cost.I wouldn't take no for an answer if I was you. The replacement panel has been excellent and I think the picture is even better then ever. My only fear is what may happen at the 4000 hour pixel refresh because I had 3600 hours at the time of replacement. So a bit anxious in that regard but hopeful it will be a non event. All in all Lg was pretty positively responsive when all was said and done. Less of a fight then I expected.
I agree that by going through LG you'll probably have a better outcome.
I first noticed that I had burn in and problems with the look-up table after only 1,896 hours on my OLED 55B7A.
LG replaced (the screen only) within a few days.
I got burn in AGAIN, only 1,358 hours later, and LG replaced that screen, too.
I'd called Best Buy with no real response for the first burn in. I didn't even contact them for the second one.
Nation66 is online now  
post #35277 of 36412 Old 03-25-2019, 08:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
noobtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 605 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibrewmination View Post
My research before the purchase of my LG OLED65B7P is what introduced me to these forums. The purchase of that t.v. caused my discovery of ATMOS' existence and got me interested in upgrading from my old SONY "5.1" Blu-Ray surround HTIB.
Installing wiring in my home now for up to 7.2.4.
KEF Q700s, Q600C, Q100s, and Ci160CLs(x4) are sitting waiting to be hooked up to my Marantz SR7012 and a Rythmik FV15HP is on its way.

Anyway, my question has to do with the new eARC. Please correct my understanding, which is as follows:
1) eARC is the function that allows a t.v. to transmit lossless Dolby ATMOS simultaneously, while receiving signal, back to the receiver.
2) eARC capability is only being implemented in t.v.s 2018 and later.

So, then do the B7s have the capability to transmit ATMOS to the receivers? Because it sounds like they can, according to many posts here. If so, is it at a loss?

Off topic of this forum, but I am wondering if my Roku Ultra purchased from 2017 will play ATMOS?
I don't know about the Roku but the x7 series TVs will transcode incoming HDMI to lossy eac+ Atmos to send over ARC.

Living Room: Kef Q900/Q600c/Q100, SVS SB2000, Denon AVR-X3500H.
PC Setup: Infinity R152, Sunfire XTEQ8, DIY 3e-Audio TPA3255 amp.
noobtv is offline  
post #35278 of 36412 Old 03-26-2019, 08:08 AM
Member
 
jamisonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
No..much like like with DV discs and TVs that don’t support DV we will get HDR10 base layer. You can’t expect companies to add everything under the sun for years to come.
This is a frustrating statement. With almost every other device, including AV devices consumers expect support for much longer. This isn't a low end TV. This isn't a cheap TV. Its reasonable as consumer to expect more support from manufacturers of TVs than we currently receive, especially when its likely HDR10+ can be implemented easily with a firmware update. There is no reason to believe if it can support DV it can't support HDR10+.

This attitude you expressed is exactly why manufacturers are able to get away with this.
jamisonia is offline  
post #35279 of 36412 Old 03-26-2019, 08:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,625
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1429 Post(s)
Liked: 824
Quote:
Originally Posted by noobtv View Post
I don't know about the Roku but the x7 series TVs will transcode incoming HDMI to lossy eac+ Atmos to send over ARC.
Well they can transcode TrueHD Atmos to DD+ Atmos. They can't transcode anything else (no DTS, nor whatever weird thing Apple TV uses). So very useful, but not universal.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is online now  
post #35280 of 36412 Old 03-26-2019, 09:18 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,331
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6526 Post(s)
Liked: 6245
2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamisonia View Post
This is a frustrating statement. With almost every other device, including AV devices consumers expect support for much longer. This isn't a low end TV. This isn't a cheap TV. Its reasonable as consumer to expect more support from manufacturers of TVs than we currently receive, especially when its likely HDR10+ can be implemented easily with a firmware update. There is no reason to believe if it can support DV it can't support HDR10+.



This attitude you expressed is exactly why manufacturers are able to get away with this.


It’s been this way in the industry for YEARS. The AV landscape is changing so fast that hardware becomes outdated quickly. The tv WILL be supported, just don’t expect new features (that technically would not be “support” (which is more break/fix). LG as a company has decided not to support HDR10+ as it is basically the same thing at DolbyVision, just a “different version” which further dilutes the landscape and increases end user frustration. Personally I see the HDR10+ move as a way for Samsung to control the market and avoid paying royalties (are you mad at them for not supporting DV?).

I guess I’ll wait for the petitions to start to add it to the TVs. I just don’t care enough about HDR10+ at the moment. I’m very happy with the set of features that the TV has. Oops sorry there goes my “attitude” again.
Ph8te is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off