2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 1194 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980484Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #35791 of 36552 Old 07-10-2019, 08:13 PM
Newbie
 
SpaceOut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: California
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by lax01 View Post
I see this:

않도록 Make sure unauthorized people are not SDK controlled

Security Update (05.80.35).
I took the plunge and am now running 05.80.35. Tonight I'm just watching recorded Wimbledon so a real evaluation will have to wait for the weekend. However, nothing broke in a bad way, so, so far so good...
giomania and lax01 like this.
SpaceOut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35792 of 36552 Old 07-10-2019, 10:07 PM
Member
 
MrQuade's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpaceOut View Post
I took the plunge and am now running 05.80.35. Tonight I'm just watching recorded Wimbledon so a real evaluation will have to wait for the weekend. However, nothing broke in a bad way, so, so far so good...
This will also presumably have the fix for the bt.2020 50Hz colour washout bug too.
MrQuade is offline  
post #35793 of 36552 Old 07-11-2019, 09:42 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,760
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6778 Post(s)
Liked: 6784
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
Well, there it is folks. I managed to (admittedly subtly) burn in my 65" C7. Bought it about 2 years ago, with just under 1,800 hours on it now.

I play a LOT of Player Unknown's Battlegrounds (PUBG). I managed to - bizarrely, burn in the the little yellow icon denoting which way my character is facing - in the lower right of the screen on the mini-map. It's subtle, only really showing itself as burn-in on green or red backgrounds, but it's there. I ran the manual hour long pixel refresher, which definitely helped a ton. I now only see it barely if I bring up a red solid wallpaper. No biggie.
Maybe its a good case of image retention and will go away......
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35794 of 36552 Old 07-11-2019, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 4,640
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1520 Post(s)
Liked: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Maybe its a good case of image retention and will go away......
I hope so, but I doubt it. Such is the way!
WilliamG is offline  
post #35795 of 36552 Old 07-11-2019, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
jabolino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 46
What do you guys think about in GAME mode setting Dynamic Contrast to HIGH and the color gamut to AUTO?

I'm getting a much better brightness performance and color accuracy. What is the sacrifice of using auto gamut?
jabolino is offline  
post #35796 of 36552 Old 07-11-2019, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Bacon_67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabolino View Post
What do you guys think about in GAME mode setting Dynamic Contrast to HIGH and the color gamut to AUTO?

I'm getting a much better brightness performance and color accuracy. What is the sacrifice of using auto gamut?

Color gamut at auto is good


DC high is bad and causes less color accuracy. I keep it turned off.
Bacon_67 is offline  
post #35797 of 36552 Old 07-11-2019, 05:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Could somebody running the Korean firmware post their Dolby vision version # please? It’️s below the hours in the menu. LG never tells us when they change it.

Last edited by yogi6807; 07-11-2019 at 06:20 PM.
yogi6807 is offline  
post #35798 of 36552 Old 07-11-2019, 06:29 PM
Member
 
FDM80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Silver Spring, MD (DC suburbs)
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yogi6807 View Post
Could somebody running the Korean firmware post their Dolby vision version # please? It's below the hours in the menu. LG never tells us when they change it.
Dolby Vision version changed to 1.4.4_09.01.
It was 1.4.4_08.01 previously.
FDM80 is offline  
post #35799 of 36552 Old 07-11-2019, 06:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Does anybody have the panel lifetime charts that tell you expected panel degradation hours. Somebody posted them in another thread for 2016 and 2018/19 (can’t remember). Anyways 2016 panel degradation for 5% loss of brightness was 10000 hrs and 2018s was 15000 hrs. They also posted what 2022s was which was 30000. Was wondering what 2017 was. I tried to search for it but I can’t find it or any of the stuffI saw posted. It went all the way down to 50% which was 100000 hrs for 2016 and I can’t remember for 2018 but it was more than that.

Last edited by yogi6807; 07-11-2019 at 06:57 PM. Reason: Adding stuff
yogi6807 is offline  
post #35800 of 36552 Old 07-11-2019, 06:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDM80 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by yogi6807 View Post
Could somebody running the Korean firmware post their Dolby vision version # please? It's below the hours in the menu. LG never tells us when they change it.
Dolby Vision version changed to 1.4.4_09.01.
It was 1.4.4_08.01 previously.
Thank you I will probably update shortly then.
yogi6807 is offline  
post #35801 of 36552 Old 07-11-2019, 07:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Bacon_67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDM80 View Post
Dolby Vision version changed to 1.4.4_09.01.
It was 1.4.4_08.01 previously.
Doesn’t seem to have fixed an DV issues, though. The opening credits on Mute on Netflix are still grey instead of black, for example.
Bacon_67 is offline  
post #35802 of 36552 Old 07-11-2019, 07:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacon_67 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDM80 View Post
Dolby Vision version changed to 1.4.4_09.01.
It was 1.4.4_08.01 previously.
Doesn’️t seem to have fixed an DV issues, though. The opening credits on Mute on Netflix are still grey instead of black, for example.
That’s a problem with the Netflix app in the tv. Apple TV doesn’t do it.
yogi6807 is offline  
post #35803 of 36552 Old 07-11-2019, 07:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Bacon_67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by yogi6807 View Post
That’s a problem with the Netflix app in the tv. Apple TV doesn’t do it.
Apple TV doesn’t display them at 0 black either, and has raised blacks in other DV content as well.
Bacon_67 is offline  
post #35804 of 36552 Old 07-11-2019, 07:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacon_67 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by yogi6807 View Post
That’️s a problem with the Netflix app in the tv. Apple TV doesn’️t do it.
Apple TV doesn’️t display them at 0 black either, and has raised blacks in other DV content as well.
I was able to replicate it on the app on the tv. The Apple TV doesnt do it. It’s just black. C9 owners having issues with the app on the tv to. I read that a little today cause I’m thinking about getting another oled. Only problem is 2018 has some weird firmware issue I don’t want to deal with. 2016s have raised blacks now. 2019 might have issues too. It looks like we lucked out buying the 7 series.

Last edited by yogi6807; 07-11-2019 at 07:57 PM.
yogi6807 is offline  
post #35805 of 36552 Old 07-11-2019, 07:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Bacon_67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by yogi6807 View Post
I was able to replicate it on the app on the tv. The Apple TV doesnt do it. It’s just black. C9 owners having issues with the app on the tv to. I read that a little today cause I’m thinking about getting another oled. Only problem is 2018 has some weird firmware issue I don’t want to deal with. 2016s have raised blacks now. 2019 might have issues too. It looks like we lucked out buying the 7 series.
You have to be in a pitch black room to notice, but it’s not true black like it should be.

All LG OLEDs seemingly have DV issues over HDMI.
Bacon_67 is offline  
post #35806 of 36552 Old 07-11-2019, 08:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacon_67 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by yogi6807 View Post
I was able to replicate it on the app on the tv. The Apple TV doesnt do it. It’️s just black. C9 owners having issues with the app on the tv to. I read that a little today cause I’️m thinking about getting another oled. Only problem is 2018 has some weird firmware issue I don’️t want to deal with. 2016s have raised blacks now. 2019 might have issues too. It looks like we lucked out buying the 7 series.
You have to be in a pitch black room to notice, but it’️s not true black like it should be.

All LG OLEDs seemingly have DV issues over HDMI.
That may be but i’ve never seen it. It was news to me when somebody posted earlier in the thread. I personally like the Apple TV because content is brighter on it compared to the TVs apps. That’s mainly netflix and Vudu for me. Just started using iTunes cause I figured out all my Blu-ray’s that I used the digital copy for vudu that say “or iTunes” on it really means “and iTunes” so I went through my collection and got a lot of free 4K upgrades. 🙂. So maybe I will see it then. But blacks don’t look like the grays you get when you raise the brightness to like 52 on the tv. Like what you saw on mute. Black looked the exact same. Another note about Dolby vision discs through hdmi. It’s actually not as bright as the hdr10 version on my tv. I think it’s because of dynamic contrast on low. Whatever lg calls it officially..

Last edited by yogi6807; 07-11-2019 at 08:54 PM.
yogi6807 is offline  
post #35807 of 36552 Old 07-11-2019, 10:03 PM
Member
 
Aaron Freres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrQuade View Post
This will also presumably have the fix for the bt.2020 50Hz colour washout bug too.


I tried updating the firmware on my E7 and got a “software update cannot be applied” message. I have always been able to update from the Korean website and found this strange. Anyone else have this problem?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Aaron Freres is offline  
post #35808 of 36552 Old 07-12-2019, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,751
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2403 Post(s)
Liked: 1707
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron Freres View Post
I tried updating the firmware on my E7 and got a “software update cannot be applied” message. I have always been able to update from the Korean website and found this strange. Anyone else have this problem?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Not sure why you posted this in the B7/C7 forum, but I wouldn't expect things to be different with the E7.

I had no problem doing the update with the file from the Korean web site on my B7.
bobknavs is offline  
post #35809 of 36552 Old 07-12-2019, 12:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
Not sure why you posted this in the B7/C7 forum, but I wouldn't expect things to be different with the E7.

I had no problem doing the update with the file from the Korean web site on my B7.
All the updates for the "7" series are the same - always has been little traffic on the "E" or "G" threads - most come here for general information I have a 77G7 and follow this thread for updates - curious have others installed this update?????

LG OLED 77G7P - Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 – OPPO UDP-203/103D - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A – Harmony ONE
Marantz SR7011 - Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 55 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is offline  
post #35810 of 36552 Old 07-12-2019, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Installed the update 05.80.35 on a 77G7P - no problems - after update installed screen stated "UPDATING MAGIC REMOTE" - shortly stated remoted successfully updated.

LG OLED 77G7P - Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 – OPPO UDP-203/103D - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A – Harmony ONE
Marantz SR7011 - Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 55 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is offline  
post #35811 of 36552 Old 07-12-2019, 06:08 PM
Member
 
Aaron Freres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post
All the updates for the "7" series are the same - always has been little traffic on the "E" or "G" threads - most come here for general information I have a 77G7 and follow this thread for updates - curious have others installed this update?????


I redownloaded the update and was successfully able to update my E7’s firmware.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Aaron Freres is offline  
post #35812 of 36552 Old 07-13-2019, 02:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Bronxville, NY
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron Freres View Post
I redownloaded the update and was successfully able to update my E7’s firmware.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Folks,
My C7 seems "stuck" @ 05.80.15.....any reason why?
BobWalters is offline  
post #35813 of 36552 Old 07-13-2019, 02:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,751
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2403 Post(s)
Liked: 1707
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobWalters View Post
Folks,
My C7 seems "stuck" @ 05.80.15.....any reason why?
Do you mean that you were unable to update it with the file downloaded from the Korean web site?

Or that it hasn't been updated online yet?

As far as I know, no one in the US has received an online update.

The file isn't on the US web site, but the 5.80.15 file has been removed. That may signify something, but I don't know what.
bobknavs is offline  
post #35814 of 36552 Old 07-13-2019, 03:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobWalters View Post
Folks,
My C7 seems "stuck" @ 05.80.15.....any reason why?
Please define "STUCK" - have you tried to install the new firmware?

LG OLED 77G7P - Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 – OPPO UDP-203/103D - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A – Harmony ONE
Marantz SR7011 - Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 55 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is offline  
post #35815 of 36552 Old 07-13-2019, 05:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eric.exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 2,458
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 44
What you guys recommend for WebOS performance and glitch issues. My C7 has been running great since May 17, but in the past few weeks the software has been glitching like crazy. I get "unknown device is disconnected" popups constantly until I reboot sometimes. The menu, which used to fly, is now sluggish sometimes. The back and pause buttons sometimes stop working in Netflix until I reboot.

I'm on software version 05.80.15
eric.exe is offline  
post #35816 of 36552 Old 07-13-2019, 06:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,442
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6578 Post(s)
Liked: 6348
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric.exe View Post
What you guys recommend for WebOS performance and glitch issues. My C7 has been running great since May 17, but in the past few weeks the software has been glitching like crazy. I get "unknown device is disconnected" popups constantly until I reboot sometimes. The menu, which used to fly, is now sluggish sometimes. The back and pause buttons sometimes stop working in Netflix until I reboot.



I'm on software version 05.80.15


Use an external device when possible. I rarely use the internal apps/interface and haven’t run into any issues.
Ph8te is offline  
post #35817 of 36552 Old 07-14-2019, 04:03 AM
Senior Member
 
patoberli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Send a message via Skype™ to patoberli
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric.exe View Post
What you guys recommend for WebOS performance and glitch issues. My C7 has been running great since May 17, but in the past few weeks the software has been glitching like crazy. I get "unknown device is disconnected" popups constantly until I reboot sometimes. The menu, which used to fly, is now sluggish sometimes. The back and pause buttons sometimes stop working in Netflix until I reboot.

I'm on software version 05.80.15
Could be a HDMI issue with a broken/not fully plugged in cable.
patoberli is offline  
post #35818 of 36552 Old 07-14-2019, 04:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric.exe View Post
What you guys recommend for WebOS performance and glitch issues. My C7 has been running great since May 17, but in the past few weeks the software has been glitching like crazy. I get "unknown device is disconnected" popups constantly until I reboot sometimes. The menu, which used to fly, is now sluggish sometimes. The back and pause buttons sometimes stop working in Netflix until I reboot.

I'm on software version 05.80.15
Unplug the TV for 10 minutes, this will clear the cache, no harm or risk.
cathodeRay is offline  
post #35819 of 36552 Old 07-14-2019, 07:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 891 Post(s)
Liked: 495
I have mabey what is an unusual question. I have the looked 65G7P. I also have an old toshiba x2a hddvd player , and a decent library of hddvd!s. To get video through hdmi on the tv I have to turn off hdmi ultra hd deep color therefore showing just 1080p input on the tv. Is it necessary to turn deep color off on the tv. I see no reference to it on the toshiba. Or am I doing something wrong. Any advice would be helpful.

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer lx500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is offline  
post #35820 of 36552 Old 07-14-2019, 08:17 AM
Member
 
MrQuade's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
I have mabey what is an unusual question. I have the looked 65G7P. I also have an old toshiba x2a hddvd player , and a decent library of hddvd!s. To get video through hdmi on the tv I have to turn off hdmi ultra hd deep color therefore showing just 1080p input on the tv. Is it necessary to turn deep color off on the tv. I see no reference to it on the toshiba. Or am I doing something wrong. Any advice would be helpful.
You won't see reference to it on the Toshiba because it predates that technology. Deep Colour is specifically to support UHD HDR resolutions and colour. The reason there is a setting to trun it off is because some older equipment fails when connected to a port with this enabled. Sometimes you loose sound, and other times it affects the colour. It all depends on how your older equipment deals with that. I have a VCR and an older PVR that I need to disable Deep Colour for too.
MrQuade is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off