2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 1199 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980516Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #35941 of 36691 Old 07-24-2019, 07:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Bacon_67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrQuade View Post
You don't play games with the Netflix app though. There is no reason to switch to a low-latency picture mode to watch movies.

Mass Effect Andromeda supports Dolby Vision on PC. Conceivably more DV games could exist in the future.
Bacon_67 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35942 of 36691 Old 07-24-2019, 09:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by noobtv View Post
What do you get now when there's no signal? Just a black screen?

It would be nice if we could change the wallpaper images or fireworks screensaver.
I'm not near it now and my memory is terrible, I think it's just black with some colored circles and text saying no signal
rewen is offline  
post #35943 of 36691 Old 07-24-2019, 06:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Led Zappa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
With my settings, "Cinema (User)" is for DV ONLY. Use "technicolor Expert" for SDR and HDR10/HLG.

What is HDR10/HLG. I never see it.

LG 55C7P - Denon X3400H - JBL CS6100BG 5.0 - Klipsch Sub-12HG Synergy - Sony BDP-S5100-3D - Sony DVPCX995V 400-Disc DVD Player
Led Zappa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #35944 of 36691 Old 07-24-2019, 07:11 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,526
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6622 Post(s)
Liked: 6438
Quote:
Originally Posted by Led Zappa View Post
What is HDR10/HLG. I never see it.


HDR10 and HLG are separate HDR types. HDR10 usually shows up as HDR as a “mode”.
Ph8te is offline  
post #35945 of 36691 Old 07-24-2019, 07:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Led Zappa View Post
What is HDR10/HLG. I never see it.

You can find HLG videos on TV Youtube app.
Led Zappa likes this.
ndukechi is offline  
post #35946 of 36691 Old 07-24-2019, 08:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Led Zappa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
HDR10 and HLG are separate HDR types. HDR10 usually shows up as HDR as a “mode”.

Thanks, I guess I just haven't watched anything with that format.

LG 55C7P - Denon X3400H - JBL CS6100BG 5.0 - Klipsch Sub-12HG Synergy - Sony BDP-S5100-3D - Sony DVPCX995V 400-Disc DVD Player
Led Zappa is offline  
post #35947 of 36691 Old 07-24-2019, 08:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
With my settings, "Cinema (User)" is for DV ONLY. Use "technicolor Expert" for SDR and HDR10/HLG.
I'm trying to do your custom color settings, but when I select technicolor expert for my picture mode Custom Color Management is greyed out. Any idea why that might be?
Dan Butler is offline  
post #35948 of 36691 Old 07-24-2019, 10:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
TitusTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 10,465
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5121 Post(s)
Liked: 4566
under 'About this TV--->TV Information...what does 'Available Internal Storage' mean in the Menu...mine is at 2.60GB out of 4.25GB...is that the space that all the installed apps are taking up?
TitusTroy is offline  
post #35949 of 36691 Old 07-24-2019, 11:36 PM
Member
 
CeeBoogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 12
LG C7 won't pass through DTS when streaming movies from my PC

I have an LG OLED 65 inch C7 and I stream movies from my PC that I've downloaded. The tv is directly connected to a sony receiver STR DN1040 for ARC and I just noticed that all the movies that are in DTS now come up on the receiver as linear pcm 2.0 audio instead of dts 3.2.1.... They used to come up as dts on the receiver and now seeing that 2.0 scrolling across bothers the crap outta me. If the movie I'm streaming is dolby digital or dolby digital + it'll show up as that and play in 5.1 surround sound but dts now plays in 2.0 and it's sooooo annoying.... Can anyone help me out here??? I'm almost certain that when I first started streaming that DTS movies would display DTS 3.2.1 on my receiver, but now they just don't..... Any help would be greatly appreciated.
CeeBoogie is offline  
post #35950 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 04:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeBoogie View Post
I have an LG OLED 65 inch C7 and I stream movies from my PC that I've downloaded. The tv is directly connected to a sony receiver STR DN1040 for ARC and I just noticed that all the movies that are in DTS now come up on the receiver as linear pcm 2.0 audio instead of dts 3.2.1.... They used to come up as dts on the receiver and now seeing that 2.0 scrolling across bothers the crap outta me. If the movie I'm streaming is dolby digital or dolby digital + it'll show up as that and play in 5.1 surround sound but dts now plays in 2.0 and it's sooooo annoying.... Can anyone help me out here??? I'm almost certain that when I first started streaming that DTS movies would display DTS 3.2.1 on my receiver, but now they just don't..... Any help would be greatly appreciated.

On TV in sound settings it should be set to Auto not PCM for ARC audio format.


On PC you need a media player capable of passing the audio.
* On Kodi it's under settings->system->audio and enable pass-through, also set number of channels to 5.1
* On MPC-BE it's under options->internal filters->audio decoders->audio decoder configuration


If it still wont work sometimes the Windows HDMI audio format detection is bugged, if your GPU has Displayport I've found using a Displayport to HDMI cable is oddly more reliable than straight HDMI to HDMI. Another way is to try and force it, in MPC-BE options->audio set the audio renderer to MPC audio renderer then click properties and set sound device to HDMI out then set wasapi to exclusive then tick the box for do not check format support.
RbD7000 is offline  
post #35951 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 08:07 AM
Member
 
CeeBoogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by RbD7000 View Post
On TV in sound settings it should be set to Auto not PCM for ARC audio format.


On PC you need a media player capable of passing the audio.
* On Kodi it's under settings->system->audio and enable pass-through, also set number of channels to 5.1
* On MPC-BE it's under options->internal filters->audio decoders->audio decoder configuration


If it still wont work sometimes the Windows HDMI audio format detection is bugged, if your GPU has Displayport I've found using a Displayport to HDMI cable is oddly more reliable than straight HDMI to HDMI. Another way is to try and force it, in MPC-BE options->audio set the audio renderer to MPC audio renderer then click properties and set sound device to HDMI out then set wasapi to exclusive then tick the box for do not check format support.
On the tv in sound settings it is set to auto. Maybe I need an optical cable from the tv to the receiver? Or maybe a new firmware caused a bug? Yesterday when I turned the tv on it had just finished updating.
CeeBoogie is offline  
post #35952 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 08:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,393
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2720 Post(s)
Liked: 2477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Butler View Post
I'm trying to do your custom color settings, but when I select technicolor expert for my picture mode Custom Color Management is greyed out. Any idea why that might be?
I do not know. Sometimes there are corrupt configuration files which need to be deleted in order to correct that type of issue. That usually requires a full factory reset.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #35953 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 08:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,393
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2720 Post(s)
Liked: 2477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
HDR10 and HLG are separate HDR types. HDR10 usually shows up as HDR as a “mode”.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndukechi View Post
You can find HLG videos on TV Youtube app.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Led Zappa View Post
Thanks, I guess I just haven't watched anything with that format.
HDR10 content is more common than Dolby Vision. Most UHD Blu-ray's are HDR10. However, the badge that pops up when you receive an HDR10 signal will simply say "HDR" on our LG's. Obviously, Dolby Vision gets its own badge. HLG is commonly found in broadcast signals; i.e. cable or satellite. DirecTV uses HLG on most of its 4K channel offerings.

FYI, HLG uses the same picture mode as HDR10 (HDR).

HDR = High Dynamic Range - so it can get confusing at times because Dolby Vision is also a form of HDR - hence why I get more specific about labeling "HDR" as "HDR10" whenever I post something about it.
Led Zappa likes this.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #35954 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 08:41 AM
Member
 
jamisonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
HDR10 content is more common than Dolby Vision. Most UHD Blu-ray's are HDR10. However, the badge that pops up when you receive an HDR10 signal will simply say "HDR" on our LG's. Obviously, Dolby Vision gets its own badge. HLG is commonly found in broadcast signals; i.e. cable or satellite. DirecTV uses HLG on most of its 4K channel offerings.

FYI, HLG uses the same picture mode as HDR10 (HDR).

HDR = High Dynamic Range - so it can get confusing at times because Dolby Vision is also a form of HDR - hence why I get more specific about labeling "HDR" as "HDR10" whenever I post something about it.
I was not even aware our TVs were compatible with HLG.
jamisonia is offline  
post #35955 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,277
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 902 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Do you know or even think the 7 series lg oled?s are capable of an earc upgrade. Or would lg even bother?
william06 is online now  
post #35956 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 09:57 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
There is 05.80.35 in Europe
WebManSpain likes this.
jaczar is offline  
post #35957 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 10:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,277
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 902 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaczar View Post
There is 05.80.35 in Europe
Also in US

Lg oled65G7P
Panasonic UB9000 pioneer lx500
atv4k -roku ultra
Toshiba Xa2 HD-DVD
Samsung HW-N950 soundbar
william06 is online now  
post #35958 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
renpar61's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I don't know if this is of interest for anyone else, the latest firmware update fixed an issue (I assume with CEC?) that was driving me crazy: every time I turned the TV on, it would automatically go to the last input used, but with no sound (through Yamaha AVR). I had to change input to something else and then back, to get sound.
Now it works like it's supposed to.
Deckard71 likes this.
renpar61 is offline  
post #35959 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 01:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
henhowc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 90025
Posts: 649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Some potentially good news for PS4 users with their new 7.0 (beta) firmware. Perhaps will help overcome the tone mapping in game mode that people think is too dim?

Don't have access to it myself but others are posting that you can adjust HDR peak brightness and other adjustments on the system level.
henhowc is offline  
post #35960 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 01:11 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,526
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6622 Post(s)
Liked: 6438
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Do you know or even think the 7 series lg oled?s are capable of an earc upgrade. Or would lg even bother?


Could they? Maybe, will they? No.
Ph8te is offline  
post #35961 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 01:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Do you know or even think the 7 series lg oled?s are capable of an earc upgrade. Or would lg even bother?
Can not happen, they don't have the HDMI 2.1 chip sets.
sonoftumble likes this.
cathodeRay is offline  
post #35962 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 01:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: █♣█
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eclipse01 View Post
I thought Cinema (User) should be used for both DV and HDR?
Yeah, that was the most common recommendation prior to the introduction of Technicolor Expert mode in Oct. 2017. After that, the most common recommendation for HDR has been Technicolor Expert.
sonoftumble and Eclipse01 like this.
forreal is offline  
post #35963 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 01:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Skytrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Baden, Pa.
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by renpar61 View Post
I don't know if this is of interest for anyone else, the latest firmware update fixed an issue (I assume with CEC?) that was driving me crazy: every time I turned the TV on, it would automatically go to the last input used, but with no sound (through Yamaha AVR). I had to change input to something else and then back, to get sound.
Now it works like it's supposed to.
I also have to change inputs every time I turn on the TV. I was hoping this upgrade would fix that. Before the upgrade, the TV would also randomly change inputs, but not often. Since the upgrade, this problem has really increased to the point that I may bypass my Yamaha RX-A1040 and go straight to the TV with my Comcast 4k Box. Im gonna wait a few days to see if it settles down first.

Good to see that your Yammy is working as it should.

TV - LG 65B7P OLED / Receiver - Yamaha RX-A1040 7.2 / Blu Ray - Oppo BDP-83 / Turntable - Technics SL-3300 / Cable Box - Comcast X1 V4 4K /L & R Paradigm Studio 20 V3
Center - Paradigm CC-470 V3 / 4 Surrounds - Paradigm SA-15 V3 In Walls
Subwoofer 1 - Sunfire HRS-12 / Subwoofer 2 - Paradigm PW-2100
Skytrooper is offline  
post #35964 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 02:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,599
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 718 Post(s)
Liked: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skytrooper View Post
I also have to change inputs every time I turn on the TV. I was hoping this upgrade would fix that. Before the upgrade, the TV would also randomly change inputs, but not often. Since the upgrade, this problem has really increased to the point that I may bypass my Yamaha RX-A1040 and go straight to the TV with my Comcast 4k Box. Im gonna wait a few days to see if it settles down first.



Good to see that your Yammy is working as it should.


My experience is that if you enable quick start on the LG all sorts of things at power on do not work correctly.

However, the ‘randomly’ changing inputs is a problem where the LG switched to the last hdmi input it enumerates in the hdmi chain when auto powered on. The only solution I know is to disable cec control on the AVR and use a harmony.

Up to this point I thought the bug was restricted to a lg/Denon combo but sadly for you I see it happens with Yamaha too!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
rsonnens is offline  
post #35965 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 02:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by henhowc View Post
Some potentially good news for PS4 users with their new 7.0 (beta) firmware. Perhaps will help overcome the tone mapping in game mode that people think is too dim?

Don't have access to it myself but others are posting that you can adjust HDR peak brightness and other adjustments on the system level.
jaczar is offline  
post #35966 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 02:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Bacon_67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaczar View Post

Doesn't appear to do anything in games, or at least not yet.



Not sure it will be helpful for us 7 series owners since we need actual metadata injection to get a brighter picture.
Bacon_67 is online now  
post #35967 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 02:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeBoogie View Post
I have an LG OLED 65 inch C7 and I stream movies from my PC that I've downloaded. The tv is directly connected to a sony receiver STR DN1040 for ARC and I just noticed that all the movies that are in DTS now come up on the receiver as linear pcm 2.0 audio instead of dts 3.2.1.... They used to come up as dts on the receiver and now seeing that 2.0 scrolling across bothers the crap outta me. If the movie I'm streaming is dolby digital or dolby digital + it'll show up as that and play in 5.1 surround sound but dts now plays in 2.0 and it's sooooo annoying.... Can anyone help me out here??? I'm almost certain that when I first started streaming that DTS movies would display DTS 3.2.1 on my receiver, but now they just don't..... Any help would be greatly appreciated.
I have heard of DTS 5.1, but never 3.2.1. If it is plain DTS 5.1 it ought to be able to pass through. If it is DTS-MA or DTS-X or some other more advanced DTS, then it can not be passed through ARC, and the player would need to decode it, and since it probably can't re-encode it as DTS 5.1 or DD+, it would have to use LPCM, which means 2.0 at best.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #35968 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 03:12 PM
Member
 
CeeBoogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
I have heard of DTS 5.1, but never 3.2.1. If it is plain DTS 5.1 it ought to be able to pass through. If it is DTS-MA or DTS-X or some other more advanced DTS, then it can not be passed through ARC, and the player would need to decode it, and since it probably can't re-encode it as DTS 5.1 or DD+, it would have to use LPCM, which means 2.0 at best.
I don't have a player, I stream the movies from my PC. Dolby Digital and DD+ all decode properly and they say 3.2.1, DTS however just says Linear PCM 2.0. Made a mistake about DTS 3.2.1, I guess it's supposed to say 5.1 for DTS, but I wouldn't know because it doesn't decode properly.
CeeBoogie is offline  
post #35969 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 05:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
noobtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 647 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Do you know or even think the 7 series lg oled?s are capable of an earc upgrade. Or would lg even bother?
No, the TV doesn't have the hardware for it. Also they would never do it for free.

Quote:
Originally Posted by henhowc View Post
Some potentially good news for PS4 users with their new 7.0 (beta) firmware. Perhaps will help overcome the tone mapping in game mode that people think is too dim?

Don't have access to it myself but others are posting that you can adjust HDR peak brightness and other adjustments on the system level.
Great news. So stupid that games would be mapped at 10000 nits or whatever.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skytrooper View Post
I also have to change inputs every time I turn on the TV. I was hoping this upgrade would fix that. Before the upgrade, the TV would also randomly change inputs, but not often. Since the upgrade, this problem has really increased to the point that I may bypass my Yamaha RX-A1040 and go straight to the TV with my Comcast 4k Box. Im gonna wait a few days to see if it settles down first.

Good to see that your Yammy is working as it should.
Just as a counter anecdote, ARC/CEC works almost perfectly with my Pioneer VSX-1131. It turns the amp on with the TV and starts with the last-used input. Works great.

Probably once a month it starts with the AVR on the wrong input but not a big deal.

It's worth a try for the people having problems with ARC/CEC to try powering everything off at the power point and reconnecting all the HDMI cables, I've read about this solving ARC problems for people.

Also I have read about people using Apple TV needing a special HDMI cable for that that has the CEC pins disconnected, because the AppleTV is very aggressive about stealing input and turning everything on/off.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeBoogie View Post
I don't have a player, I stream the movies from my PC. Dolby Digital and DD+ all decode properly and they say 3.2.1, DTS however just says Linear PCM 2.0. Made a mistake about DTS 3.2.1, I guess it's supposed to say 5.1 for DTS, but I wouldn't know because it doesn't decode properly.
If you're on Windows, use the program "mediainfo" to see exactly what the audio codec of the file is, and report back here.

In Kodi there's settings for what audio formats are supported:
  • Dolby Digital (AC3) capable receiver.
    • Enable Dolby Digital Transcoding: To be selected in case the audio output device only supports multichannel audio.
  • Dolby Digital Plus (E-AC3) capable receiver.
  • DTS capable receiver.
  • TrueHD capable receiver.
  • DTS-HD capable receiver.
What program are you using to play? Kodi?

Living Room: Kef Q900/Q600c/Q100, SVS SB2000, Denon AVR-X3500H.
PC Setup: Infinity R152, Sunfire XTEQ8, DIY 3e-Audio TPA3255 amp.
noobtv is offline  
post #35970 of 36691 Old 07-25-2019, 06:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Eclipse01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Chippewa Falls, WI
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 367 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by forreal View Post
Yeah, that was the most common recommendation prior to the introduction of Technicolor Expert mode in Oct. 2017. After that, the most common recommendation for HDR has been Technicolor Expert.

thank you

LG OLED B7A 65"
Philips BDP7501 UHD Blu Ray player
Apple TV4
Onkyo TX-SR606
Harmony Elite
Eclipse01 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off