2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 1219 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980518Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #36541 of 36694 Old 11-15-2019, 03:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
TitusTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 10,480
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5129 Post(s)
Liked: 4577
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonnens View Post
Are you sure ALL your settings are identical, TV apps use different settings from the ones associated with the HDMI ports?
yup everything is identical...the difference is not some huge night/day difference...it's subtle but there is definitely a difference...I was watching Mandalorian on Disney+ which has a lot of near black scenes and the image was definitely better using the built-in app...I kept switching back and forth between the ATV and LG app after watching a few scenes...Apple uses a separate Dolby Vision profile for the ATV so I would think that plays a part...

Last edited by TitusTroy; 11-15-2019 at 03:44 PM.
TitusTroy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #36542 of 36694 Old 11-16-2019, 08:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
PannyMann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by PannyMann View Post
Repairman came yesterday (Sunday NFL interrupt). He replaced the motherboard only. I no longer am getting the "Unknown Device Disconnected" message and the remote is once again working flawlessly (so far). It will take a couple of weeks experiencing no spontaneous shutdown/reboot cycles to declare that issue fixed. The repairman said that he's seen "a lot" of both of these issues with LG OLEDs and has received no call backs after replacing the MB, implying that MB replacement does the trick.

An interesting side note, my "hours on" has reset to zero.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
That's excellent news, hopefully its one and done.......
No such luck, unfortunately. I had a shutdawn/reboot after about 10 days with the new MotherBoard. The "Unknown Device Disconnected" Message is back albeit not as often but magic remote functions are sporadic once again. I was also now getting "Bluetooth services need to be initialised? Left TV unplugged overnight and the sporadic remote ops is back. Only get a cursor occasionally.

Also, the serial number displayed on screen no longer matches the serial label on the back f the TV.

All this has been reported and instead of coming out, the service company has suggested some settings changes, Im not convinced. They're supposed to get back with my in a couple of days to gauge how effective the changes were. I kno on thing, the Unknown device message still pops up and then I lose the cursor.

After this round of "repairs", if unsuccessful, I'm going to lobby for a replacement set

ENOUGH !!

I think, therefore I am single.
PannyMann is offline  
post #36543 of 36694 Old 11-16-2019, 09:32 AM
Member
 
schizm83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Novi Marof, Croatia
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I can never at peace with the recommended DolbyVision settings on my B7. It's just so dim and dull on Cinema (user), it's like I'm watching SDR, even SDR content at OLED light 40 is brighter and more live than DV. Feels like I'm watching my DV content through some kind of gray veil acros the screen.


I have set the oled light as recommended at 50 but even increased it just doesn't quite pop, even in dark room. I know every movie is different, it's made the way it was intended to be seen and I'm really not expecting the impression of those demo clips on youtube, but overall it's just washed out.



Would someone please calibrate Cinema Home preset and post settings here because Cinema user is much more appealing

Last edited by schizm83; 11-16-2019 at 09:44 AM.
schizm83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #36544 of 36694 Old 11-16-2019, 10:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,533
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6626 Post(s)
Liked: 6440
Quote:
Originally Posted by schizm83 View Post
I can never at peace with the recommended DolbyVision settings on my B7. It's just so dim and dull on Cinema (user), it's like I'm watching SDR, even SDR content at OLED light 40 is brighter and more live than DV. Feels like I'm watching my DV content through some kind of gray veil acros the screen.


I have set the oled light as recommended at 50 but even increased it just doesn't quite pop, even in dark room. I know every movie is different, it's made the way it was intended to be seen and I'm really not expecting the impression of those demo clips on youtube, but overall it's just washed out.



Would someone please calibrate Cinema Home preset and post settings here because Cinema user is much more appealing


Just set to something you like. If you don’t care about accuracy and like the image then that’s all that matters. There is no need for someone to do a full calibration on a setting they’ll never use. There are plenty of folks here that use “non recommended” settings because they prefer the look of what they do over something someone shared. On top of all this there is no guarantee that settings will translate to your tv from someone else’s.
Skytrooper likes this.
Ph8te is offline  
post #36545 of 36694 Old 11-16-2019, 02:36 PM
Member
 
LG8600User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitusTroy View Post
yup everything is identical...the difference is not some huge night/day difference...it's subtle but there is definitely a difference...I was watching Mandalorian on Disney+ which has a lot of near black scenes and the image was definitely better using the built-in app...I kept switching back and forth between the ATV and LG app after watching a few scenes...Apple uses a separate Dolby Vision profile for the ATV so I would think that plays a part...
This is something I noticed/discovered when I acquired my C7 back in 2017 (and continues to the present) - there are slight differences in how the internal apps are handled as an "input" versus other inputs as per image quality/settings such that the internal app visual quality is slightly better. Additionally, LG-version apps tend to be "best of breed" in terms of overall functionality/capabilities (4K/HDR10/DV/5.1/Atmos/UI/etc) and audio/visual quality as compared to their other-device counterparts (the recent D+ app being an exception, though I expect that to change once Disney releases the already-announced update supporting the Magic Remote and enabling 5.1/Atmos etc).


This is why I recommend the internal apps over other device/streamer app versions if available and even if equally functional/capable.
lax01 and TitusTroy like this.
LG8600User is offline  
post #36546 of 36694 Old 11-16-2019, 02:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
TitusTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 10,480
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5129 Post(s)
Liked: 4577
Quote:
Originally Posted by LG8600User View Post
This is something I noticed/discovered when I acquired my C7 back in 2017 (and continues to the present) - there are slight differences in how the internal apps are handled as an "input" versus other inputs as per image quality/settings such that the internal app visual quality is slightly better. Additionally, LG-version apps tend to be "best of breed" in terms of overall functionality/capabilities (4K/HDR10/DV/5.1/Atmos/UI/etc) and audio/visual quality as compared to their other-device counterparts (the recent D+ app being an exception, though I expect that to change once Disney releases the already-announced update supporting the Magic Remote and enabling 5.1/Atmos etc)

This is why I recommend the internal apps over other device/streamer app versions if available and even if equally functional/capable.
good to know it's not my imagination...as far as Disney+, is it confirmed that LG will be adding DD 5.1/Atmos support to their app soon?
TitusTroy is online now  
post #36547 of 36694 Old 11-16-2019, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,914
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6847 Post(s)
Liked: 6843
Quote:
Originally Posted by PannyMann View Post
No such luck, unfortunately. I had a shutdawn/reboot after about 10 days with the new MotherBoard. The "Unknown Device Disconnected" Message is back albeit not as often but magic remote functions are sporadic once again. I was also now getting "Bluetooth services need to be initialised? Left TV unplugged overnight and the sporadic remote ops is back. Only get a cursor occasionally.

Also, the serial number displayed on screen no longer matches the serial label on the back f the TV.

All this has been reported and instead of coming out, the service company has suggested some settings changes, Im not convinced. They're supposed to get back with my in a couple of days to gauge how effective the changes were. I kno on thing, the Unknown device message still pops up and then I lose the cursor.

After this round of "repairs", if unsuccessful, I'm going to lobby for a replacement set

ENOUGH !!
Sorry to hear this, I would think it would be one of the other boards then, have all boards been replaced?
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #36548 of 36694 Old 11-16-2019, 05:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
PannyMann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
That's excellent news, hopefully its one and done.......
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Sorry to hear this, I would think it would be one of the other boards then, have all boards been replaced?
MB only was replaced. I watched him do it.

I think, therefore I am single.
PannyMann is offline  
post #36549 of 36694 Old 11-16-2019, 06:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,599
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 718 Post(s)
Liked: 538
2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Sorry to hear this, I would think it would be one of the other boards then, have all boards been replaced?


Very unlikely another board is the issue. It is more likely interference from another device (like a microwave oven or a bad remote.)
rsonnens is online now  
post #36550 of 36694 Old 11-16-2019, 07:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsonnens View Post
Very unlikely another board is the issue. It is more likely interference from another device (like a microwave oven or a bad remote.)

Had the main board, back panel replaced on mine due to a dead HDMI1. Have a MAC filter for the TV on my 2ndary WiFi and expected to have to reset that. Wasn't necessary. The WiFi was on some other chip. That's likely what needs to be swapped out.

55B6P
AV Challenged is offline  
post #36551 of 36694 Old 11-16-2019, 10:28 PM
Senior Member
 
rego00123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Does the Disney plus app lag for anyone else on this set?
Not the actually movies, but the UI gets extremely unresponsive for me. I also can’t find a simple way to skip ahead without having to use the fast forward button
rego00123 is online now  
post #36552 of 36694 Old 11-16-2019, 11:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
confinoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Shaker Heights, OH
Posts: 2,086
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1284 Post(s)
Liked: 1123
Just noticed something that I wanted to confirm was normal behavior. When watching HDR10 material the TV info will appropriately indicate both bt 2020 and HDR. However when watching Dolby Vision content it just says Dolby Vision but not bt 2020. I though DV also used bt 2020? Does it have its own colorspace?

LG OLED65C7P (Chad B Calibrated) | Denon X4300H | HDHomeRun Quatro | Nvidia Shield Pro 2019 | ATV 4K | Oppo UDP-203 | 40TB Plex server
5.2.4 | Front Klipsch RP-160M x2 | Center Klipsch RP-450C | Surrounds Klipsch RP-150M x2 | Atmos Klipsch RP-140SA x 4 | Subs SVS PC-4000 x 2
confinoj is online now  
post #36553 of 36694 Old 11-17-2019, 06:57 AM
Member
 
LG8600User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by rego00123 View Post
Does the Disney plus app lag for anyone else on this set?
Not the actually movies, but the UI gets extremely unresponsive for me. I also can’t find a simple way to skip ahead without having to use the fast forward button
Not experiencing UI lag.

As far as the UI goes LG indicated in its initial notification of the D+ app availability that an update was "coming soon" that enabled usage of the Magic Remote - whenever that update gets here you'll be able to click wherever you want on the progress bar. Hopefully that update also includes enabling the missing 5.1/Atmos support Disney also indicated they were aware of and working on - my guess is both will come in the same update and because of that it will probably come later than sooner.
LG8600User is offline  
post #36554 of 36694 Old 11-17-2019, 08:02 AM
Member
 
LG8600User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by confinoj View Post
Just noticed something that I wanted to confirm was normal behavior. When watching HDR10 material the TV info will appropriately indicate both bt 2020 and HDR. However when watching Dolby Vision content it just says Dolby Vision but not bt 2020. I though DV also used bt 2020?
Depends on the DV profile used by the app/device.

https://www.dolby.com/us/en/technolo...les-Levels.pdf

Quote:
Does it have its own colorspace?
Yes, depending on the DV profile used (and what exactly you mean by "colorspace").

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ICtCp

https://www.dolby.com/us/en/technolo...les-Levels.pdf
LG8600User is offline  
post #36555 of 36694 Old 11-17-2019, 12:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
kensingtonwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Anyone here upgrade to a C9 only to find that it’s dimmer than the B7?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
kensingtonwick is offline  
post #36556 of 36694 Old 11-17-2019, 12:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by rego00123 View Post
Does the Disney plus app lag for anyone else on this set?
Not the actually movies, but the UI gets extremely unresponsive for me. I also can’t find a simple way to skip ahead without having to use the fast forward button
Try unplugging the TV for 10 minutes, this will clear the cache and is sometimes helpful after a few updates.
cathodeRay is online now  
post #36557 of 36694 Old 11-17-2019, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,867
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1561 Post(s)
Liked: 821
Quote:
Originally Posted by kensingtonwick View Post
Anyone here upgrade to a C9 only to find that it’s dimmer than the B7?
I went from a 65" B7A to a 77" C9. My 77" measures ~760 nits in HDR and way more than enough in SDR.

I need to go back and measure my 65" upstairs but I'd be surprised if it was brighter in HDR than my C9.
dwaleke is online now  
post #36558 of 36694 Old 11-17-2019, 04:17 PM
Senior Member
 
rego00123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by cathodeRay View Post
Try unplugging the TV for 10 minutes, this will clear the cache and is sometimes helpful after a few updates.
Nothing.
Same old laggy UI. it seem to happen after fast forwarding a few movies, closing the app will fix it, but it comes right back after using the app for awhile.

On a possibly related note. I did a speed test through fast.com to make sure it wasn’t me causing the issue. Speeds are fine, but loaded latency is over 600 milliseconds...
Not sure if this is the cause of my issues, but I can se it contributing.

Nothing I do router side has any affect on the loaded latency, it seems as though it’s just how this tv wants to function through Ethernet.
rego00123 is online now  
post #36559 of 36694 Old 11-17-2019, 04:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Bacon_67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 72
The Disney+ app is kind of sluggish for me too, but it’s clearly half baked so I expect it to get better.
Bacon_67 is online now  
post #36560 of 36694 Old 11-17-2019, 04:21 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,533
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6626 Post(s)
Liked: 6440
Quote:
Originally Posted by rego00123 View Post
Nothing.

Same old laggy UI. it seem to happen after fast forwarding a few movies, closing the app will fix it, but it comes right back after using the app for awhile.



On a possibly related note. I did a speed test through fast.com to make sure it wasn’t me causing the issue. Speeds are fine, but loaded latency is over 600 milliseconds...

Not sure if this is the cause of my issues, but I can se it contributing.



Nothing I do router side has any affect on the loaded latency, it seems as though it’s just how this tv wants to function through Ethernet.


That high latency probably has something to do with it. I haven’t seen this lag myself on any of the devices I use since the beginning glitches early on launch day.
Ph8te is offline  
post #36561 of 36694 Old 11-17-2019, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
rego00123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacon_67 View Post
The Disney+ app is kind of sluggish for me too, but it’s clearly half baked so I expect it to get better.
I have zero issues on any other app in this tv so I just kinda chalked it up to them pushing out so many supported devices at once. I can trigger is being unresponsive every time by fast forwarding a lot, otherwise it’s mostly fine.
rego00123 is online now  
post #36562 of 36694 Old 11-17-2019, 06:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Skytrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Baden, Pa.
Posts: 1,278
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 395
Someone mentioned that Disney bring back the old Zorro shows. Me too. He was a hero to us kids back in the day. So was Anette on the Mickey Mouse Show. A young boys dream.

TV - LG 65B7P OLED / Receiver - Yamaha RX-A1040 7.2 / Blu Ray - Oppo BDP-83 / Turntable - Technics SL-3300 / Cable Box - Comcast X1 V4 4K /L & R Paradigm Studio 20 V3
Center - Paradigm CC-470 V3 / 4 Surrounds - Paradigm SA-15 V3 In Walls
Subwoofer 1 - Sunfire HRS-12 / Subwoofer 2 - Paradigm PW-2100
Skytrooper is offline  
post #36563 of 36694 Old 11-17-2019, 08:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
kensingtonwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwaleke View Post
I went from a 65" B7A to a 77" C9. My 77" measures ~760 nits in HDR and way more than enough in SDR.



I need to go back and measure my 65" upstairs but I'd be surprised if it was brighter in HDR than my C9.


That would be appreciated if you could do a measurement on the B7. What window size on the C9? 10%?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
kensingtonwick is offline  
post #36564 of 36694 Old 11-17-2019, 09:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,867
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1561 Post(s)
Liked: 821
Quote:
Originally Posted by kensingtonwick View Post
That would be appreciated if you could do a measurement on the B7. What window size on the C9? 10%?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes 10%.
dwaleke is online now  
post #36565 of 36694 Old 11-18-2019, 04:24 AM
Member
 
LG8600User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Disney+ 1.1.5 update (not) available

LG store has a new 1.1.5 update published/announced via notifications.

Problem is, it isn't - its still 1.1.4.erso-1.1.a+019 after install (same as its been for 2-3 days now).

Not sure what Disney/LG think is updated, but it isn't actually the app itself.

Anyone seeing anything different?
LG8600User is offline  
post #36566 of 36694 Old 11-18-2019, 11:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lax01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,630
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 631 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by LG8600User View Post
LG store has a new 1.1.5 update published/announced via notifications.

Problem is, it isn't - its still 1.1.4.erso-1.1.a+019 after install (same as its been for 2-3 days now).

Not sure what Disney/LG think is updated, but it isn't actually the app itself.

Anyone seeing anything different?
Perhaps LG needs to do stage rolled outs over the course of the week...I will check my TV when I get home to see if I got the update

Josh
lax01 is online now  
post #36567 of 36694 Old 11-18-2019, 02:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacon_67 View Post
My biggest gripe remains LG's terrible approach to tone mapping 4000nit content. I really hope they update the TV to the 8 series approach to tone mapping, but I'm starting to doubt that will ever happen.
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
Some TVs such as LG were placing too much emphasis on the MaxDML metadata value in tone mapping. That is the "Maxium Display Monitor Luminance" value which is the capability of the monitor used when mastering the HDR. An extreme example of this is Blade Runner 2049 (US Warner Bros version) that has a MaxDML value of 10,000 nits while MaxCLL is less than 200 nits. This means a monitor capable of displaying 10,000 nits was used when grading the HDR for the movie. But the brightest pixel in the entire movie does not exceed 200 nits.

When played to a LG TV, the TV saw the 10,000 nits and determined it had to compress the lower brightness content in order to make room for the bright content that might reach 10,000 nits even though there is none. The result was an overly dark picture.
I keep reading how 2017 LG OLEDs ignore MaxCLL and use the MaxMDL value to determine the proper tonemapping. Have LG quietly changed this recently? I'm on the latest firmware (05.80.35) and created 3 test clips from a very dark scene from a movie that has 4000 MaxMDL and 557 MaxCLL.


Clip 1: same metadata as the source to confirm there was no error during clip creation.
Result: looks like source (shadow detail is well visible)



Clip 2: removed MaxCLL and MaxFALL.
Result: picture is much darker (shadows are severly crushed, shadow details are pretty much gone)



Clip 3: removed MaxCLL and MaxFALL, replaced 4000 MaxMDL with 557 MaxMDL.
Result: looks like source (shadow detail is well visible)


This indicates to me the TV did in fact take MaxCLL into account when choosing the proper tonemapping curve. Am I missing something? (Dynamic Contrast was set to Off of course)

Last edited by suarsg; 11-18-2019 at 02:51 PM.
suarsg is offline  
post #36568 of 36694 Old 11-18-2019, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Bacon_67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by suarsg View Post
I keep reading how 2017 LG OLEDs ignore MaxCLL and use the MaxMDL value to determine the proper tonemapping. Have LG quietly changed this recently? I'm on the latest firmware (05.80.35) and created 3 test clips from a very dark scene from a movie that has 4000 MaxMDL and 557 MaxCLL.


Clip 1: same metadata as the source to confirm there was no error during clip creation.
Result: looks like source (shadow detail is well visible)



Clip 2: removed MaxCLL and MaxFALL.
Result: picture is much darker (shadows are severly crushed, shadow details are pretty much gone)



Clip 3: removed MaxCLL and MaxFALL, replaced 4000 MaxMDL with 557 MaxMDL.
Result: looks like source (shadow detail is well visible)


This indicates to me the TV did in fact take MaxCLL into account when choosing the proper tonemapping curve. Am I missing something? (Dynamic Contrast was set to Off of course)

Nothing has changed afiak. It still bases the tone curve on MaxMDL and in the absence of metadata it assumes 10,000 nits and produces a dim image with DTM off.
Bacon_67 is online now  
post #36569 of 36694 Old 11-18-2019, 03:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacon_67 View Post
Nothing has changed afiak. It still bases the tone curve on MaxMDL and in the absence of metadata it assumes 10,000 nits and produces a dim image with DTM off.
I feel like you haven't read what I wrote about the test clips. MaxMDL-4000 with the MaxCLL stripped results in black crush, while MaxMDL-557 looks equal to MaxMDL-4000 with MaxCLL-557. This indicated to me the TV is using MaxCLL for its tonemapping algorithm when it's available.
suarsg is offline  
post #36570 of 36694 Old 11-18-2019, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Bacon_67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by suarsg View Post
I feel like you haven't read what I wrote about the test clips. MaxMDL-4000 with the MaxCLL stripped results in black crush, while MaxMDL-557 looks equal to MaxMDL-4000 with MaxCLL-557. This indicated to me the TV is using MaxCLL for its tonemapping algorithm when it's available.
I’m not sure what the metadata has to do with black crush. It shouldn’t make any difference on near black detail.
Bacon_67 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off