2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 394 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980220Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11791 of 35867 Old 10-29-2017, 07:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
noobtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeffeMusic View Post
I put the extracted file on a scan disc usb drive from the LG site and the TV only gives me an option to run music or video? Do I have to format the drive to download the firmware correctly?
It's not going to let you downgrade without a fight.
noobtv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11792 of 35867 Old 10-29-2017, 07:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,190
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2899 Post(s)
Liked: 3470
One thing I've learned especially on here is that one firmware will mess something up and then the next one fixes it...it goes round and round...no matter if it's LG, Sony, or Vizio.
ataneruo and towerboy like this.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #11793 of 35867 Old 10-29-2017, 08:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
noobtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
One thing I've learned especially on here is that one firmware will mess something up and then the next one fixes it...it goes round and round...no matter if it's LG, Sony, or Vizio.
It's like that for everything, sadly. AVRs, TVs, you name it...

Except for my last Hisense TV... they went the other way and just don't bother fixing anything.
ataneruo likes this.
noobtv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11794 of 35867 Old 10-29-2017, 08:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,190
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2899 Post(s)
Liked: 3470
True...im just sitting here enjoying this beast...stranger things 2 episode 8...wholly amazeballs...this is a showcase of what these can do...and when the wifey says wow that looks real...then I know it's the real deal lol!
Cam1977 is online now  
post #11795 of 35867 Old 10-29-2017, 09:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,363
Mentioned: 228 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2687 Post(s)
Liked: 2449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
Popped in interstellar tonight...man I can't wait to see this in hdr on my C7 whenever it comes out...those Imax scenes will be a treat to see I bet!


I have a digital copy on my AppleTV 4K and it's running in HDR mode full time. The whole movie looks amazing as does GOT. Did you see the calibration settings I posted today? Link in my signature.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is online now  
post #11796 of 35867 Old 10-29-2017, 09:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,190
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2899 Post(s)
Liked: 3470
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
I have a digital copy on my AppleTV 4K and it's running in HDR mode full time. The whole movie looks amazing as does GOT. Did you see the calibration settings I posted today?
Yeah I did...we have similar settings but I don't like dc with sdr...and have my brightness at 49 for hdr10, if I bump it up to 50 it looks a little washed out to my eyes. With my oleds I tend to stick with my settings because these do vary more I believe than lcd...panel to panel.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #11797 of 35867 Old 10-29-2017, 10:07 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,001
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6395 Post(s)
Liked: 6393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astiehm View Post
Going to be getting a 65C7P and was probably going to get the OTW420B mount for it. Is there a better option out the for a wall mount? Seated position is 10ft, straight on, so don’t really need articulation mount or anything like that. Also, what is the ideal height at that distance? How high should the bottom of the tv be from the floor?
Any flat mount will work and they are less cash then the LG mount. I like 40" from the floor to the bottom of TV. You go to low you are putting your TV in harms way of little ones and so on........
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #11798 of 35867 Old 10-29-2017, 10:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,363
Mentioned: 228 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2687 Post(s)
Liked: 2449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
Yeah I did...we have similar settings but I don't like dc with sdr...and have my brightness at 49 for hdr10, if I bump it up to 50 it looks a little washed out to my eyes. With my oleds I tend to stick with my settings because these do vary more I believe than lcd...panel to panel.
Just so you are aware, I had DC turned off when I calibrated. Totally an after-the-fact option. The settings should look great either set on or off. Interesting your comment about manufacturing uniformity. I would have thought that they would be closer than the apparent reality.
Cam1977 likes this.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is online now  
post #11799 of 35867 Old 10-29-2017, 10:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,190
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2899 Post(s)
Liked: 3470
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
Just so you are aware, I had DC turned off when I calibrated. Totally an after-the-fact option. The settings should look great either set on or off. Interesting your comment about manufacturing uniformity. I would have thought that they would be closer than the apparent reality.
Yeah I gathered that from here mostly! But I know brightness can be a setting that I believe the user should set according to what they see...with no cal of course. I went back and reread your settings and saw dc was a personal preference of yours. I believe the brightness setting to be one of the most important settings on oled...1 click up or down can muck up the pq.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #11800 of 35867 Old 10-29-2017, 11:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Datagg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmcarv View Post
No OLED screens are 100% straight.

You will have a bend on yours but you might have not noticed it yet...
Straight as an arrow here.
Datagg is offline  
post #11801 of 35867 Old 10-29-2017, 11:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Datagg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Bought The evil within tonight... The black on these sets are truly superb. Ill have to grab the last Resident Evil as that was HDR also. I had my LG UH8500 then and it looked great but those pillars of light, ouch!! - This set is simply amazing for gaming period. Cant wait to pump some true 4K gaming into this set with the XB1 X on the 8th. Gonna order Planet Earth 2 once I get done typing this post as I hear that a master class in content for our OLED's.
Ricker62 likes this.
Datagg is offline  
post #11802 of 35867 Old 10-29-2017, 11:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 9
When use my B7 on the PC (latest Windows 10) I noticed that the TV doesn't display some columns of pixels on the right side of the screen, the image gets cut. The left, top and bottom sides are all ok. Does anyone know how to fix?
Adonisds is offline  
post #11803 of 35867 Old 10-29-2017, 11:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,190
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2899 Post(s)
Liked: 3470
Quote:
Originally Posted by Datagg View Post
Bought The evil within tonight... The black on these sets are truly superb. Ill have to grab the last Resident Evil as that was HDR also. I had my LG UH8500 then and it looked great but those pillars of light, ouch!! - This set is simply amazing for gaming period. Cant wait to pump some true 4K gaming into this set with the XB1 X on the 8th. Gonna order Planet Earth 2 once I get done typing this post as I hear that a master class in content for our OLED's.
I don't game, but you will be impressed with PE2!
Datagg likes this.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #11804 of 35867 Old 10-29-2017, 11:37 PM
Senior Member
 
P40L0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexbarbel View Post
OK, so after two attempts I finally got an understandable answer from LG . It took some time because they needed to go to the engineers.
Basically I asked if Active HDR was applied to Standard Picture Mode HDR by selecting Dynamic Contrast (to any of the ON positions) as found in the Advanced Controls as it is for say the Cinema Mode where Dynamic Contrast is found under Expert Controls. Here is the reply ;

Firstly I apologize about confusion, your query not a common one but I am pretty sure I understand what you are talking about.
If I am correct you wish to know if the Active HDR feature which tries to bring other HDR standards up to the level of Dolby Vision with some clever software tricks applies to all HDR picture modes, including Standard.
This feature should be enabled on all HDR picture modes by default if the TV supports the feature. When you have HDR content on screen the picture modes will automatically roll over to the HDR set. Each of the available modes under HDR picture mode should have this feature enabled.
The option regardless of if it’s within the expert controls section or the advanced controls does the same thing. So Dynamic Contrast in Standard Picture mode makes Dynamic metadata just as it does in Cinema mode.

To me that seems to clear the issue up and we can believe that Active HDR for Standard Picture Mode is triggered by turning Dynamic Contrast On in the Advanced Picture Settings section. Hope this clears it up for you also.
Yeah, LG Italy told me the same thing.
Active HDR applies also to HDR Game Mode with Dynamic Contrast set to Low
P40L0 is offline  
post #11805 of 35867 Old 10-30-2017, 12:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 742 Post(s)
Liked: 556
Quote:
Originally Posted by P40L0 View Post
Yeah, LG Italy told me the same thing.
Active HDR applies also to HDR Game Mode with Dynamic Contrast set to Low
Good to know that they are being consistent !
alexbarbel is offline  
post #11806 of 35867 Old 10-30-2017, 12:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 742 Post(s)
Liked: 556
Quote:
Originally Posted by Datagg View Post
Straight as an arrow here.
Mine also. I have had my 2 meter long spirit level on mind and there is no bend.
I'm also happy that I have never noticed any banding , even when running the InjuredPixels screen checker.
I do have one small issue though which is previously when I switched the TV on it would open up on Home Cinema, which is as I want it, but now it comes on Live TV, which I don't watch. Is there a way to change this ? Not a big problem at all but if I can change it I will.
alexbarbel is offline  
post #11807 of 35867 Old 10-30-2017, 02:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Manuxs1806's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexbarbel View Post
Good to know that they are being consistent !
Actually, what is weird, if their answer is correct, is that switching DC from off to low on standard mode hardly makes any difference. On the contrary, the little difference it makes, tends to slightly wash out the picture.

It is nothing compared to the difference there is when switching DC from off to low on cinema mode.

In the end, even though I would rather use standard mode instead of cinema mode, it seems to me that no, active hdr doesn't work with standard mode, and is just a classic dynamic contrast setting.
Manuxs1806 is offline  
post #11808 of 35867 Old 10-30-2017, 02:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
2017 LG C7 - Audio muting with High Res viewing

I am looking for any help or possible solutions to my home theatre audio issue.

Equipment being used:
- 2017 LG 65" OLED C7
- Denon AVR-1400H (via 18 mbs HDMI)
- Panasonic DMP-UB900 4k Blu-Ray
- PS4
- 5.1.2 Atmos speaker setup

When watching any high definition Netflix content (Atmos/Dolby vision, UHD 4K and even 5.1) and using the installed Dolby app pre-installed on the TV for Atmos and Vison sample content, the audio randomly mutes for 1-2 seconds. This could happen 10 or 5 times a minute. Ultimately makes it unwatchable and very frustrated when having such a high end theatre set up.

This error doesnt happen with free to air TV, content from USB, gaming consoles or the 4K Blu-Ray.

I have contacted LG for support as I feel it is a TV issue rather than receiver or hardware issue, as it only happens with apps built-in to the TV.

Has anyone else experienced this or similar?
Grantos27 is offline  
post #11809 of 35867 Old 10-30-2017, 04:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Manuxs1806's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quick question, if I may : I would like to put Netflix in the "My content" section of webos.
But it isn't working. The only content that I can add to this "My content" section comes from Youtube. Is there something that I am missing here, in order to add shows from Netflix to this section ?

Thanks !
Manuxs1806 is offline  
post #11810 of 35867 Old 10-30-2017, 04:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Datagg View Post
Gonna order Planet Earth 2 once I get done typing this post as I hear that a master class in content for our OLED's.
Planet Earth 2 in 4k HDR was the first show that got my wife to put down her phone and actually WATCH start to finish. Amazing show, amazing visuals. You're in a for a treat
Datagg likes this.
Pjs06c is offline  
post #11811 of 35867 Old 10-30-2017, 05:15 AM
Senior Member
 
CoffeeHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grantos27 View Post
I am looking for any help or possible solutions to my home theatre audio issue.

Equipment being used:
- 2017 LG 65" OLED C7
- Denon AVR-1400H (via 18 mbs HDMI)
- Panasonic DMP-UB900 4k Blu-Ray
- PS4
- 5.1.2 Atmos speaker setup

When watching any high definition Netflix content (Atmos/Dolby vision, UHD 4K and even 5.1) and using the installed Dolby app pre-installed on the TV for Atmos and Vison sample content, the audio randomly mutes for 1-2 seconds. This could happen 10 or 5 times a minute. Ultimately makes it unwatchable and very frustrated when having such a high end theatre set up.

This error doesnt happen with free to air TV, content from USB, gaming consoles or the 4K Blu-Ray.

I have contacted LG for support as I feel it is a TV issue rather than receiver or hardware issue, as it only happens with apps built-in to the TV.

Has anyone else experienced this or similar?
Are you actually saying that streaming (network) content has issues but non-networked content has no issues? So, maybe start with network cables, modem, etc.
CoffeeHawk is offline  
post #11812 of 35867 Old 10-30-2017, 05:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Question Measurement request for 55B7A

Would anyone with a 55B7A be willing to measure from the bottom VESA mounting screw to the bottom of the TV, and then approximate bottom bezel height and post here? Also where is the IR sensor on this set? (If you can't tell I'm trying to figure out if my Center Channel speaker will fit underneath)
magnafides is offline  
post #11813 of 35867 Old 10-30-2017, 05:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grantos27 View Post
I am looking for any help or possible solutions to my home theatre audio issue.

Equipment being used:
- 2017 LG 65" OLED C7
- Denon AVR-1400H (via 18 mbs HDMI)
- Panasonic DMP-UB900 4k Blu-Ray
- PS4
- 5.1.2 Atmos speaker setup

When watching any high definition Netflix content (Atmos/Dolby vision, UHD 4K and even 5.1) and using the installed Dolby app pre-installed on the TV for Atmos and Vison sample content, the audio randomly mutes for 1-2 seconds. This could happen 10 or 5 times a minute. Ultimately makes it unwatchable and very frustrated when having such a high end theatre set up.

This error doesnt happen with free to air TV, content from USB, gaming consoles or the 4K Blu-Ray.

I have contacted LG for support as I feel it is a TV issue rather than receiver or hardware issue, as it only happens with apps built-in to the TV.

Has anyone else experienced this or similar?
I just got my set and i've noticed the same thing. Audio cuts out randomly when watching youtube videos or plex through the built in apps. I'm using HDMI(ARC) to a sony soundbase. Audio from a raspberry pi running kodi connected straight to the soundbase is fine.
mikeferr is offline  
post #11814 of 35867 Old 10-30-2017, 06:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
MitchPope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grantos27 View Post
I am looking for any help or possible solutions to my home theatre audio issue.

Equipment being used:
- 2017 LG 65" OLED C7
- Denon AVR-1400H (via 18 mbs HDMI)
- Panasonic DMP-UB900 4k Blu-Ray
- PS4
- 5.1.2 Atmos speaker setup

When watching any high definition Netflix content (Atmos/Dolby vision, UHD 4K and even 5.1) and using the installed Dolby app pre-installed on the TV for Atmos and Vison sample content, the audio randomly mutes for 1-2 seconds. This could happen 10 or 5 times a minute. Ultimately makes it unwatchable and very frustrated when having such a high end theatre set up.

This error doesnt happen with free to air TV, content from USB, gaming consoles or the 4K Blu-Ray.

I have contacted LG for support as I feel it is a TV issue rather than receiver or hardware issue, as it only happens with apps built-in to the TV.

Has anyone else experienced this or similar?
I noticed the same thing yesterday, but I don't recall what I was watching. The audio only cut out a couple of times, but I will pay attention now to see if there is a pattern.

MitchPope is offline  
post #11815 of 35867 Old 10-30-2017, 06:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
MitchPope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adonisds View Post
When use my B7 on the PC (latest Windows 10) I noticed that the TV doesn't display some columns of pixels on the right side of the screen, the image gets cut. The left, top and bottom sides are all ok. Does anyone know how to fix?
It's probably pixel shift in action to prevent burn in/image retention. Try turning it off (check the manual) to see if it goes back to an even image on each side.

MitchPope is offline  
post #11816 of 35867 Old 10-30-2017, 06:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 742 Post(s)
Liked: 556
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grantos27 View Post
I am looking for any help or possible solutions to my home theatre audio issue.

Equipment being used:
- 2017 LG 65" OLED C7
- Denon AVR-1400H (via 18 mbs HDMI)
- Panasonic DMP-UB900 4k Blu-Ray
- PS4
- 5.1.2 Atmos speaker setup

When watching any high definition Netflix content (Atmos/Dolby vision, UHD 4K and even 5.1) and using the installed Dolby app pre-installed on the TV for Atmos and Vison sample content, the audio randomly mutes for 1-2 seconds. This could happen 10 or 5 times a minute. Ultimately makes it unwatchable and very frustrated when having such a high end theatre set up.

This error doesnt happen with free to air TV, content from USB, gaming consoles or the 4K Blu-Ray.

I have contacted LG for support as I feel it is a TV issue rather than receiver or hardware issue, as it only happens with apps built-in to the TV.

Has anyone else experienced this or similar?
I do have dropouts in sound when using the TVs Dolby app to play the samples. I have also found that when I play movies with Dolby Atmos soundtracks from a hard drive connected to the TV the Atmos soundtrack will not play. When I contacted LG about the first issue they suggested my set up could be to blame and with regard to the second point they said they would hope to give better support for more file types in the future.
alexbarbel is offline  
post #11817 of 35867 Old 10-30-2017, 06:24 AM
Member
 
Terribleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got my 65B7A over the weekend, I got an October build panel and have been very happy with uniformity. I am still getting through the calibration stage, but so far so good
Terribleone is offline  
post #11818 of 35867 Old 10-30-2017, 06:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
LG OLED 65” C7 Calibration ( OLED65C7P ) [ however from several things I’ve read, these should work well with any “X”7 model ]
FW: 04.70.07
...
First of all, THANK YOU SO MUCH! I was a big fan of your calibration settings back in the Vizio-M forums.

I just wanted to note that you have the suggested setting for OLED Light to be 100 in both HDR-10 and DV. The setting defaults to 100 in HDR-10, but 50 in DV. I wasn't sure if the intent is to raise it from the default setting in DV?

Also, do the HDR-10 CMS settings also apply to DV? Are they on the same CMS? Or have you just not gotten around to doing a DV calibration yet?
tocirahl is offline  
post #11819 of 35867 Old 10-30-2017, 08:35 AM
Member
 
PedroBlanco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY 11218
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by janice805 View Post
Ok found everything and did as you said. But the problem persists. When I switch from DirecTV to the fire stick or the Roku then I have no sound. I have to turn the TV off and on again to get sound on each device.
Janice805, I think I'm seeing the same thing since the latest firmware update. Switching from my cable box input to my Roku input and back to my Cable box input always results in no sound. My Roku input doesn't seem to be afflicted at all. The only way I've been able to get sound back for my cable tv input is to play the sound test. Have you found a fix yet? I'm going to contact LG later today, but I don't have hight hopes. I'd really like to downgrade the firmware, but that seems like a major undertaking.
PedroBlanco is offline  
post #11820 of 35867 Old 10-30-2017, 09:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,363
Mentioned: 228 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2687 Post(s)
Liked: 2449
Quote:
Originally Posted by tocirahl View Post
First of all, THANK YOU SO MUCH! I was a big fan of your calibration settings back in the Vizio-M forums.

I just wanted to note that you have the suggested setting for OLED Light to be 100 in both HDR-10 and DV. The setting defaults to 100 in HDR-10, but 50 in DV. I wasn't sure if the intent is to raise it from the default setting in DV?

Also, do the HDR-10 CMS settings also apply to DV? Are they on the same CMS? Or have you just not gotten around to doing a DV calibration yet?
Thank you.

I haven't messed with DV yet, so the OLED light setting for DV should stay at default. I will update the post so there's no confusion about that.

At this point I have been advised that ISF is still working on a new workflow specific to the 2017 LG OLED's ( it is a very different process vs. the 2016's. ) and to stay away from trying to calibrate DV at this point. Leave the DV CMS untouched.

Stay tuned. I'll have more info after Wednesday this week.
OddyOh and tocirahl like this.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off