2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 572 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980425Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17131 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 05:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: chicago, IL USA
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by noobtv View Post
Are there 1080p OLEDs? I thought all the panels available were exactly the same, even across different brands.
Old ones are 1080p. Maybe like 2014 or 2013
mikek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17132 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 05:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 1
is there a solution for the wifi problem? My TV will work fine for a while and gets wifi at the top speed I have available. But then it will essentially drop to zero or almost zero. disconnecting and re-connecting the wifi seems to temporarily fix the problem but having to enter my wifi password with this stupid remote is a total PITA.
raksiam is offline  
post #17133 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
DaveC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Herndon, VA
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psyact View Post
There's a new firmware on the US LG site (04.70.36) that was posted yesterday (the 12th).

The only fix is listed as:

1) To improve OLED model Dolby no audio issue when switching HDMI input

http://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-OLED65C7P
Psyact or any LG 65 C7P owner: I have a few questions regarding updating the firmware via USB.

I've downloaded the file for the OLED65C7P and is this the unzipped file name?

starfish-atsc-secured-m16p-571.drto.m16p-5711401-04.70.36-prodkey_usb_V3_SECURED.epk

I've place this file on a USB thumb drive formatted for FAT32 and in a sub directory of LG_DTV

Once I plug in the thumb drive to USB Port, does the LG identifies the drive/folder/file as an update to the firmware?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Dave

LG OLED65C7P, Marantz AV8802A, ATI AT527NC, OPPO UDP-203, Apple TV 4K, Sony C333ES SACD/CD Changer, Thorens TD-190, FIOS TV DVR, URC MX-990

Speakers: FL&FR: M&K S-150THX, C: B&W HTM1, SL&SR: Definitive Tech BPX, SBL&SBR: Definitive Tech BPVX, SW: SVS PC-13, TML&TMR: SVS Prime Elevation
DaveC56 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17134 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 06:15 PM
Member
 
glader60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveC56 View Post
Psyact or any LG 65 C7P owner: I have a few questions regarding updating the firmware via USB.

I've downloaded the file for the OLED65C7P and is this the unzipped file name?

starfish-atsc-secured-m16p-571.drto.m16p-5711401-04.70.36-prodkey_usb_V3_SECURED.epk

I've place this file on a USB thumb drive formatted for FAT32 and in a sub directory of LG_DTV

Once I plug in the thumb drive to USB Port, does the LG identifies the drive/folder/file as an update to the firmware?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Dave
Follow the guide that was at the same place as the files you downloaded TV_Software_Update_Guide_v3.pdf
glader60 is offline  
post #17135 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 06:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dwaleke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,717
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1458 Post(s)
Liked: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveC56 View Post
Once I plug in the thumb drive to USB Port, does the LG identifies the drive/folder/file as an update to the firmware?
Yes. You'll be prompted to install the update.
dwaleke is online now  
post #17136 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 06:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: chicago, IL USA
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by noobtv View Post
Would those mkvs show the subtitles on the LG if you converted the pgs subtitles to srt and put the file in the same folder?

Or would it ignore the srt because the pgs are embedded?
This TV doesn't recognize embedded pgs subtitles does it?

It seems like a firmware update could add that feature.
mikek is offline  
post #17137 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Bklynblaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Went to my local Best Buy today and checked out the B7A. I was blown away by the picture quality. Incredible blacks and contrast. I compared it to the Sony A1E which was equally impressive but doesn’t warrant the extra $ imo. The Sony X930E had s beautiful picture but comparing it to the B7A like I was (going back and forth for 30 min’s..lol) you can tell it was just lacking that extra punch. I guess it was the blacks and contrast of the OLED that made the little difference. The Sony was brighter but I just felt like the colors and contrast of the OLED make up for it. Another words..it seemed bright enough.

I was set on the X930E but I think after reading about Oled on this thread and doing research as well as comparing side by side I may join the Oled club next month when I’m ready to purchase. I’ve learned a lot on these boards.
Bklynblaze is online now  
post #17138 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 06:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
noobtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikek View Post
This TV doesn't recognize embedded pgs subtitles does it?

It seems like a firmware update could add that feature.
I was replying to theXshape's post before:

Quote:
Originally Posted by theXshape View Post
Also, I have several 2160p HDR mkv files with pgs subtitles embeded. I asked LG if they ever planned to support more subtitles format and they said no. So there's that.
If they are adding that support, it wouldn't be the first time that LG support didn't know about their own products...
noobtv is online now  
post #17139 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 06:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Angry LG B7 OLED HDR signal loss issues.

Just setup my B7 about 2 weeks ago and I LOVE it! however the only issue I have is sort of a big one for me.
I keep getting a signal loss when using the HDMI Ultra HD Deep Color is turned on on both My PS4 Pro and on PC PC.
I have to either disable and re-enable it to get signal back or unplug the HDMI cable and reinsert it.

My PC is more then powerful enough to push the signal 2 980ti's SLI 1500 Watt PSU and i7 7700k Cpu 32 Gb Ram
I had tried ALL the HDMI ports with same results
I have replaced the HDMi cables with Atevon High Speed HDMI 2.0 Cable 18Gbps [Supports 4K HDR, 3D, 2160P, 1080P, Ethernet] - 28AWG Braided HDMI Cords with same results.
TV is on Firmware 4.70.36
I have tried turing off Ultra Deep Color and then the TV works fine. But this is not a acceptable solution as I paid a lot of money and I like HDR mode.

Please offer me advice.
Joshua Allen Welch is offline  
post #17140 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 06:45 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,558
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6674 Post(s)
Liked: 6670
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikek View Post
Old ones are 1080p. Maybe like 2014 or 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by noobtv View Post
Are there 1080p OLEDs? I thought all the panels available were exactly the same, even across different brands.
LG first version of OLED was 1080P, the 55EC9300. It came out in 2014 or 2015, can not remember. It was $9999 at release....The next year the 55EG9100 was released, these where the only 2 OLED's released in 1080P.
Ph8te, Theheadsn and noobtv like this.

Last edited by Cleveland Plasma; 12-13-2017 at 08:18 PM.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #17141 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 06:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,444
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3053 Post(s)
Liked: 3738
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
2.4 and BT.1886 are both ideal for really dark rooms. 2.2 is a good setting for my room lighting conditions except at night, but I'm still getting inky blacks with 2.2 with all the lights turned out.
Oh yeah I got what their preferred uses were, just want to know your reasoning, I guess I use mine at 2.4 because I watch in a dimly lit environment.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #17142 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 06:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshua Allen Welch View Post
I keep getting a signal loss when using the HDMI Ultra HD Deep Color is turned on on both My PS4 Pro and on PC PC.
Sure sounds like a cable problem to me, but those cables look like they should be decent. I've never had my PS4 Pro drop its signal. Are the PS4 and PC connected directly to the TV, or is there a receiver involved?
tppytel is offline  
post #17143 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
 
dave1812dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmazeffa View Post
yes, flat (I was working on some 3D graphics stuff in my job and my mind could only produce the world 'planar'. Hah....)

BTW not sure if the other poster above was asking about LED lights due to my sample images, but anyways, our LED lights are there strictly due to boost the room's aesthetics when we are NOT watching TV. (however, it has also turned out that those LED light strips are bright enough to light the room alongside our floor-standing lamps, where we don't need to turn on our in-ceiling LED floods at all..) We love the LED lights in the cabinetry, as our contractor guaranteed we would, and the photos do not convey the ambiance and 'elite' feeling of the room. I highly recommend....
ah, yes it looks cool w/o having the TV on, that's for sure. I was just thinking that for OLED, watching it in total darkness is a unique and sometimes awesome experience. Hence my confusion about having the lights for an OLED as opposed for an LCD TV. Nice!

LG OLED55B7 -LG OLED65C8 - Marantz NR1608
dave1812dave is offline  
post #17144 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 06:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
noobtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bklynblaze View Post
Went to my local Best Buy today and checked out the B7A. I was blown away by the picture quality. Incredible blacks and contrast. I compared it to the Sony A1E which was equally impressive but doesn’t warrant the extra $ imo. The Sony X930E had s beautiful picture but comparing it to the B7A like I was (going back and forth for 30 min’s..lol) you can tell it was just lacking that extra punch. I guess it was the blacks and contrast of the OLED that made the little difference. The Sony was brighter but I just felt like the colors and contrast of the OLED make up for it. Another words..it seemed bright enough.

I was set on the X930E but I think after reading about Oled on this thread and doing research as well as comparing side by side I may join the Oled club next month when I’m ready to purchase. I’ve learned a lot on these boards.
Honestly I don't know what people are worried about with the brightness of OLED. The nits numbers are just d**k measuring IMO.

We were watching our C7 last night, and both getting eyestrain because OLED Light was still set on 60 from the daytime. It just kind of sneaks up on you, eventually you realize your eyes are hurting. The gf and I were both the same.

I had to turn it way down ~30 to watch comfortably.

I don't want a billion nits on my TV, and wouldn't sacrifice black blacks and viewing angle for any increase in brightness. I just cannot complain about the picture quality on this TV, and believe me, I am not the kind of person to accept crap.
PlanetAVS, Theheadsn and Datagg like this.
noobtv is online now  
post #17145 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 06:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,444
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3053 Post(s)
Liked: 3738
^^^agreed...nits nits nits, how about great contrast and color!
skip61, Datagg and alexbarbel like this.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #17146 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 06:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Bklynblaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by noobtv View Post
Honestly I don't know what people are worried about with the brightness of OLED. The nits numbers are just d**k measuring IMO.

We were watching our C7 last night, and both getting eyestrain because OLED Light was still set on 60 from the daytime. It just kind of sneaks up on you, eventually you realize your eyes are hurting. The gf and I were both the same.

I had to turn it way down ~30 to watch comfortably.

I don't want a billion nits on my TV, and wouldn't sacrifice black blacks and viewing angle for any increase in brightness. I just cannot complain about the picture quality on this TV, and believe me, I am not the kind of person to accept crap.
I agree with you. However, in comparison videos the Sony X930E will always look better because of the brightness but you can’t capture the better color and contrast of the Oled. You really have to see them side by side in person. Videos online are deceiving and don’t do OLED justice.
noobtv likes this.
Bklynblaze is online now  
post #17147 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 07:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: The Big Tomato
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by AceNaj View Post
It is a new HDR standard and not just a certification, watch the video.
I did.

LG OLED 65C7P <- Oppo UDP-203 -> Denon AVR-X4300H; Dish Hopper; Apple TV 4K; Paradigm speakers
GordonBlu is offline  
post #17148 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 07:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
decibels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 941
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 535 Post(s)
Liked: 426
Wow!!!

I installed th 65C7 this afternoon and have not changed any cables or setup the ATV 4K yet and the picture is stunning right out of the box watching Netflix from my Oppo 103, which is not even 4K.

Wanted to post this out to anyone that is on the fence with this TV. I upgraded from a Samsung F8500 plasma and this is so much better and even played a hockey game from my ATV (non 4K) and it looks great, no motion issues!!

Excited to get it properly setup and calibrated!!

Preet
My humble yet growing like weeds SACD collection
HT: Anthem AVM60, Anthem MCA 50, Anthem PVA 7, Oppo BDP-103, Sony HAP-Z1ES, PS3, Graham Slee ULDE, Graham Slee ERA Gold V, Pioneer PL 518 turntable
SP: Paradigm Studio 100's, CC 690, Studio 20's SR, Studio 20's Atmos, SVS SB16 Ultra
decibels is offline  
post #17149 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 07:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Does anyone use the HDR setting for SDR content or what do most people use?

With HDR, why does the picture change if I change sources or turn the tv off. I find Ive got my best settings in this mode but once i go to bed the picture changes. I readjust the settings then change sources and it changes again. Would like some settings I can set and leave.
mark_42 is offline  
post #17150 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 07:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
noobtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
LG first version of OLED was 1080P, the 55EC9300. That was the only model in 1080P. It came out in 2014 or 2015, can not remember. It was $9999 at release....
Wow, new tech really comes at a cost premium. Wonder how much it's worth now... That's only three years ago!!
noobtv is online now  
post #17151 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 07:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,325
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6526 Post(s)
Liked: 6240
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_42 View Post
Does anyone use the HDR setting for SDR content or what do most people use?

With HDR, why does the picture change if I change sources or turn the tv off. I find Ive got my best settings in this mode but once i go to bed the picture changes. I readjust the settings then change sources and it changes again. Would like some settings I can set and leave.


Did you select “apply to all inputs”? I’m not sure anyone uses the HDR Effect mode for everything. It’s eye popping sure, but IMO doesn’t look accurate. You’ll find recommended settings posted numerous times in this thread.
Ph8te is online now  
post #17152 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 07:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
noobtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_42 View Post
Does anyone use the HDR setting for SDR content or what do most people use?

With HDR, why does the picture change if I change sources or turn the tv off. I find Ive got my best settings in this mode but once i go to bed the picture changes. I readjust the settings then change sources and it changes again. Would like some settings I can set and leave.
The TV will auto-switch to HDR mode if there's an HDR signal coming in. So it's an entirely separate picture setting if there's SDR coming in.

Each input can be in a different picture mode if you like as well. So you can have, eg HDMI1 in Technicolor and HDMI2 in Cinema mode.

There's also "save settings to all inputs" in settings.

You shouldn't have to change settings all the time, only once for each input.
noobtv is online now  
post #17153 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 07:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
noobtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bklynblaze View Post
I agree with you. However, in comparison videos the Sony X930E will always look better because of the brightness but you can’t capture the better color and contrast of the Oled. You really have to see them side by side in person. Videos online are deceiving and don’t do OLED justice.
That's a limitation of watching comparison videos though. You won't be able to see the inky blacks and contrast watching at home on your LCD.

I guess it's up to the person doing the comparison to say which one looks better to them in person.

When I saw the Sony (and others) LCDs in the store playing HDR demo videos - probably in Vivid mode - my eyes were hurting immediately and I knew for sure that the nits values were pointless as I would never set my TV to look like that at home.
noobtv is online now  
post #17154 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: MD
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChicagoChris View Post
Anyone try the new firmware on LG site? 4.70.36


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Just installed it. And it fixed what they said I don't notice anything else

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
evilmonstertruk is offline  
post #17155 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Z06_Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
no 60fps on HDMI 2 and 3 on C7P?

hi folks,

i was pulling my hair out trying to figure out why when I plugged my Roku 4k/60p HDR streaming device into HDMI 2 or 3, I could not get HDR content from Netflix. Only when I plug it into HDMI 1 do I get HDR material.

I talked with LG and they said that only HDMI 1 can do 60fps. HDMI 2/3 are limited to 30fps.

I'm just wondering if anyone knows why that would be and is that typical with HDR-capable TV's?

thanks very much.

Jeff
Z06_Pilot is offline  
post #17156 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 08:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,526
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 930 Post(s)
Liked: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z06_Pilot View Post
hi folks,

i was pulling my hair out trying to figure out why when I plugged my Roku 4k/60p HDR streaming device into HDMI 2 or 3, I could not get HDR content from Netflix. Only when I plug it into HDMI 1 do I get HDR material.

I talked with LG and they said that only HDMI 1 can do 60fps. HDMI 2/3 are limited to 30fps.

I'm just wondering if anyone knows why that would be and is that typical with HDR-capable TV's?

thanks very much.

Jeff
Not the first time LG support made up a nonsense answer. Did you make sure to set HDMI ULTRA HD Deep Color to on for each of the HDMI ports you tried to use? The setting is independent for each of the HDMI ports and you must turn it on separately for each one.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #17157 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 08:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by noobtv View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_42 View Post
Does anyone use the HDR setting for SDR content or what do most people use?

With HDR, why does the picture change if I change sources or turn the tv off. I find Ive got my best settings in this mode but once i go to bed the picture changes. I readjust the settings then change sources and it changes again. Would like some settings I can set and leave.
The TV will auto-switch to HDR mode if there's an HDR signal coming in. So it's an entirely separate picture setting if there's SDR coming in.

Each input can be in a different picture mode if you like as well. So you can have, eg HDMI1 in Technicolor and HDMI2 in Cinema mode.

There's also "save settings to all inputs" in settings.

You shouldn't have to change settings all the time, only once for each input.
Yes I agree with you. I want to use the HDR effect setting for my satellite and for example have my game in technicolor mode. After I game and switch back to the satellite, the picture is all off, not where I left it. Then after the tv gets turned off for a few hours, say overnight, it will be back to normal in the morning. If I adjust the settings for when I watch it after, then it will be overblown in the morning. How can I get the setting HDR effect to stay the same.

I find technicolor almost washed out with faces being too pale or colors being too bright. And that is with the BT 1886 gamma. Just trying to find good settings so I can set it and leave it.
mark_42 is offline  
post #17158 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 08:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
noobtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z06_Pilot View Post
hi folks,

i was pulling my hair out trying to figure out why when I plugged my Roku 4k/60p HDR streaming device into HDMI 2 or 3, I could not get HDR content from Netflix. Only when I plug it into HDMI 1 do I get HDR material.

I talked with LG and they said that only HDMI 1 can do 60fps. HDMI 2/3 are limited to 30fps.

I'm just wondering if anyone knows why that would be and is that typical with HDR-capable TV's?

thanks very much.

Jeff
AFAIK all ports have the same support except HDMI2 which is the only one that does ARC.

That is not typical in my experience because most TVs seem to have at least some limited ports, so the LG is better!

I think that Deep Color setting is what you're looking for. LG support - just like all electronics companies it seems - have no idea.
noobtv is online now  
post #17159 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 08:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
noobtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_42 View Post
Yes I agree with you. I want to use the HDR effect setting for my satellite and for example have my game in technicolor mode. After I game and switch back to the satellite, the picture is all off, not where I left it. Then after the tv gets turned off for a few hours, say overnight, it will be back to normal in the morning. If I adjust the settings for when I watch it after, then it will be overblown in the morning. How can I get the setting HDR effect to stay the same.

I find technicolor almost washed out with faces being too pale or colors being too bright. And that is with the BT 1886 gamma. Just trying to find good settings so I can set it and leave it.
Just to clarify, do you have the satellite and the game into different HDMI ports?

Not both through an AVR that then goes into only a single HDMI port on the LG?

I personally hate HDR Effect so haven't tested it but I would presume that it should work just like the other settings, and remember what you set it as. It's not normal if it doesn't remember.

If it makes any difference, I use ISF Expert (Dark Room) mode at gamma 2.2 for SDR, I find the darks too crushed at BT1886. I mostly use sonoftumble's settings.

edit: actually, you don't have auto power saving or eye strain settings enabled, do you? Auto power saving would probably do something like this if the room changed light levels.
noobtv is online now  
post #17160 of 36406 Old 12-13-2017, 09:04 PM
Member
 
hailjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshua Allen Welch View Post
I keep getting a signal loss when using the HDMI Ultra HD Deep Color is turned on on both My PS4 Pro and on PC PC.
I have to either disable and re-enable it to get signal back or unplug the HDMI cable and reinsert it.


.
I have to do the same but with the LG UP970 uhd player when I switch to it. Have to slightly remove and insert the HDMI again for the picture to show up. Kind of annoying.

Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk
hailjack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off