2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 574 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980486Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17191 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 12:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveC56 View Post
I'm having trouble updating the LG OLED65C7P firmware via USB thumb drive (as I tried to follow the steps in the pdf file) -- it's probably something simple that I am overlooking. These are the steps I followed:

1. Formatted a 16GB USB drive to FAT32

2. Created a LG_DTV Folder in root directory of Thumb Drive

3. Copied unzipped file: starfish-atsc-secured-m16p-571.drto.m16p-5711401-04.70.36-prodkey_usb_V3_SECURED.epk to the LG_DTV Folder

4. Plugged USB into the side USB 1 Port on OLED65C7P TV

5. When I turned on the LG TV nothing happens -- I even reformatted the Thumb Drive to NTFS and the same results occurred

Any suggestions would be greatly helpful --- thanks.

Dave
From your description it sounds as though you are plugging in the USB drive when the tv is off and then turning it on. Both times I have updated via USB I have just plugged it in with the tv already on and it goes right into the update process. I would try that if you haven't already.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
doshortell is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17192 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 12:08 PM
Senior Member
 
maveric23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveC56 View Post
I'm having trouble updating the LG OLED65C7P firmware via USB thumb drive (as I tried to follow the steps in the pdf file) -- it's probably something simple that I am overlooking. These are the steps I followed:

1. Formatted a 16GB USB drive to FAT32

2. Created a LG_DTV Folder in root directory of Thumb Drive

3. Copied unzipped file: starfish-atsc-secured-m16p-571.drto.m16p-5711401-04.70.36-prodkey_usb_V3_SECURED.epk to the LG_DTV Folder

4. Plugged USB into the side USB 1 Port on OLED65C7P TV

5. When I turned on the LG TV nothing happens -- I even reformatted the Thumb Drive to NTFS and the same results occurred

Any suggestions would be greatly helpful --- thanks.

Dave
I'd try another USB port.

============================
Grouchy Golf
maveric23 is offline  
post #17193 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 12:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveC56 View Post
I'm having trouble updating the LG OLED65C7P firmware via USB thumb drive (as I tried to follow the steps in the pdf file) -- it's probably something simple that I am overlooking. These are the steps I followed:

1. Formatted a 16GB USB drive to FAT32

2. Created a LG_DTV Folder in root directory of Thumb Drive

3. Copied unzipped file: starfish-atsc-secured-m16p-571.drto.m16p-5711401-04.70.36-prodkey_usb_V3_SECURED.epk to the LG_DTV Folder

4. Plugged USB into the side USB 1 Port on OLED65C7P TV

5. When I turned on the LG TV nothing happens -- I even reformatted the Thumb Drive to NTFS and the same results occurred

Any suggestions would be greatly helpful --- thanks.

Dave
I ran into the same issue when I tried to run the update and LG was no help. I figured it out and it's likely the same for you. When you unzip the file, it creates the file you need in another subfolder. Move that file into the main LG_DTV folder, then plug it into the tv and that should work. Let me know if it does.
mark_42 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17194 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 12:52 PM
JVW
Member
 
JVW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Tried to load firmware update 4.70.36 via USB using same folder as prior successful updates, but the C7 does not respond. Any suggestions?
JVW is offline  
post #17195 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 12:53 PM
Senior Member
 
bigzee3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by dovidio8155 View Post
What do you guys set OLED light to when changing the gamma on SDR Technicolor to 2.2 or do you leave as is?
I don't use 2.2 for Technicolor but with BT1886 I use OLED 48. I'm using this mode for everything except UHD. So without trying 2.2 Id say I would probably go with OLED 40.
bigzee3 is offline  
post #17196 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 12:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 2
OLED C7P Question

Before using this TV is there a protection film that needs to be peeled off the front and back?. I only peeled the one on the back is there one on the front as well?.
Ducky908 is offline  
post #17197 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 01:03 PM
JVW
Member
 
JVW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by doshortell View Post
From your description it sounds as though you are plugging in the USB drive when the tv is off and then turning it on. Both times I have updated via USB I have just plugged it in with the tv already on and it goes right into the update process. I would try that if you haven't already.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Nope, plugging in USB with TV on produces msg: "After removing, please reconnect the USB device"
JVW is offline  
post #17198 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 01:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
billdag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by JVW View Post
Tried to load firmware update 4.70.36 via USB using same folder as prior successful updates, but the C7 does not respond. Any suggestions?
My brand new 65C7 (just got it yesterday - upgraded from 55B6) did not find an update via the internet. I downloaded the new firmware on a USB and plugged it into the LG. It was not recognized. I noted it was exFAT formatted so I did it again but with NTFS and it went smoothly after that. Make sure you install the firmware into a "LG_DTV" folder.
billdag is offline  
post #17199 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 01:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Anybody have this TV that can help with my question?.
Ducky908 is offline  
post #17200 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 01:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
billdag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bklynblaze View Post
Well I’d say the Oled takes 2 outta 3. Only losing in the overall brightness. But like I said the Oled seemed bright enough. At least from what I saw from comparing in the store.
My question is - How much brightness is tolerable when watching the C7 in a fairly dark room? In some HDR scenes, it almost hurts my eyes when some highlights pop up, and I don't even have the OLED at maximum.
I was watching some YouTube fireworks in HDR last night and it literally took my breath away. With the jet black background, the brightness and saturation of the colors looked incredible.
billdag is offline  
post #17201 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 01:28 PM
JVW
Member
 
JVW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by billdag View Post
My brand new 65C7 (just got it yesterday - upgraded from 55B6) did not find an update via the internet. I downloaded the new firmware on a USB and plugged it into the LG. It was not recognized. I noted it was exFAT formatted so I did it again but with NTFS and it went smoothly after that. Make sure you install the firmware into a "LG_DTV" folder.
I am using a Mac and NFTS is not a formatting option. Have tried both mac formats without success.
JVW is offline  
post #17202 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 01:35 PM
Senior Member
 
maveric23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by JVW View Post
I am using a Mac and NFTS is not a formatting option. Have tried both mac formats without success.
You'll need to restart your Mac with a Windows OS to format NTFS.
evilmonstertruk likes this.

============================
Grouchy Golf
maveric23 is offline  
post #17203 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 02:12 PM
VBB
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,246
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1034 Post(s)
Liked: 884
Only on the back. There is nothing on the front.

Henry

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-C3 | Denon AVR-X3500H | Elac Uni-Fi | Elac Debut 2.0 SUB3030
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is online now  
post #17204 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 02:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
decibels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 537 Post(s)
Liked: 447
I am setting up my ATV 4K unit and unable to enable DV or switch to 4:2:2 colour? I upgraded my HDMI cables to Monoprice https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=15428 and I am getting a message that states "make sure any HDMI cables and devices you connect support Dolby Vision"

Any suggestions please and thank you
mconnolly likes this.

Preet
My humble yet growing like weeds SACD collection
HT: Anthem AVM60, Anthem MCA 50, Anthem PVA 7, Oppo BDP-103, Sony HAP-Z1ES, PS3, Graham Slee ULDE, Graham Slee ERA Gold V, Pioneer PL 518 turntable
SP: Paradigm Studio 100's, CC 690, Studio 20's SR, Studio 20's Atmos, SVS SB16 Ultra
decibels is offline  
post #17205 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 02:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Thank you.
Ducky908 is offline  
post #17206 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 02:24 PM
Member
 
Kris404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by billdag View Post
My brand new 65C7 (just got it yesterday - upgraded from 55B6) did not find an update via the internet. I downloaded the new firmware on a USB and plugged it into the LG. It was not recognized. I noted it was exFAT formatted so I did it again but with NTFS and it went smoothly after that. Make sure you install the firmware into a "LG_DTV" folder.
Just use FAT in Disk Utility which formats it as FAT32
bbbobbb likes this.
Kris404 is offline  
post #17207 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 02:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by JVW View Post
I am using a Mac and NFTS is not a formatting option. Have tried both mac formats without success.
If you don't have access to a Window machine and really need NTFS (I don't know about this for the OLED firmware), there are a few apps that can do it (formatting and read/write). Check out:

Fuse
NTFS For Mac
Tuxera

There may be others.
codyrocco likes this.
Nigel_Tufnel is offline  
post #17208 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 02:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_42 View Post
So is Eco Mode and Power Saving mode two different options?

I understand Game mode to be darker. I actually use ISF Bright and custom settings for my PS4 anyways. I game with a darker screen and have for years in a way to avoid IR.

The question is, why when I use HDR Mode for my settings (which has giving me my most acceptable settings) change when I switch inputs for a period of time and then go back to my satellite. Again, there is the initial setting of it, which I get looking good, go to bed at night, get up in the morning and it looks different. I change it so it looks good again. All fine. Then when I play one game for 30 min and go back to the satellite, it has changed how it looks again and reverted back to the original look. Now I know I can change it again, but once it is left off for a few hours it will change back to before I played the game and I will have to adjust it again.
So, anyone have any comments as to why this might be happening. Are the eco settings and power saving setting the same thing or are there two different options.

Also, what input do most people use for satellite. I have mine into HDMI 1 but wonder if one of the HDMI inputs is better then the other for this source.
mark_42 is offline  
post #17209 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 02:58 PM
Senior Member
 
DaveC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Herndon, VA
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_42 View Post
I ran into the same issue when I tried to run the update and LG was no help. I figured it out and it's likely the same for you. When you unzip the file, it creates the file you need in another subfolder. Move that file into the main LG_DTV folder, then plug it into the tv and that should work. Let me know if it does.
Thanks for your suggestions -- nothing is working so far. I created a folder LG_DTV in the root directory of the thumb drive and the *.epk firmware file is copied to this directory.

I've tried a couple of 16GB Thumb Drives and formatted either FAT32 & NTFS. I am using the USB port on the left side of the LG C7P (haven't tried the rear as its a little harder to reach). When I insert the USB Drive and the TV is on, sometimes nothing happens (although the drive seems to be read (blinking light on the thumb drive) and sometimes the USB drive upon inserting into the TV, the screen shows Photos or Music Options.

My only possible issue is the the thumb drive (formatted on a Mac) has a GUID rather than MBR, even thought its formatted FAT32 or NTFS.

Any other suggestions are surely welcome.

Thanks ... Dave

LG OLED65C7P, Marantz AV8802A, ATI AT527NC, OPPO UDP-203, Apple TV 4K, Sony C333ES SACD/CD Changer, Thorens TD-190, FIOS TV DVR, URC MX-990

Speakers: FL&FR: M&K S-150THX, C: B&W HTM1, SL&SR: Definitive Tech BPX, SBL&SBR: Definitive Tech BPVX, SW: SVS PC-13, TML&TMR: SVS Prime Elevation

Last edited by DaveC56; 12-14-2017 at 03:02 PM.
DaveC56 is offline  
post #17210 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 03:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
decibels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 537 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveC56 View Post
Thanks for your suggestions -- nothing is working so far. I've tried a couple of 16GB Thumb Drives and formatted either FAT32 & NTFS. I am using the USB port on the left side of the LG C7P (haven't tried the rear as its a little harder to reach). When I insert the USB Drive and the TV is on, sometimes nothing happens (although the drive seems to be read (blinking light on the thumb drive) and sometimes the USB drive upon inserting into the TV, the screen shows Photos or Music Options.

My only possible issue is the the thumb drive (formatted on a Mac) has a GUID rather than MBR, even thought its formatted FAT32 or NTFS.

Any other suggestions are surely welcome.

Thanks ... Dave
I updated my LG this afternoon and used a Lexar USB drive that is formatted as MS-DOS Fat32 and I made sure that there was NOTHING else on it other than the folder name LG_DTV and the extracted file named "starfish-atsc-secured-m16p-571.drto.m16p-57113-04.70.30-prodkey_usb_V3_SECURED.epk" it all worked flawlessly with the TV already on and plugging into the left side.

Preet
My humble yet growing like weeds SACD collection
HT: Anthem AVM60, Anthem MCA 50, Anthem PVA 7, Oppo BDP-103, Sony HAP-Z1ES, PS3, Graham Slee ULDE, Graham Slee ERA Gold V, Pioneer PL 518 turntable
SP: Paradigm Studio 100's, CC 690, Studio 20's SR, Studio 20's Atmos, SVS SB16 Ultra
decibels is offline  
post #17211 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 03:27 PM
Senior Member
 
maveric23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveC56 View Post
Thanks for your suggestions -- nothing is working so far. I created a folder LG_DTV in the root directory of the thumb drive and the *.epk firmware file is copied to this directory.

I've tried a couple of 16GB Thumb Drives and formatted either FAT32 & NTFS. I am using the USB port on the left side of the LG C7P (haven't tried the rear as its a little harder to reach). When I insert the USB Drive and the TV is on, sometimes nothing happens (although the drive seems to be read (blinking light on the thumb drive) and sometimes the USB drive upon inserting into the TV, the screen shows Photos or Music Options.

My only possible issue is the the thumb drive (formatted on a Mac) has a GUID rather than MBR, even thought its formatted FAT32 or NTFS.

Any other suggestions are surely welcome.

Thanks ... Dave
Did you format the drive within a Windows OS? I suspect the Mac OS is causing incompatibility issues.

============================
Grouchy Golf
maveric23 is offline  
post #17212 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 03:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BPlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 427 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_42 View Post
So is Eco Mode and Power Saving mode two different options?

I understand Game mode to be darker. I actually use ISF Bright and custom settings for my PS4 anyways. I game with a darker screen and have for years in a way to avoid IR.

The question is, why when I use HDR Mode for my settings (which has giving me my most acceptable settings) change when I switch inputs for a period of time and then go back to my satellite. Again, there is the initial setting of it, which I get looking good, go to bed at night, get up in the morning and it looks different. I change it so it looks good again. All fine. Then when I play one game for 30 min and go back to the satellite, it has changed how it looks again and reverted back to the original look. Now I know I can change it again, but once it is left off for a few hours it will change back to before I played the game and I will have to adjust it again.
Power Saving Mode accessed from General allows an attached HDD to be turned of when it has not been used for a while
Energy saving accessed from Picture control the overall brightness which with an impact to energy consumption.

What specifically is changing, e.g., the Picture mode or some of the settings under the picture mode? I typically switch between four different sources and there is not change in settings other than the automatic change between SDR and HDR based on the input video stream.
BPlayer is offline  
post #17213 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
DaveC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Herndon, VA
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by maveric23 View Post
Did you format the drive within a Windows OS? I suspect the Mac OS is causing incompatibility issues.
No, although I have NTFS for Mac which formats the thumb drive for FAT32 or NTFS. However the boot partition is Apple GUID Table vice Master Book Record for Windows. I might pick up a cheap formatted thumb drive ready for Windows and go from there.

Thanks for your reply, Dave.

LG OLED65C7P, Marantz AV8802A, ATI AT527NC, OPPO UDP-203, Apple TV 4K, Sony C333ES SACD/CD Changer, Thorens TD-190, FIOS TV DVR, URC MX-990

Speakers: FL&FR: M&K S-150THX, C: B&W HTM1, SL&SR: Definitive Tech BPX, SBL&SBR: Definitive Tech BPVX, SW: SVS PC-13, TML&TMR: SVS Prime Elevation
DaveC56 is offline  
post #17214 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 03:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
decibels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 537 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveC56 View Post
No, although I have NTFS for Mac which formats the thumb drive for FAT32 or NTFS. However the boot partition is Apple GUID Table vice Master Book Record for Windows. I might pick up a cheap formatted thumb drive ready for Windows and go from there.

Thanks for your reply, Dave.
I also run a Mac and no problems with the FAT32 format, which is what you need to use.
bbbobbb likes this.

Preet
My humble yet growing like weeds SACD collection
HT: Anthem AVM60, Anthem MCA 50, Anthem PVA 7, Oppo BDP-103, Sony HAP-Z1ES, PS3, Graham Slee ULDE, Graham Slee ERA Gold V, Pioneer PL 518 turntable
SP: Paradigm Studio 100's, CC 690, Studio 20's SR, Studio 20's Atmos, SVS SB16 Ultra
decibels is offline  
post #17215 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
DaveC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Herndon, VA
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by maveric23 View Post
Did you format the drive within a Windows OS? I suspect the Mac OS is causing incompatibility issues.
Quote:
Originally Posted by decibels View Post
I also run a Mac and no problems with the FAT32 format, which is what you need to use.
OK, I'll give it another try --- been frustration so far, but the OLED 65 C7P is oh so good!

Dave

LG OLED65C7P, Marantz AV8802A, ATI AT527NC, OPPO UDP-203, Apple TV 4K, Sony C333ES SACD/CD Changer, Thorens TD-190, FIOS TV DVR, URC MX-990

Speakers: FL&FR: M&K S-150THX, C: B&W HTM1, SL&SR: Definitive Tech BPX, SBL&SBR: Definitive Tech BPVX, SW: SVS PC-13, TML&TMR: SVS Prime Elevation
DaveC56 is offline  
post #17216 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 04:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 48
So what is the latest available firmware, where do I get it from, and what is the consensus on whether it's worth updating or not? Are the issues some have reported like intermittent snow etc. still present? Any word on why LG pulled the update?

I would really like to see the Technicolor preset but I'm afraid of the potential reported issues, especially if you can't downgrade firmware once installed.

Also, when you update, do all your pic settings get blown away?
Nigel_Tufnel is offline  
post #17217 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 05:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveC56 View Post
My only possible issue is the the thumb drive (formatted on a Mac) has a GUID rather than MBR, even thought its formatted FAT32 or NTFS.
I would assume that this is the problem. I wouldn't expect any device other than a computer to read new-style partition records. There has to be a utility to create old-school MBR partitions with a Mac, but I never use Macs and can't help you there.
tppytel is offline  
post #17218 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 06:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
decibels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 537 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by decibels View Post
I am setting up my ATV 4K unit and unable to enable DV or switch to 4:2:2 colour? I upgraded my HDMI cables to Monoprice https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=15428 and I am getting a message that states "make sure any HDMI cables and devices you connect support Dolby Vision"

Any suggestions please and thank you
I ordered a couple of different cables to see if that will make a difference...

Anyone else have this issue or have any other suggestions?

Preet
My humble yet growing like weeds SACD collection
HT: Anthem AVM60, Anthem MCA 50, Anthem PVA 7, Oppo BDP-103, Sony HAP-Z1ES, PS3, Graham Slee ULDE, Graham Slee ERA Gold V, Pioneer PL 518 turntable
SP: Paradigm Studio 100's, CC 690, Studio 20's SR, Studio 20's Atmos, SVS SB16 Ultra
decibels is offline  
post #17219 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 06:15 PM
Senior Member
 
thatJohann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: NYC
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 62
RTINGS posted a YouTube video to discuss best settings for LG B7 and C7 and they mentioned at 8:28 that the Edge Enhancement setting is broken and should be set to ON for HDR content because ON really equals OFF on this broken setting.

Say whaaaaa? Did anyone know this? Gonna try it when I get home. I always set all that stuff to OFF. See video below:



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Culpepper likes this.
thatJohann is offline  
post #17220 of 36584 Old 12-14-2017, 06:34 PM
Senior Member
 
onaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Will gaming in a well lit room prevent eye strain?

lately i cant game too mucho because it give me a incredible headache.
onaga is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off