2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 632 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980423Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18931 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 04:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,614
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1425 Post(s)
Liked: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eclipse01 View Post
Wow, an august panel and I show disappointing banding
No it was assembled into a TV in August. No one knows when the panel was made (although no later than August obviously).

So far there has been no apparent pattern showing any month has been better or worse than any other month. They have been pretty consistent through the year (just not consistent in a good way that we would have liked).

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18932 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
onaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
You can raise 5 ire a few notches as well as bumping up brightness to 51 or 52.
thats the thing, some movies looks really good, but its seems that my panel glow just at 52.

the thing with gamma its i notice that the colors change really drastically between 2.2 and 2.4, specially skin tones
onaga is offline  
post #18933 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 04:46 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,318
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6523 Post(s)
Liked: 6237
Quote:
Originally Posted by onaga View Post
thats the thing, some movies looks really good, but its seems that my panel glow just at 52.



the thing with gamma its i notice that the colors change really drastically between 2.2 and 2.4, specially skin tones


You’re not supposed to see everything always. Some of it is intended to resolve slowly.
Ph8te is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18934 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 04:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,440
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3051 Post(s)
Liked: 3737
Yeah it takes some tinkering...try 51...i personally never use 2.2.
bigzee3 likes this.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #18935 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 05:03 PM
Senior Member
 
onaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 72
My reference SDR(1080) disks are the Star Wars movies (he Force Awakens and Rogue One) as they never have a HDR release. using a Oppo UDP-203 with this settings:

Oled Light:40
Brigness: 50
Sharpness: 10
Gamma: 2.4

and the movies looks absolute STUNNING, the details, the colors, the pop, loots of details in dark scenes too.

that a like abaout gamma 2.4 its it really resamble what you see in a proper Digital Cinema, as the colors tent to be really dark with loots contrast, with gamma 2.2 the colors are more birght and they lose that "cinema feel"
bigzee3 likes this.

Last edited by onaga; 01-05-2018 at 05:08 PM.
onaga is offline  
post #18936 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 05:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I just purchased the B7 after having an LG 1080P OLED for a couple of years. I used the settings from RTINGS.com and overall, I'm very happy with the picture quality, especially on 4K content.

However, non 4K content, particulary Spectrum cable, seems to look worse than it did on my 1080P OLED.

I understand that it's a high resolution screen with a much lower resolution image being displayed, but I would think that upscaling would help, the same way it did for standard def content on older HD sets.

Is there a particular setting that I should look for to help with the picture quality on non 4K content?


Some channels seem to have a lot of what I would describe as noise in the picture.

Thanks in advance for any advice.
jtcountry is offline  
post #18937 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 05:07 PM
Senior Member
 
JerryIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Not to turn this into a harmony thread, but I have been using them for years and they are great. My wife can control our system without any trouble. My parents had their system professionally set up and the installer used control 4 which was a serious pain. I finally moved him to a harmony elite and both he and my mother can work it perfectly. They love it. Now I just need to get him into an OLED.

LG 65C7p | Sony PS3 | Sony PS4 | Apple Ariport Express | Emotiva UMC-200 | Parasound HCA2003a | Parasound HCA1000a x 2 | Monster HTS3500 | AC Infinity Aircom T8 x 2 | NHT 1.5 | NHT VS2 | NHT Super Ones | SVS SB16 Ultra | Harmony Elite | Salamander Venice 237 | Sound Anchors Cone Coasters | Vibrapods
JerryIII is offline  
post #18938 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 05:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: The Big Tomato
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
There is no best universal remote and anyone that tries to sell you that idea is doing you a disservice and probably has limited experience. Lots of people like Harmony remotes but I detest them. They are however a useful source of some obscure commands such as the LG service menu. Some systems have RF requirements (PlayStation, LG Magic or ATV4/4K Siri) others are sufficiently dynamic that it is difficult for replacement remote companies to track them (e.g. tvOS 11 and Harmony).

Some people like touchscreens, some people like buttons, some people like "activity' remotes others find them restrictive, some people don't mind being dependent on a "cloud" service others think that's foolish, some people don't run Windows and find it annoying if a set up program is Windows only.

At least a simple Harmony is inexpensive enough that you can try one.
I agree with your basic premise, but I think you’re a bit out of date with the capabilities of Harmony remotes. In particular, any of the models that include the hub can talk IR, RF, and Bluetooth, and they can be programmed from a phone or tablet as easily as a computer. On the other hand, the hub models are expensive, and (to keep this from being completely off topic), they can’t duplicate the functionality of the LG’s magic pointer, or the ATV’s touch pad or Siri integration (although they DO work with Alexa). I find myself using my Harmony >95% of the time, but still keep my LG and Apple remotes close at hand. And as you say, one of the cheap models lets you see if the concept works for you without a major investment.
Eclipse01 likes this.

LG OLED 65C7P <- Oppo UDP-203 -> Denon AVR-X4300H; Dish Hopper; Apple TV 4K; Paradigm speakers
GordonBlu is offline  
post #18939 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 05:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Deckard71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Fire View Post
no tv out there is perfect i exchange 20 sets in 2017 NONE... NONE of them was perfect...

20.... are you still allowed to put your feet on the store?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Displays: LG 65C7V - Optoma HD20 - Panasonic 50PZ80 - Samsung 32C650 - LG M2380D
Speakers: Focal Aria 948- Focal Aria 906 - Focal CC900 - BK XLS200 MK2 - B&W CCM362
Electronics: Roksan K3 - Yamaha RX-A2070 - Oppo 203 - PS4 Pro
Deckard71 is online now  
post #18940 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 06:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,594
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2088 Post(s)
Liked: 1628
Quote:
Originally Posted by GordonBlu View Post
I agree with your basic premise, but I think you’re a bit out of date with the capabilities of Harmony remotes.
I didn't mean to suggest any particular deficiency with any particular remote. On the RF side I was observing that if you have say an ATV4/4K Siri (mic, inertial and track pad), a TiVo Bolt (with mic), a LG Magic (RF andIR required plus inertial) and a PS4 you might have trouble controlling them with a single remote. And if you have to have a universal plus N other remotes or, if you're lucky, some mobile apps you're starting to lose the value proposition.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #18941 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 07:09 PM
Senior Member
 
thatJohann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: NYC
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Has anyone done a white balance and colorspace calibration for the Dolby Vision presets under Cinema? Or is everyone using default white balance and color space settings for Dolby vision?
thatJohann is offline  
post #18942 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 07:28 PM
Member
 
not_so_new's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by maveric23 View Post
Are you sure that these cables are high-speed HDMI and not standard-speed HDMI? I would only rule out the cable as the source of the problem if you are using Premium High Speed HDMI Cable.
Thanks for the feedback Mavric.

Well, I actually tried multiple cables including this....

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Not the 'highest' end cable available but it is listed as "high speed" and it really didn't make any difference at all. I also tried some other cables (I bought a bunch of different ones).

Is there a specific cable on Amazon I should look for?

Thanks again!
not_so_new is offline  
post #18943 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 08:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,541
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6668 Post(s)
Liked: 6659
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnalex View Post
Would love to have one! Maybe next BF. But after juggling multiple remotes for years (it drove my wife crazy), the 665 is a big upgrade for us, and necessary, because the LG Magic remote is not very "smart", and has a cheapo, plastic feel to me- like it could crap out any minute. We'll see...only use it for adjusting/checking settings now.
Problem is sooner or later you will have to dig up the remote for that one button......
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #18944 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 08:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,389
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 2476
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtcountry View Post
I just purchased the B7 after having an LG 1080P OLED for a couple of years. I used the settings from RTINGS.com and overall, I'm very happy with the picture quality, especially on 4K content.

However, non 4K content, particulary Spectrum cable, seems to look worse than it did on my 1080P OLED.

I understand that it's a high resolution screen with a much lower resolution image being displayed, but I would think that upscaling would help, the same way it did for standard def content on older HD sets.

Is there a particular setting that I should look for to help with the picture quality on non 4K content?


Some channels seem to have a lot of what I would describe as noise in the picture.

Thanks in advance for any advice.
1080P content is going to look great and in some instances just as good as 4K. It mostly depends on whether the source content was recorded in 1080P and then upscaled, or it came straight from a 4K or higher rez camera and mastered in 4K.

The big challenge is making 720P/1080i ( sat/cable ) signals look reasonably decent. Here's the settings that I have found work very well . . .

Go with the technicolor Expert picture mode

Leave all settings at default except for:

Color @ 48
Gamma @ 2.2*
Brightness @ 51
OLED light @ 60*
* ( these settings work well in a med bright to low bright room. If your viewing environment is dark to fully pitch black, then lower the OLED light to around 40 and set the Gamma to BT.1886 )
Sharpness @ 10
Expert Controls ----
Edge Enhancement = On
Dynamic Contrast = Off

Would love your opinion whether you see improvement or not.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #18945 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 08:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,389
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 2476
Quote:
Originally Posted by thatJohann View Post
Has anyone done a white balance and colorspace calibration for the Dolby Vision presets under Cinema? Or is everyone using default white balance and color space settings for Dolby vision?
So here's the deal with calibrating Dolby Vision on a 2017 LG OLED . . . .

There is a special workflow in the latest version of Calman that Dolby, LG and Spectracal worked very closely together to build. After completing all the steps in the workflow, Calman will generate a special file that is then uploaded into the TV via USB thumb drive. This process will only work with the "Cinema" picture mode and NOT "Cinema Home". Also, the workflow only covers the white balance settings and has absolutely nothing to do with the CMS. The other interesting thing I noticed was that the settings I put into the TV when I was doing the calibration, get saved in the file, but not in settings table. They are all still zeroed out as if I had done nothing.

After that, the only change I made to the basic settings was to increase the OLED light from 50 to 60.

And that's it. Things definitely look better now, but still not as good as HDR-10 with Dynamic Contrast set to Low. That's why I keep forcing my ATV 4K to be HDR-10 only.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #18946 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 09:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerryIII View Post
Not to turn this into a harmony thread, but I have been using them for years and they are great. My wife can control our system without any trouble. My parents had their system professionally set up and the installer used control 4 which was a serious pain. I finally moved him to a harmony elite and both he and my mother can work it perfectly. They love it. Now I just need to get him into an OLED.


Your parents didn’t hire a professional if the system was a serious pain.

A manufacturers product is only as good as the installer/programmer that installed it.

I’m certain a competent installer would have made the Control 4 system work flawlessly, they make great hardware.

Problem is there are few competent installers in this world. Most AV companies are full of salesman and worried about profits not the quality of their work. That’s the main reason few companies have any longevity in this business.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Houdini415 is offline  
post #18947 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 09:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 678 Post(s)
Liked: 513
2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GordonBlu View Post
I agree with your basic premise, but I think you’re a bit out of date with the capabilities of Harmony remotes. In particular, any of the models that include the hub can talk IR, RF, and Bluetooth, and they can be programmed from a phone or tablet as easily as a computer. On the other hand, the hub models are expensive, and (to keep this from being completely off topic), they can’t duplicate the functionality of the LG’s magic pointer, or the ATV’s touch pad or Siri integration (although they DO work with Alexa). I find myself using my Harmony >95% of the time, but still keep my LG and Apple remotes close at hand. And as you say, one of the cheap models lets you see if the concept works for you without a major investment.


Actually the harmony companion remote with hub is very reasonably priced and it is the only one that can go 6+ months without having to charge in a cradle. The down side is no screen, and not backlit. It has 6 preprogrammed actions that happen with either long or short press. My family much prefers it to the fancier harmony One (or Elite?) that has the touch display.

I actually bought the companion remote without the hub because it shares the hub from my fancier harmony (which I still use on occasion for infrequent activities.)

Last edited by rsonnens; 01-05-2018 at 09:21 PM.
rsonnens is online now  
post #18948 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 09:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
UnnDunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToonMasterTim View Post
If you press the Home button, does it power on the TV and take you to the Home/Apps screen? I am not home or I would try it.
Unfortunately, it does not. The Home button doesn't work at all when the TV is off.

LG OLED55B7A | Xbox One X | Sony STR-K790
UnnDunn is offline  
post #18949 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 11:34 PM
Senior Member
 
bigzee3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 123
WCG for HDR?

Hi Guys,

Just wondered if anyone has tried this option?. I know for SDR color is set at 50 and WCG at auto. We have had a recommendation by D-nice also to set color to 46 and WCG to wide. So I'm curious if anyone say gone from color 55 and WCG at auto in HDR to WCG wide and a different color setting.
bigzee3 is offline  
post #18950 of 36403 Old 01-05-2018, 11:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by barth2 View Post
Please use the contact us form on LG's web site and request it. Can only help.
I have also sent this request to LG via contact form. So all we can do is to hope, that LG will bring TrueHD re-encoding for USB and DLNA sources in one of their next FW updates.
bni likes this.
endy66 is offline  
post #18951 of 36403 Old 01-06-2018, 02:09 AM
Member
 
codyrocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by endy66 View Post
I have also sent this request to LG via contact form. So all we can do is to hope, that LG will bring TrueHD re-encoding for USB and DLNA sources in one of their next FW updates.
i don't think they'll implement too many top stuff in tv app. because, you know, there are blu-ray players, set-top boxes, etc.to sell.
i decided, finally, to have a media player with dolby vision capabilities (himedia q10 - well, sometime, right now is just mentioned as 'capability'), sent to marantz sr6010 (sometime this year will have dolby vision passthrough), then to 65c7v. this is the main setup for movies, bd iso, etc.
then i have streaming apps from tv [far better than those on media player], with audio via arc to marantz.
codyrocco is offline  
post #18952 of 36403 Old 01-06-2018, 02:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 785 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by not_so_new View Post
Thanks for the feedback Mavric.

Well, I actually tried multiple cables including this....

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Not the 'highest' end cable available but it is listed as "high speed" and it really didn't make any difference at all. I also tried some other cables (I bought a bunch of different ones).

Is there a specific cable on Amazon I should look for?

Thanks again!
It is probably a good idea to go for Premium Certified High Speed Cables. In the US Blue Jean Cables and Monoprice are well rated but they can be found on Amazon and in the UK I bought mine from eBay. Look for the authentication decal.
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/5m-BRAIDE...19.m1438.l2649
I needed the 5 meter length to go from AVR to TV and it worked a treat but shorter lengths are safer.

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is offline  
post #18953 of 36403 Old 01-06-2018, 04:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
same problem here (line at the bottom)

Responding to MFed (cannot link, as I'm a newbie),
(writing from France)
thanks so much for your post.
its a relief to know that I am not the only one, having the exact same problem.
local distributor already replaced my 1st unit (OLED65C7V), but I've noticed the same again with the new one.
could you please tell me if this bug can be fixed by firmware update? or by pixel shift (OFF>ON), permanently? (I just updated the firmware, from 3.60.09 to 4.70.30)
note: it was a week ago last time it happened... really frustrating not to know when it comes when it goes. maybe I fixed the issue already, by firmware update (?)
thanks again for your comments
cemco is offline  
post #18954 of 36403 Old 01-06-2018, 05:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,520
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 923 Post(s)
Liked: 766
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Problem is sooner or later you will have to dig up the remote for that one button......
Only if you have a Harmony remote with only hard buttons. My Harmony Elites have every button that the original remote had, and even some it didn't...
geebo and Eclipse01 like this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #18955 of 36403 Old 01-06-2018, 06:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Z06_Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eclipse01 View Post
Harmony Elite of course.
totally agree. I have two of these, one for each media room, and it's astounding what you can make them do! As with any electronic device, there are a couple of niggles that bug me, but I have used numerous universals in the past, and the Elite is really top notch. However, I must say that we still use our Roku remote. It's just so fast and easy to navigate with it, there's no way the Elite could replace it. And sure, there is the odd time when I use my C7 remote to go in and make a configuration change, but that's rare.

Last edited by Z06_Pilot; 01-06-2018 at 06:27 AM.
Z06_Pilot is offline  
post #18956 of 36403 Old 01-06-2018, 06:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 314 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigzee3 View Post
Hi Guys,

Just wondered if anyone has tried this option?. I know for SDR color is set at 50 and WCG at auto. We have had a recommendation by D-nice also to set color to 46 and WCG to wide. So I'm curious if anyone say gone from color 55 and WCG at auto in HDR to WCG wide and a different color setting.
Interesting that a calibrator would recommend this. I've tried this exact same thing. I kind of like it (sometimes) even though I know it's not accurate. I combine this with upping Preferred color (I think that's what is called) > skin color +3 to make skin less red. I use this for non-movies'

Edit to ask: did he recommend this for calibrated or uncalibrated sets? And for which modes?
bigzee3 likes this.

Last edited by barth2; 01-06-2018 at 06:58 AM.
barth2 is offline  
post #18957 of 36403 Old 01-06-2018, 08:19 AM
Senior Member
 
onaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by barth2 View Post
Interesting that a calibrator would recommend this. I've tried this exact same thing. I kind of like it (sometimes) even though I know it's not accurate. I combine this with upping Preferred color (I think that's what is called) > skin color +3 to make skin less red. I use this for non-movies'

Edit to ask: did he recommend this for calibrated or uncalibrated sets? And for which modes?
Actually is Color 46 Gamut Extented not Wide, and its is for SDR only.
bigzee3 likes this.
onaga is offline  
post #18958 of 36403 Old 01-06-2018, 08:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 314 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by onaga View Post
Actually is Color 46 Gamut Extented not Wide, and its is for SDR only.
Ok that makes more sense.
bigzee3 likes this.
barth2 is offline  
post #18959 of 36403 Old 01-06-2018, 08:47 AM
Senior Member
 
onaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 72
dammit, after spending several days watching content with gamma 2.4 (which is not recommended if you're not going to calibrate) I can say that the TV looks great with this, returning to 2.2 makes everything look very pale and washed out.

It is incredible how this gamma resembles more reality, and especially how the movies are seen in digital cinemas.

Last edited by onaga; 01-06-2018 at 08:52 AM.
onaga is offline  
post #18960 of 36403 Old 01-06-2018, 08:57 AM
Senior Member
 
charlesrshell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I need to get sound out only to RCA connectors. Will the attached work connected to the Optical Digital Audio Out port on the back of my C7P OLED? Thanks for any help.

https://www.amazon.com/Digital-Optic.../dp/B003OND0N4

DISH Network / Hopper 3 x2 / 4K Joey x2 / Wireless Joey x2
LG OLED 55C7P-U
LG UP970-N 4K Blu-ray Player

Last edited by charlesrshell; 01-06-2018 at 10:19 AM.
charlesrshell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off