2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 637 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980425Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19081 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 06:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BPlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,307
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 424 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by dte421 View Post
Seeing lots of people talking about using Technicolor Expert in DV - Am I missing something? I don't have the option in my menu.

Thanks
It was introduced in a recent firmware update (.30 or .36). Check you firmware version, and the latest has not been released in all countries.
BPlayer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19082 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 07:03 AM
Member
 
dte421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by BPlayer View Post
It was introduced in a recent firmware update (.30 or .36). Check you firmware version, and the latest has not been released in all countries.
I'm on 4.70.36 and when I watch DV content my choices are Vivid, Standard, Cinema, Cinema Home, and Game. HDR has the Technicolor Expert choice, which I'm using.
dte421 is offline  
post #19083 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 07:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Eclipse01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Chippewa Falls, WI
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by aftontrix2 View Post
Interesting. I have an August build and I do not see any banding during normal viewing. I do not plan to start doing "special" things to try and find banding as that would just be discouraging and I would look for it during normal viewing. To each his own I guess.
I didn't start looking for it either, I just saw it plain as day on a screen transition on Planet Earth 2 (UHD Blu Ray) one day

LG OLED B7A 65"
Philips BDP7501 UHD Blu Ray player
Apple TV4
Onkyo TX-SR606
Harmony Elite
Eclipse01 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19084 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 07:16 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,325
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6526 Post(s)
Liked: 6240
Quote:
Originally Posted by dte421 View Post
I'm on 4.70.36 and when I watch DV content my choices are Vivid, Standard, Cinema, Cinema Home, and Game. HDR has the Technicolor Expert choice, which I'm using.


You are correct. DV doesn’t have this (Technicolor) mode. Only the HDR10 and SDR modes do.
bigzee3 likes this.
Ph8te is offline  
post #19085 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 07:18 AM
Member
 
dte421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
You are correct. DV doesn’t have this (Technicolor) mode. Only the HDR10 and SDR modes do.
Ok cool, I could have sworn I've seen multiple posts saying they were using Technicolor with DV, but I could be wrong. Going through 19000 posts can be tough on the brain.

After about 3 weeks with this set, I have to say that I absolutely love it, but I find the DV performance to be underwhelming relative to HDR or to my B6. I've spent hours tweaking it, and it's just not where I want it to be,
dte421 is offline  
post #19086 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 07:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
paku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,687
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 40
There's nothing magical about the Technicolor modes anyway, is there? I mean they're just presets, right? Using the same settings for Technicolor/Cinema/ISF they look identical to me.
jlsavs and jrref like this.
paku is offline  
post #19087 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 07:31 AM
Senior Member
 
skip61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by dte421 View Post
Ok cool, I could have sworn I've seen multiple posts saying they were using Technicolor with DV, but I could be wrong. Going through 19000 posts can be tough on the brain.

After about 3 weeks with this set, I have to say that I absolutely love it, but I find the DV performance to be underwhelming relative to HDR or to my B6. I've spent hours tweaking it, and it's just not where I want it to be,
Did you try a UHD Blu-Ray disk with DV ?

LG Oled 65B7P
Anthem MRX 510 receiver , Furman elite
Paradigm Millenia 300 fronts
Paradigm Millenia 30 Center,Mordaunt-Short ADP
PSA XS15se sub, Oppo udp 203, PS4, Bell PVR Fibe tv, ATV 4K
skip61 is offline  
post #19088 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 07:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danno312 View Post
Picked up a 65" B7 yesterday, very impressive tv. Not overly impressed with how my cable looks on it compared to the Samsung plasma it replaced, 4k hdr stuff looks amazing though.

Trying to find the right screws to mount it to my wall mount the plasma used. Found M6x25mm screws at my local Home Depot but they are too long, couldn't find anything shorter. Is there a set screw length I should be looking for or does it depend on the mount I have?
2 minutes with an hacksaw will get you the right length screws - OK 10 minutes to do a superior job.
alexbarbel and JRomulus like this.
philphluter is offline  
post #19089 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 07:47 AM
Member
 
Master Destructo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattGoose View Post
Can someone please confirm whether the eggshell finish is supposed to be there or not?
When my B7A is off, yes there is what you might call an eggshell finish. I assume it has something to do with anti-reflection. When the oled is on, the eggshell effect is not at all visible.
Master Destructo is offline  
post #19090 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 07:47 AM
Senior Member
 
usurpers26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 97
It is normal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattGoose View Post
Can someone please confirm whether the eggshell finish is supposed to be there or not?
usurpers26 is offline  
post #19091 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 07:55 AM
Member
 
dte421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by skip61 View Post
Did you try a UHD Blu-Ray disk with DV ?
I have not - this is my bedroom TV, and the setup is just the STB, ATV, and then the native apps. It's not unbearable, but it's just darker than it should be, and I can't fix that without losing the integrity of the deep black.
dte421 is offline  
post #19092 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 08:16 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,563
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6676 Post(s)
Liked: 6670
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterP25 View Post
Hi All,

Brand new OLED owner, C7P. I'm pretty unhappy with the lip syncing issue. It happens for me when I watch cable TV, and I'm using a Sony Sound Bar via optical input. I updated the firmware to the latest version but am still experiencing the issue. I've adjusted the AV Sync from -5 all the way up to 15. It gets close in the negatives, but then if I switch from say CBS to ESPN it seems to become an issue all over again.

I've also turned off Dolby Atmos sound but to no avail. Any other ideas I'm not thinking of?
So all other devises are working ok? Just the cable? If so sounds like more of a cable problem.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #19093 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 08:20 AM
Senior Member
 
skip61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by dte421 View Post
I have not - this is my bedroom TV, and the setup is just the STB, ATV, and then the native apps. It's not unbearable, but it's just darker than it should be, and I can't fix that without losing the integrity of the deep black.
Until you can test a disk with DV you won’t know exactly who is the culprit.
JRomulus likes this.

LG Oled 65B7P
Anthem MRX 510 receiver , Furman elite
Paradigm Millenia 300 fronts
Paradigm Millenia 30 Center,Mordaunt-Short ADP
PSA XS15se sub, Oppo udp 203, PS4, Bell PVR Fibe tv, ATV 4K
skip61 is offline  
post #19094 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 08:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rsonnens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 679 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
So all other devises are working ok? Just the cable? If so sounds like more of a cable problem.


Not necessarily. Others in the past have had issues with Sony sound bars. We also have seen reports with cable listening to DD but not stereo.
rsonnens is online now  
post #19095 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 08:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,604
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2098 Post(s)
Liked: 1634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eclipse01 View Post
I agree with a lot of this, I will however say "in my experience" the people that don't necessarly "like" Harmony remotes are those that generally don't know how to use them to their fullest potential.
This isn't a Harmony thread and I believe it obvious that people like what they like* but:
1) The nicer remotes have either atrocious or terrible transport controls if you're a TiVo owner.
2) Harmony supports some instances of multi-device (e.g. TiVo) but not others (e.g. AppleTV).
3) It's great when Harmony discovers and provides niche/unadvertised codes (LG Service Menu, Apple TV Home) but it's terrible when they don't notice a significant change (e.g. Apple TV "power-off" becomes Apple TV "Select AirPlay output")
4) Adopting an "activity" model as manifested on the less expensive remotes is clearly targeted to simple installations. I can "watch a movie" on six devices. I can "watch television" on four and "listen to music" on eight.
5) If I buy a HUB or a HUB + an inexpensive remote I get eight devices. A HUB with an "expensive" remote gives me 15. It is the case than other companies put arbitrary limits on the remotes but it seems petty with a devices like a HUB.

And who thinks it's a good idea to put plug and lightbulb hard buttons on a remote?

*Disclosure: I use an MX-1200 with a 400 hub and a 250 RF gateway.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #19096 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 08:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Eclipse01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Chippewa Falls, WI
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlesrshell View Post
Yep, it sure is baffling. For my Samsung and Vizio TVs the remotes have an Info button I can press to see if what I am viewing is in 780p, 1080p, or 4K, etc. Is there another way with the Magic Remote to view the video resolution?
Yet Samsung can't do something as simple as a "badge" to let you know when something is in HDR or not.
charlesrshell and MackGuyver like this.

LG OLED B7A 65"
Philips BDP7501 UHD Blu Ray player
Apple TV4
Onkyo TX-SR606
Harmony Elite
Eclipse01 is offline  
post #19097 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 08:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,624
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1429 Post(s)
Liked: 824
Quote:
Originally Posted by dte421 View Post
Ok cool, I could have sworn I've seen multiple posts saying they were using Technicolor with DV, but I could be wrong. Going through 19000 posts can be tough on the brain.

After about 3 weeks with this set, I have to say that I absolutely love it, but I find the DV performance to be underwhelming relative to HDR or to my B6. I've spent hours tweaking it, and it's just not where I want it to be,
Wouldn't applying Technicolor to Dolby Vision cause the universe to implode?

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #19098 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 08:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,624
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1429 Post(s)
Liked: 824
Quote:
Originally Posted by BPlayer View Post
Many of the Netflix programs that I watch that say 5.1 produced garbled sound on my non-Atmos AVR. My fix is to set Optical/ARC to PCM. Same thing happens with any of the videos from the Dolby app. Audio from the TV channels and other sources is fine with Optical/ARC set to Auto.

On a related note, when I playback some USB content with Kodi a Dolby Digital badge pop-up flashes at the top right, but this does not happen if the file is played by TV from the USB. An example is the "Safari and Dolby Digital Plus" sample.

The handling and processing of these streams is like black magic - who knows what is in the source and how it is handled.
Auto means the TV might output DD+ if the show has atmos (and possibly even in some cases if it doesn't), and older AVRs don't support DD+ (my SR5007 did not and had garbled audio as a result. Fortunately the A1E allows you to explicitly pick DD over DD+, which unfortunately the LG does not).

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #19099 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 09:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,389
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 2476
Quote:
Originally Posted by dte421 View Post
Ok cool, I could have sworn I've seen multiple posts saying they were using Technicolor with DV, but I could be wrong. Going through 19000 posts can be tough on the brain.

After about 3 weeks with this set, I have to say that I absolutely love it, but I find the DV performance to be underwhelming relative to HDR or to my B6. I've spent hours tweaking it, and it's just not where I want it to be,
Quote:
Originally Posted by paku View Post
There's nothing magical about the Technicolor modes anyway, is there? I mean they're just presets, right? Using the same settings for Technicolor/Cinema/ISF they look identical to me.
There are some things going on under the hood that are pre-release prep for Technicolor Advanced HDR which will be rolled out at CES this week. This also answers the question as to why there isn't a technicolor picture mode for DV - as they are about to become competitors. I already posted more detail about this a couple of pages back.

Here's a quick summary:

"Technicolor Advanced HDR" is a combination of "Technicolor HDR ITM" (Intelligent Tone Management) – which up-converts SDR content to HDR – and "Technicolor HDR" – which simultaneously distributes HDR and SDR content through one single 8 bit stream. This is significant. This is the future. And no, I don't work for Technicolor.

1. Content will look as the director or colorist intended, regardless of format or display peak luminance.

2. Adapts to any workflow, content, or display peak luminance on a frame-by-frame basis.

3. Allows a broader array of content and is not limited to native HDR content, and will include live broadcast and existing libraries. ( Hello HLG )

4. It will save the industry millions of dollars in infrastructure because there will be no need for a separate delivery system.

http://www.technicolor.com/en/soluti...dr-technicolor

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #19100 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 09:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Eclipse01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Chippewa Falls, WI
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlesrshell View Post
I am thinking about getting extended warranty insurance for my new OLED 55C7P-U. Will be with LG or Best Buy. I realize BB is more expensive but is it better than LG? I am mostly concerned about any pixels and burn in issues. How about any lemon protection? I had an extended insurance policy one time on a DPL HD TV with BB and the lemon protection paid off big time. Which one is easier to deal with between BB and LG? Thanks for any help.
I had the extended warranty on my Samsung JS9500, after 1.2 years (post manufacture warranty of course) I developed a blinding brown spot defect. BB basically just cashed me out just about what I paid for the TV basically no questions asked.

The only down side is when they replace your tv completely it voids out your coverage and you need to repurchase on the next one which. which is kinda lame.

On a side not, what happens if best buy replaces your TV while you are under manufacturing warranty? And just replace it with a new version of the same TV, do you still need to "re buy" your extended coverage?

With that said, thanks to my situation, i will never NOT have BB coverage again.
charlesrshell likes this.

LG OLED B7A 65"
Philips BDP7501 UHD Blu Ray player
Apple TV4
Onkyo TX-SR606
Harmony Elite
Eclipse01 is offline  
post #19101 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 09:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Eclipse01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Chippewa Falls, WI
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
This isn't a Harmony thread and I believe it obvious that people like what they like* but:
1) The nicer remotes have either atrocious or terrible transport controls if you're a TiVo owner.
2) Harmony supports some instances of multi-device (e.g. TiVo) but not others (e.g. AppleTV).
3) It's great when Harmony discovers and provides niche/unadvertised codes (LG Service Menu, Apple TV Home) but it's terrible when they don't notice a significant change (e.g. Apple TV "power-off" becomes Apple TV "Select AirPlay output")
4) Adopting an "activity" model as manifested on the less expensive remotes is clearly targeted to simple installations. I can "watch a movie" on six devices. I can "watch television" on four and "listen to music" on eight.
5) If I buy a HUB or a HUB + an inexpensive remote I get eight devices. A HUB with an "expensive" remote gives me 15. It is the case than other companies put arbitrary limits on the remotes but it seems petty with a devices like a HUB.

And who thinks it's a good idea to put plug and lightbulb hard buttons on a remote?

*Disclosure: I use an MX-1200 with a 400 hub and a 250 RF gateway.
Sour grapes much? Who cares if we get a little off topic in this thread?

1. I am a TIVO owner and have no issues at all
2. works great on my Apple TV
3. I guess I agree

A lot of people probably thought that putting a lightbulb/plug buttons on the remote was a good idea (me included), I love the fact that I can now have a physical button to turn my lights on/off instead of going through menus on my remote to get to a simple "light switch"

LG OLED B7A 65"
Philips BDP7501 UHD Blu Ray player
Apple TV4
Onkyo TX-SR606
Harmony Elite
Eclipse01 is offline  
post #19102 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,604
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2098 Post(s)
Liked: 1634
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
This also answers the question as to why there isn't a technicolor picture mode for DV - as they are about to become competitors. I already posted more detail about this a couple of pages back.
When I thought you were talking about Technicolor HDR I said meh. Then you said you were talking about their SDR to HDR process (which isn't new and seems to still be targeted to broadcast). Now it's it's back to "Yet Another HDR Format" and it is still meh.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #19103 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 09:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,429
Mentioned: 193 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4474 Post(s)
Liked: 5487
I just saw the LG press conference at CES and there are a lot of changes on the 2018's. It looks like they are going to do a lot of what Sony is doing currently in picture processing and expanded color. The expanded CMS LUT and the auto cal that let's you access the LUT tables are big enhancements. Now if they fix the banding and tinting, Then i'll be getting an LG next year. It will be interesting to see what the LG Display announcement is regarding the panels which we haven't heard anything about yet.
ataneruo likes this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #19104 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 09:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,469
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1485 Post(s)
Liked: 1237
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
I just saw the LG press conference at CES and there are a lot of changes on the 2018's. It looks like they are going to do a lot of what Sony is doing currently in picture processing and expanded color. The expanded CMS LUT and the auto cal that let's you access the LUT tables are big enhancements. Now if they fix the banding and tinting, Then i'll be getting an LG next year. It will be interesting to see what the LG Display announcement is regarding the panels which we haven't heard anything about yet.
If they do that I'll be right there making a purchase as well.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
Sony XBR-65A1E OLED/Denon X4300H/Oppo 203/Klipsch RVX‑42/PS4 Pro/Xbox One X/5.1.2
VidPro is offline  
post #19105 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 09:51 AM
Oppo Beta Group
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 11,186
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1967 Post(s)
Liked: 1431
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
I just saw the LG press conference at CES and there are a lot of changes on the 2018's. It looks like they are going to do a lot of what Sony is doing currently in picture processing and expanded color. The expanded CMS LUT and the auto cal that let's you access the LUT tables are big enhancements. Now if they fix the banding and tinting, Then i'll be getting an LG next year. It will be interesting to see what the LG Display announcement is regarding the panels which we haven't heard anything about yet.
Even of they improve the banding it will not likely be announced. That was I’ll draw further attention.

It would be nice if AutoCal were available in the 2017 even if only to adjust the 20point comtrols.

- Rich
tomcrown1 and PeteNeat like this.

Oppo UPD-205 x 2 | UPD-203 | Sonica DAC | Emotiva XMC-1 (v3) | Revel Salon2s, Voice2, Studio2s | Benchmark AHB2 x 4 | ATI AT522NC | Velodyne HGS-15 | LG 77C9 | Lumagen 2020 | HDFury Vertex x 2
RichB is online now  
post #19106 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 09:52 AM
Bass and Hi-Fi Enthusiast
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 3,132
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1989 Post(s)
Liked: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eclipse01 View Post
I had the extended warranty on my Samsung JS9500, after 1.2 years (post manufacture warranty of course) I developed a blinding brown spot defect. BB basically just cashed me out just about what I paid for the TV basically no questions asked.

The only down side is when they replace your tv completely it voids out your coverage and you need to repurchase on the next one which. which is kinda lame.

On a side not, what happens if best buy replaces your TV while you are under manufacturing warranty? And just replace it with a new version of the same TV, do you still need to "re buy" your extended coverage?

With that said, thanks to my situation, i will never NOT have BB coverage again.
BB wants $349 for 2 year warranty or $599 for 5 years for the 65B7A I got on 12/22 for $2,500 ($2,650 now). I have until the 14th before my return policy expires to purchase it.



I am very conscious of the burn in/screen retention posibility. The Comcast box and Apple TV 4K both put up their own screen savors. The PS and Xbox don't but the TV screen saver will come on for those if it senses a static screen. I game maybe 20% of the total usage of the TV and sports maybe 10%. I think I've covered all my bases and I am conscious of the burn-in possibility and ways to prevent it. However, I am still struggling with whether or not I should purchase the BB warranty. It's crazy expensive at $600, but I feel like I'm going to need it at some point and if I don't have it, well, you do the math.

Is the general consensus that it's worth it?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	1195
Size:	210.1 KB
ID:	2342640  

| 7.2.4 Photos (Updated Photos 1/5) | Frequency Response | Visual: LG 65” B7A OLED | Elite VMAX-2 Electric 120" | Optoma GT1080 Proj |
| AVR/Amps: Marantz SR-6011 9C | Audio Source AMP-100VS | iNuke 1000DSP; TTs: 4x AuraSound Pro |
| Center: B&W CM Center 2 S2 Ed | Fronts: 2x B&W 684 S1s | Side Surrounds: 2x B&W 685 S1 |
| Front/Rear Heights: 4x Polk T15 | In-Ceiling: 2x Micca M-8C | Subs: 2x Rythmik FV15HP |

Last edited by citsur86; 01-08-2018 at 10:01 AM.
citsur86 is offline  
post #19107 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 09:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: MD
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by cychua View Post
You think the 8 series will generally be more expensive than the 7 series?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It will be what the 7 series was at the beginning, maybe more, it's hard to tell just yet.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
evilmonstertruk is online now  
post #19108 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
 
maveric23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post
If they do that I'll be right there making a purchase as well.
Regardless, I would wait another year for HDMI 2.1.
bbbobbb likes this.

============================
Grouchy Golf

Last edited by maveric23; 01-08-2018 at 10:05 AM.
maveric23 is online now  
post #19109 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 10:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,469
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1485 Post(s)
Liked: 1237
Quote:
Originally Posted by maveric23 View Post
Regardless, I would wait another year for HDMI 2.1.
I'm not holding my breath. New AVR too when the time comes too.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
Sony XBR-65A1E OLED/Denon X4300H/Oppo 203/Klipsch RVX‑42/PS4 Pro/Xbox One X/5.1.2
VidPro is offline  
post #19110 of 36409 Old 01-08-2018, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
maveric23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post
Even of they improve the banding it will not likely be announced. That was I’ll draw further attention.

It would be nice if AutoCal were available in the 2017 even if only to adjust the 20point comtrols.

- Rich
This article claims "banding elimination" with the Alpha 9 processor in the high-end models.

============================
Grouchy Golf
maveric23 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off