2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 646 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980598Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19351 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 12:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,955
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2315 Post(s)
Liked: 1832
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreatMush View Post
I tried google and I can't find a way to get in a new LG 65B7P.
You need ServiceMenu and In-Start. If you load LG TV they're on pages 5 and 6 of the "soft" keys. Don't press In-Stop.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19352 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 12:23 PM
Member
 
vurt72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isles View Post
Hi everyone. Best Buy just agreed to replace my x930c today, so now I’m in the market for a new television. I would like to go with an OLED, but I’m not really up to date with the new sets. I mostly use it to play games (One X, PS4 Pro, Switch, GTX 1080 PC), and the only cable I really watch are hockey games. Would the C7 be a good fit for me or should I look elsewhere? I know the C8 was just announced, but I don’t want to pay a premium for something that’s going to be on clearance in a month. I would also like to get an Atmos sound bar at some point as well.
I'd say it really depends on how picky you are with image quality. I'm very picky, i want the best black level, good colors and HDR so i choose B7v... i would not worry about burn ins too much for gaming.. there's a test a few pages back, takes weeks with the same image for that to happen..
Isles likes this.

LG OLEDB7V 55" / BenQ W700 75" DIY / BenQ MH741 120"
vurt72 is offline  
post #19353 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 12:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,955
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2315 Post(s)
Liked: 1832
Quote:
Originally Posted by QN52 View Post
I also have no idea why the Tivo box's "auto" setting is 480P
TiVo has extensive documentation and there's a dedicated TiVo community site.

Auto mode should prefer 4K60 for the UI and output all content at native resolution. Unless you didn't "okay" the 4K test.

If you want some resolutions scaled by the TiVo you should set video resolution by hand and uncheck the ones you want scaled. This assumes a recent TiVo software release.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19354 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 12:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Eclipse01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Chippewa Falls, WI
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by tones3311 View Post
My 30 days from BB period is up on the 13th. I mentioned previously that I currently have yellow tinting stain down the left side of the screen along with some banding. Debating whether to return it or not before the 30 days is up. The biggest pain is having to box it up and send it back. Has anyone ever had their TV replaced through the BB Geek Squad warranty due to tinting and/or banding issues?
only for a "burn in spot" (big golf ball sized brown spot on white and lighter screens)

LG OLED B7A 65"
Philips BDP7501 UHD Blu Ray player
Apple TV4
Onkyo TX-SR606
Harmony Elite
Eclipse01 is online now  
post #19355 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
schalliol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carmel, IN, USA
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
The gateway is tiny Linux system running lirc. Lirc has a control file that maps IR codes to actions. The actions are programs that do the real work. Some are serial (LG) and some are IP (Denon).
Thanks. My company is an RTI dealer, but we're new to these. I think I'm going to run RS-232 instead of IP. You're obviously doing the same thing with your system.
barth2 likes this.
schalliol is offline  
post #19356 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 01:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
HDMI2 Cable/Sat Start Up Trouble

I have a 65" C7. I have the TV tied back to a Denon 4300X via HDMI which in turn has different sources attached to it (Comcast Xfinity box, Apple TV 4K and a Mac Mini all connected via HDMI ). For some reason, upon start up with just the Xfinity box, the C7 does not recognize the input (no signal). I have to click to another input and then back to Cable/Sat input and it immediately connects. All the other inputs fire up right away if I select those, it is just the TV signal (the one most used). It does not matter which remote I use (Harmony, Xfinity X1, etc.) the result is the same. I think I have gone through all the settings in the TV and receiver to make sure that it works properly. Any hints? The kicker is that every once in a while it works.

Last edited by Astiehm; 01-11-2018 at 02:01 PM. Reason: missing text
Astiehm is offline  
post #19357 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 02:12 PM
Senior Member
 
TheTonik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So I just got myself a 65B7. I use it for 50% work (as a monitor) and 50% pleasure. Work is a serious pain because of this ridiculous auto dimming function. It gets brighter on bright screens, and dimmer on dim screens. Shouldn't it be the other way around if anything?? Is there ANY way to disable this worthless feature?
TheTonik is offline  
post #19358 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 02:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Eclipse01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Chippewa Falls, WI
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTonik View Post
So I just got myself a 65B7. I use it for 50% work (as a monitor) and 50% pleasure. Work is a serious pain because of this ridiculous auto dimming function. It gets brighter on bright screens, and dimmer on dim screens. Shouldn't it be the other way around if anything?? Is there ANY way to disable this worthless feature?
Do you have it set to PC?

LG OLED B7A 65"
Philips BDP7501 UHD Blu Ray player
Apple TV4
Onkyo TX-SR606
Harmony Elite
Eclipse01 is online now  
post #19359 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 02:17 PM
Senior Member
 
TheTonik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eclipse01 View Post
Do you have it set to PC?
I don't. But doesn't that mess with colors and all that?

EDIT: Just switched to PC mode and it does the same thing while managing to look significantly worse (in terms of color).

Last edited by TheTonik; 01-11-2018 at 02:23 PM.
TheTonik is offline  
post #19360 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 02:28 PM
Member
 
WayneDLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astiehm View Post
I have a 65" C7. I have the TV tied back to a Denon 4300X via HDMI which in turn has different sources attached to it (Comcast Xfinity box, Apple TV 4K and a Mac Mini all connected via HDMI ). For some reason, upon start up with just the Xfinity box, the C7 does not recognize the input (no signal). I have to click to another input and then back to Cable/Sat input and it immediately connects. All the other inputs fire up right away if I select those, it is just the TV signal (the one most used). It does not matter which remote I use (Harmony, Xfinity X1, etc.) the result is the same. I think I have gone through all the settings in the TV and receiver to make sure that it works properly. Any hints? The kicker is that every once in a while it works.
I would swap the HDMI cable you are using for the cable box with one of the others and see if the issue follows the cable. So for example if you swap that cable with the one you use for the Mac Mini and the Mac input starts exhibiting the same issue then it's the cable and if not then at least you know it's not the cable.
WayneDLP is offline  
post #19361 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 02:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Skytrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Baden, Pa.
Posts: 1,283
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astiehm View Post
I have a 65" C7. I have the TV tied back to a Denon 4300X via HDMI which in turn has different sources attached to it (Comcast Xfinity box, Apple TV 4K and a Mac Mini all connected via HDMI ). For some reason, upon start up with just the Xfinity box, the C7 does not recognize the input (no signal). I have to click to another input and then back to Cable/Sat input and it immediately connects. All the other inputs fire up right away if I select those, it is just the TV signal (the one most used). It does not matter which remote I use (Harmony, Xfinity X1, etc.) the result is the same. I think I have gone through all the settings in the TV and receiver to make sure that it works properly. Any hints? The kicker is that every once in a while it works.
Welcome to the world of HDMI CEC. My Comcast X1 box, which is used the most, is the worst offender. It appears and disappears. My previous 10 year old Sony TV had none of these CEC issues. (HDMI 1.3 ) I know how to fix these issues, but the wife don’t. I get a lot of heat over this. Turn the TV on, and it picks whatever input it feels like or it doesn’t turn on the Comcast X1 Box.

Bottom line, I like the TV. But it is not user friendly to people who simply want to just watch TV.

TV - LG 65B7P OLED / Receiver - Yamaha RX-A1040 7.2 / Blu Ray - Oppo BDP-83 / Turntable - Technics SL-3300 / Cable Box - Comcast X1 V4 4K /L & R Paradigm Studio 20 V3
Center - Paradigm CC-470 V3 / 4 Surrounds - Paradigm SA-15 V3 In Walls
Subwoofer 1 - Sunfire HRS-12 / Subwoofer 2 - Paradigm PW-2100
Skytrooper is offline  
post #19362 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 03:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnalex View Post
I finally did it. I put up some slides and video of various grayscales and was pleasantly surprised. My 65C7 (November build) has extremely minimal banding- very soft- would never see it in any normal content. TV has little more than 40 hours on it. Whites, however, are a different story: various light tinting. But then whites are the Achilles' heel of OLED.
Not too shabby, compared to some I've seen:





robnalex is offline  
post #19363 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 04:00 PM
Member
 
vurt72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
What do i need to do to get best picture from a PC? I have changed the Icon to PC, is that what people mean when they say you have to set it up to connect to a PC? I don't see any other options.

The picture is incredibly dim, looks way worse than on a cheap LCD, looks like eco mode (which i've turned off), the TV interface itself looks like its 10x as bright.. it does say it runs in HDR though. I run in Game mode to get decent latency. Contrast is set to 100%.

Picture from PS4 Pro is great in game mode, very bright and nice, this is nothing like that. I have a 6m hi-quality (4K/HDR) cable to PC (same brand but 2m to PS4), does that have any impact?


Edit: seems like its an issue with resolution, the TV really hates to run in its native 4K res if a PC is connected.. an "odd" resolution like 3440x1440 gives very bright image. Very odd.

LG OLEDB7V 55" / BenQ W700 75" DIY / BenQ MH741 120"

Last edited by vurt72; 01-11-2018 at 04:09 PM.
vurt72 is offline  
post #19364 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 04:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
paku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,687
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by vurt72 View Post
The picture is incredibly dim, looks way worse than on a cheap LCD, looks like eco mode (which i've turned off), the TV interface itself looks like its 10x as bright.. it does say it runs in HDR though. I run in Game mode to get decent latency. Contrast is set to 100%.
Everything that's not HDR (e.g. desktop) will be very dim in HDR mode so turn it off when you don't use it (in the settings panel under System>Display.)
vurt72 likes this.
paku is offline  
post #19365 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 04:12 PM
Member
 
vurt72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by paku View Post
Everything that's not HDR (e.g. desktop) will be very dim in HDR mode so turn it off when you don't use it (in the settings panel under System>Display.)
Ah, thanks Much better now. changing resolution (duplicating the both displays) turned HDR off, that's why it suddenly looked so good.

Looks awesome now.

LG OLEDB7V 55" / BenQ W700 75" DIY / BenQ MH741 120"
vurt72 is offline  
post #19366 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 04:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,955
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2315 Post(s)
Liked: 1832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astiehm View Post
For some reason, upon start up with just the Xfinity box, the C7 does not recognize the input (no signal).
Usually HDMI handshake issues like this can be resolved with delays or reordering the power-up sequence. I'd unplug the other devices, diable SIMPLINK and power up the cable box and the TV in different orders with varying delays. If there's HDMI-CEC in the cable box turn that off too. If it works at all you should be able to find a order and delay that starts reliably. Then put the other gear back and make sure the issue doesn't return. My C7 does seem to spend more time in handshake than any other display I've had.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #19367 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 04:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Contrast

What settings are you all using for contrast in various picture modes? Here are the defaults and mine:

Picture Mode: Default Contrast: Mine:

SDR Technicolor Expert 85 90

HDR Technicolor Expert 100 95

Dolby Vision Cinema 100 95
robnalex is offline  
post #19368 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 04:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
paku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,687
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTonik View Post
So I just got myself a 65B7. I use it for 50% work (as a monitor) and 50% pleasure. Work is a serious pain because of this ridiculous auto dimming function. It gets brighter on bright screens, and dimmer on dim screens. Shouldn't it be the other way around if anything?? Is there ANY way to disable this worthless feature?
Do you mean the ASBL that starts to dim the display after about a minute of showing a mostly static screen? (And which lights up again when it detects enough of a change.) That can only be disabled in the service menu (there's a thread on it.)

If it's not that, I also noticed similarly odd behavior when I first started to play with my set. I tried to calibrate it and the white test pattern square would inexplicably get dimmer against certain background colors despite an incredibly modest OLED Light setting, and would actually be brighter on a 100% white screen. This quickly went away however and now I can't seem to replicate it. Not sure if a firmware update took care of it or if it was something else.

In my opinion the only usable preset if you're not in PC mode is Game, all the others have way too much input lag.
paku is offline  
post #19369 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 05:40 PM
Senior Member
 
TheTonik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by paku View Post
Do you mean the ASBL that starts to dim the display after about a minute of showing a mostly static screen? (And which lights up again when it detects enough of a change.) That can only be disabled in the service menu (there's a thread on it.)

If it's not that, I also noticed similarly odd behavior when I first started to play with my set. I tried to calibrate it and the white test pattern square would inexplicably get dimmer against certain background colors despite an incredibly modest OLED Light setting, and would actually be brighter on a 100% white screen. This quickly went away however and now I can't seem to replicate it. Not sure if a firmware update took care of it or if it was something else.

In my opinion the only usable preset if you're not in PC mode is Game, all the others have way too much input lag.
It's definitely not ASBL. This is something else (its one of the Thumbs Down on the B7 review at Rtings). The screen brightness can, sometimes subtlety and sometimes dramatically, shift on each and every webpage, application switch, etc. It is a MAJOR issue for those of us using the panel as a monitor.
TheTonik is offline  
post #19370 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 05:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Datagg View Post
Against character.. Love my set, Yet I can't help but feel a wee bit disappointed. Hopefully perhaps some form of these new features can make it over to 2017 models.
The slightly dodgy film motion is my only real issue with my C7, so I'd also love to see BFI as an option. But I'd guess it's going to be tied to the new processor. The 7-series processor probably has more than enough power for such a simple task, but I doubt the 8-series code can just be dropped into the 7-series firmware without modification, and I doubt LG is willing to invest engineering time to make those modifications happen. I'd love to be wrong, though.
Datagg and Brian Gaskins like this.
tppytel is offline  
post #19371 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 05:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
paku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,687
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTonik View Post
It's definitely not ASBL. This is something else (its one of the Thumbs Down on the B7 review at Rtings). The screen brightness can, sometimes subtlety and sometimes dramatically, shift on each and every webpage, application switch, etc. It is a MAJOR issue for those of us using the panel as a monitor.
Like I said, I'm pretty sure I had this issue in the beginning but then it stopped for some reason. Are you on the latest firmware? Was also thinking maybe it's some weird forced thing the first few hours of the set.

Also what are your OLED Light/Contrast settings? If you're on low light with high contrast, try doing it the other way around. I initially started using OLED Light 95/Contrast 60 because it seemed to lessen the brightness fluctuations (I think that was somewhere around 130 nits on my set) but now I can go back to 35/85 and still not get any noticeable shifts apart from ASBL.

Last edited by paku; 01-11-2018 at 05:58 PM.
paku is offline  
post #19372 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
TheTonik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by paku View Post
Like I said, I'm pretty sure I had this issue in the beginning but then it stopped for some reason. Are you on the latest firmware? Was also thinking it may have been some weird forced thing the first few hours of the set.

Also what are your OLED Light/Contrast settings? If you're on low light with high contrast, try doing it the other way around. I initially started using OLED Light 95/Contrast 65 because it seemed to lessen the brightness fluctuations (I think that was somewhere around 130 nits on my set.)
Yes, on the latest firmware. If it stopped for you after the first few hours then things aren't looking good for me. I'm somewhere around 50-60 hours by now.

I am currently on David Katzmaier's settings. And I have tried flipping OLED:Contrast but each way seems to be about the same.

Thanks for your input though.
TheTonik is offline  
post #19373 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 09:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Just got my 65" C7 (manufactured in Dec, 2017) and was not pleased with the picture out of the box. I updated the firmware and used the basic settings on rtings.com and it improved dramatically.

I don't have any 4k material to try out but my Bell FibeTV, OTA channels, and HTPC look great. Glad to finally join the OLED club.
Datagg likes this.
audit13 is offline  
post #19374 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 09:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,393
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2720 Post(s)
Liked: 2478
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
Just got my 65" C7 (manufactured in Dec, 2017) and was not pleased with the picture out of the box. I updated the firmware and used the basic settings on rtings.com and it improved dramatically.

I don't have any 4k material to try out but my Bell FibeTV, OTA channels, and HTPC look great. Glad to finally join the OLED club.

Welcome to the club!

FYI, Rtings reviewed the C7 in April 2017, and their settings are based on much older firmware. There's been several updates and new added picture modes since then. May I suggest trying out the technicolor Expert picture mode with the below settings. The technicolor Expert picture mode is the most accurate in terms of white balance and color performance. For regular TV watching and Blu-ray ( 1080P ) movies, this is really the best way to go. In know this to be true because I fully calibrated my TV using a different picture mode, and I could barely tell the difference between that and technicolor Expert.

SDR - technicolor Expert

OLED LIGHT: 60 ( This setting is for a medium bright to dim room. If you have a darker environment, I would lower the OLED LIGHT to around 40-50; or whatever is comfortable for you. )
Contrast : 85
Brightness: 50
Sharpness: 10
Color: 48
Tint: 0

EXPERT CONTROLS
Dynamic Contrast: Off
Super Resolution: Off
Color Gamut: Auto
Edge Enhancer: On
Color Filter: Off
Gamma 2.2

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #19375 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 09:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 5
I found one post earlier that had a similar problem but the only response was from someone saying their's didn't do that. And maybe a few random posts in the owner's thread.

My wifi connection worked fine for several weeks (new mid November) but now after an earlier failure that was restored by re-entering the password, after a period of poor quality and drop outs on Netflix, it seems to have failed and won't take passwords - the first couple of tries trying to set up, it reported the password entered was wrong. It does work fine on new ethernet connection and other inputs. Also other devices work fine on the network, no changes to the devices, modem, etc., nor password changes. So the problem seems centered in the TV wireless connection? I expect to contact Costco or LG in the next day or so for repair.

Note that the tv has taken the on line firmware update but I haven't manually entered firmware. Also, aside from a tiny tint on the left side, I haven't noticed any panel issues nor have I tried to do any more explicit checks. I figure if they aren't obvious, I probably will be happier if I don't try to find them and succeed so exchange is probably not a first choice.
ChinoHills is offline  
post #19376 of 36884 Old 01-11-2018, 10:02 PM
Member
 
aj_hix36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is there any solution to the lipsync issues via ARC? I have it set to -5 which is almost ok enough for DTS, but still way off with Dolby Digital.
aj_hix36 is offline  
post #19377 of 36884 Old 01-12-2018, 02:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 804 Post(s)
Liked: 632
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
Welcome to the club!

FYI, Rtings reviewed the C7 in April 2017, and their settings are based on much older firmware. There's been several updates and new added picture modes since then. May I suggest trying out the technicolor Expert picture mode with the below settings. The technicolor Expert picture mode is the most accurate in terms of white balance and color performance. For regular TV watching and Blu-ray ( 1080P ) movies, this is really the best way to go. In know this to be true because I fully calibrated my TV using a different picture mode, and I could barely tell the difference between that and technicolor Expert.

SDR - technicolor Expert

OLED LIGHT: 60 ( This setting is for a medium bright to dim room. If you have a darker environment, I would lower the OLED LIGHT to around 40-50; or whatever is comfortable for you. )
Contrast : 85
Brightness: 50
Sharpness: 10
Color: 48
Tint: 0

EXPERT CONTROLS
Dynamic Contrast: Off
Super Resolution: Off
Color Gamut: Auto
Edge Enhancer: On
Color Filter: Off
Gamma 2.2
Hi sonoftumble,
I would agree that these settings look great in Technicolor Expert.

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is offline  
post #19378 of 36884 Old 01-12-2018, 03:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bern
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
Just got my 65" C7 (manufactured in Dec, 2017) and was not pleased with the picture out of the box. I updated the firmware and used the basic settings on rtings.com and it improved dramatically.

I don't have any 4k material to try out but my Bell FibeTV, OTA channels, and HTPC look great. Glad to finally join the OLED club.
Can you please tell m how to check when the panel was made (manufacture date)?

Thank you
tekaefixe is offline  
post #19379 of 36884 Old 01-12-2018, 04:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by tekaefixe View Post
Can you please tell m how to check when the panel was made (manufacture date)?

Thank you
Check the serial number of the TV, first number is year and the 2next numbers is month. For instance 710 means October 2017. You have this number on the box, on the back of the tv or on the About TV inside the general menu.

Enviado do meu ONEPLUS A3003 através do Tapatalk
audit13 and sonoftumble like this.
Rafael_Pinto is online now  
post #19380 of 36884 Old 01-12-2018, 04:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by tekaefixe View Post
Can you please tell m how to check when the panel was made (manufacture date)?

Thank you
theres also often a production date in the back.
ex..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	edited IMG_20171211_134102.jpg
Views:	146
Size:	856.8 KB
ID:	2344382  
audit13 and tekaefixe like this.
GroupDenmark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off