2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 648 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980529Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19411 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 03:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
I suggest getting a good UPS, something like the APC SmartUPS 1500 (I use one of those for all my stuff) which can handle brownouts and frequency issues and surges and such. They are bit pricey, but not compared to the equipment you would be connecting to it.
I have this same UPS. Everything goes through it except TV and receiver are in surge only (no backup). Do you have everything into backup? I would never have considered plugging our old plasma (energy hog) into a backup outlet, but these TVs no doubt use much less juice. Under our current setup, modem, switch, TiVo, Apple TV, and Roku are on backup. If we have a short power outage, all TiVo recordings and data stream keeps going.
OddyOh and mscottc like this.
robnalex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19412 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 03:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 4,640
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1520 Post(s)
Liked: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnalex View Post
They call it Motion Pro. Will our 2017 sets get it via firmware?
I've no idea why people want BFI. The flickering is insane.
WilliamG is offline  
post #19413 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 03:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,393
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2720 Post(s)
Liked: 2477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eclipse01 View Post
when you say standard you mean 1080P content as well right?
I didn't say "standard" but I think you are referring to SDR ( Standard Dynamic Range ) which would include any content; i.e. 480P/720P/1080i/1080P/4K that does not contain an HDR, HLG, or DV signal. The dynamic ranges that the TV supports are resolution independent.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19414 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 03:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 4,640
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1520 Post(s)
Liked: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTonik View Post
It's definitely not ASBL. This is something else (its one of the Thumbs Down on the B7 review at Rtings). The screen brightness can, sometimes subtlety and sometimes dramatically, shift on each and every webpage, application switch, etc. It is a MAJOR issue for those of us using the panel as a monitor.
I notice that in The Grand Tour 4K HDR on Amazon Prime Video. Especially in the studio shots. There's absolutely a subtle brightness difference between shots. You can see it brighten and dim.
WilliamG is offline  
post #19415 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,393
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2720 Post(s)
Liked: 2477
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnalex View Post
@sonoftumble - How did you decide on 48 for color? I thought 50 was supposed to be right on the money.
When I was flipping back and forth between my super calibrated ISF Dark settings, and technicolor Expert, IMO the colors looked a bit too saturated @ 50 and looked more accurate ( especially the flesh tones ) with color set at 48.
robnalex likes this.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #19416 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 04:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BPlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,324
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 433 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isles View Post
Would it make more sense to purchase a B7A with the SJ9 sound bar vs getting the C7?
Absolutely, if it saves you money and you are happy with the minor cosmetic differences in the trim annd base.
BPlayer is offline  
post #19417 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 04:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Eclipse01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Chippewa Falls, WI
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 367 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
I didn't say "standard" but I think you are referring to SDR ( Standard Dynamic Range ) which would include any content; i.e. 480P/720P/1080i/1080P/4K that does not contain an HDR, HLG, or DV signal. The dynamic ranges that the TV supports are resolution independent.
oops, yeah...thanks my bad
sonoftumble likes this.

LG OLED B7A 65"
Philips BDP7501 UHD Blu Ray player
Apple TV4
Onkyo TX-SR606
Harmony Elite
Eclipse01 is offline  
post #19418 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 05:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,708
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1476 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnalex View Post
I have this same UPS. Everything goes through it except TV and receiver are in surge only (no backup). Do you have everything into backup? I would never have considered plugging our old plasma (energy hog) into a backup outlet, but these TVs no doubt use much less juice. Under our current setup, modem, switch, TiVo, Apple TV, and Roku are on backup. If we have a short power outage, all TiVo recordings and data stream keeps going.
My SmartUPS 1500 has 8 powered outlets and 0 surge only. I have never seen one that did anything else unless you go down toe a BackUPS 1500 which is a much much lesser model (not sine wave output, no brownout protection, etc). Mine is the APC SUA1500 from a few years ago. Big heavy brick.

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #19419 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 05:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,654
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1130 Post(s)
Liked: 718
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
My SmartUPS 1500 has 8 powered outlets and 0 surge only. I have never seen one that did anything else unless you go down toe a BackUPS 1500 which is a much much lesser model (not sine wave output, no brownout protection, etc). Mine is the APC SUA1500 from a few years ago. Big heavy brick.
I personally like Cyberpower CP1500AVRLCD. I have these and the predecessor model all over my home. 2 drive my home theater, 1 for my AVR the other for the TV, BD, Shield, etc.

https://www.amazon.com/CyberPower-CP...cyberpower+ups


Then for my subs I put a line conditioner on each

https://www.amazon.com/APC-LE1200-Au...ne+conditioner

Additionally my electrical panel has a whole house surge suppressor.
OddyOh likes this.

Sony 77A9G (Also XBR65X900E and XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is online now  
post #19420 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 05:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
My SmartUPS 1500 has 8 powered outlets and 0 surge only. I have never seen one that did anything else unless you go down toe a BackUPS 1500 which is a much much lesser model (not sine wave output, no brownout protection, etc). Mine is the APC SUA1500 from a few years ago. Big heavy brick.
Mine is the "much lesser" BackUPS Pro 1500.
robnalex is offline  
post #19421 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 05:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,708
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1476 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnalex View Post
Mine is the "much lesser" BackUPS Pro 1500.
The ability to have the UPS handle a low (or worse yet high) voltage by going through the inverter and putting out the correct voltage is rather handy (and likely a solution to this power problem).

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #19422 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 06:59 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,965
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6871 Post(s)
Liked: 6870
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isles View Post
Would it make more sense to purchase a B7A with the SJ9 sound bar vs getting the C7?
Surprised more people do not make this choice.....
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #19423 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 08:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Venomous21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
The ability to have the UPS handle a low (or worse yet high) voltage by going through the inverter and putting out the correct voltage is rather handy (and likely a solution to this power problem).
Both units have automatic voltage regulation. Besides capacity and rated surge protection, the big difference I see is pure sine wave output, which is cleaner than simulated sine wave. That having been said, a bad surge or lightning strike could easily fry both units and possibly more.
Venomous21 is offline  
post #19424 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 09:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isles View Post
Would it make more sense to purchase a B7A with the SJ9 sound bar vs getting the C7?
Sure if you don't mind the cosmetic difference. Seems it would make sense if planning almost any sort of external sound system.
ChinoHills is offline  
post #19425 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 09:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,690
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1044 Post(s)
Liked: 878
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsorensen View Post
I suggest getting a good UPS, something like the APC SmartUPS 1500 (I use one of those for all my stuff) which can handle brownouts and frequency issues and surges and such. They are bit pricey, but not compared to the equipment you would be connecting to it.
I used to have several of the APC units but have since switched over to all Cyperpower units. My electronic equipment seems to like their output better than the APC’s.
kluken likes this.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #19426 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 09:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,708
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1476 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venomous21 View Post
Both units have automatic voltage regulation. Besides capacity and rated surge protection, the big difference I see is pure sine wave output, which is cleaner than simulated sine wave. That having been said, a bad surge or lightning strike could easily fry both units and possibly more.
I didn't think the backups had that, but apparently these days they do. I guess the other difference is all ports being powered on the smartups then other than the pure sine wave output (I have some computer equipment that requires proper sine wave input so I only have the smartups around, although I bought my last one reconditioned which was pretty cheap).

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #19427 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 09:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
UnnDunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isles View Post
Would it make more sense to purchase a B7A with the SJ9 sound bar vs getting the C7?
If you're using a soundbar or AV system, save the money and just get the B7. The more expensive models only make sense if you will rely on the TV speakers or you want a 77" panel.

LG OLED55B7A | Xbox One X | Sony STR-K790
UnnDunn is offline  
post #19428 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 10:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
I've no idea why people want BFI. The flickering is insane.
Options are good. Maybe it's not a solution that always works, but perhaps it could improve particular types of content.

I've never played around with BFI - the C7 is the first decent AV setup I've ever owned. But my naive, totally unresearched thinking would be that a 120Hz display would play film-rate content with BFI as AAAAXBBBBXCCCCX... where X indicates a black frame. Still basically doing 24x5=120, but using one of those 5 frames as a black frame. That doesn't seem like it should create dramatic flickering or brightness drops. But I don't know anything. Is that the way current implementations work?
tppytel is offline  
post #19429 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 10:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 4,640
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1520 Post(s)
Liked: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by tppytel View Post
Options are good. Maybe it's not a solution that always works, but perhaps it could improve particular types of content.

I've never played around with BFI - the C7 is the first decent AV setup I've ever owned. But my naive, totally unresearched thinking would be that a 120Hz display would play film-rate content with BFI as AAAAXBBBBXCCCCX... where X indicates a black frame. Still basically doing 24x5=120, but using one of those 5 frames as a black frame. That doesn't seem like it should create dramatic flickering or brightness drops. But I don't know anything. Is that the way current implementations work?
My memory stinks, but I remember using the Samsung KS8000 BFI, and it flickered noticeably during 24p playback.
WilliamG is offline  
post #19430 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 10:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Surprised more people do not make this choice.....
Exactly what I did, just 1 week ago. No regrets. Super happy.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
U-Volt is offline  
post #19431 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 10:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Thanks for the insight everyone. Hopefully I’ll get the store credit in the mail this week. Is there anything I should look for in the TV before the exchange period ends?
Quote:
Originally Posted by U-Volt View Post
Exactly what I did, just 1 week ago. No regrets. Super happy.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Did you get the SJ9 or something else?

Last edited by Isles; 01-12-2018 at 11:01 PM.
Isles is offline  
post #19432 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 11:01 PM
Member
 
Muyfa666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Have the .38 update for Europe surfaced anywhere yet?
Muyfa666 is offline  
post #19433 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 11:03 PM
Senior Member
 
blackjackmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Really surprised this announcement from Dolby regarding the gray bars in playback of UHD titles and streaming through external devices hasn’t gotten much chatter. Basically Dolby admitted they found an issue, and has passed on the info to LG, but now we wait for LG to incorporate the fix and push out a new firmware update.

Wonder how long it will take for LG to get it out?

https://www.forbes.com/sites/johnarc.../#df72e602906b
WilliamG, OddyOh and sonoftumble like this.

LG OLED65C7P / Denon AVR-X4300H / Oppo UDP-203 / Apple TV 4K
blackjackmark is offline  
post #19434 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 11:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isles View Post
Would it make more sense to purchase a B7A with the SJ9 sound bar vs getting the C7?


B to C is $100. SJ9 is $900 and C sound is nowhere near that of a SJ9. Not sure how that is an either/or choice, you should definitely go B & SJ9. Hell if you prefer the black bezel, a C & SJ9 would be the right choice.

Soundbars are nice but after having what some call “the best” Sony HT-ST5000 for a month, I just can’t get over how hollow they and my previous soundbar sound compared to an amp and just a pair of towers which I just set up today. Quality stereo sounds infinitely better than 7.1.2 “surround sound”. If you can fit real speakers and an AVR go that route instead.

The B or C is definitely the right choice though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Houdini415 is offline  
post #19435 of 36735 Old 01-12-2018, 11:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,570
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6649 Post(s)
Liked: 6471
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackjackmark View Post
Really surprised this announcement from Dolby regarding the gray bars in playback of UHD titles and streaming through external devices hasn’t gotten much chatter. Basically Dolby admitted they found an issue, and has passed on the info to LG, but now we wait for LG to incorporate the fix and push out a new firmware update.



Wonder how long it will take for LG to get it out?



https://www.forbes.com/sites/johnarc.../#df72e602906b


It did get some chatter, 2 days ago when that article was posted
Ph8te is offline  
post #19436 of 36735 Old 01-13-2018, 12:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,393
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2720 Post(s)
Liked: 2477
For me this was the most interesting info panel in LG's booth at CES. Good news! The 2017's will get a FW update that will support these new HDR formats.

Attached photo
robnalex, OddyOh, skip61 and 4 others like this.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700

Last edited by sonoftumble; 05-19-2019 at 09:14 AM.
sonoftumble is offline  
post #19437 of 36735 Old 01-13-2018, 12:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,517
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3103 Post(s)
Liked: 3819
^^^at least we won't be forgotten Lol! Anxious to see what advanced Technicolor hdr brings.
Datagg and sonoftumble like this.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #19438 of 36735 Old 01-13-2018, 01:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Anyone using Apple tv and Denon X7200WA here? Don't remember seeing X7200WA supports DV. How do you hook up Apple tv, X7200WA and B7/C7?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
cychua is offline  
post #19439 of 36735 Old 01-13-2018, 05:35 AM
Senior Member
 
mscottc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnalex View Post
I have this same UPS. Everything goes through it except TV and receiver are in surge only (no backup). Do you have everything into backup? I would never have considered plugging our old plasma (energy hog) into a backup outlet, but these TVs no doubt use much less juice. Under our current setup, modem, switch, TiVo, Apple TV, and Roku are on backup. If we have a short power outage, all TiVo recordings and data stream keeps going.
I do the same, with different equipment. All networking and computers, including DVRs, are on full backup; all displays are on surge protection. But in the case of the OP with his continuous power dips and surges, perhaps he should have his display on the full UPS.
mscottc is offline  
post #19440 of 36735 Old 01-13-2018, 06:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
So I have the B7, and the built in Amazon app seems to be finicky. It will start playing stuff on Amazon in Hd, then after a few minutes the picture will get a bit blurry, especially on faces. Then it will go back to Hd and then back and forth for the duration of the show. I don't think it's an internet bandwidth connection as I pay for 60 MBs per second. Anyone have an idea on why the HD looks a little fuzzy on the Amazon app?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk
david.klein.7165 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off