2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 661 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980516Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19801 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 12:46 AM
Member
 
stevekaden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West LA
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I use a Luminoodle for ambient light on a Sony 940d. Using the set's USB it turns on, but won't turn off reliably and if it does, later spontaneously turns on. I had to use a separate control.

I am about to mount a new (to be delivered) C7P tomorrow - it would help to know if the Luminoodle-USB actually works consistently. Anyone try this yet?

Thanks.

Partying my new XBR75-X940D, soon new Denon X4200 AVR
stevekaden is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19802 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 03:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
49Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Removed

removed

Sony 4K XBR55X930E, Sony 4K UBPX800 Blu-Ray Player, Sony HTST 5000 SoundBar, DirecTV 4K HS17 w/2 Mini Genies, Panamax MR5100 Power Manager, Harmony Elite Remote, Monoprice Cables

Last edited by 49Merc; 01-18-2018 at 03:08 AM.
49Merc is offline  
post #19803 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 03:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Deckard71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
Anyone reading, DO NOT DO THIS. This utterly murders any blacks you used to enjoy on OLED. OLEDs actually have a very limited brightness range so as to not elevate those blacks.


Well, when I followed the calibration guide, I got a value of 56 for Brightness, so that reco of 55 is not crazy

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Displays: LG 65C7V - Epson TW7000 - Panasonic 50PZ80
5.2.2: Focal Aria 948/CC900/906 - 2x BK XLS200 MK2 - B&W CCM362
Electronics: Marantz SR7013 - Emotiva A300 - Oppo 203 - PS4 Pro
Deckard71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19804 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 03:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 4,640
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1520 Post(s)
Liked: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deckard71 View Post
Well, when I followed the calibration guide, I got a value of 56 for Brightness, so that reco of 55 is not crazy
You won’t get decent blacks at that brightness. I found even 52 noticeably raised black levels in a dark room. If you’re in a well-lit room you may not notice.
bigzee3 likes this.
WilliamG is offline  
post #19805 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 03:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Deckard71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 115
2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
Several things on several different levels:



1) User interface and operating system.

2) The ONLY streamer available today that supports BOTH HDR-10 AND Dolby Vision.

3) Frame rate and dynamic range matching options.

4) Every major streaming app ( including Amazon Prime ) is available, so your online video libraries are all available.

5) iTunes - Movies and TV - extremely extensive selection with exclusive extras

6) Thousands of apps and games

7) World class U.S. based support and frequent OS and functionality updates



Pretty much the only thing missing is Atmos ( lossy ) audio. Coming to a future update near you.



As David Katzmaier (CNET) stated in his review: "The Apple TV 4K delivers the best streaming video available to compatible 4K, HDR and Dolby Vision TVs. It offers the most polished streaming experience today, the best remote on the market and excellent Siri voice options


Yes, but there areas where Apple TV is behind other streamers:

- No support of Lossless Audio. So all you get is 1998 audio formats

- No support of Atmos
mjwagner and JRomulus like this.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Displays: LG 65C7V - Epson TW7000 - Panasonic 50PZ80
5.2.2: Focal Aria 948/CC900/906 - 2x BK XLS200 MK2 - B&W CCM362
Electronics: Marantz SR7013 - Emotiva A300 - Oppo 203 - PS4 Pro
Deckard71 is offline  
post #19806 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 04:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Soundizer17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 767 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deckard71 View Post
Yes, but there areas where Apple TV is behind other streamers:

- No support of Lossless Audio. So all you get is 1998 audio formats

- No support of Atmos


It does support loosless audio. LPCM 5.1 AND 7.1 LOSSLESS.

DOLBY ATMOS IS ON THE WAY AS WELL AS OTHER FEATURES.
sonoftumble likes this.
Soundizer17 is offline  
post #19807 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 04:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Deckard71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundizer17 View Post
It does support loosless audio. LPCM 5.1 AND 7.1 LOSSLESS.



DOLBY ATMOS IS ON THE WAY AS WELL AS OTHER FEATURES.

1. No. PCM stream is only for DD and DTS. Not for DTS-MA or Dolby TrueHD

2. That is a gossip or a promise at best. TODAY it does not support Atmos

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Displays: LG 65C7V - Epson TW7000 - Panasonic 50PZ80
5.2.2: Focal Aria 948/CC900/906 - 2x BK XLS200 MK2 - B&W CCM362
Electronics: Marantz SR7013 - Emotiva A300 - Oppo 203 - PS4 Pro
Deckard71 is offline  
post #19808 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 05:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjwagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kutztown, PA
Posts: 1,676
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1034 Post(s)
Liked: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
... The environment is curated - which is a good thing. ...
That is my point. I don't need or want someone policing the environment for me. I prefer to have that control myself thank you. Others prefer a "curated" (more closed) environment...to each his own.

Mark
mjwagner is offline  
post #19809 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 05:50 AM
Senior Member
 
QN52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by avsninja View Post
for sure? i might have to make the switch if/when that happens

does the atv4k have a way i can play movies directly from my NAS? with the shield tv i can mount a samba share and just play movies directly that way
i use a program called Infuse (which you download from the App Store on the ATV) to stream movies, etc. from my WD MyCloud Hard Drive.
QN52 is offline  
post #19810 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 05:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThierryXN View Post
When using a pattern (like this one: https://youtu.be/8b3CUm8j4DE), I need to bump up my Brightness to 56-58 range. Is this a case of "everyone's panel is different"? Did I do something wrong? I think knocking back down to 50-51 shows more flashing bars.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Raising brightness above 51/52 removes the ability for the TV to display absolute black no matter what gamma is selected.
An easy test is to put your face up to the screen while watching a black slide in the dark (after eyes have adjusted) and raise brightness up and down around 51.
A good calibration of SDR with a meter can keep brightness at 51/52, retain absolute black and display the bars up to 17 correctly.

LGOLED55C7P - Calman Enthusiast - I1Display / I1Pro
PeteNeat is offline  
post #19811 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 06:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Without calibration with a meter you can pseudo attack the issue keeping black and remove some of the ‘crush’ by raising 5IRE by 5 or 6 points.

LGOLED55C7P - Calman Enthusiast - I1Display / I1Pro
PeteNeat is offline  
post #19812 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 06:13 AM
Member
 
Injector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by onaga View Post
A quick question guys, is energy saving: Auto the ambient light sensor?
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteNeat View Post
^Turn it off. It's just to appease regulations.
I was doing the math the other day. The Energy Star sticker says the TV will use 174kWh over the course of a year when using it an average of 5 hours a day. So 174000 Watthours per year / 5 hours / 365 days is approximately 95 Watts.

While the label on the (US 55B7A) power supply says it's capable of drawing 3.7 Amps at 120 Volts. That's 444 Watts. (Note: My 50" Pioneer plasma would use over 700W to show a full white screen.)

The energy saving features will severely limit the performance of the TV, but allows them to say you'll only use 174kWh a year.

Last edited by Injector; 01-18-2018 at 07:18 AM.
Injector is offline  
post #19813 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 07:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BPlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevekaden View Post
I use a Luminoodle for ambient light on a Sony 940d. Using the set's USB it turns on, but won't turn off reliably and if it does, later spontaneously turns on. I had to use a separate control.

I am about to mount a new (to be delivered) C7P tomorrow - it would help to know if the Luminoodle-USB actually works consistently. Anyone try this yet?

Thanks.
It works consistently on my C7P, and never turns back on once it is off (and the TV is off).

1. Under normal operations it turns off about 1 second after the TV is turned off
2. When the screen refresh is running (after 4 hours of use) it turns off after about 5 minutes when the refresh is complete
3. I assume it will be on for 1 hour duration when the maintenance cycle is being run (I think this is at 1,000 hours usage)
stevekaden likes this.
BPlayer is offline  
post #19814 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 07:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
May I also recommend that you get an AppleTV 4K and return the Roku, or give it to a family member. That way, you will be too busy watching to have time for posting!
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilmonstertruk View Post
I second the ATV 4k. I hate apple but this device is awesome as all hell
I'm waiting for a firmware update that will fix this issue. Apparently one is on the way.
robnalex is offline  
post #19815 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 07:58 AM
Senior Member
 
onaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteNeat View Post
Raising brightness above 51/52 removes the ability for the TV to display absolute black no matter what gamma is selected.
An easy test is to put your face up to the screen while watching a black slide in the dark (after eyes have adjusted) and raise brightness up and down around 51.
A good calibration of SDR with a meter can keep brightness at 51/52, retain absolute black and display the bars up to 17 correctly.
My Display show absolute black with brightness at 53, 54 raise it that but its still pretty dark.

as as you say, with calibration you can do wonders, but not everybody calibrate or can effort a calibrator.

Last edited by onaga; 01-18-2018 at 08:16 AM.
onaga is offline  
post #19816 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 08:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So my B7 arrived earlier today. I have just powered this bad boy on for the first time and played some 4K HDR demos...



Holy f***
macieqq is offline  
post #19817 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 08:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chrisherbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5,846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deckard71 View Post
Yes, but there areas where Apple TV is behind other streamers:

- No support of Lossless Audio. So all you get is 1998 audio formats

- No support of Atmos
Apple TV doesn't do 4K YouTube, right? That's the only thing keeping me away, really. I have a Shield but never warmed up to Android TV.
chrisherbert is offline  
post #19818 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 08:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Deckard71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisherbert View Post
Apple TV doesn't do 4K YouTube, right? That's the only thing keeping me away, really. I have a Shield but never warmed up to Android TV.


You have a 4K TV, right? So why do you care about YouTube in the Apple TV? Just use the app of your TV

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Displays: LG 65C7V - Epson TW7000 - Panasonic 50PZ80
5.2.2: Focal Aria 948/CC900/906 - 2x BK XLS200 MK2 - B&W CCM362
Electronics: Marantz SR7013 - Emotiva A300 - Oppo 203 - PS4 Pro
Deckard71 is offline  
post #19819 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,903
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6843 Post(s)
Liked: 6838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Injector View Post
I was doing the math the other day. The Energy Star sticker says the TV will use 174kWh over the course of a year when using it an average of 5 hours a day. So 174000 Watthours per year / 5 hours / 365 days is approximately 95 Watts.

While the label on the (US 55B7A) power supply says it's capable of drawing 3.7 Amps at 120 Volts. That's 444 Watts. (Note: My 50" Pioneer plasma would use over 700W to show a full white screen.)

The energy saving features will severely limit the performance of the TV, but allows them to say you'll only use 174kWh a year.
Number manipulation......happens everyday....
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #19820 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 08:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
49Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 134
How much of a bummer would be getting a C7 55” rather than 65”?

My wife purchased as a surprise for me and I really hate to hurt her feelings. The 55” is so much cheaper. BB had to order it so there is time to cancel. FYI, we have a 55” LG 1080p now so viewing distance is no problem.

Sony 4K XBR55X930E, Sony 4K UBPX800 Blu-Ray Player, Sony HTST 5000 SoundBar, DirecTV 4K HS17 w/2 Mini Genies, Panamax MR5100 Power Manager, Harmony Elite Remote, Monoprice Cables

Last edited by 49Merc; 01-18-2018 at 08:55 AM.
49Merc is offline  
post #19821 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 08:57 AM
Senior Member
 
canali12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: wetcoast canada
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 41
i agree on the apple 4k tv...love it...was to spend $800 on an oppo 203 4k bluray player but decided against it for now.
(sony 4k xb700 blu ray player coming out this yr looks interesting, however: will upscale to 4k and also
do dolby atmos, dolby vision and have netflix apps).
canali12 is offline  
post #19822 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 09:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevekaden View Post
I use a Luminoodle for ambient light on a Sony 940d. Using the set's USB it turns on, but won't turn off reliably and if it does, later spontaneously turns on. I had to use a separate control.

I am about to mount a new (to be delivered) C7P tomorrow - it would help to know if the Luminoodle-USB actually works consistently. Anyone try this yet?

Thanks.
I talked to LG and they told me not to use the USB for that purpose. It is only .5A whereas the Luminoodle requires 1A. They said the USB is not designed for powering or charging. It is meant to use with flash drives. I use a seperate USB converter plugged into the wall. The remote turns the LED light strip off just fine.
stevekaden likes this.
aftontrix2 is offline  
post #19823 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 09:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 3,092
Mentioned: 97 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2437 Post(s)
Liked: 2287
The LG OLEDs seem to perform HDR10 tone mapping based upon the Max Luminance value in the HDR metadata (as previously reported by others in this forum). Even though this value represents the mastering display's capabilities. The MaxCLL metadata value represents the highest brightness reached in the disc.

The new Blade Runner 2049 UHD disc (USA version) has HDR10 metadata with Max Luminance at 10,000 nits and MaxCLL at 181 nits. That is a huge difference if LG adjusts tone mapping based on the 10,000 nit value instead of the 181 nits maximum brightness level.

I used an HDfury Vertex 4k video processor to capture the HDR10 metadata and to replace the 10,000 nit Max Luminance value with 1000 nits instead before the signal is sent to my LG B7A. All other HDR10 metadata was sent unchanged.

It made a very significant impact on the overall brightness of the picture, brighter highlights, and more detail in dark scenes.

I think it is a mistake on LG's part to be tone mapping based on whether a disc is mastered at 1000, 1100, 4000, and now even 10000 nits. Those values don't represent the highest brightness present in the content; only the capabilities of the mastering display used.
samovies10 and philphluter like this.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral

Last edited by claw; 01-18-2018 at 09:46 AM.
claw is offline  
post #19824 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pooty View Post
Hi Jordan,

Thanks for the information. Man, this problem is unacceptable for a TV of this price.

Another thing that I forgot to mention. Often, when I would delete and reinstall the Amazon app, the TV would take forever just to download it. This is when I would completely reset the TV to factory settings and reload everything. After that, the Amazon app would download in about 5 seconds.

I wonder if this is happening only on the Costco versions?

Anyway, I'll give it a few more weeks (it has been working flawlessly for the last few days) and if no improvement, I'm going to have Costco switch it out.

Again, thanks for the info.
My wireless is fine. I routinely max out Netflix's speed test. So maybe something is wrong with your chip?
akmandal is offline  
post #19825 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 09:45 AM
Member
 
RamGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Still no 04.70.36 in Europe? What is taking so long?
RamGuy is offline  
post #19826 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 09:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lsorensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by RamGuy View Post
Still no 04.70.36 in Europe? What is taking so long?
Testing the DV HDMI fix?

Len Sorensen

Sony XBR55A1E, Marantz SR6012, Benq W7000, Oppo BDP-93, PSB Image T5/C5/B4/Subseries 200
lsorensen is offline  
post #19827 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 10:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,393
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2720 Post(s)
Liked: 2477
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwagner View Post
That is my point. I don't need or want someone policing the environment for me. I prefer to have that control myself thank you.
Dude. You don't have control over what gets put on the Google play store - and they don't bother to check if it's legit until there's enough complaints - then they will finally take a look - and pull the offending app. But by then, it's too late for millions of people and $'s. Do you also refuse to wear seatbelts when you drive your car?

Curation is a GOOD thing in this day and age. In the Android environment, all you have control over is downloading every piece of craptastic malware available, because that is the only ecosystem where it is allowed. You know - all first run movies - but somehow they're free.

Apple won't let that crap go on their servers - and therefore their products - because they care about their customer's privacy, security. and product enjoyment. Apple is not the malware police, but at the same time, they are not going to let a stray dog into your house where it can go #2 on your Persian rug.

It's really more like the wild wild west with bad water and no refrigeration vs. modern civilization. I choose the later.
bbbobbb, stevekaden and adcustom like this.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #19828 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 10:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,393
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2720 Post(s)
Liked: 2477
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
The LG OLEDs seem to perform HDR10 tone mapping based upon the Max Luminance value in the HDR metadata (as previously reported by others in this forum). Even though this value represents the mastering display's capabilities. The MaxCLL metadata value represents the highest brightness reached in the disc.

The new Blade Runner 2049 UHD disc (USA version) has HDR10 metadata with Max Luminance at 10,000 nits and MaxCLL at 181 nits. That is a huge difference if LG adjusts tone mapping based on the 10,000 nit value instead of the 181 nits maximum brightness level.

I used an HDfury Vertex 4k video processor to capture the HDR10 metadata and to replace the 10,000 nit Max Luminance value with 1000 nits instead before the signal is sent to my LG B7A. All other HDR10 metadata was sent unchanged.

It made a very significant impact on the overall brightness of the picture, brighter highlights, and more detail in dark scenes.

I think it is a mistake on LG's part to be tone mapping based on whether a disc is mastered at 1000, 1100, 4000, and now even 10000 nits. Those values don't represent the highest brightness present in the content; only the capabilities of the mastering display used.
Technicolor Advanced HDR to the rescue!

Just curious, where do you look to find out the Max Luminance metadata of content? I know I can use my meter to read CLL. I thought that 10,000 nits was a DV spec. I didn't know that HDR10 tried to get anywhere near that. The only TV I'm aware of that can produce 10,000 nits is a demo panel that Sony was showing at CES this year. They wouldn't say, but I believe that they were using a laser based backlight to get it to 10,000. Don't expect to see that as a real product anytime soon.

They weren't doing any tone mapping because they didn't have to. If true, I think that Warner Bros made a huge mistake mastering it with a 10,000 nit ceiling - because for all of us with mere mortal TV's, we will always have to use tone mapping of some kind - unless Technicolor HDR gains traction - hoping it does.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #19829 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 10:25 AM
Member
 
carlson275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
All Technologies of today have screen uniformity issues.....
Anyone know why it is like That? And is there any hope for improvement?
carlson275 is offline  
post #19830 of 36688 Old 01-18-2018, 10:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,393
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2720 Post(s)
Liked: 2477
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnalex View Post
I'm waiting for a firmware update that will fix this issue. Apparently one is on the way.
I'm on Apple's beta test program. I'm currently running tvOS 11.2.5 ( beta 6 ), which fixes the problem. It will be released to the wild once the bug hunt is finished - which will be soon.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off