2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 683 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980167Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #20461 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 03:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 227 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2677 Post(s)
Liked: 2431
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
Hi,

I watch lots of Blu-rays which are 23.976 fps and I've seen posts that make reference to 24 fps content on AVS Forum.

Any idea where I would find content that would be at 24 fps?

Thanks.
You're kind of splitting hairs. From a video reference standpoint, 23.976 = 24 FPS. To get true 24 FPS you need to watch actual film. At that point you'll be in analog-land where 24FPS is an approximation based on the projector's motor performance.
audit13 and codyrocco like this.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20462 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 03:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 227 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2677 Post(s)
Liked: 2431
Quote:
Originally Posted by decibels View Post
Thank you sonoftumble, these are very helpful, would you suggest the SDR settings are best for watching HD channels from my cable box?
BTW, also replied to your post in the calibration thread.
Thank you. I use the SDR settings for EVERYTHING SDR. That's 720P/1080i sat/cable, 1080P Blu-ray's and 4K SDR found on Netflix and Amazon.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #20463 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 03:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,213
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
You're kind of splitting hairs. From a video reference standpoint, 23.976 = 24 FPS. To get true 24 FPS you need to watch actual film. At that point you'll be in analog-land where 24FPS is an approximation based on the projector's motor performance.
Thanks for the explanation.

I was asking because I noticed some video card makers refer to 23 as 23.976 FPS and 24 as meaning 24.000 FPS.

AFAIK, only a Haswell or newer intel gpu can playback 23.976 content at 23.976 while others can only do approximations of 23.976. I use a htpc to playback my media, be it from disk or hard drive.
sonoftumble likes this.
audit13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20464 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 03:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 227 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2677 Post(s)
Liked: 2431
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianmlamb View Post
I haven't tried out the wide color gamut yet, I've heard it's quite a nice effect for Pixar films or other animated shows.
Just an FYI, those gamut adjustments are LG enhanced interpretations. You will notice that the colors are more saturated but not necessarily accurate representations. They are certainly enjoyable. I tried it with "The Martian" UHD Blu-ray. It gave a whole new meaning to the saying: "The Red Planet"
audit13 likes this.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #20465 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 03:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
decibels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 511 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
Thank you. I use the SDR settings for EVERYTHING SDR. That's 720P/1080i sat/cable, 1080P Blu-ray's and 4K SDR found on Netflix and Amazon.
Great, thank you! I am watching golf right now and finding these settings work very well. Although, the colours could use a little more pop, maybe it is just the golf broadcast.

Preet
My humble yet growing like weeds SACD collection
HT: Anthem AVM60, Anthem MCA 50, Anthem PVA 7, Oppo BDP-103, Sony HAP-Z1ES, PS3, Graham Slee ULDE, Graham Slee ERA Gold V, Pioneer PL 518 turntable
SP: Paradigm Studio 100's, CC 690, Studio 20's SR, Studio 20's Atmos, SVS SB16 Ultra
decibels is offline  
post #20466 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 03:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 227 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2677 Post(s)
Liked: 2431
Quote:
Originally Posted by decibels View Post
Great, thank you! I am watching golf right now and finding these settings work very well. Although, the colours could use a little more pop, maybe it is just the golf broadcast.
Probably the broadcast.

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #20467 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 03:30 PM
Senior Member
 
ChicagoChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by decibels View Post
Great, thank you! I am watching golf right now and finding these settings work very well. Although, the colours could use a little more pop, maybe it is just the golf broadcast.


I think it is the broadcast. Watching it too and it looks dull. Most stuff looks way better


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
ChicagoChris is offline  
post #20468 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 03:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
decibels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 511 Post(s)
Liked: 355
^^

Great, thanks for the confirmation, I started playing with the colour settings to get something better and now I will go back to watching the golf

Preet
My humble yet growing like weeds SACD collection
HT: Anthem AVM60, Anthem MCA 50, Anthem PVA 7, Oppo BDP-103, Sony HAP-Z1ES, PS3, Graham Slee ULDE, Graham Slee ERA Gold V, Pioneer PL 518 turntable
SP: Paradigm Studio 100's, CC 690, Studio 20's SR, Studio 20's Atmos, SVS SB16 Ultra
decibels is offline  
post #20469 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 03:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
Dynamic Range matching means all dynamic range modes; i.e. SDR, HDR, DV, HLG, etc. Setting the home page to 4K HDR will only force HDR on the home page and associated screen saver. When you start playing SDR content, it will turn off HDR in favor of SDR and so on with HDR or DV etc.
That's what's supposed to happen, but the problem is it's reliant on the app-makers to use the new format-switching APIs to present the content specs properly so the ATV knows to "downshift" into SDR mode. And as of a few weeks ago at least, Playstation Vue was not using those APIs to say it was using SDR (they probably just don't use the APIs at all since all their content is currently SDR). So when the ATV was set to Dolby Vision, the screen savers would look great and Netflix would switch properly, but everything in the Playstation Vue app looked terrible because it was all SDR but the ATV was stuck in Dolby Vision (or HDR) mode and sending it to the tv. I had to set the ATV default mode to 4K SDR, which works for the content, but the aerial screen savers don't look quite as nice. Hopefully that's something Sony will fix, but there may be other streaming apps that have the same problem (Prime? Hulu? HBO?).
Nigel_Tufnel is offline  
post #20470 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 04:07 PM
Member
 
dbaresrc333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Reset TV to factory default, now point/click doesn't work

In preparation for getting my TV calibrated, I reset by B7 to initial settings (General : reset to initial settings). Now, the Bluetooth (or what ever it is) that does the point and click interface as well as the scroll wheel on the remote doesn't work. Other remote functionality works such as the wheel to select and the arrow keys. I've been through the remote reset (back and home key for 5-10 seconds) and while the TV says a new remote has been paired, still no luck. I've also pulled the brand new batteries and that hsn't made a difference. Any suggestions??

Thanks
dbaresrc333 is offline  
post #20471 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 04:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18,872
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6253 Post(s)
Liked: 5880
Quote:
Originally Posted by tybo1504 View Post
a while back a forum member created a very nice spreadsheet for the 2017 oled models of all the settings but it didnt have the technicolor update yet......anyone else know where this is.....

THANKS IN ADVANCE


https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...doO4UvVCCXtgFw
Ph8te is offline  
post #20472 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
onaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianmlamb View Post
Question for you on this. I like BT.1886 personally after trying out 2.2. I have the OLED Light at 80 though (which is technicolor default Out of Box). If I'm watching in a pitch black room should I drop my OLED light? I don't have a meter or any cool tools, I've just left it at 80 since that was the default setting and it looked good. I sometimes get some eye pain when it switches from dark to daylight extremely quickly in some shows but otherwise have been fine. No issues at all when I use the bias lighting.

Also curious what motion settings you use for Netflix or streamed content. I've been struggling to find a balance as it seems like I'm getting a lot of judder. Especially windows with any light coming through them and cameras panning. I've left Real Cinema on and flip between trumotion off, 0,0 or 2,10 yet find myself constantly changing them based on programming. I don't like SOE and miss my F8500 plasmas motion.
My opinion is there is only one answer possible. Gamma 2.2 is, was, and will be the standard. It is the standard for sRGB in our JPG, and Windows, and HDTV, and the internet, and at our photo processing labs, etc. CRTs were 2.2, more or less, Why fight it?

.When in doubt, it's usually best to go with the lighter gamma, as most people find overly crushed more distracting and difficult to watch than an image thats slightly lighter and brighter.
Gasaraki_ likes this.

Last edited by onaga; 01-25-2018 at 07:19 PM.
onaga is offline  
post #20473 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 05:38 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 23,809
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6303 Post(s)
Liked: 6309
Quote:
Originally Posted by tybo1504 View Post
a while back a forum member created a very nice spreadsheet for the 2017 oled models of all the settings but it didnt have the technicolor update yet......anyone else know where this is.....

THANKS IN ADVANCE
Trying to find a post is like trying to find a needle in the hey stack......
Datagg likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #20474 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 05:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
Yes, the Technicolor PM is pretty good. Just adjust the OLED level to your room lighting, adjust Tru-motion and enjoy the set. Cinema, not Cinema Home, is the most accurate for both HDR and DV.
is there a way to go an reset just the technicolor mode settings back to factory default....???
tybo1504 is offline  
post #20475 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 05:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Trying to find a post is like trying to find a needle in the hey stack......
i found it but he made the spreadsheet BEFORE the latest firmware update with the technicolor mode.......
tybo1504 is offline  
post #20476 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 06:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
XBR11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,496
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 805 Post(s)
Liked: 451
So should it be AUTO or WIDE?

I thought I heard that Auto had bugs? Does Wide introduce artifical colors?

_______________________________________________
[Listen Up - what does that audio or bass Acronym mean?! Click here to read.]
[See Here - what does that video Acronym mean?! Click here to read.]
XBR11 is offline  
post #20477 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 06:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,106
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2846 Post(s)
Liked: 3389
^^^if your referring to HDR, most recommend auto.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #20478 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 07:12 PM
Member
 
sox2115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by tybo1504 View Post
a while back a forum member created a very nice spreadsheet for the 2017 oled models of all the settings but it didnt have the technicolor update yet......anyone else know where this is.....

THANKS IN ADVANCE
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...XtgFw/htmlview
sox2115 is offline  
post #20479 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 07:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Datagg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by tybo1504 View Post
is there a way to go an reset just the technicolor mode settings back to factory default....???
On technicolor mode hit reset for that one only. This goes for all individual modes also.

LG C7 65"|Xbox One X|PS4 Pro|Nvidia Shield
Datagg is offline  
post #20480 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 07:57 PM
Member
 
kevleviathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by XBR11 View Post
I tried lowering my SDR sharpness below 10, and it softness the edges. 10 is the new 0.
This was discussed more here:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ole...l#post55495954

I'm still curious if anyone has any more information on the sharpness setting. Assuming EE is on, and sharpness is being set - does Sharpness 0 really mean that it's displaying the picture without additional sharpening? Or does it mean that it's actually softening the picture? Various posts seem to recommend either 0 or 10, but it's not clear what it's actually doing (and I don't have any test patterns to test it myself).

The post I linked to feels that 10 is a "safe" value that has no visible ringing - but is 10 really the new 0? Or is 10 just an acceptable amount of sharpening?
euckersw and Cam1977 like this.
kevleviathan is offline  
post #20481 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 07:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cam1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: El paso
Posts: 5,106
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2846 Post(s)
Liked: 3389
^^^definitely a good question, I have everything turned off with sharpness at 0, and good to go.
Cam1977 is online now  
post #20482 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 08:14 PM
Member
 
euckersw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Falls Church, VA
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
You may find yourself - like I have - turning Off Dynamic Range matching - depending on how much you like, or don't like Dolby Vision. In that instance I pretty much watch everything in 4K HDR. Please keep in mind that I'm not a "gotta have it" type when it comes to HDR, but Apple's implementation is excellent, and the PQ is such that I don't really notice anything looking "embellished" or overly enhanced. Of course it all comes down to personal preference.

I’m intrigued by this - especially for DV content on the ATV, which often looks too dark. What happens when you play DV content forcing HDR? Is the HDR setting able to capitalize on the DV content, or is it messing with things by mismatching DV with HDR?
euckersw is offline  
post #20483 of 35713 Old 01-25-2018, 09:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonoftumble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 227 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2677 Post(s)
Liked: 2431
Quote:
Originally Posted by euckersw View Post
I’m intrigued by this - especially for DV content on the ATV, which often looks too dark. What happens when you play DV content forcing HDR? Is the HDR setting able to capitalize on the DV content, or is it messing with things by mismatching DV with HDR?
Actually, there isn't much of a mystery to this. There are only a few brands of TV's, Blu-ray players, and streaming players that support both DV and HDR-10. So studios and mastering houses - as well as streaming services - have no choice but to offer two HDR layers on pretty much all content delivery. ( Obviously, I'm not referring to SDR content ) So, if you force HDR, the ATV will simply feed the HDR metadata layer instead of the DV metadata layer. That's also why the "Try Dolby Vision" option exists on the ATV.

How does it look? I think it looks better. Hard to explain, but the luminance range looks more linear and less random. Contrast and colors are better behaved and less extreme. Will it still melt your face when needed? Absolutely. It just won't give you a headache with gimmicky looking constant overblown embellishment. When in HDR mode, the LG will set Dynamic Contrast to "Low". This basically produces dynamic tone mapping similar to DV. Almost like HDR-10 plus.

I recommend using the HDR version of the technicolor Expert picture mode for the best PQ. Turn the basic Color setting down two clicks to 48 - and that's about it.

Sit back and enjoy!

LG OLED65C7P 4-20-19 Calibration SDR/HDR/DV FW 05.80.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...l#post57928994
VIZIO M70-D3 Calibration SDR/HDR FW 3.4.8.15: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post55595700
sonoftumble is offline  
post #20484 of 35713 Old 01-26-2018, 03:26 AM
Member
 
euckersw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Falls Church, VA
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 24
2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
So, if you force HDR, the ATV will simply feed the HDR metadata layer instead of the DV metadata layer. That's also why the "Try Dolby Vision" option exists on the ATV.

Especially given the limitations on calibrating DV on the LG, it sure sounds like forcing HDR might be the way to go. Thanks!

Last edited by euckersw; 01-26-2018 at 03:31 AM.
euckersw is offline  
post #20485 of 35713 Old 01-26-2018, 04:17 AM
Member
 
tripkip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I recently switched from a cable box to watching live TV using CI+ on my LG C7.
I was very surprised and disappointed that when you open the EPG the video and audio stops for 1-2sec, same when you exit the EPG.
This should have been designed better so that there is continuous video/audio in the small window in the EPG.
I guess there is no way this can be improved by a setting?
Is it the same behavior with other brands such as Sony or Samsung?
tripkip is offline  
post #20486 of 35713 Old 01-26-2018, 04:49 AM
Senior Member
 
adcustom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
You are welcome, and welcome to the C7 club!

HDR: technicolor Expert

BASIC SETTINGS:
OLED LIGHT: 70
Appreciate you sharing these settings, son. But doesn't OLED Light need to be at 100 for HDR mode? I always thought that was the case.

LG OLED55C7P • Denon AVR-X6400H • NAD Masters Series M22 • MartinLogan Motion 40 Towers, Motion 30 Center, Motion LX16 Surrounds, Dynamo 700W Sub • OPPO UDP-203 • Xbox One X • PS4 Pro
adcustom is offline  
post #20487 of 35713 Old 01-26-2018, 04:56 AM
Senior Member
 
usurpers26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Any other picture mode outside of "Game" will introduce higher input lag. Maybe you won't notice it depending on the games you play... I whole heartedly recommend searching for user @P40L0 - his game settings look fantastic, they are buried somewhere in the LG Calibration thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtcountry View Post
sonoftumble, do you recommend these same HDR settings for gaming on the PS4 Pro?
adcustom and sonoftumble like this.
usurpers26 is offline  
post #20488 of 35713 Old 01-26-2018, 06:12 AM
Senior Member
 
PlasmaHiDef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nigel_Tufnel View Post
That's what's supposed to happen, but the problem is it's reliant on the app-makers to use the new format-switching APIs to present the content specs properly so the ATV knows to "downshift" into SDR mode. And as of a few weeks ago at least, Playstation Vue was not using those APIs to say it was using SDR (they probably just don't use the APIs at all since all their content is currently SDR). So when the ATV was set to Dolby Vision, the screen savers would look great and Netflix would switch properly, but everything in the Playstation Vue app looked terrible because it was all SDR but the ATV was stuck in Dolby Vision (or HDR) mode and sending it to the tv. I had to set the ATV default mode to 4K SDR, which works for the content, but the aerial screen savers don't look quite as nice. Hopefully that's something Sony will fix, but there may be other streaming apps that have the same problem (Prime? Hulu? HBO?).
That is the only reason I set my default mode to 4K HDR, so that the home screen and screen savers look crisp.

Playstation definitely needs to fix their API issue. As you mentioned, with match dynamic range switched on,the ATV will switch from HDR to SDR when watching SDR material.
sonoftumble likes this.

LG OLED55B8PUA
LG OLED65C7P
LG UBK90
ATV 4K
Samsung HW-N950
PlasmaHiDef is offline  
post #20489 of 35713 Old 01-26-2018, 06:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 228
When Apps Misbehave

When Apps get funky, is there an easier way to reset them than deleting and reinstalling? Had a real PITA problem with Netflix last night: Couldn't exit the App- buttons wouldn't respond, or would take me to a black screen. Deleted, reinstalled and all is well. Is there a better way? Reboot the TV, maybe?
robnalex is offline  
post #20490 of 35713 Old 01-26-2018, 06:18 AM
Senior Member
 
ChicagoChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Anyone have a creative way to get Google Photos to show on your OLED? Right now i see the only way is with a Chomecast.
ChicagoChris is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off