2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 822 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980490Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #24631 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 08:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: chicago, IL USA
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by schizm83 View Post
I really don't know who launched the idea that 'raping' your tv with the comp cycles somehow removes that bars? Folks who say they've seen the improvement are really high on their placebo, they are convincing themselves things got better. You COULD get a mild improvement after couple of hundred hours, but you are the only witness here.

Comp cycles are made to clear the panel noise, the noise that stuck on the tv, like image retention which becomes possible burn-in. Here's LG's official words on that:

That bars are completely different topic, something to do with the proces of making the panel or applying some filter maybe, it's the production problem, and if you still have them after 500 hours they will stay there no matter what you do.

Seriously I have them too, plus some kind of dark blotch on the right side, you can see that when watching for example dimly Arrival movie, or Aronofsky's dark Mother, and you can't help yourself when your eyes immediately jump to that screen area, but nothing about that make me really really worry because most of the time the're not seen. Talking about the screen with mildly present bars.

I don't know about you, but when I watch a movie, I watch a movie, not the bars
Has anybody made a picture to match the vertical bars on their TV? You could make a picture, I don't know what color would best, to match the vertical bars and just play that picture for a couple hours a day. Eventually the bars will "even out".
mikek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24632 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
SonyTV101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonyTV101 View Post
Bb won’t return it since this is my second return he said he wouldn’t sell me a tv. Only refund.
I would get the refund and purchase elsewhere. You could always purchase from Amazon. If there is an issue, returning it is a very painless process.
I was thinking that it just takes like a month to get a tv from them 2-3 weeks. I could certainly try it. If not I could also wait to see what LG CS says.
SonyTV101 is offline  
post #24633 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 08:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: chicago, IL USA
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonyTV101 View Post
Bb won’t return it since this is my second return he said he wouldn’t sell me a tv. Only refund.
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
I would get the refund and purchase elsewhere. You could always purchase from Amazon. If there is an issue, returning it is a very painless process.
Yeah, what he said.

Are you going to get black-listed at BB? I doubt it. Also, it might be time to just wait on 2018 model.
mikek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24634 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 08:30 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 16,917
Mentioned: 125 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1947 Post(s)
Liked: 3777
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonyTV101 View Post
I was thinking that it just takes like a month to get a tv from them 2-3 weeks. I could certainly try it. If not I could also wait to see what LG CS says.
Understood. Something much be going on with AMZ right now for large TV dipeliveries. Earliest I could get a 65A1E, or any other 65”TV for that matter, is 3/26. Typically, I would get 2-4 day shipping window availability,
D-Nice is offline  
post #24635 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 08:38 AM
Senior Member
 
SonyTV101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikek View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonyTV101 View Post
Bb won’t return it since this is my second return he said he wouldn’t sell me a tv. Only refund.
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
I would get the refund and purchase elsewhere. You could always purchase from Amazon. If there is an issue, returning it is a very painless process.
Yeah, what he said.

Are you going to get black-listed at BB? I doubt it. Also, it might be time to just wait on 2018 model.
I was blacklisted back in 2013 from then lol.
SonyTV101 is offline  
post #24636 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 08:46 AM
Member
 
oldprof's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyabusha View Post
Can Alaxa turn on and off this TV? If so, how?
One way is to use a Harmony Hub, which does work with Alexa and will control the TV
oldprof is offline  
post #24637 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 09:03 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,785
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6789 Post(s)
Liked: 6791
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonyTV101 View Post
I was thinking that it just takes like a month to get a tv from them 2-3 weeks. I could certainly try it.
Usually less then 2 weeks, more like 10 days max with commercial freight....
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #24638 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 09:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnalex View Post
Disc or streamed?


The disc isn’t released yet. I believe the sdr digital release came out before the hdr release.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #24639 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 09:08 AM
Member
 
knowinnothin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anyone got experience changing the country code. I’ve got a Canadian model which doesn’t have the IP control menu so I’d like to change it to a u.s model so I can enable IP control.
knowinnothin is offline  
post #24640 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 09:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 574
Quote:
Originally Posted by knowinnothin View Post
Has anyone got experience changing the country code. I’ve got a Canadian model which doesn’t have the IP control menu so I’d like to change it to a u.s model so I can enable IP control.


I changed my webOS region temporarily from the service menu to get the UK apps. Not sure if that is the same thing.

LG OLED65C7P - Professionally Calibrated l Apple TV 4K l Microsoft Xbox One S l Sony STR-ZA1100ES l Polk Audio CS2 Series II Center Channel l Polk Audio Monitor 60 Series II Floorstanding L/R l Polk Audio Monitor 45B Rear Surround l Dual BIC V1220 Subwoofers
HD-Master is offline  
post #24641 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 09:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: chicago, IL USA
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Master View Post
I changed my webOS region temporarily from the service menu to get the UK apps. Not sure if that is the same thing.
Did that enable the recording feature?
mikek is offline  
post #24642 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 10:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 4,640
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1520 Post(s)
Liked: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
No tv I’ve ever seen reports the audio signal being sent. That’s for your AVR to tell you.
Like I said, the LG does report the audio signal being sent. The “Info” button (Harmony remote required) tells you right on the TV. ARC is quite different to regular audio signals since it STARTS at the TV.
WilliamG is offline  
post #24643 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 10:05 AM
Senior Member
 
thatJohann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: NYC
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 62
I still can’t believe that Disney and Apple haven’t figured out a deal for letting us stream 4K versions of their movies. It’s so annoying.

I have to switch to VUDU to watch Thor or Last Jedi. So dumb. Just make the Disney ones more expensive. I’d buy them at a higher price just to be able to use Apple TV 4K and nothing else.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
thatJohann is offline  
post #24644 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
SonyTV101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 55
So LG repair guy can come out this week and see what he can do, or should I return and try the whole exchange game with amazon?
SonyTV101 is offline  
post #24645 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 10:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 3,027
Mentioned: 84 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2377 Post(s)
Liked: 2238
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoftumble View Post
For a brief refresher course on Chroma Subsampling - 4:2:0 vs. 4:2:2 vs. 4:4:4 - and the benefits of one over the other, please read this short overview:

https://www.rtings.com/tv/learn/chroma-subsampling

Currently all UHD/HDR/WCG Blu-ray's are mastered and playback at 4K HDR 4:2:0 @ 24. You don't even need HDMI 2.0 ports because bandwidth usage is under 10.2Gb. An HDMI 1.4 port will work just fine. On our LG's they are all 2.0 so no bandwidth worries there.
To clarify, UHD discs encoded to 4K24 4:2:0 BT.2020 HDR will playback at either 4:2:2 or 4:4:4 depending upon the player and display combination. 4K24 4:2:0 is not supported in the HDMI 2.0 specification.

Bandwidth at 4K24 4:4:4 12-bit reaches 13.4 Gbps.

sonoftumble likes this.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral

Last edited by claw; 03-17-2018 at 12:47 PM.
claw is offline  
post #24646 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 10:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
TravisPNW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 568 Post(s)
Liked: 734
Man I gotta tell you... all this talk of vertical banding and returning TVs for a refund got me to thinking "well... let me check mine."

First thing I wanna say is I've had my 65B7A for 5 weeks and it has 300 hours on it... mostly UHD content. I haven't seen any dead pixels or distortion in the image quality.

So, I loaded up the YouTube banding test video... and...

... I'm doing cartwheels right now. I really feel like I hit the panel lottery jackpot with my 65B7A. I ran the 2%-40% slide video and the gray was uniform across the screen. NOTHING jumped out at me like the obvious vertical lines he showed in the video introduction and what I've seen in screenshots in this thread.

I also loaded up the XB1X gray settings page that he mentioned really shows vertical banding and... again... gray uniformity across the screen.

I run my OLED light at 16... but ran this test at 16, 50 and 100 and the results were the same. Any vertical banding present on my panel is so faint that I didn't notice it... and I have 20/20 vision.

$2500 well spent. Very happy.
michaelnel, skip61 and sonoftumble like this.

LG B7A OLED 65” / LG SJ9 Atmos Sound Bar / LG UP970 BR Player / Apple TV 4K
i7 7700k 11GB 1080 Ti 32GB Ram 2x 1TB 960 Evo / XBox One X / Nintendo Switch
Movie collection: https://www.blu-ray.com/community/co...3&categoryid=7
TravisPNW is offline  
post #24647 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 11:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lax01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,608
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnalex View Post
Disc or streamed?
Forgot to mention the TrueHD soundtrack Source was a disc

Josh
lax01 is offline  
post #24648 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 11:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
My tv has the vertical banding on slides but not on normal content. If I try to exchange it I may get one that is way worse and gets stuck pixels or something. I personally would say if you don’t see it on normal content then leave it alone. Only really worry about dead or stuck pixels.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #24649 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 11:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Dr Pepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 176
2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk)

So for you cable gurus out there, these popped up on my twitter feed the other day and I said hell for 5 bucks why not. Are these decent cables to use for my oppo 203 and atv4k to the B7 ?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
nathan_h, bbbobbb and PeeJHooK like this.
Dr Pepper is offline  
post #24650 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 12:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 796 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Pepper View Post
So for you cable gurus out there, these popped up on my twitter feed the other day and I said hell for 5 bucks why not. Are these decent cables to use for my oppo 203 and atv4k to the B7 ?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
They are the real deal.
cmdrdredd and PeeJHooK like this.

LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is online now  
post #24651 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 12:02 PM
Newbie
 
time lord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: uk
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I watched Blade Runner The Final Cut 4K recently on my 55c7.......it was jaw-dropping to say the least.
cmdrdredd likes this.
time lord is offline  
post #24652 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 12:02 PM
Member
 
bbbobbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Pepper View Post
So for you cable gurus out there, these popped up on my twitter feed the other day and I said hell for 5 bucks why not. Are these decent cables to use for my oppo 203 and atv4k to the B7 ?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Yep, that's the ones I use, for my ATV 4K, Opp 203, and Xfinity XG1V4...to my Denon X1300W to my B7. No cable issues for me.
cmdrdredd likes this.
bbbobbb is offline  
post #24653 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 12:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Hyabusha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldprof View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyabusha View Post
Can Alaxa turn on and off this TV? If so, how?
One way is to use a Harmony Hub, which does work with Alexa and will control the TV
Ok thanks

Video Games, and Home Theater Forever! ^_^

My Youtube Channel-https://www.youtube.com/rvspawn
Hyabusha is offline  
post #24654 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 12:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Dr Pepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbbobbb View Post
Yep, that's the ones I use, for my ATV 4K, Opp 203, and Xfinity XG1V4...to my Denon X1300W to my B7. No cable issues for me.


Quote:
Originally Posted by alexbarbel View Post
They are the real deal.

Good thanks!



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Dr Pepper is offline  
post #24655 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,770
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2412 Post(s)
Liked: 1712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Pepper View Post
So for you cable gurus out there, these popped up on my twitter feed the other day and I said hell for 5 bucks why not. Are these decent cables to use for my oppo 203 and atv4k to the B7 ?(snip)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I'm not a cable guru.

There have been a number of discussions here, should you wish to use the search feature.

The Monoprice certified cables are often recommended.

I'm using these:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

but I paid more like $8 apiece for them. I doubt that I'd buy them at the current price. They are only 1.5m (59") long, and not certified. Can't speak to the 27 Gbps claim.
bobknavs is offline  
post #24656 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 12:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 16,917
Mentioned: 125 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1947 Post(s)
Liked: 3777
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexbarbel View Post
They are the real deal.
I have yet to find a reason to pay more than what you get from Monoprice. All cables I use here are Monoprice. I actually use the certified premium ultra slim cables for the majority of my interconnects and their fiber optic HDMI cable for a 45ft run. Absolutely zero issues with any and they have handled everything I’ve thrown at them.
DaveC56, bbbobbb, Ph8te and 3 others like this.
D-Nice is offline  
post #24657 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
SonyTV101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I just don’t know if I should let lg fix the tv or return to Best Buy and order via amazon
SonyTV101 is offline  
post #24658 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Dr Pepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
I have yet to find a reason to pay more than what you get from Monoprice. All cables I use here are Monoprice. I actually use the certified premium ultra slim cables for the majority of my interconnects and their fiber optic HDMI cable for a 45ft run. Absolutely zero issues with any and they have handled everything I’ve thrown at them.


Looks like for once maybe I made the right choice lol.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
bbbobbb likes this.
Dr Pepper is offline  
post #24659 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 12:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,854
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1553 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonyTV101 View Post
I just don’t know if I should let lg fix the tv or return to Best Buy and order via amazon
Requires zero thought. Return it and start over.
gamermwm and alexbarbel like this.
dwaleke is online now  
post #24660 of 36585 Old 03-17-2018, 12:38 PM
Senior Member
 
SonyTV101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I would have to get a refund then order thru amazon.
SonyTV101 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off