2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 912 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 980484Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #27331 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 12:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post
i LIKE TO DO SOMETHINGS ON LINE JUST TO START A "PAPER TRAIL"
Couldn't submit repair request online. I get a pop-up that says "This model number is Swap unit." Called and set up appointment by phone. Rep had me unplug TV and hold power button 10 seconds. No change. Asked her about the "This model number is Swap unit." online and she couldn't really explain it.
robnalex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #27332 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Datagg View Post
I have seen and played GOW on both consoles. In all honesty If I had a PS4 Slim I wouldn't hesitate to play it on that exclusively and be happy. The difference between the 2 isn't that huge of a jump to justify the premium price for a PS4 pro IMO. If you have the funds go PS4 pro, yet again its not night and day difference on GOW. Also you only want to play a few exclusives you said, so factor that in your need for the pro. Either way, great game.. Best game this generation on either camp.
I hear some have the pro but pay in 1080p anyway so the frame rate stays solid.
barth2 is offline  
post #27333 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 12:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: chicago, IL USA
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnalex View Post
Couldn't submit repair request online. I get a pop-up that says "This model number is Swap unit." Called and set up appointment by phone. Rep had me unplug TV and hold power button 10 seconds. No change. Asked her about the "This model number is Swap unit." online and she couldn't really explain it.
cross your fingers for a 2018 model
mikek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #27334 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by ismaelrvs View Post
The easiest way is to use the LGTV plus iOS/Android app. Once you start playback on Netflix you can press the info button on the app and the resolution info shows up on the top left corner.
Another way is if you have cable / sat / fios you can program the STB's remote to control your TV and use the Info button. I find this much faster than opening an app etc.
barth2 is offline  
post #27335 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnalex View Post
Couldn't submit repair request online. I get a pop-up that says "This model number is Swap unit." Called and set up appointment by phone. Rep had me unplug TV and hold power button 10 seconds. No change. Asked her about the "This model number is Swap unit." online and she couldn't really explain it.
I'm guessing it's a power supply or main board issue, which is better than a screen problem, since I've got a nice, issue free panel.
robnalex is offline  
post #27336 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 12:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikek View Post
cross your fingers for a 2018 model
They're sending a technician, so I don't think that's likely.
robnalex is offline  
post #27337 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 01:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lax01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,599
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 610 Post(s)
Liked: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by beachfront71 View Post
Hello and thanks in advance.

Anyone else have a problem keeping wifi connected?

When it works it works fine but if I am watching NFlix or Amazon I have to go in and re connect to my wifi every single time.

Is this by default or am I missing something to have a constant seamless connection.
Try turning Quick Start off in the Settings menu...this helped my wi-fi connectivity issue where I was still connected to a Wi-Fi network but getting extremely slow speeds and latency

Josh
lax01 is offline  
post #27338 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 01:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chris Hansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Settings question

For DirecTV, I have the picture mode set with Noise Reduction = Low and MPEG Noise Reduction = Low. This seems to help with some of the Sat channels that are not always clean. For sources like the ATV 4K or the Netflix app or the Prime Video app, my thought has been to leave both Noise Reduction and MPEG Noise Reduction in the Off position but I want to double check. Would it be better to leave both NR and MNR to the Low position for the ATV 4K and LG streaming apps?
Chris Hansen is offline  
post #27339 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 02:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Hi everyone

Currently have the B7 and for my DVD player, the Panasonic DMPUB900. Since the DMPUB900 does not have Dolby Vision, I have an opportunity to purchase an Oppo UPD203 as my dealer received the last of it's stock.

From what I understand the neither the Oppo nor the B7 will get a firmware HDR10+update. Is this true??

Looking to my form buddies for answers

Thanks
Denon22 is offline  
post #27340 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 02:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Datagg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by barth2 View Post
I hear some have the pro but pay in 1080p anyway so the frame rate stays solid.
This is true. The pro cant have all the goodies engaged and keep frame rate up regrettably.

LG C7 65"|Xbox One X|PS4 Pro|Nvidia Shield
Datagg is offline  
post #27341 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 02:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,769
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6785 Post(s)
Liked: 6784
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnalex View Post
65C7P - Watching Netflix on ATV. Screen went black with little horizontal white lines. Won't restart. Red light flashes 3 times then nothing. Any ideas?
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnalex View Post
Couldn't submit repair request online. I get a pop-up that says "This model number is Swap unit." Called and set up appointment by phone. Rep had me unplug TV and hold power button 10 seconds. No change. Asked her about the "This model number is Swap unit." online and she couldn't really explain it.
Yep, sounds like a service call is in order.....
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #27342 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 02:40 PM
Member
 
golferdad50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Ask Netrat below.



I do not know if you will be watching football in 4K, but it will look sweet no matter what.
Chris, I was asking about your bias lighting.

Can you elaborate further.

Thanks.

LG 65C7
Bose ST300
LG UP970
Xfinity XG1v4
golferdad50 is offline  
post #27343 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 03:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Make sure you are not using game mode for tv shows and movies from the Xbox apps. Maybe that’s the difference?
nope. never used game mode in my life and i do not own a xbox.
wrong quoting?
MrRobotoPlus is offline  
post #27344 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 06:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Netrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kennewick,Wa 99338
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Netrat View Post
I screwed up..I purchased the B7 65 and especially enjoy it with xb 1x enhanced games etc but it will never handle 1080 HD (80% of the media) as well as a samsung plasma f8500 or the panasonic top 65 but... I was warned about this here *before I sold my plasma. My advice, wait for more 4k media if you own a plasma.

I got this OLED for NFL 4k which I'll have to pay for.
Wow..I was testing via Yamaha Aventage rx-a850 without hdmi pass-through set to 4k..totally missed this setup until I read the yamaha faq's on this model..4k mode was NOT default setting? now every check mark in Video setting on XB1+ is green. Wow! now I'm a believer in Oled PQ especially in HDR.
Chris Hansen likes this.

-charlie-
Duck Tape Engineering
Netrat is offline  
post #27345 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 07:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRobotoPlus View Post
nope. never used game mode in my life and i do not own a xbox.
wrong quoting?
No you responded to someone who mentioned Xbox so I followed that line of conversation and thought maybe that Game Mode was enabled. We know Game mode differs slightly from the other picture modes. Anyway it shouldn't be a difference at all between any source to be honest. No idea why it would appear so.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #27346 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 07:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Datagg View Post
This is true. The pro cant have all the goodies engaged and keep frame rate up regrettably.
Though Eurogamer says it plays better in 4k because when you use 1080p the framerate is unlocked and as a result, unstable. The unstable framerate cause noticeable judder. IMO this is worse than locking the frame rate to 30 and dealing with occasional slowdowns. They agree and say that the enhanced visuals and more stable frame rate are more preferable. On the normal PS4 the framerate is locked to 30 with occasional dips at 1080p, it mirrors the Pro when running 4k checkerboard. It's not Native 4k of course.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #27347 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 08:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
TravisPNW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 568 Post(s)
Liked: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Datagg View Post
The same page for 2-3 days... Normally we jump 2-4 pages after a few hours. Times are changing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
^^^lol the C8 is stealing our thunder!
Yeah, and that's fine. It's nice to not have to check this page every few hours to keep up... while still having the top rated 65" OLED on the market.

I haven't been on these forums in 3 days... and didn't miss much!!!
Greg TB, Datagg and Ricker62 like this.

LG B7A OLED 65” / LG SJ9 Atmos Sound Bar / LG UP970 BR Player / Apple TV 4K
i7 7700k 11GB 1080 Ti 32GB Ram 2x 1TB 960 Evo / XBox One X / Nintendo Switch
Movie collection: https://www.blu-ray.com/community/co...3&categoryid=7
TravisPNW is offline  
post #27348 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 09:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
TravisPNW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 568 Post(s)
Liked: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
You had a win win situation, the 7 series can still hold it's own even with what LCD is being offered this year, no doubt about that. Your correct about the learning curve, but these are pretty accurate out of the box with minimal amount of tinkering. Enjoy and congrats these are beasts for sure.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zinfella View Post
Well, I would never tell anyone that a calibration would not improve their PQ, BUT, you are correct, the 7's have excellent PQ out of the box, and many folks are enjoying them minus a calibration. OTOH, there are folks here that would climb Mt. Everest, dragging their dog along, if they thought it would net them ANY measurable gain in PQ.
Well... I wouldn't go that far. Up on Everest... the TV would go over the side if it meant me getting down off the mountain safely.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam1977 View Post
Well, calibration is a nice extra, surely one I would like... but you don't absolutely need one to already get an outstanding picture. You also need to be aware that not everyone can get their sets calibrated for many different reasons...so again calibration is a nice extra but not a necessary one.
Agreed... it's not necessary at all. I was fine with the settings I was using even though they were WAY OFF with OLED light being the main culprit but in addition the RGB balance was also way out of whack across all picture modes. I definitely didn't pay him $450 to brighten my TV.

Could I have lived without the calibration? Of course. I said the picture was stunning then and I'll say it now... only this time I'll throw in the word "more" as in "more stunning."

I do see a difference and that's why I have no buyer's remorse about the calibration in addition to the TV itself.

Thanks again @Chad B !


LG B7A OLED 65” / LG SJ9 Atmos Sound Bar / LG UP970 BR Player / Apple TV 4K
i7 7700k 11GB 1080 Ti 32GB Ram 2x 1TB 960 Evo / XBox One X / Nintendo Switch
Movie collection: https://www.blu-ray.com/community/co...3&categoryid=7
TravisPNW is offline  
post #27349 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 09:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
TravisPNW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 568 Post(s)
Liked: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by golferdad50 View Post
Since this thread is slowing down some as of recent, I thought I would ask the following question.

I recently pre-ordered Saving Private Ryan, Gladiator, Die Hard, Fury and Braveheart. All coming out approximately at the same time in May.

Looking forward to seeing these on the 65C7. The Paramount releases will also have DV as well. Some with Atmos as well.

It should be a spectacular show.

Who else is on board.
They are also on my pre-order list... as was Grease that came out last Tuesday.

Like I told the girlfriend... I didn't buy this TV to watch Comcast.

On a side note, she's really enjoying it. Watches it more than I do... and you know what they say... happy wife happy life.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodney Nicotine View Post
Me! Have had em all pre-ordered since they went up on Amazon. Can't wait for Forrest Gump in June as well.
Gump!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Why did you put that weapon together so quickly Gump?

Because you told me to drill sergeant?

I'm in!

LG B7A OLED 65” / LG SJ9 Atmos Sound Bar / LG UP970 BR Player / Apple TV 4K
i7 7700k 11GB 1080 Ti 32GB Ram 2x 1TB 960 Evo / XBox One X / Nintendo Switch
Movie collection: https://www.blu-ray.com/community/co...3&categoryid=7
TravisPNW is offline  
post #27350 of 36579 Old 04-29-2018, 10:28 PM
Senior Member
 
rego00123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Though Eurogamer says it plays better in 4k because when you use 1080p the framerate is unlocked and as a result, unstable. The unstable framerate cause noticeable judder. IMO this is worse than locking the frame rate to 30 and dealing with occasional slowdowns. They agree and say that the enhanced visuals and more stable frame rate are more preferable. On the normal PS4 the framerate is locked to 30 with occasional dips at 1080p, it mirrors the Pro when running 4k checkerboard. It's not Native 4k of course.
The only real noticeable judder still present in performance mode is during sections when the game is stealth loading large segments in the background.
It doesn’t really happenduring combat anymore and rarely happens outside of the main lake area.

The game has had about 6 patches since DF did their look at the game.
rego00123 is offline  
post #27351 of 36579 Old 04-30-2018, 01:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 796 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hansen View Post
Settings question

For DirecTV, I have the picture mode set with Noise Reduction = Low and MPEG Noise Reduction = Low. This seems to help with some of the Sat channels that are not always clean. For sources like the ATV 4K or the Netflix app or the Prime Video app, my thought has been to leave both Noise Reduction and MPEG Noise Reduction in the Off position but I want to double check. Would it be better to leave both NR and MNR to the Low position for the ATV 4K and LG streaming apps?
Take a look at this video where noise reduction settings are discussed. They particularly mention LG OLED (Leo's TV).
Personally I now set both noise reduction settings to auto and have never noticed any adverse effects.


LG 77C8 (UK) - Arcam AVR 850 - Arcam FMJ P7 - 7.2.4 Atmos setup.
alexbarbel is online now  
post #27352 of 36579 Old 04-30-2018, 10:50 AM
Member
 
wowzors's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Do we know if the LG OLEDs support the Low Profile DV that Sony uses? I am curious if we wont know until the X700 updates for DV and either does or does not work on the TV.
wowzors is offline  
post #27353 of 36579 Old 04-30-2018, 11:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
zinfella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Molasses is slow. but it has nothing on this place nowadays! I guess I could go to the 2018 owners forum for the thrills that once called this place home. But then being an ancient 2017 owner I couldn't comment. Arrrrrrgh!
zinfella is offline  
post #27354 of 36579 Old 04-30-2018, 12:05 PM
Senior Member
 
MackGuyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by zinfella View Post
Molasses is slow. but it has nothing on this place nowadays! I guess I could go to the 2018 owners forum for the thrills that once called this place home. But then being an ancient 2017 owner I couldn't comment. Arrrrrrgh!
Speaking of molasses, perhaps LG US will release a firmware update this year and we'll actually have something to talk about. I had been holding my breath, but I passed out and nearly died, so I've given up until a little message comes up on my screen
Datagg and Ricker62 like this.

Preamp/Amps: Anthem AVM60, Emotiva XPA-2, XPA-5, A-300
Speakers: (7.1.2): Klipsch Reference Premiere / Power Sound Audio S3000i sub
Video: LG OLED65B7A, Oppo UDP-203, Roku Premiere+, Nvidia Shield TV
Room: GIK Acoustics treatments
MackGuyver is offline  
post #27355 of 36579 Old 04-30-2018, 12:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
zinfella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by MackGuyver View Post
Speaking of molasses, perhaps LG US will release a firmware update this year and we'll actually have something to talk about. I had been holding my breath, but I passed out and nearly died, so I've given up until a little message comes up on my screen
I fear 'twil be the death knell!
zinfella is offline  
post #27356 of 36579 Old 04-30-2018, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
MackGuyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by zinfella View Post
I fear 'twil be the death knell!
At this rate, no kidding. I've been holding off on re-calibrating until the new firmware is out, just in case it mucks up anything. It's good thing I'm happy with my calibration from December!

Preamp/Amps: Anthem AVM60, Emotiva XPA-2, XPA-5, A-300
Speakers: (7.1.2): Klipsch Reference Premiere / Power Sound Audio S3000i sub
Video: LG OLED65B7A, Oppo UDP-203, Roku Premiere+, Nvidia Shield TV
Room: GIK Acoustics treatments
MackGuyver is offline  
post #27357 of 36579 Old 04-30-2018, 02:15 PM
Member
 
golferdad50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 67
@TravisPNW , a couple quick questions for you if you don't mind.

1. Bias Lighting. I know you like your room extremely dark. Have you given any thought to this? I wonder if this would enhance your PQ at all especially since you recently were calibrated.

2. Regarding the new upcoming firmware we are all expecting from LG including but not limited to the new DV tables, will this have any impact on your calibration? Did you happen to discuss this with Chad?

LG 65C7
Bose ST300
LG UP970
Xfinity XG1v4
golferdad50 is offline  
post #27358 of 36579 Old 04-30-2018, 02:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
TravisPNW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 568 Post(s)
Liked: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by golferdad50 View Post
@TravisPNW , a couple quick questions for you if you don't mind.

1. Bias Lighting. I know you like your room extremely dark. Have you given any thought to this? I wonder if this would enhance your PQ at all especially since you recently were calibrated.

2. Regarding the new upcoming firmware we are all expecting from LG including but not limited to the new DV tables, will this have any impact on your calibration? Did you happen to discuss this with Chad?
1. I've given no thought to it at all. I've never even heard of it until I just googled it. Seems like a pretty cool concept. I've got my PC case enhanced with white LEDs... I could do the same thing around the back of the TV and achieve this effect right? It's nothing I'm in dire need of at the moment but I may check it out someday. Yes, I like it dark when I watch movies... much like a theater and I got both a dark room and bright room calibration (SDR) for those times when the room lights are on. HDR and DV don't use the dark/bright picture mode setting.

2. No I didn't discuss it with @Chad B at all... and had no idea of any upcoming firmware update or what issues it is supposed to fix. Worst case scenario I bypass the firmware update. The TV was stunning out of the box... and is more stunning post calibration. Even craptastic SDR Comcast looks better.

If it ain't broke don't fix it is how I roll... and if the firmware isn't required and/or could throw my calibration out of whack... I won't update.

Chad B feel free to post here or PM me what you think. Thanks.

LG B7A OLED 65” / LG SJ9 Atmos Sound Bar / LG UP970 BR Player / Apple TV 4K
i7 7700k 11GB 1080 Ti 32GB Ram 2x 1TB 960 Evo / XBox One X / Nintendo Switch
Movie collection: https://www.blu-ray.com/community/co...3&categoryid=7
TravisPNW is offline  
post #27359 of 36579 Old 04-30-2018, 06:39 PM
Immaculate Grand Phoobah
 
grubavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: on the noisy end of the Half Moon Bay, CA Airport
Posts: 3,782
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnalex View Post
They're sending a technician, so I don't think that's likely.
In my limited experience (Sony rear projection XBR), they send out the tech, the tech confirms that the unit is unrepairable/dead, they offer replacement... charging you some $ for a more advanced unit if there is "no available" like unit.

Are you talking' to me?
grubavs is offline  
post #27360 of 36579 Old 04-30-2018, 10:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pwiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisPNW View Post
Ok... I'm home. I'm not planning on broadcasting all my settings across all picture modes for the world to see because every set is different and it wouldn't do you much good to copy them. Not only that but there's a whole lot of RGB numbers across the color management system that were adjusted.

But... here's a couple with the basics:

ISF Expert Bright = OLED light 80 color 50 color gamut auto tint R4
ISF Expert Dark = OLED light 49 color 48 color gamut auto tint R2

I asked Chad about Technicolor vs ISF Expert mode and he said they come different from the factory but calibrate the same. That was all I needed to hear... wasn't going to question it.

I believe Mo also got ISF Expert Bright/Dark on her set.
I know Chad B was recommending color auto 52(ish) and tint r2(ish) for the 2017’s specifically the C7. Was there something different about the B7A that had him lower the color auto to 48? Color auto 48 is more in line to what Sonoftumble had for his settings. I notice skin tones are more realistic with the lower color setting.

I inputted color extended 44( to lower what D-Nice recommended) and tint 0 and flipped back and forth between 48 auto tint r2 and 44 extended tint 0 and they looked exactly the same. For those who don’t have access to a quality calibration(I tried D-Nice but not enough interest in Portland to schedule a visit) maybe 44 extended tint 0 would be similar setting based on Chad B’s results. I know Chad B adjusted only the tint settings in the CMS which impacted the results.
pwiss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
#lgoled55c7p #hdr #oled #xboxonex #movies , 2017 , atmos , audio out , burn in , calibration , contrast , dolby 5.1 , dolby vision , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , hdr , lg b7 , lg b7p , lg c7 , lg e7 , lg oled , lg oled 65b7p , mainboard , mount , Netflix , oled , oled c7 , oled55c7p , Onkyo , optical digital output , problem , settings , sj9 , sk10y , surround , truehd , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off